Back to ScreenFlow page
ScreenFlow free download for Mac

ScreenFlow Reviews

21 January 2021

Create screen recordings.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
suzie-5
suzie-5
Feb 10 2021
9.0.7
2.0
Feb 10 2021
2.0
Version: 9.0.7
I have used ScreenFlow for 3 years. Never in the first 2 years did I experience any problems. I then switched from the apple app to buy directly from Telestream. I have had so many problems and never found anyone to help. I have missed several deadlines in the last week and today began looking for the new software to replace Screenflow. It took forever to get the stock media working and now when I upload video it plays and then just goes blank. I restart over and over again and write you emails and have made some calls, but no response. Their back load of problems must be huge, because they keep telling me, I am in line. but that does not help when I have deadlines. Can no long recommend this product. It is great to work with, but the people who should support do not seem to work.
drspencerhau
drspencerhau
Dec 28 2020
9.0.5
2.0
Dec 28 2020
2.0
Version: 9.0.5
Not user friendly. It does not store the screen recording as is. It must be saved as a project or exported and converted. Nor does it drag drop video files into timeline and has no way of linking multiple screen recordings onto one project via drag drop. Creating different tracks in the timeline is nightmare as it keeps adding tracks that are completely useless. None the less I bought filmora x after I purchases this crappy as hell product. Movie Edit Pro is easier to use and has more editing capability and only cost $50. But its not a screen recorder. Buyer beware, even it was a windows compatable, it does not have the categorizing and organizing features as a windows program often does.
Macinman
Macinman
Dec 24 2020
9.0.5
5.0
Dec 24 2020
5.0
Version: 9.0.5
MacUpdate seems to be behind on the version showing as the latest available. According to the telestream support site 9.0.6 is the latest version which is also the version to use on Big Sur and M1 Macs. What's strange is, the automatic update in screenflow itself didn't alert me to this version either. The only thought I had was maybe it's a beta, but it's not listed on the site as such. After installing the update things seem to work as expected on Big Sur. I am running an Intel based iMac, so can't comment on M1 Macs.
xcoxco
xcoxco
Oct 19 2020
9.0.5
4.0
Oct 19 2020
4.0
Version: 9.0.5
Not sure why the poor reviews. Some call the software "pricey." I have been using ScreenFlow for several years, and have gladly paid the price. Developers have to eat too.
ericnicolasurbain
ericnicolasurbain
Jul 18 2020
9.0.4
2.0
Jul 18 2020
2.0
Version: 9.0.4
Nightmare to use.
sabarudinhashim
sabarudinhashim
Jul 6 2020
9.0.4
2.0
Jul 6 2020
2.0
Version: 9.0.4
It is irritating that it does not pre-empt you that it requires additional permissions on MacOs catalina to record and that it cannot be connected to Bluetooth audio as output device. It would have been polite to put a notice at the software startup perhaps. Wasted 2hrs of recording attempt for a livestream - no audio and no screen capture because it only prompted for permission after the recording ended. And to think i actually paid for the upgrade.
Eimbier
Eimbier
Apr 1 2020
9.0.3
4.0
Apr 1 2020
4.0
Version: 9.0.3
I use Screenflow for assembling and cutting up videos from many sources, and capturing screens. It does a fine job with those tasks. It is half the price of its overpriced competitor and has most functions. I find especially cool is that one can rotate a video or still in three dimensions.
xiskya
xiskya
Mar 17 2020
9.0.2
0.0
Mar 17 2020
0.0
Version: 9.0.2
Screen Flow 9 doesn't work with MAC Mojave. I have enabled the screen capture permission in Security and Privacy on MAC, but still, Screen Flow tells me to do it.
sjones12121994
sjones12121994
Mar 17 2020
9.0.2
3.0
Mar 17 2020
3.0
Version: 9.0.2
It is true that ScreenFlow is amazing however it is only available for Mac computers. As I found out, it seems the developers are not yet considering creating a Windows version. So, if you are an avid Windows user, I can recommend Acethinker Screen Grabber Pro. As I experience, it can record and add annotations at the same time.
tbelltemp
tbelltemp
Feb 27 2020
9.0.2
0.0
Feb 27 2020
0.0
Version: 9.0.2
Who charges $129 for video editing software for mac that doesn't enable you to import mpeg or mov files ??? Answer: Screenflow.
jimigator80919
jimigator80919
Feb 25 2020
9.0.2
1.0
Feb 25 2020
1.0
Version: 9.0.2
This app does not work. I have been unsuccessful in recording like presented in Telestream LLC's online Tutorial. When I tried to call the company, they refused to help me. Unfortunately, if you buy this product via iTunes, it doesn't give you a licence number. Without a license number, you are out of luck getting any assistance. I tried to get a refund... Apple refused. So now I'm out $134 (taxes included) with NO capability.
contricker
contricker
Jan 22 2020
9.0.2
2.0
Jan 22 2020
2.0
Version: 9.0.2
Used to be ok but every update now has showstopper bugs, is slower and slower, and is basically unusable now. Switch to Davinci Resolve instead - it's free with tons of features.
ocean442
ocean442
Nov 6 2019
8.2.4
3.0
Nov 6 2019
3.0
Version: 8.2.4
A great tool but a tad pricy compared to its competitors...
Macinman
Macinman
Feb 27 2019
8.2.2
5.0
Feb 27 2019
5.0
Version: 8.2.2
I wanted to leave a note here about an issue I have with screenFlow 8.2.2 on a 27" 5K iMac running 10.143. When enabled to start at login, the Screenflow helper prevents sleep due to coreaudioD. If I uncheck the option to start the helper on login and quit the app, and helper the issue goes away. Is this intentional to prevent sleep? I was able to get the info about this issue by issuing the following command in terminal: pmset -g The output is as follows: tron@iFrog5K ~> pmset -g System-wide power settings: Currently in use: Sleep On Power Button 1 autopoweroff 1 standbydelayhigh 86400 autopoweroffdelay 28800 proximitywake 1 standby 1 standbydelaylow 86400 ttyskeepawake 1 hibernatemode 25 powernap 1 gpuswitch 2 hibernatefile /var/vm/sleepimage highstandbythreshold 50 displaysleep 15 womp 1 networkoversleep 0 sleep 0 (sleep prevented by coreaudiod, coreaudiod) halfdim 1 autorestart 0 disksleep 0 tron@iFrog5K ~> As mentioned above, quitting the ScreenFlow Helper and app resolves this issue. However, I don't recall having this issue prior to version 8 of ScreenFlow, and 10.14 Mojave. If anyone has a fix that can be applied without having to quit the helper, please speak up.
Tommy-Gun
Tommy-Gun
Aug 7 2018
8.0
0.0
Aug 7 2018
0.0
Version: 8.0
Not a review but an important comment.
The upcomming new macOS 10.14 Mojave version has screenrecording build in as default. Just press Shift+Cmd+5
It captures in 60fps, has editing features and other nice things.
It does not have video-in-video possibilities, but many people do not need this.
This is one of the great new feature of macOS10.14 which I really like.
This makes a lot of screen recording tools obsolete.
DJSquint
DJSquint
Aug 2 2018
8.0
2.0
Aug 2 2018
2.0
Version: 8.0
Screenflow is a good tool to record your desktop. No doubt about that. Sadly, it is plagued with yearly very high upgrade fees. I have no problem supporting developers, but this company really is after your money on a very regular basis. 4 star for the app itself. 0 star for the very greedy developers.
Uncoy
Uncoy
Mar 25 2018
7.3
0.0
Mar 25 2018
0.0
Version: 7.3
In a foot race for the greediest developers on the Mac OS. I've been paying for and updating and dealing with buggy versions of Screenflow for many years now. Apparently just to get v5 to work now I have to put another $39. Telestream hide their older versions really well (good luck finding version 3 for example). The only version currently working on my Mac Pro running OS 10.11.6 for some reason is version 2 (I own up to version 5 and tried version 7 too). Does screen capture really have to be this expensive and complicated?

We've all been had by Telestream's marketing. I suggest you pick an alternative that won't want to empty your pockets every year as if on cue. OS X deserves better screen capture.
Okeedoak
Okeedoak
Dec 31 2017
7.2
4.0
Dec 31 2017
4.0
Version: 7.2
I use ScreenFlow almost every day, and overall it's good. But there are very long-standing bugs that have been around for years that have never been fixed and probably never will. The developer adds features to drive sales but puts little effort into fixing bugs. You can work around the bugs, and frankly, I've grown used to them, but they're still there. I work with video played back at different speeds. A whole nest of bugs appears once the playback speed of a video is changed: audio waveform synchronization is thrown off, audio distortion appears, volume levels change and more. ScreenFlow's Save dialogs must use a very old API because it allows the colon character - ":" - in file names but not the forward slash - "/". The Mac OS allows the opposite.
Shooters
Shooters
Dec 31 2017
7.2
5.0
Dec 31 2017
5.0
Version: 7.2
Best screencast tool for macOS. Especially the great editing features are welcome and not seen incomparable tools.
rphartle
rphartle
Oct 16 2017
7.1.1
5.0
Oct 16 2017
5.0
Version: 7.1.1
Although Screenflow has been buggy at times with older versions I have had very few problems with version 6 or 7. I have tried the others including Camtasia but found the interface too cartooney, cluttered, and even more buggy. I quickly ended up coming back to Screenflow. It is more professional acting and am able to put together How To Videos for YouTube and my customers very quickly. Telestream also has gotten much better at listening and responding to its customer issues since version 6. It is Thee Standard for YouTube
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
Aug 1 2017
7.0
5.0
Aug 1 2017
5.0
Version: 7.0
I've enjoyed using this tool. But one thing I find so strange is the lack of basic video instruction for this product. I mean, couldn't a big company like this post a course to Udemy or something. It could even be free. Instead they have these webinars and everything is in FLASH! What year is it? A video company that can only produce content in flash. Unreal. Anyhow, I would love to learn more about using this app to the max, but I don't and won't install flash anytime soon.
Bleech-Jef
Bleech-Jef
Aug 1 2017
7.0
2.0
Aug 1 2017
2.0
Version: 7.0
A new version and a WHOPPING up pricing to $129???? No way that's way to expensive and this for sure means ScreenFlow will have a flow cash problem in very short time. I do not see anyone paying that much. There are plenty of very good alternatives and above all, those are priced correctly.
Bleech-Jef
Bleech-Jef
Feb 16 2017
6.2.1
2.0
Feb 16 2017
2.0
Version: 6.2.1
Best in its class! Recommended
Mart°n
Mart°n
Nov 8 2016
6.2
0.0
Nov 8 2016
0.0
Version: 6.2
If you don’t like to log in for every. single. update, use thi direct Link to 6.2: http://www.telestream.net/download-files/screenflow/6-2/ScreenFlow-6.2.dmg
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Oct 2 2016
6.1
5.0
Oct 2 2016
5.0
Version: 6.1
This is the BBEdit of screen recording applications. Five stars. Easily.
ben-stamp
ben-stamp
Oct 2 2016
6.1
5.0
Oct 2 2016
5.0
Version: 6.1
Best tool to make screen casts. Easy to use, easy to trim and edit before encoding to MP4. Great to see that v5 is still alive on Sierra with this download link: www.telestream.net/download-files/screenflow/5-0/ScreenFlow-5.0.7.dmg
AlexisDhooge
AlexisDhooge
Sep 18 2016
6.1
3.5
Sep 18 2016
3.5
Version: 6.1
Probably the best screencast app but with a huge price tag. And that's also the reason why I keep using 5 until it breaks. Someone wrote it doesn't work with macOS 10.12 .. is this true?
Mistersquid
Mistersquid
Sep 11 2016
6.1
0.0
Sep 11 2016
0.0
Version: 6.1
Upgraded from ScreenFlow 5 to ScreenFlow 6 because I was attracted to the new features, especially exporting to animated GIF and partial screen recording. However, I'm not enamored of the new icon. At. All.
Harry Flashman
Harry Flashman
Sep 9 2016
6.1
0.0
Sep 9 2016
0.0
Version: 6.1
Screenflow itself is pretty good, however I'm really fed up that anything except the current version seems to break with every OS X upgrade. Sierra is coming out and suddenly version 5 that was on sale until very recently is no longer compatible.

Telestream seem to have a long history like this and I've never forgotten my experience purchasing Episode Pro for $1000 only to discover it was incompatible with the next version of OS X a few months later. Naturally Telestream had a new version in the wings with a huge upgrade price and a casual indifference to those who were now left stranded.

Their software is OK but I really think that premium products should last more than one version of OS X. It almost feels deliberate because I see most other software apps lasting for several versions of OS X that is now very stable. For many people Screenflow 4 or 5 are more than good enough and they shouldn't be forced to buy the next version every time they upgrade OS X.
Soundsgoodtome
Soundsgoodtome
Jun 23 2016
6.0
0.5
Jun 23 2016
0.5
Version: 6.0
I've used ScreenFlow for years (since v3), and it’s been riddled with inefficiencies (caused by lazy programming and an apathetic attitude toward user feedback) for years. Its UI is awkward, cumbersome, and unintuitive. Over the years, I’ve made numerous common-sense suggestions for improvement, sometimes even receiving personal replies from a representative, asking for clarification. Nearly a year ago, I exchanged email with an upper-level representative. But has anything ever changed? NOT ONCE. Examples: - After recording a movie, one naturally looks to the right to select options. But they’re grayed out. Why? Because—for no logical reason whatsoever—none of the options is available until you first SELECT the movie at the bottom left. But if you’ve just launched the app, and you've recorded only ONE movie, what else is there to select? Answer: Nothing. This is a 100% unnecessary step that the developer refuses to eliminate. - Although ScreenFlow is feature-rich, my needs are simple, and I always, ALWAYS choose the exact same options: "Click Effect: Radar," and "Show Keystrokes." But does SF ever remember these choices? No. Is there a way to save a preset of these selected options? No. So, every time I record a movie, I have to dig through pages and reselect these options. Every. Single. Time. I’ve reported this, asking that, in lieu of presets, ScreenFlow at least be made smart enough to simply remember the last selected options! I’ve been requesting this since version 3. Now we’re at version 6. Any change? Nope. - For some, unknown reason, each time I export (save) a movie, the Save dialog defaults to exporting the movie at 50% of normal size. So, each time I export a movie, I have to change that to 100%. For the love of Pete, why can’t ScreenFlow be made smart enough to remember that for 4 YEARS now, I’ve exported at 100%. Version 3 doesn’t. Version 4 doesn’t. Version 5 doesn’t. And version 6 doesn’t. - Years ago, Apple made a smart change to Open/Save dialogs: When you save a document, the default filename is automatically highlighted, but the file *extension* is NOT highlighted. As such, all you have to do is type the new filename—and the extension will remain unchanged. But ScreenFlow defaults to both the filename AND the extension highlighted! So, of course, when you type a custom name, the extension gets overwritten, as well. When I submitted this issue, someone replied and said it didn’t matter because ScreenFlow would still add the extension back to the name. I said that was fine, but still, the *visual cue* suggests otherwise. For those of us who pay attention to these things, it looks like the extension is being overwritten! The reprentative was actually argumentative (and of course nothing ever changed). (I haven’t tested this in v6, because I was so disgusted by the other omissions that I never got as far as saving a file.) On a scale of 1-10, most developers are somewhere between 5 and 10 on the "we listen to our users and make reasonable, common-sense improvements" scale. But on that same scale of 1 to 10, Telestream gets a big, fat zero. And now—adding insult to injury—when I launch v5 (which is paid for), I’m frequently nagged about buying v6. Ugh. Telestream is an awful developer, and I’m done with ScreenFlow. They won’t get another penny from me unless and until they fix these basic usability issues. I’d rather buy a new app and support a developer that actually listens to user feedback. Maybe Screenium is that app. We’ll see.
Macinman
Macinman
Jun 1 2016
5.0.6
5.0
Jun 1 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0.6
Screenflow 6 was released today. It appears to be a great upgrade from my testing.
AlexHughy
AlexHughy
Apr 4 2016
5.0.6
5.0
Apr 4 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0.6
Without doubt the easiest app for making screen-casts. The best thing is you can edit the screen-cast before saving. Yes, it is not the cheapest and there are cheaper and free alternatives available, still this one is by far the best you can get your hands on. Very highly recommended if you need this kind of app. Full 5 stars
1988cjx
1988cjx
Feb 25 2016
5.0.5
5.0
Feb 25 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
I love this great software.
Macinman
Macinman
Jan 28 2016
5.0.5
5.0
Jan 28 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
This is a really nice piece of software, I purchased it with the intent on putting it to use with multi source recording for screen casting, and other productions involving a mix or sources such as tutorials , game plays, even showing bugs and errors (if needed). So far I've only done simple recordings to get my footing and to test the results. I also have Final cut pro X and Motion as well as the other apple pro apps i have planned to use in conjunction with screenflow in the future. What I didn't realize prior to purchase, was the fact ScreenFlow has it's own built in editor, so that's a really nice bonus. I also have purchased Sound Siphon, another great audio recording tool.
Shooters
Shooters
Jan 27 2016
5.0.5
5.0
Jan 27 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
It really simple: If you want screencast your desktop activity, you need this. Although a bit high priced, it is worth every penny. Ones you used ScreenFlow all other comparable apps are (almost) worthless. Top !
Mac Downgrade
Mac Downgrade
Jan 6 2016
5.0.4
5.0
Jan 6 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0.4
Wonderful piece of software, stable, reliable, a joy to use. Worth every penny.
CloudB
CloudB
Oct 27 2015
5.0.3
5.0
Oct 27 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.3
By far the best screencast app for OS X. Not cheap but worth every little penny.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Jul 26 2015
5.0.2
5.0
Jul 26 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
Beautiful and works great. The best!
Xplicit
Xplicit
Jul 21 2015
5.0.2
1.0
Jul 21 2015
1.0
Version: 5.0.2
I really don't like it when I have to create some kind of account in order to download a trial version. And that I wanted to do in order to check whether it's worth to upgrade to version 5 of ScreenFlow. So no account, no trial download, no deal. Tough shit.
moore-jackson
moore-jackson
Jul 15 2015
5.0.2
5.0
Jul 15 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
Easy to Use
G3cd
G3cd
Jun 21 2015
5.0.2
2.0
Jun 21 2015
2.0
Version: 5.0.2
Buggy POS, but unfortunately, still the best screen recording app out there. Current bugs: 1) if you use the text tool to select text and start rendering, the text will be rendered with a bright blue "selected" background - real dumb. 2) when recording very long sessions, like 2 hrs, the sound is likely to be out of sync. You can usually fix this by detaching sound from video, but it's very, very annoying and has been around at least since screenflow v3, so it's not going to be fixed soon. 3) saving video is plain buggy. Screenflow starts to "move" videos even without having clicked anything, which takes up to an hour for longer videos. Very often, the process bar does not appear during that process - e.g., you can still click "save video", select a location, but then, nothing happens for an hour because it's still busy moving the video from the temp scratch location to some other secret spot but doesn't inform you about it. Even if it's done saving your screenflow file, the app may hang and not respond for 3-4 hrs, requiring you to force quit the app. 4) Missing feature: there's no sample when selecting a font. Different styles are only available when selecting Apple's type tool (which is oddly enough located under "size")
Stephen-Fry
Stephen-Fry
Jun 20 2015
5.0.2
5.0
Jun 20 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
Clearly the leading screen recording application you even need. Has great after-editing features to tweak your recordings. A wonderful piece of code.
dailytut
dailytut
Mar 27 2015
5.0.1
0.0
Mar 27 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.1
You can get a working coupon for Screenflow 5 here: http://www.dailytut.com/apple/screenflow-5-review-coupon-code.html Such a wonderful screen recording and editing software for mac. I am waiting for next macupdate bundle with screenflow included for recommendation.
IngeMortier
IngeMortier
Feb 27 2015
5.0.1
5.0
Feb 27 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.1
A screenrecording with balls ! If you are in need for a decent screengrabber, don't look any further ! It is not cheap but worth every little penny or wait for a promo sale (happens a lot with ScreenFlow). Recommend with 5 stars
Steeps-Patrick
Steeps-Patrick
Jan 5 2015
5.0.1
5.0
Jan 5 2015
5.0
Version: 5.0.1
Truly the best screengrabber application. But the price is too high - really. Fortunately this app can be purchased with discounts quit regular. So just wait for it and buy it. :)
Mart°n
Mart°n
Dec 20 2014
5.0.1
0.0
Dec 20 2014
0.0
Version: 5.0.1
Here’s the link to the new 5.x version: http://www.telestream.net/download-files/screenflow/5-0/ScreenFlow-5.0.1.dmg
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
Nov 11 2014
5.0
0.0
Nov 11 2014
0.0
Version: 5.0
5.0 crashes a lot, until it's more stable I want to revert to previous 4.x version but i cannot find a download link for this. :(
Mikebenda
Mikebenda
Nov 5 2014
5.0
0.0
Nov 5 2014
0.0
Version: 5.0
ScreenFlow 5 is listed for $34.99 in the Mac App Store. Why is it $99.00 here with an upgrade price of $34.00?
bumper314
bumper314
Nov 5 2014
5.0
0.0
Nov 5 2014
0.0
Version: 5.0
I'm not able to find upgrade pricing on their site. This has me concerned.
IngeMortier
IngeMortier
Oct 15 2014
4.5.3
5.0
Oct 15 2014
5.0
Version: 4.5.3
Just about the best screen caster you can buy. Incredible easy to use, nice editing features. A one-do-it-all screengrabber. Period.