Back to GeekTool page
GeekTool free download for Mac

GeekTool Reviews3.3.1

14 October 2016

Display log files, UNIX command output, and more.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
Oct 14 2016
3.3.1
5.0
Oct 14 2016
5.0
Version: 3.3.1
Indispensable for Mac nerds.
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
Sep 11 2016
3.1.1
5.0
Sep 11 2016
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
version 3.3.1 available (since August) at https://www.tynsoe.org/v2/geektool/
greenwayrod
greenwayrod
Apr 13 2016
3.1.1
4.0
Apr 13 2016
4.0
Version: 3.1.1
Nice and multifunctional application. Easy to understand how it works. Not only for advanced Mac users. Give it a try and you'll like it. Cheers
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
Nov 15 2015
3.1.1
5.0
Nov 15 2015
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
up to version 3.1.3 for El Capitan (as of 21.Oct.2015): http://projects.tynsoe.org/en/geektool/ -HI-
Bradsmith74
Bradsmith74
Oct 12 2015
3.1.1
5.0
Oct 12 2015
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
First, great system tool. You can use it as little or as much as you want, and it's very extendable if you take the time to run with it. For an idea of the capabilities (and for some creative ideas) do a google image search for GeekTool. Second, the software was recently updated to 3.1.2 for compatibility with El Capitan. For some reason the auto software update detection in the 3.1.1 app isn't detecting this, so you'll need to download it directly from the developer's site: http://projects.tynsoe.org/en/geektool/download.php
Hugo-and-Luigi
Hugo-and-Luigi
Apr 30 2015
3.1.1
5.0
Apr 30 2015
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
Love it, nothing wrong with it, free. What more do you want? I have used it for years and since I may not upgrade past 10.8 in my lifetime I may be using it forever.
Macfleckno
Macfleckno
Feb 4 2014
3.1.1
2.0
Feb 4 2014
2.0
Version: 3.1.1
Clumsy to use; no way to uninstall the program.
Wolpertinger
Wolpertinger
Nov 15 2013
3.1.1
3.0
Nov 15 2013
3.0
Version: 3.1.1
I found Geektool to be a mixed bag. The features it provides are very helpful, but the abysmal user interface and the nonexistent documentation make the learning curve very steep. E.g. I spent a whole day experimenting and googling to figure out how to call a shell script file from a geeklet (you have to use "source ~/.bash_profile" on the second line after the shebang, or the output of commands won't be displayed). Also, while Geektool runs without problems on my 10.7.5 machines, it behaves completely haphazard on my 10.8.5 server (Geeklets not being displayed at all, clicking the "close" button of a geeklet not having any effect, etc. etc.). On most of these cases, it helps to kill GeektoolHelper in Activity Monitor. Do not expect to get any help from the forum on the developer's website, as it is overrun with spam.
El-Duderino
El-Duderino
Sep 26 2013
3.1.1
0.0
Sep 26 2013
0.0
Version: 3.1.1
Absolutely bizarre that there is no GUI means of deleting a single geeklet within a group; that you have to go through the faff of not just deleting a plist entry but also quitting not only the application but also the helper application to stop the one you want to get rid of persisting anyway and yes am quite aware the workaround would be to put every single .glet into a separate group but this is rather beside the point and also not much use if you've already got all your geeklets in one. This seeming interface idiocy spoils exploration of the app somewhat... Quite content to stand corrected if there is some really obvious "Delete" button that I'm just not seeing somehow but regardless Geektool should just let you delete a .glet on highlighting it and pressing the delete key (it's not as if backspace in that context is assigned to anything else!) But perhaps this would all be too... ungeekily straightforward?
Jgj
Jgj
Sep 13 2013
3.1.1
5.0
Sep 13 2013
5.0
Version: 3.1.1
Fantastic app. It's called GeekTool for a reason; you have to already have some geekery ability to make it do much of interest. If you don't know what a shell script is, or how to write one, or are totally unfamiliar with things that live in /usr/bin, you won't be able to do much besides put images on your desktop. And most other things don't make a lot of sense then. But if you are a Geek, it couldn't really much get easier to use. It could use improvement in certain areas. For instance, it often reshuffles the order of which geeklets get loaded first. This can ruin a carefully-crafted desktop. If you try to fix this, you can, but you run into the fact that GeekTool keeps track of its geeklets by means of hexadecimal UIDs instead of the names that you already gave your geeklets when you created them. So to shuffle their order in the plist, you have to write down which UID goes with which geeklet. There should be a box or something in the app's preferences that allow you to change the load order of geeklets, and shows you a list of them by name (not UIDs). It would probably work smoother if there was something in the preferences that allowed the user to set a custom $PATH. One gripe: 3.1.1 came out, and it destroyed the look of Monaco at 9pt and 10pt. They are now antialiased, where they never were before. Monaco looks *terrible* antialiased at those sizes, and having it antialiased makes things displayed look much, much less geeky :) Indeed, I'd love to see it get the ability to optionally disable antialiasing for *any* font (like in Terminal).
Jisss8
Jisss8
Aug 25 2012
3.0
4.5
Aug 25 2012
4.5
Version: 3.0
Very nice app, and it's indeed not only for geeks. I don't understand a thing about the commands, but I found the commands I needed just by googling them. For someone who isn't a geek, it's too difficult to use without some research, but there are a lot of easy tutorials which you can follow. You don't even have to know what the commands mean, you just need to know what you want. So google it, follow the steps in the tutorials, copy and past and you're done.
Noivad
Noivad
May 19 2012
3.0
4.0
May 19 2012
4.0
Version: 3.0
I tried this app a few years back and found it difficult to figure out how to use. I found the need for something like this again, and tried it again. Unfortunately, I didn’t realize I needed a different version for Lion so setting it up wasn’t working (the site wasn’t incredibly clear about that months back: It is the standalone app you need for Lion BTW. The System Prefs Pane does not work). So finally, I tried it yet again, saw the warning, and got it running fairly quickly. I’ve read the first page of reviews: you don’t _have_ to be a geek to use this app, but it helps. If you know a few Unix shell commands and are willing to learn, you will be well rewarded. Since GeekTool free and anything you leaner can be used in the CLI, you won’t be wasting money or time. My favorite feature is the ability to make things float over everything else. (I wish it would optionally bring things to the front automatically for a second when updated.) I already knew all the essential shell commands, so once I got a working version, it was easy to adapt to. (Note: any command that self-updates in place such as “top” will cause problems since GT takes care of refreshing.) I found just loading the security, system and kernel logs works well, and is light on the processor load (since displaying logs is essentially a tail command: 0.1%CPU {2.53GHz/DC} & ~30MB RAM). Also, I loaded uptime, calendar, and a few other slow refresh commands. It you find that geek tool is taking up too many resources, lower the refresh times. If you read the sites about configuration, there are a ton of helpful tips, and prebuilt sets one can download. Try DuckDuckGo.com and look for “GeekTool” with “tips” or “configuration” if the developer’s site isn’t enough. (I noticed documentation is getting better on the dev site last time I checked about a month ago.) BOTTOM LINE: If you want to know what is going on in your system without buying various monitoring programs, want complete configuration, and are willing to read a bit, GeekTool is well worth your time.
Xente
Xente
Jan 24 2012
3.0
4.0
Jan 24 2012
4.0
Version: 3.0
GeekTool is really cool and it's not only for geeks. Just google geeklets and you'll find a bunch of them. Only complaint is that it's pretty bad on memory. I closed it because it was taking 200 mb of my ram. I'm just glad I'm gonna upgrade to 8 gb of ram--I'm just waiting for it to come in the mail.
waggonerwheel
waggonerwheel
Jan 3 2012
3.0
4.0
Jan 3 2012
4.0
Version: 3.0
Like the user below me, I downloaded it from MAS and I found it to be difficult to use without doing some research. There are tutorials on the web that helped me learn this tool.
Mikebenda
Mikebenda
Oct 3 2011
3.0
3.5
Oct 3 2011
3.5
Version: 3.0
Downloaded it from the App store and although I'm not a geek, I found a lot of materials online where I learned the basics on how to use this app. It would be nice if the developers would provide a basic tutorial and perhaps step-by-step instructions for beginners. It would also be great if finished desktops could be "packaged" into template files that one could install. I stopped using it after a day because I found that the time I had displayed on my desktop was always incorrect. The system time was correct and displayed correctly in the menu bar but not with this app. I searched but couldn't find a solution.
Macmend-com
Macmend-com
Sep 26 2011
3.0
5.0
Sep 26 2011
5.0
Version: 3.0
wouldn't be without it, an amazing little tool and in case you were wondering the Lion version (experimental) is here http://dl.dropbox.com/u/1760713/GeekTool-3.0.2.zip/
tilleyrw
tilleyrw
Sep 12 2011
3.0
0.0
Sep 12 2011
0.0
Version: 3.0
I am following the GeekTool guide at LifeHacker. My background color (desktop) is blue. The text GeekTool defaults to black. Nothing is visible. I check all colors in preferences and yet nothing is visible. I don't know if this curious piece of software is working or not.
tilleyrw
tilleyrw
Sep 12 2011
3.0
0.0
Sep 12 2011
0.0
Version: 3.0
Glowing reports abound for this software. It doesn't work for me. After downloading from the App Store, it is an application not a prefPane for the System Preferences. I must open it from my applications folder. The rest goes downhill as scripts from the web don't work for me. Something ain't right and I think it's me.
Petersphilo
Petersphilo
Sep 4 2011
3.0
5.0
Sep 4 2011
5.0
Version: 3.0
GeekTool is simply amazing! I've been using it ever since it first came out! It still works under Lion, except i can't figure out how to configure existing Geeklets, other than doing it in Snow Leopard, and using the preference files in Lion... Oh well.. Small price to pay for such a great product Also, contrary to a report below, GeekTool has a tiny --and stable-- memory footprint, and uses barely as much cpu as Terminal (it really all depends on what you do with it!!!) Be Well All! Peter Ps: here's the command to get the stats from 'top': top -F -l1 -n0 If you want to show IP addresses connected to your machine: netstat -f inet -n | grep '.548 ' | awk '{ print $5 }' If you want just the Pageouts: top -l 1 | awk '/VM/ {print "Pageouts: " $9}' if you want just 'Used' and 'Free' memory: top -l 1 | awk '/PhysMem/ {print "Used: " $8 " Free: " $10}' Enjoy!
Thyx
Thyx
Apr 3 2011
3.0
0.0
Apr 3 2011
0.0
Version: 3.0
Welcome Lifehacker readers and good luck! Recently featured over there, but I guess I'm shy and stick with Growl etc.
Billyok
Billyok
Dec 29 2010
3.0
1.0
Dec 29 2010
1.0
Version: 3.0
Freezes constantly, eats memory like it's air. I loved version 2, which inexplicably stopped working today, and had tried but continually uninstalled version 3 because it was so inelegant by comparison. I was amazed tonight to find that nothing had changed in more than a year. I guess development is either slowed or dead. Unless I can get 2 working again, looks like goodbye Geektool.
SimonM
SimonM
Dec 20 2009
3.0rc5
3.0
Dec 20 2009
3.0
Version: 3.0rc5
Although GeekTool can do some awesome stuff, you really do need to be a geek to be able to use it. I downloaded after seeing some cool desktops online but was surprised to find that it doesn't actually come with any scripts at all or any kind of ability to access scripts online, leaving novices dazed and confused about what to do next. What's more, the developer doesn't have a repository of scripts on their homepage or even a forum for users to discuss and share their scripts. This leaves you with the only option of trawling the net to find examples of good scripts, which frankly seems like more effort than it's worth! A little more help for novices and a few example scripts would go a long way, but I guess the geek attitude is you have to learn these things the hard way!
Itistoday
Itistoday
Aug 27 2009
3.0rc5
3.0
Aug 27 2009
3.0
Version: 3.0rc5
While I'm happy to see this is finally being updated, there are still several problems, and one of them is quite unforgivable: - GeekTool is currently taking up 200MB of RAM. This is unacceptable and makes it unusable for me. Such a small problem should not take up so much RAM. NerdTool by comparison takes up only 16.6MB (that could probably be improved too, but it's certainly better than 200). - You can't put a drop shadow on the text from a shell script. - You can't customize terminal colors as you can with NerdTool. I.e. I don't like what it picks for the default green, it'd be nice if that was something I could change. - There's no way to change advanced text output like line spacing. On the plus side though, unlike NerdTool, you when it says "stay on top", your tools will stay above the menubar which is very useful for doing stuff like replacing MenuMeters.
Nicolasd
Nicolasd
Aug 13 2009
3.0rc5
5.0
Aug 13 2009
5.0
Version: 3.0rc5
Love this little program. So glad it's back and updated!
Estnyc
Estnyc
Aug 6 2009
3.0rc4
0.0
Aug 6 2009
0.0
Version: 3.0rc4
As much as I'd love to have a newer, shinier Geektool, I had to turn this off. It doesn't use much RAM, but it ballooned to using 35 GB (yes GB) of virtual memory, slowing my iMac to a crawl. Maybe next release...
chris984
chris984
Jul 29 2009
3.0 RC1
0.0
Jul 29 2009
0.0
Version: 3.0 RC1
Is there a way to import the old settings? The idea of setting this up all over again kinda makes me sweat
Giovanni-Lanzani
Giovanni-Lanzani
Jul 29 2009
3.0 RC1
0.0
Jul 29 2009
0.0
Version: 3.0 RC1
It's really great, however if a display the output of top -ocpu -FR -l2 -n20 | grep '^....[1234567890] ' | grep -v ' 0.0% ..:' | cut -c 1-24,33-42,64-77 it doens't justify it, even if the terminal does (this holds also if I put the above inside a script).
Blacksmith-tb
Blacksmith-tb
Jul 8 2009
2.1.2
0.0
Jul 8 2009
0.0
Version: 2.1.2
The all-new (Leopard or better) GeekTool 3 is in beta: http://thememymac.com/2009/geektool/more-on-geektool-3/
Yuletide
Yuletide
Mar 5 2009
2.1.2
0.0
Mar 5 2009
0.0
Version: 2.1.2
Loved this app back in the day (like last year) but lack of developer support has left it buggy and increasingly irrelevant... off to give MkConsole a try
Mntbighker
Mntbighker
Jun 26 2008
2.1.2
0.0
Jun 26 2008
0.0
Version: 2.1.2
If you run most of the time on Leopard as non-admin neither Geektool or MKconsole can show you /var/log/system.log because of lack of permissions. Somehow Console.app manages to in "Log Database Queries" but NOT directly. Is any of this registering with anyone? I am torn between thinking you should not have routine access to system.log as a regular user, but I also need to see it, so for convenience I would like to solve this.
Balthamos
Balthamos
Nov 27 2007
2.1.2
0.0
Nov 27 2007
0.0
Version: 2.1.2
I'm running Leopard (10.5.1) on a MBP and I have been having sleep issues with Geektool running. Of course, I can close the lid and it will fall asleep, but if Geektool is running and I just let the Power Saving preferences take it's toll, it doesn't fall asleep. If the refresh time on a GT entry is greater than the sleep time, the machine will fall asleep. But that kind of eliminates the whole purpose of the utility if I can only refresh every 10 minutes. Does anyone have a solution to this problem, or at least experience the same problem I'm having?
Xyz043
Xyz043
Nov 10 2007
2.1.2
0.0
Nov 10 2007
0.0
Version: 2.1.2
GeekTool 2.1.2 kept crashing my PB G4 1.67 GHz DL when waking from sleep on 10.5.
10base-T-Dev
10base-T-Dev
Mar 23 2006
2.1.2
0.0
Mar 23 2006
0.0
Version: 2.1.2
doesn't run for me with Tiger 10.4.6 on MacBook Pro
Guest
Guest
Jul 6 2005
2.1
4.3
Jul 6 2005
4.3
Version: 2.1
Love GeekTool. Note to developer (assuming you are still working on this amazing little preference pane): Under Tiger, I get these messages in the system log. /Library/PreferencePanes/GeekTool.prefPane/Contents/Resources/GeekTool.app/Contents/MacOS/GeekTool: The function CGSDictionaryObjectForKey is obsolete and will be removed in a Tiger update. Unfortunately, this app, or a library it uses, is using this obsolete function, and is thereby contributing to an overall degradation of system performance. It would seem this would be a minor API change to make to the app to make it more compatible with Tiger. Here's hoping for continued development on one of my favorite little utilities.
Guest
Guest
Dec 15 2004
2.1
4.3
Dec 15 2004
4.3
Version: 2.1
GeekTool is simply fab for running on servers, where you can display the secure.log file on the desktop, and see people log in real time. Magic, and many many thanks!
Guest
Guest
Jul 23 2004
2.1
4.3
Jul 23 2004
4.3
Version: 2.1
I wrote a perl script that formats the text oupt with \t. Looks good in the shell but in GeekTool ignores the text formatting and squishes all the text together
Guest
Guest
Feb 10 2004
2.0
0.0
Feb 10 2004
0.0
Version: 2.0
Just one thing to say ... IT S ROCKS ! Thank to the developpeur ... hey bart_ ! ;) Don't slow your mac as konfabulator ... ... really great !!!
Eableson
Eableson
Oct 16 2003
2.0
4.8
Oct 16 2003
4.8
Version: 2.0
A fabulous little utility, that makes it very easy to keep track of lots of stuff at the UNIX layer of your Mac - or even several machines if you have mounted their drives remotely. Being able to keep a running look at my console, network config, process list and top -u summary all on screen is wonderful. Combined with a second set that monitors the console and various access logs on my server, I can keep up to date with the current state of affairs of my network with a simple hide others from the finder. Thh ability to have multiple sets is really handy, and with the opacity setting of the various panes I can still see the desktop picture. Color coding the sets makes it easy to identify which system I'm looking at. Very slick. Now all I need to test out is if I can run Xback behind it (slightly disturbing idea) and to find a useful graphic online to try out the graphic option. My only desire is the option to define whether a pane should implement word wrap or not, but that's a minor beef.
Guest
Guest
Jul 6 2003
2.0
4.3
Jul 6 2003
4.3
Version: 2.0
I've been running GeekTool for a few weeks now and must say this is one nifty little piece of software. having said that, the geektool menu seems a little twitchy, sometimes not highlighting properly, and when it's enabled the finder doesn't always open a new window when clicked in the dock. (it's taken me this long to make that connection and is not a big deal.) of course turning the menu off is as simple as clicking a checkbox, so this hardly warrants a serious complaint. also, when playing games that change the screen resolution things get moved around and don't automatically return to their original positions. disabling and re-enabling seems to take care of it though, so again, not a biggie. overall this is really good. two thumbs up. highly recommended. one of the few add-ons i'm really attached to.
Guest
Guest
May 12 2003
2.0
4.3
May 12 2003
4.3
Version: 2.0
I totally love this program. I keep trying to download the new version but the download won't work. Aargh.
Guest
Guest
May 10 2003
1.0
4.3
May 10 2003
4.3
Version: 1.0
nifty utility - I always use it to display the output of /var/tmp/console.log so you can see what went wrong without the need to open console