Back to PSPWare page
PSPWare free download for Mac

PSPWare Reviews

2.5.2
05 December 2007

Integrates your PSP with your Mac.

Anonymous
15 March 2005

Most helpful

Movie auto convert feature is really fantastic!
Like
Version 1.0

Read 60 PSPWare User Reviews

Rate this app:

Nerfgun
11 July 2008
Nullriver continually says they haven't abandoned the software but with a (maybe) twice-yearly update schedule at best, it may as well be abandoned. If it works for you, great, but if it doesn't you can expect exactly *zero* support. They've been this way for years, as near as I can tell. Nullriver, if you are reading this, your coders are ok but your customer service is absolutely horrible.
Like
Version 2.5.2
Daveperyam
07 April 2008
I hope to change this review when I am finally contacted back by support@nullriver, but to this moment none of my three emails sent over the last 10 days have been responded to. so I am forced to write a bad review. I downloaded Medialink to my 1st Gen Intel iMac 10 days ago. It installed with no problems. Once installed I paid for the activation code and registered the product. I did this before I fully tested out the software. This was my mistake. Once registered I went in to the other room to check the ps3 and found the system was reporting a DLNA Protocol Error 7531. But there is no information on their website regarding this issue. With this error by ps3 does not recognize any files on my computer at all, no music no movies no pictures no file structure. I have emailed Nullriver 3 times and never heard anything back from them. not even a "we got your email but cannot respond at this time, please be patient". Help! I would like to use this software and not have to go back to Nullriver and demand my monies back. Help, Help!
Like
Version 2.5.2
thec13
30 November 2007
Anyone having problems with this under Leopard?
Like
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
thec13
thec13
01 December 2007
Nevermind, I downloaded Missing Sync for PSP and I like it better. More options.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Mario-f
21 November 2007
Just Got it, best app for psp on the mac!! no problems so far, uploaded many movies!!
Like
Version 2.5.1
Pfusion
26 May 2007
Yes, it is difficult to get in touch with the developer. I sent a firm letter to the customer service folks this morning and they responded. They resent my registration info and it worked......a great application.....I hope the developer keeps up.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Missmac
01 April 2007
I paid for this app 7 days again and still haven't received a SN. When I emailed them they told me to wait. As a Mac user for 20 years and now my own children all have Macs, I find it totally unacceptable to have to wait on a piece of shareware that could of easily been automated if the developer used Kagi or some other sort of cart system. I needed this software to convert some shows before I left on a trip (long car ride for the kids), and here I am almost done with my trip and still no SN and no answer from the developer. My suggestion is if you want to support good software developers, find another piece of software to support. This was a total 'take the money and run' situation.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Myamid
18 March 2007
Overall, I would say this is the best PSP app on the Mac... It takes a little getting used to (some things are a little too automated), but it works well & the video Quality it produces on the PSP is pretty good. It's also well integrated with the iApps (though don't expect protected music or movies to work) On the downside, though the app is supposed to be universal, the encoders themselves (to convert movies) are PPC, resulting in subpar performance on Intel Macs. I manually updated them in the App package with Universal versions of the same app (packaged in various other apps) and encoding speed nearly doubled... Food for thought :)
Like
Version 2.5.1
Lupinglade
16 February 2007
Dear customers, It has been brought to our attention that several users did not receive replies to support requests. We are working on ironing out any such issues and we have taken steps to improve our technical support services. We receive many requests daily, including ones that require numerous replies and it has been difficult for us to reply within the same day. We are developing a new system to help us ensure faster support and we are also hiring additional support staff. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused our customers. Please understand that we are a growing company and we will be doing our best to provide our services to you. If you have not received a reply via technical support, please e-mail me directly at: mrogov@nullriver.com and I will do my best to help you get any issues resolved quickly. Further, there have been rumors of Nullriver Software having stopped developing PSPWare -- I assure you this is incorrect. We are in fact working on a major update for PSPWare and adding support for the PS3 (you heard it here first!). Please, in the future, refer to our web site for updates on our products and company and not forums where misinformation is often spread. PSPWare at its current stage is a very popular and highly rated product. We believe we have a good working milestone out right now, and that is why there are no current minor updates. We are working on bigger updates. Thank you for your attention, Maksim Rogov President Nullriver, Inc.
Like
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
Texinick
Texinick
29 July 2007
Thanks for the update. However, I purchased this software what feels like a couple of years ago, and I feel quite abandoned by Nullriver. You say to check out your website for updates, yet there has been NO comments on your site about PSPWare since March 2006. In your forums (pointed to on your own PSPWare), you seem to be completing ignoring any posts made there. Furthermore, you have completely ignored the requests for H.264 encoding from many of your customers. So please excuse YOUR CUSTOMERS for assuming that PSPWare is no longer being developed, or that you don't care about your paying customers, because that is EXACTLY WHAT WE DO THINK!! I also find it quote offensive that you can come and post this message here, yet you can't put this sort of thing in your forums or on your website.. where you tell us to go for all the updated news. I, for one, regret ever giving you any of my money, and would recommend that people look at the history of PSPWare, and check out their forums and history, before parting with any money.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Nerfgun
22 January 2007
This was a fantastic app back in early 2006 but is now AbandonWare, as the developer has left it to stagnate for many many months now. Their own forums are rife with people asking what is going on, and no answer at all. It saddens me to say it, as I really liked PSPWare once, but - DON'T spend any money on this app, as it will be largely wasted.
Like
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
Zivko
Zivko
26 January 2007
Totally agree. The PSP has had several firmware updates and newly added features since the latest release of PSPware, and the developers haven't made any sort of effort to update the program. Oh, unless of course they're working on a 3.0, which you'll have to pay for, of course.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Super-a
06 January 2007
Awesome application, does what it says. One complaint though... why not have bookmarks from FireFox and other web browsers? Does anyone still really use Safari?
Like
Version 2.5.1
2 answer(s)
Zivko
Zivko
26 January 2007
Yes, don't be ignorant. a majority of the Mac base use Safari, I guess some people can't be pleased.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Super-a
Super-a
30 January 2007
Isn't this guy supposed to be in day care? n00b.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Itmking
03 October 2006
How Do i put movies on my psp???????
Like
Version 2.5.1
Pimbo
13 July 2006
Realy a must have for all PSP owners. The money is worth it!
Like
Version 2.5.1
Ashmadux
30 April 2006
This app is now old hat. The developers refuse to include features that the customers ask for. • NO AVC support. While the pc users have had it for quite some time. Thanks. If you look on their forums they seem to be dead set against adding the feature, considering as feature bloat. Idiots. It's a supported sony format and we want to use it. Thanks again. • ERASES MEM STICK EVERY TIME you sync. F*cking dumb. You have to reset what you want on the card every-time. What if you just added one thing? Ludicrous. • GREAT psp encoding. that's all i use this for now, i don't even bother syncing anymore, its no longer important. • NOT AS FAST AS EARLIER VERSIONS. Dudes are getting lazy, or what? Many more movies now require the SLOW AS HELL quicktime conversion to be processed- even on my dual 2.5 the sh*t is slow as hell- what gives? the process used to be downright zippy back on a dual 142 g4. CMON!!! All i ask for is proper AVC support, better conversion speed, and getting rid of the aforementioned 'idiot' erase everything first' method. CMON!!!
Like
Version 2.5.1
Zico
09 March 2006
This is somehting you should read before buying the app. Apperantly the developers don't work with this product anymore.. Alot of users are very dissapointed... http://www.psp411.com/forum/9547/0//Very_dissapointed_with_this_app.html
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Lupinglade
Lupinglade
15 March 2006
A better choice of words would be "a few users are disappointed", and that is simply because we cannot add every feature they dream up. We are adding what we feel are good features and will continue to as we have been. The main complaint is the lack of H.264 support, however *no* software currently properly supports H.264 conversions to the PSP on the Mac. We will *not* utilize a process that is not 100% reliable. Its about quality of software, not quantity of features. Additionally, considering we just released 2.5 and the 2.5.1 update, I wonder how you come to claim PSPWare is not being developed?
Like
Version 2.5.1
Zacay
06 March 2006
Its good for syncing music and videos only if you want to limit yourself to PSPWare and a single computer. If you are like me using two computers, then everytime you connect the psp to any of the computer the memstick contents gets deleted. So lets say I sync my music at home so I could listen to them on my way to work. Then I sync my PSP on my work computer, voila, no more music for my way home. There is no AVC encoding, and no PMP encoding which should be very easy cause it uses ffmpeg for encoding. MP4 Encoding is slow! No extra picture features (resize, crop) etc etc. More badthings is that you can't sync to any chosen directory.. it only the itunes playlists. So putting music from other directories is a hassle. One more missing feature is that it can't let u sync with any kinda filetype. Its limited to some types and hardcoded directories. Lastly, they don't update it so often and the jump from 2.0 too 2.5 meant nothing.
Like
Version 2.5
Jickpictures
14 December 2005
This software is a graet addition to the PSP. It truly is a must have. I at least use it everyday. Excellent price I think. Keep up the good work!
Like
Version 2.1.6
Anonymous
22 November 2005
If you own a PSP and a Mac, get this. Like all the very best software, it just works - beautifully.
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
24 October 2005
I don't have a PSP, but I do have the new video iPod, and this program's video convertor provides good quality videos and it does it all quickly. And it works on the new iPod.
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
17 September 2005
Just perfect for the price. It does convert .avi files and it works perfectly on the PSP. Just a question: can you add just one item on your psp... or do you have to sync everything everytime ? Anyway, this a great soft. I love it.
Like
Version 2.1.3
Eastman
15 August 2005
Sounds like cool software.. i wish there was somthing like this for the awsome new Sony Ericsson W800i walkman phone ..
Like
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 August 2005
The PSP isn't a phone...yet :) Your post smells of spam.
Like
Version 2.1.3
Anonymous
12 August 2005
The new german localisation contains a lot of spelling errors (mostly mixed up character sequence) .... please have this cleaned up! Thanks.
Like
Version 2.1.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 August 2005
Any chance you can e-mail support ( at ) nullriver.com to let us know what those are?
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
04 August 2005
works the same as always, good to go. HOWEVER, THE ENCODER BECAME SLOW AS BALLS with this latest version. Used to be fast, especially on my work computer, a dual g4 1.25. the use quicktime button is checked, like a lways have, still crappily slow......it takes long enough to make mp4s on macs but this i a killer.....FIX!!!
Like
Version 2.1.1
2 answer(s)
Kballard
Kballard
11 August 2005
Maybe you're encoding Using H.264? If that's the case, of course it's going to be extremely slow.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 September 2005
same here. it took 5 hours to encode a 130 mb wmv file to mp4 for psp. my old pc does the same job in 30 minutes. come on guys get that encoding issue fixed
Like
Version 2.1.3
Brian
22 July 2005
This incredible software saved me a ton of cash! I was going to buy an iPod photo so I could carry around my beautiful family AND my music... Now I can carry home videos too! If you have a Mac and a PSP, there is no reason to buy an iPod. Unless of course you WANT to carry 10000 songs with you... a 1GB Memory Stick PRO Duo will only hold about 150 songs but that's more than enough for me. For $100 and some change, you can have a 1G stick and this software and have the same functionality as an iPod Photo. And oh yeah, play games, watch movies, surf the web, chat, etc... Hands down, the best purchase I have EVER made for my PSP. Suggestion for the developer: Resize photos to max width before syncing... also, add an error message when you try to sync an AAC file. (Or not, considering the v2.0 firmware will support AAC encoding!) -Brian
Like
Version 2.0.15
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 July 2005
Yes, I would like to second the ability to resize the photos for the wallpaper. But brian, the ipod is so much smaller than the psp!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 July 2005
Don't tell anyone, but the PSP crops/resizes images for wallpapers already. Just zoom and scroll how you want, and then set it to the wallpaper... bam. :)
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
18 July 2005
At first I tried it out and I thought "Wow awesome program". I registered and since then the program has become horrible. It no longer converts videos to MP4 for me and It's was slower. I don't know what happened.
Like
Version 2.0.15
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 July 2005
Please contact support (at) nullriver.com
Like
Version 2.0.15
Loop
18 July 2005
I love it except for one problem, when I try to sync a video file, it does everything but then when I try to view it on the PSP, it is listed as corrupted. any help?
Like
Version 2.0.15
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 July 2005
Please contact support (at) nullriver.com
Like
Version 2.0.15
Andre
23 June 2005
is there a way to stop PSPware from deleting files already on the psp when i upload new files to it. I had photos and a movie on my psp and when i went in a few days later to add some new songs psp deleted the old stuff and i only had my new songs on the psp!
Like
Version 2.0.13
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 June 2005
Andre, PSPWare is a sync application, it will remove files that are not part of the sync to free space for the files you've selected. You can manually add your own files using the Dropboxes or the PSPWare front-end.
Like
Version 2.0.13
MysticalOS
MysticalOS
25 June 2005
If you want to add songs to it, keep a itunes playlist for this purpose. Just sync using playlist, when you add files to playlist and update sync, old files are still on that playlist and psp will add the new files only..If you like to switch between songs that are on there, use multiple playlists. Or if you want to put a movie on there and clear songs for time being. Uncheck a playlist and sync other playlist and movies and those will be on there and unchecked items removed...
Like
Version 2.0.14
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 October 2005
If it was SYNC software it would SYNC the contents of the two sources, NOT delete what it does not know about, with zero warnings after the very first one when you installed the program and not even putting the fies in the trash or a folder.
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
15 June 2005
Have to agree with the posts below, Sony are ripping us off big time, where is the official PSP manager application from Sony??? For a device that costs this much I would expect thsi sort of software to come on a CD with it, or be downloadable form Sony say when you register your product for warranty purposes, my mobile phone has more support. Good luck to the developers with this tool, it rocks!
Like
Version 2.0.13
Anonymous
30 May 2005
Please add support for compressing directly from a TS folder.
Like
Version 2.0.12
Anonymous
29 May 2005
"Put ripped games on the PSP"
Like
Version 2.0.12
Alex
29 May 2005
Really nice app. With all the features you need except 2: Put ripped games on the PSP And choosing other pictures then the ones in iPhoto If those 2 things were made it would be perfect
Like
Version 2.0.12
Anonymous
27 May 2005
Perfect. THE best solution for getting movies (or any data, really) on my Duo card to be played on my PSP. I've made more than my fair share of PC users green with envy as they struggle with encoding with no less than three separate applications and tooling around with folder and file names so the PSP will read it correctly. Now, if only the developers could make Sony less evil with their Duo pricing. What a rip-off! And while their at it make my two hour battery life a bit longer too! Because as far as I can tell Sony is the only one not pulling their weight here. Excellent work, guys! Top Notch!
Like
Version 2.0.12
Anonymous
04 May 2005
Not sure why you are having difficulty, our support address and our forum are both working just fine and have been. If you can, please forward the bounce to zigzag (at) nullriver.com, if that bounces too, please let me know here.
Like
Version 2.0.9
Gianluca1
04 May 2005
Finally received the code for it even if the e-mail support is still not working. Thanks
Like
Version 2.0.9
Gianluca1
04 May 2005
I registered the product yesterday and got no e-mail with a registration code yet, the e-mail address on the support section of the developer keep bouncing back my mails requesting the code and today even the forum from the site cannot be found anymore from the browser.... Careful before you pay any money!
Like
Version 2.0.9
Kballard
02 May 2005
PSPWare is excellent! It makes it a snap to sync movies, music, and pictures to my PSP. I'm especially impressed by the auto-recoding of movies to sync. Great job!
Like
Version 2.0.9
Anonymous
25 April 2005
Doesn't work with Tiger Server. It will sync and run as expected - but video encodes of various types ONLY give me Incompatible Data on my PSP. Other than this - LOVE the product. Emory Lundberg from PowerPage.org gave it a rave.
Like
Version 2.0.7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 April 2005
Thanks for the info -- we'll look into the Tiger Server problem.
Like
Version 2.0.7
Anonymous
21 April 2005
Probably the best PSP software for Mac just now. Good interface, easy to use, not crashed on me once, packed full of features and integration with other programs. Gets better with every update!
Like
Version 2.0.6
Len
18 April 2005
So far the best PSP utility by far. conversion is now faster and drop boxes are easier to use than drag and drop. Well worth registration fee...
Like
Version 2.0.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 April 2005
Having trouble trying to regisitar. Anyhelp out there
Like
Version 2.0.7
Anonymous
17 April 2005
2.0.5 seems to mess up 16:9 movie conversion - it letterboxes them. I think longer testing periods between releases would be beneficial with this software.
Like
Version 2.0.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 April 2005
The new letterboxing might work well as an option as long as it is applied as a mask to a 4:3 original. Otherwise we need to lose the letterboxing on 16:9 originals. Cheers.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
16 April 2005
Ack -- the 231 build returned a crash into Movies. I think we got it this time! So we'll post an updated build, 2.3.1 (build 241) shortly -- it is recommended you update as this will greately improve stability in the Movies section. If you experience any more crashing in Movies -- let us know. Our apologies for all of these updates, but we want to keep PSPWare as usable as possible at all times. *** If you've downloaded 2.3.1 (241) please re-download -- sorry!
Like
Version 2.0.3
6 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 April 2005
Correction: *** If you've downloaded 2.3.1 (231) please re-download -- sorry!
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 April 2005
I think you mean version 2.0.3, beyond any question that is the version number that was most recently posted.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 April 2005
Let's stick to the version number that shows up when you do a 'GetInfo' on the application: Version 2.0.3 Nowhere is there any build number that a user can see/find.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 April 2005
Yes there is ;-) In the About dialog, in brackets. The reason we updated the build but not the version is to avoid sending out too many updates in too short a time. This message was for a minority of users that got the build really early.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 April 2005
So I have to fire up your app to know what its version number (build number) truly is? Absurd. You're making things more arcane than they should be.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 April 2005
So you send out updates that have the same version number (updates? *same* version number but with some silly 'build' number'?) but need to be launched to determine what the build number really truly is. How totally too clever. You really should think about this some more. You are living in your very own special world. Join ours (Joe Average User) instead.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
15 April 2005
awesome...works great with my 4 gb memory stick..i know its costs more then a psp,but hey wicked app :D
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Djdarlek
Djdarlek
21 April 2005
I don't think 4 gig Memory Stick Duos will even exist until the end of the PSP's lifespan. Well done for getting hold of one! :p
Like
Version 2.0.6
Radd
14 April 2005
can i have version 2.0.3!?!? 2.0.2 doesn't even launch... something to do with ZeroLink.framework... can't open the library. sigh.
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Radd
Radd
14 April 2005
okay... the new build works. thanks.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
14 April 2005
If you had trouble launching PSPWare 2.0.2, please try re-downloading it (new build # 224), should work fine. Please contact support at nullriver dot com if you still have difficulty.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Weavus
14 April 2005
Fantastic little program thats miles better than the competition! I've encoded about 100 films with it and about 250 TV rips without problems. I just wish they could provide some kind of categorization of the Movies tab so that I could identify things easily. As it is, its just a big long list of everything I have encoded which makes finding things a pain. Can we have some kind of optional virtual directory structure of the Movies tab for a future release?
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 April 2005
We are working on it! Thanks for your positive feedback!
Like
Version 2.0
Radd
12 April 2005
Excellent software. Easy to setup (hooks right into iTunes and iPhoto), easy to use (detects the PSP upon connection and syncs). Loads the PSP with photos, music, and videos that are compatible with it (JPEG, MP3, and MP4 video) as well as backs up your saved games from the memory stick. If you've got a PSP and a Mac, look no further.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
10 April 2005
Very easy to use and fast enough so that I registered it after my first sync (An episode of 'South Park). This was the direct opposite on another piece of software purporting to do the same which never opened, I got no technical support for and which I for some reason paid for.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
08 April 2005
Better yet try PSPware. From their own site: "Take a movie, add it to PSPWare's movies section and PSPWare will automatically convert and optimize it for your PSP's screen. You can swap movies with a single click, making it super practical!"
Like
Version 1.5
J
05 April 2005
i downloaded the software click on the icon and nothing happens can someone please help me
Like
Version 1.5
J
05 April 2005
i downloaded the software click on the icon and nothing happens can someone please help me
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
05 April 2005
how the heck do you get movies on your psp from the mac?????? god this gets me so mad, i feel like throwing my mac and my psp on the ground!!!!!! help please help before i kill myself!!!!
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 April 2005
Have a look here.
Like
Version 1.5