Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to SteerMouse page
SteerMouse free download for Mac

SteerMouse Reviews

24 June 2021

Powerful third-party mouse driver.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Awado
Awado
Jun 24 2021
5.5.7
5.0
Jun 24 2021
5.0
Version: 5.5.7
Had USB Overdrive for decades and was very happy. Until I got a Razer Mouse, which didn't work there. SteerMouse was able to handle all those extra buttons and works fine.
Jimk
Jimk
Dec 18 2020
5.5.4
5.0
Dec 18 2020
5.0
Version: 5.5.4
A no nonsense solution to your mouse driver issues. Very happy user here.
bigpook
bigpook
Jul 29 2020
5.4.5
5.0
Jul 29 2020
5.0
Version: 5.4.5
Excellent, well worth the cost. If you have more than one mouse, and would like all of the buttons to work, then check out steermouse.
dgeshtalt
dgeshtalt
May 9 2020
5.4.5
5.0
May 9 2020
5.0
Version: 5.4.5
日本製のマウス用3rd Partyドライバ。ボールマウスの機能拡張のために日本国内では使用されているケースが多く、動画制作などで使用されているのをよく散見される。 インターフェイス面ではあまりMacにあったスタイリッシュな見た目ではないが、機能面での拡張が優秀。 各メーカーが提供しているドライバに比べてかゆいところに手が届く。 また機能割当もデフォルトで使えるものも種類が多い。 マウスやホイールの加速度の調整は加速度や感度を変えて行えるが、他のSmoozeなどの様にアニメーションさせたり加速度の曲線をいじれるわけではないのでその点は自由度が低いが、 ただスクロールなど意外にボタンの組み合わせでマウス機能が拡張できるため、他のドライバよりマウスでできることが格段に割り当てられる。 ボタンの組み合わせで特定の条件でしか使いたくない機能などにアクセスできるため、ボタンの誤爆がないためかなり快適にマウスを使える。 CPUの占有率も0.5%いかない位なので快適に使える。 色々試しましたけど、ボールマウスを使っている人はドライバはステアマウス使ったほうが快適です。
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Feb 18 2020
5.4.4
5.0
Feb 18 2020
5.0
Version: 5.4.4
After many years using it still a must-have for me.
paalexan
paalexan
Jan 25 2020
5.4.3
1.0
Jan 25 2020
1.0
Version: 5.4.3
I'm not a dolt, but I can't even figure out how to install this thing. I download the dmg, successfully install the preferences pane, then I click on the icon in System Preferences. There's a message: "You need to allow “SteerMouse Manager” to use accessibility features in Security & Privacy." OK, but: First, installing the preferences pane does not install any file called "SteerMouse Manager" on my computer. I can't allow it to do anything because it does not exist. Second, the files that are installed with the preference pane are in Users/me/Library--the Library directory is a hidden file, though, so you cannot navigate to it through the popup in Accessibility! I am sure there is a workaround here, but I have no idea what it is--and, again, I'm not a dolt. I've been using macs forever and I know I am competent. If I can't figure it out, I would bet 90% of potential users can't figure it out.
Dw4
Dw4
Dec 26 2019
5.4.3
5.0
Dec 26 2019
5.0
Version: 5.4.3
I've used SteerMouse successfully for years but 5.4.3 (or earlier) has created a major problem for me. It appears to be conflicting with my mouse & keyboard sharing app, Synergy, by Symless.com. Never had any conflict until I installed the latest versions of each. I need to try various other versions of each app until I find a pair that do not conflict. It would be very hard to get by without both of these apps. Problem: I need .dmg install files for SteerMouse 5.3.2 and any later versions but they are not available on the SteerMouse site or from torrent sites. I would be greatly appreciative if anyone could provide me with any of the versions from 5.3.2 through 5.4.2 at dw4comp at gmail dot com.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Oct 8 2019
5.4
1.0
Oct 8 2019
1.0
Version: 5.4
The update has crippled SteerMouse in Catalina. Nothing works. Cannot even go back to previous version. Really depressing because I need this app.
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Apr 3 2019
5.3.7
5.0
Apr 3 2019
5.0
Version: 5.3.7
SteerMouse is a major tool for all advanced Mac users – I have it on all my Macs since years, always making work with the Mac much more efficient and fun – thanks to the very active developer!
BobbyThompsonRocks
BobbyThompsonRocks
Mar 27 2019
5.3.6
5.0
Mar 27 2019
5.0
Version: 5.3.6
I've been using this program for gaming for years, and its the only mouse control software I currently have installed. I have licenses to other like software, as well as access to the name brand software for my mouses, but I still prefer this. it works, and it's easy to use. About the only thing it doesn't do is offer control of the color changing LEDs on my devices, but I can't even down rate it for that as its such a specialized thing. The software works great for both gaming as well as working. Worth every penny.
Dougster
Dougster
Feb 6 2019
5.3.4
5.0
Feb 6 2019
5.0
Version: 5.3.4
Brilliant. I would hate not to have this super software installed on my Mac. Ten-out-of-ten for SteerMouse.
peter-gargiulo
peter-gargiulo
Dec 19 2018
5.3.3
0.0
Dec 19 2018
0.0
Version: 5.3.3
I think the latest Steer Mouse app is interfering with my Wacom Intuos Tablet function. I can't get it to draw a bush stroke with it on, but when it's off, brush strokes return.
krathkoryahoo
krathkoryahoo
Dec 13 2018
5.3.2
4.0
Dec 13 2018
4.0
Version: 5.3.2
Logitech M510 keep having to reconfigure. works great otherwise (usboverdrive does not support the M510)
Dana_Nau
Dana_Nau
Jul 11 2018
5.2.3
5.0
Jul 11 2018
5.0
Version: 5.2.3
I'm using Steermouse with three input devices: a Logitech MX Ergo, a Logitech Marble Mouse, and an Apple Magic Trackpad. It works fine with all three of them. Setting it up was a little confusing because some of the up/down scrolling options went in the opposite direction from what I expected - but once I got those configured correctly, it has been problem-free. I like it *much* better than Logitech's driver software.
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
May 16 2018
5.2.3
5.0
May 16 2018
5.0
Version: 5.2.3
SteerMouse is a must addition to my professional Mac software setup since years. Couldn't work without it so fast. Thanks so much to the developer for updating it constantly.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Dec 21 2017
5.2.1
0.0
Dec 21 2017
0.0
Version: 5.2.1
BEWARE!

If you're using a Logitech MX Ergo mouse this supposed update is NOT compatible regardless of what the release notes say.

It completely borked the settings for my older mouse (which was working fine) and the MX Ergo (which was working okay with the assistance of Logitech Options software).

After a lot of mucking around with it I finally uninstalled this garbage and reverted to v5.2.

I suspect the dev. doesn't actually own an MX Ergo but was attempting to release an update anyway without having any way to test the changes made to Steermouse.

And the dev. doesn't respond to emails so don't bother trying.
WHY post a contact address if you don't care enough to reply?!

I wonder if he'd care enough if I said I'd been trying to buy this app and had money to send him.
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
Dec 21 2017
5.2.1
5.0
Dec 21 2017
5.0
Version: 5.2.1
compatible at M-DT1DRBK http://www2.elecom.co.jp/products/M-DT1DRBK.html (sorry Japanese)
ric0ric
ric0ric
Dec 20 2017
5.2.1
5.0
Dec 20 2017
5.0
Version: 5.2.1
A wonderful app from a responsive and helpful developer - what more could you want?
ridershots
ridershots
Dec 3 2017
5.2
4.0
Dec 3 2017
4.0
Version: 5.2
Happy days are here again! Ever since Lazy Mouse ceased development I have been searching for the default auto snap feature. SteerMouse to the rescue for my Apple Magic Mouse 2, and even works with High Sierra; the snap to feature works flawlessly. I'm getting my license asap.
A godsend!
Dougster
Dougster
Apr 4 2017
5.0.8
5.0
Apr 4 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.8
Brilliant for Microsoft Intellipoint optical mouse.
Krocasta
Krocasta
Mar 22 2017
5.0.7
1.0
Mar 22 2017
1.0
Version: 5.0.7
ControllerMate is better.
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
Mar 6 2017
5.0.6
0.0
Mar 6 2017
0.0
Version: 5.0.6
FINALLY!!! "Problem solved where the default button/auto-snapping would move the mouse cursor to a toolbar button in Finder" This was driving me NUTS.
pldelise
pldelise
Feb 14 2017
5.0.5
0.5
Feb 14 2017
0.5
Version: 5.0.5
Doesn't work with Apple's Magic Mouse. Only snap to default button works & works badly. It's overly sensitive & jumps to Finder window tool bar & auto-clicks a button. I'm sticking with SteerMouse 4 which does work.
frykberg
frykberg
Jan 23 2017
5.0.3
4.0
Jan 23 2017
4.0
Version: 5.0.3
Does not recognize the thumbwheel on my Logitech MX Master (Steer Mouse 5.0.4 on Sierra 10.12.3). Really need my thumbwheel in Pro Tools 12. Anyone been able to assign anything to the thumbwheel?
Amergin
Amergin
Dec 15 2016
5.0.2
5.0
Dec 15 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
I've been using this for a couple of years with my Logitech M500 USB mouse and thought a review might be in order. They've recently switched to a full Preference Pane rather than the previous App version which is a bit simpler. It's a mouse driver and once you set it up you just forget about it. It's worked flawlessly for over two years and continues to work with the new version. It's a bummer it doesn't work with Apple's devices but I really think that Apple are probably at fault for this given their recent track record - I'm sure the developer would have supported the devices if possible. Bizarre how bad Apple have become in the past few years - I wouldn't have thought any company could out-microsoft microsoft.
Lightning
Lightning
Dec 9 2016
5.0.2
0.0
Dec 9 2016
0.0
Version: 5.0.2
MacUpdate-- Why am I not able to search for SteerMouse in MacUpdate?
markrf
markrf
Nov 30 2016
5.0.2
5.0
Nov 30 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
I relied upon SteerMouse as one of my most reliable tools. There are only a few developers - Ed Hamrick (VueScan), for example - who are able to keep up with Apple's shift from the professional to the "hands-off" obviously profitable consumer level. I remember when Apple catered to a specialized market of graphic and photographic professionals. I suppose there's not enough profit in supporting them compared to using the Apple Watch as a Central Control for the balance of their product line. Deciding to abandon content creators in lieu of content watchers will be profitable for them, but very difficult for those of us who are part of the group who made Apple what it was (and not what it is becoming). With the merging of IOS and MacOS, there's no need of a mouse, nor a concern for a compatibility with external product software. They are going to live in their own expansive world. It's a shame that others have been abandoned, as is the case here. I gave a one-star rating with great sorrow. This has always been a wonderful, inexpensive and vital tool; but how can one earn a living on so little income when Apple doesn't care anymore? And SteerMouse is functionally unique. But with so few ports on last year's MacBook Pro, I'm forced to rely on bluetooth devices and conflicts are guaranteed. Where do I go next? NEXT doesn't exist anymore, and I'm a little too old to start from scratch again. Maybe a variant of Linux will be commercially available in an affordable machine; I'd hate to return to Windows! So, in fairness, I'll change my rating for SteerMouse to 5 stars - even though it doesn't work as needed - and minus 128 to Apple for their planned disregard for their original customer base.
Globalmouser
Globalmouser
Nov 10 2016
5.0.1
4.5
Nov 10 2016
4.5
Version: 5.0.1
New version is very cool.
markrf
markrf
Oct 26 2016
5.0
5.0
Oct 26 2016
5.0
Version: 5.0
none of apple's tools work with this product not: apple magic keyboard, magic mouse and internal keyboard. This was a great product I've used for years, but these restrictions are unacceptable.
Kobalt
Kobalt
Oct 25 2016
5.0
0.0
Oct 25 2016
0.0
Version: 5.0
"It does not support the Apple Magic Mouse and Magic Trackpad."

Why on earth they haven't included compatibility beats me. It works fine in v4. Just for that I would rate this now less than 3 stars, but it seems churlish to inflict a low rating simply because I use Apple hardware when the app itself may be perfectly fantastic still.
Sebehk
Sebehk
Jun 14 2016
4.2.6
5.0
Jun 14 2016
5.0
Version: 4.2.6
For your information, SteerMouse 5.0b18 is the latest version. SteerMouse is now a full preference pane. $12.99 upgrade from version 4. If upgrading, make sure you write down ALL of your mouse settings because they will not transfer over to version 5.
Dougster
Dougster
Jan 30 2016
4.2.6
5.0
Jan 30 2016
5.0
Version: 4.2.6
Great replacement for Microsoft Intellipoint on El Capitan
Macs-Pain
Macs-Pain
Dec 8 2015
4.2.6
5.0
Dec 8 2015
5.0
Version: 4.2.6
Works great with my Razer Deathadder, since the Razer Synapse software piece of crap always screws up the button assignment.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Jul 22 2015
4.2.4
0.0
Jul 22 2015
0.0
Version: 4.2.4
I would like to see some kind of a profile system with different mouses. Now when I start to use another mouse, every time I have to go and change settings. It would be easy to just select a profile and all the saved settings will be applied at once.
RoyPDX
RoyPDX
May 13 2015
4.2.3
0.0
May 13 2015
0.0
Version: 4.2.3
Does everything the now-defunct Mouseworks did for Kensington mice. Works great in Yosemite.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Feb 14 2015
4.2.2
4.5
Feb 14 2015
4.5
Version: 4.2.2
I had many problems with my free Logitech mouse driver software under 10.8.5 and finally decided to do something about it. I downloaded a trial of Steermouse, found it worked great, and bought it the next day. Recommended!
Amergin
Amergin
Nov 26 2014
4.2.2
5.0
Nov 26 2014
5.0
Version: 4.2.2
Working flawlessly for me on Yosemite, Retina iMac with a Logitech M500 mouse. I use it with OverFlow to give me a perfect substitute for my expensive (and useless) Wacom Intuos 5 Touch.
Mac007
Mac007
Oct 16 2014
4.2
0.5
Oct 16 2014
0.5
Version: 4.2
The newest software says the disk image is corrupted and to eject it. I've tried several times with no luck. So far the old software works fine but when Yosemite comes this sure ain't gonna cut it.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Oct 16 2014
4.2
0.0
Oct 16 2014
0.0
Version: 4.2
After installing the latest version, moving cursor to the default button stopped working.
Balanchine
Balanchine
Dec 13 2013
4.1.7
5.0
Dec 13 2013
5.0
Version: 4.1.7
I've been a long-time user and fan of SteerMouse but as soon I installed version 4.1.7 on my new iMac (running Mavericks) I started getting freeze-ups with my Logitech MX Anywhere mouse. It seemed to happen mostly when switching between applications, and was temporarily fixable by unplugging and replugging the USB transceiver. I uninstalled SteerMouse and the freeze-ups have so far stopped. I'm now using BetterTouchTool, which does much of what this app does (and is currently free).
Beatles4Life
Beatles4Life
Oct 29 2013
4.1.7
0.0
Oct 29 2013
0.0
Version: 4.1.7
I saw SteerMouse listed on MacUpdate, read the favourable reviews, and thought I'd try it out as a possible driver replacement to use with my ancient Kensington Optical Elite Mouse when I upgrade to Mavericks. I un-installed the Kensington MouseWorks software, installed the SteerMouse driver, and immediately noticed a problem. When I tried to set the mouse commands to mimic the ones I'd been using for years in MouseWorks, they would work initially, but the minute the Steer Mouse window was closed, the buttons would switch themselves. For example, I had the right button set to be the primary clicking button, and one of the side buttons to be the right-click button. When I tried to do this in Steer Mouse, the two switched themselves without any warning. I'm running Snow Leopard and am now very confused and a bit sad that I'm going to have to get a new computer mouse.
hiltonb
hiltonb
Oct 25 2013
4.1.7
0.0
Oct 25 2013
0.0
Version: 4.1.7
I have updated to Mac OS Mavericks and to Steermouse 4.1.7. Before this move, Steermouse used to work with my wireless (Bluetooth) Apple Mighty Mouse, particularly with snapping the cursor to the default button in dialog boxes. Now it doesn't! Any suggestions?
Raycon
Raycon
May 23 2013
4.1.6
0.0
May 23 2013
0.0
Version: 4.1.6
I've been using SteerMouse with my Logitech G700 for months now with no problem. Now this update says that it "now supports G700s…" I wonder why.
Will22
Will22
Dec 28 2012
4.1.5
3.5
Dec 28 2012
3.5
Version: 4.1.5
SteerMouse works well with my Kensington mouse. But every couple of weeks, my mouse stops working and the only way I can get it going again is to run the Kensington MouseWorks Uninstall app. After I restart my computer, my mouse starts working again. And then the same thing happens a few weeks later and I have to run the MouseWorks Uninstall again. Why is this happening? Why does it seem that something is installing that is stopping my mouse from working peridically? Any suggestions?
Sunriser
Sunriser
Nov 15 2012
4.1.5
5.0
Nov 15 2012
5.0
Version: 4.1.5
If you need the liberty of choosing your own mouse, it's a must-have. Installed it a few years ago, update it once every few months and just forget it is installed because it does the work as expected. Never crashed on me.
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
Nov 15 2012
4.1.5
5.0
Nov 15 2012
5.0
Version: 4.1.5
Works well. Even after all these years Apple still can't write a proper mouse driver. Ok, the trackpad works ok, but not for precision work. And heaven forbid you should have to install something from Logitech or Razor! Ouch. Steermouse is definitely worth $20 to be finished with these annoyances.
Coolapic
Coolapic
Nov 15 2012
4.1.5
5.0
Nov 15 2012
5.0
Version: 4.1.5
I own SteerMouse since 2007 and never had any problem with it. Just perfect with my beloved MX Revolution ! Thanks' to the dev for keeping this gem alive !
Christel1987
Christel1987
Nov 14 2012
4.1.5
5.0
Nov 14 2012
5.0
Version: 4.1.5
Long time runner and best in what it does. Simply awesome.
Maxruehl
Maxruehl
Aug 5 2012
4.1.4f1
0.0
Aug 5 2012
0.0
Version: 4.1.4f1
Is there the option of disabling the Steermouse driver in selected applications? I can do this in the MS Intellimouse driver software, but I can't see an obvious option here. I need to disable it to play Unreal Tournament, because it messing with the game's mouse drivers. I'm on PPC OSX 10.58.
Brian-tully
Brian-tully
Aug 3 2012
4.1.4f1
4.0
Aug 3 2012
4.0
Version: 4.1.4f1
Very good mouse driver. Almost perfect except for the fact that every now and then it flakes out and becomes unstable where my mouse buttons stop working.