Back to RAR Expander page
RAR Expander free download for Mac

RAR Expander Reviews

0.8.5-b4
17 December 2012

Extracts files contained in RAR archives (Beta).

Sweetblue
01 June 2007

Most helpful

Worked where Stuffit didn't. Simple as that.
Like (2)
Version 0.8.5b3

Read 24 RAR Expander User Reviews

Rate this app:

Dlwhite
21 January 2015
How is it that this free software which hasn't been updated in over two years can easily open files that make Yosemite's Archive Utility AND Stuffit Expander 16 choke and fail? Seriously? I mean, I'm awfully glad it works so well, but really - WTH?
Like
Version 0.8.5-b4
Monkeyjunkey
22 May 2014
Download link is dead. Use http://rarexpander.sourceforge.net/Downloads.html instead.
Like
Version 0.8.5-b4
easyguy
12 April 2013
does this program 7 zip also work on mac? http://easyguyevo.hubpages.com/hub/How-to-open-rar-files-on-windows
Like
Version 0.8.5-b4
Net88
18 November 2012
clumsy
Like
Version 0.8.4
1 answer(s)
Macnerd1984
Macnerd1984
22 December 2012
Lazy.
Like (1)
Tommy-Gun
18 March 2012
It is not a bad un-rar utility but it couldn't unpack one rar file I have. unRARx had no problems with the same file. It seems when a .rar is corrupted RAR Expander fails and unRARx does the job nice.
Like
Version 0.8.4
Joeschisa
18 March 2012
Can't get disk image to open, Finder says "Legacy disk image should be converted", on Lion. Tried 3 downloads.
Like
Version 0.8.4
2 answer(s)
gcoghill
gcoghill
14 May 2012
Same here :(
Like
AliEmreErdog3634
AliEmreErdog3634
26 March 2013
Same here
Like
Jhall-3rd
14 October 2011
Cannot get this to work with Lion!
Like
Version 0.8.5-b3
Jhall-3rd
14 October 2011
seems to not work with Mac Lion!
Like
Version 0.8.5-b3
Parvenu51
25 September 2010
Back on Windows, I was a heavy user of Rar compression and a big fan of WinRar. This post shows how to use an Automator workflow with an applescript to tell the command line Rar executable above what to do: so you'll be able to simply right-click on any file or folder & create a RAR file. http://stuffforlife.blogspot.com/2009/03/data-compression-in-mac-os-x-how-to.html
Like (1)
Version 0.8.5b3
Mithrawept
26 April 2009
Quick, efficient and fast. A great app. It does one thing but does that one thing well. Ignote stuffit, RAR instead!
Like (2)
Version 0.8.5b3
Coolmemin
06 June 2008
I second the review. Stuffit failed on some files and this did the job. Goodbye Stuffit Expander and hello RAR Expander :)
Like (2)
Version 0.8.5b3
Sweetblue
01 June 2007
Worked where Stuffit didn't. Simple as that.
Like (2)
Version 0.8.5b3
Wings
05 August 2006
What I want is an RAR expander that can tolerate a missing RAR file and STILL expand what is there, rather than quitting and just giving up. Sometimes I find a movie file or music file that's been RAR'ed but for some reason is missing 1 or more segments (newsgroups are infamous for this), and I'd like to see or hear whatever is available in the RARs. Do it, and I'd pay for it.
Like
Version 0.8.5b2
3 answer(s)
Wings
Wings
25 August 2006
Thanks Errorr, but I've tried that.
Like
Version 0.8.5b2
Dom21
Dom21
03 November 2008
Ajoiner will do it. http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/19590/ajoiner
Like
Version 0.8.5b3
Leif-Heflin
Leif-Heflin
04 May 2010
If there were any par2 files with the rar you could rebuild the missing pieces (if there aren't too many).
Like
Version 0.8.5b3
Macinspore
05 August 2006
Stuffit Expander IS *NOT* a reliable RAR expansion tool. It has failed decompress RAR files for me and my clients years. Having dealt with the whole Stuffit line for a decade or so (yeah I'm a old Mac guy) I have found it can produce corrupt archives, leading to costly re-production of projects. Instances of corrupted stuffit archives are common to the Mac community. New Stuffit products often cannot open stuffit archives produced by older versions of Stuffit. I maintain an old OS 7, OS 8 and OS 9 Macs (with comparable OLD versions of stuffit) for the purpose of opening old stuffit archives. Surely a company that has proprietary ownership of the Stuffit format(s) could a least maintain a commercial product that that can can Open ALL the crazy formats they have produced over the years. Finally a warning: ZIP, RAR, GZIP and the many other loss-less compression formats should never be run though stuffit ONLY perhaps if a tested uncorrupted backup exits, the likelihood of corruption of by stuffit, of these open compression formats is extremely high. I look forward to any comments from the current and past developers of stuffit - they have a lot too answer for.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.5b2
1 answer(s)
Macmuser
Macmuser
09 September 2006
Remember good old Compactor Pro or Disk Doubler? The good old days, eh?
Like
Version 0.8.5b3
Macinspore
05 August 2006
There also is "SimplyRAR" a UB app that also does a sweet job of expanding RAR files.
Like
Version 0.8.5b2
Jackmhlin
28 June 2006
RAR Expander is a nice application. It helpes me deal with the expansion of lots of RAR files. Quite stable and easy to use.
Like
Version 0.8.4
Zws
28 June 2006
There is no need for this, the latest (beta) version of stuffit expander (which is free) takes care of rar files well. the password issue is no longer a problem either. it also auto-quits and is tiny.
Like
Version 0.8.4
2 answer(s)
Jetfiredx
Jetfiredx
17 July 2006
There IS a need for this. I have had nothing but problems with Stuffit since it hit version 10. Zip files that will open in 9 refused to open in 10. 10 for no explicable reason would decide to set some option where it phones home and would not run until you were able to connect to the internet so it could do so and the program would start so that you could change the preference again. RAR Expander is a great tool. If you are like me and don't care to have Stuffit installed for whatever reason, RAR Expander is great for when you have the need to decompress a RAR file. (Today I had the need to do just that with a file a friend sent to me and where Simply RAR failed to show me any files in the archive, RAR Expander expanded it without any problem. Great program devs...please keep working on it.
Like
Version 0.8.5b1
Macinspore
Macinspore
05 August 2006
ZACHWS: Your quite obviously new to computers or Mac's Specifically. More than one Application Development Project with a similar objective is very good for the platform and computing in general. Along to your lines of thinking Windows NT has existed for lots of years - why continue to develop the Mac OS??? According too your thinking this would be duplication of effort. RAR Expander(580 K) StuffIt Expander (32MB) Which is smaller??
Like
Version 0.8.5b2
Beersanta
14 March 2006
Works well for me, wish that it would auto-quit when done.
Like
Version 0.83
Arnolds
05 December 2005
At last there is a free utility to 'unrar' archives on the mac! Works quite OK (OS 10.4.3). Annoying is that for password protected files, the password has to be typed in. Copy and paste are not available.
Like
Version 0.81
2 answer(s)
Qwerty-Denzel
Qwerty-Denzel
14 February 2006
I think that is a feature of 10.4 .
Like
Version 0.821
rolldub79
rolldub79
22 May 2010
you can try http://www.openrarfile.com no software, and no downloads, does it for you online
Like
Version 0.8.5b3
qwerasdf
02 October 2005
What makes this better than UnRarX?
Like
Version 0.8
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 October 2005
It remembers the password, with UnRarX I have to enter it for each file.
Like
Version 0.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 November 2005
untrue it remenbers the passwords.
Like
Version 0.81
Anonymous
04 August 2005
works great, I want to use this all the time, but can't, as it doesn't support password protected files. For this reason I give it a 2 for features, its a massive part of unstuffing RARs IMHO. but other than that I love it lol is there an update on the horizon?
Like
Version 0.7
Anonymous
01 August 2005
I have archives that, for whatever reason, GUI Tar expands fully and this only expands partially
Like
Version 0.7
Anonymous
16 April 2005
Well, you can always use the shell tools - http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/11159 and there's UnrarX which works well already, and it handles par files as well :D
Like
Version 0.7
1 answer(s)
Jarun123
Jarun123
03 December 2005
does anyone know the password
Like
Version 0.81
Anonymous
16 April 2005
very nice indeed. But i want to know, is there a util to actually create rar files like there is for zip/sit.. TIA
Like
Version 0.7
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 April 2005
http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/12598
Like
Version 0.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 April 2005
that's not really finished and not been updated for a while now.. thanks
Like
Version 0.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 April 2005
Sure, there is. Unfortunately, it's 100% command line at this time: http://www.rarlabs.com/download.htm for the 'trial version'. One nice thing about RAR licensing is that you license it ONCE. No paying each time there's a new version.
Like
Version 0.7