Back to PhoneValet Message Center page
PhoneValet Message Center free download for Mac

PhoneValet Message Center Reviews

6.0.5
26 July 2011

Answer/place calls, record calls, keep a call history.

scott93933
20 April 2011

Most helpful

I have been a long time use user of Phone Valet and was happy with it up until about six months ago. I retired my PowerMac G5 which was running MacOS 10.5 and bought a new MacPro running MacOS 10.6 and that's where my tale of woe begins. First, the Phone Valet software required a PAID upgrade to work with my new computer. And it did. For a short time. Now, Phone Valet regularly neglects to record calls and has become entirely unreliable. I've written to their technical support team about it many times and they tell me it's Apple's problem and there's nothing they can do about it. Whether that's true or not, I'm stuck with a system that I paid a LOT of money for (I have two phone lines and had to buy a separate Phone Valet license for each, plus the cost of the "upgrade") and that is essentially unusable. Phone Valet assures me that this problem is not widespread. That's not much reassurance, as it only tells me that they're not making solving it a priority. So, I'm marooned with this very expensive (and useless) hardware and software. I wholeheartedly DO NOT recommend this product as, with my case, it can work beautifully for awhile and then either their upgrade or Apple's can render it useless and there's nothing they'll do to remedy it. DO NOT PURCHASE.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.3

Read 24 PhoneValet Message Center User Reviews

Rate this app:

DT2
15 June 2014
Has anybody been successful in upgrading OpenBase in PhoneValet to anything higher than v12.0.5? It's now up to v12.0.9. Also does anybody want to sell a PhoneValet adapter? I want to add another line.
Like
Version 6.0.5
Cartoonasaur
18 February 2014
I'm selling the modem and the software I bought in 2009 - first $100 takes it and you can pick it up from me here in San Diego, California or I can ship it. I will wait a week and then put it on eBay. Contact me through my business website - http://www.caricaturesbydave.com Good luck! Dave Stephens
Like
Version 6.0.5
RobairSF
23 October 2013
re Mav. I have it working on 10.9, but so far only in the PhoneValet window. That is, I can dial out from the PhoneValet window, no longer from the Contacts app. Sadly (I use both). I have not tested the messages in, but my primary use is for dialing out. If anyone gets this to work in Contacts, let me know. I had to reinstall and reboot a couple times (during the mega-updating - OS, apps, etc. ), but appears to be fine now. Looked at Phone Amego as alternative, and find it very very robust, but not quite as elegant a dial out solution (though many many more options for dialing...). I suspect I'll have to move over to that sometime... Pity PhoneValet was not kept up. Great solution.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.5
9 answer(s)
2stepbay
2stepbay
23 October 2013
Thanks for the update. PhoneValet opens here too on Mavericks without issue. I use it for recording client consultation sessions. Do not use it via Contacts. Also, I'm using OpenBase v 12.0.5
Like (1)
2stepbay
2stepbay
24 October 2013
Well I've been getting hangs with PhoneValet, even though I'm using the latest version of OpenBase. This may signal the end of the line for this app. :( Curious if you know of any other apps that record telephone conversations?
Like
RobairSF
RobairSF
24 October 2013
I don't know of a recording app... just the dialing app Phone Amego. I really wish the PV team would come back for one more round of updates...
Like
Don-Sykes
Don-Sykes
07 December 2013
Fingers crossed - I just updated to Mavericks and it's running OK for me (had to reinstall the app). It won't dial out through Contacts but you can copy the number and paste it into PhoneValet for dialing. The script I'm using in FMPro for dialing still works. Incoming calls still pop up on my screen (which is what I like best).
Like
RobairSF
RobairSF
08 December 2013
Still working for me with Mav, but need to reboot sometimes. You also so Cobook for dial out (sits in the menu bar). $9 I think. Works with PhoneValet. FYI.
Like
2stepbay
2stepbay
08 December 2013
Which version of OpenBase are you using?
Like
RobairSF
RobairSF
08 December 2013
I don't know. Where to I find OpenBase?
Like
2stepbay
2stepbay
08 December 2013
OpenBase panel is found in your System Preferences. Download page is here: http://www.openbase.com/index.php/products/downloads I tried the latest version with Phone Valet (12.0.5) with Mavericks but they didn't play nicely together. Maybe the next Mavericks update will prove a better match.
Like
RobairSF
RobairSF
08 December 2013
Ah. Thanks. OpenBase 11.0.5 is what I am using. It appears that the latest version is 12.0.7. Not sure I should upgrade if PV is working (sort of) with Mav. Of course, I have no idea what OpenBase is or does.... so, there's that.
Like
2stepbay
11 September 2013
Anyone try Phone Valet 6.0.5 on OS X Mavericks?
Like (1)
Version 6.0.5
2 answer(s)
Don-Sykes
Don-Sykes
23 October 2013
I'm hoping someone can let us know if it still runs under Mavericks. Love PhoneValet and would hate to lose the use of it.
Like (2)
2stepbay
2stepbay
23 October 2013
I use PhoneValet mostly on my laptop. With that said, later today I'm going to update Mavericks on my desktop. I'll post back about PhoneValet compatibility.
Like (2)
phillipbj
06 June 2013
It appears that OS X 10.8.4 has broken Phonevalet or Openbase. I have OB 12.0.4 installed and am now getting the dreaded "Waiting for the database to respond." Does anyone know of an upgrade for OB 12? I have feared this for sometime. I really hate to lose PhoneValet. Any help out there?
Like
Version 6.0.5
2 answer(s)
phillipbj
phillipbj
06 June 2013
Well happy days? I re-installed OB 12 from a saved .dmg. Also fixed permissions from within the OB app. I restarted several times and it finally started for me. Not sure exactly what the fix was or if it will stay fixed...Hoping.
Like
2stepbay
2stepbay
17 September 2013
version 12.0.7 is now available, although for some reason it installs 12.0.5. Go to the download page at http://www.openbase.com for the latest version. Whenever the dreaded "data base" prompt appears, I usually fix the permissions via the OpenBase preference panel, then restart the computer. Usually, PhoneValet functions as intended.BTW I'm using 10..8.5
Like
DT2
16 March 2013
FYI - OS 10.8.3 - Works OK so far. I just upgraded from 10.7.4 on my Mac Mini to 10.8.3. All was working perfectly with 10.7.4. I had already upgraded to OpenBase 12.0.5 a few weeks ago. PhoneValet would not open when I first upgraded to 10.8.3. I tried a few restarts, fixed permissions both from within Disk Utility and the OpenBase preferences window - nothing worked. Next I reinstalled the PhoneValet 6.0.5 dmg file. All has been working perfectly since then. Please note, I did not uninstall PhoneValet first, I just reinstalled over what was already there. No settings or files were lost in the process. I will update here if there are any problems that pop up.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.5
3 answer(s)
DT2
DT2
21 March 2013
Just a follow up to say everything is still working as expected. No problems of any kind. I don't expect any problems at this point because I use PhoneValet for both my home line and business line, so it gets a real workout.
Like (1)
phillipbj
phillipbj
06 June 2013
Where did you find Openbase 12.0.5? I have 12.0.4 but don't remember where I found it.
Like
DT2
DT2
06 June 2013
It's on the openbase.com site. Go under downloads across the top menu. I just went there and noticed it is now up to version 12.0.7. If you update please let us know if it works ok. FYI - I updated to OS 10.8.4 yesterday and PhoneValet is still working perfectly.
Like
Toxdoc1947
27 January 2013
SUCCESS WITH ML!!! I did the previously recommended stuff - upgraded OpenBase, burned some buzzard feathers and a toad skin. No dice. Then, I uninstalled PV (using the uninstaller in the "extras" folder), reinstalled using PhoneValet 6.0.5.dmg. I had to re-enter serial numbers, rebuild the database from a backup, reboot, and it just works!
Like
Version 6.0.5
Adrielg
04 November 2012
This is a fantastic answering system, but I don't need it anymore so I am selling mine: Check it out on ebay: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=300809855841
Like
Version 6.0.5
1 answer(s)
jriver20
jriver20
28 November 2012
Hi, I am sorry I heard this message to late cause I wanted to purchased the item. However I did downloaded the program but I do not have an License for it. Can you let me know how I can find a License. I did email the business but not respond as of yet. Thank you
Like
2stepbay
27 July 2012
I use PhoneValet to record client telephone sessions. I hook up the USB/phone adapter to my MacBook Pro. This way I won't lose the sound file if there is a power outage. Very easy to use. Disappointed the developer has decided to no longer support the app.
Like
Version 6.0.5
2stepbay
20 July 2012
Has anyone tested Phone Valet 6.0.5 on OS X Mountain Lion? If so, is it functional?
Like
Version 6.0.5
12 answer(s)
LexCan
LexCan
26 July 2012
This site http://roaringapps.com/apps:table/link_to/developer:parliant indicates PhoneValet 6.0.5 works with Mountain Lion. Haven't tried it myself yet, though.
Like (1)
phillipbj
phillipbj
27 July 2012
I had serious problems and could not get it to work, even though Roaring Apps said it would. I got a message that I needed a newer version of Openbase. Don’t know how to get that... Real pity. I love Phonevalet and find it difficult to do w/o it.
Like (1)
2stepbay
2stepbay
27 July 2012
I have not installed Mountain Lion (yet). So I don't know if this is the remedy. Latest version of OpenBase is 12.0.4. Available here: http://www.openbase.com/index.php/products/downloads During the installation, it will automatically reference your PhoneValet open base license (from the previous installer). You may see an error message. Ignore it. Once complete, open System Preferences and click on OpenBase, found in the "other" section. As the latest version is 64bit, the panel will open. Click on the license tab. There, you ought to see v 12.0.4. On the bottom left, click on "fix permissions". Once complete, restart the computer and try PhoneValet again. Please post back and let us know if PV now works.
Like
phillipbj
phillipbj
27 July 2012
Praise Be to 2stepbay. The Openbase upgrade made the difference. Initially it would not load, but after a restart it started as usual. I can’t tell you how happy this makes me. You definitely made my day, and more. Thanks again to you.
Like (1)
2stepbay
2stepbay
27 July 2012
You're welcome. Very happy to learn PhoneValet works in Mountain Lion!
Like
LexCan
LexCan
28 July 2012
Just to confirm - when you view the license area now, does it actually display the previous PhoneValet license? Just want to be sure Open Base is not operating as a 30-day free trial. I ask only because I checked on an OpenBase upgrade using my old PV license, and it indicated a $999 purchase price! Eep! :-) Hopefully that was just something wonky on their site....
Like
phillipbj
phillipbj
28 July 2012
Yes to Lexcan’s question. The original license information is displayed and listed as 12.0.4. I also had the price shock while looking around for an upgrade. I’m still not sure how 2stepbay was able to find it. Glad that he did!
Like
Robert-Sireno
Robert-Sireno
29 July 2012
I just upgraded to Mountain Lion and had to uninstall and reinstall Phone Valet 6.0.5. Then everything seemed to be working fine except it won't speak the caller ID information which was my primary reason for buying it years ago. Anybody have a fix?
Like
DT2
DT2
29 July 2012
@Robert Sireno says it won't announce caller ID anymore. Can someone please test to see if it will still work with text-to-speach in the profiles section. Thank You. I hope someone takes over PhoneValet and continues development - it will be a sad day when this program becomes unusable.
Like
robbosir
robbosir
29 July 2012
(formerly Robert Sireno, sort of, oops) Woke up this morning and Phone Valet is operating normally or as normally as it ever has. A log standing problem I still have is it doesn't always properly look up caller ID info in my Address Book thru Address Book Integration. As a work around, I manually import the AB into PV via Import To Phonebook periodically.
Like
nonam
nonam
05 August 2012
yes I did manage to get it working on mountain lion and it does still work to a fashion As long as I dont try to save the call to the phonevalet phonebook it works as expected Saving causes the program to crash It was always an openbase problem although they would not admit it The last version that worked with Lion had an openbase licence included with the phonevalet program The only way I got it to work was with a clean install of ML and a fresh install of of phone valet this installs the correct licence for open base Otherwise it was the lack of the openbase licence that was causing the problem Now parliant have also placed a link to update openbase to a version licenced by them If you look in system preferences / openbase the licence tab should say OBEMBPARLIANT-648 license type Parliant If it does not say this you will never get the phonevalet program to work Even after reinstalling it only worked 100% for a few days and then the problem arose with saving to phonebook Personally I am grateful that I am able to carry on using it even in this broken state And I am sorry to say it was me who updated roaring apps to say it was working as at that time it was!!! Both on an external hard drive running ML and on a late 2007 iMac
Like (1)
ahundhau
ahundhau
06 August 2012
nonam's reply is very helpful, and is the key to getting up and running on Mountain Lion with OpenBase 12.0.4 (latest version, 64-bit) and/or 12.0.2 (32-bit). If the Parliant registration info is not transferred to your OpenBase 12.0.4 installation, then you will be put on a 30-day demo/trial of OpenBase. PhoneValet would work fine for a while but in 30 days you are out of luck unless you want to pay for a separate OpenBase license. Check your OpenBase license info as nonam suggests, and it will tell you the nature of your license. I am thinking of setting up a MacMini as a permanent home for PhoneValet. The MacMini would always stay on Lion. To do this and still have the on-screen caller ID notification on other Macs in my network, I would need the PhoneValet Anywhere add-on that Parliant produced. Of course, they don't sell it anymore, and they won't answer e-mails on the subject. Has anyone here bought PhoneValet Anywhere that still has the add-on license code, and has also decided to give up on PhoneValet? If any generous soul can sell me PhoneValet Anywhere, I would be grateful!
Like
Nerdnase
05 December 2011
PhoneValet 6 does not work reliably with Lion AT ALL (new 2011 Mac Mini). There are problems with OpenBase—just look at the reviews for OpenBase to know that things don't look good for PV users (or any program that relies on OpenBase). I received a rude email from the arrogant CTO of OpenBase, who judging from his ignorance regarding customer service and lack of deductive ability, will not be supplying a workable update in this lifetime. He asked whether I was using a beta; I replied that it was not labeled so. His response: "The download link for 11.0.6 has beta right in the URL.  We'll release it when it is ready." The first comment simply was not true—the word beta was NOT in the link sent to me. As for the second, it would be a welcome change in company standards if their software were EVER ready for prime time. OpenBase sucks, PhoneValet relies on it, we're out of luck. If we must wait for an OpenBase product to be ready, it will never arrive.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.5
8 answer(s)
qb
qb
23 December 2011
Nerdnase: I keep getting "Waiting for the database to respond..." when launching PV in Lion. My installed OB is 11.0.5 - do you feel that the 11.0.6 has fixed such issues? I've looked all over the OpenBase site and even joined the "developer" section but cannot find any download links for newer than 11.0.2. thx
Like
Nerdnase
Nerdnase
23 December 2011
Qb: Sadly, it has not fixed the issues. A stopgap measure that will temporarily fix the "Waiting for the database to respond..." message, and give you intermittent (unreliable) service is to: 1. Quit PV. 2. Open Terminal and enter: sudo /Library/OpenBase/bin/openexec -i 3. Restart your computer. This is certainly not an acceptable solution (or a solution at all), but I've had PV work for close to a full day after performing those steps. I'm in the process of looking for a dedicated Snow Leopard Mac Mini just to run PV and some security software. I hope Parliant is entertaining the idea of making this program Open Source. Sorry I couldn't be of more help.
Like
qb
qb
23 December 2011
Oh well - Now at restart I get a different message "The Parliant Telephony Services are not yet running. Do you want to wait or quit PV?" I've reinstalled PV 6.0.5, repaired permissions, run Cocktail to do the routines, etc. Either time to move on or dedicate an older Mini as you are considering.
Like
Nerdnase
Nerdnase
23 December 2011
Try: http://goo.gl/rRK9e
Like (1)
qb
qb
23 December 2011
YES! Thank you. Seems to have (for now) gotten PV back up and running. Thank you again.
Like
Guy-Hemmings
Guy-Hemmings
19 July 2012
Phonevalet 6.0.5 works just fine in Lion. Folk who have issues with "waiting for the database to respond" should open the OpenBase Preferences in System Preferences and choose Fix Permissions. That fixed the issue that appeared after moving from 6.0.3 to 6.0.5. This is an excellent piece of software and hardware which has served me well for the past 7 years—amazing that it still works fine in Lion. Now I am trying to hunt down another adapter as Parliant are no longer supporting PV…
Like
qb
qb
20 July 2012
@guy Hemmings: I wish that worked each and every time for me but it does not. Fixing Open Base permissions from within OB works perhaps 20% of the time. All I can do is repeatedly restart until it launches correctly.
Like
Guy-Hemmings
Guy-Hemmings
20 July 2012
@qb: Sorry it hasn't worked for you. Maybe I'm too hasty in my response: I'll wait till I have had it running for a few weeks in Lion to see if it stays stable... Guy
Like
Jeff-Nailen
04 August 2011
They're having problems with 6.0.5; 6.0.3 was working fine...I'd wait on 6.0.5 until they get the problem solved...
Like
Version 6.0.5
qb
15 July 2011
http://www.phonevalet.com/center/support/lion.html states that PhoneValet is discontinued and currently is NOT compatible with Lion. It also says they are testing an update. I sure hope they fix it: I used the single line - home edition until they blamed APple for a problem and I was forced to move to the much more expensive "Message Center" and pay for the swap and their phone dongle. I've had a continuous problem with that app not quitting - I always have to force quit it. Support has never been helpful despite the number of times I contacted them. But if I can get Lion compatibility and several more years of use then I will be satisfied enough.
Like
Version 6.0.3
1 answer(s)
qb
qb
26 July 2011
PhoneValet 6.0.5 with Lion compatibility has been released at: http://www.phonevalet.com/center/support/downloads.html Only tested if for 10 minutes - calling my number from another - and it appears to work.
Like
scott93933
20 April 2011
I have been a long time use user of Phone Valet and was happy with it up until about six months ago. I retired my PowerMac G5 which was running MacOS 10.5 and bought a new MacPro running MacOS 10.6 and that's where my tale of woe begins. First, the Phone Valet software required a PAID upgrade to work with my new computer. And it did. For a short time. Now, Phone Valet regularly neglects to record calls and has become entirely unreliable. I've written to their technical support team about it many times and they tell me it's Apple's problem and there's nothing they can do about it. Whether that's true or not, I'm stuck with a system that I paid a LOT of money for (I have two phone lines and had to buy a separate Phone Valet license for each, plus the cost of the "upgrade") and that is essentially unusable. Phone Valet assures me that this problem is not widespread. That's not much reassurance, as it only tells me that they're not making solving it a priority. So, I'm marooned with this very expensive (and useless) hardware and software. I wholeheartedly DO NOT recommend this product as, with my case, it can work beautifully for awhile and then either their upgrade or Apple's can render it useless and there's nothing they'll do to remedy it. DO NOT PURCHASE.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.3
1 answer(s)
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
28 April 2011
They have used that excuse for years. I bought this product back in 2006 because it won a MacWorld award. I had problems with it from the start such as Caller ID not working, which they blamed on my phone line even though it worked on all the other phones in the house. Sometimes it wouldn't answer. I gave up and sold it on eBay. Then
Like (1)
Vdanen
30 August 2009
Don't upgrade to 10.6 if you need this. Their web site indicates that it is basically 99% working on 10.6 but they neglect to tell you that OpenBase doesn't run on 10.6 yet! That's a pretty big omission to make. =( I've upgraded a laptop and mini and they worked well so I upgraded my Power Mac today and was annoyed in the extreme to find out that PhoneValet itself might work 99%, but the freakin' OpenBase database doesn't start. Not cool at all. Be aware before you upgrade and wait for OpenBase to have a 10.6 build and probably a PhoneValet update with the new version. Thank goodness DayLite no longer uses OpenBase or I'd be royally hooped. =)
Like
Version 6.0.2
dwp-1
03 June 2009
I am a long time user of PhoneValet and love it. I have upgraded every major release since version 2, for the usual $39.00. I have to admit I use it for home but I can't find any changes worth the $39.00 upgrade in version 6. Looks exactly like version 4 with a couple new preferences. Really Disappointed!!!!!
Like
Version 6.0
Maczillllla
27 January 2008
I have been having problems trying to configure Phonevalet Anywhere. I've gone back and forth with emails and am getting nowhere. At Macworld I met the owner and told him about my problems. I said his instructions on his website were difficult to understand, especially for a novice like me. His response to that was, "That's a fair comment." He said that configuring is confusing, but that if someone were knowledgeable on the subject it should take about three minute to set up Anywhere. I asked him if I could call him directly and have him walk me through it. His reply was, "Not really." I've spent $169.95 for the software and $59.95 for Anywhere and that is all I get.
Like (1)
Version 5.3.2
Nicotine
27 April 2006
This software/hardware combo works as advertised, running 24/7 on my G5 for over a year. Was pleased to note that it also works just fine with my Speakeasy VOIP service. Had an initial problem with caller ID not working but they sent me a replacement USB adapter and all was well.
Like
Version 4.0.3
Anonymous
13 May 2005
This software functions as advertised. I just got it and put it on a Mac Mini. Caller ID works fine (maybe those who can't get it to work don't subscribe to caller id?). I was used to Angel.com's service and menu system and I must admit I was spoiled by it. Although it could be far more powerful, the software is lacking. You can call in and have folks press 0-9 to get a given mailbox, but you have no real true MENU TREE of systems and options. Applescripts ONLY work for those who use "back end codes" and not standard menu tree functions. They do offer a 30-day money back, so I am debating on keeping it or sending it back. If I hadn't had the previous experience I would probably really like this software. I am sure I can imagine some back-end applescript functions and will probably keep it for that purpose. Anyone expecting a better speech synthesis, you can find better, but not much. It wouldn't take a rocket scientist to use some other software to make your announcements and use those in this software. So... aside from other reviews, it runs exactly as advertised and don't expect anymore.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Frank
24 January 2005
I wish I'd read your review BEFORE is blew $200 on Parliant's PhoneValet. Your rwview matched my experience exactly! I feel like I've been robbed of my money and the time over the last two weeks I.v spent trying toi get this ripoff to function as advertised.
Like
Version 2.1.2
wdaniel
22 January 2005
We have had a much different experience than the previous post. We've had this since it came out, in fact we pre-ordered it because of our positive experience with the previous 1.x version. I don't like to sit on hold forever on the phone waiting for phone support, I've had very timely email responses from this company with our questions which regarded OpenBase that is also used by another program on our system. Caller ID works fine, in fact we always update it with correct information so that when calls come in that don't have correct or usable phone company ID, PhoneValet puts the correct name on the screen that does pop up for every call. We have iTunes running all day and PhoneValet always pauses it when the phone rings, and starts it again when the call is finished. We call in to pick up messages and that works fine too. Every time they put out an update, they add features we were wishing we had. All around we've been very please with this software and look forward to future releases.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
16 January 2005
Judging by the dates of the reviews, this product needs a serious update for the latest version of OS X. I bought this product less than 4 days ago and found out a couple of things: 1. No way to actually speak with a tech support person. At $200 a pop, that's inexcusable. You have to fill out a form (and then they reply with even more questions that a simple phone call would have solved (if solveable) within a matter of minutes. 2. You do not get the Now Software PIM, only a time-limited demo. At $200, they could at least give you a single-user license. 3. After spending more hours than I care to think about, I still can't get the Caller ID function to work, even though I have the service (U.S.), had all my friends call me to test it, and did a complete and clean system reinstall (10.3.7). Nothing. Reinstalled the software four times. No good. 4. The notification window does NOT pop up when someone calls. Regardless of settings. No big deal, because it doesn't tell you who called anyways! 5. Call the Parliant number located in the application's address book (it's the only one listed when you first install). No matter what option you choose when calling that number, you get a recording. Any time during the day. 6. There is NO uninstaller. Have fun finding all the files it dumps throughout our system. Startup items, account preferences startup items, not to mention the openbase framework and application support files. 7. Want to use Apple's built-in speech synthesizer? Forget it. It may sound passable on your computer's speakers, but the person at the other end is going to hear a barely understandable message. Trust me. Want to go back to the default greeting it ships with (and sounds fairly good), good luck finding it. As the tech support person told me after he finally got back to me, "I'll put in a request for us to install a copy of the original greeting on-disk somewhere and document it." I could go on, but I think anyone reading this gets the point. I've already asked for a return on the product, and I will be switching/testing the new release of Parliant's only other real competitor. My best advice: Until this company realizes that at the price they are charging, with no updates to speak of for the latest version of OS X, and the horrible system for getting tech support, do not bother with this buggy product. And if you're looking for an online support forum at their website, forget it. Just like the manual (which I read so many times I think I memorized it), the support section is nothing more than a sales pitch for the company's product. Spend your money elsewhere. And maybe they'll get the hint.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
12 July 2004
Hi - Apple's built-in modems do not support voice or Caller ID features, and so can't really be used for building answering machine software. We specially designed the PhoneValet hardware device to provide robust features and not bog down the Mac's processor when running.
Like
Version 2.0
Eddy-Ringsmuth
02 July 2004
man, if only they made software like this that worked off ur existing modem. now that would be cool. i'd buy it in a heartbeat.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Michael Ginsberg
Michael Ginsberg
03 July 2004
I have been using PhoneValet since Jan 2004, it really rocks and allows me to do things I have been wanting to do for the last 10 years. Take a look, you will be impressed.
Like
Version 2.0
eroberge
eroberge
12 August 2004
Eddie, This does work with your existing modem. Parliants hardware is needed to make this software work. If you saw it in operation you would buy it in a heartbeat. Works GREAT on my G4 iMac W/ 10.3.5
Like
Version 2.0f