Back to Second Life page
Second Life free download for Mac

Second Life Reviews

6.0.0.520636
22 November 2018

Expansive online society, lived in and built by its participants.

Penguirl
27 April 2011

Most helpful

Interesting that Linden Labs dropped PPC support but still supparts Panther 10.3.9. Huh? Also, why is it that Blizzard can write a game (Warcraft) that runs smoothly on OS X but Linden Labs' effort with Second Life is barely functional. I'm glad I never got hooked on SL.
Like (9)
Version 2.6.3.227447

Read 42 Second Life User Reviews

Rate this app:

Libertyforall1776
26 April 2015
Reminds me of V-World on the Caprica TV series (60 years prior to Battlestar Galactica)! Although it is not half as good. :P
Like
Version 3.7.27.300636
SickTeddyBear
23 April 2014
From the Chronicle of Higher Education: https://chroniclevitae.com/news/456-what-ever-happened-to-second-life
Like (3)
Version 3.7.6.289164
Macinman
11 March 2014
I just wanted to leave a comment and say I enjoy messing around with Secondlife at times i really don't use it on a regular basis, but it's fun to explore. I wanted to also say how impressed i am to say my retina macbook pro late 2013 13" does really well on the graphics with the iris graphics. So far no slow downs and great detail. it only starts to really show a noticeable slow down on ultra but it's not huge so i put it back down on high. it also depends on the environment it seems as to how graphics are effected. I'm not much of a gamer though, i work with video and other forms of media for the most part. I've tried second life on my 2005 eMac back in 2005 the radeon 9600 card wasn't too bad but it was certainly slower. my white macbook wasn't the best when i tried it as the intel graphics back then weren't a gaming card, now i have it on this retina MBP and i think this has been the best i've seen it. I also noticed the fan is well controlled too it runs when it has to then slows down to silent again.
Like
Version 3.7.3.287491
Jazzyguy
25 February 2014
This is Real FUN!!!!
Like (1)
Version 3.7.2.286707
Erik-Carlson
29 January 2014
Fun stuff
Like
Version 3.6.13.284995
Sanjinko
31 August 2012
Version 3.3.4.262321 was released on July 25, 2012 Available also are beta and development versions.
Like
Version 3.3.1.254524
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
31 August 2012
Thanks Sanjinko, I've updated the listing.
Like
SickTeddyBear
12 January 2012
Users of Second Life may want check out the documentary called "Life 2.0", which will be released on DVD January 17th: http://life2movie.com
Like (2)
Version 3.2.5.247236
2 answer(s)
Itistoday
Itistoday
17 October 2013
Thanks for sharing!
Like
Spudboy
Spudboy
10 January 2014
I found the film interesting. If for no other reason then no one had an iPhone.
Like
Heymini
23 June 2011
Dont think of this as a 'Game' think of it more as a chat room with user defined graphics. There are some reasonably well defined locations to explore such are the Eiffel tower but the graphics hardly zip along as everything is stored on the S/L servers even your own clothing, possibly why the developers call it a 'viewer' In busy regions the lag can become horrendous and if the region has 50 occupants im sorry it just wont let you in. If you have the time and patience its ok for a laugh but do expect some lag and random crashes.
Like (9)
Version 2.7.2.233432
Penguirl
27 April 2011
Interesting that Linden Labs dropped PPC support but still supparts Panther 10.3.9. Huh? Also, why is it that Blizzard can write a game (Warcraft) that runs smoothly on OS X but Linden Labs' effort with Second Life is barely functional. I'm glad I never got hooked on SL.
Like (9)
Version 2.6.3.227447
Mac007
26 April 2011
Wow, can't believe this is still being developed. I hardly use it any more and when I do it's as vacant as a ghost town when I visit. I guess everybody's gone to Facebook.
Like (7)
Version 2.6.3.227447
1 answer(s)
PieterOpie
PieterOpie
04 August 2011
I never understood the attraction in the first place. I don't have a life in the real world so why duplicate that in the cyberworld. LOL
Like (7)
Pseudofire
08 November 2008
HAHA! I found it. it's http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/MacBook_Pro_2007_Graphics_Freeze_Workaround I tried it, it works great! Hope this helps yall out.
Like (4)
Version 1.21.6.99587
Seanthorn
07 October 2008
As of yesterday I'm off SL. It forced me to update to this version. After I updated, I double clicked on the application and it does nothing. :(
Like (1)
Version 1.20.17.98669
Nemesys
24 July 2008
I've been using Second Life for almost 2 years now, initially on a PowerBook G4 and for over a year now on a MacBook Pro. This application has been the most demanding that I have ever used on my MacBook Pro. I have played Need For Speed Carbon, Age of Empires III, Warcraft III and nothing comes even close to bring my MacBook Pro on his knees like Second Life does. When logging in, I get around 15-20 fps. After 10-15 minutes, my frame rate goes down to about 1.5-2 fps. Yes, you read it right, 1.5 to 2 frames per second. Changing the graphic settings don't have *any* impact. There has been a known issue that has been lingering for over a year now with the NVidia 8600M GT video card in MacBook Pro's. So, if you have one of those, you might reconsider opening an account and putting money into Second Life as you will be sorely disappointed. I have heard that newer MacBook Pros with a 256MB NVidia 8600M GT performs better but I have been unable to see it for myself. I have a MacBook Pro with 3GB RAM running the Intel Core Duo II at 2.4GHz and the NVidia 8600M GT with 256MB of video RAM, all under 10.5.4. The latest versions of Second Life have been consistently worst each time. I used to be able to manage my way around even though you would expect a top notch performance on a laptop costing more than $3000.
Like (2)
Version 1.20.15.92456
2 answer(s)
Anyajohn
Anyajohn
17 June 2010
nice post,thanks for sharing... Thanks Anya Driving GlovesManufacturer
Like
Version 2.0.2.205799
Anyajohn
Anyajohn
17 June 2010
nice post,thanks for sharing... Thanks Anya Driving GlovesManufacturer
Like
Version 2.0.2.205799
Dremwkr
08 November 2007
The world just did not run very well, with lots of lag, to the point it was almost a futile effect to go anywhere of your own choosing. I experienced lots of freezes and "beachball" time. The concept is a good one, but how it is implemented on the server farm is really poor, it is like it was never thought through for scalablity, which is inexcusable considerating its purpose. Even in areas in which I am the only person in sight, the play is halting and just plain frustrating. It is clear some sponsors spent a ton of money in their world creation to bad trying to interact with it is so maddening, it generates Information Superhiway road rage. I do suggest everyone try it. It is the perfect lesson in how to screw up a virtual world. I get the nagging feeling its problems are built in and part and parcial in the code as well as a poorly designed and run server system (software AND hardware). Also that it is overhyped and oversold. While it maybe true that 5 million charatures may have been created on it, it is my est. that the number that regularly and actively uses it is about less by a magnitude of 10. No matter how much lipstick its promoters put on this pig, its still swine.
Like (4)
Version 1.18.4.3
2 answer(s)
Sixtyk
Sixtyk
08 January 2008
I say this knowing I have been a vocal supporter of this program here. I have been a paid member of Second Life since 2005. I have enjoyed playing but as time goes on, I am finding more and more to complain about. The program has become more and more demanding of hardware resources. My G5 that handled the game beautifully a year ago can barely keep up now. I have heard the same from people with much more recent hardware. They seem to be bent on cramming as many "features" into the software as possible with little concern for stability of the overall system. I keep hearing about "Windlight" which my system can't handle but there appears to be no intention to the long-standing and well documented issue with overlapping alpha-textures. They seem content with band-aid solutions and workarounds rather than actually fixing things. How long have we been hearing about inventory database issues and disappearing inventory? It is my impression that if you are willing to spend a lot of money, Linden Labs loves you. If you are a "premium" member, giving them $120 a year, they're happy to let you pad their member totals so they look good in their next CNet article. I stick around because I am hoping Linden Labs will see what is happening and right the ship... but I am losing faith...
Like (2)
Version 1.18.5.3
Spacexscape Bridges
Spacexscape Bridges
25 May 2008
I use Second Life on daily basis - creating an art installation there. I use a G5 Quad processor with an old graphics card, a Macbook and the new 24 inch iMac with the NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS card to work there. The claim that it is unusable on Macs is unfounded. Second Life is constantly updating and reacting to user needs and the forums are there to help Linden. Sometimes there are glitches but user are aware of this and work around. Mostly, it runs well with Macs but better with a good graphics card. You do need to make some adjustments in Second Life settings to help, particularly in the advanced settings, but the forums will help you with this.
Like (1)
Version 1.19.1.4
Sixtyk
08 February 2007
You make a claim that it doesn't work and you are being reasonable. I make a claim that, in my experience with the program, it does work and I am being smug? Sure thing. Not everybody has to agree.
Like (2)
Version 1.13.3.2
2 answer(s)
macgurutech
macgurutech
13 February 2007
I myself have no machine related issues with second life. But others do and it is for their sakes I point out caveats. It's not all about you.
Like
Version 1.13.3.2
Sixtyk
Sixtyk
19 February 2007
Fair enough, but don't I have the same right to point out the strengths?
Like (2)
Version 1.13.3.2
macgurutech
26 January 2007
As of January 2007 the second life grid is a mess of crap due to poor hardware server infrastructure that causes freezing and other problems that cause thje software to fail. That's a hopeless failure to keep up with user demand and it's irritating LOTS of people.
Like (2)
Version 1.12.1.13
2 answer(s)
Sixtyk
Sixtyk
31 January 2007
Really? Its running well for me. There are some some occasional performance issues based on the recent spike in active users. It used to be that Second life would struggle if there were around 10,000 people logged on at once. Now it typically handles 20,000 or more. If an issue comes up they tend to address it. They are always working on performance and stability.
Like (2)
Version 1.12.1.13
macgurutech
macgurutech
04 February 2007
I wrote that the software is faulty because it is. It has coinstant bug problems and coinstant "upgrades" and it constantly has problems. No amount of whitewash comments such as "really it works for me" is going to mean anything but shows smug ego rather than operating in reality. The reality is the software is badly written and it is constantly upgraded in vain efforts to f long-standing bugs that are significant problems.
Like (1)
Version 1.13.3.2
Fvdg
26 December 2006
Kernel Panics on Mac Pro Xeon 2.66 with standard NVIDIA card...
Like (2)
Version 1.12.1.13
3 answer(s)
Sixtyk
Sixtyk
05 January 2007
Are you running the PPC version in Rosetta or the Universal version (which I believe is still in beta)?
Like
Version 1.12.1.13
Fvdg
Fvdg
06 January 2007
latest version and it doesn't matter if it is started in Rosetta or in Intel. crashes occur. But I've read that this is a fault in the NVIDIA drivers on the Mac Pro...
Like (1)
Version 1.12.1.13
macgurutech
macgurutech
13 February 2007
Try putting all your ram on the same card as originally was shipped with your mac IF you have upgraded ram with 3rd party ram, as that is how to properly upgrade your ram on that model Mac. That said, after the ram is properly installed the dual core 2.66 xeon with NVIDIA 7300GT and OS X 10.4.8 will freeze n SL. EVEN with the firmware update for the video card currently available.Hopefully 10.4.9 will fix that but more than likely its SL's failure to properly code their software. Thats a shame.
Like
Version 1.13.3.2
Funwithstuff
20 November 2006
Just to be clear, you don't need a credit card and it's not a "trial". Second Life is free, unless you want money to spend in-world. Universal binaries run well on the latest Intel Macs, though it's still under development and there are a couple of crashing bugs. Worth a look.
Like (1)
Version 1.12.1.13
Pimbo
14 August 2006
Good game very nice graphics but, i sometimes have the problem that it crashes.
Like
Version 1.11.1.1
Cjvixen
07 June 2006
This game is definitely fun, there's lots of stuff to do in this virtual world and lots of people to meet. There are so many options of what you can do with your character that it's really quite amazing. I highly recommend this game if you like to play in virtual worlds!
Like
Version 1.10.1
Sixtyk
25 April 2006
There is a proposal in the voting items (I will try to find the link) to get a Mac-specific client written but at last check it had not received enough votes to be reviewed by Linden Labs for consideration. I have all of my available votes allocated in favor and again, I will try to find the link to post here. The Linux version is allready in development. Great.
Like
Version 1.9.0.21
macgurutech
04 April 2006
This software is OpenGL aware, using altivec for texturing. It differs from the windows client in the way it implements 3d. It thus is dependent moreso on the video card than the windows client, and in effect runs very slowly by comparison. What is needed is a rewrite in cocoa native code rather than simply porting from Windows, which is what is currently the case. In any event IF you run this software on a windows machine you will find the software is very fast. Under the Mac it is VERY slow by comparison and on a Mac Mini or any Mac with other than a radeon 9600 or so in the video card it is PONDEROUSLY slow and it is NOT recommended you sing the praises of Second Life in current form as the lack of Mac specific programming as regards perfrmance is to thus NOT recommend it. There is simply NO excuse for its poor performance on a more superior graphics platform. Thus until a proper rewrite I cannot recommend Second Life. Try it on a Mac then try it on ANY supported windows computer and you will see the difference and thus realize the inattention Linden Labs has for its brief Mac support by porting the windows client and adding a few opengl calls and altivec texturing calls by retrofit. THAT is not acceptable. Reviling to see a developer be so arrogant as regards a program implementation. Mac support is an afterthought at Linden Labs, not a forethought.
Like (1)
Version 1.9.0.17
3 answer(s)
macgurutech
macgurutech
04 April 2006
The software really needs the vectors to be altivec aware in cocoa and the texturing be opengl dependent.... apparently Linden Labs did the opposite of what they should have done.
Like
Version 1.9.0.17
Sixtyk
Sixtyk
01 May 2006
Considering most current games are conspicuously absent from the Mac platform, I consider the fact they have a Mac version at all to be a good first step.
Like
Version 1.9.0.21
Albion
Albion
23 June 2006
Linden Labs has had years, literally, to get their Mac viewer up to snuff, and they've had a Mac viewer from day one. Kudos on having an OS X version, but it is absolutely dreadful compared to the Windows viewer. If you run the Windows viewer on an Intel-inside Macintosh with BootCamp or Parallels, the difference in performance is like night and day. LL can no longer fall back on excuses. Mac hardware is not gimped. The Mac viewer code base is.
Like (1)
Version 1.10.4.4
2r
20 March 2006
Been playing this almost every day for half a year now, and it's as addictive as ever. It takes a few days to get the hang of things, but from there it's a blast, the possibilities and challenges never end. Totally awesome!
Like
Version 1.8.0.6
Zane-Edwards
18 December 2005
This is one of the best games. Very addictive.
Like
Version 1.8.0.6
Anonymous
14 November 2005
They're not unlike those sad individuals who say "your" when they mean "you're" but then who am I to whine over details?
Like
Version 1.6.12
Anonymous
14 November 2005
It could have been a disaster... They updated to 1.7 a couple weeks ago. It was supposed to introduce a host of new features and enhancements. Instead, sims were craching right and left. Textures were loading incredibly slowly. Animation was sluggish at best. People were frustrated to say the least. So Linden Labs went to work. There were program updates almost on a daily basis. Sims started to stabilize. Textures started loading faster. Animation got faster and smoother. Software is going to have problems. Period. To see a company go to such an effort to fix those problems in a timely manner is refreshing.
Like
Version 1.6.12
Anonymous
25 September 2005
Great game, instantly addictive. Does get jerky from time to time with lag and some minor issue but it's very playable on an iMac G5 and a PowerBook 12". The description is out of date - your first account on Second Life is now FREE. You do need to pay per month for a Premium account if you want to own land and have more money to spend, but exploration is great fun anyway. There are shops, houses, fun parks, clubs, pools, adventure islands and much more to find. Be whoever you want to be, make things, meet your friends, have a ball. Plus, you can fly. The virtual world (Metaverse) which sci-fi (Snow Crash) promised so long ago is here.
Like
Version 1.6.12
DarylF2
04 September 2005
I think this is an extraordinary game; it is unique, immersive, and endlessly fascinating. The possibilities are limited only by your imagination (and available play time...). People are friendly and often uninhibited (this game has a lot of areas labeled "mature"; you should take this classification seriously if such things upset you), and this allows people to anonymously express themselves in a way that real life doesn't allow. I think this is one of the games most unusual and compelling features! The graphics are amazing, but do require a lot of horsepower; even my Dual 2.5 GHz GG with 2.0 GB RAM and 256MB Radeon 9800XT gets bogged down from time to time. The sheer variety of building styles and textures, clothing and "skin" options, and other amazing (usually user-created) objects make this world unlike any other.
Like
Version 1.6.12
Anonymous
31 August 2005
By far the best game I have ever played. Warning: it is addictive huge world that seems to be endless. So far I have built a great mediterranean house on a beachfront island, had parties, gone to clubs, done adult things, its a blast.
Like
Version 1.6.12
Anonymous
31 August 2005
First of all, there is an update to 1.6.12 now available at secondlife.com. Now, I am not normally a big fan of tech support but yesterday was a good experience. I opened Second Life yesterday to learn that an update was available and that I would need the current version to connect. It offered to update for me but returned an error. So I went to the website to download it myself. The Mac link returned a 404-Not Found error. I called their tech support number and let them know. The link was fixed in under 5 minutes. I'm impressed.
Like
Version 1.6.11
Anonymous
29 August 2005
I'm coming to the end of my 1-week trial. So far, I have met some very interesting people. I have visited lots of different places, some interesting, some not so much. People have been extremely helpful both within the Linden Labs staff (you can always find at least 1 Linden employee in the Welcome area) and other residents willing to teach me. I've rented an apartment, bought an avatar, customized my own appearance, I'm learning how to build objects of my own and I've started designing clothing to sell. The program does need a hefty amount of power but I find it reasonable for what I it seems to be capable of. It runs very well on my G5 1.8 GHz with 1 GB of ram. Unless I am in an area where the owner has tried to cram in as much as possible, my experience has practically lag free. So my trial period is almost up. Will I be subscribing? I'm enjoying myself. I think its worth $10 a month.
Like
Version 1.6.11
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 August 2005
You can also just pay 10 for a lifetime. 10/mo is for premium
Like
Version 1.6.12
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 August 2005
Yes, I could certainly go with the lifetime membership and many players will be perfectly content with that option, but I've allready gotten some aspirations which will require land ownership.
Like
Version 1.6.12
Anonymous
17 August 2005
"the object is to make money just like real life." ?! You lose; thank you for playing.
Like
Version 1.6.11
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 August 2005
The object is not to make money. There really is no object. You need money (Linden $ in this case) to buy goods, services, etc. This is the case in the vast majority of sims that I have tried. You are given a weekly stipend that varies based on the registration option you choose. If you want/need more than that, you need to either find a "job" (many people greate and sell clothes, avitars, vehicles) or there are a number of websites that exchange U.S. money for Linden Dollars. (Last i checked, the market value was around $3.85 USD per 1000 L$). There are pleanty of Second Life residents who are perfectly happy with this model. If it doesn't suit you, I guess you don't have to play.
Like
Version 1.6.11
Anonymous
28 May 2005
I have found that running 1gb of ram under Mac OS X 10.4 to be the more optimal amount of memory for proper operation of the program.
Like
Version 1.6.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 July 2005
Let me guess. You're running it on an iBook right?
Like
Version 1.6.8
Anonymous
17 April 2005
Decent interface nice 3d requires broadband and a newish Mac 1ghz G4 or better. Very friendly people very extensible very flexible continues to improve. Many free things as of this writing but the object is to make money just like real life.
Like
Version 1.6.2
Anonymous
28 February 2005
Surely the insult would be charging for this lame-o 'game', what hope for the human race when it can''t get it right in reality so goes on to mess it up again virtually. Get a life of your own losers.
Like
Version 1.5.14
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 April 2005
And so by "get a life," you mean scour the internet for people (and programs) to insult? Sounds like you have a wonderful life...
Like
Version 1.6.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 April 2005
lol, looks like someone got owned up their A ;)
Like
Version 1.6.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 July 2005
what kind of fake person comes on a message board just to insult people, and ur telling people to get a life?
Like
Version 1.6.8
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 August 2005
what kind of sad twat over the age of 14 spells your "ur"?
Like
Version 1.6.11
Redphoenix
12 October 2004
The whole purpose of a credit card is to make sure that its not all kiddies that are playing the game and that people have the maturity to not get offended when insulted/cursed at. I can honestly bet that all the ones who hate the game because of the credit card (a stupid reason in itself) are probably all under the age of 16 and speak nonsensical idocy most of the time.
Like
Version 1.5.3
1 answer(s)
anon
anon
31 August 2005
you spelled idiocy wrong...heh.
Like
Version 1.6.12
Anonymous
07 October 2004
Very immersive and addictive, you can go for the $9.95 life membership at the end of your 7-day free trial or choose the monthly membership option which allows land ownership. You can really get involved in the world, meet people, have fun. It's a very comprehensive and growing society, with excellent tools for building and scripting. You can let your imagination rip. Customisation of appearance is superb. It can be a game, can be a virtual chatroom, can just be somewhere to explore or create, can be somewhere to set up a business (even making real money), engage in a bit of sociological research, or just chill out in a virtual club or quiet island paradise with some pals. Linden Labs also take an active role in the Second Life society which gives it a personal touch. System requirements are high though and it places a lot of strain on your CPU and broadband connection as content is continuously being streamed and rendered. I'm coping with a 1.25Ghz G4 and Radeon 8500 but in need of an upgrade to really get the best from it. The SL client (for v1.5.5) is still effectively in beta I understand, it has been very stable for me though and hopefully speed will improve to match the PC client soon. I'm not normally a fan of either online games or chatrooms - Second Life is somehow neither and both, but can be exceptionally compelling. Just remember you have a real life too !
Like
Version 1.5.3
Anonymous
04 October 2004
Dispite the credit card request, It's acutally an excellent game, with endless possiblility. You can cancel the account at any time durning the trial, so you are not charged. But honestly, it's worth the mear ONE TIME ONLY FEE of $10 for the basic account. Also, there isn't too much more you can do with a premium account than the basic. Since your inventory is UNLIMITED, you could just pull out a random chair and have a nice sit, and no one would give you any funny looks. Who needs to be tied down to property you gotta take care of anyway? And ok, the requirements are kinda heafty, but it would look nice on a nice machine...
Like
Version 1.5.3
Anonymous
03 October 2004
I think it's a great concept. Unfortunately, I find it too slow to enjoy, and there are some bugs that still need to be worked out. I think Second Life could have a lot of promis if future versions improve the speed issues and remove the bugs. But for now, I think I will cancel.
Like
Version 1.5.3
Anonymous
26 September 2004
I was really interested in this... But I kind of got the heebeegeebees, starting in on the sign up screens. Buy land, buy credits, buy your own island, upgrade upgrade premium basic.... Still, I kept going thru the trial signup process, and then I hit, like a previous reviewer, the "Oh, now just give us all your credit card info". lol. bye bye. That's not second life. That is real life. :p
Like
Version 1.5.3
Anonymous
03 September 2004
Ugh, the minute I click on "New Account" it crashes and locks up tighter than a soda straw. No amount of tweaking researching seems to help....force quits are difficult. It's the app that won't go away. JuJu -
Like
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 September 2004
To bad asking for CC info . like hell if i am going to give that out again to another company. got burned once so i will never do it again .
Like
Version 1.5.3
Anonymous
11 August 2004
Take the Sims meet Everquest and a little IRC and you have a do whatever you want chat. Great internet application if you like to chat and play games. Please don't let the creidt card scare you if you don't like it after 7 days just cancel it no harm. But if you do like it then trust me you have a great time. At 9.95 for a one time payment allowing you to do amlost anything I feel it's worth it. But hey don't take my word for try Second Life your self. And if you do look for me "William Rampal" I'll show you around good luck and happy Sim'n.
Like
Version 1.4.7b