Back to FotoMagico page
FotoMagico free download for Mac

FotoMagico Reviews5.6.13

28 January 2020

Powerful slideshow creator with multi-app integration.

Septic Monkey
25 September 2018
Version: 5.6.3

Most helpful

Further to my review below.. Work on your project for about 5 minutes, save, quit, then relaunch. It should work then.
(1)

How would you rate FotoMagico app?

Read 108 FotoMagico User Reviews

Septic Monkey
25 September 2018
Version: 5.6.3
Further to my review below.. Work on your project for about 5 minutes, save, quit, then relaunch. It should work then.
(1)
2
Septic Monkey
25 September 2018
Version: 5.6.3
A once good app, but now filled with bugs. 1. Changes to photos (resizing to fit) are not being saved. 2. Photo previews are no longer being shown in the main window. 3. Problems saving the document -- error messages saying 'not possible / can't do, etc ...' Urgent fixes needed for this version to work !
(1)
4.5
Jäarvis
19 April 2017
Version: 5.4.2
I agree with the previous reviews, it is an incredible app for professional usage. I evaluated a bundle of tools it offers. But really some quirks (rarely, but they exist) don't allow to give the app all stars. Anyway, I would like to use it further.
(0)
4
rphartle
18 January 2017
Version: 5.3
FotoMagico is the Coolest App since the invention of Photoshop... Some things are a little quirky like if you save an empty document it crashes... so always put at least one photo in it then save your project.. Also reworking, editing and moving things around a lot can make it get stuck on stupid but I just close out and reopen... but 98% of the time it works lovely. Fix the quirks and it gets 5 stars!
(1)
4.5
The-Wall
07 September 2016
Version: 5.2b8
So glad to find this app. FotoMagico helped me to prepare a great presentation of my photos from traveling. My friends were excited. Indeed, it is designed to be easy, useful and makes adorable slideshow.
(0)
4
fabiorico
13 June 2016
Version: 5.1.1
Downloaded it just for fun to make some slideshows using photos from trips. But it turned out not to be very simple tool as it had been noticed in a video. Lots of available options take too much time to create a simple slideshow. I think it's rather suitable for the professional usage than for amateurs. Good enough in general.
(0)
2
Steeps-Patrick
29 May 2016
Version: 5.1b3
This app would be awesome if it does not crashes so often. It freezes at random when selecting images or manipulate images. If the devs could fix those, I buy this for sure.
(0)
5
HarrijM
20 April 2016
Version: 5.0.4
Read our review on http://www.macsoftreview.com A great utility and full options
(0)
Hawke5501
15 April 2016
Version: 5.0.4
The MacUpdate download is 370.5 MB and the FotoMagico file from their site is 353,.34 MB. MacUpdate has been bundling MalWare with downloads from this site and I wonder if they have put MalWare into this download. They must have new managers and they are definaltly trying to infect your computers. The only way to effect change is to start a writing campaign to advertisers and the software developers denying MacUpdate access to their software. I must say they are aggressive.
(2)
Show comment (1)
3.5
DirkTheMenace
14 April 2016
Version: 5.0.2
Not bad to make slideshows. But the big problem is the high crash rate it has. It super unstable on my iMac 5K, at least with the demo. Still 3.5 stars. And if they make it crashproof I would give it a big 4.5 star
(0)
vangulickc
30 March 2016
Version: 5.0.1
Just downloaded version 5.01. Upgrade info on site shows two levels of version 5—basic and pro. $49.00 for pro and apparently no upgrade path from version 4 to 5 basic (no cost listed for the latter, but neither will version 5 basic take my version 4 serial). Confusion is irritating. And web tech support contact page deposits me in the ether. There is a phone number, but I don't think I'll bother...
(2)
Show comments (6)
2
Abbott
04 January 2015
Version: 4.5.1
I love the quality of graphic output this app delivers. Unfortunately that's about the extent of its goodness. As others have noted, Fotomagico loses a LOT of one's work. I've spent 30-40 HOURS simply RE-EDITING changes I've made because Fotomagico keeps forgetting my changes, even when I save a file immediately after verifying that it looks correct. This is far longer than it took to create the 30-minute show initially. Edits that get lost include font typeface and style, mask attributes (aspect ratio, border thickness and border color), and graphic placement. Also, once it even forgot to render the text on a slide! While I'd love to recommend this application, I just can't. For $100 this should be just about perfect, but it's lacking some pretty basic capabilities—like accurately saving work. I'm on OS X 10.9.5.
(1)
Show comment (1)
5
humi9717
29 May 2014
Version: 4.4.4
I have missing Aperture Library (Fotomagico 4.4.4 and Mavericks), any way of locate it.. ? Regards
(0)
0.5
The-Equalizer
06 January 2014
Version: 4.4.1
Keeps losing images. This software does not not work. It's useless. A complete waste of time
(1)
Show comment (1)
1.5
Berniedahl
06 November 2013
Version: 4.3.1
I have had to recreate my slideshow 5 time because this piece of garbage has lost my work. I wouldn't buy this again under any circumstances.
(2)
3.5
Christopher-Plummer
13 October 2013
Version: 4.3.1
Great application. Super easy to use and pretty powerful. Looking forward to continued updates to refine overlapping audio and images.
(1)
0.5
Metalsmith
09 October 2013
Version: 4.3.1
tried to post negative comment on pricing and business practices. Input suddenly locked up, and locked me out, refusing my input. Guess they're getting a little sensitive about them and apple ripping people off. I'm forced to enter stars in features, ease of use and stability. They mean NOTHING. This post is all about how they (and apple) treat us, the customers.
(1)
Show comments (2)
5
LarryClosurdo8402
02 October 2013
Version: 4.3.1
Works very well on my early 2011 MacBook Pro. easy to export slideshow to Youtube as well as export to idvd.
(0)
4
Lileks2012
27 September 2013
Version: 4.3.1
A previous entry-level version of Fotomagico put the developer's watermark on slideshows; you had to upgrade to remove it. Is that the case with the version being offered for the Sept 2013 bundle?
(0)
Show comment (1)
Quorm
11 August 2013
Version: 4.3.1
Extremely expensive. Extremely buggy. For example, if a show has more than one track (which is the case in most shows) it is very very difficult to match slide durations to tracks.
(1)
Show comment (1)
lurkingremlin
24 June 2013
Version: 4.3
"Your audience will never fall asleep again." Hey....what do you mean with "again"...? ;))
(2)
5
eyebeams
18 February 2013
Version: 4.2
Bought this as part of MacUser special discount. I make professional films and this is extremely quick for putting ideas down for intros and interstitials - it's a sketchpad for ideas I can then put into Motion, ScreenFlow or Adobe Premiere. I can even copy chunks of transitions into other apps like Boinx TV for fillers and short documentary style news items. Very, very speedy productivity and so worth the price - especially with the MU discount! It saves me time so saves me money.
(0)
4.5
Dlwhite
14 February 2013
Version: 4.2
If you set aside the pricing/upgrade issues and look at the software on its own merits, I feel it's still a pretty great deal at 79.99. (current sale price.) I mean, I can't think of another program that gives you that much control with such a slight learning curve. You also get the benefit of knowing the dev. isn't a fly-by-night hack who's just trying to make a buck on the Mac App store. FotoMagico is a capable, powerful tool, updated regularly with new features and fixes. The feature set improved significantly from V3 to V4. Do I wish it was cheaper? Sure. But I wish LOTS of things were cheaper. Do I think the dev is ripping anyone off (even previous users) by charging 79.99 -- or even 99.99? Absolutely not.
(0)
Etearl
14 February 2013
Version: 4.2
I will not upgrade to FM 4 for the same reason stated so many times above. The upgrade cost is way too high to keep up with. If your thinking of using FM just consider the future upgrade costs before you get locked in. There are many free sideshow programs a jAlbum.net.
(2)
4.5
Rikly
18 December 2012
Version: 4.1
Very nice software. I own the version 3, but as a retired man I can't pay 99$ for upgrade. For this reason, I returned to Windows 7 for Slideshows. Unfortunately, the non professional people can't have good software because the prices of many softwares. Maybe, if one day Fotomagico is discounted, I return on Mac for Slideshows.
(2)
Show comment (1)
5
aduska
16 November 2012
Version: 4.0.3
They did answer, and were very helpful !. I´m taking my angry comments back !
(1)
megan-boinx
29 October 2012
Version: 4.0.1
And a review from Mac360: "We’ve reviewed FotoMagico a few times in the past. It’s one of few professional-level slideshow apps for the Mac that combine photos, videos, audio, and text. It takes only a few minutes to realize that FotoMagico is the brainchild of a photographer, not an app developer looking to make a quick buck." http://mac360.com/2012/10/the-macs-coolest-photo-slideshow-and-video-app-just-got-better-and-less-expensive/
(1)
megan-boinx
29 October 2012
Version: 4.0.1
See additional reviews of Boinx's FotoMagico 4: "FotoMagico 4, is magical (pun intended). There is little doubt that this application is the most polished slideshow creation tool for the Mac. If you’re a photographer, videographer or have a passion in showing off your photographs and video to family, friends and associates, then FotoMagico 4 is the application for you." - The Mac Observer http://www.macobserver.com/tmo/review/create-magical-slideshows-with-fotomagico-4
(1)
4
Cameraguy5
28 October 2012
Version: 4.0.1
As a version 2 and 3 user, I too, will not be paying $99. for this upgrade. Previous users should not be paying this kind of price. Too bad, for I liked the software, but it's just getting to expensive to keep up with. It was nice while it lasted. Thanks for the memories. If you come to your senses, please contact all your users so we can purchase as a reasonable UPDATE price.
(5)
Dtruett1
14 October 2012
Version: 4.0
I have owned FM 2, FM Express, and upgraded a second time to FM Pro 3. It is absolutely highway robbery to ask me, who has supported Boinx paying 3 times for their software to not get any kind of an upgrade price. I wish I could use stronger words. It's their right, but they have the fresh scent of raw sewage as a company for doing this.
(9)
Show comments (5)
Sdutton
11 October 2012
Version: 4.0
I echo the previous comment . . . there's no way I'm paying full price for this update.
(6)
Show comments (2)
Cameraguy5
30 July 2012
Version: 3.8.6
Tried to install the update...it's gets to the very end and then up pops a message "Update Error! An error occurred while extracting the archive. Please try again later." I've tried 4 times through out the day today to no avail. Is it just me or is anyone else having issues getting this update to install? I'm running Mountain Lion on a Mac Pro. I'll give it 5 stars when it works again.
(0)
Show comments (8)
5
Magosilvan
15 December 2011
Version: 3.8.3
Great App and frequently updated.
(0)
X-User
08 June 2011
Version: 3.8b4
The beta v.3.8b4 was nice and worked well on my G5 but it expired 5/31/11. Nothing newer on Boinx website http://www.boinx.com/fotomagico/beta/ Does anyone know if a new beta version is available? Boinx folks? Thanks in advance....
(0)
Djefis
16 April 2011
Version: 3.8b2
This software does not work on my MacBook Pro.
(0)
4.5
X-User
01 March 2011
Version: 3.7.5
I'm not sure why this great app has 2 stars so I'm sharing my experience with other MacUpdate users.... It's a long one...... MY GOAL: I've been on a long search for a good app to produce slide shows to be played on pro-sumer DVD players or by upscaling to 720p or 10280p and seen on HDTV's. APPS TRIED BUT NOT HAPPY WITH: I tried PowerPoint - quality is good only when played in PowerPoint on a pc or mac; picture quality is horrible when exported and burned to a DVD. I also tried Slick Motion, Still Life (before HDTV days), iPhoto, iMovie, iDVD, Photo To Movie (colors shifted after exported to DVD), Pulp Motion - or combination of the above -- They all had poor picture quality by the time I got a slide show on DVD. I was very disappointed when I viewed my slide shows on TV or HDTV (played on a DVD player). FOUND MY ANSWER: I recently tried version 3.7.3 on my friend's G5. I also have a G5 but don't have FotoMagico Pro yet - I'd consider buying it next time there's a MacUpdate bundle. MY FIRST PROJECT WITH FOTOMAGICO: a slide show about 30 minutes long with about 240 pictures and some short movie clips. This was my process: 1) Started the project. Setting = "Present on "HDTV (720)". 2) Edited slide show with motion, transitions, titles, narrations, etc. 3) Done. Export setting = "Share my slideshow as "DVD" 4) Came back the next day it was ready.... 5) Burned the .mov file onto DVD in Toast. FEATURES: ***** I used and liked drag & drop, movie support, motion (zoom, scale, rotate); iPhoto & iTunes Library integration, multiple audio tracks, narration recorder, adjust color, export as DVD, export to HD Movie. EASY OF USE: ****** I found FotoMagico very easy and intuitive to use. I didn't need to read any instructions and was able to do motion with static pictures - a lot of people like that "cool KenBurn thingie"! SLIDE SHOW QUALITY: ***** I burned the slide show on a DVD-R and it was played on my G5, MacBookPro, 62"HDTV, digital slide projector, multiple consumer and pro-sumer DVD players. The image quality was CRISP and SHARP!!!!! I was so happy to finally see the pictures in motion the way I expected!! I also received many compliments for the slide show!!! G5 SUPPORT: ***** I'm so glad this software still works on a G5 running 10.5.8. It never crashed during my project. PRICE:*** I have to agree with some other reviewers that the price for the Pro version is a bit steep - it's out of my reach at this time - and I do need Multiple Audio Tracks, narration, audio ducking, export to HD movie. Hey these Boinx guys need their pizzas and beer to make the software. It cost me a few pizzas and cases of beer to try it on my friend's G5 & FotoMagico. I hope Boinx won't drop support for G5 anytime soon, especially with Lion lurking around recently. THANKS for a great software and again for supporting G5 users!!!!
(11)
Bobbygans
13 November 2010
Version: 3.6.2
I have used the Fotomagico Pro trial and found it easy to use with excellent end result. However I have been unable to directly access Lightroom to transfer the photos. Instead I have had to export the photos and then import them in to Fotomagico. So far Fotomagico haven't provided any assistance.
(1)
Corpsecorps
03 November 2010
Version: 3.6.2
Could use more than one Text track.
(1)
Kwkoonce
13 October 2010
Version: 3.5.1
Fotomagico was a breeze to use. I put together a stunning slideshow quickly. However, about a month after the slideshow was created, photos began to disappear from both the version on my hard drive AND on two DVD disks I had burned. The very same photos were missing on all three. On one of the disks, the music mysteriously stopped playing halfway through the show. I have since read on this website of other people who have had photos disappear and the screen goes to black, and that there is no way to fix this other than to rebuild the slideshow from scratch. I was using the demo of the latest version, Fotomagico Pro 3. Needless to say, I will not be paying the steep $150 to buy the software.
(1)
Show comment (1)
Oliver-Breidenbach
28 July 2010
Version: 3.5.1
MyMac reviews FotoMagico 3.5 and rates it 9/10. http://www.mymac.com/2010/07/review-fotomagico-3-5/
(5)
Show comment (1)
MarcelMolleman
15 June 2010
Version: 3.5
Well I must say I was an happy Fotomagico 2 Pro user, until version 3 came out! Then, de ridiculous upgrade price from versio 2 pro to version 3 pro made me look out for an alternative. So now I use Pulpmotion 3 wich is affordable and works reel slick! You know, money isn't the only thing in this world that gives you a good feeling! I think a lot of Fotomagico 2.x pro users won't upgrade to version 3 pro even is the latter was 20 times better!!! It's just that we 2.x pro users feel pretty much sacked by Boinx!! Thanks 4 nothing....... Greetinx Marcel
(4)
Show comments (3)
4
Airwing
02 December 2009
Version: 3.0.8
A nice application that helps you create simple and nice slideshows. One of the features I find very useful is the possibility to export the slideshow as an application. You can use that single file/application on any Mac (FotoMagico doesn't have to be installed), and it stores all your photos, videos, transitions, effects and music used in the presentation. Not so many advances features, but that's not always necessary either.
(3)
Show comment (1)
Quorm
04 October 2009
Version: 3.0.7
FotoMagico regularly trashes the links in its slideshows to the images that are supposed to be in the show. There is no way to fix broken links other than to start over and create a new show. There is no way to replace one image with another. For the price of this cadillac system, that's not acceptable. The app also hangs and crashes regularly. Lightroom makes far better shows.
(3)
Fredash
02 October 2009
Version: 3.0.7
Upgrade Prices For V2 Pro Users is OUTRAGEOUS !!!
(5)
Fredash
09 June 2009
Version: 3.0.3
Oh... and i forgot the iPhone App "FotoMagico Remote"... The same functionalities than Keynote Remote (price : 0,79 $) but for FotoMagico... But You know what ??? The price... TERRIBLE : 19,95 $ for a remote app !!!!!!
(7)
Titomuerte
28 May 2009
Version: 3.0.2
I would tend to disagree with some of the other reviewers here. It's not good software. It's not bad software, but it's tremendously inferior when compared to offerings like Photodex ProShow Gold. I make slides that have to be precisely aligned with the timing in the music. Not only does their "sync to audio length" feature not work very well (it routinely just ignores slides at the end), but they also lack the key feature that Proshow has that allows one to exactly map out transitions to music. If it was merely lacking these two features, it would still be forgivable. However, to make matters worse, the software doesn't consistently line up music to the slides. I can spend an hour painsteakingly going through each transition ensuring it matches with the music precisely...only to have it be off by a half-second when I go back and review from the beginning. It's tremendously frustrating not to get a consistent sync between the audio/video; and reason enough for this software to be no better than 3 stars. I have however been happy with the quality/aliasing/sharpness/lack of blur in the renderings and exports of the completed videos.
(4)
Show comments (2)
Mark-Starbuck
17 May 2009
Version: 3.0.2
I agree with the previous comment. Nice piece of software with a ridiculous upgrade policy. I too was caught in the v2 to v3 'no warning' scenario. I will now be deleting FotoMagico, trying to reinstall v2 - failing that I shall find something else. You would think company's like this would guard their customers, not try to lose them!
(6)
Fister
15 May 2009
Version: 3.0.2
I responded to the 'update' message when I opened my Version 2 yesterday and downloaded the new Version 3.0, unaware that it was not a free update but an upgrade with a hefty pricetag. I was then nagged for my license key so I entered my Version 2 key which, of course, didn't work. Result: My older version was overwritten and now unusable (I'm digging around to see whether I have a backup somewhere). Boinx has not responded to my request for help restoring Version 2. Two thoughts: (1) Boinx should make it clear that updating is NOT free and spell out clearly the upgrade costs in the update/upgrade window, and (2) $89 is roughly $60 overpriced for an upgrade.
(12)
Edified
14 May 2009
Version: 3.0.2
It's sad to see Fotomagico's rating plummet- the truth is that it's awesome software- I think we can all agree. I hate to see one star ratings just because of the wacky and outrageous upgrade schemes. If you're going to rate one star please at least explain that it's not because the software is bad- just the upgrade policy or missing Home Version features. Another option is write as a comment instead of a review. I don't think it's useful for us or for the dev to pull down the overall rating because of a ridiculous policy. Whatever floats your boat I guess.
(7)
Typographica
13 May 2009
Version: 3.0.1
Extremely disappointed with the upgrade price for the Pro version. Fotomagico Pro is a nice product but it is not an ‘everyday' piece of software like Photoshop. For those who use it regularly it is still a hard sell especially in this economic climate. Remember when Quark got greedy and arrogant guess what... InDesign was born. Hey Boinx! Please do not alienate your loyal customer base. Rethink your pricing structure.
(14)
Show comment (1)