Back to iTaskX page
iTaskX free download for Mac

iTaskX Reviews

4.0.2
29 October 2019

Microsoft Project-compatible project-management solution.

ad-ontec-1
12 January 2018

Most helpful

Honestly - this thing is simply awesome! The only thing I would love to see better is that by importing from a mindmap (opml) it would also already take the same hierarchy as the mindmap naturally has... Other than that... the only other thing I could think of to improve would be to have a iOS Version syncing via iCloud. But else I have to say: I have had many of these apps including MS Project and Merlin, but iTaskX is the only one I really use. It is really easy to understand and it is greatly documented. Really awesome app! Thx.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.4

Read 12 iTaskX User Reviews

Rate this app:

ad-ontec-1
12 January 2018
Honestly - this thing is simply awesome! The only thing I would love to see better is that by importing from a mindmap (opml) it would also already take the same hierarchy as the mindmap naturally has... Other than that... the only other thing I could think of to improve would be to have a iOS Version syncing via iCloud. But else I have to say: I have had many of these apps including MS Project and Merlin, but iTaskX is the only one I really use. It is really easy to understand and it is greatly documented. Really awesome app! Thx.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.4
Libertyforall1776
06 June 2016
The in-app version updater never works. *sigh*
Like
Version 3.0.8
1 answer(s)
Techno-Grafik
Techno-Grafik
30 June 2016
If for any reason, the auto update doesn't work please download iTaskX 3 from our website. After you have downloaded this version replace your current iTaskX with the new one in the Applications folder.
Like
rodic
24 January 2016
After the switch to a Mac, the learning curve for a former MS Project users was very low. The only thing i miss are some WBS setting but ll in all I can only agree. Works like Project - feels like Mac - Great :-)
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0
Sforf
10 February 2013
A bit disappointed, nice start but lacking especially with basic, essential functionality.... iTaskX cannot SORT TASKS BY START DATE, no any other table columns. I bought it thinking this is basic feature, so be sure to thoroughly test before spending $115 bucks.
Like (2)
Version 2.10.1
Jack-jik
22 January 2013
I have been using the iTaskX since version 2.6. I use it most of the time now. I seldom fire up MS project 2010. It's workflow is very easy to start a project with a step by step wizard type form you can use to get the basics of your project recorded. The older versions of iTaskX would read and write to MS Project without issue as long as you saved it as an xml version for import into the MS Project 2007 and 2010 versions. This new version does native file extension exports, for everything up to MS Project 2012. Since I stay on the bleeding edge of the OS X operating system, I have had small problems with 3rd party software. Each time I have had a question for the iTaskX team they come back with a real solution in a fast (read non-critical path) reply. I am very comfortable with MS project in all its forms but I use this Project Management Software the most of all PMP software we own. I also tried Omniplan for a while. I did not consider it in my final purchase for several reasons one was its interoperability with MS Project. iTaskX wins hands down. For the future: I am waiting on two functions that would make me lead our project team completely away from MS Project; 1. The WBS code that can be a custom coded (I use CSA codes for tasks) and the report for the project that is more document or export to pages /Word for a friendlier format than a grid.
Like (2)
Version 2.10.0
1 answer(s)
Jack-jik
Jack-jik
22 July 2013
Also waiting on sort by task start date!
Like (1)
Prlab
13 March 2012
Continually crashes on opening. WIll contact developer.
Like
Version 2.9.2
Vl1066
05 November 2008
We purchases iTaskX about 6 months ago, and I've used it in several applications. The software is well-suited to relatively simple projects of a few hundred tasks and a dozen resources. The input is straightforward, and there's ample help. There are a few annoyances (like why is there a 7% increase in resource costs if input as $$/year instead of $$/mo or $$/hr?) that you have to work around, but the iTaskX is very serviceable. If your project is complex, however, the software is not up to the demands. I tried to cost out the annual strategic plan for a small firm of 10 employees. It was a mess. You can't use common resource lists, or separate projects into sub-projects/master project, and reporting features are very limited. Cutting and pasting tasks across sheets drops the resource assignments, and so each task has to be assigned by hand in a rather tedious manual process. I'm ashamed to say I had to get VMWare and use MS Project. And even then, the importing of iTaskX xml files into MS Project was not seamless, as claimed. Overall, iTaskX is fine for small projects, but is not yet up to the task of complex projects.
Like (11)
Version 2.5.400
Miner
13 August 2008
Very, very happy that an update has emerged after a long period of silence. Great product!
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Anmar
12 February 2006
I love this program. It is the only mac PM software that comes close to MS Project functionality. Eye candy aside, I belive this software has the potential to completely replace MS Project for small and large projects. Although it mimics MS Project in its features, it tries to be more intuitive and to the point. I would consider it a serious contender once I can view multiple views of the same project. Have you tried leveling your resources using the Resouce Usage sheet. Not gonna happen easily. detailed gant chart view below the Resource Usage sheet would definitely help. There are a few small things here and there but overall, I strongly recommend this software to anyone who wants to shed MS Windows and move to a 100% Mac platform. Oh.. and before I forget, the ability to add graphics to the gant chart is actually a very useful feature (great for adding some aids in organizing or annotating a large project gantt.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Anonymous
23 September 2005
I've tried the demo version and decided to place the order just now. In the paste 6 hours, I've send 3 emails (and got replies for all of them) regarding some localization issues (Chinese) and got some solid response from the tech support. Their answer were quite good. I like the feature that user can set their own 'Views' and be able to see it with a click of mouse immediately. The 'Page Layout view' is got some nice touch such as the '%' of the output so user can try to size up/down the document to fit in the final output. Few things I would like to see in the future release: 1. Rename of the column; so I can shorten the column heading during printout when necessary. 2. Set the custom Views for specific project only 3. Few more bar styles; at the moment, there seems to be the rectangle type only. 4. Template; I don't know if there are any template to download from? (maybe someone can help me out here) Overall, this is a nice s/w. I came from the Windows world and I am quite happy to find this PM software on the Mac. This is definetely one of the good ones for the Mac plateform. Now the only software I lack now is a good spreadsheet (I use Excel) and most important, a good outliner.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 October 2005
My recommendation for your outliner choice would be OmniOutliner (www.omnigroup.com). The latest version 3 is very rich in features and compatibility. The sister app OmniGraffle is a great alternative to Microsoft Visio.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
21 June 2005
Excellent product. Very intuitive and complete. Worth the price ! (better and cheaper than FastTrack) (6/21/2005, Version: 1.5)
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
04 February 2005
Interesting new addition to task/project management application. Very feature rich compared to the other eye candy applications that we are starting to see... Don't get me wrong, the interface is nice on this app and so far impress with it response. Did have an issue accessing my "Resources" from the address book, but it still is in beta stage. As for the cost, pretty far... once all of the bugs are worked out. Could be a little cheaper for single user though. Regards, Charles
Like (1)
Version 2.0 Beta