Back to FoxTrot Professional Search page
FoxTrot Professional Search free download for Mac

FoxTrot Professional Search Reviews

6.6.3
03 September 2019

Networkable search for legal, media, mobile professionals.

Most helpful

I recently have purchased a license of FoxTrot Professional and it's really one of the best software investments I've made: At work, it has signified for me much less stress to find that letter, that PDF, that report, that email where the information I urgently needed was —having very often someone at the other side of the phone waiting for it. I also use it at home to find that citation I needed among my research papers or OCR scanned documents. I used to have other database applications, more tag orientend, but having to deal with Gigabites of texts, it simply was not the best approach. Now, although I still classify my info in mayor cathegories, I don't spend more time in tagging files, trying to guess when will I need to find them in order to arrange them accordingly. With FoxTrot I can find the context in the document I'm looking for, and not just the file to search in it. And the time scroll also lets me narrow the results, in real time. I also use Yojimbo very much, and it was a so nice surprise to find out that FoxTrot even searches the Yojimbo database without necessarily having it running. A computer is as powerful as the programms you run in it, and FoxTrot has really empowered me to instantly find the right information. It's excellent!
Like (3)
Version 4.0b7

Read 21 FoxTrot Professional Search User Reviews

Rate this app:

Silkrd
10 February 2019
Apple's Spotlight is to FTP what TextEdit is to an advanced word processor. I've been using FTP for several years now: it's search capabilities are unmatched and I've never had a problem with their support; once they responded only after a couple of weeks but to tell me that my problem was solved, that it would be integrated in the forthcoming update and gave me a link to its beta version. For me, FTP is a 'must have'.
Like (1)
Version 6.5.2
Bort1611
12 July 2017
Works perfectly, I can search through nearly 1TB of files (almost 200,000 of them) in a matter of seconds. I've never found anything else to compare with it, not DEVONthink or Yojimbo or Evernote or Leap or Yep any other program. It searches through my files perfectly, it ranks the results, it previews the files. It does what I want perfectly.
Like (3)
Version 6.0
Morlo
17 March 2017
support is not helpful via "help-Send message to support", but (after years of using this app) I learned that support is available and quick to respond at google groups, so I'm back to give this amazing app 5 stars again. the option is in the help menu under "visit foxtrot discussion group" ....
Like
Version 5.7.1
Morlo
08 February 2017
while i've always raved about foxtrot, i have to echo the voices here complaining about support. there's absolutely no response by the support team. it's a pity because it's such a fast search tool.
Like
Version 5.7
Nitroxer
04 July 2015
A licensed program is only as good as its support. Efforts to reach FTP support via the app and by email have not been answered. The app's Indexer spontaneously crashes multiple times per day and with every attempt to update the index. I've attempted to reinstall without success. Have abandoned hope and removed the app. Inexcusable for a program at this price point.
Like
Version 5.0.2
MacDev
12 March 2015
Software looks nice, but I didn't see a way to search for either:

1. Hidden files (files that start with a "."), or
2. Files inside of Mac Package files (for example an "App" file in the applications folder).

Note that EasyFind, a free search tool can do both 1. and 2. above.

These omissions, if I'm right, are a deal breaker.

Didn't see a way to contact the company other than a Google group I didn't want to "join" just to ask a question.
Like
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
Ctm-Engineering
Ctm-Engineering
31 March 2015
Check "also index hidden files and package contents" in the bottom of the "indexed data" pane; on versions earlier than 5.1 (currently in private beta test), this option is only available for custom folders, and not for predefined locations such as the Documents folder (but you can add the Documents folder as a custom folder).
To contact support, please use the form at http://ctmdev.com/support/index.html
Like (1)
Sgmiller
01 November 2014
Let me first say that it was this program that allowed me to make the switch from PC to Mac in 2006 as I had been using Copernic Search on the PC and there was no Spotlight at that time. Over the years, Spotlight has improved substantially but still cannot match FoxTrot for: 1) A viewer that highlights search terms 2) The ability to search inside package files 3) The ability to create a custom index Of the above, the first two are absolutely essential for me and I would be hard-pressed to do with out them. Yes, there have been hiccups over the years but every problem has been fixed. Just this week, the crawler stopped working for me after the Yosemite update and the next day following my panicked email to tech support (in the evening), I got a response. The problem was not easy to solved but in two says they sent me a brand new build which completely resolved the issue. I would say tech support cannot be better than that! So, if you need search capabilities beyond what Spotlight can provide (and there are far more than what I listed above), then Foxtrot is the only game in town. I would still like them to work on the interface to make it more Mac-like, but that is a small thing in comparison to what it provides.
Like (1)
Version 5.0
2 answer(s)
Sgmiller
Sgmiller
01 November 2014
In retrospect, I shouldn't have made the comment about the interface as it does fit in very well with OSX.....it was probably an old feeling that I need to revise!
Like (1)
MacDev
MacDev
12 March 2015
I didn't see how to search inside package files OR, just as importantly, search for "invisible" files (files that start with a ".").

File Locator Pro, from Windows, an awesome search tool, may be coming to the Mac soon.
Like
Aydinyulug
29 May 2014
It's worked well for me, especially when I need to find and edit something in multiple documents. Technical support was indeed an issue 2 years ago but I received an instant reply to my latest query so that seems to have changed as well.
Like
Version 4.6
markrfriedman
19 February 2014
A SYSTEM-DEGRADING and USELESS product with ATROCIOUS technical support! I've never slammed a product like this before - this is the first time. Technical support and disregard for the customer is at the heart of the problem. Their background indexing processes hang. Always. Repeatedly. And when they do, my machine slows down so much, no other processing is possible - like backups. I've sent them crash reports, copies of the Activity Monitor screens and samples - no reply. I've attempted to post these issues in their Yahoo Group, but they review every posting and nothing negative or suggesting their product is less than stellar is allowed to post. I'm angry because I'm dependent upon this tool - or one like it (I can't find anything similar — if you can suggest something, please do). So, here's a potential 5-star product that, because of product mis-management and unreliability, is useless. It's really a shame.
Like (1)
Version 4.6
2 answer(s)
Bort1611
Bort1611
03 April 2014
Very strange. I've never encountered anything like this. You can check the console to see what files are being indexed (it is constantly being updated) and that will help you find if a corrupted file is causing the crash. I have found this program to be efficient, thorough, and reliable, and technical support has been good. :)
Like
Reegor
Reegor
28 July 2014
Be sure you try Eaglefiler and see if it fills your needs. It's running for me with 15,000 documents and 25 GB, and doing fine.
It allows compound searches, has tagging, preview (but no in-window editing, which I miss), and handles a multitude of document types. It is not designed to handle everything on your system, however; just documents (of any type) that you want in a database.
Eaglefiler is very robust, and tech support is very fast. It has many other advantages. Of course, learning to make full use of everything takes time.
Like
Morlo
08 February 2013
Ok.. will start by stating that i have tried every document organizer/manager for mac out there: Devonthink, Eaglefiler, together, Yojimbo.. even Sente, Papers, Bookends and similar research tools. Spent many hours experimenting and looking for the tool to round off my workflow. In terms of indexing speed, which in my case is very important because I use hundreds of thousands of files, non of the above come close to Foxtrot. It is extremely fast. Indices are easy to manage, it has tabs, searches are bookmarked, layout works fine. I could not find a way to edit or add OpenMeta tags which would be nice. UI is not as polished as Devonthink, Together or Papers. I would also like to see it pick up my document's custom icons. Support seems distant and slow and they have only two tweets on their twitter account which is pretty sad considering its value. For this reasons I gave it a 4.5 instead of a 5.
Like (3)
Version 4.1
I recently have purchased a license of FoxTrot Professional and it's really one of the best software investments I've made: At work, it has signified for me much less stress to find that letter, that PDF, that report, that email where the information I urgently needed was —having very often someone at the other side of the phone waiting for it. I also use it at home to find that citation I needed among my research papers or OCR scanned documents. I used to have other database applications, more tag orientend, but having to deal with Gigabites of texts, it simply was not the best approach. Now, although I still classify my info in mayor cathegories, I don't spend more time in tagging files, trying to guess when will I need to find them in order to arrange them accordingly. With FoxTrot I can find the context in the document I'm looking for, and not just the file to search in it. And the time scroll also lets me narrow the results, in real time. I also use Yojimbo very much, and it was a so nice surprise to find out that FoxTrot even searches the Yojimbo database without necessarily having it running. A computer is as powerful as the programms you run in it, and FoxTrot has really empowered me to instantly find the right information. It's excellent!
Like (3)
Version 4.0b7
markrfriedman
04 October 2011
Even though two emails to the company went unanswered, I bought it. This is the equivalent product to DTSearch on Windows and performs just as well. It indexes files and content (including system files in both Libraries) so you can look for any word or phrase and expect a return set of what it found and where. It's so fast and the results so complete (on my early 2008 MacBook Pro) that no other desktop search product is worth paying for. My sole regret is the lack of responsiveness of the developers. But it's a hell of a product!
Like (2)
Version 3.2.1
tvalleau
30 September 2010
Has anyone figured out how to upgrade from version 2.5 to version 3? Several emails to the company have gone unanswered.
Like
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
01 October 2010
IIRC, they send users a coupon code. At least that's what they did for me with PowerMail and then they also sent some coupons for FoxTrot. Of course, having an upgrade price at their store would be a better option. Have you tried this? http://www.mail-archive.com/foxtrot-discuss@ctmdev.com/
Like
Version 3.0
Aydinyulug
Aydinyulug
06 October 2010
Same here. The product is excellent but this company just does not reply to emails so buy at your own peril. They had mentioned in an email several weeks ago that they would be supplying discount codes to previous customers for upgrading to the Pro version in September but I guess they forgot later on. Aydin Yulug Ankara, Turkey
Like
Version 3.0
Ronkoller
11 September 2010
I am a management consultant that spends half his time writing proposals, writing papers for my doctoral studies or blogging. I'm always remembering an old file that I could use, but could never find ... that is until I found FoxTrot. On my old Windows system, I would use Google Desktop and maybe, after what seemed like an hour of searching, I might find what I was looking for. More often than not I would not find the file in question. Once I moved to Mac, the search function was just not enough. I bought an earlier version of FoxTrot and it was ready to go in almost no time at all. I was surprised at how fast it indexed all of my files. I have several old external drives hooked up and have more than a terabyte of old data. With FoxTrot, I was finding files that I didn't remember having. It was waaaaaay better than Google Desktop search. I now save countless hours of searching and have the confidence to know that if FoxTrot doesn't turn it up, I don't have the file. I sleep much better since I don't feel quite as disorganized. The newest version of FoxTrot put everything together in a seamless window rather than have optional windows to the side of the main search window. It is pretty darn simple. You search, you find, you get closure fast.
Like (2)
Version 3.0b3
Rlevent
01 April 2010
Excellent fast search capabilities with document previews. It does much more than spotlight. It is faster (almost instantaneous) and highlights the hits inside the document preview. Could use better documentation. You need to explore its features to see what it can do. I use DevonThing to organize documents, Tinderbox to organize notes, and Firefox to search my hard drive. The three together are an excellent combination.
Like (1)
Version 2.6
Tom-Smith
30 September 2009
I've noticed a couple of enhancements in 2.5 so far, more informative process icons for the indices and the ability to share archives over a local network. According to email sent to users there are also fixes for a few Snow Leopard issues
Like
Version 2.5b6
Zeb-B
24 September 2009
Nothing searches better than FoxTrot. My only gripe about it was that you could do very little with the found files except look at them. But I was wrong: I've discovered that you can drag from the list of found files into File Buddy and Leap windows. In File Buddy you can do almost anything to files except tag them, and Leap can do that. I'm now completely sold on this app.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.4
Mike-1
28 July 2009
Foxtrot Pro Search has no support. It won't index my Mail - and I've tried to get support twice. I get an automated response - but they don't bother to reply. Be warned! It's a pity, because the indexer is otherwise very impressive, and I'd be tempted to buy it if they supported the product properly.
Like
Version 2.0.4
1 answer(s)
Tom-Smith
Tom-Smith
24 September 2009
OS X 10.5.8: FTP will fail to index mail unless you have selected the Mail Folder AND checked the "Mail Messages" box in the Index Contents pane on the right. I suspect that writing to the little-used forum would also get you some response from a user. Since this is the app I use most, I'm reluctant to switch to Snow Leopard until I hear some reports that it works there.
Like
Version 2.0.4
Sampler
04 January 2009
Support has improved, and I'll now rate FT Professional as a 5; there is, to my knowledge, no app better at what it doesw. Better documentation, including a list of exactly what data are indexed, is still needed.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
2 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
23 February 2009
When/how did support improve? I'm really curious, considering that they never replied to my questions from over two months ago. This has been a typical behavior from them. As soon as Devonthink Pro Office goes out of beta I'm making my purchase. So far it seems to be superior to FoxTrot both in terms of functionality and support.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Khw
Khw
07 April 2009
Support? What support? Foxtrot 2.0.3 indexes everything I give it except the Mail folder. Perhaps Mail 3.5 under OS 10.5.6 is unsupported? Impossible to say, as I get no response to any of my emails to the developers sent via various routes. The lack of response and failure to index Mail messages are showstoppers for me.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Sampler
01 January 2009
I've tried all the search apps that I could find. In OS X, I previously used SpotInside, but I switched to FT Pro. It is the best, but, as the previous poster said, it is a work in progress. FT Professional is theapp that comes closest to the all time champion, the classic App Ultrafind (now free). But it's much faster. The Preview and View options quickly show words in context much more usefully than SpotInside does. One can choose the file types to view (mail, pdf's...) from a side bar, a great time saver. Documentation is sparse. FT builds its own index and does not use Spotlight's index. That's an advantage, but it does not index some document types that Spotlight can. For these, SpotInside is a good backup. The support, as the last poster says, is spotty. The Support staff has not responded (in public at least) to some recent serious issues. Seee the mailing list at http://www.mail-archive.com/foxtrot-discuss@ctmdev.com/ . I bought the professional version and don't regret it. I need the extra options, and the program has already paid for itself in time saved. However for most, the Personal version is the true bargain.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Espiridion
12 December 2008
FoxTrot Professional Search represents a poor implementation of a good idea. The search engine is incredibly fast, but unfortunately it has some accuracy problems. Loading the indices can be slow, and displaying the search results within the actual documents can also be slow. As far as I can tell, there was no version 1.0 of this program except for the Personal version of the program. At version 2.0.3 the Professional version feels like a work in progress and not like a finished product. Support is questionable. CTM has not replied to a "Customer service request" after 4 working days. The program could be great and its speed is impressive, but I'll wait for version 3 before giving CTM $150.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.3
2 answer(s)
Ronkoller
Ronkoller
11 September 2010
Are you kidding me? Devonthink? Now talk about a great concept that does NOT work in practice. Learning Microsoft Access was easier than figuring out Devonthink. I suspect that between your virus protection software, popup blockers and such, you have some things that conflict. I've got a pretty clean system on a Mac with a few dozen widgets, but everything works great without complication. I hope you get it resolved because it feels great to find files that I knew I had but couldn't find for hours.
Like
Version 3.0b3
Espiridion
Espiridion
29 September 2010
No, I'm not kidding. DevonThink works fine in practice. At least it has worked for me for a few years, with dozens of databases ranging in size from a few KBs to a few GBs. Learning to use it was not difficult, and these days they have tutorials in addition to the great support they've offered for years. Some features even allowed me to find related material when I was working on my dissertation. Not bad when dealing with thousands of sources of information. I don't know what you mean by my anti-virus and pop-up blockers conflicting with FoxTrot, as I have neither running. I've used Google Desktop, Copernic (back when it was available for the Mac), and tried FoxTrot. It was mediocre and support was non-existent. They have fixed some bugs now with version 3. I'm sure there's an upgrade fee as well. I have no problem finding information without using FoxTrot, and I used to be a big fan of their search capabilities from the days when I used PowerMail under OS 9. Given their poor customer support I would consider buying FoxTrot once it has really evolved into a solid application.
Like
Version 3.0