Back to Photo to Movie page
Photo to Movie free download for Mac

Photo to Movie Reviews

5.4.1.0
15 February 2017

Create a movie by zooming/panning over a photo.

Aristophanes
26 November 2008

Most helpful

A decent program that does a few core things well. Nice clean interface. It is, however, very expensive for a being a one-trick pony. It fills a niche, but would probably see a lot more downloads and sales at $20 versus $50. Less is more.
Like (5)
Version 4.2.1

Read 53 Photo to Movie User Reviews

Rate this app:

Elandy
09 September 2018
This is a fantastic app for animating still photos and making slide shows. Whenever I wrote to the developer, I get a reply. It has a unique interface which is relatively simple to learn the basics and also has deep controls to do every thing you need for slide shows and moving animations of stlll photos.
Like
Version 5.4.1.0
LanceS8179
23 December 2013
Support is nonexistent. I have e-mailed, left messages etc. No response. Apple app store doesn't have latest version and since it was bought through that outlet, I can't update. Totally frustrated. Don't spend your money here.
Like
Version 5.2
Jimge
25 June 2013
I have gone off PTM that I originally used to like a lot, mainly over the difficulty in adjusting the duration without messing with the transitions and other controls. It seemed kludgy last time I used it. Also, from a marketing perspective, the yet-another and unimaginative picture of a grinning child on the icon says it is a program for moms or adoring dads, not serious slideshow producers.
Like
Version 5.2
Macs007
11 January 2012
This can mostly be achieved with the latest iMovie as default - with better control too. Not to speak of the most ugly unintuitive GUI. Sorry .. not good and certainly not for a whopping $50
Like (2)
Version 5.0.7
1 answer(s)
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
29 September 2012
A solution to a problem that doesn't exist.
Like
Hilbo60
11 December 2011
Many apologies to all concerned in this discussion, as this comment has nothing to do with the software, but is it not time to give "does what it says on the tin" a extremely hurried burial?
Like
Version 5.0.5
Shiny22
26 May 2011
I bought this back at v2 or thereabouts. It does what it says on the tin and you can get good results quite quickly. However their upgrade policy stinks - even to the stage where point updates get charged for, and it really hasn't got that many new features. If I kept upgrading by now I would have bought Final Cut Express - which is a whole to more capable. So, I did. BTW am I the only one who thinks it odd that they release a v5.0.0 but it has, as known issues, "Rendering and performance issues with effects and transitions"? Do I understand this correctly? We have a new version, we're charging for it but it doesn't actually work very well?
Like
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
26 May 2011
Version 5.0 is a beta. For a short while there was a mistake where we only had the beta listed and not the current stable version (which is now listed) 4.7.4.1.
Like
Jacko
26 March 2011
This app is on sale today at Apple's app store for $9.99. I just upgraded $29.99. I am irritated. However, if I can't get any of my money back, the least I can do is try to save others a few bucks. My favorite feature of the program is that it will automatically time out your photos with the soundtrack without the soundtrack being one contiguous sound file. Some of the other programs will only time out with the first sound file if you've added say multiple songs. To get the same results, you have to dump your files in a program like Amadeus and join them together. This is too much work for me. Lastly, the quality of the finished presentation has been great in my opinion.
Like
Version 4.7.3.1
Mtcobra
15 March 2010
Paying (again) $49 for an upgrade to a Beta is nonsense. I've had this program for some time, but just ‘haven't gotten around to really using it yet.' No excuse on my part, understood, but I don't like paying twice (or more?) for upgrades. I've removed it from my system, and learned a lesson in the process.
Like (3)
Version 4.2.7
1 answer(s)
Lq-Graphics
Lq-Graphics
16 March 2010
The beta was posted here without our knowledge or permission and we've since reverted the posting. We generally don't expect users to pay for beta testing; on the other hand, we're a small company and we make money only on sales and upgrades so we want to make it clear to our customers that if they're beta testing, they will eventually need to buy the software if they want to keep using it.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.7
Brockhurst
20 November 2009
The claim that this program is superior to iMovie is arrant nonsense. It may be easier to use, marginally, but the quality of the output images is poor. Ken Burns type 'movies' devised with iMovie and sent via Mobileme are absolutely superb; devised with Photo to Movie and sent by any of the options presented, they are blurred and second rate. But the biggest gripe I have is with the company itself. Customer support is, in my experience, non-exixtant. I have never had a response to a single question asked, and I would advise anyone to think twice before wasting their money on this program. It is little more than a toy.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.7
6 answer(s)
Lq-Graphics
Lq-Graphics
17 March 2010
Email us again. We are very active with tech support (although it was definitely less so last year when we were doing development...). But we also fixed a problem with out outgoing mail where if you were on some domains the mail would never arrive. I'll be happy to look up your specific emails and track down what replies we made (or didn't make). support@lqgraphics.com
Like
Version 4.2.7
Ficheye
Ficheye
10 June 2010
I also own iMovie, but it doesn't do many of the things that Photo to Movie does... that's why I got it. It's main attributes is the zooming functions that can be programmed to follow a linear path. imovie does not do that. Your comments seem to be focused more on your anger about paying for something that you thought was too expensive. I can understand that. But some of your other criticisms are fantasy based. I think that you didn't really use the application as it was meant. True, iMovie has some good processing and effects, but it's 'Ken Burns' effect is limited, to say the least.
Like
Version 4.5.6.2
Brockhurst
Brockhurst
10 June 2010
My irritation with the Photo to Movie program had nothing to do with the Ken Burns transitions. It was the fact that I was unable to send the finished product by MobileMe without an unacceptable loss of image quality because, it would seem, the writers may have assumed that .Mac was the same thing as MobileMe, and it isn't. That at least was the conclusion that the Apple technicians came to after examining Photo to Movie; they couldn't get it to work either. But my main gripe was that none of the emails I sent to Photo to Movie concerning this problem were answered, and it was a full four months after posting my comments that I got any response at all. I have spent the whole of my working life, 40 years, in the graphic design industry, so FICHEYE can rest assured that I am not unfamiliar with the Ken Burns effect and the production of slide shows.
Like
Version 4.5.6.2
Lq-Graphics
Lq-Graphics
10 June 2010
If you're having trouble with uploading to MobileMe, contact me again via email support@lqgraphics.com. I'd like to get things working for you. There is no reason that you shouldn't be able to get a high quality video uploaded to MobileMe. Also, regarding tech support: our response time is usually within a few days; but sometimes we make a mistake or email is blocked as spam. I apologize for the previous lengthy response time you experienced! I can see how that would have been frustrating.
Like
Version 4.5.6.2
Corpsecorps
Corpsecorps
12 June 2010
The Ken Burns effect can be accomplished with iMovie?
Like
Version 4.5.6.2
Lq-Graphics
Lq-Graphics
12 June 2010
iMovie can also do the Ken Burns effect -- but Photo to Movie produces a nicer version of it. One of the problems with iMovie is the 'flickering' that occurs due to aliasing. Photo to Movie includes an algorithm called 'adaptive blur' which minimizes the flickering. You can read more about it in our March 2010 newsletter: http://www.lqgraphics.com/software/newsletter_201003.php
Like
Version 4.5.6.2
Jimge
19 September 2009
There is much to like about this program. However, I have yet to find a way to fix a movie length as an absolute and then adjust lead in and lead out etc within that fixed length. I am guessing that most users embed the final clip within another video as an edit. In which case, you want to be able to specify clip length. PTM lets you fix the length of the motion component only, not the actual clip length, as far as I can see. Then you have to do mental arithmetic to add in the head and tail length. It is not hard math, just counter-intuitive. Please tell me I am wrong and there IS a way to set and LOCK the clip length.
Like (2)
Version 4.2.5
1 answer(s)
Lq-Graphics
Lq-Graphics
17 March 2010
There's no way to do this currently. I'll get it into the program, though. You've given a good easy description of why it's a good feature.
Like
Version 4.2.7
Jimge
07 February 2009
Photo To Movie is one of the few programs in this genre that allows you to see the audio wave form. This makes it easier to match slides to the beat. I like the ability to readily manipulate clip durations and behaviors, as well as choose paths and intermediate key frames. Overlap and dissolve is a very useful function, and it is easy to add titles and credits, and end up with a slideshow that fits the music length, or you can choose to have the slides finish before the music and fade to black.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.3
Aristophanes
26 November 2008
A decent program that does a few core things well. Nice clean interface. It is, however, very expensive for a being a one-trick pony. It fills a niche, but would probably see a lot more downloads and sales at $20 versus $50. Less is more.
Like (5)
Version 4.2.1
Holaola
31 October 2008
por fin un programa con la calidad que la foto de hoy permite. el unico "defecto" eran los titulos que no permitian ningun efecto, pero ahora con el 4.2 esto se ha solucionado( me hubiera gustado otro tipo de efectos, pero eso es otra historia). lo uso en un mac leopard con 4 gigas de ram. el poder por fin llenar la pantalla 16:9 es un agran adelanto. por ahora me parece que por ese precio está muy muy bien.
Like
Version 4.2
Swamijim
09 April 2008
This is a wonderful program for anyone who wants to manipulate images more than iMovie allows but not get into terribly sophisticated (and much more expensive) software. Once you get the hang of it, you'll find it very easy to use. And Chris Meyer at LQ Graphics is aces. I had an issue when I was trying to build a movie using a number of small, black & white images of 75-year vintage, and he promptly gave me good guidance. He also said 4.1 was going to be even better; I'm eager to use it. Cheers, Swamijim
Like
Version 4.1
Laraine
31 March 2008
I've been playing around with this for quite a while. I wanted to give it a fair spin before making a judgement. It seems very good. It's certainly not difficult to learn. Unfortunately, I think it needs something more powerful than my G5 1.8 because it doesn't work at all smoothly for me. Everything happens in jerks, a bit like iDVD 4 on my previous machine, a G3 upgraded to G4 1GHz. The resulting movie, once exported to iDVD 6 and played there, doesn't jerk, but the jerkiness makes it difficult for me to judge what the resulting slide show will look like. It also means it takes longer to do each photo in my slide show than it should. I must add that I use higher resolution photos than Apple seem to recommend, and maybe this is what causes the jerkiness. But I don't see how lower resolution pictures could look good played back on an 8-foot-wide screen. I'll take another look at this program when (or should that be if?) I manage to buy a faster Mac.
Like
Version 4.1b19
Albois
05 February 2008
Photo to Movie works fairly well but the UI is not very nice. Sound support isn't interesting because you can't make fade ins and fades out anywhere in the sound track. The is no bin where you can have all your pictures and drag them one by one into the timeline. There is a main bin to reshuffle all the pictures at once but that's it. A holding bin would be much better. When you drag the picture it would be removed from the bin and you would no exactly what pictures are not in the slideshow. You could move the picture back and forth from the bin to the timeline. Upgrade price is way to expensive for the minor differences between PtM 3 and 4.
Like
Version 4.0.9
Ficheye
12 December 2007
I have a new iMac 2.16 mhz. Lots of room on my hard drive. When I first downloaded this application it displayed the preview of the movie perfectly. Now I have 'updated' to the newest version. Twice. It will not display the preview without seeming to stop and start and act oddly. I created the smallest file possible for this experiment. All of my iMovie files play without any problem, no matter how large. This program does lots of things that iMovie doesn't do. I'd love for it to work better, but until they address the preview problem it's not very much fun to work with. That's what initially attracted me to this application. Fun and ease of use. Now I'm just frustrated. I'm sure other users have had the same problem, so I suspect that the recent reviews were not posted by actual 'users'.
Like (1)
Version 4.1b15
Nurdley
15 November 2007
I paid $50 for this program many months ago and it is worth every penny. I have created presentations and slide shows, and when a close friend died prematurely, a made and burned to DVD a 25-minute memorial tribute that traced his life from childhood. The family values having such a memento. I cannot recommend Photo to Movie highly enough, all you need is some creativity and you can make your photo albums come alive--with sound, too! No, this is not a solicited recommendation--I don't often bandy praise around for a product, but this one compels me to do so. When the b comes off the new version, I'll buy it without hesitation.
Like
Version 4.1b13
Autoworldmobilia
05 October 2007
This app is great! Easy to use and excellent communication from the developer! Try the demo and you will know!
Like
Version 4.1b10
CharlesTeton
30 August 2007
This app is worth the money... It only gets better and better. Many thanks.
Like
Version 4.1b3
Mark Gibson
23 August 2005
The functionality and ease of use is fantastic. Exactly what I am after to quickly produce moving slide presentations. The only annoying thing about this program along with others similar to it, the output quality is just not up to scratch. Why cant they seem to get this vital part of it right? Still having to do all my presentations in Final Cut express.
Like
Version 3.2.3
Anonymous
04 July 2005
I think $50 is a bit too much to charge for this application, but other than that, it's superb.
Like
Version 3.2.3
Anonymous
22 March 2005
For me the best and easy way to create professional slideshow, with much more feature than PTM... is FotoMagico!! Try it... http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/15278
Like
Version 3.2.1
Anonymous
25 February 2005
Integrated media browser! Me like, me like. It's really useful. Makes doing things a lot quicker. Nice to see apps that integrate the content of the iApps. Keep on developing!
Like
Version 3.2b2
Anonymous
25 February 2005
Compared to imovie and Motion Pictures, P2M is definitely a more versatile and feature-rich program for making animated slide shows. It handled a complex, 18-minute, two-sound-track (spoken text and music) production with no problem. Superimposing longer written texts onto the moving pictures involves some juggling with the title tool. More features for incorporating long texts would make this a great tool for making educational videos.
Like
Version 3.2b2
Ivan3
13 February 2005
This app may suit some but for downright speed and quality(although more limited tools) "Moton Pictures" which i got bundled with Toast is the BEST.
Like
Version 3.2b1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 February 2005
By the way, Motions Pictures is also developed by LQ Graphics and they also sell it under Image Surfer - at $49.95, same as Photo to Movie, it's too pricey, though. Better buy Toast and get it bundled or get the new iLife '05, which also lets you make slide shows.
Like
Version 3.2b1
Anonymous
22 December 2004
Very good app. Very good for making high quality slides, with lots of image control. Also good for quick visualisations of film shooting locations and for making storyboards! I could very well see an add-on package to accommodate storyboarding better. This apps seems to miss drag & drop shuffling of stills, which is a shame. I would also like to see this app's interface given a professional polish - including its icon. But very nice app overall. Very good visualisation and presentation tool! Nothing comes close in this regard.
Like
Version 3.1.12
Anonymous
01 August 2004
One quick addition to my review below concerning the price. Yes, $50 is a great deal of money, but how much is your time worth to you? I have found that I can produce a superb slide shows much quicker using P2M than other apps. To me, this, the attention to detail and the excellent service justify the premium in price over competing products.
Like
Version 3.1.6
Anonymous
01 August 2004
Excellent product and service! I have tried iMovie, Still Life and always come back to P2M. I find that I can get to my desired end product more quickly and easily with P2M, and the results are of very high quality. Additionally, the author is extremely responsive to comments, bug reports, etc. If you are looking for a tool to do slide shows, I highly recommend giving P2M a try. The title may not be as clever as "Still Life", but the execution and end results are what matter.
Like
Version 3.1.6
Timplaster
24 July 2004
you're WRONG! This app is so freakin cool! Here's an idea... find someone with an Anniversary, or wedding, or birthday, or any special occasion, and offer them a movie with 100 stills for $50. No one can honestly refuse that offer. Say you'll throw in music for another $25. Get the pics, set the slideshow prefs, drag them into this program, pick the music, sync it up, export it to DVD, and congratulations, you get to collect $50 and move past GO. peace.
Like
Version 3.1.6
Anonymous
22 July 2004
50 bucks no way the app is ok great HCI making it very easy to use. I cant get past the price sorry im sure there are apps out there that do just a good job for free.
Like
Version 3.1.5
1 answer(s)
Timplaster
Timplaster
24 July 2004
you're WRONG! This app is so freakin cool! Here's an idea... find someone with an Anniversary, or wedding, or birthday, or any special occasion, and offer them a movie with 100 stills for $50. No one can honestly refuse that offer. Say you'll throw in music for another $25. Get the pics, set the slideshow prefs, drag them into this program, pick the music, sync it up, export it to DVD, and congratulations, you get to collect $50 and move past GO. peace.
Like
Version 3.1.6
Anonymous
02 July 2004
Uhhm. What does "Improved timeline performance when dragging (major). Improved timeline dragging performance (minor)." mean, exactly?
Like
Version 3.1.5
1 answer(s)
LQ Graphics, Inc.
LQ Graphics, Inc.
07 July 2004
Specifically it means that we are now caching a few parameters inside the timeline editing portion of the software that speed up timeline editing substantially. It is particularly noticeable if you have hundreds of photos. Most end users don't know (or care) what "caching" is, so instead of providing programmer level details, we try to summarize in a way that end users can understand. You can e-mail us directly if you want more information about this or any other feature.
Like
Version 3.1.5
Jo von Matten
02 July 2004
I can't believe this. Don't get me wrong, this is a nice tool and offers more than iMovie when it comes to stills. Is it worth $50? I don't think so. Here are 'reviews' from people who claim to be 'professionals'. Why would a 'professional' use a basic package like iMovie? It's a good piece of software, but it's genuinly overpriced... this particularly because iMovie is *not* a professional package. Somebody mentioned Still Life which is just under $25...
Like
Version 3.1.5
1 answer(s)
LQ Graphics, Inc.
LQ Graphics, Inc.
07 July 2004
If anyone is interested to check up on facts, please e-mail us directly. We have numerous testimonials and examples of users who use our application professionally to produce slide shows. We have several users who regularly use Photo to Movie to make their living too. Still Life is a good piece of software and users who want to save $25 should take a look. But we feel that if you compare Photo to Movie to Still Life, feature by feature, you'll find that you get a lot more product with Photo to Movie.
Like
Version 3.1.5
Anonymous
29 May 2004
This App is great, much better than the ken burns effect of imovie, but 50 $ are extremly to much
Like
Version 3.1
Timplaster
29 May 2004
The best third party app I've seen in a long time!!! Great job!
Like
Version 3.1
Anonymous
29 May 2004
I'm having a very difficult time believing the rave, 5-star, reviews on here. They sound like cheap ads rather than real opinions. Once the "raving awesome" and the "raving sucks" reviews are taken out, all you have left are very similar reviews describing an overpriced application that may have a few minor improvements over iMovie. But, on the other side of the coin, iMovie has many other major advantages such as seamless integration with other iLife aps, and is a much more complete and well-rounded video editing program. If you send your $49 to Apple, besides receiving iMovie, you will also get Garageband and iDVD for free, as well as iPhoto for organizing and easily importing all those photos you'll be using in your videos. http://www.apple.com/ilife/
Like
Version 3.1
6 answer(s)
LQ Graphics, Inc.
LQ Graphics, Inc.
29 May 2004
I'm having trouble believing that a "reviewer" is giving links to other unrelated products such as iLife. I'm the developer and I hope that regular users of this forum take the time to check out our product, form your opinion of the product yourself, and hopefully purchase it from us. We're very responsive to user feedback and it is unfortunate when "reviewers" post items such as this. Visit our web page for more info: http://lqgraphics.com/software
Like
Version 3.1
LQ Graphics, Inc.
LQ Graphics, Inc.
29 May 2004
Another annoyance: This "reviewer" has posted anonymously. Why not post with your name and e-mail if you're so worried about the legitimacy of these reviews? Anyone and everyone reading this post should feel free to e-mail me directly and ask about features, comparisons, suggestions, and even drawbacks to using our software.
Like
Version 3.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 May 2004
"Photo to Movie enables you to create a movie by zooming and panning over a photo. It presents a simple interface to specify the starting and ending frames and generates full quality QuickTime or DV Stream files (compatible with iMovie)." "...unrelated products..."? I think not.
Like
Version 3.1
LQ Graphics, Inc.
LQ Graphics, Inc.
29 May 2004
It's unrelated in the sense of saying one should purchase a PlayStation for $150 instead of an iPod for $400 since they can both play music. Photo to Movie does a world class job at the "Ken Burns" effect. iMovie includes a low-quality and basic version of the "Ken Burns" effect. They don't really compete. They complement each other. Photo to Movie does a great job at its specific task but doesn't approach the other great features in the iLife product (as mentioned above like GarageBand, iDVD, etc.).
Like
Version 3.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 June 2004
Oh my, with all respect, your comment that Photo to Movie is overpriced is ridiculous! I professionally create photo montage videos and would be willing to pay four times as much for a program with such capability. Its advantages over iMovie/iLife are tremendous, just to name a few: 1) Ability to automatically time photos to music automatically 2) Ability to quickly change photo properties without having to re-render 3) Ability to rotate on motion 4) Support for multiple key frames 5) Bezier curves Photo to Movie is an AMAZING program and makes iMovie look like little more than a toy when it comes to photo animation.
Like
Version 3.1.3
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 June 2004
It's unrelated in the sense of saying one should purchase a PlayStation for $150 instead of an iPod for $400 since they can both play music. Good analogy, Photo to Movie is basically your $400 PlayStation that can only play music. And hey, at least these are comments (like mine), not "reviews".
Like
Version 3.1.4
Anonymous
25 March 2004
Toast and iMovie do the same thing? What are you smoking, dude? Photo to Movie puts iMovie's Ken Burns effect to shame. Not only is it easier to use with many images, the motion rendering is superb. I've compared it to iMovie, FCP, and another shareware product and PTM produces the best output of three. Well worth the money.
Like
Version 3.0.2
20 March 2004
$50.00???? You are out of your mind. Taost 6.0 and imovie do the same thing. imovie is free.
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
19 February 2004
I love this app !!! i have a huge bank of digital photos and i did a lot of stuff for a DVD ... so i'm using Photo to movie and the result is really good !!! i export then the movies with Sheervideo codec before Mpeg2 encoding, and it's EXCELLENT :-) really GREAT !!!
Like
Version 2.7.3
Anonymous
14 February 2004
This is very expensive for a "utility." If you purchase TOAST 6.0 you get this same functionality with the Motion Picture 1.0 app, CD Spin Doctor for sounds, and TOAST. $57.99 at Amazon.com with free shipping....
Like
Version 2.7.2
Anonymous
03 January 2004
With no fanfare and no warning, Photo to Movie 2.2.2 uses the old code but anything since then requires a $19.95 upgrade price. (apparently, no other info on info page.)
Like
Version 2.6.2
Andyau
03 January 2004
I haven't used Photo-To-Movie in the last few releases and with this lastest release (2.6.2) my registration key doesn't work. Do I have to re-register?
Like
Version 2.6.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 January 2004
here's a novel idea, contact the developer(s): software@lqgraphics.com
Like
Version 2.6.2
Anonymous
12 December 2003
Great software easy to use admirable technical support
Like
Version 2.6
Anonymous
12 December 2003
$49.95 is too expensive for this application.
Like
Version 2.6
Anonymous
23 November 2003
simply amazing..I used After Effects and final cut to do what this does so easily...excellent!
Like
Version 2.5
Gordymac
05 September 2003
Regarding the price: I'm glad I bought this back in the day. Regarding the software: Rotation is just what I've needed all this time, it works great! Thanks for adding this feature.
Like
Version 2.2.2
Anonymous
30 August 2003
Although a great little application $49.95 is a little steep for a one trick pony.
Like
Version 2.2
Andyau
30 August 2003
Finally added rotate. Damn nice.
Like
Version 2.2
Frontdrum
20 February 2003
Photo to Movie brought me exactly what I had been dreaming of in a documentary film making tool. I have archived thousands of photos over the past 35 years, and Photo to Movie allows me to finally give them the treatment they deserve. Almost no learning curve with this cool application! The most valuable software in it's price range, for certain. And the best part about it is the many updates that roll in on a regular basis. I am happy to have supported this energized development team, who ever they are!!! Thanks!
Like
Version 1.1.2
Anonymous
05 February 2003
Nice large preview window. Simple to use, can work with it right away. Able to add frames so that you can move in an arc, not just a straight line, when panning. Easy to set up the pan or zoom or pan and zoom. The GUI is very intuitive. Drag and drop or us menu to import when getting the photo to work with. Can control the pan speed with regards to acceloration and deacel.
Like
Version 1.1.1