Back to Seashore page
Seashore free download for Mac

Seashore Reviews

2.4.14
02 December 2019

Image manipulator influenced by the GIMP.

Hal-Itosis
10 January 2019

Most helpful

Code signatures could use a tweak... $ codesign -vvv /Applications/Seashore.app : : /Applications/Seashore.app: bundle format is ambiguous (could be app or framework) In subcomponent: /Applications/Seashore.app/Contents/Frameworks/Plugins.framework
Like (1)
Version 2.1.8

Read 43 Seashore User Reviews

Rate this app:

Hal-Itosis
10 January 2019
Code signatures could use a tweak... $ codesign -vvv /Applications/Seashore.app : : /Applications/Seashore.app: bundle format is ambiguous (could be app or framework) In subcomponent: /Applications/Seashore.app/Contents/Frameworks/Plugins.framework
Like (1)
Version 2.1.8
peter24099
03 January 2019
Thank you for creating this App! I have been using Gimp in the past, but this one integrates much better with macOS and has all the (basic) features I need (probably even more).
Like (1)
Version 2.0.0
1 answer(s)
Macfool
Macfool
05 January 2019
This app has been around for over 20 years, it’s GIMP w/o having bees-in-the-head, very stable, and the fact it is being actively developed, again, is great news from Italy.
Like (1)
Macfool
28 December 2018
Runs fine on Mohave. In DarkMode the Point Information which has been moved to the sidebar is too light to be easily read. Other than that minor cosmetic flaw, this old workhorse is as good as ever.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.2
1 answer(s)
Macfool
Macfool
10 January 2019
v.2.1.8 will reset your app Preferences and clear your Open Recent menu. Works great other than that.
Like
Afmac
28 December 2018
Cant open dmg it says no mountable file system. I am running 10.11.6
Like
Version 1.1.2
4 answer(s)
Afmac
Afmac
28 December 2018
Is there a way to download zip version? no luck with any of the DMG
Like
Macfool
Macfool
31 December 2018
https://sourceforge.net/projects/seashore/files/v1.1.3/fix%20plugin%20color%20handling%20-%20major%20bug%20fix%21.zip/download
Like
Joseluismen
Joseluismen
02 January 2019
That link, and similar ones pointing to zip files of the project, are for the source versions of the program. I thought I could compile it from 10.11 with my Xcode, but when I try to open the project file of Seashore, I get an alert that the project is not compatible. Will it be for previous versions, newer or my configuration is not correct?
Anyway, the new versions 1.1.5 and 2.0.0 incredibly if they open correctly in a 10.11 system. All the previous ones that I tried were impossible because of the same non-mountable file system alert. I still have to check if the program is compatible or not. I had always thought that the new versions of Robaho if the disk image did not open, meant that the program would not be compatible either with previous systems, like my 10.11.
Like
Macfool
Macfool
05 January 2019
Afmac & Jose - Just d/l seashore-bin-2.1.0.dmg from Sourceforge in MacOS10.11.6. The .DMG opened to a folder containing the Seashore app, asst.files, that app was dropped on top of a Seashore 051 in the Applications folder. The result, no warnings and 2.1 runs like 051, perfectly in MacOS10.11.6.
Like
Macfool
02 April 2018
Seashore 0.5.1 now works on High sierra after NOT working under Sierra. Deselecting all of the boxes under Preferences stops the random crashing. This is a pretty fair image editor and clean-up tool, an oldie-but-goodie.
Like
Version 0.5.1
next-to-the-best
14 July 2015
it is too complicated. Go to Super PhotoCut in Appstore. It is really super to instant remove background within few seconds. http://www.effectmatrix.com/mac-appstore/free-remove-background-from-image-for-mac.htm
Like
Version 0.5.1
Penguirl
27 September 2012
I had never tried Seashore because I mistakenly thought it did not have a crop feature. There is no crop button in the tool palette, it is listed in the edit menu instead. A promising looking app that I look forward to using.
Like (1)
Version 0.5.1
Detto
20 August 2011
Finally found a image creation / manipulation tool for the "you and me" with a simple interface and the extra features one might miss by using Paintbrush or another Paint clone. Excellent work! Highly recommended!
Like (1)
Version 0.5.1
Macwatcher
13 February 2011
It's a great little free bit of software, very pretty, and also quite easy to use once you get the hang of one or two little tricks. I did manage to crash it a couple of times, mainly when I tried to use Transform on a selection rather than a layer, but otherwise it's stable enough. There are a couple of serious omissions though. Although you get Exposure, and Hue/Saturation, you don't get Levels, or Colour Balance, both of which I think absolutely essential in any layer-based image editor. But, for a free app, it's neat. Just make sure you download the 0.5 Beta, not 0.1 which has far less in it.
Like (1)
Version 0.1.9
Belov
28 January 2011
0.5.1 Great application, considering the price. The one-window interface and mac-likeness draw me to use it. Instead of waiting for X11 to launch. Some 10-15 minutes of fiddling and You find all the basic tools and effects...furry, blurry, hurry...Is that your mother? Both drawing tablets, Graphire4 & Intuos4 worked "out of the box." Biggest bug : Tablet eraser does BG color.
Like
Version 0.1.9
mugsuk
16 July 2010
Check out version 0.5 at the following link... http://seashore.sourceforge.net/The_Seashore_Project/Download.html it is unbelievable that such awesome software is so readily available for free... may lack a few filters that you will find in things like pixelmator, but this is the most mac-like graphics program I have used in term of ease of use. Hope they keep up the development as this program is one of my most used programs on a daily basis - especially since the new version came out. NOT ONE CRASH WITH THIS PROGRAM EVER
Like (5)
Version 0.1.9
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
20 August 2010
Wow. I didn't even realize Seashore was still being developed. Thanks.
Like
Version 0.1.9
M-Rick
28 May 2007
Try LiveQuartz http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/18064 More features, more Mac OS X
Like (2)
Version 0.1.9
globetrotterdk
05 April 2007
I get a "too many processes" error message when I try to open the image file.
Like
Version 0.1.9
New-User
01 March 2007
I've been watching Seashore develop. I keep hoping they'll add more of Gimp's effects. I've become addicted to live previews in other apps, I hope they'll add it to Seashore. Overall a good little app if you don't need all the power of a Photoshop or Gimp.
Like
Version 0.1.8p3
hced
02 February 2007
Not too bad. I think Seashore has potential! Here are my wishes for improvement: - Alt-dragging to automatically duplicating selection (á la Photoshop). - Realtime transparency interaction. I.e., be able to show (in realtime) when you change a layer's transparency. - Command-+/- for zooming. - Scroll-wheel support for zooming. - Option to not let the screen dim when you make a selection. Plus, alternatively adding an option to use a more 'conventional' type of marquee (again, á la Photoshop). - More enhanced gradient editor. - Do I dare asking? Bezier-curves/simple vector gfx support? :) Good luck! And thanks so far!
Like
Version 0.1.8p3
Gabriel-Reimers
23 February 2006
this is a very promising app. for only being 0.1 it's very well done. seashore is extremly fast and comfortable to use. sure, there is still a lack of functions but basic editing can be done very easily and i think more features will be available throughout the next versions. what i'd like to sea most would be a stamp tool like in photoshop.
Like
Version 0.1.8RC4
Mruben
23 February 2006
Another benefit of this program - it's about 1/20th the file size of GIMP.
Like (1)
Version 0.1.8RC3
2 answer(s)
Dp-G4-450guy
Dp-G4-450guy
23 February 2006
GIMP and Seashore are two different-goal applications. GIMP is like Photoshop. Seashore is a drawing app like Illustrator (very, very lite.) GIMP has so many features crammed into it that it naturally has a much larger file-size.
Like
Version 0.1.8RC4
Amake
Amake
05 April 2007
Yeah, it also has about 1/20 the functionality. And to the other commenter: No, actually Seashore is NOT like Illustrator at all. Illustrator is for vector graphics; Photoshop, GIMP, and Seashore are for bitmap graphics (with some, limited vector capabilities).
Like (1)
Version 0.1.9
Guntis
29 December 2005
Very nice beginning! I have a few wishes: 1) I wish it had editable text layers. 2) Text tool automatically create new leayer for each text entry. 3) Paintbrush, Penil and Smudge tools could have option to show it's real size, not just center crosshair. 4) Gradient tool could show direction line when I drag it, to give me better idea about the direction. 5) Gradient Style options could be shown as buttons, so won't need to open menu to set desired option. 6) Selection Tool options could be shown as buttons, so won't need to open menu to set desired shape. 7) Actually Options section could have it's own section in the palette, so I could have it always open. Brushes and Textures could be also separate sections below each other. Maybe something similar to the OmniGraffle palette design? - I can detach each one and move where I want, and I can "stack" them into one tall palette, if I want to. 8) Why not use Photoshop Zoom In/Out/Fit shortcuts? (Command+=/-/0) It's industry's standard...
Like
Version 0.1.8 RC2
Anonymous
22 September 2005
Very nice, hope it will in the end get all the functionality of Gimp. What I really don't understand though, is why the developper copied this rather alien interface from Gimp. I mean, if you're improving the interface of an app by cocao-ising it, why not go the whole way and dump the senseless amount of gimp windows floating around?
Like
Version 0.1.7
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 September 2005
That's wholly subjective on your part about the interface. One man's feeling of alien I/F is another man's comfy. The major accomplishment here is that he's removed X11 environment - even thought that, too, is subjective. It's very nice to have, but there's nothing "wrong" with X11.
Like
Version 0.1.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 September 2005
OK, alien to a typical OSX interface. I just find that all these open windows for 1 program make it incredibly cluttered, and I really don't see why some things are on one window, and other on another window. It doesn't make any sense to me. I'm really glad it doesn't use X11 though. Nothing wrong with X11 in itself, but on a Mac it completely breaks the unity of the interface, menus are in different places, key shortcuts are different etc, and this is bad from an interface point of view.
Like
Version 0.1.7
Ari
26 August 2005
unbelievable app. this is certainly commercial quality-it is 100% cocoa, so it's not slow like GIMP or other carbon or java apps (in fact, it starts up and runs very quickly). beautiful work-it's a very simple, lightweight, easy to use image editor with the only the features that matter the most. perfect for when i need to do some graphic editing.
Like
Version 0.1.6
Anonymous
14 August 2005
Very fast loading version of gimp. Fast and have pressure sensitivity and layers support. Easy to use replaces programs such as Paint shop pro and Graphic converter
Like
Version 0.1.6
Anonymous
14 August 2005
Wow, what a responsive app! Please, keep up the good work. : )
Like
Version 0.1.6
Anonymous
26 May 2005
Textures are broken in 10.4. Other than that, great work!
Like
Version 0.1.5
Anonymous
30 April 2005
I had a picture I wanted to texture to look like fabric. Couldn't quickly figure out how to in GraphicConverter, so I went to MacUpdate, figuring I could find something. Downloaded this. Wow! It actually did what I wanted it to. I was able to figure it out and finish my project very quickly, even though there's very very little documentation (not even tooltips). The interface is pretty intuitive. Add tooltips and it would be awesome, I think. Also: no crashes. Keep up the good work!
Like
Version 0.1.5
Anonymous
18 April 2005
The Sourceforge download site doesn't seem to work with either Safari or Firefox -- can't get the file. Does anyone have any advice? Thanks in advance!
Like
Version 0.1.5
Anonymous
17 April 2005
fantatisc work
Like
Version 0.1.5
sanssecours
17 April 2005
great work - thanks a lot for developing this app
Like
Version 0.1.5
Anonymous
17 April 2005
Little problem here: "The following disk images failed to mount Seashore-bin-0.1 no mountable file systems"
Like
Version 0.1.5
Anonymous
09 April 2005
Scott 'GimpShop' Moschella should hook up with Mark.
Like
Version 0.1.4
Anonymous
15 February 2005
Follow-up: 10.2.8 launch problem in v0.1.4. Developer already responded with patch. How cool is that? Really nice to see this kind of development on Mac. Thanks!
Like
Version 0.1.4
Anonymous
15 February 2005
As a user, all I want is Gimp in a native interface. Once you get all of Gimp's features ported over into full standard Quartz interface, then focus on optimizations for G4, Quartz calls, and the CoreImage subsystem of MacOS X 10.4 Just letting you know what I want as a user. In the mean time I'll stick with X11 Gimp. Keep up the good work!
Like
Version 0.1.4
Anonymous
14 February 2005
Great project, but new version (0.1.4) would not launch for me on OSX 10.2.8. Filed bug report, but posting here as general FYI if others have same problem.
Like
Version 0.1.4
Anonymous
14 February 2005
Friggin sweet. I love it when I download an update to a program and several of the feature requests I made have made it in - so nice to see devs that really care to work hard to give people what they want. Keep it up guys I can't wait to see what it next!
Like
Version 0.1.4
Marsviolet
14 February 2005
>>how does an image editing app >>NOT have a crop feature? The crop tool is in the Tools palette.
Like
Version 0.1.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 February 2005
It is version 0.1.4. Give the guy a break!
Like
Version 0.1.4
Anonymous
09 January 2005
Well the documentation is poor so maybe I missed it but how does an image editing app NOT have a crop feature???
Like
Version 0.1.3
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 February 2005
It does have a crop feature. Select the bottom right icon (looks like a knife) on the "Toolbox" window then on the Options window (the options tab should be selected) click the Crop button. This is sorta a long process for such an easy task I'll admit. I'm sure it later builds it will be simplified, but the feature is there. Also, I found this all out within a minute of using the application without looking through the help. So I don't find it too complicated to use.
Like
Version 0.1.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 February 2005
Sorry, bottom left.
Like
Version 0.1.4
Anonymous
28 December 2004
this is a great start!!! much potential for this app... i will be looking forward for updates!!
Like
Version 0.1.3
Raiyan Kabir
08 December 2004
This is more then I can expect from a 0.1.3 app. Its great and fully native. WOW! I hope it will be a photoshop killer in a few days and its open source. I played it for a few minutes and I got the user interface and it has easier and better GUI then any other professional app out there. I liked it very much. Only one thing, and that is the ruler is missing. I expect advance photoshop features in Tiger with coreGraphics.
Like
Version 0.1.3
Anonymous
07 December 2004
great app ... puts shareware and paid for windows apps to shame ;) only things I'd like to see would be; - PSD import / editing (I get a lot of Photoshop files) - Optimise for Web options that aside for generating new images it's an excellent solution
Like
Version 0.1.3
Millennium
26 August 2004
This is a wonderful app, so far. One of the things it needs, though, is to add Script-Fu support. This method of scripting the GIMP is one of the reasons it became so popular on Linux, and it would be a major asset on the Mac as well. Obviously a more Mac-like scripting interface (perhaps OSA support?) should also become a priority later, but compatibility with existing GIMP scripts would be a major short-term boost. This said, the app is off to a wonderful start, and I look forward to seeing it mature.
Like
Version 0.1.2
Anonymous
12 August 2004
just a suggestion... You would be best off specifically targeting Tiger. Having a first out of the gate app that takes full advantage of Core Graphics would be an unbelievable coups for open source. That's not to say you shouldn't continue to work on it for Panther. But, complex image filters should be left for Tiger, where they are in the OS. You would have a tremendously influential app then.
Like
Version 0.1.2
Anonymous
11 August 2004
In short: Great idea, right path, please keep going. :) Much more stable than I expected, this little app already offers several of the most important features. Naturally, it needs a lot more of them, but for this early state, it shows lots of potential. Comparing it to GIMP shows us how much a true OS X integration is worth these days. Once it has all or most of GIMP's features, Seashore will be a killer application that will be on every OS X user's hard drive. I hope that Mark (and others, hopefully) will keep up working on this wonderful project and am looking forward to see the application using Core Image technologies in Tiger. :)
Like
Version 0.1.2
Anonymous
11 August 2004
Okay...... I am not going to switch from Photoshop just yet! BUT...... this little app shows a great deal of promise, It will be woth keeping an eye on Seashore to see how much beter it gets. keep up the great work
Like
Version 0.1.2
Anonymous
11 August 2004
Shows some real promise, very powerful for such a small footprint. I do wish that the selection tool was live though.
Like
Version 0.1.2