Back to OnyX page
OnyX free download for Mac

OnyX Reviews

3.7.1
14 December 2019

Maintenance and optimization tool.

slagterh
16 October 2019

Most helpful

Using it for a long time now. Very satisfied, never had any problems.Used different cleaning programs, paid and free before starting using Onyx. Recommended! and...........worth any donation.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.8

Read 1243 OnyX User Reviews

Rate this app:

Mac3blade
14 December 2019
Absolutely essential.
Like
Version 3.7.1
Ca
13 December 2019
Indispensable. Period.
Like
Version 3.7.1
jjw1
23 November 2019
forgot the stars - jjw1
Like
Version 3.7.0
jjw1
23 November 2019
We are so lucky to have Joel, the inventor of all versions of Onyx . He gives us a free system utility that works better than any other out there, including a lot of the paid ones. He asks for donations — https://www.titanium-software.fr/en/donate.html — and I do believe it is time for many of us to see that he's paid for the work he's done, for us, for Apple, and for the OS we all love. Thank you again, Joel. I know you're not a millionaire yet, but bless you for sharing your gifts!
Like
Version 3.7.0
mistycarbonara
19 November 2019
Just started using this yesterday and so far I'm blown away! It drastically reduced the amount of space my "other" component was taking up in Mac storage. Performance seems better too. Great cleaner!
Like
Version 3.7.0
abumasoud2009
14 November 2019
thinks
Like
Version 3.7.0
DragonMaster
28 October 2019
It is amazing what a small developer can do and what huge multi-national companies cannot. This app is a remarkable tribute to Joel Berre the developer!
Like
Version 3.7.0
slagterh
16 October 2019
Using it for a long time now. Very satisfied, never had any problems.Used different cleaning programs, paid and free before starting using Onyx. Recommended! and...........worth any donation.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.8
Derekcurrie
29 August 2019
v.3.3.7 is now out.
Like (1)
Version 3.6.6
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
29 August 2019
Typo...I think you mean 3.6.7.
Like (1)
Version 3.6.6
Ptk3
29 August 2019
Essential. Practical, easy to access, space-saving. An application to always have on your hard drive.
Like
Version 3.6.6
gbdoc
29 August 2019
Great app, helps when Mac's acting a little strangely. Non-destructive, safe routines. Easy to use. I recommend it to all whom I help with Mac problems. One thing, though: Titanium's website lists a newer version for Mojave, 3.6.7; it works fine. To all: donate! It's worth it, and they need it.
Like (2)
Version 3.6.6
hmfwic47
29 August 2019
Problem with the new app. After going to the "Full Disk Access..." and following the instructions I clicked OK. The "Full Disk..." window closed. Onyx quit. I reopened Onyx again and got the "Full Disk..." window. Clicked ok. For some reason, Onyx never opens like it used to. Also, no mention, if you need to reopen the System Preferences Security & Privacy to close the lock. I am using macOS Mojave 10.4.6 supplemental update.
Like
Version 3.6.6
1 answer(s)
Drdul
Drdul
29 August 2019
This is unfortunately a problem with the current version of macOS, it's not Onyx's fault. I've had the same issue with other apps. Restart your computer and it will work as it should. Also consider adding more stars to your review so as not to penalize Onyx for a macOS problem.
Like (4)
Version 3.6.6
Eric•Woehler
04 June 2019
Continue to recommend this without any qualifications - it is simply the best app out there to do all the housekeeping etc Loads of options, you can configure what you want in terms of occasional use or set it up to do so so much for you. I just don't see how the adverse experiences claimed below could have occurred. Highly recommended - try it and I am sure you will continue to use the app for many years like so many others have!
Like (2)
Version 3.6.3
Lesoth0
03 June 2019
The one thing I wish Onyx did, as an option, would be to make the Users > LIBRARY folder > visible at all times. Drives me nuts have to go up to GO, or keyboard combination to make it visible, or worse, to try and find something within Time Machine back-up, without launching Migration Assistant.
Like
Version 3.6.3
3 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
04 June 2019
so go to your home folder and hit cmd-j, at the bottom there is the option to show your user library, select and set, and your library will show in your home directory thereafter. You can drag it to the sidebar if that helps too.
Like (2)
Mcr
Mcr
05 June 2019
For the benefit of others, the option to Show Library Folder under 'View Options' will ONLY appear if you have the Home folder highlighted IN THE SIDEBAR. If you just have Home highlighted within a file list window, the 'Show Library Folder' option will not appear when you press Ctrl J (View Options). Once enabled, it sticks, and you will see the Library folder in Finder. This option first appeared in High Sierra.

This terminal command also works in any macOS from Lion 10.7 and up.
chflags nohidden ${HOME}/Library
depending on your permissions, you may have to preface the command with 'sudo'
Like (2)
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
06 June 2019
There is no need for Onyx to add this, because it's already available as an option in the Finder, as others have pointed out.
Like
Mcr
03 June 2019
I logged in specifically just to say the new option in version 3.6.3 to turn off warning about running 32-bit apps is fantastic. That warning just confuses and intimidates casual and non-geeky users, and gets them all worked up that something is 'wrong'; resulting in phone calls and texts to yours truly.
Like
Version 3.6.3
2 answer(s)
robertanema
robertanema
17 June 2019
Can you provide some guidance? I can no longer open various files in Finder, and get error message that indicates "cannot be opened because you don't have permission to view it".
Trying to google this problem, it appears it is recommended to open Disk Utility and do a review and repair of permissions.
BUT: I have OSX El Capitan (10.11.6), and apparently the permission repair has been removed. SO: then some are recommending to download OnyX and repair permissions with Onyx.
AND: when I right-click on a file that I cannot open and select Get Info, at the bottom it appears to indicate that I should already have Read & Write permission.
Can you help resolve my confusion and my current inability to open various files?
Like
Mcr
Mcr
17 June 2019
@robertanema - this isn't the forum to do technical support, but here's some pointers to maybe get you in the right direction.
1) Repair permissions is still there in El Cap, it runs in the background, just not visible thru Disk Utility. That repair permissions function mainly repairs SYSTEM permissions, operating system files, who can execute, etc. The repair permissions step in Onyx invokes the same macOS repair permissions, it is identical, Onyx makes it easier to execute explicitly. From your description I think you are trying access files in Finder, I have to guess these are not system files, but just user type data files.
2) it sounds like you have an issue with USER permissions, i.e. files that aren't currently owned by the user account that you are logged in as. Are the files you want to open from another Mac that are from a different user log in, or the same Mac, but under a different account? If so, then you either you have to log in as the original user who created/owns the files, or change permissions to allow you, a different user, to access them, so go to #3
3) Are you logged in as a user with Administrator rights? You need to have Administrator rights to give yourself permissions to user files that aren't created by your account originally. See System Prefs/Users and Groups, see if your account is Administrator or Standard. If you are an Admin go to next step.
4) Do a Get Info on the files/file/folders you want access to. scroll to the bottom, Click the padlock at the bottom to unlock. You will be asked to enter an Administrator login and password. If you aren't, or don't know an Administrator login or password on this machine, stop, you can't go further. Once unlocked, select the user/group and change the privilege to whatever you want.
5) if it says you already have Read/Write, try creating a new user on that Mac with Admin rights, log in as current user that's giving you problems, give that new user read/write access to the file, then log in as the new user and see if you can access. If so, the solution may be to just transfer all your data to a new account and give that new user access.
Last resort, take it to the Apple Store or Geek Squad or Mac expert in your local area. Good luck
Like (1)
Maddogiam66
20 May 2019
Love, love, love Onyx. This app keeps my Mac running smooth and efficient. 5 million + downloads means they are doing something right.
Like
Version 3.6.2
iMacWare
24 April 2019
Before using this, I would honestly at least try Clean My Mac X. (Create a Time Machine backup or CCC backup first.) Onyx has ruined many Mac's of mine.
Like
Version 3.6.1
3 answer(s)
minntwins
minntwins
29 April 2019
I am surprised to have heard this. Onyx is BY FAR the best utility app out there. If one starts messing with things they do not know how to fix or what it really does then I can see it perhaps throwing your system off into a tangent. I have tried all the mentioned above time and time again and all have failed in one department or another. Time Machine should be used regardless, but is a hassle a find if I want a quick clean the flushes unwanted data off my sysem. Clean My Mac is a scam and never does what it says it is doing, unless one runs the program several times repeating the same task to make sure it does it. Onyx is A MUST GET
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
02 May 2019
IMW, I doubt that's true.
You seem to be the only one who's reported problems other than OS version incompatibility.

I'm very surprised you would also recommend CMM. I tried it and it wanted to delete a whole lot of essential files. I'd suspect that of causing your troubles, not Onyx.
Like (1)
zlazkow
zlazkow
09 July 2019
Onyx is a saviour. Onyx saves your computer from all troubles you might encounter. Onyx is A Must Have.
What ruined your computer is "clean my Mac" and/or some other unreliable applications you used. Trust nobody BUT Onyx and other Titanium Software tools.
Like
Macfool
16 April 2019
The essential Onyx is at v.3.6.0 with v.3.6.1 almost out of beta..
Like
Version 3.6.0
1 answer(s)
Amcarter3
Amcarter3
06 September 2019
CleanMyMac is now and always has been a SCAM... lot's of reports on this. Stay away from it.
Like
Version 3.6.7
Bob Jacobson
24 March 2019
With every OS update, I immediately apply Onyx. It maximizes the positives and reduces the negatives.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.9
tooloud
20 February 2019
Onyx has been a consistent and reliable tool for many years. I can't recall a single instance of a buggy release in decades.
Like
Version 3.5.8
hmfwic47
20 February 2019
Maintenance 2.5.0, 20 Feb 19 and OnyX 3.5.8, 20 Feb 19, have been released. They are both made by Titanium Software. I opened both apps and looked at their startup screens. OnyX has 4 areas (multifunction utility) to choose from. Maintenance has 1. Both are the same. I can’t see having the Maintenance app as they are both FREE.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.8
1 answer(s)
Graphic-Mac
Graphic-Mac
24 March 2019
Straight from the info page:

OnyX is the main application. The Maintenance and Deeper applications are parts of OnyX.
Then if you use OnyX, the Maintenance and the Deeper applications are redundant!
Like (2)
BodyByTrevor
03 February 2019
I love this app! just make sure you create a back up prior to using it. sometimes it can get a little wacky
Like
Version 3.4.9
1 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
16 April 2019
You "Love" it, but it's "Wacky?"

"Wacky" might be fun with some Partners but with Computers it's definitely NOT a good thing.
Like
optomist
06 January 2019
Noticing the details, care is taken. Easy to use and free.
Like
Version 3.5.5
RogerKatz
23 December 2018
This MacUpdate webpage incorrectly says version 3.5.4 is for High Sierra, whereas it is for Mojave. Version 3.4.9, which downloads here, is current for High Sierra.
Like
Version 3.5.4
3 answer(s)
STL@MacUpdate
STL@MacUpdate
23 December 2018
Hi, where did you find this?
Like
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
24 December 2018
Hi iurii,
To answer your question, I simply downloaded the MacUpdate link, expecting to get version 3.5.4 (which the MacUpdate description said was OK for my High Sierra), and found that your download link gave me version 3.4.9. I then went to the developer's site and found that version 3.5.4 was for Mojave, and version 3.4.9 was for High Sierra. I also checked my version 3.4.9 for updates, and it told me that I had the current version (i.e., 3.4.9).
Like (1)
minntwins
minntwins
29 April 2019
Thanks Roger, I have been lost and keep forgetting to look for the updated Mojave version. Came in Clutch, much appreciated.
Like
DenisS6377
13 December 2018
awesome software to keep your mac fit and healthy
Like
Version 3.4.9
TVieceli
04 December 2018
Great free utility.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.3
DragonMaster
25 November 2018
The new version for Mojave is spectacular! Joel as usual has produced a powerful, simple to use and very friendly app to maintain you Mac. How he does it for free I have no idea! CleanMyMac developers need to look at OnyX and learn how to produce an app that even at NO CHARGE is fully able to verify your SSD! If you do not own or use this wonderful app, you have made a mistake that you need to correct! As I have said before, if you own OnyX and you have not made a donation you are committing a cruel and unusual act. Step up and support this amazing app and its fine developer!
Like
Version 3.4.9
Jpwgibson
10 November 2018
I'm certainly thankful for Joel for having provided such a valuable tool for many years. But, unfortunately, the latest version broke my Firefox bookmarks (and I had lots of them).

Most annoying, is that they are now non-deletable.

Use with caution.
Like
Version 3.5.2
1 answer(s)
Titanium Software
Titanium Software
03 December 2018
Hi,
Corrected in the last version 3.5.3. ;-)
Please, to improve the application, report me the bugs by email!
Like
SimonM5530
30 October 2018
I bought Onyx (Version 3.1.2 (23696)from the App Store to clean up my MacBook Pro (mid 2012 running MacOSMojave Vers 10.14) The programme did the clean up well enough but continually dropped out and I spent as much time restarting the cleaner as doing the cleanup! Any thoughts on why the unexplained closure of the app happens so often?
Like
Version 3.5.1
2 answer(s)
Titanium Software
Titanium Software
31 October 2018
It's a joke? OnyX is not on the App Store!
The old version 3.1.2 doesn't work on Mojave and the build 23696 doesn't exist!
Like (5)
Dlawhon
Dlawhon
11 November 2018
The app you downloaded from the App Store was actually called "OS Cleaner". That matches the version number and build that you mentioned. It's free, but with extra features available for purchase. "OS Cleaner" has nothing to do with OnyX and it's from a different developer. So, it doesn't seem fair to rate OnyX as only 3 stars when your problem is actually with a different app from someone else.
Like (3)
DragonMaster
08 October 2018
The tool of tools for Mac maintenance! It is free, but if you don’t donate you should feel like a thief! Joel updates this app constantly. It was one of the very 1st if not the 1st to be able to verify an SSD with APFS formatting when it first appeared. At the moment not even the vaunted CleanMyMac can do this! Excellent collection of tools built in.
Like (2)
Version 3.5.0
Brooklyn-Al
02 October 2018
Downloaded it and and used the "maintenance" feature yesterday, the 1st of October, and the system performance improved; great program!
Like (3)
Version 3.5.0
chasjunk
01 October 2018
Version 3.5.0 (specifically for macOS 10.14 Mojave) appears to now be available from the developer's website directly. I assume MU will update this listing shortly.
Like
Version 3.4.9
1 answer(s)
STL@MacUpdate
STL@MacUpdate
02 October 2018
Hi,
Thank you for pointing us out!
All done)
Like
Niku1000
29 September 2018
9/29/18 I had assumed that Apple Support Communities would be against Onyx, because they are against everything that doesn't come from Apple, and they like to argue too much for my taste. Anyway, I used Onyx WITHOUT THEIR PERMISSION, and it worked. It worked sensationally. I had had a couple of problems that they couldn't help me with, so I called Apple Care. They couldn't help me, either so, having nowhere else to go, I tried Onyx, and not only did those two problems disappear, but also another one that I had resigned myself to. Wonderful. Even better, Onyx fixed the problems even though I had no idea of how to use it. I just saw a command that said something like "Restore all defaults," so I chose it thinking that it could do no harm. THAT DID IT. I'll never know which settings had been causing the problems, but using the DEFAULT command brought my iMac back to its brand new condition. Thank you Onyx. I understand you need contributions. Well, you're getting mine within seconds. Thanks again.
Like (3)
Version 3.4.9
DragonMaster
27 September 2018
Powerful app! It is able to verify an APFS formatted SSD when Drive Genius 5, TechTool, the new CleanMYMac and others cannot, and it is free! Other high priced developers complain that the APFS formatting is too complicated and they are having a hard time figuring it out...what gives? How is it that one small developer in France can do it and they cannot! This app and developer is fantastic! Support him! Donate for this app. Mojave version will be out soon.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.9
hmfwic47
24 September 2018
It does not run under Mojave 10.14. It asks for High Sierra.
Like
Version 3.4.9
1 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
24 September 2018
There is a SPECIFIC version of Onyx for each major version of macOS. As of sept 24, the version of Onyx that is compatible with Mojave (Onyx 3.5.0) has NOT been released yet. You likely downloaded 3.4.9, which was an update released today for the version of Onyx that is intended for High Sierra. If you look carefully on this MacUpdate page, it still says this release of 3.4.9 is for macOS 10.13.x (High Sierra), not 10.14.x (Mojave)

If ever in doubt go to the developers page here and it clearly states what the latest version of Onyx is that is compatible with each version of macOS/OS X going all the way back to OS X 10.2 (Jaguar)
https://www.titanium-software.fr/en/onyx.html
In fact, IMO, I would go to the developers site always to download Onyx,....MacUpdate very often gets version numbers and compatibility mixed up, or is very late on notifying when an update is available.
Like (2)
Max-G
23 August 2018
Used it on my Mac for years without hickups. Now v.3.4.7 hangs shortly after starting up the maintenance-function, requiring forced restart (MBP, High Sierra, SSD, APFS).
Like (1)
Version 3.4.7
5 answer(s)
distreszed
distreszed
24 August 2018
same thing used to happen to me here and there with few previous versions, so i assume it's not fixed yet :/
Like
Titanium Software
Titanium Software
03 September 2018
Hi,
Perhaps are you not enough patient. It's normal (see the text at the top of the panel and in the OnyX Help).
During the verification, you may see the wait cursor (which looks like a colored pinwheel), and your computer may seem to be unresponsive. Some operations take a long time to complete. Wait for any selected tasks to finish.
Like (1)
distreszed
distreszed
03 September 2018
I know that, but one hour hanging didn't occur in almost fifteen years of using Onyx, it just started to happen in a few recent versions
Like
Titanium Software
Titanium Software
03 September 2018
@ distreszed: Have you try to restart your Mac and retry? Sometimes, a background process can prevent the verification.
It can have problems with the APFS encrypted disk: https://www.titanium-software.fr/en/issues.html
Like (2)
distreszed
distreszed
04 September 2018
yes, it works after I force restart and try again. and it doesn't happen every time I use Onyx, maybe every third time. as i said before, never experienced such behavior until few versions ago.
Like
DJSquint
02 August 2018
Useful tool for every macOS user. Free it is .. dev should ask a small fee imo.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.6
crisderaud
31 July 2018
Works great! Doesn't mess things up while doing the standard maintenance function.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.6
GeogProf
27 July 2018
STILL a great app. Been using it for many years. I would love it if the developer could add a new feature to the Parameters section. I have a 2015 15” MacBook Pro with a 2.8 GHz Core i7 processor (model #MacBookPro11,5) running macOS 10.13.6. Quite frequently when I'm using the trackpad, when I’m trying to click-and-hold or double-click and hold to highlight some text or a file name, instead the Dictionary is activated. This is very annoying. I have not been able to find a preference to turn it off, so it would be great if OnyX offered such a feature. Thanks, and kudos to Titanium Software for all they do for us.
Like
Version 3.4.5
2 answer(s)
Mcr
Mcr
24 September 2018
I found this on the net to turn off Dictionary lookup with trackpad, which I believe is what is happening to you:
https://www.tekrevue.com/tip/how-to-turn-off-multitouch-trackpad-look-up-in-os-x/
I have a 'lazy' ring finger which often drops down and touches the track pad even when I don't mean it too, which registers a three finger tap versus one or two; what you described would happen to me until I turned it off.
Like (1)
GeogProf
GeogProf
25 September 2018
Thanks, Mcr. I appreciate your response. I figured this out several weeks ago from the very link you referred me to. Cheers!
Like
knield15
10 July 2018
Onyx 3.4.5 isn't working with MacOS High Sierra 10.13.5
Like
Version 3.4.5
1 answer(s)
ScienceGuy
ScienceGuy
26 July 2018
Mostly works with 10.13.6, but create locate database hangs.
Like
bjboydell
11 June 2018
Is OnyX the best app to use or is there a better one in its field for the price and functionality?
Like
Version 3.4.5
1 answer(s)
Milmascaras
Milmascaras
11 June 2018
Yes, and No
Like (2)
Eric•Woehler
11 June 2018
Highly recommended for general system/machine maintenance and troubleshooting. Long-time user, I install on every mac of mine (and of friends and colleagues). Set up for clearing caches, purging un-needed sys files etc etc. System-specific versions means no confusion as to what version to use on your machine.
Like
Version 3.4.5
jack2001
16 May 2018
è vero che è gratuita ma per una seria pulizia e ottimizzazione bisogna perderci troppo tempo e bisogna stare molto attenti a quello che si fa
Like
Version 3.4.4
1 answer(s)
Milmascaras
Milmascaras
11 June 2018
Utilizzare l'opzione "Automazione" per eseguire la migliore serie di comandi
Like
mayymoton
14 May 2018
This app works great!
Like
Version 3.4.4
hmfwic47
24 April 2018
When I opened the app and went to "Maintenance" it could not make Safari Version 11.1 (13605.1.33.1.4) quit before proceeding. On 28 Feb and 12 Mar 18, I had the same similar problem.
Like
Version 3.4.4
shiyleymilbuyn
24 April 2018
Its a good app. Helps me a lot with my files.Good job for this!
Like (1)
Version 3.4.4
1 answer(s)
LeroyMorrison
LeroyMorrison
27 April 2018
When you say that it helped you a lot with your files, how did it help you with them? I want to use this tool but don't know much about it and everyone keeps talking about how amazing it is!
Like
distreszed
11 April 2018
last two times I used Onyx (High Sierra) it got stuck on verifying disk. I had to force shutdown system, re-run Onyx and then everything went ok. I'm using it for 15 years and this is the first time I experienced any issues with it.
Like (1)
Version 3.4.3
1 answer(s)
distreszed
distreszed
29 May 2018
and again. it was all ok few times after the last update, and here we go again, it freezes on verifying disk. not good
Like
Andreore
15 March 2018
Very handy free app to handle/customize a lot of low-level macOS options. It does a good job also cleaning-up temporary system files. It does most of the things a lot of other highly priced apps do, you just need to know what you are doing.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.3
James Bl.
21 February 2018
Perfect all in one Mac utility for my must-have collection.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.2
petro-semenyuk13
14 February 2018
Cool app!
Like (1)
Version 3.4.2