Back to muCommander page
muCommander free download for Mac

muCommander Reviews

0.9.3
10 February 2019

File manager in a Norton Commander style.

Fenrisulf
12 December 2010

Most helpful

I used the linux equivalent of this program for years. It's well worth it to give it a try... you'll be surprised how intuitive it is, in spite of what most would call it's "un-mac-like" interface.
Like (3)
Version 0.8.5

Read 29 muCommander User Reviews

Rate this app:

poetcsw-1
15 June 2017
The current version is 0.9.2 and it works great for what I need: easy access to hidden files on my Mac and on my Linux server. I would prefer a similar dual-pane mode in Finder, but as a free solution, this is fantastic.
Like
Version 0.9.0
FCMDEV
02 September 2013
Has been user of muCommander for a long time. But not anymore. Now I use FastCommander. Finally I can really enjoy my Mac. It is new, native Cocoa app. It is very fast, small, takes much less memory, has consistent platform look, is simple to use and has pixel perfect UI. No bugs, no problems, no Java and loads 10 times faster.
Like
Version 0.9.0
2 answer(s)
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
11 September 2013
In the interest of full disclosure, the reviewer above ("Unspecified") is in fact the developer of the application he upholds, FastCommander.
Like (6)
Bunky
Bunky
22 January 2014
I would like to try your app.. Do you have a demo available? I am a gig fan of dual pane file browsers, OSX Mavericks has finally incorporated it into the finder, but it is a poor attempt at a much needed solution.
Like (1)
Aaron-T
06 June 2013
One of the best Norton-like commanders on Mac. Stable, simple and very easy in use. New Mac OSX block installation of this app, so you have allow yourself to install apps from different sources in the security tab, system preferences.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.0
1 answer(s)
FCMDEV
FCMDEV
18 September 2013
no mission-control compatibiliy, you can't drag window to another workspace. You can't make it fullscreen. All dialogs are modable, you can't minimize main window until operation ends. It is a horrible joke, as most so-called utilities designed to other platforms and then ported to Mac. The true utility MUST BE NATIVE.
Like (1)
spedison
11 April 2013
This is so good software but in lastest mac os x version I have problems while install it. When I running once show me message: " "muCommander" is damaged and can't be opened. You shold move it do the Trash. " But, If I run this software in command line, It works fine. This problem may be a litte configuration. OS X version is 10.8.3 uname -a Darwin ******.local 12.3.0 Darwin Kernel Version 12.3.0: Sun Jan 6 22:37:10 PST 2013; root:xnu-2050.22.13~1/RELEASE_X86_64 x86_64 ******:~ user$ java -version java version "1.6.0_43" Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.6.0_43-b01-447-11M4203) Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 20.14-b01-447, mixed mode) Thanks a lot. Edison.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.0
1 answer(s)
spedison
spedison
11 April 2013
I solve it in: System Preferences -> Security & Privacy -> General -> Allow Applications downloaded from: -> Anywhere. Copy package to applications and run it.
Like (2)
MuchMac
29 March 2013
The MacUpdate download is corrupt. The download link from developer site is dead. I don't see an easy way to report the problem here or on the developer web site.
Like
Version 0.9.0
SickTeddyBear
22 July 2012
FYI, there is a nightly build of version 0.9.0 available (remember, this is for testing, and it will have bugs): http://mucommander.com/download/nightly/mucommander-current.app.tar.gz Here is the changelog: http://mucommander.com/download/nightly/readme.txt
Like (1)
Version 0.8.5
1 answer(s)
SamGoody
SamGoody
19 December 2012
For some reason, when I donload that, it still claims to be version 0.9.0 (not 0.9.1). Much thanks though, it's a really really great tool
Like
P-g-
09 January 2011
Slow loading. Don't like icons.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.5
0815mac
07 January 2011
Very useful to show hidden folder.
Like (2)
Version 0.8.5
Fenrisulf
12 December 2010
I used the linux equivalent of this program for years. It's well worth it to give it a try... you'll be surprised how intuitive it is, in spite of what most would call it's "un-mac-like" interface.
Like (3)
Version 0.8.5
Fb-eye71
24 February 2010
I've been using MUCommander to browse inside .zip files without having to decompress them first. This feature alone makes it worth having around. It saved me hours when all I needed was to find a specific image inside a 675MB .zip archive...
Like (2)
Version 0.8.5
Mystery-Tramp
25 October 2009
One of the few positive things I remember about a job I had where I was moving files around a pre-networked office was that Norton Commander made the job a lot easier. muCommander does a good job of presenting a Norton Commander style presentation of your hard disk, and a lot more besides. You'll see lots of things in this app that you'll wish the Finder included. mt
Like (2)
Version 0.8.4
mircsicz_mac.com
12 November 2008
I think it should be possible to integrate Quicklook, because CyberDuck has Quicklook integration too... Greetz Mircsicz
Like
Version 0.8.3
Mark-Everitt
22 October 2008
I really like it! The only thing it lacks that I use quite a lot is quicklook integration. I know that's asking quite a lot though and I'm not even sure if it's possible.
Like
Version 0.8.3
Kioshi
01 June 2008
Very nice, basically does all I want. Gets 4 stars because of the long startup time for a 2 meg program (well it's Java...) and the ugly icon.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.2
Joi
19 April 2008
Well it's not as nice as pathfinder: http://www.cocoatech.com/ but it is free. For those that enjoy the old Norton Commander it is a close resemblance. The icon needs desperate help though, yikes.
Like (2)
Version 0.8.2
Draelren
18 April 2008
Ahhh how i've missed NCommander... Good to see something similar on mac now. I really can't remember what features old NCommander had but.. this app is a helpful gem. And damn those zealots like ZO219: His/her comment isn't even worth being called a comment, rather a troll post. Norton Commander was just a program for Windows, being coded from, you guessed it, Norton, not Microsoft.
Like
Version 0.8.2
zo219
30 March 2008
Well, if you want to turn Mac into Windows, and after buying such a nice machine, I suppose that's your right ... but the tiniest adjustment in thinking--oh, never mind.
Like
Version 0.8.1
Dalahast
29 November 2007
Oh. My. God. I've always enjoyed file management shells like this, I bet I'll use this every day. The only things I might like to see would be: 1. Option+F opens file menu regardless of which pane you're in (currently opens only if user is in top pane) 2. Capability to preview images without opening them in some way. Managing font files has never been easier!
Like
Version 0.8.1
Exhibo
28 October 2007
I have to say, this is an outstanding app! whilst working with terminal is reliable and everything, this makes large transfers a breeze. No problems yet (touch wood). Many thanks!
Like
Version 0.8
M!k3
07 June 2007
Well, a good file manager is still my most wanted missing application for the Mac. On Windows I'm using Altap Salamander (former Servant Salamander), but nothing comes close to it on the Mac. Compared to Altap Salamander's features muCommander looks like a feature-crippled, 5-year old version. Sorry - I removed it from my disk.
Like
Version 0.8b3
Celebritarian
12 April 2007
I love it! "Norton Commander" interface, the split window style, is a wonderful way to browse - and manage - your filesystem. Total control, indeed. I love the shortcuts: F8 will delete things, holding shift auto-selects files in the list and copy/paste, duplicate stuff and making new folders is so simple. And it's beautiful, too! I really appreciate that muCommander is both cross-platform and available in a portable (USB stick) friendly version: Next time, while tweaking a new Linux distribution, I know which app I'll download after the first boot :-) Oh, backspace takes you back in your filesystem. And Enter (Retun) will do that thing switchers (and experienced OS X users, too) miss in the Finder: Opening a file or folder. Cross-platform, an application that's sort of its own iceland, but yet integrated with OS X in a nice way, updates at least once a week... Finder + muCommander = a pure Mac OS X experience, always ready to drop some heavy files, lifting and re-organize thousands of files or cleaning the desktop in a flash. And well, it's free too :-)
Like
Version 0.8b3
faszom
08 February 2007
A faszom kivan azzal aki ezt csinálta! Felraktam jóhiszem?en... aztán miközben ftpzgetni próbáltam, szétbaszta de konkrétan SZÉTBASZTA!!!! az egész winyómat, desktopot, redszert MINDENT! BAZZMEG!!! Tetves köcsögök!
Like
Version 0.8b2
Szabesz
28 February 2006
Oh man! I think this is the only free application for Mac OS X that can browse ZIP files. This feature alone makes it outstanding. Thank you! Keep up the good work!
Like
Version 0.8
68kmla
20 February 2006
Forget about FileMatic, it costs money. The point of this is to be free. Hopefully the author releases the source soon. It's been 3 years since he said, "Soon.."
Like
Version 0.7.1
Anonymous
13 October 2004
For a potential Cocoa alternative see Filematic by www.macprime.com!
Like
Version 0.7
Anonymous
11 October 2004
Back in my window washing days, muComm was one of my favorite apps. Allowed me to get a lot done, despite the OS handicap. Many thanks for the port. It runs well, and I can keep my hands on the keys. Peace, Mike
Like
Version 0.7
Vivaldi
09 January 2004
I just discovered the earlier version of this software; thought I'd died and gone to heaven. As a former Windows user, I missed dual-pane file managers based on the Norton Commander model (all over the place from Win freeware developers, but not in MacWorld!) Besides being the only discoverable freeware dual-pane manager (with the exception of X-Folders, not yet fully developed), this is a sweet app -- works just fine, handles the major file operations easily (mouse or function keys). I was in despair of doing easy backups from HD to thumbdrive before I discovered this one. Haven't tried the current version yet, but it's hard to see how it could be any less successful than the old one. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 0.6
Anonymous
08 January 2004
just a test to see if posting works yet here.
Like
Version 0.6
Anonymous
08 January 2004
Just wondering what this does that the Mac really needs? I mean, you can already transfer files cross platform with smb, open multiple windows (like, open some windows on the desktop and also open some from shares on a Windows XP machine), you can create zip files right in the finder (with File->Create Archive) and you can send files as attachment via Mail.app (even using Services to do it from whichever folder you happen to be in. This is not a criticism of the app. I am just wondering if it does anything that maybe I am not aware of.
Like
Version 0.6
3 answer(s)
PATRICK
PATRICK
13 April 2004
WELL I CERTAINLY DO AGREE WITH ALL OF YOUR STATEMENTS. NOW WHAT'S THE DIFFERENCE WITH THIS PROGRAMM? IT COMBINES ALL THIS FEATURES AND GIVES YOU THE POSSIBILITY TO WORK FASTER SIMPLY BY STICKING TO THE KEYBOARD INSTEAD OF CHANGING FROM THE MOUSE TO THE KEYBOARD AND VICE VERSA. THOSE WHO WORKED ALREADY WITH NORTON COMMANDER, MIDNIGHT COMMENDER OR ANOTHER CLONE KNOW ALLREADY THE ADVANTAGE OF SUCH A PROGRAMM. KNOW IT'S YOUR TURN TO TRY IT OUT :)
Like
Version 0.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 April 2004
use of all capital letters, as you did, is considered yelling... impolite... and it is VERY ANNOYING to read.
Like
Version 0.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 October 2004
he's an ex peecee user. they do that over there. give him a break.
Like
Version 0.7