Back to ScreenFlow page
ScreenFlow free download for Mac

ScreenFlow Reviews

9.0
13 November 2019

Create screen recordings.

Tommy-Gun
07 August 2018

Most helpful

Not a review but an important comment.
The upcomming new macOS 10.14 Mojave version has screenrecording build in as default. Just press Shift+Cmd+5
It captures in 60fps, has editing features and other nice things.
It does not have video-in-video possibilities, but many people do not need this.
This is one of the great new feature of macOS10.14 which I really like.
This makes a lot of screen recording tools obsolete.
Like (4)
Version 8.0

Read 130 ScreenFlow User Reviews

Rate this app:

ocean442
06 November 2019
A great tool but a tad pricy compared to its competitors...
Like
Version 8.2.4
Macinman
27 February 2019
I wanted to leave a note here about an issue I have with screenFlow 8.2.2 on a 27" 5K iMac running 10.143. When enabled to start at login, the Screenflow helper prevents sleep due to coreaudioD. If I uncheck the option to start the helper on login and quit the app, and helper the issue goes away. Is this intentional to prevent sleep? I was able to get the info about this issue by issuing the following command in terminal: pmset -g The output is as follows: tron@iFrog5K ~> pmset -g System-wide power settings: Currently in use: Sleep On Power Button 1 autopoweroff 1 standbydelayhigh 86400 autopoweroffdelay 28800 proximitywake 1 standby 1 standbydelaylow 86400 ttyskeepawake 1 hibernatemode 25 powernap 1 gpuswitch 2 hibernatefile /var/vm/sleepimage highstandbythreshold 50 displaysleep 15 womp 1 networkoversleep 0 sleep 0 (sleep prevented by coreaudiod, coreaudiod) halfdim 1 autorestart 0 disksleep 0 tron@iFrog5K ~> As mentioned above, quitting the ScreenFlow Helper and app resolves this issue. However, I don't recall having this issue prior to version 8 of ScreenFlow, and 10.14 Mojave. If anyone has a fix that can be applied without having to quit the helper, please speak up.
Like
Version 8.2.2
Tommy-Gun
07 August 2018
Not a review but an important comment.
The upcomming new macOS 10.14 Mojave version has screenrecording build in as default. Just press Shift+Cmd+5
It captures in 60fps, has editing features and other nice things.
It does not have video-in-video possibilities, but many people do not need this.
This is one of the great new feature of macOS10.14 which I really like.
This makes a lot of screen recording tools obsolete.
Like (4)
Version 8.0
3 answer(s)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
11 October 2018
Except Mojave's screen recording does NOT offer computer audio recording. It only records audio from a microphone or attached audio input device. The reason why is likely the usual bad attitude of the MPAA and RIAA who don't want us recording videos with audio online. Therefore, it's very doubtful Apple will add computer audio recording with video.
Like (2)
cig0
cig0
07 January 2019
I've been able to record computer audio (as well as video) using Quicktime.
Like (1)
bdikkat
bdikkat
09 March 2019
@cig0 - How did you do that ?
Like
DJSquint
02 August 2018
Screenflow is a good tool to record your desktop. No doubt about that. Sadly, it is plagued with yearly very high upgrade fees. I have no problem supporting developers, but this company really is after your money on a very regular basis. 4 star for the app itself. 0 star for the very greedy developers.
Like (8)
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
Macinman
Macinman
02 August 2018
I don't consider $40 upgrade fee (once a year), or whenever I need to upgrade not a bad deal considering the full price is $129. With version 8, you also get an option of selecting an upgrade for $85 that includes the new stock footage, if someone needs, or wants it. The stock footage is $60 if you buy it later. I consider what is included, it's a good deal.

I mainly upgrade because I've done the macOS betas for a couple years now, and Screen Flow usually breaks with the new release of the os due to changes apple makes. That's another thing to consider, if you upgrade your mac to each new release to stay current, sometimes you have to upgrade to each new app version to keep compatibility.
Like (1)
Uncoy
25 March 2018
In a foot race for the greediest developers on the Mac OS. I've been paying for and updating and dealing with buggy versions of Screenflow for many years now. Apparently just to get v5 to work now I have to put another $39. Telestream hide their older versions really well (good luck finding version 3 for example). The only version currently working on my Mac Pro running OS 10.11.6 for some reason is version 2 (I own up to version 5 and tried version 7 too). Does screen capture really have to be this expensive and complicated?

We've all been had by Telestream's marketing. I suggest you pick an alternative that won't want to empty your pockets every year as if on cue. OS X deserves better screen capture.
Like (8)
Version 7.3
Okeedoak
31 December 2017
I use ScreenFlow almost every day, and overall it's good. But there are very long-standing bugs that have been around for years that have never been fixed and probably never will. The developer adds features to drive sales but puts little effort into fixing bugs. You can work around the bugs, and frankly, I've grown used to them, but they're still there. I work with video played back at different speeds. A whole nest of bugs appears once the playback speed of a video is changed: audio waveform synchronization is thrown off, audio distortion appears, volume levels change and more. ScreenFlow's Save dialogs must use a very old API because it allows the colon character - ":" - in file names but not the forward slash - "/". The Mac OS allows the opposite.
Like (6)
Version 7.2
Shooters
31 December 2017
Best screencast tool for macOS. Especially the great editing features are welcome and not seen incomparable tools.
Like (1)
Version 7.2
rphartle
16 October 2017
Although Screenflow has been buggy at times with older versions I have had very few problems with version 6 or 7. I have tried the others including Camtasia but found the interface too cartooney, cluttered, and even more buggy. I quickly ended up coming back to Screenflow. It is more professional acting and am able to put together How To Videos for YouTube and my customers very quickly. Telestream also has gotten much better at listening and responding to its customer issues since version 6. It is Thee Standard for YouTube
Like (1)
Version 7.1.1
Philosopherdog
01 August 2017
I've enjoyed using this tool. But one thing I find so strange is the lack of basic video instruction for this product. I mean, couldn't a big company like this post a course to Udemy or something. It could even be free. Instead they have these webinars and everything is in FLASH! What year is it? A video company that can only produce content in flash. Unreal. Anyhow, I would love to learn more about using this app to the max, but I don't and won't install flash anytime soon.
Like (1)
Version 7.0
2 answer(s)
Macbookpro
Macbookpro
02 August 2017
Videos are here. https://www.telestream.net/screenflow/resources.htm
Does not seem to use flash.
Like (2)
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
02 August 2017
Thanx @Macbookpro.
Like (2)
Bleech-Jef
01 August 2017
A new version and a WHOPPING up pricing to $129???? No way that's way to expensive and this for sure means ScreenFlow will have a flow cash problem in very short time. I do not see anyone paying that much. There are plenty of very good alternatives and above all, those are priced correctly.
Like (4)
Version 7.0
1 answer(s)
Macbookpro
Macbookpro
02 August 2017
Upgrade price looks like about $39.
Learn about upgrading here https://www.telestream.net/screenflow/upgrade.htm

The Mac App Store Pricing is explained here
http://www.telestream.net/telestream-support/screen-flow/faq.htm?kbURL=http://telestream.force.com/kb/articles/Knowledge_Article/ScreenFlow-7-Upgrade-Instructions-for-Mac-App-Store-Customers-on-Previous-Version/
Like (1)
Bleech-Jef
16 February 2017
Best in its class! Recommended
Like (1)
Version 6.2.1
Mart°n
08 November 2016
If you don’t like to log in for every. single. update, use thi direct Link to 6.2: http://www.telestream.net/download-files/screenflow/6-2/ScreenFlow-6.2.dmg
Like (3)
Version 6.2
Donmontalvo
02 October 2016
This is the BBEdit of screen recording applications. Five stars. Easily.
Like (2)
Version 6.1
1 answer(s)
Aw21
Aw21
01 August 2017
agreed, ScreenFlow is as outdated as BBEdit.
Like (3)
ben-stamp
02 October 2016
Best tool to make screen casts. Easy to use, easy to trim and edit before encoding to MP4. Great to see that v5 is still alive on Sierra with this download link: www.telestream.net/download-files/screenflow/5-0/ScreenFlow-5.0.7.dmg
Like (4)
Version 6.1
1 answer(s)
Uncoy
Uncoy
25 March 2018
Thanks for including a download link. The miserable so and so's at Telestream make it really, really difficult to get older versions we paid for. I loath Telestream.
Like (1)
AlexisDhooge
18 September 2016
Probably the best screencast app but with a huge price tag. And that's also the reason why I keep using 5 until it breaks. Someone wrote it doesn't work with macOS 10.12 .. is this true?
Like (1)
Version 6.1
3 answer(s)
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
21 September 2016
It crashes like crazy on 10.12. seems we have to finally buy 6 if they aren't going to fix 5 on sierra
Like
Masterminter
Masterminter
21 September 2016
Screenflow 5.0.7 works fine on macOS 10.11

http://www.telestream.net/download-files/screenflow/5-0/ScreenFlow-5.0.7.dmg
Like
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
21 September 2016
I'll try it master, I didn't see that update before, and check for update is trying to feed me 6.1.
Like
Mistersquid
11 September 2016
Upgraded from ScreenFlow 5 to ScreenFlow 6 because I was attracted to the new features, especially exporting to animated GIF and partial screen recording. However, I'm not enamored of the new icon. At. All.
Like (2)
Version 6.1
Harry Flashman
09 September 2016
Screenflow itself is pretty good, however I'm really fed up that anything except the current version seems to break with every OS X upgrade. Sierra is coming out and suddenly version 5 that was on sale until very recently is no longer compatible.

Telestream seem to have a long history like this and I've never forgotten my experience purchasing Episode Pro for $1000 only to discover it was incompatible with the next version of OS X a few months later. Naturally Telestream had a new version in the wings with a huge upgrade price and a casual indifference to those who were now left stranded.

Their software is OK but I really think that premium products should last more than one version of OS X. It almost feels deliberate because I see most other software apps lasting for several versions of OS X that is now very stable. For many people Screenflow 4 or 5 are more than good enough and they shouldn't be forced to buy the next version every time they upgrade OS X.
Like (2)
Version 6.1
2 answer(s)
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
21 September 2016
Especially with OS X updates coming yearly now. I don't know if I want to buy 6 after just buying 5 less than a year ago.
Like
Masterminter
Masterminter
21 September 2016
http://www.telestream.net/download-files/screenflow/5-0/ScreenFlow-5.0.7.dmg

Works fine on Sierra
Like
Soundsgoodtome
23 June 2016
I've used ScreenFlow for years (since v3), and it’s been riddled with inefficiencies (caused by lazy programming and an apathetic attitude toward user feedback) for years. Its UI is awkward, cumbersome, and unintuitive. Over the years, I’ve made numerous common-sense suggestions for improvement, sometimes even receiving personal replies from a representative, asking for clarification. Nearly a year ago, I exchanged email with an upper-level representative. But has anything ever changed? NOT ONCE. Examples: - After recording a movie, one naturally looks to the right to select options. But they’re grayed out. Why? Because—for no logical reason whatsoever—none of the options is available until you first SELECT the movie at the bottom left. But if you’ve just launched the app, and you've recorded only ONE movie, what else is there to select? Answer: Nothing. This is a 100% unnecessary step that the developer refuses to eliminate. - Although ScreenFlow is feature-rich, my needs are simple, and I always, ALWAYS choose the exact same options: "Click Effect: Radar," and "Show Keystrokes." But does SF ever remember these choices? No. Is there a way to save a preset of these selected options? No. So, every time I record a movie, I have to dig through pages and reselect these options. Every. Single. Time. I’ve reported this, asking that, in lieu of presets, ScreenFlow at least be made smart enough to simply remember the last selected options! I’ve been requesting this since version 3. Now we’re at version 6. Any change? Nope. - For some, unknown reason, each time I export (save) a movie, the Save dialog defaults to exporting the movie at 50% of normal size. So, each time I export a movie, I have to change that to 100%. For the love of Pete, why can’t ScreenFlow be made smart enough to remember that for 4 YEARS now, I’ve exported at 100%. Version 3 doesn’t. Version 4 doesn’t. Version 5 doesn’t. And version 6 doesn’t. - Years ago, Apple made a smart change to Open/Save dialogs: When you save a document, the default filename is automatically highlighted, but the file *extension* is NOT highlighted. As such, all you have to do is type the new filename—and the extension will remain unchanged. But ScreenFlow defaults to both the filename AND the extension highlighted! So, of course, when you type a custom name, the extension gets overwritten, as well. When I submitted this issue, someone replied and said it didn’t matter because ScreenFlow would still add the extension back to the name. I said that was fine, but still, the *visual cue* suggests otherwise. For those of us who pay attention to these things, it looks like the extension is being overwritten! The reprentative was actually argumentative (and of course nothing ever changed). (I haven’t tested this in v6, because I was so disgusted by the other omissions that I never got as far as saving a file.) On a scale of 1-10, most developers are somewhere between 5 and 10 on the "we listen to our users and make reasonable, common-sense improvements" scale. But on that same scale of 1 to 10, Telestream gets a big, fat zero. And now—adding insult to injury—when I launch v5 (which is paid for), I’m frequently nagged about buying v6. Ugh. Telestream is an awful developer, and I’m done with ScreenFlow. They won’t get another penny from me unless and until they fix these basic usability issues. I’d rather buy a new app and support a developer that actually listens to user feedback. Maybe Screenium is that app. We’ll see.
Like (9)
Version 6.0
7 answer(s)
BenjaminW
BenjaminW
12 July 2016
A shameless, pointless, ranting and unnecessary review.
Some people have to much time to write nonsense. imo a cry for attention.

Giving this fantastic tool a 1/2 star rating is rude.
Luckily the MU guys have found a way around for such bogus reviews : 1/2 ratings aren't added to the total rating.
Like (6)
Soundsgoodtome
Soundsgoodtome
12 July 2016
+BenjaminW: I received a personal reply from Telestream, acknowledging—and agreeing with—the very issues I mentioned here, and I was assured that these and other issues are being addressed.

If your experience is different, if your needs are more simplistic, if you think this software is "fantastic," then good for you! I'm glad ScreenFlow meets your needs!

That said, surely you're capable of comprehending the concept that we all have *different* needs and that software that meets *your* needs might not meet everyone else's. I trust you're capable of that level of understanding.

I paid a lot of money for ScreenFlow, and for YEARS, issue after issue has gone unaddressed—even when I was told by the developer that they WOULD be addressed.

So, my experience and my needs appear to be quite different than yours. And as such, I voiced my opinion. If you find my sharing of my experience with this developer "shameless" or "pointless," you're entitled to that opinion. And since I believe you're entitled to your opinion (whether valid or not), I won't follow your example by calling your comment pointless, unnecessary, or uninformed.

Instead, I'll just let your words (and mine) speak for themselves.
Like (6)
Rochade
Rochade
24 August 2016
@Soundsgoodtome: So is your rating for the software or the developer? For me, this isn't clear enough. I think the main problem is your half-star rating for the software itself. I mean: a half star more or less says it's crap you can't use at all.
Like (2)
G3cd
G3cd
09 November 2016
Can't agree more. My concern with Screenflow since v3 is that something basic like the save process isn't transparent. Often, you don't get a progress bar, while the app stops responding - by clicking cmd-s again, the progress bar then appears out of thin air. Time machine does a temporary backup of every file to your root disk. So if you record to some other scratch disk and time machine starts in the background, you run out of disk space. When saving a movie, it gets moved from the scratch disk to its destination. If this is on the same disk, the app will require twice the disk space since it doesn't simply move the video, but always copies the whole file to the new destination and then deletes the temp file from the scratch disk. If Screenflow runs out of disk space during that progress, there is no message - the progress bar simply stops and you can only fix this by clearing out space on the destination disk (and sometimes root as well). You can't abort the progress either. So there's always insecurity wether our last 2 hour-recording gets saved.

Screenflow always records the full retina display resolution, not the set resolution (e.g. 3840x2400 instead of 1920x1080). This makes temp files HUGE. Also, recording a selection of the screen does not work as yet in v6 - you always record the whole screen.

When recording with v6 my iPhone screen for 30-45 minutes, sound drops and isn't restored even when the cable is disconnected - I have to reset and restart the iPhone app to get sound back on the iPhone.

So yeah, I can totally understand that someone complains about bugs that concern the very basics and have never been addressed. Even if it's the best screen recording app on the market.
Like (2)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
30 January 2017
I’m not current in this application.
Worked pretty well, when it worked.

Never been impressed with the business end of Screenflow In bundles. When I got it, it was less than full version in the bundle & ended abruptly in an update without advance warning. My version hasn’t worked for about 9 months.

I don’t recall if there was a discount buy-in at that point, but I believe not. For my part, I decided I wasn’t getting enough use out of it when there were less elegant, but cheaper alternatives.

(Although Voila appears to be discontinued or renamed).
Like
hugelshofer
hugelshofer
01 March 2017
@SoundsGoodToMe:
Thank you very much for this Review. Those are the questions I ask when testing SW.
I have upgraded 3 times my ScreenFlow License, but actually never got really in touch with this piece of Software. Now I know why. It is the missing love for the Details (a long time Mac PowerUser does expect and love about the Mac).

Btw, I also have tested those other ScreenCasting Apps, and allways came to the the conclusion that ScreenFlow is the defacto industry standard for Pro Users ... but still it never could live up to my high standards. This review is the reason why. Thanks again for taking the time to write down your experiences. Much appreciated.

... the new License Upgrade Price for Camtasia is very high, so I'll have to do a thorough testDrive of those 2 leading Apps to decide which is worth the money and suits my Mac Pro El Capitan System.
Like
rphartle
rphartle
16 October 2017
Although Screenflow has been buggy at times with older versions I have had very few problems with version 6 or 7. I have tried the others including Camtasia but found the interface too cartooney, cluttered, and even more buggy. I quickly ended up coming back to Screenflow. It is more professional acting and am able to put together How To Videos for YouTube and my customers very quickly. Telestream also has gotten much better at listening and responding to its customer issues since version 6. It is Thee Standard for YouTube Tutorials.
Like
Macinman
01 June 2016
Screenflow 6 was released today. It appears to be a great upgrade from my testing.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.6
AlexHughy
04 April 2016
Without doubt the easiest app for making screen-casts. The best thing is you can edit the screen-cast before saving. Yes, it is not the cheapest and there are cheaper and free alternatives available, still this one is by far the best you can get your hands on. Very highly recommended if you need this kind of app. Full 5 stars
Like (1)
Version 5.0.6
1988cjx
25 February 2016
I love this great software.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.5
Macinman
28 January 2016
This is a really nice piece of software, I purchased it with the intent on putting it to use with multi source recording for screen casting, and other productions involving a mix or sources such as tutorials , game plays, even showing bugs and errors (if needed). So far I've only done simple recordings to get my footing and to test the results. I also have Final cut pro X and Motion as well as the other apple pro apps i have planned to use in conjunction with screenflow in the future. What I didn't realize prior to purchase, was the fact ScreenFlow has it's own built in editor, so that's a really nice bonus. I also have purchased Sound Siphon, another great audio recording tool.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.5
Shooters
27 January 2016
It really simple: If you want screencast your desktop activity, you need this. Although a bit high priced, it is worth every penny. Ones you used ScreenFlow all other comparable apps are (almost) worthless. Top !
Like (1)
Version 5.0.5
Mac Downgrade
06 January 2016
Wonderful piece of software, stable, reliable, a joy to use. Worth every penny.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.4
CloudB
27 October 2015
By far the best screencast app for OS X. Not cheap but worth every little penny.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.3
Bento de Espinosa
26 July 2015
Beautiful and works great. The best!
Like (2)
Version 5.0.2
Xplicit
21 July 2015
I really don't like it when I have to create some kind of account in order to download a trial version. And that I wanted to do in order to check whether it's worth to upgrade to version 5 of ScreenFlow. So no account, no trial download, no deal. Tough shit.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
5 answer(s)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
04 September 2015
How the hell can you rate a software product when you did not even bother to download it? What a rude, insensitive moron you are!

If you have an issue with a software developer's download procedure, MacUpdate provides an opportunity for you to make a COMMENT. A COMMENT does not impact the ratings, but a REVIEW does.

A Review, when crafted by intelligent people who participate here with any thimble of integrity, includes a set of remarks pertaining to features, benefits, performance, user interface, overall value of a product, warning signs, intolerable bugs within the software, etc. In other words, a review is produced and published by someone who actually tried out the software and has something--hopefully meaningful and useful--to add to a discussion about it.

You didn't download the product, so you don't quality to write a Review. Learn the distinction between the two forms of adding remarks on MacUpdate.com, and stop bad-mouthing software developers because you don't like something that is not remotely related to the operation of the software itself.

Furthermore, if you have an issue with the developer, why rant here? Instead, write to tech support at the developer's website, if you think your suggestion will improve something about the software or how it is delivered. Are you just too lazy to do that, or too unobservant to notice that MacUpdate always provide a direct link to the developer's website. Oh, yeah, you've been there, so you must be lazy and you decided to let everyone know about the low level of your emotional intelligence factor here, so we know that you have no integrity or credibility.
Like (6)
Xplicit
Xplicit
04 September 2015
"What a rude, insensitive moron you are!" Wow, that coming from you. I won't bother reading any further, because what content with meaning can possibly be there. Stop lecturing others, you're not the one to do so. And please get lost.
Like (1)
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
04 September 2015
You had an intervention; you chose to be defensive about it. That indicates an arrogance and an unwillingness to learn, change, and improve.

Don't read; don't learn. I don't care. You're stuck with your attitude and the people you affect through it. It won't be me.

I gave your feedback, high and hard. Just like you did without justification to the developer of a fine product. If you can dish it out but can't take it, tough shit on you.
Like (4)
Xplicit
Xplicit
08 September 2015
LOL, you sound like a real prick. Intervention, defensive, high and hard ... please stop, I can't stop laughing.
Like (1)
CloudB
CloudB
27 October 2015
@bowlerboy_jmb@mac.com: don't spend time responding to Xplicit. He is known to be a difficult person to deal with. Most times he just writes negative reviews for no apparent reason and fun. Mostly to show case his childish mindset.
He claims to be a developer. Yet, several people asked about his apps he made. But no luck, he never talks about his apps. Probably scared...

@Xplicit: No need to reply unless you reveal which apps you made.
Like (7)
moore-jackson
15 July 2015
Easy to Use
Like (2)
Version 5.0.2
G3cd
21 June 2015
Buggy POS, but unfortunately, still the best screen recording app out there. Current bugs: 1) if you use the text tool to select text and start rendering, the text will be rendered with a bright blue "selected" background - real dumb. 2) when recording very long sessions, like 2 hrs, the sound is likely to be out of sync. You can usually fix this by detaching sound from video, but it's very, very annoying and has been around at least since screenflow v3, so it's not going to be fixed soon. 3) saving video is plain buggy. Screenflow starts to "move" videos even without having clicked anything, which takes up to an hour for longer videos. Very often, the process bar does not appear during that process - e.g., you can still click "save video", select a location, but then, nothing happens for an hour because it's still busy moving the video from the temp scratch location to some other secret spot but doesn't inform you about it. Even if it's done saving your screenflow file, the app may hang and not respond for 3-4 hrs, requiring you to force quit the app. 4) Missing feature: there's no sample when selecting a font. Different styles are only available when selecting Apple's type tool (which is oddly enough located under "size")
Like (3)
Version 5.0.2
Stephen-Fry
20 June 2015
Clearly the leading screen recording application you even need. Has great after-editing features to tweak your recordings. A wonderful piece of code.
Like (5)
Version 5.0.2
2 answer(s)
Jeshush
Jeshush
16 October 2015
Really very QI.
Like
Doug-Engelbart
Doug-Engelbart
21 November 2016
Can ScreenFlow pan (follow the mouse) when recording just an area of the screen?
Like
dailytut
27 March 2015
You can get a working coupon for Screenflow 5 here: http://www.dailytut.com/apple/screenflow-5-review-coupon-code.html Such a wonderful screen recording and editing software for mac. I am waiting for next macupdate bundle with screenflow included for recommendation.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
IngeMortier3516
27 February 2015
A screenrecording with balls ! If you are in need for a decent screengrabber, don't look any further ! It is not cheap but worth every little penny or wait for a promo sale (happens a lot with ScreenFlow). Recommend with 5 stars
Like (2)
Version 5.0.1
Steeps-Patrick
05 January 2015
Truly the best screengrabber application. But the price is too high - really. Fortunately this app can be purchased with discounts quit regular. So just wait for it and buy it. :)
Like (2)
Version 5.0.1
Mart°n
20 December 2014
Here’s the link to the new 5.x version: http://www.telestream.net/download-files/screenflow/5-0/ScreenFlow-5.0.1.dmg
Like
Version 5.0.1
Mysticalos
11 November 2014
5.0 crashes a lot, until it's more stable I want to revert to previous 4.x version but i cannot find a download link for this. :(
Like (1)
Version 5.0
2 answer(s)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
11 November 2014
Version 4 should be in the same folder as version 5.
Like
Mart°n
Mart°n
20 December 2014
You can download the latest 4.x version via this link: http://www.telestream.net/download-files/screenflow/4-5/ScreenFlow-4.5.4.dmg
Like
Mikebenda
05 November 2014
ScreenFlow 5 is listed for $34.99 in the Mac App Store. Why is it $99.00 here with an upgrade price of $34.00?
Like
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
Mikebenda
Mikebenda
05 November 2014
Oh wait. Sorry. It's not indicated anywhere but this seems to be a limited-time price.
Like
bumper314
05 November 2014
I'm not able to find upgrade pricing on their site. This has me concerned.
Like
Version 5.0
5 answer(s)
Revco
Revco
05 November 2014
I'm guessing it'll be a free upgrade from v4 (I wish).
Like
@timi
@timi
05 November 2014
The upgrade is in-app for $34.00 and requires authorization to your Contacts presumably to grab your details. Shady, and unfriendly.

I'd much prefer the old method of buying something on the website and telling them the information I'd like to share.
Like (3)
Stassi
Stassi
05 November 2014
I had just sent a message about the lack of upgrade price on their form, when I found an email from them offering a $34 upgrade price and this link:
http://www.telestream.net/screenflow/upgrade.htm?utm_medium=email&utm_source=Act-On+Software&utm_content=email&utm_campaign=%5BUpgrade%20now%5D%20ScreenFlow%205%20is%20available%21&utm_term=upgrade%20instructions
Like
Hippeman
Hippeman
05 November 2014
And the MacUpdate couponcode doesn't seem to work: AFMacUpdate10
Like
Garytmg
Garytmg
05 November 2014
@Timi I bought the upgrade last night, following their instructions. Yes - the upgrade process requested access to Contacts – so that it could autofill the relevant fields in the purchase page.

I declined the permission and simply filled in the fields manually. The upgrade process completed without hitch.
Like
IngeMortier3516
15 October 2014
Just about the best screen caster you can buy. Incredible easy to use, nice editing features. A one-do-it-all screengrabber. Period.
Like
Version 4.5.3
Mart°n
23 September 2014
I lilke and can recomend the Software. It worked well for me for several years. But i really hate downloads behind logins, so here’s a link to the version 4.5.3 update: http://www.telestream.net/download-files/screenflow/4-5/ScreenFlow-4.5.3.dmg
Like (8)
Version 4.5.3
3 answer(s)
Shralldam
Shralldam
23 September 2014
Thank you very much!
Like (1)
Bluestar
Bluestar
01 October 2014
I know! Not only that, but if you own the software 4.5.2 it will still NOT update when "checking for updates" it tells me I have the latest: 4.5.2!
Like
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
19 December 2014
http://www.telestream.net/download-files/screenflow/4-5/ScreenFlow-4.5.4.dmg
new 4.5.x branch version.
Like
@timi
23 September 2014
I love Screenflow. It's very easy to use (if you've used iMovie HD you'll know how to use this already!) and the final product looks professional. I've used it to show customers how to activate software. It's now a key part of my support workflow.
Like (1)
Version 4.5.3
Liam-
08 June 2014
Years ago I had some minor problems with ScreenFlow but 4.x is clearly a winner. Although expensive, it is by miles the best grabber for OS X.
Like
Version 4.5
Lookky
28 May 2014
The link still for the version 4.5 this is the link for the 4.5.1: http://www.telestream.net/download-files/screenflow/4-5/ScreenFlow-4.5.1.dmg
Like
Version 4.5.1
1 answer(s)
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
13 June 2014
Seems it was pulled. 4.5 is latest again according to site.
Like
Michael-Sebrecht
09 April 2014
Although it is a great app, at $99 it is a bit too expensive. I got for $19.99 with the MacHeist bundle. :) A bargain.
Like
Version 4.5
MichelR7577
09 April 2014
This program is amazing. Not only the conception is perfect, but the programmers are in line with the original guidelines of the early years of Apple. The one that made Mac what they are. Every detail if just where and how you can hope it to be. Congratulations, very few programs were released with that quality in the last years !!!
Like (1)
Version 4.5
Bento de Espinosa
20 February 2014
Just fantastic!
Like
Version 4.5
StuartT3313
10 January 2014
I've used ScreenFlow many times as a quick and easy video editor. Does the job, has some nifty effects and editing capabilities to make my video look good. I'm sure there are other more complicated or expensive solutions - i.e. FinalCut. But this works fine for me.
Like
Version 4.5
Josetgmac
05 November 2013
ScreenFlow is a powerful app for screencasting. It's the tool of choice for professional production of video courses at MacProVideo, ScreencastsOnline and Ripple Training, amongst others. The video editor in ScreenFlow has an elegant underlying design which makes editing a lot easier. I've written an ebook "Conceptual Guide to ScreenFlow" which explains 5 key concepts that drive the editing tools available in ScreenFlow. More details at http://www.onekerato.com/screenflow-concepts.html for those interested in quickly learning ScreenFlow.
Like
Version 4.0.5
Mariopue
25 July 2013
Great app. Does what it states, and does it well. Definitely my first choice for handling screenshots and screen videos, smoothly, quickly and easily. Worth every single cent.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.4
ylluminate
19 July 2013
To be fair, I've tried both the recent versions of Camtasia and Screenflow. Frankly Screenflow dev's are the more experienced OS X developers and it shows... However there are a number of cues that they can take from Camtasia. I have issued a number of feature requests to the developers that would bring it up to parity in terms of features with Camtasia and so I'm hopeful that we see some results from this. If the Screenflow devs would follow more closely what the Camtasia developers are doing on BOTH the Windows version and the OS X version, we'd see a Screenflow that just cleans everyone's clocks. Good software, but I'm going to hang on a little bit in terms of singing praises until they get some of the workflow / use cases cleaned up and brought into a more Camtasia style capture initiation and a few of the other features.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.4
Diedel
17 July 2013
Worst program I ever used. First Way Expensive, Second it constantly has issues with resizing resolution. For example If I capture a video about a game which is 1024x768 and I capture it, it has 2 white bars on the side! And after every update you have to upgrade your licese as well!! If you don't it does not work proper anymore with the specific OSX. in short wasted loads of money and still little value.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.3