Back to Xee page
Xee free download for Mac

Xee Reviews

3.5.3
05 October 2017

Image viewer and browser.

Kunta-Kinte
26 October 2014

Most helpful

I try each new version in hope that it will be what it used to be... Sorry to say, but the old version Xee 2.2 is a way way better app, it's quick, functional, and it does what it's supposed to do, show images. Luckily it still works on Yosemite and it's free. OK, now you can switch off discrete graphics, but Mac OS X full screen animation is really not something you want to see every time you open an image file... Old version has immediate fullscreen, no fuss whatsoever... Who cares about sharing features, OS has them anyway... I would like to see a fullscreen viewer that is fast, efficient, has info on the image file at hand (see FastStone Viewer on windows for that) and parses image files inside the folder (that is working OK so far) so that You can open a single file in a folder in the fullscreen fast and use keyboard to go fdw back, zoom in and out and exit with esc, and that is for international keyboards. Thanks for understanding...
Like (6)
Version 3.4

Read 92 Xee User Reviews

Rate this app:

Zx81
21 February 2016
I just purchased V3 of Xee but I am very disappointed ; it is actually very slow to load and read images.
The old free V2 of Xee is much faster.
This issue has been reported for quite a while to the dev. on his Bitbucket project (since 2013) but has not been fixed.
I think I wasted $3.99.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.1
2 answer(s)
Pcolvin
Pcolvin
13 July 2016
The problem is that Xee doesn't do any image caching, reading each image in only at the time you select it.
Like
Slashpot
Slashpot
12 August 2019
Ive used Xee as my image viewer for years, & as an artist, very little is more important. But in v3 they took the damn controls away!! And worse, since I installed Mojave I can't use v.2!
I don't use kbd shortcuts so this thing is useless to me! I now haft find another damn viewer! WHY don't you give us the OPTION to have the controls? this is nuts! I'll pay triple! ten times!
Like
Lusmu
20 November 2015
I like the app, but why does it contact Paddle when launching?
Like
Version 3.5.1
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
18 May 2016
Paddle is the billing vendor/payment mechanism used in the app. It's likely checking registration or purchase info if any, against your installation ID. If none, then it is notifying Paddle of a new trial installation
Like
kims955
10 March 2015
I like this app, it's very good! I would like it much more if there were "folder watch and show newest image" as Eye-fi support., It would be truly great!
Like
Version 3.4
Ulyssesric
27 January 2015
The UI design is good, and feature set is sufficient for a image viewer, but the performance is astonishing slow. I've tried all kind of image viewers including ViewIt, JView, LiliView, Photo+ and built-in quick view, and I can say Xee is the slowest among them all.
Like (1)
Version 3.4
Kunta-Kinte
26 October 2014
I try each new version in hope that it will be what it used to be... Sorry to say, but the old version Xee 2.2 is a way way better app, it's quick, functional, and it does what it's supposed to do, show images. Luckily it still works on Yosemite and it's free. OK, now you can switch off discrete graphics, but Mac OS X full screen animation is really not something you want to see every time you open an image file... Old version has immediate fullscreen, no fuss whatsoever... Who cares about sharing features, OS has them anyway... I would like to see a fullscreen viewer that is fast, efficient, has info on the image file at hand (see FastStone Viewer on windows for that) and parses image files inside the folder (that is working OK so far) so that You can open a single file in a folder in the fullscreen fast and use keyboard to go fdw back, zoom in and out and exit with esc, and that is for international keyboards. Thanks for understanding...
Like (6)
Version 3.4
1 answer(s)
Uncoy
Uncoy
14 May 2015
Lyn is probably what you are looking for. Latest version has all kinds of access to metadata and ratings.
Like (1)
Robk
23 February 2014
I really like Xee. It offers all the features I need and want in an image viewer. But I miss the toolbar that exists in the free open source version (ver 2.2). If the toolbar get added back to version 3, I would give it 5 stars.
Like
Version 3.3
Globalmouser
15 November 2013
Great way to quickly browse a collection of images. Cheap and beautifully simple. Only improvement I can suggest is some form of in app software update.
Like
Version 3.3
Leoofborg
14 November 2013
Aw, man... Xee 3.3 non-MAS version doesn't seem to be properly codesigned. "The Application is damaged..." I've had all previous Paddle-bought builds running... just not this one. Hopefully by the time everyone reads this the issue is resolved.
Like
Version 3.3
2 answer(s)
Leoofborg
Leoofborg
14 November 2013
And I *just* got a reply from Dag: *** Dag says: Seems you have to switch your preference to run apps from "Anywhere", then start it once, then you can change it back, and it'll work. Trying to find out what is going on with that now... *** DId I mention I like responsive developers? Dag is one of the good ones...
Like (1)
Circlesoft
Circlesoft
14 November 2013
Seems to be some weird OS X bug with quarantining and code signing. It works if you either set OS X to run apps from anywhere, or if you run "xattrs -cr" on it to remove quarantine attributes. I've changed the download to a .dmg file instead, which for some reason doesn't trigger this bug. Try re-downloading now and you should get the .dmg instead.
Like (1)
Ianonline
12 October 2013
3.1.1 still crashes and won't open. Looks like it might be the license popup that's making it crash. I can't run this on 10.9 GM, only the MAS version will work.
Like
Version 3.1.1
4 answer(s)
Circlesoft
Circlesoft
12 October 2013
Still waiting for a fix from Paddle.com. 3.1.1 includes an updated version of their framework, but apparently it still crashes. It was not announced anywhere and MacUpdate really shouldn't have updated it, since it changes nothing in practice.
Like
Circlesoft
Circlesoft
12 October 2013
(Also note that it crashes only on Mavericks, other versions should be fine.)
Like
Ianonline
Ianonline
12 October 2013
Ah ok, that's what I thought. Thanks for the info, I'll use MAS version for now.
Like
Pusfarm
Pusfarm
16 October 2013
Another reason I'll be waiting for a Paypal option.
Like (1)
BillJones2623
11 September 2013
I have now downloaded this 3 times and it still won't open. What's up?
Like
Version 3.1
5 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
11 September 2013
BillJones2623, do you mean that the ZIP archive won't open once downloaded? Or that the application won't open? I've downloaded it this morning (11 September 2013), and the archive expands with no errors. If you're having problems with the opening of the application, check the developer's support page here: http://xee.c3.cx/problems
Like
BillJones2623
BillJones2623
11 September 2013
Thanks, Jess. The developer says it doesn't 'launch' or anything. It just displays a selected image. Then, the upper left commands work for Xee. That is ok with me. It works, but I have no license. They say App Store downloads don't need a license.. go figure.
Like
siamlotus
siamlotus
12 October 2013
Tried downloading it myself and the ZIP archive won't open.
Like
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
12 October 2013
@siamlotus... I tried downloading it this morning, and the file downloaded and expanded without any problems--though it is a newer version, 3.1.1. The developer might have been uploading the file to his distribution server at the time you tried to download. Try the download again and compare the size of the downloaded ZIP archive to the file size posted in our listing. If it differs significantly, something has happened to the file in the download process, and the archive will not open.
Like
siamlotus
siamlotus
12 October 2013
Hi Jess, It is actually The Unarchiver that has a problem with the file. I can open it with the system utility though as I just tried that. Thanks.
Like
phecasemanl3850
06 August 2013
Useless without the Toolbar. Reuse the free version.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.6
5 answer(s)
Circlesoft
Circlesoft
09 August 2013
I really don't think a cosmetic detail like that justified a half-star rating. I have been working on figuring out a more functional replacement for the toolbar, which never functioned well in 2.x.
Like (4)
phecasemanl3850
phecasemanl3850
09 August 2013
Forgot to mention: The toolbar provides lotsa handy features easy available, like scrolling, zooming and editing. Not everybody owns a magic mouse or an iPad. Please reconsider yanking back the toolbar.
Like (1)
Circlesoft
Circlesoft
09 August 2013
The toolbar never worked well together with the automatic window resizing, which is why it was not implemented in this version. If I can come up with an interface that works, I will try to implement that instead. Meanwhile, the program is heavily optimized for using with the keyboard, which tends to be faster than any other method.
Like (2)
Dougster
Dougster
02 October 2013
I agree. The toolbar is a must-have feature. I never had any problems with the toolbar in previous versions. No toolbar,so it's back to Apple's Preview.
Like
Crus13
Crus13
19 May 2014
Yup, v2.2 works perfect and blazing speed, no stupid lagy transitions/animations, did I mention it takes almost 4 seconds to display an image?!!! It even has a preference for that (which I consider a BUG), to display static or spinning wheel while it is loading a 100k jpd (on SSD!... Really?! Version 3.x is really weird and won't worth a dime, it has nothing new except dark UI (yay.. not), jerky animations, lag opening an image. Why did they even bother especially that you have to pay for those bugs now... great (NOT).
Like
Dougster
10 June 2013
PLEASE bring back the toolbar! Thank you.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.4
wickedsp1d3r
10 June 2013
Could you add red light closing option? Thank you.
Like
Version 3.0.4
1 answer(s)
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
10 June 2013
When closing main window → Quit
Like
mwab
09 June 2013
I would love to support Xee. But, who is Paddle, and why are they not accepting PayPal. I really don’t like to give my credit card information out to a company that I’m not familiar with. So I guess I’ll have to do without a very good program that I would very much like to buy.
Like (5)
Version 3.0.1
7 answer(s)
mikokim
mikokim
10 June 2013
@Circlesoft: still would be nice to offer what has become a standard: PayPal. I share mwab's sentiment.
Like
BuggyX
BuggyX
10 June 2013
same goes with me pls paypal
Like
A1D
A1D
12 June 2013
Completely agreed.
Like
Rdavio
Rdavio
14 June 2013
Likewise. And it is very annoying that the payment "options" (just a credit card) are not even shown before you register. Please find some alternative methods soon. Will not purchase via this method.
Like
mwab
mwab
22 June 2013
Well today I bought Xee using PayPal. Thanks
Like (1)
mikokim
mikokim
22 June 2013
+1 :)
Like
Pusfarm
Pusfarm
08 September 2013
I still don't see a PayPal option to purchase. It's not that I love them, but they've been around awhile, I know who they are, and I don't have to give my CC# to a company I've never heard of, and whose parent company I've never heard of. Sorry, but Xee 2 will have to do.
Like
timmerk
09 June 2013
Is it possible to make Xee not use the dedicated GPA on MacBook Pros? It's killing my battery life.
Like
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
timmerk
timmerk
09 June 2013
GPU*
Like
Leoofborg
08 June 2013
Xee3, one word. WOW. A few more. Magic Mouse or trackpad scrolling. A few more. All with the same feature set you loved with Xee. Support this dev, folks... give up Starbucks for ONE DAY.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Rdavio
Rdavio
14 June 2013
Will do so, as soon as they support PayPal or other options besides "Paddle" and credit cards.
Like
Aetnaria
01 June 2013
I wanted to examine a large folder of very tiny (8x8) pixel images to compare name and appearance, without having to zoom in every single time I moved to the next image. Within a minute of opening the program I found how and proceeded to do exactly that.
Like
Version 2.2
madjeff
10 February 2013
Fabulous...Works perfectly on my new Macbook Pro with Mountain Lion. Can't understand why Apple don't incorporate a simple and obvious feature like this.Many thanks folks!
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Portmantoe
20 October 2012
This is a fantastic app for previewing images. It's intuitive, fast, and a 100X better than the native Mac application. It should be an essential Mac app along with 1Password, PopClip, Finder, etc. Download and never look back.
Like
Version 2.2
Qurious
29 September 2012
Was searching for something to page through a foto folder like on Windows.
Like
Version 2.2
Solvseus7
29 July 2012
Love the app. Almost as good as IrfanView on the PC, and free as well. Small problem in Mountain Lion though. When I open an image, with this set as the default app to open images, it brings up the Open window as if you were just opening the app by itself. Never used to do that. Tried uninstalling in AppDelete and reinstalling, but it's still doing the same thing. Weird.
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Magnus-Branzén
Magnus-Branzén
11 August 2012
Noticed the precise same thing. An update hopefully will fix this.
Like
darkan9el
25 June 2012
Awesome app, been looking for a while for an app that will display images at the correct size i.e. 100% and also shows the dimensions of that image. Things like icons, small images for websites etc. Xee has now replaced preview as my default image viewer.
Like
Version 2.2
gatovadio
14 June 2012
if you want to view pixel art correctly (no anti-aliasing, no tone change on the original color palette and no extra pixels when zooming), you need xee.
Like
Version 2.2
sutoro
12 June 2012
Good alarm app!
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
gatovadio
gatovadio
14 June 2012
well, you got two words, out of three, right.
Like (1)
ztheil
12 June 2012
Xee just does what it suppose to do. Why does Xee not available in App Store....cant even understand.
Like
Version 2.2
Surfspirit
03 May 2012
How can a 5 MB app (intel 32 bit only code) can be so much faster and compatible than Apple Aperture and Preview, Apple Aperture can't even read my Fujifilm RAW, I was surprised to see this app flawless open the RAF file!!! I just wish it had pdf support so I can never open Preview again..!!!!
Like
Version 2.2
pelemac
08 April 2012
Having a household rapidly filling up with iPhones and iPads, I recently switched from PC to Mac in hopes that I would be better placed to manage all these Apple devices. My expectations have been fulfilled except for one important aspect, photo management. I find iPhoto to be awkward to use and subject to frequent crashes. What I wanted for photo management was something fast and simple, like VuePrint for the PC. With Xee I have found it. Easy to install, intuitive to use, it's what I need to organize my photos into folders and quickly browse through them to decide what to keep, which ones need editing, and what I want to post. It runs on my MacBook Pro with no glitches whatsoever. Highly recommended for the user with uncomplicated needs.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
parasitius
24 January 2012
Have had it about an hour -- absolute nightmare. So far one straight up crash, and have had to kill it about 10 times. My use case? Go through one directory of fresh photos from my 10MP camera, nothing special. I randomly rotate and losslessly save and delete along the way. At some point it seems using these two operations causes something horrible to happen and it will start eating all CPU and images will take about 15 seconds to load line-by-line in slow motion. God forbid what will happen if you hit space bar when the rotate-image lossless save operation hasn't yet finished... This software has never been tested in my opinion.
Like
Version 2.2
Uniquepito
06 January 2012
Amazing 99% replacement for irfanview! Great app. thankx!
Like (1)
Version 2.2
f-rol-orange-fr1926
03 November 2011
Hi, I like Xee, but the only problem for me is that I cannot print in Xee. I have to open Aperture for easy print. That is the reason i looked for another app. and I found exactly what I was looking for, JUSTLOOKING. And FREE as well. Thank you to the developer of Xee, but now for me, thank you very, very much to the developer of Justlooking. Easy, nice, simple, wonderfull ! Thank you for free ! F Rol (France)
Like
Version 2.2
Uncle-zed
27 October 2011
Please add 2 things: 1.thumbnail strip/viewer (sth. simple on the bottom or side with ability to swith off) 2. some kind of "save the image rotation". it is so frustraiting when wathing un-rotated fotos you have to rotate it every tame you go to the same single image.
Like
Version 2.2
wickedsp1d3r
30 September 2011
I would like to see an option to close the window after clicking the close button. Other than that, fantastic!
Like
Version 2.2
Dougster
22 September 2011
Apple's Preview is slow at opening jpegs and tiffs,on my iMac running Lion, so I needed a replacement, and I have found it in Xee. What brilliant software, and so fast at opening images.Bye,Bye Preview.......you won't be missed.
Like (1)
Version 2.2
Tristan-Nguyen
02 August 2011
Great App, run Smooth on my Mac
Like (1)
Version 2.2
bluez3023
26 July 2011
Great software and the only image viewer I use, the same as finder sort could be a bit more stable, and a print/edit option would be nice.
Like
Version 2.2
friautz
24 July 2011
Beats Preview by miles but don't know how to make it my default picture viewer...
Like
Version 2.2
EndoLab
08 June 2011
Wow ! That's very powerful, great software !
Like (1)
Version 2.2
EndoLab
08 June 2011
Wow ! That's very powerful, great software !
Like
Version 2.2
mirkosch
29 May 2011
wonderfull app!!! finally scroll in folder function, animated GIF playing, TIFF multilayer support (and exporting)!! interface very customizable! just "Do not resize when using toolbar" function seems not to work.. or I don't get it..
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
mirkosch
mirkosch
29 May 2011
just donated to keep him going! :-)
Like
PhilippBerndt
02 April 2011
Best application for viewing images on your mac, this beats Apples QuickView and Preview by FAR, however it’s missing some features that if were to be integrated it would be even better, i would love to see PDF support, shortcuts and MacBook gestures.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Doug-Engelbart
15 March 2011
Best, fastest, easiest PicViewer so far. Remembers the favourite window size and position when set in preferences and can crop, play, rename, move, delete etc.pp. Much better than Apple's QuickView. Just one feature request: I'm missing a button/shortcut (e.g. ctr-sft-1 to ctr-sft-8) to choose a pic's Finder label color (1–8) in Xee. Please...^^
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
xati-ba
05 March 2011
Speedy and smooth replacement of the inbuilt Preview.
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
MaoYL
14 January 2011
Very good replacement app for viewing images (compared to the preview/quicklook combination). To make the user experience better, I would suggest toolbar buttons for fullscreen and slideshow, and possibly larger buttons at bottom center (like quicklook, windows image gallery, etc) And maybe even smooth transition between images in a slideshow (crossfade transition).
Like
Version 2.1.1
Tristan-Nguyen
26 December 2010
Very useful for me, better than Preview on Mac
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Sofy
11 August 2010
i is a good one. i like it but it works only on Mac OS that is not commonly used. i try ( image viewer ) program that works on windows as well and is easy and powerful with all of functions done here.i found it on site: ( FILEJUNCTION.COM )
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
Michealjack
Michealjack
07 September 2010
Thank you , i used this program ( Image Viewer ) to open many formats of image files and found it very useful
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Roro01
04 June 2010
A VERY ANNOYING PROBLEM WITH THE RENAMING FUNCTION For example, if you browse 200 images and got to a photo whose name start with "T" and you give it a new name starting with "A", the application will take you right to the beginning. Then, you will have to go forward by one picture at a time until getting to where you were before.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Chinese-ys
03 February 2010
Why the print feature is not included? I do not think no one wants to use Xee to print and I would thing print function is pretty much the basic one. I just can not figure out why it is not there. Anyone can help?
Like (3)
Version 2.1.1
Tubo
25 January 2010
This is a very fast and convenient viewer. Very well done - I don't know if this app does all what you need, but everybody should try it. And - did you look for the capability of 'Losslessy rotate and crop JPEG images. This lets you edit your digital photographs without losing quality by re-compressing them like most other editors do.'?? Yes - it is from the description of this program. And it's FAST. Do this with GraphicConverter. 1000 photos to turn 90 degrees counterclockwise? You'll die before... Thank you VERY much.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.1
Maclover1-1
12 January 2010
How many viewers do we need ?!?? Oh.. yes please make a launcher.. we need launchers too... duh !!!!
Like (2)
Version 2.1.1
Kalunlau
23 November 2009
Would love to use this as my main image viewer due to it's speed, but the lack of colour profile support kills it for me.
Like (2)
Version 2.1