Back to Fresh Finance page
Fresh Finance free download for Mac

Fresh Finance Reviews

2.0.13
17 June 2015

Refreshingly straightforward personal finance solution.

D9
10 March 2013

Most helpful

Sidebar: Amazing how Intuit's reluctance to develop a robust Quicken for Macs has created such a cottage industry of alternatives: Moneydance, iBank, SEE Finance, Moneywell, MoneyWiz, Checkbook, Pecunia, Moneyguru, Fresh Finance, iFinance, Jumsoft Money, etc.
Like (8)
Version 1.9.6

Read 31 Fresh Finance User Reviews

Rate this app:

Brookhaven
19 September 2015
It seems Fortora have been taken over by Moneyspire Inc. To move to Moneyspire, go to:: http://www.moneyspire.com/fortora The App is free for the time being.
Like
Version 2.0.13
Tim27
21 March 2015
Just an observation. This app is not $49.99, but $49.99 PER YEAR. Big difference.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.7
PeterC7981
10 July 2014
Have used this for a few years. Have persevered with annoying habit of reporting error on closing and having to pay for upgrade each year and upgrade licence not being accepted. Latest version has removed a report that I used each month. As with previous issues I have had, and this is the major reason why I would not recommend anyone buying this, there is no support whatsoever. Emails just get totally ignored. There are plenty of others out there. Personally have moved to Moneydance where support is really quick.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
anonymous-heron-1531
anonymous-heron-1531
22 November 2014
Yes, I completely agree. It's amazing that in their advertising literature they pride themselves in customer service. I have written to them time and time again and had no reply. I was beginning to think that they had gone out of business. Their lack of interest in their customers is unbelievable. They have a good product, but zero support. It is quite simply bad business. Reluctantly I have to advise not buying this software.
Like (1)
Caulfield
15 May 2014
I'm having the same issue as earlier commentators - expiry notices appearing and the new, bought code not being accepted. Plus attempts to contact Fortora on this issue get absolutely no response. It's a pity since it's good software but I guess that I'll need to look elsewhere.
Like (2)
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
anonymous-heron-1531
anonymous-heron-1531
22 November 2014
Totally agree - I'm currently looking at iBank as a possible replacement.
Like
AnaG1916
29 March 2014
I was a long time Quicken user and was looking for an alternative that was user friendly but still had all the features I need. Fresh Finance fit my needs perfectly. I tried other alternatives but this one was the only one that had the features I needed and was well designed and easy to understand. I love the clean straightforward interface. Well done!!!
Like (2)
Version 2.0.5
monty-3
21 January 2014
Just purchased this program to convert from iBank 4. Had several problems with the QIF import and contacted the company. In over 3 weeks, I've not gotten a single reply. NOTHING. No autobot response, no links to FAQs I might have missed, absolutely nothing. A company must support its product, especially for new users. This company fails to respond to any requests for assistance. UNACCEPTABLE. It shows they only want your money and will provide no help if you need it.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
anonymous-heron-1531
anonymous-heron-1531
22 November 2014
Why do you want to leave iBank? I'm thinking of going that way. Can't stand the FFF non-existant support . .
Like
SusanP6409
05 January 2014
Sorry -- just saw that a 5-licence family pack is available on the "Deal" page. Does this mean you would have to pay a license upgrade for each license each year, or would it be a bundled upgrade fee? Thanks
Like
Version 1.9.19
SusanP6409
05 January 2014
What about multiple checking accounts on 2 non-networked computers? Say there is a joint account and 2 personal checking accounts. Or even accessing the 1 joint account on 2 separate Macs? For a home application, no network...
Like
Version 1.9.19
Jimw
02 January 2014
Showstopper: No built in Bill Pay is evident.
Like
Version 1.9.19
1 answer(s)
AndrewGeorgie
AndrewGeorgie
05 March 2014
You are mistaken - Fortora DOES have bill pay built in
Like
Feldman61
02 January 2014
I've used this software for years.... I like it, simple and good at what it does. The most annoying thing is the licensing. I have complained and emailed Fortora about this over the years. The software wants you to license the software every year so you can get upgrades.... so you have to re-buy every year (fine, developers can't offer lifetime upgrades, they'd go bust!). The software still works - you can see data and the functionality is the same, but you get reminded to purchase a license. I have just bought it from MacUpdate - but I'm still getting the huge red button reminder at the bottom left of the program screen. I did not receive a serial number, it says read the special instructions on you receipt - there aren't any!... and there seems no option to input a number even if I did have one. Just a link to upgrade my yearly plan at $50. If I didn't have years of data in this app I would look for another. It's a shame, because the app is really quite good, stable and easy to use. ... and so begins another round of me emailing Fortora (took them over a year to respond last time) and MacUpdate.... just to register the damn app....
Like (1)
Version 1.9.19
3 answer(s)
Feldman61
Feldman61
02 January 2014
I need to correct an error ... the year upgrade plan for Mac is $27.99. Also, I've just been on to Fortora's website and used the 'retrieve license code' link, and it's giving me one from a few years ago. So the MacUpdate version doesn't seem to be passing registration details to Fortora.
Like (1)
BrilorSoftware
BrilorSoftware
02 January 2014
@Blue4miles: are you saying the developer *requires* an annual renewal fee? If so, how much is it? I didn't see the EULA on the developer's web site ( but could have missed it ). TIA
Like
Feldman61
Feldman61
02 January 2014
@Brilormac: They don't 'require' it as such. The software still works. But you won't get any updates, bug fixes. You also get a reminder button appear on the app window (bright red). They call it 'renewing your upgrade plan'. The button, and the 'about' menu takes you to their page to pay for another year. So, if you want small or large updates after the first year you'll have to pay. In fairness to Fortora - they used to have a huge reminder every time you opened the app after the first year, they've stopped that. They've also got a discounted price for the 'renew your upgrade plan' .... $27.99 instead of the full price of $49.99. I suppose you're really buying a yearly upgrade plan, which if you want to keep your app up to date will cost you almost $30 a year. Not too bad I suppose.
Like
Paul-Fryer
12 May 2013
I am a Quicken 2007 user and am more than ready to escape Intuit. FFF has a clean easy-to-use interface and could meet most of my needs, once I have gone up the learning curve (definitely some non-intuitive stuff associated with Splits, for example). However, like other non-Quicken software I have looked at, it's non-support for Classes (or Tags) is a deal-breaker. The QIF import has generated dozens of near-duplicate categories from my Quicken Category/Class combinations which will be a nightmare to navigate and reconcile. FFF is also quite slow to respond to adding items to a register that has many items in it already (like my history since 1993). You will also need to carefully examine the QIF import, since some transfer items were incorrectly shown as not-cleared; also Budgets don't come across with the Import (but that might be that Quicken doesn't export them?).
Like (3)
Version 1.9.10
GatorGrowl
11 May 2013
Overall, a great home financial management package on par with probably 95% of banking web sites, and far superior to Mint or Quicken Basic for Mac. In addition to transaction downloads, account balancing, and reporting - it DOES have OFX financial institution linking, Bill Pay, and an Investment Portfolio tracker. You must enter investment transactions by hand, as far as I can see, but the prices themselves are tracked. What I see overall is a good app that is listening to the market and steadily adding features. I think the current version is going to be missing some favorite feature of nearly anyone who buys it - but download the demo and see if it meet *most* of your needs. If so, buy it - and get your Mac and Windows friends to buy it too! The more users they get, the faster they will be able to add new features.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.10
Jimw
16 April 2013
It looks like they have added some limited investment support but without bill pay, solid investment support, and a full list of specifications, it is still a no for me.
Like
Version 1.9.9
1 answer(s)
GatorGrowl
GatorGrowl
11 May 2013
I haven't gone past the demo yet, but it has bill pay, the investment support is a good portfolio tracker - it's just manual, and honestly you can see everything you need in the demo. I can tell you straightaway you're not going to get everything you want -- but if enough people buy the application and give feedback, it will improve over time. The velocity of development will be directly dependent on that word of mouth and revenue generation. Download the demo, and if it works better for you than your current system - $50 is a small price to pay. If it doesn't - delete it and move on - you're out a couple hours of your life and no more.
Like
lacwbo
10 March 2013
For me it's useless without investment capability.
Like
Version 1.9.6
2 answer(s)
GatorGrowl
GatorGrowl
11 May 2013
1.9.10 has a basic portfolio tracker, similar to what you'd find on a website. You have to manually enter transactions, but it automatically keeps prices and ROI up to date.
Like
Jimw
Jimw
11 May 2013
Does it handle shorts, puts, calls, options, bonds with the appropriate charts and graphs to track basic performance? How do you enter stock and bond pricing? Can it download daily pricing when a stock symbol is entered into the security? Another words, does it have similar investment features to Moneydance and Quicken 2007? I would hope it would be as good in this area as Moneydance. If so I might consider switching as Moneydance has not had a major upgrade in years and has quite a few class 3 bugs.
Like
D9
10 March 2013
Sidebar: Amazing how Intuit's reluctance to develop a robust Quicken for Macs has created such a cottage industry of alternatives: Moneydance, iBank, SEE Finance, Moneywell, MoneyWiz, Checkbook, Pecunia, Moneyguru, Fresh Finance, iFinance, Jumsoft Money, etc.
Like (8)
Version 1.9.6
Jimw
09 March 2013
Now if they only handled investments along with on-line bill pay they would have a real winner.
Like
Version 1.9.6
Jimw
01 January 2013
After a review of its specifications, there is no mention of bill pay within the program, such as Moneydance or Quicken does and almost no mention of handling investment transactions. While there seems to be some potential here, it seems to current lack these features which are a showstopper for me.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.0
3 answer(s)
Dolphinboy2u
Dolphinboy2u
04 January 2013
Whoops, three days after your comment, Online Bill Pay has been added to the app. Seems your voice carries weight with them. :-) Assuming this feature works well, that increases to only three the number of Mac financial apps that have bill pay capability. I wish iBank and Moneywell would offer this. Lack of bill pay and lack of syncing with iOS companion apps are my two big showstoppers.
Like (2)
Jimw
Jimw
06 January 2013
While I am really glad to see this, there is still the investment transactions issue. Other than this it looks like very good competition to Quicken and Moneydance.
Like (1)
GatorGrowl
GatorGrowl
11 May 2013
1.9.10 has investment tracking
Like
SarahJo
19 December 2012
Love it! It handles splits so well, even lets me do transfer splits! It connects to my AmEx and credit union accounts so I don't have to record my transactions by hand, all I have to do is assign the categories and I'm done! It takes me about 5 minutes each day to do my accounts :). And the bill calendar is a big plus. I recommend this to all my friends...LOVE IT!
Like (1)
Version 1.8.8
ccharles
18 December 2012
I've been using this app for almost 1 year now and it's a good user friendly solution for managing finances. Only criticism I have is investment account support is a little basic but they told me they are working on improving that real soon, otherwise the software is great. I will never go back to Quicken and I don't like Moneydance because it's Java and feels clunky to me... This is perfect they did a good job with the design.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.6
Jimw
26 July 2012
While it looks like a competitive product, from what I have seen on their website, it lacks two key features that are showstoppers for me: - Does not handle investments - Does not support online bill pay internally. The only two products that have these features are Quicken 2007 and MoneyDance. I no longer will even consider Quicken.
Like
Version 1.7.7
2 answer(s)
lacwbo
lacwbo
05 December 2012
Actually I've gone back to Quicken 2007, seems to work perfectly under Lion. Did have some problems downloading from Discover Card but that is OK now also. I can't find any other financial apps that match Quicken. Just wish they would update their app to a newer version.
Like
Jimw
Jimw
05 December 2012
While I agree in theory with Lacwbo, I do not believe this will happen any time soon. Let me explain why. Quicken/Intuit main products, i.e those that generate the most revenue are probably no longer home finance programs. Their big bucks likely come from home loans, professional and business software, and on-line financial services. As such I suspect they have little interest or any significant interest in their personal financial software other than to milk it for all they can. Frankly, if it was reported that Intuit sold off their entire personal software product line to another party or spun it off, it would not surprise me in the least. Right now I would find it hard to believe that personal finance software is a major revenue producing area for Intuit. That is what Intuit is all about - making money.
Like
AndrewGeorgie
18 June 2012
I have been using this software for 2 years and I can now honestly say it is one of the best money managers on the market. It has very clean and well designed screens, and has all the capabilities most would need. And it gets better and better with each frequent update. GREAT software, period. And one last comment I had to mention: Yes you get free software updates for 1 year, and then you can renew your upgrades for 1 additional year if you would like (at a discount). BUT most software works this way, you pay for upgrades (if you want), so what is the BIG DEAL GUYS? It's normal...
Like
Version 1.7.5
condo39
07 September 2011
I needed a basic check register to track all my bank and credit card transactions. This was offered as a 24 hour deal for half price and I made the purchase. It has performed exactly as I have needed it to. It was easy to set up and is simple to use. At full price, I would not have purchased it, but the value is OK at half price. However, I have one major issue, and that is the total lack of support. After cleaning up some files on my hard drive, this program would no longer work. Support never responded to my request for assistance. I eventually went into Time Machine, restored some backup files, and the program is running flawlessly again. However, the lack of support should be a consideration for anyone thinking of making a purchase.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.7
1 answer(s)
Fortora Llc
Fortora Llc
02 March 2012
I apologizefor the inconvenience. We have fixed our support issues and lowered the price.
Like (2)
Mgoodson
03 September 2011
Short version: It becomes nagware after a year unless you buy it again. I've used Fortora for Mac for 3 or 4 years now. When I decided on it, I had compared all or most of the Mac finance software. I was leaving Quicken because I really didn't like their software. Up until a couple of months ago, I would have given Fortora 5 starts. Then I sart getting this screen saying it's been over a year and I need to update for $30 if I want updates (not problem with paying them if I want the updates, though $30/year seem high for existing customers). The problem is that there is only a remind me later button. Every time I launch and every time I quit this software it asks me. I really resent software that I paid for suddenly becoming nagware. I sent the developer an email expressing this opinion as well and haven't heard anything from them (which seems consistent with what other users have seen from support as well) So, I would stay away from this one unless you are planning on paying them $30 every year (or whatever they decide to ask next). I wouldn't have a problem if they said it's been 3 years and we are coming out with v. 2 and that's a paid upgrade, but to say that I have to pay them every year, regardless of what they develop and then to not have a way to say stop reminding me is unacceptable.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.7
1 answer(s)
Fortora Llc
Fortora Llc
02 March 2012
Just to let everyone know we have made changes so that the software no longer repeatedly notifies you when your upgrade plan has expired. In addition, we have lowered the price for upgrade plan renewals. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience.
Like (2)
Sportbiker
17 August 2011
I've used this program for exactly one year. As a checkbook manager it's OK, but the reporting and graphing are rudimentary at best. I never could figure out how to get some seemingly simple reports. The biggest problem is the non-existent support. I've opened support tickets that have never been answered. The company phone number is not on their site, but if you Google around you can find it. Problem is, it's only voice mail. I tried calling several days in a row, always leaving my number, and my calls were never returned. As far as I'm concerned, all their "people friendly" boilerplate is bull----. When I launched the program today I got a dialog telling me to pay $30 for another year of updates and "support." As if. I'm now giving Moneydance a try. It may have its own issues, but they can't be worse that Fortora! Moneydance supports online bill pay, which Fortora said was coming (over a year ago) but still isn't here. I'm looking forward to finally being able to ditch Quicken 2007, which I kept around just for the bill-pay.
Like (2)
Version 1.5.7
1 answer(s)
Fortora Llc
Fortora Llc
02 March 2012
I'm not sure if I already spoke to you since I couldn't correlate your name with the customers I already spoke too, but we have resolved our customer service issues, so please contact us if you haven't had your issue resolved and we will help you get everything sorted out asap. Thank you.
Like
Hik12150
17 October 2010
Not only is fortora a powerful and easy to use Financial program for the Mac, the support is incredible. I had a specific problem with one financial institution and the developer kept emailing me with instructions and ultimately issued a new (free) update to the program in order to deal with my problem. I can't say enough about the incredible support by the people at fortora.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.6
Beavis
18 March 2009
They promote being a program friendly group. Not so. They develope their program at THEIR speed. Graphics are very poor, and their response to inprovement is "We are a Person Friendly Company". I have gone back to Moneydance.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
2 answer(s)
Selfilm
Selfilm
28 March 2009
BEAVIS, I am just wondering how you go from giving such glowing reviews in December '08 to such distaste in Mar. 2009? You seem to have done a 180 degree turnaround with this company. Can you please explain as I am trying to decide between Fortora, Moneydance, and iBank. Thank you! - Scott
Like (1)
Version 1.3.3
Odysseus
Odysseus
08 April 2010
Before going to Moneydance, have a look at SEE Finance.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.2
Pyris
19 January 2009
I was previously a Windows Quicken user and bought an Intel imac 18 months ago. However as Quicken does not produce an Australian mac version, I have been searching for a flexible, user friendly and comprehensive personal finance package. I have tried about 10 packages and have been disappointed until I found Fortora Fresh Finance (FFF). FFF is very user friendly straight forward, while having the flexibility to design your own reports. I was able to download my Windows Quicken files as QIF imports and took little time to find my way around FFF. After some experience I identified a couple of small issues with the program including how the program deals with transfers during reconciling and FFF were very responsive to my suggestions and have provided improvements in an update within a couple of weeks. In summary I would strongly recommend FFF to anyone who wants to keep track of their personal finances using an inexpensive, comprehensive and easy to use package. Pyris, Australia
Like (1)
Version 1.2.7
Beavis
08 December 2008
I wanted to submit an update to my previous review. This program has seen significant improvement in the last few update releases. The charting function is much improved and several enhancements to the interface and report generation functions are well done. I've contact the company several times for various reasons, from basic questions to enhancement & improvement suggestion. They have always responded and have been receptive and courteous. After years of Quicken, this app has now become my financial checkbook program
Like (2)
Version 1.2.7
Beavis
07 November 2008
I love this company. They listen & reply better than anyother software company I can remember. I really want this app to become my accunting app of choice, but the graph/charting functions are primative. Graphs & charts are important in what I need to make this my primary accounting software. At this time, these functions are nowhere close to acceptable.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.6
Robsherman
04 September 2008
After being trapped by Quicken for over a decade, my spouse and i were looking for an alternative that would allow us to keep our data on our home server so that we could access it from our personal laptops. Fortora was the only software we looked at that did this. Unfortunately due to some changes instituted in Leopard the performance of using the file this way was degraded to the point of unusability. I contacted Fortora about this and within LESS THAN 24 HOURS they identified the issue and provided a fix (they also offered me a refund if I wanted it). This is unbelievable service. I have never encountered customer service like this. For that reason alone, I would highly recommend this product! Note that for $30 you get licenses for three computers. You cannot beat this. I highly recommend this product.
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Sjpearson
07 March 2008
I have found Fotora Fresh Finance 1.0.12 to be a great product. it is easy to use and the company offers phone tech support - a must for me. the product doesn't have some of the bells and whistles Quicken or Money have, but if you are looking for a user friendly, straightforward way to manage your accounts - this is it. the big bonus is that customer service is their top priority. I had tried Quicken - i had difficulty installing it and their tech support was so bad I took advantage of their money back guarantee. I can't say enough nice things about this company. I hope they continue to be customer focused.
Like
Version 1.0.12