Back to Mathematica page
Mathematica free download for Mac

Mathematica Reviews

12.0.0
19 April 2019

Advanced mathematics, visualization, and more.

Iliketrash
09 October 2015

Most helpful

After 27 years, Mathematica finally gets an undo function. Yay!
Like (3)
Version 10.1

Read 15 Mathematica User Reviews

Rate this app:

-Olivier
09 August 2016
CAUTION: This is for a DEMO LICENSE. It's not clear what the limitations of this license are, but the price of the real thing is way way higher! (My rating takes the pricing into account, greedy Wolf!)
Like
Version 11.0
There seems to be some confusion as to the cost. The main MacUpdate.com page lists Mathematica as "Free". As of today. 27 March 2016, this page lists it as $2.00.
Like
Version 10.4
Iliketrash
09 October 2015
After 27 years, Mathematica finally gets an undo function. Yay!
Like (3)
Version 10.1
Baarten
22 April 2015
There's no 10.1 version of the plugin, right? Although MacUpdate Desktop says so.
Like
Version 10.1
Derekcurrie
21 April 2015
Oddly today, the MU home page is listing this as 'free'. Then this page lists it at $2. NO. There is a trial version. For education professionals it starts at ~$200. For non-professional individuals it is $250. For professionals it goes on up from there. You can choose to use it on the desktop, desktop with Internet, or Internet only. The Internet versions have periodic fees.
Like
Version 10.1
piquadratpi2
21 April 2015
A price of $ 2.00 would be really wonderful for this great mathematics package. I guess this is an error of MacUpdate, or?
Like
Version 10.1
ososX
14 July 2014
Mathematica is a unique software in its capabilities ! I am a heavy user of Mathematica for a quarter of a century (since 1989), and hardly remember times that it failed me. I agree with Iliketrash that the interface is unique looking almost as it did 25 years ago, and the plots generators (commands) can be dramatically improved. I also agree that as a sophisticated mathematically-oriented word processor (or presentations maker) it is not the best. However, come on, this is a tools for doing mathematics and symbolic mathematics, and as such it is in a league of its own. Moreover, Mathematica help features and the connectivity of its interface with its manual is unbelievably smart and convenient. Even in this respect, till today I can't find any comparable softwares. My only wish is that I could write Mathematica commands in LaTeX (and then also see the output file in LaTeX-PDF), for me this will turn Mathematica into the ultimate software ... I take 0.5 star because I do think that the plots generator (command) should be improved. By the way, after purchasing/upgrading all versions of Mathematica since 1993, I finally received version 10.0 as a free upgrade ... thanks Wolfram :-)
Like
Version 8.0.1
Iliketrash
28 November 2012
The Mathematica user interface was fun in 1988 but in 2012 is just a crusty relic. The "everything in one window" notebook metaphor is extraordinarily clumsy, requiring constant scrolling and collapsing-expanding of elements. Write code to create a graph, then scroll to see the actual graph, then scroll back to the code, etc. It has a built-in technical word processor with a lot of promise but much of that promise remains unrealized; it can't do multiple columns and it can't intelligently place figures etc. (just like Word etc.). It exports to LaTeX but with lots of editing required in the LaTeX file to clean up the mess. But yet, technically, Mathematica rocks.
Like (2)
Version 9.0
OhEssex
25 October 2011
$2495! Any word on the price for the family-pack...
Like (2)
Version 8.0.4
1 answer(s)
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
11 July 2014
The Home Edition is $295. http://www.wolfram.com/mathematica-home-edition/
Like (2)
Iliketrash
09 August 2011
Leading-edge, world-class mathematical software, yet their rocket scientist programmers can't figure out how to implement the Undo function.
Like
Version 8.0.1
1 answer(s)
Dalahast
Dalahast
26 December 2011
Delete a line and hit enter.
Like (2)
piquadratpi2
09 June 2011
Isn't this an old version. I use mathematica 8.0.1 for months already...
Like (1)
Version 8.0.1
1 answer(s)
darkwing52
darkwing52
09 June 2011
Yes, 8.01 has been out for a few months. Not sure why the delay here.
Like (1)
ososX
01 November 2008
I finally upgraded from v5.2 to v6.0.3. Indeed the new version is a major improvement. Particularly in the user interface, a vastly improved input/output formats, graphics and more (this is important when accounting for the fact that the set of improvements during the shift from v4.X to 5.X was essentially an empty set). Thus I find Mathematica 6.0.3 working smoothly. The only drawback is that under OS10.5.5, whenever Mathematica is running, my MacBook doesn't sleep and hence my battery is being drained. I hope that this will be fixed soon (before I have to purchase a new one).
Like (2)
Version 6.0.3
Panthera
11 June 2008
Too bad "leech" is already in use as an application name because with regard to upgrade fees, it would be an apt moniker for this app.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.3
Bluloo
10 June 2008
Nice program but why do they continually charge upgrade fees for point updates/bug fixes?
Like (1)
Version 6.0.3
Dgeo
28 September 2007
It must be stated that Wolfram has discontinued 64bit PPC support for Mathematica 6, it just runs in 32bit now. Mac PPC G5 is the only 64bit platform that Mathematica runs in a 32bit constrained mode. If you really need 64bit and have a PowerMac you should stay with the previous version 5 ... or look elsewhere.
Like (1)
Version 6.0