Back to GraphicConverter page
GraphicConverter free download for Mac

GraphicConverter Reviews

11.1
09 October 2019

Graphics editor with powerful features.

Mysticalos
16 July 2019

Most helpful

I wish this site kept an archive of earlier versions of 10.x, before they stripped out features like basic pasting in of an object and being able to drag it around. I actually had to fire up a VM, and use MS paint to do a simple edit on a photo because somewhere along the line graphic converter 10 removed the most basic feature of them all, being able to position an object you inserted into an image. Now, when I paste in an object it's pasted in a spot and IMMEDIATELY integrated into photo, no longer able to drag it to position first. The fact that I have to open a program from 1990s to do this very basic of features is hugely disappointing. I don't know what they were thinking when they made this change. I've used this program for over a decade, and now it's useless. from 5 stars to a half star.
Like (1)
Version 11

Read 629 GraphicConverter User Reviews

Rate this app:

neartheredrocks
13 October 2019
This is one of the most underrated macOS applications of all times. It does everything - or at least almost everything - that hobby and (semi) professional users need from a picture editing application, and that for a very low price. It is sad that GraphicConverter does not get regularly reviews from Mac-related technical websites and magazines.
Like
Version 11.1
marineman
11 October 2019
GraphicConverter has been a lifesaver, opening hundreds of antique PICT files that I thought inaccessible. That said, what's been most impressive is the support provided to this novice user to get me started. My questions regarding the initial lack of success I encountered were promptly and courteously answered. I can't speak highly enough about the program and my experience with the support team.
Like (1)
Version 11.1
wvanhauwe
29 July 2019
I uninstalled version 9 just because I upgraded to v. 11
Like
Version 11
Mysticalos
16 July 2019
I wish this site kept an archive of earlier versions of 10.x, before they stripped out features like basic pasting in of an object and being able to drag it around. I actually had to fire up a VM, and use MS paint to do a simple edit on a photo because somewhere along the line graphic converter 10 removed the most basic feature of them all, being able to position an object you inserted into an image. Now, when I paste in an object it's pasted in a spot and IMMEDIATELY integrated into photo, no longer able to drag it to position first. The fact that I have to open a program from 1990s to do this very basic of features is hugely disappointing. I don't know what they were thinking when they made this change. I've used this program for over a decade, and now it's useless. from 5 stars to a half star.
Like (1)
Version 11
2 answer(s)
Lemke Software GmbH
Lemke Software GmbH
09 August 2019
I am a bit confused about your report. You can paste an image from the clipboard and move it. It is embedded into the destination image after clicking outside the pasted graphics or pressing the escape key. It works this way since version1.
Like (2)
Mcr
Mcr
11 August 2019
@Mysticalos - I've been using GC since Macs were using 68000 chips and System 'whatever number', through macOS Mojave and GC version 11. I've used it on hundreds of Macs over the years (work, personal, friends, family), I use the app DAILY; the cut paste has not changed.

You say you've been using the app for over a decade. When you first experienced the behavior, WHY would you jump to the conclusion that it had to be an intentional change? If the developer had actually changed something so basic, you would not be the only one to notice, right? And this forum would be full of comments. A quick scan of this MacUpdate page or the dev's forum (https://www.lemkesoft.info/forum/) , finding no other complaints about this, then common sense would lead to the realization that it was unlikely the program had changed, but more likely something about your setup that was the cause.

The developer has always provided links to download older versions of GC on his site. Versions 5 through 11 are available; it took me less than 30 seconds and a few clicks to find it. On the possibility you have a corrupted copy of GC or a modified copy from another source, have you tried downloading fresh/clean copy of GC 11 direct from the dev's site? May be worth a try if you haven't. Try someone else's Mac, or macOS in a VM, presume GC works correctly. . Possible addons on your system that effect mouse/KB clicks and strokes; reassigned keys? Try different mouse/KB, change batteries. If using 2.4GHz wireless KB or mouse, make sure it isn't interference from USB 3 ports, try a Bluetooth or wired mouse/KB to verify. Just some thoughts.

Peace, good luck. Please consider changing your rating.
Like
qb
27 June 2019
What a great application, wonderful developer and all at a bargain price. I have used GC for about 12 years but only in the past 4 become dependent on it. I simply refuse to go to a subscription based Photoshop when GC can do it all. I've reported a few minor issues in the past and the developer is alway there to quickly communicate with me. This is the best.
Like (2)
Version 11
zlazkow
05 June 2019
The following is not clear on Lemkesoft.info: Upgrade for licensed users to GraphicConverter 11 on Lemkesoft.info - $25.95. Does it have time limit, like in App Store ? Upgrade in Mac App Store $25.95 till June 30. After that it's full price.
Like
Version 11
2 answer(s)
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
07 June 2019
There are also some differences in feature parity between the Mac App Store version and the version direct from Lemkesoft:
https://www.lemkesoft.de/en/products/graphicconverter/mac-app-store/
Like (1)
Lemke Software GmbH
Lemke Software GmbH
09 August 2019
The time limit is only for the Mac App Store.
You can always order the upgrade at our web store:
https://lemkesoft.onfastspring.com
Like
Christel1987
03 June 2019
Where can I find the new feature list?
Like
Version 11
2 answer(s)
rardin
rardin
03 June 2019
https://www.lemkesoft.info/newsletter/graphicconverter_en_2019.html
Like (1)
zlazkow
zlazkow
05 June 2019
on lemkesoft.info the list of features is quite short. Not something that I could use. I wish more editing features...

These are the features hopefully these are partial features):
Record and Save Macros
RAW Images (editing)
Unpack Archives
Wide Equalization
Gradients
Duotone
Apple Finder Tags
Like
Maddogiam66
20 May 2019
Have used this from day 1 (a very long time ago) and it's still one of the most used apps in my collection. Developer always has been proactive and helpful.
Like (4)
Version 10.7
forwardleaps
03 April 2019
Versatile. I pick that over pretty anytime.
Like (2)
Version 10.7
Chrisst150
02 April 2019
What a difference in two following comments. »Sharon Kidwell« full of praise and »peterbreis« doesnt like it all.
Okay, if you dont like the GUI then move on and look for something else. But to wine there have been users who have asked for a fix for decades, and no one had respondend, Peter thats a damn lie. I am using this app since system 8 and yes there have been bugs, but the real Mr. Thorsten Lemke is mostly quick with an answer and more than responsive, sometimes within minutes, a miracle. And if we speak about suspicion, I doubt there is a real »peterbreis« and if, he just wants to discredit.
But this should be a review, there are tons of possibilities to convert or manipulate a graphic file - this tool is every penny worth.
Chris Stolzenberg, Lake Constance
Like (5)
Version 10.7
peterbreis
23 March 2019
I'm deeply suspicious of the reviews here. They nearly all sound the same, same comments, same style, same gushing praise. I find that hard to reconcile with GraphicConverter which is adeeply flawed App. stacked with features in an appalling UI that makes it difficult to use. Something that users ahve been asking to have fixed for decades an "Thorsten" has not responded to.
Like
Version 10.6.9
5 answer(s)
darkwing52
darkwing52
02 April 2019
I have reviewed GC, although some time ago, so I don't know if you are including my review in your broad suspicion. My review is as glowing as most of the others though, so I'll respond as if you were addressing me.

You put "Thorsten" in quotes as if he is a fictitious person. Is that what you are suggesting? I don't know, but the interactions I have had seemed to come from a real person, who called himself Thorsten. I am aware of complaints about the "appalling" UI for this and occasional other apps that I use (ImageJ comes to mind). Often I interpret that as a complaint that a user wants eye candy, and prefers form over function. I don't know if that is the case for you or not.

For me, GC has been an overwhelmingly positive experience for years. Compared to some far less useful, more irritating, and at least as often used apps such as MS Office, which may or may not have a UI you approve of.

To be clear, I am not a shill, an investor, a relative, a personal friend, a friend of a friend, or even a fellow countryman of the author of GC (or the others I mention). I do not write software. I'm a physicist that values stuff that works and authors who respond. GC and Thorsten are both. I give money to authors who don't even demand it (Onyx comes to mind), and gladly to those who write useful software and sell it.
Like (3)
Scion777
Scion777
02 April 2019
"Deeply flawed" = I DON'T LIKE IT? That's not a reason to condemn it as deeply flawed. Are there serious non-functionalities about it? If the developer doesn't design it in a way you like, use GIMP or some other tool.
I've used GC since Macintosh System 8 n' 9. Then from Jaguar until today - never had any issues with it.
Like (1)
OhEssex
OhEssex
03 April 2019
Your only criticism is the long standing and justifiable complaint that the UI is poor and that the developer is apparently never going to fix it. Aside from that, describing the app as deeply flawed raises serious concerns about the performance, operation and results GC provides. Given that you rang the alarm bell loud and clear, would you care to elaborate on any of these deep flaws?
Like (2)
zlazkow
zlazkow
20 May 2019
Everybody who use GC have only praises for it, and Thorsten.
Numbers say everything. Million and a Half downloads !!! ..and counting.
There is no other application even close to GC, except maybe Photoshop and Photoshop Elements(haven't checked their numbers though).
We love GC GUI, despite being not Mac style. That's perfectly FINE.
The more you use, the more you like it! TRY and SEE.
Like (1)
Mcr
Mcr
04 June 2019
Changing...'improving' the UI is a decision that has to be weighed very carefully with any program as old as GC. When you have a large and loyal user base that has invested years in using the UI, changing it for the sake of supposedly making it more 'modern' runs the risk of losing some of that user base. So the BUSINESS decision is, does the change result in attracting new users equal to or greater in number to the potential loss of loyal users who prefer it 'as is'.

And just because a program is 'new' and 'modern' does not mean the UI is 'better'. Pixelmator is a relative new comer, some users love the UI, and call it 'modern'. I personally think it is one of the worst UI's I've ever seen. I mean Light grey text on dark grey background, in font size so small you need a magnifying glass to read, with tiny little icons that from a distance don't look like anything identifiable other than a blob of colored pixels. But that's me. The makers of Pixelmator must think all their users are millennials with young eyeballs and 20/20 vision, quick and precise hand/eye coordination that allows for small, precise mouse movements necessary to navigate the microscopic UI.
Like
Jpresto9
18 February 2019
This software program is a Swiss Army Knife utility as it does some things that other programs can't do...

Example: a high resolution image shot vertically can be easily switched horizontally left or right. At the same time it can be blown up or reduced by multiple sizes from 25% to 300% .

Over the years (since the earliest versions) I've communicated with the developer 3/4 times. Thorston always answers an inquiry within a day. Recently I asked about modifying the user interface so the size of the image in percentage (% ) no longer showed in the upper left hand corner of the screenshot (as it required more work to remove that captured percentage from the picture). Within a day Thorston added a check box in preferences to switch the percentage reading (on or) off the captured image.

If you have a large quantity of images, you can't beat GraphicConverter's slideshow. It's fast & powerful.

Would only add that the user interface is broken into categories of use. For example under "Slideshow" is subcategories for how the slide show works, how the monitor/monitors work, how the images fit the screen, how the quality of the images are represented based on your computers video card and ram size (in other words, if your video card is marginal and ram capacity marginal you can adjust the program to work with your computer.

If you're familiar with Photoshop or Painter or even Microsoft Office, you know these user interfaces are necessarily multifaceted based on the power and capability of the program.
Like (1)
Version 10.6.9
markbeck528
08 February 2019
Like most of the preceding reviews I've used Graphic converter nearly forever (2004) I am upgrading from a 2004 G5 PowerMac MacOS Leopard 10.5.8 to Mojave 10.14. I was having an issue with the windows opening in the current window in a new tab. Thorsten solved the issue by noting a System setting (Dock) which needed to be set to Manual. I would have never found it. Above and beyond support!!! Bravo. Oh, and the program. is fantastic. A prior poster noted the interface hasn't changed too much. This upgrader found the consistent interface lowered the learning curve tremendously. That leaves me with more energy to explore the new features.
Like (2)
Version 10.6.9
stephenschulte1
23 January 2019
GraphicConverter - the personal touch!! I realized I had many, many photos from the 1970's which had faded in the albums… How to attempt to "re-colorize" them? I thought of GraphicConverter, but was not making much headway. A short eMail to Thorsten Lemke and within the hour not only a solution but a 1 minute personalized video with audio using one of my photos and showing how to colorize my old photos and bring them back to life!! As a MacONLY kinda guy since 1989 and a GraphicConverter user for almost that long……… This just reinforces my admiration of the creator of this program and his team! Thanks so much and as soon as I upgrade my MacBook Pro to Mojave I'll be upgrading to the latest GC– you can count on that!! Steve on Wednesday 23 January 2019
Like (4)
Version 10.6.8
zlazkow
28 November 2018
I said it before and say it again, GC is the very best Photo/graphic/any image, editor for Mac. It outperforms all others, incl. Pixelmator, which I tried few times over the years and never liked it. It is priced normally and affordably, with an outstanding support by Thorsten himself. There is nobody like Thorsten, he responds to any question or a problem you might have, immediately. Thank you Thorsten!!!
Like (2)
Version 10.6.7
Dave-Creek
27 November 2018
I, like others, have used Graphic Converter for many years. It can do things that no other graphics program can. For instance, this week some photos that I imported into Apple Photos were sorting improperly. Examination showed that many had the incorrect creation date and time but there was no way to determine in the Photos app what the correct dates were. By importing the photos into GC I was able to see that a modification date had placed in the creation date field. Using one of the GC commands I was able to place the correct date in the creation date field and move the photos back into Photos. Problem solved! I didn’t figure this out myself; I succeeded because I received truly OUTSTANDING technical support from Thorsten Lemke, Graphic Converter's author and owner.
Like (4)
Version 10.6.7
uhr122
15 August 2018
Mit dem GC arbeite ich von Anbeginn an, also ca 20 Jahre. In dieser Zeit hat er mir immer gute Dienste geleistet und wenn mir eine Funktion bei meiner Arbeit fehlte, reichte eine Mail an den Support – Hr. Lemke – und mein Problem war gelöst. MitHilfe des GC sind im Laufe vieler Jahre mehr als 150 Reprints in hoher Qualität entstanden. Ohne den GC könnte ich nicht arbeiten, ohne ihn gäbe es meinen Verlag nicht!
Like (1)
Version 10.6.2
audaniels
30 June 2018
GraphicConverter10 is the most versatile and comprehensive photo editing tool available for MacOS. It is inexpensive, comes with a great manual, and is frequently updated. I recently proposed a change to the maker, Lemkesoft. It was added to an update of GG10 within a couple of days. How is that for responsive! Two of my favorite GC10 tools are Unskew (image perspective control) and the Dehaze Filter., which can do far more than dehaze skies. GC10's only shortcoming is the interface, which is not easy to master. However, the excellent manual helps a lot in this regard. If you are serious about MacOS photo editing, give it a try.
Like (2)
Version 10.6.2
rolfbrantschen
06 June 2018
GraphicConverter is the best app for photo editing for the Mac.
Like (2)
Version 10.6
Soundsgoodtome
05 June 2018
I've used GraphicConverter for many years. It's very stable, reliable, and is regularly updated. And on rare occasions when an issue or question arises, the developer is very responsive. Recommended!
Like (1)
Version 10.6
ef29
04 June 2018
This app has been very useful over the years. It's the only one that will handle a lot of the more obscure file formats The batch features are a huge time-saver. The multi-core function makes quick work of a pile of pictures. When requested, Thorsten added the ability to view and convert all photos in an old ithmb file-format in one day, and sent me a video tutorial too. 5-star customer service on top of a great app. Good to see there are still people like this in the programming community.
Like (3)
Version 10.6
Wadzunit
24 May 2018
Great application with awesome service - questions are answered quickly and efficiently. Would recommend!
Like (2)
Version 10.6
rest05
21 May 2018
Using GC for many years now, I always liked its batch processing capabilities to resize photos for the websites managed. I also used some other more common features often: Whitepoint, lighten up, Entzerren (rectifying?), and such. It is a superb tool for working with photos fast and professionally. Some days ago I saw GC 10 and purchased the upgrade. I very much liked the features for slide shows and used them immediately so my wife and I could together make a triage of many hundred photos very fast with the features built in, watching the show on the beamer and giving ratings to each picture with one key-stroke. The tool is very extensive and studying the large user guide to get acquainted with the short-cuts I realized, that I do not know more than 20% of its features and probably never will use more. And that I do not even understand at least 10% of the more technical features. Because of the extensive capabilities far exceeding many other tools not everything can be completely intuitive - but the large user guide helps if needed. The most unusual feature though is its technical support provided by Thorsten Lemke almost 24/7!! This Sunday I emailed a small suggestion (to include a keyboard short cut that can be used on a remote-control app on the iPad - which by design has no arrow keys - to go back 1 picture in a slide show) and within hours this was supplied in a beta version for me to test - it works perfectly. Such support is unbelievable! Even without comparing to the nowadays normal waiting lines on automated call-centers only working business hours. Only some days after upgrading the price is amortized through the new features - not to mention the super instant support.
Like (3)
Version 10.6
shiyleymilbuyn
26 April 2018
Great app really helpful and useful. It helps my editing work faster.
Like (1)
Version 10.6
Fra
20 April 2018
Pourquoi le fichier téléchargé n'est pas dans un dmg comme d'habitude. Et surtout pourquoi vient il du site macupdate au lieu de celui de l'éditeur ? MacUpdate a-t-il encore une fois de plus ajouter quelques malwares ?
Like (1)
Version 10.6
1 answer(s)
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
14 July 2018
Yes. Don't download from MacUpdate - instead go to the Lemkesoft website ( https://www.lemkesoft.de/en/products/graphicconverter/ ) and download directly from there.
Oui. Ne téléchargez pas depuis MacUpdate - allez plutôt sur le site Web de Lemkesoft et téléchargez-le directement à partir de là.
Like (1)
sharon-kidwell
12 March 2018
I have used Graphic Converter for years and have always found it to be a reliable program that was easy to use and made batch editing fast and simple. However, this past week Lemkesoft went above and beyond. In order to post my photos online in an easy to search manner I needed to do a conversion that wasn't already one of the batch options. With over 3,000 photos, doing them one at a time wasn't an option. When I asked them about the possibility of the batch option I needed they added it to their beta version within just a couple of days. It made what would have been a nearly impossible task quick and easy. Thanks!!!
Like (10)
Version 10.5.5
MarcvanMaastricht
05 March 2018
This long-time image and video converter is absolutely amazing, and a bargain. Why? First of all: it supports the most exotic image formats (got a 20-year old back with some obscure, unreadable images on it? Changes are GraphicConverter just reads en converts it without issues!)
Secondly, it has comprehensive and capable image editing features.
But most of all it's the support from developer Thorsten Lemke. He's one of the most brilliant developers in my opinion. If you make an enhancement request he not only promises to look into it, he ACTUALLY adds it! In my case I asked for the possibility to map the original creation date of 15-year old AVI movies to the EXIF-field of converted MP4-movies, to be able to import them into Apples Photos app (provided him with some samples to better understand my request).
As a result of this request, he not only added this functionality, he even extended it: adding the option to CONVERT old AVI-movies to MP4-movies, while retaining the original(!) creation date. He even added it in the latest BETA, within several days after my request!!
I know of no other application in this price range that has this possibility (and I've been searching for it for hours). And of no other developer that does this.
So, just buy GraphicConverter, if only to support Thorsten. And in the slipstream you'll get a good image editor and an amazing image an video converter!
Like (1)
Version 10.5.5
NotUsed
15 February 2018
Why does mounting this .dmg and then subsequently copying the app work at the speed of a thumb drive? Seriously, this app has been the slowest to open the DMG then so slow to copy less than 300mb to the local drive. How on earth are they formatting things to be so dreadfully slow??
Like (1)
Version 10.5.5
simpson161
16 December 2017
Easy to use, and does exactly what it says. Needed an immediate software solution for a deadline project. Cheap purchase for a simple working program. It saved my butt!
Like (1)
Version 10.5.2
Hal-Itosis
12 December 2017
What the heck is going on here?!?! Half the time I launch this app, its windows are INVISIBLE. Have deleted prefs, etc. Is no one else getting that behavior? [running the latest versions of everything (macOS 10.13.2, GraphicConverter 10.5.2, etc.) on a Late-2013 rMBP (2560x1600).] -HI-
Like
Version 10.5.2
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
18 January 2018
do you have an external monitor attached to the MBP? The windows may be opening on the other monitor, or in another desktop space. Even if the monitor is turned off, macOS unfortunately will often still output to a monitor that's turned off, and macOS often 'forgets' what is the primary display in a dual setup.
Like
Macs007
23 September 2017
First off, I am aware this tool is around for several years and has many great features. The big problem is that GraphicConverter stood still in time regarding the user interface.
In fact, it is terrible looking and worse, it is not very intuitive at all. The features are wide spread in a maze of menus, buttons and dragging.

Maybe it works for users who are familiar with it for a long time but for newcomers it clearly is not.
In short, the learning curve is terrible steep, even for doing simple things like scaling a bunch of images.
I really urge Lemka Software to take a look at modern macOS interfaces and see if a rework is doable.

Conclusion:
GraphicCOnverter is mixed bag of good features packed into an awful working and looking UI.
I don't like it at all.
Like (9)
Version 10.5
7 answer(s)
lazk
lazk
21 October 2017
The interface maybe not apple style, it's fine. True, wouldn't hurt a little refresh., although I'm sure majority of hundreds of thousands users like GC the way it is.
Everything is clear and simple, just point your mouse to the top left corner menu - everything is there. It's a matter of a week or so of using GC and then everything becomes very easy and clear. About scaling a bunch of images, I never had to do that, as I prefer to do one by one. Otherwise, GC is the best for somebody who doesn't need photoshop.
Like
Artlover_Chris
Artlover_Chris
21 October 2017
I am in the same boat as macs007. This tool definitely needs improvements regarding UI. It doesn't only looks "old" but feels "old" too.
Like
lazk
lazk
21 October 2017
ArtLover_Chris, just keep using it, and you will start liking it. It is not Pixelmator with over colored and flashy interface which I hate and will never use. GC is much more powerful and feature rich, and at the same time it's pleasure and simple to use.
Like (1)
OhEssex
OhEssex
07 November 2017
Definitely agree with you about the user interface. That being said, if the developer ever does decide to do something about it then for the love of all that is good and holy please don't go with Apple's "modern" theme of bland, vomit inducing dark gray on light gray everywhere. Color is a wonderful tool for distinguishing between features, and if you have older eyes (like me) then all this gray business just leaves you squinting and cursing.
Like (3)
Caberlin
Caberlin
07 November 2017
yes a modernization of the UI would be very welcome.
Like
Bruce-y
Bruce-y
22 January 2018
Have used GC off and on over the years. Pretty competent tool.
Agreed the user interface takes a bit of getting used to.
If there is a UI improvement I would also hope it avoids the lemming-rush to horrid light text on dark background (seePSE or many others).
For me, I cannot look at, use or read an interface or web page of light text on dark gray or black background for more than a few minutes before my eyes hurt and start to get watery.
Please keep an easy to distinguish dark text on light background.
(assuming that Lemke looks at comments here)
Like
Retired Under Attack
Retired Under Attack
25 August 2018
For my point of view, the matter is not the UI (decoration, shapes etc), but i am interesting a lot for the functionality. I would like the functionality of "Inspector" that has "FileMaker Pro". There exist teams/groups of tools in “floating” toolboxes with tabs called "Inspectors". So the user can have more than one floating "inspector" toolboxes simultaneously open, with different active tab on each inspector's toolbox and, consequently, different active tools in each tab simultaneously floating for the same document. For the case of two different documents with open "Inspectors" in them, each inspector retains his own active tools and "inspectors" for the stage of work the user leave it to manipulate an other.

I try many times to reject Photoshop because I really don't need it's abilities and price tag, but, every time i try GraphicConverter.... I fell on a wall because of the VERY HARD to use all those "goodies" it offers. Maybe my age.....

All this long reply is to give a proposal, not just criticism.

I will give it a try today again.
Like
RoyPDX
18 September 2017
Something weird happened. About a week ago, while working with animated GIFs, the first frame is a blank white. I'm sure I must have clicked something I shouldn't have, but I have no idea how to fix this.
Like
Version 10.4.3
3 answer(s)
Lemke Software GmbH
Lemke Software GmbH
22 September 2017
This issue is fixed with the current 10.5.
Was an import issue in the Core Image Routines. The 10.5 adds a workaround.
Like (2)
RoyPDX
RoyPDX
22 September 2017
Thank you! That fixed it.
Like
lazk
lazk
25 October 2017
"old-fashioned" ? It depends. I for example, and many others do not like the "new-fashioned" interfaces, with overblown images and blocs of text, constantly loading content. This type of sites make me feel very uncomfortable and I usually leave as soon as I can. The compact style sites, which have been popular about 10 yrs ago, are perfect, not intrusive and make feel easy and inviting.
GC interface maybe not perfect according to the current trend, but it is perfect to the rest of over million users. You see, when interface becomes too perfect and smooth, then application starts to loose its character and begins to look like all others.
Like
jan_de_smet
18 April 2017
A very powerful tool that's wrapped in a not-so-friendly UI. Everything is pinned to loads of menu's and some toolbar items.
Like (3)
Version 10.4.1
1 answer(s)
Pat-Geerts
Pat-Geerts
27 July 2017
I totally agree. The user interface is terrible and old fashioned.
Like
Claude-Demierre
17 April 2017
Légé, rapide, polyvalent et stable. Je l'utilise tous les jours !
Like (2)
Version 10.4.1
Maclover1-1
13 April 2017
A zillion functions, some of which do not work at all like looping animated GIF export from images or issues with CMYK conversions from some formats. All in all I cannot really trust GC.. yet have been "sort of using it" since its inception.
Like
Version 10.4
3 answer(s)
Lemke Software GmbH
Lemke Software GmbH
12 June 2017
Did you check the loop checkbox in the animation palette? That will create a perfectly looping GIF.
Which CMYK issues do you have?
Like (2)
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
13 June 2017
Yes I did check the loop function, I ended up using Photoshop anyway, I didn't know ti was so easy making animated GIF's with PS had not even thought of it.
As for CMYK issues, well at times I convert folders of images to CMYK TIFF (with resizing and change of pixel density to 300dpi) before editing in PS and many of their previews end up black, and when I open them in PS the colors are garbled looking a bit "Warhol-like".. It snot consistent sometimes no issues. Sometimes it even works again fin on the exact same images I redo the whole operation, weird.
Like
Lemke Software GmbH
Lemke Software GmbH
13 June 2017
So, please e-mail your files for testing to support@lemkesoft.de
Please zip before e-mail.
Like (1)
Levelbest
09 March 2017
I came here today and left these comments as I am once again wondering if GC can offer a solution to a current problem. Two new apps, Luminar and Affinity Photo have no DAM capabilities. Therefore a good DAM solution is needed. I was hoping that GC would allow me to browse and then set external editors in the preferences as other image browsing apps do. But alas, this seems to be something that GC will not do. I have been a fan of GC for a very long time. The developer is also very responsive and this is a well loved product at least by the developer. I had a license for many years (though version 6.x) but, aside from needing it here and there, GC never fully became a part of my work flow. The interface has been modernized all along and it should not be faulted for that. But it’s finest achievement is how well it does so many things. But, this is also it’s curse. If you live in a part of your brain where you naturally understand and think like an engineer - in logic, then I suspect that you will love this program. Many of it’s features are there - if you understand what they are and what they are for. I cannot fault that sort of thinking or indeed, that sort of brilliance. I am also a smart person, but my mind is far more visually oriented. I can see that GC is working to include this way of thinking as I see their cocooner browser for the first time.
Like
Version 10.3.1
2 answer(s)
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
23 March 2017
Tried emailing dev? He's added not one but TWO graphics formats I requested via email over the years. Always replies to good emails and takes suggestions like this pretty seriously
Like (1)
Lemke Software GmbH
Lemke Software GmbH
17 April 2017
Hi,
you can define in the prefs under General/External Editors up to 10 external editors which can be called from the browser and the normal image editing.
Just e-mail if you use more than 10 editing apps.
Thorsten
Like (4)
nicki_r
12 January 2017
Wow! 80 file formats really impress as well as plenty of features. The app involves a lot. To my opinion it's a great value for money. Recommend to try it.
Like
Version 10.3.1
Mcr
31 October 2016
I've been using GC since at least 2000, maybe earlier, honestly can't remember. Developer has DEMONSTRATED over a long period of time a consistent track record of improvement, speedy bug fixing and functional enhancement. And isn't that what we all want in any app and developer? For us old timers, that's what we used to call 'support', a term many current apps and developers have forgotten or ignore. In any app as sophisticated as GC with as many features, it is always a challenge to implement a UI that balances ease of use with power; that is a challenge not unique to GC. If you haven't tried GC, do so. The app is still provided as a fully functional shareware app; how many apps can you say that about anymore? I know there are folks who tout Pixelmator, and that's fine, I'm not dissing Pixelmator. I tried it. For me personally, I can't get past the tiny, white on grey UI of Pixelmator, perhaps younger people with younger eyes can handle, perhaps it's just my old eyes. It is kind of ironic to read comments about GC's UI being antiquated; when I find PIxelmator's UI almost physically unusable. If you already use GC, then I'm preaching to the choir, if you haven't tried it yet, give it go.
Like (10)
Version 10.2
Snappir
23 August 2016
GC is the best graphic editor for Mac. Period. Used to use PSE until I decided to try GC about 4 years ago. I was so impressed with simplicity and ease of use, I purchased it after about half hr of use. Never looked back. No need any other program, and definitely no need for PSE. Highly highly recommend!!!!
Like (4)
Version 10.1.0
Pat-Geerts
11 June 2016
Not a review - just a thought:
v10 still has an incredible outdated counter productive GUI. The app has trillion features and none are easy to find or use.
This definitely needs a big GUI overhaul to make it look and work good.

Just my 2 cents though.
Like
Version 10.0.0
2 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
29 July 2016
I don't see how it's that outdated. Open the "toolbox" pallet and it looks a lot like the current version of Photoshop. Everything else is in the menu bar items.
Like (3)
lemonb3519
lemonb3519
30 July 2016
Thats about all your comment is worth too is 2 cents. As RavenNevermore states everything is right there in the toolbox and menu bar. There is also a Help menu with 10 options for additional information, website support and if you still can't figure out how to find what you need the developer has always responded promptly and graciously will do all he can to help you.
Like (1)
midantahrir
01 June 2016
Great to see a new version. But I still use GC6 because of the slide show features. IIn GC10 there are 15 ways tos sort files for a slie show: There is none for "by path and name". So you see <path_1>/pic0001.jpg .... <path_n>pic0001.jpg - which IMHO is wrong instead of <path_1>/pic0001.jpg <path_1>/pic0002.jpg .. PLEASE fix this maybe a 16th option for sort if theres a bit left :-)
Like
Version 10.0.0
Deemery
28 May 2016
You can invoke GCon from inside Photos. Go to System Preferences, then Extensions, and check the box to enable GCon. Then inside Photos, click on a photo, then Edit, and at the bottom look for the "..." button for Extensions where you can send the photo to GCon.
Like (3)
Version 10.0.0
Derekcurrie
26 May 2016
GraphicConverter v9.7.6 is the last of the version 9 series. You can download and install it from inside GraphicConverter 9 or the Lemke Software site. The upgrade to version 10.x is $25.95.
Like (3)
Version 10.0.0
2 answer(s)
Dellsuxx
Dellsuxx
28 May 2016
Thanks as always Derekcurrie for your great reviews on MacUpdate.
I always look for your reviews first because I know they're straight up honest and reliable.
Like
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
28 May 2016
Good review. I just want to add that GC is constantly listening to feedback. Always answers emails always takes feedback to consideration. BLP export was a feature request I made and the reply I pretty much got was "sure" and there it is in version 10. That's the kind of developer one is supporting with that upgrade fee. Well worth it!
Like (2)
mpiekielnik
17 April 2016
GraphicConverter 9 is absolute must have for all heavy graphics manipulators on Mac. In fact it is not just simple CONVERTER (and saying 'simple' is heavy underrating of GC powerness in this area). It is just neat collection of DO IT ALL tools for any kind of image manipulation one can imagine. From flexible browser with excellent FlatView option, to metadata editor and format converter, image editor (excellent COCOONER is enough reason to pay current GC low price), through full feature packed editor and nice set of filters! GraphicConverter hides tons of fine tuned tools under one and rather simple interface (which maybe, just maybe need some face lifting) and legendary developer's instant reactions to any question, problem, feature request or suggestion is unique and adds EXTRA STAR over solid 5-STAR rating. You can't go wrong buying GC 9.
Like (4)
Version 9.7.5
lemonb3519
10 July 2015
Graphic Converter has been a Mac standard for over 15 years. You can try every photo editing app out there but this has consistently been the best. The developer deserves the same 5 stars as his app. I know this is more commentary than review but with such an impressive history there isn't much that hasn't been said.
Like (8)
Version 9.7.1
1 answer(s)
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
26 May 2016
Couldn't agree more, lemonb3519‼️ Especially your comments on the developer‼️ Outstanding app, company & developer‼️
Like (1)
Me2
10 July 2015
For any who must manipulate digital photos, this is a must IMHO. Indeed, it is a Professional tool that truly is like a giant toolbox filled with processes we need. It actually does so very much for those who have studied and learned how to do so. I've been using it for over 8 years and still am learning more and more and it now batch manipulates for me saving me hours of time when necessary. This is without a doubt an application tool you will not regret buying. Plus, the developer is and always has been quick to respond to issues or directions you need. Thank you. / Patrick
Like (2)
Version 9.7.1
Libertyforall1776
18 June 2015
I noticed this app fails to open saved text entered in a PDF by Apple's Preview application. This is undesirable...
Like
Version 9.7
1 answer(s)
Thorstenlemke
Thorstenlemke
10 July 2015
Please select as import library DynaPDF in GraphicConverter and it will work.
Like (5)
So where is the iOS version? We need it like yesterday! ;)
Like
Version 9.6.1
4 answer(s)
Thorstenlemke
Thorstenlemke
10 June 2015
What do you want to see in an iOS version?
Different file formats are normally not under iOS.
Like (8)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
18 June 2015
Just a duplicate of existing functionality on OS X...
Like
Holypoly
Holypoly
11 July 2015
Some don't. They got Macs. ;))
Like (2)
Thorstenlemke
Thorstenlemke
11 July 2015
iOS has some limitations:
- much less memory
- no access to images from other app via the normal file system due sandboxing

Also, you have normally only JPGs, TIFFs and PNGs on iOS. So, the format converter is not required.

What do you exactly want to do on iOS?
Like (6)
Erik-Carlson
13 March 2015
Great program. Been using it for many many years. Well worth the shareware fee. Developer keeps updating often.
Like (3)
Version 9.6
IngeMortier3516
27 February 2015
This app isn't bad but .. .. .. the devs really should take a look at modern OS X GUI lately. It still looks like an OSX10.1 app to me. With new great OSX APIs available it would make the app more easy to use (hint: use popups). Again, it can do a lot regarding converting/manipulating images and in many cases it does it good and fast. But Apple took OS X GUI one step further and GraphicConverter is still peddling with old APIs and old OSX behaviors. I still give it 4 stars though and in the mean time I wait a new GUI overhaul in a next version :-)
Like (4)
Version 9.5
1 answer(s)
Thorstenlemke
Thorstenlemke
10 March 2015
Thanks for your comment. Where should I add popups?
Please reply directly to our support address.
Like (3)