Back to Cocktail page
Cocktail free download for Mac

Cocktail Reviews

14 April 2021

General maintenance and optimization utility.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Gary30
Gary30
Mar 11 2021
14.3
2.0
Mar 11 2021
2.0
Version: 14.3
Long time user jumping off this train. No upgrade pricing. Plus, this app does nothing significant that is not covered by free/donationware Onyx. I see no compelling reason to pay the kind of money they seek any more.
Sigsgaard
Sigsgaard
Dec 9 2020
14.0
5.0
Dec 9 2020
5.0
Version: 14.0
I bought a lifetime license for Cocktail in 2007. I have never had any problems with the app, or the developer, sometimes there have been a little delay before versions for new versions of MacOS were ready, but I prefer that to having a half finished app. Maintain normally sends me a new license key when nessecary, except once where I wrote to Maintain, and they promptly sent a new license key. Cocktail does what it is ment to, without any problems whatsoever.
StrictlyBagel
StrictlyBagel
Nov 12 2020
13.2.5
0.0
Nov 12 2020
0.0
Version: 13.2.5
Looks like maintain.se is not available anymore? Has the developer gone the way of the Dodo? Update checks within the app don't seem to work anymore either.
qb
qb
Sep 24 2020
13.2.5
0.0
Sep 24 2020
0.0
Version: 13.2.5
Has Maintain closed down? I was a lifetime-paid owner of Cocktail since way back. I was forced to pay to get the BETA version for Catalina. So much for lifetime. Today I wanted to run Cocktail and when I noted I still had the Beta I first tried the apps "check for update". That gave an error. So I tried to go direct to maintain.de and Safari says "Can't find the server" Then I come to MacUpdate and tried to get the 13.2.5 version. This download results in the same error. Did Maintain take my money (and other users' money) and run? Reminds me of when Unsanity.com of FruitMenu, WIndowShade and others did the same. They even asked for customers to pre-order to help them financially then closed down.
ShotBlocker
ShotBlocker
Sep 3 2020
13.2.5
1.0
Sep 3 2020
1.0
Version: 13.2.5
This is not a review per se, it is a discussion of the class of software to which this program belongs. As a public service to the MacUpdate community, I've found as many of these "cleaner" apps on this website as I could and listed them them below. (I did a search for 'cleaner'.) If MacUpdate will let me, I intend to post this every time a new or updated version of one of these things shows up on this site. There are 40 in the list, and it seems like new entries in the 'Mac cleaner' market space pop up every day, metastasizing like a cancer. Unfortunately, more is not better. They are all of dubious value. Many have no reviews at all. Many have what look to be essentially fake 5-star reviews with no useful commentary. Many -- probably the most accurate and honest -- have negative reviews, by users who have been burned by them. Most of the developers' descriptions boast about what a great job they do, but the truth is, there are no good, comprehensive, head-to-head reviews of these programs by impartial 3rd parties. True experts in macOS maintenance advise against using any of them, because in general they serve little useful purpose and they can easily do more harm than good. Macs simply do not need "cleaning." (See for example: https://www.thesafemac.com/the-myth-of-the-dirty-mac/) Some of these programs are notorious for being little more than malware. The user is well-advised to read any program documentation and make a RELIABLE BACKUP before attempting any changes. If I have missed any programs that should be on the list, please leave a comment and let me know. I will rate all these programs with one star, probably one more than they deserve. And I would appreciate comments. If you disagree, please speak up. But if all you can come up with is 5 stars and a sentence or two saying that program X is great and I don't know what I'm talking about, please save your breath. No one here will take you seriously. And I apologize for the almost unreadable formatting, a severe limitation of MacUpdate itself, which compresses maximum text into minimum space, leaving no whitespace for readability. :: BEGIN LIST: : Aooro : App Cleaner & Uninstaller : AutoTrash : AweCleaner : CleanGeeker : Clean Me : Cleaner One Pro : CleanMyMac X : Cocktail : Combo Cleaner : Disk Aid : Disk Cleaner : Disk Cleaner Pro : Disk Expert : Disk Health : DiskKeeper Advanced Cleaner : DiskKeeper Cleaner - Modern : DiskKeeper Pro : Disk Xray : Doctor Disk Cleaner : HD Cleaner : iMac Cleaner : MacBooster : Mac Cleaner : MacClean : MacClean360 : MacCleaner Pro : MacCleanse : MacEnizer : MacMaster : Mojave Cleaner : PowerMyMac : Pro Disk Cleaner : Quick Cleaner : Sensei : Stellar SpeedUpMac : TrashMe 3 : Washing Machine : WeCleanse : Wise Mac Care :: END LIST : :: The only system maintenance tools I recommend are 1) TinkerTool System, a true bargain priced at only $14 for a single license. TinkerTool System is a an exceptional piece of quality engineering, safe when used properly, and superbly documented, with in-depth tutorials for every option. 2) OnyX, from Titanium Software, another excellent developer. 3) I have used Northern Softworks' "Cache Cleaners" in the past (the latest being "Catalina Cache Cleaner," which I have not used) and their products are first rate. As for the rest, listed above, it is safe to say that nobody who really knows what they're doing with Macs and macOS will touch them. Don't get sucked in by a pretty interface. You may very well regret it. -SB
baxsur
baxsur
Aug 27 2020
13.2.5
2.0
Aug 27 2020
2.0
Version: 13.2.5
Decent, but nothing special here.
Macern
Macern
Aug 16 2020
13.2.4
1.0
Aug 16 2020
1.0
Version: 13.2.4
No upgrade price, just pay full price for new version is the message I received from developer when I asked about an price for upgrade. No thanks, I'll find something else to use since most of this is just an fancy front end for commands in Terminal.o
NedC
NedC
Aug 5 2020
13.2.4
1.0
Aug 5 2020
1.0
Version: 13.2.4
Not to keen on the now $
Hermie
Hermie
Jul 2 2020
13.2.3
5.0
Jul 2 2020
5.0
Version: 13.2.3
Just upgraded to the Mojave edition, which is the first time I paid again for ages. 40 percent off the new price which means this falls in line with the normal major version upgrade practice off almost all software companies. According to the email I received this serial number will work for the next five system versions as well. Which is a good thing to know. In the mean time Cocktail is running fine and working as advertised, thank you very much.
davidfoster65-1
davidfoster65-1
Jun 11 2020
13.2.3
1.0
Jun 11 2020
1.0
Version: 13.2.3
Tired, tired, tired of their hand reaching into my wallet EVERY SINGLE TIME the system is updated (frequently this era). Deleted FOREVER!
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Apr 17 2020
13.2.1
1.0
Apr 17 2020
1.0
Version: 13.2.1
App no longer updates. Getting warnings that website is not safe?
cordina
cordina
Apr 2 2020
13.2.1
1.0
Apr 2 2020
1.0
Version: 13.2.1
Had Cocktail for years, like others here, paid for major upgrades when asked. They seemed to have had a bad period recently with updates and fixes. I thought that they had fixed that. Just updated to 13.2.1 and I also got a demand for a new password. Whatever I was using for 13.2 no longer worked. If they are going to push an upgrade that will force a new payment they should make that clear before you click on the "Install" button. They just can't be trusted so I deleted everything. Onyx works well for me. I liked Cocktail but way too much hassle doing business with them.
Mac5
Mac5
Mar 31 2020
13.2.1
1.0
Mar 31 2020
1.0
Version: 13.2.1
Life time licence.. Total BS.. and it doesn't work with Catalina, so don't waste your money. There are better apps available that do the same job... and are free.
Altech
Altech
Mar 23 2020
13.2
1.0
Mar 23 2020
1.0
Version: 13.2
Not for version 13 but 12.4 for Mojave. Sorry it isn't listed here anymore Please help! I just updated from Cocktail 12.4 to 12.5 and now I get a message to Buy and Register. I just updated to version 12.4 6/22/2019 input that Serial Number and it didn't work. I have tried to go back and use Cocktail Version 12.4 but I get the same message when I try to open it. Do i have to buy Cocktail again???? What is happening here?
Yoshita
Yoshita
Feb 23 2020
12.4.2
4.5
Feb 23 2020
4.5
Version: 12.4.2
I've paid for this app since v.1. Not sure how many years that is. I just know that it doesn't work anymore and I will start looking for other solutions.
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Feb 22 2020
12.4.2
1.0
Feb 22 2020
1.0
Version: 12.4.2
Doesn't work with Catalina. Won't launch at all...says file is damaged. Paid license. Even website support doesn't work...gives server error. This app has become garbage!
GregJ
GregJ
Dec 29 2019
12.4.2
0.0
Dec 29 2019
0.0
Version: 12.4.2
It WAS a great utility... However now it does not work with Mac OS Catalina. The app will NOT OPEN. The OS denies opening because it cannot be verified !!!!! I am extremely unhappy about this. Paying for a license and getting nothing SUCKS !!!!!! I was told there are “Issues “ but somebody should take care of business. This is so very unfair to those who in good faith have purchased this once great app and now have nothing !!! That’s my opinion
iMacWare
iMacWare
Dec 23 2019
12.4.2
0.0
Dec 23 2019
0.0
Version: 12.4.2
You’re a pilot. Lol. J/k.
qwedcxza0
qwedcxza0
Dec 16 2019
12.4.2
5.0
Dec 16 2019
5.0
Version: 12.4.2
It's very cool, thank you!
Maintain
Maintain
Nov 19 2019
12.4.2
5.0
Nov 19 2019
5.0
Version: 12.4.2
Dear customers! Due to medical circumstances and technical problems (as well as some other reasons), we were unfortunately forced to close down our website and e-mail server for few weeks. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience this may have caused you. However, we are now pleased to tell you that as of today, we are back up and running and conducting business as usual and looking forward to a successful business relationship in the future. We ensure you that we will continue to develop Cocktail and you can soon expect a new beta of Cocktail (Catalina Edition). We would like to once again apologise for all the inconvenience caused by the situation. Sincerely, Maintain
wadcorp
wadcorp
Nov 12 2019
12.4.2
4.0
Nov 12 2019
4.0
Version: 12.4.2
I've used Cocktail for *years* and depended on it. Seems from some notes below that this situation has changed. I just recently upgraded to OS 10.13 (yeah, yeah, very overdue). Had to get the High Sierra version & noted the maintain.se website has gone dark. Was able to get the update elsewhere, but concerned if this is the end for Cocktail & Maintain.
normanpiranha
normanpiranha
Nov 8 2019
12.4.2
0.0
Nov 8 2019
0.0
Version: 12.4.2
It seems there is something inherently wrong at 'Maintain'. It has worked well for a few years, but now it has suddenly developed a glitch that I can only assume stems from the desire to take, but not to give. As several other complainants have stated; don't waste your time writing, there will be no reply.
mwrowland
mwrowland
Nov 6 2019
12.4.2
0.0
Nov 6 2019
0.0
Version: 12.4.2
As of a day or so ago, the Cocktail website at "maintain" is dead. No response when e-mailing owner. What gives???
info-2741
info-2741
Nov 5 2019
12.4.2
0.0
Nov 5 2019
0.0
Version: 12.4.2
I bought Cocktail a few years ago with an expensive lifetime-license, which according to the provider never expires. Since the last update this license and the serial number doesn't work anymore. Now I have to pay for Cocktail again. I contacted the developer several times, but don't get an answer. Such behaviour is untrustworthy! Therefore I cannot recommend Cocktail any more. Hands off this app!
lsnathan19
lsnathan19
Oct 29 2019
12.4.2
1.0
Oct 29 2019
1.0
Version: 12.4.2
I purchased this program back in August and have been trying to get my serial number to use the program. I have called and emailed since then still no number. I believe this is a scam. I can't believe there are this many good reviews and I can't get a response from Maintain,
Seanc
Seanc
Oct 20 2019
12.4.2
0.0
Oct 20 2019
0.0
Version: 12.4.2
0.0 stars. I've been a registered user of this app since Tiger, and have always thought highly of it -- the app and support from the developer -- but beginning with the Mojave version, both are now just awful. Avoid it. Save your money and use Onyx instead.
Suricate15
Suricate15
Oct 19 2019
12.4.2
0.0
Oct 19 2019
0.0
Version: 12.4.2
"What do you think about Cocktail ?" NOTHING GOOD at all. AVOID this application and don't purchase it, particularly for Catalina. It looks like aggravated theft : I bought the Catalina release on October 8th. Get the registrations key for High Sierra and Mojave I still own.. Receiving some days later the Catalina key which doesn't work for Catalina, message on screen was absolute clear. Another claim with copy to Paddle (who manage sales and activations for their partners). Email answer from Paddle : we'll take your question in account but stop to write to the developer (Maintain). Since this message on 12th of October, nothing new, absolute nothing.. Asking for news and explanations : Nothing. The 19th I have the release which works as demo but unable to activate. I think these entities still live ? My impression, but without 100% certainty, is that the developer never changes his software from one release to the next one or just a few here and there, only the release number and related activation code are changed. Each time at full charge of course. This could work until a certain technical state, but perhaps not with Catalina. 32 bits applications are out and many internal things are changed with 10.15 MacOS. His last release could be unfinished regarding the activation process ? The first guy (actually me) buying the Catalina release will be caught ! So, DON'T go to this pitiful provider.
Tomjwright
Tomjwright
Oct 16 2019
12.4.2
1.0
Oct 16 2019
1.0
Version: 12.4.2
This was once a good product. Now, although they claim to have a Catalina release, the OS will not allow that release to be opened. Attempting to open Cocktail results in this message: "Cocktail.app" can't be opened because Apple cannot check it for malicious software. This software needs to be updated. Contact the developer for more information. Safari downloaded this file today at 11:22 AM from www.maiintain.se. So far, the developer has ignored my requests for help. At the moment, this app is useless.
stuckupstate
stuckupstate
Oct 16 2019
12.4.2
1.0
Oct 16 2019
1.0
Version: 12.4.2
this developer does not update their app, but even when it was working it did not clear an item from trash that has been stuck there (a leftover backup file that terminal won't let me delete). That was the only reason I bought it, online comments suggesting cocktail would work. Now 3 months after buying it they won't update to the new Catalina, don't waste your money on this app of developer.
Septic Monkey
Septic Monkey
Aug 22 2019
12.4.2
0.5
Aug 22 2019
0.5
Version: 12.4.2
Not yet Mojave compatible. Needs an update. Keeps freezing.
Pjot
Pjot
Aug 14 2019
12.4.2
0.5
Aug 14 2019
0.5
Version: 12.4.2
Avoid this app and the unreliable developer
baxsur
baxsur
Aug 13 2019
12.4.2
2.0
Aug 13 2019
2.0
Version: 12.4.2
This app developer keeps frivolously updating and charging for each update. Greedy :(
Mac5
Mac5
Jul 9 2019
12.4.1
1.0
Jul 9 2019
1.0
Version: 12.4.1
Like so many others, my lifetime licence I paid for was cancelled.. and there were many times my S/N for this app did not work after an update. I would advise avoiding this developer for these reasons alone.
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
Jul 6 2019
12.4
3.0
Jul 6 2019
3.0
Version: 12.4
Pricy for a bunch of AppleScripts. Fairly comprehensive cache killing system. Slow. Single threaded which means you get to wait with Pin Wheel Of Death (PWOD) while it poops along and other utilities warn that Cocktail is unresponsive and offer to kill it. Errors happen and it says "go look in the logs" instead of just reporting the issues. Activation of the app with the license is up to a 10 hour wait but at least the second party merchants accept Apple Pay.

In reality, we really should not need this app if Apple's system was not so flakey... so happy to have Cocktail but not thrilled with how it works. Based on comments below, fully expect Cocktail to stop working with macOS 15 and that will be the end of my license in a few months which will be frustrating.

If you are thinking about buying this, perhaps better to wait until the start of macOS 15 Catalina support so you can get the longest life from your dollar; as if you read other comments the licensing is not duration based but release based.
JacAbu
JacAbu
Jun 20 2019
12.4
1.0
Jun 20 2019
1.0
Version: 12.4
A historically reliable product has evolved to "DumpsterWare"!
Macguruguy
Macguruguy
Jun 20 2019
12.4
1.0
Jun 20 2019
1.0
Version: 12.4
Interface Tab no longer works
chawya22
chawya22
Jun 19 2019
12.4
0.0
Jun 19 2019
0.0
Version: 12.4
Does anyone else have a problem where, for no apparent reason, you have to reregister this software.? I have the registration info available, in email but that doesn't make it any less of a PITA . No other software I own requires this, at least a couple of times a month.
Ozron
Ozron
May 11 2019
12.3
0.5
May 11 2019
0.5
Version: 12.3
Was a customer for 11 years. Have recently upgraded from Sierra to Mojave and another who found my license key is no longer active. Have contacted the dev and no response yet. Time to move to OnyX.
Pepper131
Pepper131
May 7 2019
12.3
5.0
May 7 2019
5.0
Version: 12.3
Updated and restarted just fine. Ran updated version , restarted. All is well.
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
May 6 2019
12.3
0.0
May 6 2019
0.0
Version: 12.3
Stay away from this guy. You're getting the benefit of many of us who have had run-ins with him. This is NOT one of the good guys.
NedC
NedC
May 6 2019
12.3
1.0
May 6 2019
1.0
Version: 12.3
Whatever you do DONT'T LOOSE YOU RECEIPT. Help is NOT available. 10 Year user went to ONYX.
Xipper
Xipper
Apr 29 2019
12.2.1
0.5
Apr 29 2019
0.5
Version: 12.2.1
AVOID!! Developer will randomly change license terms at will and fails to offer support to users. Developer abandoned any user that has an existing license. When I purchased Cocktail the licenses was "valid for current and future versions" (per their own documentation), however they deactivated license keys and do not respond to any request for support.
RRbob
RRbob
Apr 17 2019
12.2.1
4.0
Apr 17 2019
4.0
Version: 12.2.1
Well, they came good and I have received a new serial number for the Mojave edition. It seems I may have binned their email telling me the new version was out without reading it all the way through. The email gave details of the new serial. Sorry Maintain - I'm back to using the best maintenance tool so far.
RRbob
RRbob
Apr 16 2019
12.2.1
4.0
Apr 16 2019
4.0
Version: 12.2.1
When it works - as it has been since Mojave was launched, it's a great app (Hence giving it 4 stars - this may change depending on Maintain's reply to my email and query submission). However, suddenly, it seems Maintain want us to pay for an update of a product that has worked with Mojave up until last week. I have been using Cocktail for years and thought I too had lifetime upgrades. As for finding the original invoice - come on guys - 3 macs later all I have logged is the serial number which I have sent to Maintain. If the idea is for us to upgrade - tell us - and we will then have the option of spending more money to renew or leaving you for another FREE app that seems to do all that Cocktail does.
NedC
NedC
Apr 16 2019
12.2.1
1.0
Apr 16 2019
1.0
Version: 12.2.1
Don'T try to get a serial or login info, they say they can't unless you can show proof of sale. I'm told its unlawful for them to give it back to registered users.. Its because they are out of country. WAS a user for many, many years. Now I use ONYX. IF you want to keep this product,DO NOT loose your Info. or Change computers. Great Product if you can use it.
MaurizioIsabella3469
MaurizioIsabella3469
Apr 15 2019
12.2.1
5.0
Apr 15 2019
5.0
Version: 12.2.1
Best
Harry-Wagendorp
Harry-Wagendorp
Apr 15 2019
12.2.1
1.0
Apr 15 2019
1.0
Version: 12.2.1
Does not work under Mojave, serial number!, I could not update 12.2
Runner1
Runner1
Apr 9 2019
11.7
0.5
Apr 9 2019
0.5
Version: 11.7
Does not work under Mojave, serial number!
Mark-7faf4d14
Mark-7faf4d14
Mar 26 2019
11.7
5.0
Mar 26 2019
5.0
Version: 11.7
You recommended wrong Cocktail for my High Sierra Correct yourself with your stupid updates
Mac5
Mac5
Feb 20 2019
11.7
1.0
Feb 20 2019
1.0
Version: 11.7
Geez.. here we go again. Opened Cocktail v 12.2 Mojave, only to be asked to once again fill in my details.. Ok, I did this. I was informed my SN or email address was wrong.. Really.. I bought this app in 2008 with a free lifetime upgrade. I've lost count of the times that I've updated this app, only to be asked to fill in all my details again, and again. I'm dumping it.. had enough chasing my tail. Adios Cocktail..