Back to OmniPlan page
OmniPlan free download for Mac

OmniPlan Reviews

3.13.2
16 November 2019

Professional-grade project management.

willf8615
25 April 2014

Most helpful

OmniPlan v2 is the worst application I've ever used from OmniGroup (and I use OmniOutliner, OmniFocus and OmniGraffle). I've found it to be very buggy/unstable and I expect waaaay better from a $200 program.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.5

Read 29 OmniPlan User Reviews

Rate this app:

willf8615
25 April 2014
OmniPlan v2 is the worst application I've ever used from OmniGroup (and I use OmniOutliner, OmniFocus and OmniGraffle). I've found it to be very buggy/unstable and I expect waaaay better from a $200 program.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.5
Lumac52
09 September 2012
Please note that version 2.2 was released August 30th. I see that at the moment, version 2.1.2 is listed above.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Macbookpro
05 February 2012
For the latest Omniplan sneakypeek (early release), go to this site....http://www.omnigroup.com/products/omniplan/download/sneakypeek/
Like
Version 2.1 sneaky peek
Espiridion
03 February 2012
If asking a simple question resulted in frowny faces, no doubt my review will be unpopular among the fanboyz. Fortunately, the Omni people addresed this issue in a recent (02/01/2012) blog post: "Also new and notable! We’re getting started on multi-project support." This had been requested since 2006. Version 2.0.3 was unable to open a MS Project MPX file, both using File>Open and dragging the file to OmniPlan. I had to Force Quit OP both times. Merlin opened the file in about 2 seconds. It did open the MPP file of the same project, and that was a bit quicker than Merlin. Merlin had a much cleaner view of the project, and this applies to Tasks or Activities, Resources, and Calendar. Merlin offers an additional view (Net Plan). I tried the "Scale to Fit Project" option only to discover there's no Undo for this. No problems with ease of use or stability. 4 stars for each of these categories. In terms of features and value I can't rate this higher that 2 stars. I'll give it another try in version 3. For now, FastTrack Schedule and Merlin are clearly a better choice, and Merlin costs the same as OmniPlan 2. People with simple PM needs will probably enjoy OmniPlan, but for the same price there are better, more robust alternatives out there.
Like (6)
Version 2.1 sneaky peek
Grhsvo
17 June 2011
Pity this page references the beta only. In fact, the last stable version 1.7 is available here http://www.omnigroup.com/products/omniplan/download/ I would say top marks for the innovative option of English only (12.2 MB) versus all languages 41.7 MB) Clever.
Like
Version 2.0 beta
Pzs
13 May 2011
I have been using this for my Project Management class and it's been fantastic! It can export to MS Project flawlessly. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 2.0 beta
2 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
13 May 2011
Since they dropped support for PPC I can't try it. Did they finally add an option for sharing/managing multiple resources across various projects simultaneously?
Like (3)
Pzs
Pzs
14 May 2011
@Espiridion As I am new to Project managment and this program, I can't answer your question yet. If I find this out, I'll let you know.
Like
Justanthrguyhere
02 November 2010
Gotta agree with others on price. I might as well buy MS Project and pretend I just got $150 off! I think this is a fine project management tool for an individual with modest requirements but close to 1/2 the price of MS Project? I just can't justify not just recommending project when the price delta is so small. I'd take a chance for less, not sure what the sweet spot is, but for sure I can't justify it at this price much like so many other Omni products.
Like (6)
Version 1.7
Frodo-life
02 November 2010
Omni's pricing is completely out of whack and unrealistic, this goes for all Omni apps on OS X and iOS which is a pity as I think they would actually sell quite well if they where more realistic priced
Like (5)
Version 1.7
2 answer(s)
Fishscale
Fishscale
02 November 2010
They do sell quite well. OmniGroup is closer to a company such as Adobe, Bare Bones, can't think of another big company but they are big developers making software for professionals and have been doing so for 10 + years. Whether your employer buy's the software or you buy it yourself your buying "best in it's class" applications so they are going to be expensive. They are not a small group of a couple developers and just one product or one developer with a lot of little products. The apps they sell cover all bases and that's why they even offer limited versions of some of their products as most won't need the entire feature list however they do make an attempt at reaching out to all levels of users. Pricing could be like adobe.
Like (3)
Version 1.7
Espiridion
Espiridion
02 November 2010
@FISHSCALE, Unfortunately they're no longer "best in it's class" applications. OmniPlan in particular has never been adequate for anything but very simple project management. In contrast there's FastTrack Schedule now at version 10, or Merlin 2. Both are much better for project management, and Merlin is priced quite reasonably. Omni applications offer great user interfaces and are intuitive and easy to use. That being said, these days I seldom use any of my eight Omni applications. The latest casualty was OmniOutliner Pro, which I replaced with the $10 NeO/Tao. The alternatives I now use offer better features. Omni is now lagging behind.
Like (5)
Version 1.7
ben-marko
02 November 2010
Tried this and it does work as advertised, I had only one crash that I had to Force-Quit. But the price is way to high for me. $50 - $70 I can see, but $150 is way out of the ballpark.
Like (2)
Version 1.7
Prlab
28 August 2009
Why is this program $149 when it's a Beta? And how many Betas do this mob put out. Fair dinkum. Who would buy this stuff if it's not ready, which obviously it isn't?
Like (3)
Version 1.6.3
Maruko-Drinking-Team
15 December 2008
I love Omni. Wanted to love this, but don't. Even using the 1-day demo, I experienced myriad problems: 3 crashes, insane difficulties (and ultimately failure) to print sections of the Gantt chart without ugly flaws, one corrupted project file (probably a result of one of the crashes), and many nonfatal UI freakouts and bogosities. Also, there is a glaring design flaw: resources (people, rooms, equipment) cannot be shared among projects. This means that you either have to only use one project file (very unwieldy if you actually have a dozen real-life projects going on), or you have to guesstimate the availability of each person or resource as some smaller percentage for each project, an then hope it works out (which it does not, at all). I really hope Omni gets this in shape someday. But they have not yet, and it feels more like a pre-1.0 beta than a shipping product, when you try to actually use it to plan projects in a real business.
Like (3)
Version 1.6.1
1 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
16 December 2008
It's interesting that you mentioned the resources issue. Back in December of 2006 I wrote that the application "has some limitations, such as sharing/managing multiple resources across various projects simultaneously." I guess that 2 years later they still have not added that functionality. I would not be surprised if that is added for version 2, along with a plethora of other requests from users, and with a significant upgrade fee.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.1
Espiridion
12 December 2008
Two years ago I wrote some comments about OmniPlan. In two years, OmniPlan has certainly gone through various improvements. A quick guesstimate is that they've been mostly fixes, and eventually 1.5 did bring some new features: http://www.omnigroup.com/applications/omniplan/releasenotes/ I have a lot of respect for AMBERV, and highly recommend reading her comments below. To me they make more sense than comments such as "OmniPlan is the best PM solution for Mac" or "This program is a friggin masterpiece." Fortunately for Omni, there are people who will pay $150 for OmniPlan. I would not be surprised if version 2 comes out in 2009 with a new price and an upgrade fee for current users. I'm pretty sure that version 2 is going to be a huge improvement over version 1, which is the one I'm rating (1.6.1). My overall impressions of OmniPlan have not changed. For simple projects OmniPlan may be more than sufficient. Having said this, I've never chosen OmniPlan for any of my projects. It's evident that Omni's strength resides in superb visual design and ease of use, but for this first version Omni lacked the focus of a true Project Management company. Merlin 2 and FastTrack Schedule show a different level of maturity in that regard. (These are 2 programs that I've used more frequently, but there are at least a dozen other Project Management programs for the Mac.) It's nice to see a pretty interface, but for my needs that's not enough. Compared to other "Project Management" software I have, I would choose OmniPlan over Jumsoft's Operation, but in 2 years I have not chosen it over Merlin 2 or FastTrack Schedule. These 2 programs are more expensive than OmniPlan, and to me they've been worth it. My Omni licenses include: OmniWeb OmniGraffle Pro OmniOutliner Pro OmniPlan OmniFocus Out of these, now I only use OmniGraffle Pro (4) from time to time and have no plans of upgrading their software anymore. To their credit, Omni has some amazing people offering customer support. Like AMBERV, "I used to recommend them [OMNI] to everyone...Lately, I never recommend, and I haven't bought a license in years."
Like (1)
Version 1.6.1
&&&&&&&&&&&&&
09 May 2008
how the feck did this get to version 1,5,1 already? about a fortnight ago it was still in beta. jeez! developers release new versions of their software more often than they change their underpants these days. whatever happened to taking a bit of time to bug-check before you let it out the door? that way you don't need a new release every ten minutes.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Vinodlive
11 April 2008
Price is the major deterrent. Hoping for it to come down. Till then I will be contented with LiquidPlanner online.
Like
Version 1.5.1 rc 2
Puffinz
22 September 2007
As an integrated scheduler at a major Aerospace program, I found some features lacking in this product. How do you insert columns to see Start and Finish dates? How do you insert customized filters and sorts? How can float analysis be conducted in this tool? Is there a total slack/float column? Also, I have to work with my "PC" friends and need something that exports to MS Project in a workable fashion. I was working with a client in Canada and using the beta version. I was working with Concept Pro's Project, but had some problems exporting into MS Project. WHen I exported the file as an MS Project XML file, MS Project could not read the file. When I exported the file as an MPX file, then all the tasks were not set up as "as early as possible" or "early dates". Thus, changing the lags on the predessessor or successor didn't move the start and finish dates. OmniPlan needs to workout this export function. Also, I work with projects that are 1000s of tasks lines long, the predessessor for a particular task could be several hundered lines above...the OmniPlan program doesn't appear to let you enter in an activity ID or a line number as a predessessor or successor.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.2
1 answer(s)
D9
D9
01 November 2007
You would be well served to try Merlin. It is much more robust than OmniPlan and has a very good track record with MS Project exchanges. OmniPlan seems to fit into that low level, single project type users. Still, I wouldn't put it pass OmniGroup to make this a very strong tool by the 2nd or 3rd version; OmniGraffle and OmniOutliner are testament to that. /
Like
Version 1.5 beta 1
Drtyrell969
31 May 2007
This program is a friggin masterpiece. I remember the days when Windows users would stare over my shoulder at BBEdit and cry. It's not that they have stopped, but OMNIPLAN is a solid successor to this punishing OSX realization. I highly recommend this product. I've been using in production strength projects ever since I started the Demo. I proudly licensed it and will upgrade forever.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.1 beta 1
Ibrychgo
01 May 2007
Finally! After years of "futzing" with Microsoft Project and countless attempts at trying to use other Mac-only project planning software, here is finally something that works and works well. Training time: Minimal. I just went through the built in help step by step while working on my first project. It wasn't long before I'd abandoned it and was well on my way with more complex things. I think I'll finally get back in control of my projects! Thanks Omni! ical, website export, tasklist integration is great! Maybe a kind person at Omni would consider adding Basecamp support for tasks and milestones someday. That would be thuper!
Like
Version 1.1
Espiridion
14 December 2006
Without doing a thorough comparison since I don't have the time, I briefly tried this new version and like it better than the beta. Is it the best as stated below? That will depend on your particular needs. After trying to import 2 files I had, Merlin 2 would not import one and OmniPlan would not import the other. I then downloaded 2 Microsoft Project files from the web, and imported them using FastTrack Schedule 9, Merlin 2, and OmniPlan. All programs imported the files quickly and FastTrack was always the fastest. Times were approximately 8 seconds for Merlin and OmniPlan, and 3 or 4 seconds for FastTrack. FastTrack also opened a dialog box in case the user wanted more information regarding the import process. Visually the only display I did not like was OmniPlan‘s. This was a surprise since I'm a huge fan of OMNI and have Graffle Pro, Outliner Pro, and Web. OmniPlan Indicated certain violations after each import. A suggested solution was to “change the scheduling for this task to As Early As Possible” Looking at the ‘problematic' tasks in the other programs yielded no warning messages, and their inspectors showed that they already had the attributes set for “As soon as possible.” Since demos are available for these programs I would suggest the people try them for themselves. Another nice alternative that I didn't use here is iTaskX, which also has a beautiful, intuitive interface and is the cheapest of the bunch at $86 approximately. For simple projects OmniPlan may be more than sufficient. For more complex projects I would probably choose an alternative product. OmniPlanStill apparently has some limitations, such as sharing/managing multiple resources across various projects simultaneously. I did not test this, but some information may be found at the OMNI forums. I hope this helps.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
Mmeikson
13 December 2006
OmniPlan is the best PM solution for Mac. Having tried a lot of the other software, I can say this is the best balance of features and simplicity. The UI is great and the output is really nice, which helps with sharing. At $150, it's totally standard in the category. Nice work, Omni.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
Espiridion
13 December 2006
I'm not a projects leader, but this type of software already exists for the Mac in different versions and price ranges. I've used iTaskX, FastTrack Schedule, Merlin, and OmniPlan while in beta. Although I'm a huge fan of OMNI and their products, OmniPlan has been my least favorite software of its kind. (Disclaimer: I have not tried version 1, but the previous beta). I do find it odd that 5-star reviews have appeared both here and at VersionTracker, and the reviews come from first-time posters. I will give this version a try out of curiosity, although I'm very happy that I purchased Merlin 2.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Saxon
13 December 2006
As a projects leader, I was expecting this software for a long time. And I can say that it's really a great one, easier than Microsoft project, and compatible with it (and not so expensive). Plannification is really easy with Omniplan, and the interface is great, like every other omnigroup's software. A VERY good solution gantt on a mac. @+ sXn
Like (1)
Version 1.0
hced
29 July 2006
What are the collaboration abilities of OmniPlan? I'm curious to know if there are any means of syncing (as in 2-way management of) a mutual project, with co-workers spread across the globe.
Like
Version 1.0b4
Chris-Reed
28 July 2006
Upon downloading this appeared to me to be a significant development of OmniOutliner by enabling projects planned through outlining, with tasks and actions etc, to become assignable to a calendar and turn a list into a plan. This is just what I needed. 'Project Management Made Painless' sounded great. Upon use however, my lack of knowledge of project planning with Gantt charts and terms like 'completion percentages', 'resource levelling' and 'baseline scheduling' suggested to me it is not really 'project management made painless'. Omniplan presented a steep learning curve for me. I found it not as flexible, intuitive and capable of visually organising information as Omnioutliner. It tended to want me to do plan projects the way the app wanted. For example, if i moved a task from one date to another it automagically changed the time allocated. It can only manage my project according to certain time constraints. These seem suited to a standard business model. I was half expecting a talking paperclip to appear. Maybe it could do what i wanted but the 'mini-manual' did not help me much and seemed more like a 15 page feature promoting commercial. It also crashed/froze several times and lost my edits. Sadly it lost my interest too. Nice app with many features, but for me, as a sole trader and freelance arts and media worker with irregular hours and lots of irons in fires, surely the target market for mac, I was disappointed. This app will be of more use to a small company with a small number of employees and an office or workshop and regular work patterns. I think the price reflects this. A mac app in a suit !
Like
Version 1.0b4
1 answer(s)
Frank44
Frank44
13 December 2006
So Chris, you admit you don't know much about project planning, but bravely rate the software anyhow. How can you rate software when you have very little idea of what it's designed to do? Did it occur to you that the 2.5 rating you gave OmniPlan could better be applied to your intelligence?
Like
Version 1.0
Archmission
27 July 2006
I find everyones arguement concerning price a little disheartening. Amazon Price for MS Project is "Used from $175", new $509.99, List $599.99. AEC Fast Track Schedule 9, New $349, upgrade, $149. Merlin New $185 (w/ exchange rate). I own a copy of AEC and was going to upgrade, but I always did not like the interface and the graphics were not any better than MS Project. With Omniplan coming out with this software, I am willing to pay the cost of my upgrade and even look at buying a bundle if they do that with Omni Outliner and Omni Grapple. The first thing I tried when downloading this was taking a semi-complicated MS Project File and open it. Not one problem opening it and saving it. Good Work Omni and I understand that it is a Beta.
Like
Version 1.0 beta 3
D9
27 July 2006
I can initially understand the price criticism of early posts but when you look at the entire picture, I think you'll see OmniPlan is quite reasonably priced. Sure, Microsoft has more overhead and thus charges more, but that certainly seems like no reason to pay more. In contrast, it would then reason to say that OmniGroup has to use more development hours to produce OmniPlan because of the fewer resources; for me, that's a more justifiable reason to pay. Still, in the end, it's about how much you need and how much you can pay for a project mgt. solution. If you look at other Mac alternatives, such as FastTrack, ConceptDraw Project or Merlin, you see them priced in the same range, if not more. Those budget-conscience solutions like iTaskX, xTime or the precursor to OmniPlan, PMX are all good but limited alternatives in case of features and compatibility. Of course, you could always get Parallels and install of copy of Microsoft Project if you really needed that kind of solution. I find OmniPlan, initially, to be a fine project mgt. solution. It's interface is the common excellent OmniGroup GUI and the features taken from PMX offer many needed features such as resource leveling and automated scheduling. That said, it's *definitely* a beta. It has stability issues as well as import/export/save problems. But the framework is there for a great piece of Mac software and I think the price is on target.
Like
Version 1.0 beta 2
1 answer(s)
D9
D9
28 July 2006
Well, I'm sure the truth lies somewhere in between. I cannot doubt that there is extraordinary inefficiencies at Microsoft, but make no mistake 50 developers can nonetheless code much faster than 5 on sheer logistics. It's fallacy to think otherwise. I, too, have worked 10+ years in development shops of 10-25 developers. In the end, there are so many other cost factors such as marketing, licensing, support, legal, etc. that any large-scale software solution requires. Sure, a small one-man development has little overhead, but so does the expected sales goals. For a firm like OmniGroup, the target numbers are much greater and thus so the capital resources required. I doubt anyone on these boards can properly and accurately state what OmniGroup's costs are so it's a bit of a dead-end argument (definitely one I will not pursue beyond this post). In the end, it's as I stated, it all depends on what you need and can afford for a Mac project mgt solution. I *really* think OmniPlan will fit in that "sweet spot" of price/performance, much like their other excellent products, OmniGraffle and OmniOutliner.
Like
Version 1.0b4
Orion-Mk-V
27 July 2006
Nice beta app, and OmniGroup does good stuff, but overpriced. It'd be nice to see an affordable project management app.
Like
Version 1.0 beta 2
John-F-
27 July 2006
I know some other project managers are equally priced high, but I hoped that OmniGroup would introduce a more affordable one. The app looks good, and if you do spent the money, maybe you'll say it was worth it. But after having spent the same kind of money on OmniGraffle Pro, and a fair amount on OmniOutliner Pro (which remains the most affordable Omni app) some people would probably say: Thanks, but no thanks. I need a project manager, but this simply is not within my budget.
Like
Version 1.0 beta 2
Gazman
27 July 2006
Looked good - until I went to their website and saw that the final version will have a price tag of $149.95!!! Whoah!
Like
Version 1.0 beta 2
Pixeljunkey
27 July 2006
This looks to be an extremely useful compliment to OmniGraffle and OmniOutliner. Same unified interface, same clean overall look. Have to read up on how to use it but it's sure to be a winner, based on whose writing it.
Like
Version 1.0 beta 2
1 answer(s)
D9
D9
27 July 2006
FYI... OmniPlan is a joint project from the developer of PMX, JTechSoftworks. PMX was a great entry-level project mgt solution, rich in OS X usability and features while easy to use and integrate. JTech has now ceased it's active development of PMX to allow it to advance with OmniPlan. So I agree w/ your assertion. Combining a great, early solution like PMX with the skill, detail and resourcese of OmniGroup bodes very good for OmniPlan, and more importantly for Mac users needing a great project management solution. /
Like
Version 1.0 beta 2