Back to Xee page
Xee free download for Mac

Xee Reviews3.5.3

05 October 2017

Image viewer and browser.

Kunta-Kinte
26 October 2014
Version: 3.4

Most helpful

I try each new version in hope that it will be what it used to be... Sorry to say, but the old version Xee 2.2 is a way way better app, it's quick, functional, and it does what it's supposed to do, show images. Luckily it still works on Yosemite and it's free. OK, now you can switch off discrete graphics, but Mac OS X full screen animation is really not something you want to see every time you open an image file... Old version has immediate fullscreen, no fuss whatsoever... Who cares about sharing features, OS has them anyway... I would like to see a fullscreen viewer that is fast, efficient, has info on the image file at hand (see FastStone Viewer on windows for that) and parses image files inside the folder (that is working OK so far) so that You can open a single file in a folder in the fullscreen fast and use keyboard to go fdw back, zoom in and out and exit with esc, and that is for international keyboards. Thanks for understanding...
(6)

How would you rate Xee app?

Read 93 Xee User Reviews

2
csajok
11 November 2019
Version: 3.5.3
It became very frustrating, almost useless!
(0)
2
Zx81
21 February 2016
Version: 3.5.1
I just purchased V3 of Xee but I am very disappointed ; it is actually very slow to load and read images.
The old free V2 of Xee is much faster.
This issue has been reported for quite a while to the dev. on his Bitbucket project (since 2013) but has not been fixed.
I think I wasted $3.99.
(1)
Show comments (3)
3
Lusmu
20 November 2015
Version: 3.5.1
I like the app, but why does it contact Paddle when launching?
(0)
Show comment (1)
3
kims955
10 March 2015
Version: 3.4
I like this app, it's very good! I would like it much more if there were "folder watch and show newest image" as Eye-fi support., It would be truly great!
(0)
3
Ulyssesric
27 January 2015
Version: 3.4
The UI design is good, and feature set is sufficient for a image viewer, but the performance is astonishing slow. I've tried all kind of image viewers including ViewIt, JView, LiliView, Photo+ and built-in quick view, and I can say Xee is the slowest among them all.
(1)
Kunta-Kinte
26 October 2014
Version: 3.4
I try each new version in hope that it will be what it used to be... Sorry to say, but the old version Xee 2.2 is a way way better app, it's quick, functional, and it does what it's supposed to do, show images. Luckily it still works on Yosemite and it's free. OK, now you can switch off discrete graphics, but Mac OS X full screen animation is really not something you want to see every time you open an image file... Old version has immediate fullscreen, no fuss whatsoever... Who cares about sharing features, OS has them anyway... I would like to see a fullscreen viewer that is fast, efficient, has info on the image file at hand (see FastStone Viewer on windows for that) and parses image files inside the folder (that is working OK so far) so that You can open a single file in a folder in the fullscreen fast and use keyboard to go fdw back, zoom in and out and exit with esc, and that is for international keyboards. Thanks for understanding...
(6)
Show comment (1)
4
Robk
23 February 2014
Version: 3.3
I really like Xee. It offers all the features I need and want in an image viewer. But I miss the toolbar that exists in the free open source version (ver 2.2). If the toolbar get added back to version 3, I would give it 5 stars.
(0)
5
Globalmouser
15 November 2013
Version: 3.3
Great way to quickly browse a collection of images. Cheap and beautifully simple. Only improvement I can suggest is some form of in app software update.
(0)
Leoofborg
14 November 2013
Version: 3.3
Aw, man... Xee 3.3 non-MAS version doesn't seem to be properly codesigned. "The Application is damaged..." I've had all previous Paddle-bought builds running... just not this one. Hopefully by the time everyone reads this the issue is resolved.
(0)
Show comments (2)
Ianonline
12 October 2013
Version: 3.1.1
3.1.1 still crashes and won't open. Looks like it might be the license popup that's making it crash. I can't run this on 10.9 GM, only the MAS version will work.
(0)
Show comments (4)
BillJones2623
11 September 2013
Version: 3.1
I have now downloaded this 3 times and it still won't open. What's up?
(0)
Show comments (5)
0.5
phecasemanl3850
06 August 2013
Version: 3.0.6
Useless without the Toolbar. Reuse the free version.
(1)
Show comments (5)
3.5
Dougster
10 June 2013
Version: 3.0.4
PLEASE bring back the toolbar! Thank you.
(2)
wickedsp1d3r
10 June 2013
Version: 3.0.4
Could you add red light closing option? Thank you.
(0)
Show comment (1)
mwab
09 June 2013
Version: 3.0.1
I would love to support Xee. But, who is Paddle, and why are they not accepting PayPal. I really don’t like to give my credit card information out to a company that I’m not familiar with. So I guess I’ll have to do without a very good program that I would very much like to buy.
(5)
Show comments (7)
timmerk
09 June 2013
Version: 3.0.1
Is it possible to make Xee not use the dedicated GPA on MacBook Pros? It's killing my battery life.
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
Leoofborg
08 June 2013
Version: 3.0
Xee3, one word. WOW. A few more. Magic Mouse or trackpad scrolling. A few more. All with the same feature set you loved with Xee. Support this dev, folks... give up Starbucks for ONE DAY.
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
Aetnaria
01 June 2013
Version: 2.2
I wanted to examine a large folder of very tiny (8x8) pixel images to compare name and appearance, without having to zoom in every single time I moved to the next image. Within a minute of opening the program I found how and proceeded to do exactly that.
(0)
5
madjeff
10 February 2013
Version: 2.2
Fabulous...Works perfectly on my new Macbook Pro with Mountain Lion. Can't understand why Apple don't incorporate a simple and obvious feature like this.Many thanks folks!
(1)
5
Portmantoe
20 October 2012
Version: 2.2
This is a fantastic app for previewing images. It's intuitive, fast, and a 100X better than the native Mac application. It should be an essential Mac app along with 1Password, PopClip, Finder, etc. Download and never look back.
(0)
4.5
Qurious
29 September 2012
Version: 2.2
Was searching for something to page through a foto folder like on Windows.
(0)
4
Solvseus7
29 July 2012
Version: 2.2
Love the app. Almost as good as IrfanView on the PC, and free as well. Small problem in Mountain Lion though. When I open an image, with this set as the default app to open images, it brings up the Open window as if you were just opening the app by itself. Never used to do that. Tried uninstalling in AppDelete and reinstalling, but it's still doing the same thing. Weird.
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
darkan9el
25 June 2012
Version: 2.2
Awesome app, been looking for a while for an app that will display images at the correct size i.e. 100% and also shows the dimensions of that image. Things like icons, small images for websites etc. Xee has now replaced preview as my default image viewer.
(0)
gatovadio
14 June 2012
Version: 2.2
if you want to view pixel art correctly (no anti-aliasing, no tone change on the original color palette and no extra pixels when zooming), you need xee.
(0)
4
sutoro
12 June 2012
Version: 2.2
Good alarm app!
(0)
Show comment (1)
5
ztheil
12 June 2012
Version: 2.2
Xee just does what it suppose to do. Why does Xee not available in App Store....cant even understand.
(0)
4.5
Surfspirit
03 May 2012
Version: 2.2
How can a 5 MB app (intel 32 bit only code) can be so much faster and compatible than Apple Aperture and Preview, Apple Aperture can't even read my Fujifilm RAW, I was surprised to see this app flawless open the RAF file!!! I just wish it had pdf support so I can never open Preview again..!!!!
(0)
5
pelemac
08 April 2012
Version: 2.2
Having a household rapidly filling up with iPhones and iPads, I recently switched from PC to Mac in hopes that I would be better placed to manage all these Apple devices. My expectations have been fulfilled except for one important aspect, photo management. I find iPhoto to be awkward to use and subject to frequent crashes. What I wanted for photo management was something fast and simple, like VuePrint for the PC. With Xee I have found it. Easy to install, intuitive to use, it's what I need to organize my photos into folders and quickly browse through them to decide what to keep, which ones need editing, and what I want to post. It runs on my MacBook Pro with no glitches whatsoever. Highly recommended for the user with uncomplicated needs.
(1)
2
parasitius
24 January 2012
Version: 2.2
Have had it about an hour -- absolute nightmare. So far one straight up crash, and have had to kill it about 10 times. My use case? Go through one directory of fresh photos from my 10MP camera, nothing special. I randomly rotate and losslessly save and delete along the way. At some point it seems using these two operations causes something horrible to happen and it will start eating all CPU and images will take about 15 seconds to load line-by-line in slow motion. God forbid what will happen if you hit space bar when the rotate-image lossless save operation hasn't yet finished... This software has never been tested in my opinion.
(0)
5
Uniquepito
06 January 2012
Version: 2.2
Amazing 99% replacement for irfanview! Great app. thankx!
(1)
4
f-rol-orange-fr1926
03 November 2011
Version: 2.2
Hi, I like Xee, but the only problem for me is that I cannot print in Xee. I have to open Aperture for easy print. That is the reason i looked for another app. and I found exactly what I was looking for, JUSTLOOKING. And FREE as well. Thank you to the developer of Xee, but now for me, thank you very, very much to the developer of Justlooking. Easy, nice, simple, wonderfull ! Thank you for free ! F Rol (France)
(0)
3.5
Uncle-zed
27 October 2011
Version: 2.2
Please add 2 things: 1.thumbnail strip/viewer (sth. simple on the bottom or side with ability to swith off) 2. some kind of "save the image rotation". it is so frustraiting when wathing un-rotated fotos you have to rotate it every tame you go to the same single image.
(0)
wickedsp1d3r
30 September 2011
Version: 2.2
I would like to see an option to close the window after clicking the close button. Other than that, fantastic!
(0)
5
Dougster
22 September 2011
Version: 2.2
Apple's Preview is slow at opening jpegs and tiffs,on my iMac running Lion, so I needed a replacement, and I have found it in Xee. What brilliant software, and so fast at opening images.Bye,Bye Preview.......you won't be missed.
(1)
5
Tristan-Nguyen
02 August 2011
Version: 2.2
Great App, run Smooth on my Mac
(1)
4.5
bluez3023
26 July 2011
Version: 2.2
Great software and the only image viewer I use, the same as finder sort could be a bit more stable, and a print/edit option would be nice.
(0)
5
friautz
24 July 2011
Version: 2.2
Beats Preview by miles but don't know how to make it my default picture viewer...
(0)
5
EndoLab
08 June 2011
Version: 2.2
Wow ! That's very powerful, great software !
(1)
5
EndoLab
08 June 2011
Version: 2.2
Wow ! That's very powerful, great software !
(0)
4.5
mirkosch
29 May 2011
Version: 2.2
wonderfull app!!! finally scroll in folder function, animated GIF playing, TIFF multilayer support (and exporting)!! interface very customizable! just "Do not resize when using toolbar" function seems not to work.. or I don't get it..
(0)
Show comment (1)
4.5
PhilippBerndt
02 April 2011
Version: 2.1.1
Best application for viewing images on your mac, this beats Apples QuickView and Preview by FAR, however it’s missing some features that if were to be integrated it would be even better, i would love to see PDF support, shortcuts and MacBook gestures.
(0)
5
Doug-Engelbart
15 March 2011
Version: 2.1.1
Best, fastest, easiest PicViewer so far. Remembers the favourite window size and position when set in preferences and can crop, play, rename, move, delete etc.pp. Much better than Apple's QuickView. Just one feature request: I'm missing a button/shortcut (e.g. ctr-sft-1 to ctr-sft-8) to choose a pic's Finder label color (1–8) in Xee. Please...^^
(2)
5
xati-ba
05 March 2011
Version: 2.1.1
Speedy and smooth replacement of the inbuilt Preview.
(2)
MaoYL
14 January 2011
Version: 2.1.1
Very good replacement app for viewing images (compared to the preview/quicklook combination). To make the user experience better, I would suggest toolbar buttons for fullscreen and slideshow, and possibly larger buttons at bottom center (like quicklook, windows image gallery, etc) And maybe even smooth transition between images in a slideshow (crossfade transition).
(0)
5
Tristan-Nguyen
26 December 2010
Version: 2.1.1
Very useful for me, better than Preview on Mac
(1)
Sofy
11 August 2010
Version: 2.1.1
i is a good one. i like it but it works only on Mac OS that is not commonly used. i try ( image viewer ) program that works on windows as well and is easy and powerful with all of functions done here.i found it on site: ( FILEJUNCTION.COM )
(0)
Show comment (1)
Roro01
04 June 2010
Version: 2.1.1
A VERY ANNOYING PROBLEM WITH THE RENAMING FUNCTION For example, if you browse 200 images and got to a photo whose name start with "T" and you give it a new name starting with "A", the application will take you right to the beginning. Then, you will have to go forward by one picture at a time until getting to where you were before.
(0)
Chinese-ys
03 February 2010
Version: 2.1.1
Why the print feature is not included? I do not think no one wants to use Xee to print and I would thing print function is pretty much the basic one. I just can not figure out why it is not there. Anyone can help?
(3)
5
Tubo
25 January 2010
Version: 2.1.1
This is a very fast and convenient viewer. Very well done - I don't know if this app does all what you need, but everybody should try it. And - did you look for the capability of 'Losslessy rotate and crop JPEG images. This lets you edit your digital photographs without losing quality by re-compressing them like most other editors do.'?? Yes - it is from the description of this program. And it's FAST. Do this with GraphicConverter. 1000 photos to turn 90 degrees counterclockwise? You'll die before... Thank you VERY much.
(4)
Maclover1-1
12 January 2010
Version: 2.1.1
How many viewers do we need ?!?? Oh.. yes please make a launcher.. we need launchers too... duh !!!!
(2)