Back to ID3 Editor page
ID3 Editor free download for Mac

ID3 Editor Reviews

1.27.46
09 September 2019

Create or edit MP3 tag information.

Peter-earthman
07 December 2009

Most helpful

Tell me. Why on earth should I use this? I mean, iTunes already does this and much more.
Like (2)
Version 1.14.11

Read 20 ID3 Editor User Reviews

Rate this app:

Scion777
09 September 2019
Mp3tag does all this and more - and it is free. $15? SERIOUSLY???
Like
Version 1.27.46
Fredducker
21 September 2015
Can it rename the MP3 file itself from the ID3 tag like ID3 used to do?
Like
Version 1.21.25
zuriy3k
22 March 2015
Does anyone know if I can buy id3 tag editor mac once and use on two different mac's ?
Like
Version 1.21.25
Albertkinng
08 September 2014
I don't understand the logic of the serial number registration of this app. I paid for this app, and every time I want to re-install it for any reason (new Mac, new HD, etc..) my serial number is not good because now it's updated to a .1 or .2 version. It's not a new app upgrade! it's just a bug fix update and the serial doesn't work! It's getting annoying. It is a good app (the best of it's kind) but this issue can make anybody pass on it. seriously.
Like
Version 1.21.25
Turquoise
11 September 2013
Does not open .m4a files sadly :(
Like
Version 1.20.20
2 answer(s)
Turquoise
Turquoise
15 September 2013
Metadatics does.
Like (1)
Scion777
Scion777
09 September 2019
it does say "MP3" Editor, you know
Like
Version 1.27.46
velvetmontoya
15 August 2012
Does the 'Create details from file name' custom option only work when you have paid for the program and have a license. I am having an issue with how the track number is placed in the file name. It keeps putting a hyphen or a dash in between the track number and the title. I don't want that. Can anyone help?
Like
Version 1.18.18
Brax
05 July 2012
Just what I was looking for. Got my license in 30 minutes. I would like to see some YouTube videos showing examples or more complete instructions. This is actually a powerful little app and examples of how to use it would be great and help others to get more out of it. For example, Andreiard thought he found a bug when he just didn't have a complete understanding of how it works. I stumbled on the hyphen thing in the name, too. With that said, I asked about it and their support promptly replied with more details on the preferences setup.... The title by default is generated by 'track - title' so it will treat anything after the last hyphen as the title e.g. 'track-artist-album-title'. To use a different file name format you need to change the 'Create details from file name' in the advanced section of the preferences to set a file name format to use e.g. if the file name is the title, just set %T as the format. After searching the net over and 3 other software trials I am glad I found this one!
Like
Version 1.18.18
1 answer(s)
pl-svn
pl-svn
05 July 2012
... spent the whole day searching, and trying, every Mac ID3 Tagger and finally... found the public beta of a "soon" to be released tagger, by the same developer who's behind Decibel and Max, that can handle every existing file format :-) search for it on sbooth org forum ;-) ID3 Tagger is the only "almost decent" alternative but doesn't work for FLACs and... has a really confusing UI :-/
Like (1)
pl-svn
03 July 2012
dear developer, I'm maybe a little paranoid ;-) but... why your tag editor trashes my original *bit-perfect* verified rips and writes a brand new file (slightly) larger in size... even when all I'm doing is correct a typo? :-/
Like
Version 1.18.18
1 answer(s)
Brax
Brax
05 July 2012
I wondered about that, too. Turns out this is a backup feature in case you change your mind. It can be turned off in the preferences. I didn't notice any change in file size by the way.
Like
Neil-M
23 October 2011
The App info says 1.16.47, but the dmg says 1.16.12 - confusing.
Like
Version 1.16.47
chubbytoby
18 October 2011
I like ID3 Editor and it has served me well for quite a while now. This is the best program that I know of to organize your music on Mac. however, I am moving from Mac to PC for my university studies and I would like to ask if I will be lost?
Like
Version 1.16.47
1 answer(s)
Arnviðr
Arnviðr
19 October 2011
you can eventually try mp3tag or an alternative which work fine for Windows. If you continue using iTunes on your PC too, you can use a decent iTunes cleanup and organize program as this one: http://www.copytrans.net/itunes-missing-songs-fix.php
Like
Orlandoech
05 July 2011
Good enough but nothing compares to MP3TAG for Windows.
Like
Version 1.16.47
Mark-Lee
22 May 2011
Doesn't support M4A (Apple Lossless). Only AIFF and MP3. Too bad.
Like (1)
Version 1.16.47
CatherineB
03 March 2011
I've used this program for a day now, and found it stable and light. The "Getting Started" chapter of its documentation is not well written, but basically, you can hold down the Command key and drag files to the program's icon to batch edit their tags. You can also drag entire folders : again remember to hold down the Command key, unless you want individual editing. The program also includes a command-line utility (see the "Extras" folder of the installation package), though I've not used it myself.
Like (2)
Version 1.15.27
Neil-M
14 October 2010
Bought it, the license given does not work - customer support do not reply to emails.
Like
Version 1.15.27
3 answer(s)
CatherineB
CatherineB
03 March 2011
I purchased ID3 Editor this morning without any problems. The license key, that was given to me, worked. Their payment system looked modern and trustworthy.
Like (1)
Neil-M
Neil-M
03 March 2011
Lucky you Catherine. I have not been so lucky. Emailed support 5 times now - no rely. They have my money - I have a non functional app.
Like
Neil-M
Neil-M
04 March 2011
Well, well. I finally got an answer from support. I guess CatherineB and the guys are pushing this app again. I have a working copy now. It took 6 months, but it is now working.
Like (2)
Peter-earthman
07 December 2009
Could help finding that both reviews here are being written be new members with only one review. This is almost for sure the developer himself. Proof me wrong.
Like (1)
Version 1.14.11
Peter-earthman
07 December 2009
Tell me. Why on earth should I use this? I mean, iTunes already does this and much more.
Like (2)
Version 1.14.11
1 answer(s)
Peter-earthman
Peter-earthman
07 December 2009
Just adding ... if this would be free it had some purpose to exists.
Like (2)
Version 1.14.11
Andreiard
19 November 2009
nice app, I found a little bug and a feature missing: the bug: if the filename has dashes it doesn't always copy the track name right the mis-feature (so to speak): batch track name copy from filenames. this would be nice to have.
Like
Version 1.13.9
1 answer(s)
Brax
Brax
05 July 2012
I stumbled on this, too. Support wrote back: The title by default is generated by 'track - title' so it will treat anything after the last hyphen as the title e.g. 'track-artist-album-title'. To use a different file name format you need to change the 'Create details from file name' in the advanced section of the preferences to set a file name format to use e.g. if the file name is the title, just set %T as the format.
Like
Shatfield
04 April 2007
Because iTunes sometimes doesn't get it right. I had a CD that was imported using a Linux box some time ago, which I then imported into iTunes when I switched to a Mac. Well, the MP3 files had v1 tags, but the v2 tags were empty. iTunes displayed the tracks correctly in the song browser, but when I played the song, it would add an "_" to the name and strip the tags! ID3 Tag Editor fixed the problem by allowing me to update the v2 tags from the v1 tags.
Like
Version 1.7.7
Tiggster
28 August 2006
I found this app after I needed to fix the info in an MP3 that I had edited in iTunes. It appears that iTunes has a habit of screwing up tags for other players, obviously a ploy to make you buy an iPod. It creates the tag correctly and seems to work without problems, it even lets you edit tag information that iTunes doesn't. Could do with a progress bar when updating tags, but it's not a major problem.
Like
Version 1.4.3
St00pid-M0nk3y
02 July 2006
Why in the world would anyone pay for something that iTunes does for free? Or many other programs do free of charge, for that matter? Ridiculous.
Like
Version 1.3.2
2 answer(s)
Dockum
Dockum
24 July 2009
Wanted to upload an .mp3 to my webpage to play in a flash player. Tags appeared in fine in Audacity and iTunes, but the player wasn't reading them. Apparently, these were ID3v2 tags. I added ID3v1 tags with this app and everything worked.
Like
Version 1.12.9
Brax
Brax
05 July 2012
It does more than iTunes. Another reason is that I didn't want to import my files into iTunes just to manipulate some tags. I just batched 750 files on a external drive.
Like