Back to SteerMouse page
SteerMouse free download for Mac

SteerMouse Reviews

5.4.2
17 October 2019

Powerful third-party mouse driver.

BobbyThompsonRocks
27 March 2019

Most helpful

I've been using this program for gaming for years, and its the only mouse control software I currently have installed. I have licenses to other like software, as well as access to the name brand software for my mouses, but I still prefer this. it works, and it's easy to use. About the only thing it doesn't do is offer control of the color changing LEDs on my devices, but I can't even down rate it for that as its such a specialized thing. The software works great for both gaming as well as working. Worth every penny.
Like (1)
Version 5.3.6

Read 136 SteerMouse User Reviews

Rate this app:

DragonMaster
08 October 2019
The update has crippled SteerMouse in Catalina. Nothing works. Cannot even go back to previous version. Really depressing because I need this app.
Like
Version 5.4
1 answer(s)
Vitalii@macudate.com
Vitalii@macudate.com
08 October 2019
You can boot your Mac into a safe mode and remove or disable the application. How to do so you can find here: https://www.howtogeek.com/189104/troubleshoot-your-mac-with-these-hidden-startup-options/
Like
Version 5.4.1
LeMerlot
03 April 2019
SteerMouse is a major tool for all advanced Mac users – I have it on all my Macs since years, always making work with the Mac much more efficient and fun – thanks to the very active developer!
Like
Version 5.3.7
BobbyThompsonRocks
27 March 2019
I've been using this program for gaming for years, and its the only mouse control software I currently have installed. I have licenses to other like software, as well as access to the name brand software for my mouses, but I still prefer this. it works, and it's easy to use. About the only thing it doesn't do is offer control of the color changing LEDs on my devices, but I can't even down rate it for that as its such a specialized thing. The software works great for both gaming as well as working. Worth every penny.
Like (1)
Version 5.3.6
Dougster
06 February 2019
Brilliant. I would hate not to have this super software installed on my Mac. Ten-out-of-ten for SteerMouse.
Like
Version 5.3.4
peter-gargiulo
19 December 2018
I think the latest Steer Mouse app is interfering with my Wacom Intuos Tablet function. I can't get it to draw a bush stroke with it on, but when it's off, brush strokes return.
Like
Version 5.3.3
krathkoryahoo
13 December 2018
Logitech M510 keep having to reconfigure. works great otherwise (usboverdrive does not support the M510)
Like
Version 5.3.2
Dana_Nau
11 July 2018
I'm using Steermouse with three input devices: a Logitech MX Ergo, a Logitech Marble Mouse, and an Apple Magic Trackpad. It works fine with all three of them. Setting it up was a little confusing because some of the up/down scrolling options went in the opposite direction from what I expected - but once I got those configured correctly, it has been problem-free. I like it *much* better than Logitech's driver software.
Like (2)
Version 5.2.3
2 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
18 December 2018
Interesting you should mention that you have it working for your Apple Magic Trackpad, seeing the dev specifically mentions that 'It does not support the Apple Magic Mouse and Magic Trackpad'.

What's your secret? And does it work for your Magic Mouse as well?
Like
Dana_Nau
Dana_Nau
25 December 2018
To Kobalt:
You're right - my trackpad configuration is in Apple's built-in preference pane, not in Steermouse. Sorry for the error.
Like
LeMerlot
16 May 2018
SteerMouse is a must addition to my professional Mac software setup since years. Couldn't work without it so fast. Thanks so much to the developer for updating it constantly.
Like (1)
Version 5.2.3
Big Johnson
21 December 2017
BEWARE!

If you're using a Logitech MX Ergo mouse this supposed update is NOT compatible regardless of what the release notes say.

It completely borked the settings for my older mouse (which was working fine) and the MX Ergo (which was working okay with the assistance of Logitech Options software).

After a lot of mucking around with it I finally uninstalled this garbage and reverted to v5.2.

I suspect the dev. doesn't actually own an MX Ergo but was attempting to release an update anyway without having any way to test the changes made to Steermouse.

And the dev. doesn't respond to emails so don't bother trying.
WHY post a contact address if you don't care enough to reply?!

I wonder if he'd care enough if I said I'd been trying to buy this app and had money to send him.
Like (3)
Version 5.2.1
2 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
21 December 2017
It's a Xmas miracle!

Shortly after posting that comment I received a reply to one of my emails. Maybe he reads MU?

Although I provided a list of problems with the new version, he only sent one short comment. His English seems good enough (located in Japan), so maybe just impatient?
Like
Dana_Nau
Dana_Nau
11 July 2018
FWIW, I've been using Steermouse with a Logitech MX Ergo since the beginning of January, and it has been working fine for me. I'm *much* happier with it than with Logitech's driver software.
Like (1)
anonymous-thrush-1121
21 December 2017
compatible at M-DT1DRBK http://www2.elecom.co.jp/products/M-DT1DRBK.html (sorry Japanese)
Like
Version 5.2.1
ric0ric
20 December 2017
A wonderful app from a responsive and helpful developer - what more could you want?
Like (2)
Version 5.2.1
ridershots
03 December 2017
Happy days are here again! Ever since Lazy Mouse ceased development I have been searching for the default auto snap feature. SteerMouse to the rescue for my Apple Magic Mouse 2, and even works with High Sierra; the snap to feature works flawlessly. I'm getting my license asap.
A godsend!
Like (1)
Version 5.2
Dougster
04 April 2017
Brilliant for Microsoft Intellipoint optical mouse.
Like
Version 5.0.8
Krocasta
22 March 2017
ControllerMate is better.
Like
Version 5.0.7
3 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
04 April 2017
Even if you think that SteerMouse is hardly worth just one star, is it?

By the way, I haven't found a good way to mimic the app switcher behavior of SteerMouse in ControllerMate.
Like (5)
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Just-Annutha-Dewd
13 October 2017
Easy to say, not so easy to prove. I hereby challenge you, Krocasta, to support that claim.
Like
Krocasta
Krocasta
20 November 2017
The troubles I had are solved, so if you are reviewing now, I will attach three stars.
Like (1)
Moxiesozo
06 March 2017
FINALLY!!! "Problem solved where the default button/auto-snapping would move the mouse cursor to a toolbar button in Finder" This was driving me NUTS.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.6
pldelise
14 February 2017
Doesn't work with Apple's Magic Mouse. Only snap to default button works & works badly. It's overly sensitive & jumps to Finder window tool bar & auto-clicks a button. I'm sticking with SteerMouse 4 which does work.
Like
Version 5.0.5
1 answer(s)
Amergin
Amergin
06 March 2017
This app is being slated for not supporting apple devices - maybe this is in apple's hands?
Like
frykberg
23 January 2017
Does not recognize the thumbwheel on my Logitech MX Master (Steer Mouse 5.0.4 on Sierra 10.12.3). Really need my thumbwheel in Pro Tools 12. Anyone been able to assign anything to the thumbwheel?
Like
Version 5.0.3
Amergin
15 December 2016
I've been using this for a couple of years with my Logitech M500 USB mouse and thought a review might be in order. They've recently switched to a full Preference Pane rather than the previous App version which is a bit simpler. It's a mouse driver and once you set it up you just forget about it. It's worked flawlessly for over two years and continues to work with the new version. It's a bummer it doesn't work with Apple's devices but I really think that Apple are probably at fault for this given their recent track record - I'm sure the developer would have supported the devices if possible. Bizarre how bad Apple have become in the past few years - I wouldn't have thought any company could out-microsoft microsoft.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.2
Lightning
09 December 2016
MacUpdate-- Why am I not able to search for SteerMouse in MacUpdate?
Like
Version 5.0.2
1 answer(s)
Amergin
Amergin
15 December 2016
Maybe you mistyped? I was just able to search for it.
Like (1)
markrfriedman
30 November 2016
I relied upon SteerMouse as one of my most reliable tools. There are only a few developers - Ed Hamrick (VueScan), for example - who are able to keep up with Apple's shift from the professional to the "hands-off" obviously profitable consumer level. I remember when Apple catered to a specialized market of graphic and photographic professionals. I suppose there's not enough profit in supporting them compared to using the Apple Watch as a Central Control for the balance of their product line. Deciding to abandon content creators in lieu of content watchers will be profitable for them, but very difficult for those of us who are part of the group who made Apple what it was (and not what it is becoming). With the merging of IOS and MacOS, there's no need of a mouse, nor a concern for a compatibility with external product software. They are going to live in their own expansive world. It's a shame that others have been abandoned, as is the case here. I gave a one-star rating with great sorrow. This has always been a wonderful, inexpensive and vital tool; but how can one earn a living on so little income when Apple doesn't care anymore? And SteerMouse is functionally unique. But with so few ports on last year's MacBook Pro, I'm forced to rely on bluetooth devices and conflicts are guaranteed. Where do I go next? NEXT doesn't exist anymore, and I'm a little too old to start from scratch again. Maybe a variant of Linux will be commercially available in an affordable machine; I'd hate to return to Windows! So, in fairness, I'll change my rating for SteerMouse to 5 stars - even though it doesn't work as needed - and minus 128 to Apple for their planned disregard for their original customer base.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.2
1 answer(s)
Just-Annutha-Dewd
Just-Annutha-Dewd
13 October 2017
What exactly does SteerMouse not do that you think it can't do?
Like
Globalmouser
10 November 2016
New version is very cool.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
markrfriedman
26 October 2016
none of apple's tools work with this product not: apple magic keyboard, magic mouse and internal keyboard. This was a great product I've used for years, but these restrictions are unacceptable.
Like
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
star-affinity
star-affinity
30 November 2016
Does that mean the software deserves one star for what it actually does? I think not!
Like (2)
Kobalt
25 October 2016
"It does not support the Apple Magic Mouse and Magic Trackpad."

Why on earth they haven't included compatibility beats me. It works fine in v4. Just for that I would rate this now less than 3 stars, but it seems churlish to inflict a low rating simply because I use Apple hardware when the app itself may be perfectly fantastic still.
Like
Version 5.0
Sebehk
14 June 2016
For your information, SteerMouse 5.0b18 is the latest version. SteerMouse is now a full preference pane. $12.99 upgrade from version 4. If upgrading, make sure you write down ALL of your mouse settings because they will not transfer over to version 5.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.6
2 answer(s)
2stepbay
2stepbay
25 June 2016
Now up to Beta 19. Can you point me to a source highlighting what's new in Steermouse 5?
Like
Kobalt
Kobalt
11 September 2016
As of 4 September we're up to beta 24 – note that Magic Mouse and Magic Trackpad are not supported.

http://plentycom.jp/ctrl/files_sm/SteerMouse5.0b24.dmg

From the dev:

System Requirements
• Mac OS X Snow Leopard(10.6) to macOS Sierra (10.12).
• USB or Bluetooth mouse.
 (Magic Mouse and Magic Trackpad are not supported.)

Update History
5.0 (Sep 4, 2016)
Beta 24
• Now supports Logitech MX Master USB and Bluetooth connection.
• Problem solved where some buttons on Corsair mice would not work.
• Problem solved where the device analyzer window would cause an error.
Like
Dougster
30 January 2016
Great replacement for Microsoft Intellipoint on El Capitan
Like (1)
Version 4.2.6
Macs-Pain
08 December 2015
Works great with my Razer Deathadder, since the Razer Synapse software piece of crap always screws up the button assignment.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.6
wickedsp1d3r
22 July 2015
I would like to see some kind of a profile system with different mouses. Now when I start to use another mouse, every time I have to go and change settings. It would be easy to just select a profile and all the saved settings will be applied at once.
Like (2)
Version 4.2.4
RoyPDX
13 May 2015
Does everything the now-defunct Mouseworks did for Kensington mice. Works great in Yosemite.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.3
2 answer(s)
fpm
fpm
07 July 2015
Does it allow different button actions for differing apps? That's the thing I miss most about Mouseworks.
Like
Raycon
Raycon
23 July 2015
Yes it does, fpm.
Like (1)
Funjoy
14 February 2015
I had many problems with my free Logitech mouse driver software under 10.8.5 and finally decided to do something about it. I downloaded a trial of Steermouse, found it worked great, and bought it the next day. Recommended!
Like (3)
Version 4.2.2
Amergin
26 November 2014
Working flawlessly for me on Yosemite, Retina iMac with a Logitech M500 mouse. I use it with OverFlow to give me a perfect substitute for my expensive (and useless) Wacom Intuos 5 Touch.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.2
Mac007
16 October 2014
The newest software says the disk image is corrupted and to eject it. I've tried several times with no luck. So far the old software works fine but when Yosemite comes this sure ain't gonna cut it.
Like
Version 4.2
1 answer(s)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
20 November 2014
Does it work with Yosemite?
Like
wickedsp1d3r
16 October 2014
After installing the latest version, moving cursor to the default button stopped working.
Like
Version 4.2
4 answer(s)
Spl33n
Spl33n
18 October 2014
you have to add the "steermouse.app" and the "steermouse manager.app" which is within the app to the "security" manually.

http://cl.ly/image/3h2U0R022K3w/tt.png

you can't see the manger but it is still there per "drag'n'drop"
Like (1)
Spl33n
Spl33n
18 October 2014
steermouse.app @ /Applications/Utilities
Like (1)
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
25 October 2014
I am still using OS X Mavericks. I guess that's the reason. But why it allowed me to update?
Like
Sonnendeck
Sonnendeck
19 November 2014
Spl33n: Thanks, this helped!
Like
Balanchine
13 December 2013
I've been a long-time user and fan of SteerMouse but as soon I installed version 4.1.7 on my new iMac (running Mavericks) I started getting freeze-ups with my Logitech MX Anywhere mouse. It seemed to happen mostly when switching between applications, and was temporarily fixable by unplugging and replugging the USB transceiver. I uninstalled SteerMouse and the freeze-ups have so far stopped. I'm now using BetterTouchTool, which does much of what this app does (and is currently free).
Like (1)
Version 4.1.7
3 answer(s)
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
14 December 2013
That's strange, I've had no issues. I'm assuming you do not have the Logitech software installed? I'd report this to the developer. He's very responsive. I've had no issues in Mavericks. Did you check your console logs to see what the os was reporting as the cause of the freezes? BetterTouchTool is quite a different application to steermouse. Steermouse is meant to provide a proper mouse driver with the ability to tweak the responsiveness of the mouse first and foremost. It also allows customizing buttons per app, which bettertouchtool does. But bettertouchtool is no replacement for the Logitech driver. Steermouse completely replaces the logitech bloatware driver thing. So it's a bit misleading to say BetterTouchTool is free and does the same thing as Steermouse. This is simply not true, unless you are only using it for assigning buttons to applications, which is to just touch the surface functionality of steermouse.
Like (2)
Balanchine
Balanchine
14 December 2013
I haven't installed the Logitech software on this Mac because of all the negative comments about it. I decided to use BetterTouchTool instead because I also have a Magic Trackpad. I agree that BetterTouchTool isn't a wholly satisfactory replacement for SteerMouse, and I'll try SteerMouse again when it's next updated, and report problems with that if I have any.
Like
Beige
Beige
29 January 2014
I'm seeing the same thing. Sometimes the mouse clicks stop working with my Orochi in Mavericks and have to restart.
Like
Beatles4Life
29 October 2013
I saw SteerMouse listed on MacUpdate, read the favourable reviews, and thought I'd try it out as a possible driver replacement to use with my ancient Kensington Optical Elite Mouse when I upgrade to Mavericks. I un-installed the Kensington MouseWorks software, installed the SteerMouse driver, and immediately noticed a problem. When I tried to set the mouse commands to mimic the ones I'd been using for years in MouseWorks, they would work initially, but the minute the Steer Mouse window was closed, the buttons would switch themselves. For example, I had the right button set to be the primary clicking button, and one of the side buttons to be the right-click button. When I tried to do this in Steer Mouse, the two switched themselves without any warning. I'm running Snow Leopard and am now very confused and a bit sad that I'm going to have to get a new computer mouse.
Like
Version 4.1.7
hiltonb
25 October 2013
I have updated to Mac OS Mavericks and to Steermouse 4.1.7. Before this move, Steermouse used to work with my wireless (Bluetooth) Apple Mighty Mouse, particularly with snapping the cursor to the default button in dialog boxes. Now it doesn't! Any suggestions?
Like
Version 4.1.7
Raycon
23 May 2013
I've been using SteerMouse with my Logitech G700 for months now with no problem. Now this update says that it "now supports G700s…" I wonder why.
Like (2)
Version 4.1.6
3 answer(s)
Doc-Renaud
Doc-Renaud
23 May 2013
Exact same thing here, with a Logitech G500...
Like
boman
boman
25 May 2013
Logitech is doing a slight refresh to their peripheral line and is bringing out updated versions of the G400, G500 and G700 respectively (see link). http://www.anandtech.com/show/6848/logitechs-g-series-branding-and-product-refresh Those are essentially the same models, but with a different outer skin and some hardware improvements inside. They are called the G400s, G500s and G700s, with a small "s" at the end. I think the update is for those new refresh models.
Like (3)
Doc-Renaud
Doc-Renaud
25 May 2013
Thanks for the info, Boman. I missed the "s".
Like
Will22
28 December 2012
SteerMouse works well with my Kensington mouse. But every couple of weeks, my mouse stops working and the only way I can get it going again is to run the Kensington MouseWorks Uninstall app. After I restart my computer, my mouse starts working again. And then the same thing happens a few weeks later and I have to run the MouseWorks Uninstall again. Why is this happening? Why does it seem that something is installing that is stopping my mouse from working peridically? Any suggestions?
Like
Version 4.1.5
1 answer(s)
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
27 April 2013
Why are you running this with the Kensington driver? Remove that drive and use Steermouse alone. The whole point is for it to replace the default driver because most of the suck on the Mac.
Like (5)
Sunriser
15 November 2012
If you need the liberty of choosing your own mouse, it's a must-have. Installed it a few years ago, update it once every few months and just forget it is installed because it does the work as expected. Never crashed on me.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.5
2 answer(s)
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
27 April 2013
Why are you running this with the Kensington driver? Remove that drive and use Steermouse alone. The whole point is for it to replace the default driver because most of the suck on the Mac.
Like
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
27 April 2013
Sorry about that. I meant the comment for the user above you. It won't let me remove it!! :)
Like
Philosopherdog
15 November 2012
Works well. Even after all these years Apple still can't write a proper mouse driver. Ok, the trackpad works ok, but not for precision work. And heaven forbid you should have to install something from Logitech or Razor! Ouch. Steermouse is definitely worth $20 to be finished with these annoyances.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.5
Coolapic
15 November 2012
I own SteerMouse since 2007 and never had any problem with it. Just perfect with my beloved MX Revolution ! Thanks' to the dev for keeping this gem alive !
Like (1)
Version 4.1.5
Christel1987
14 November 2012
Long time runner and best in what it does. Simply awesome.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.5
Maxruehl
05 August 2012
Is there the option of disabling the Steermouse driver in selected applications? I can do this in the MS Intellimouse driver software, but I can't see an obvious option here. I need to disable it to play Unreal Tournament, because it messing with the game's mouse drivers. I'm on PPC OSX 10.58.
Like
Version 4.1.4f1
1 answer(s)
Younkint
Younkint
01 December 2012
Maxruehl - There is an option to "Add/remove applications..." This option button is the button labeled "Default" that you see in the demo pic here on MacUpdate (look in the upper left corner). When you click on the "Default" button, you get a choice for settings in particular applications, etc.
Like
Brian-tully
03 August 2012
Very good mouse driver. Almost perfect except for the fact that every now and then it flakes out and becomes unstable where my mouse buttons stop working.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.4f1
Logicalways
15 June 2012
works perfect with my Logitech Performance MX mouse on developer beta Mountain Lion OSX 10.8. Logitech's drivers wont work on 10.8 as of yet so this was perfect timing
Like
Version 4.1.4f1
smtips
17 May 2012
From the front of their site: SteerMouse supports USB and Bluetooth mice. It will even work with mice designed for Windows PCs. You can customize your mouse freely even if there is no Macintosh's driver. Hehe...I want an Engrish speaking mouse :)
Like (1)
Version 4.1.4
Sebehk
17 May 2012
SteerMouse is the ONLY 3rd-party driver that works flawlessly across ALL of my apps, and with any mouse that I've bought. I have used all types of Logitech mice in the past, including the current one I'm using, the G700 Gaming Mouse, for Diablo 3. Mapping every single button to D3 is amazing!
Like (2)
Version 4.1.4
Doc-Renaud
17 May 2012
"You can now customize all buttons on the Logitech G500." HALLELUJAH! After one year of patience ;-) Thanks very much!
Like (2)
Version 4.1.4
Thel
10 April 2012
Trusty ol' eMacster running 10.4.11 suddenly decided to tour Upper Bitblivion last month and has now been replaced by a shiny new (July 2011) Mac mini with 10.7.3 rolling. *w00t!* One major issue: for the first time in 18 years, no right-button-assigned double-clickiness here. Only that feature – along with the old-fashioned, fat Mouse-in-a-Box form factor – fits my hand perfectly and prevents wrist aches. I've tried other meeces over the years; no joy. But now, no MouseWorks for Lion?! Not even a response to my customer-service email? Boo, Kensington! Enter SteerMouse [insert MacHead :::happy-dance::: here...]: comfort re-established. Do I wish it didn't cost a week's food budget? Well, yeah. Was it worth it? Hell, yeah! (-:
Like (2)
Version 4.1.3f1
garex
11 November 2011
Fantastic Software. Let's me configure my G700 for all needs and as a gimmick it let's me define some mouse actions like moving the pointer to the default button in a dialog window.
Like (2)
Version 4.1.3
Balanchine
25 October 2011
I've been using this for 5 years on various Macs and various mice. Updates have all been free and I don't recall having any problems with it. Works fine with Lion and it recognizes all the buttons and sliders on my current Logitech mouse. For me it's an essential Mac utility.
Like (2)
Version 4.1.3