Back to Apple Remote Desktop Client page
Apple Remote Desktop Client free download for Mac

Apple Remote Desktop Client Reviews

3.9.3
23 June 2017

Client component for Apple Remote Desktop.

Danway
06 March 2008

Most helpful

I don't understand all the bitching about Remote Desktop. I works beautifully. Absolutely no problems with installs, updates or other tasks. Maybe people should actually read the documentation that comes with it.
Like (5)
Version 3.2

Read 35 Apple Remote Desktop Client User Reviews

Rate this app:

bell-juliet
14 December 2017
Apple remote desktop is good. Alternatively, you may try tools like logmein, R-HUB remote support servers for all your remote desktop needs. They work well.
Like
Version 3.9.3
Derekcurrie
16 May 2016
v3.8.5.1 has been out since May 3rd. So you may well have already installed it via the Mac App Store.
Like
Version 3.8.5.1
1 answer(s)
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
17 May 2016
i find very strange is that's only available for 10.10 while 10.11 has still the old 3.8.5 and no updates available. My soft update never showed any. Are you under 10.11 too, or 10.10
Like
kapps
04 December 2012
with ARD client, do I still need to port forward the remote router or is it like login where all that is done through the app ?
Like
Version 3.6.2
3 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
04 December 2012
If you're using a NAT Firewall, you need to set TCP and UDP port forwarding for ports 3283 and 5900 with the router yourself. If you're using encryption, you also need to forward TCP port 22. There's other ports to consider for VNC, etc., but you should probably refer to the user guide. AFAIK, this is all done manually.
Like
kapps
kapps
04 December 2012
Thanks mate, yep am aware of all the ports. I was wondering what the client version was for if it didn't do that for you. I imagined that it maybe worked like logmein. If I set up the admin version on the managing mac and then set the port settings like you have mentioned, what does the client version of ard do ?
Like
Cowicide
Cowicide
05 December 2012
kapps, the client version runs on the target machine you want to control. It's faceless and is enabled through the system preferences sharing panel. If the target machine is running an older version, you can update it remotely as well.
Like
Foulger
03 December 2012
Download from acupdate.com is 6.6.1 from Apples site is 3.6.2
Like
Version 3.6.2
neartheredrocks
24 September 2012
I downloaded version 3.6.1 already more than a month ago. Why is there now another version 3.6.1 instead of version 3.6.2? Looks stupid and confusing to me...
Like
Version 3.6.1
Aargl
30 March 2012
AFAIK, the "client" version is free, not 80 bucks!
Like (1)
Version 3.5.2
Lexicon504
22 July 2011
Just adding a little balance to the idiotic reviews that it doesn't work well with Windows. God what a dumb@$$
Like (5)
Version 3.5.1
2 answer(s)
Timta2
Timta2
30 July 2011
Your comment was unecessary and rude. Apple Remote Desktop supports VNC clients on all OSes. If Apple is going to offer half ass support they should just remove the functionality. I personally use RD to control Windows PCs using VNC.
Like (2)
Trondah
Trondah
18 August 2011
You are the one looking dumb Lexicon.
Like (3)
Mysticalos
21 July 2011
"Addresses several issues related to overall reliability, usability and compatibility." this update rendered me no longer able to connect to my G4 in other room that's on 10.5.8. prior to installing it lion had no troublec onnecting to my macbook on 10.6.8 and G4 on 10.5.8. with 3.5.1 i can still connect to macbook pro but G4 connection fails 100% of the time. So i don't think they addressed much with compatiblity heh
Like (2)
Version 3.5.1
1 answer(s)
The-Jtizzle
The-Jtizzle
21 July 2011
I had this issue at work and found a fix by manually disabling, and then enabling remote management in the sharing pref. Once I did that I could connect no problem remotely.
Like (2)
Donmontalvo
17 September 2008
Seems to resolve some of the dropouts we see when scanning a VLAN.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.2
Danway
06 March 2008
I don't understand all the bitching about Remote Desktop. I works beautifully. Absolutely no problems with installs, updates or other tasks. Maybe people should actually read the documentation that comes with it.
Like (5)
Version 3.2
L008com
16 February 2007
Version 3.0 broke support for VNC. This sucks for me as both my servers run VNC server instead of Apple Remote Desktop server because ARD is a bit less stable. But Since upgrading on my intel macs, I can't connect to my servers at all. The notes on version 3.1 say that VNC support is fixed, or at least imply that it is. But trying to connect to a VNC machine fails every single time in ARD 3.1. I don't know what they are waiting for here. Apple is usually so good about things but every once in a while they really leave you hanging and this is one of those times.
Like
Version 3.1
2 answer(s)
Jory
Jory
22 June 2007
I have successfully used ARD 3.1 to connect via a standard VNC client, so perhaps something is wrong with your configuration?
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
19 October 2007
We use ARD3.1 in many enterprise environments. Helpdesk use VNC to connect without any problems what so ever. Don Montalvo, NYC
Like (1)
Version 3.2
SMcCandlish
05 January 2007
If you can't get this thing to install (e.g. it says that it can't find an existing version to upgrade, but you do actually have one installed), just use Pacifist (available here at MacUpdate) to extract all the bits and pieces and put them in the right places. Hints: To install to /usr/bin and /usr/share (the unixy bits), use Terminal to go to /usr/bin and do "open .", and do the same in /share, to open those usually hidden folders in the Finder, so you can drag-drop from Pacifist into them. Be sure not to overwrite entire folders; i.e. do not drag-drop /usr/share, but open /usr/share/man/man1 and drag-drop the appropriate FILE into that folder; same goes for the stuff intended for /Library and /System, etc. Put the files EXACTLY where Pacifist says they should go (e.g. the app must be in /Applications not /Applications/Utilities or ~/Applications). The only downside is that Pacifist runs a prebinding update after every single drag-drop operation (even for, say, documentation files, which have no prebinding). So it takes quite a while. Lastly, because I trust Apple's installer to get the permissions right more than I trust Pacificist, after doing all of this, I re-run the .pkg installer, which now has an "Upgrade" option, that actually works (it just reinstalls everything I just manually installed, but does it the Apple-preferred way.) PS: Pacifist is a little buggy - sometimes it can take two drag-drop operations to actually get it to do anything. You'll see it working when it happens correctly. Hope this helps folks.
Like
Version 3.1
Rybu03051
17 November 2006
The only thing keeping me from buyg ARD is that you only get 1 admin with each license. We have 4 people who would need access to monitor machines so Apple tells me we would need four unlimited licenses if we want four admins. Really messed up.
Like
Version 3.1
1 answer(s)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
18 November 2006
costs less than timbuktu...the more clients, the more expensive, AND timbuktu is only a remote control client (lacks 95% of apple's ard features). don
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Donmontalvo
17 November 2006
upgraded to ard3.1 on my macbook pro. scanning is much, much faster (doesn't stall across subnets when you define ip ranges). still lacking contextual menu support in main window...we should be able to select a computer (or a group of computers) and use contextual menu to do things. for instance, i should be able to select a computer, right click and choose "ssh to machine" and a terminal window should open prompting me for my password in terminal for ssh connection... don
Like (1)
Version 3.1
BDog
12 September 2006
A year later, and here I am echoing the below comment; Maybe you should fix the issues and bugs before charging more than the OS itself. Ever heard of open beta? My "all computers list" has 1000+ clients in it, and if I click on that list, I am going to have to wait at LEAST 10 minutes while it updates all the status. Hey, maybe I don't want to update the status, ever think of that? Give me a stop button maybe? Copying files is still horrible, though at least it usually works on the 8 or 10th try. ARDAgent always crashes. My "get info" window doesn't work. Still many crazy keyboard bugs (sometimes it won't type or it holds down the option key without your knowledge). Many times, a client says "offline" but if you click observe, hey, there it is! Way to many bugs to be a final version (oh wait, how long ago was this released?). I hate to say it, but this app is as buggy as the Finder, if not worse.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Anonymous
15 September 2005
Maybe you should fix the issues and bugs before charging more then the OS itself. Ever heard of open beta?
Like (1)
Version 2.2
3 answer(s)
Steve Jobs
Steve Jobs
15 September 2005
Back at you: ever heard of the word 'than', and are you aware of its usage? "Maybe you should fix the issues and bugs before charging more then the OS itself."
Like
Version 2.2
Donald Rumsfeld
Donald Rumsfeld
21 October 2005
Identity theft is a crime
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 November 2005
Hi i'm having trouble trying to figure out how i can turn the VNC option off. There are 3 computers that are on my Airport Network, but other ones that are not, always have VNC On. These computers are some of my other family's computers, who are all pretty much computer illiterate, so it would be nice if i was able to control their computers and copy items, etc without having tasks constantly fail. Thank you for any help i can get on this.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
13 October 2004
Join the discussion at http://discussions.info.apple.com/webx?14@233.rvdlayOTycp.0@.689cc634
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
13 October 2004
When launching the app a custom installer updates Panther Sharing Prefs,claims to be "Done" and quits. So the app never starts...
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Eduard Henkampo
Eduard Henkampo
23 October 2004
before I even consider bying this product, what's the story about several of you complaining it won't start up? sounds weird that apple sells a product that does not start up.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
12 October 2004
After I downloaded ARD 2.1 with Software Update it asked for my serial again and then wouldn't take it. So I'm left with uninstalling or not using it. Any ideas?
Like
Version 2.1
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 October 2004
It did the same thing for me, but I don't know how to uninstall it. I'd appreciate any advice for getting rid of this update.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 November 2004
I agree.... WHATUPWITDAT????
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 November 2004
Same for me. Tried to use the uninstaller from apple but after reinstalling v2.0 it stil "install" and I'm left with the "done" button only. Tried to remove ARD files & .pkg manually plus apple uninstaller but still same problem. Result : since my 2.1 update it just does'nt work. :-((
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 May 2005
For uninstalling ARD see http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=108021.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
12 October 2004
This update broke my copy of Remote Desktop. When RD starts up now, it has a custom installer that appears to update the Sharing Prefs and RD itself. When the updates are finished, I am left with one button, labeled 'Done.' So I click and RD quits. Repeat.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 June 2005
that happenened to me so many times and I became very frustrated, it would never load the program. Fortunately, it ended up opening up a month later when I decided to give it a try. You'll have to ask an expert on why that happens.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
12 October 2004
2.0 has many many problems. Hopefully this version will actually be usable.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
12 October 2004
I still wish there was a way to force 64 or 256 colors when connecting to other VNC servers and/or clients. Trying to use VNC services with Apple Remote is just not feasible at this point.
Like
Version 2.1
Kballard
12 October 2004
To download this update, use Software Updater.
Like
Version 2.1
Schmelding
11 October 2004
So, is this a free upgrade from version 2.0?
Like
Version 2.1
4 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
11 October 2004
Presently, there is no information on that matter. Further, we could not find any download link for this 2.1 version. MacMinute broke the news of this update and we gave them credit for it on the MU page for Apple Remote Desktop. All the info we could find on this release comes from the good folks at MacMinute.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 October 2004
According to MacCentral, it's a "free upgrade for registered 2.0 users"; however, nobody has a link to the actual update package...
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 October 2004
Find it here. http://www.apple.com/support/downloads/appleremotedesktop21client.html
Like
Version 2.1
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
12 October 2004
We've updated the MacUpdate listing to include download links for the 2.1 updater.
Like
Version 2.1
leoofborg
11 October 2004
The fact that they are now VNC compatible tells you that even Apple knows who is king in the RD space, and where this software is going.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
21 June 2004
This is great software!! I can now manage my entire school computer lab from my PowerBook in my office. Thankyou Apple for another great product!!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
21 June 2004
I simply cannot believe there is not "upgrade pricing" for this. I get no props for laying down $299 eight months ago for Remote Desktop 1.0 (now at 1.2). Just unbelievable!
Like
Version 2.0
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 June 2004
And your investment is still working ... Stop whining.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 June 2004
and BTW, you still have a fully functioning product, that you didn't pay upgrade pricing for, which means you can legally sell it, which will get you, ooh, a discounted price on the full version. cheers
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 June 2004
Run software update. This should update your software to the newest version.
Like
Version 2.0
leoofborg
leoofborg
12 October 2004
the previous two posters give sound advice, to which I will add my own; take this up with Apple Customer Service. If enough admins do this, it will give them incentive to treat the customer better.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
21 June 2004
Some Mac users are such whiners. ARD is a LOT more than OSXVNC. I've used both -- there are some key benefits to using ARD - including the ability to install software simultaneously on multiple machines. It's much more than a simple VNC client.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 August 2004
Your right! It's not just another VNC client. It's slower.
Like
Version 2.0
leo of BORG
21 June 2004
Whatever, Apple. The rest of us use OSXVnc.
Like
Version 2.0
4 answer(s)
Stickboy11
Stickboy11
21 June 2004
Apple's Remote Desktop 2.0 upgrade lists some pretty neat new features compared to 1.2. Namely a "VNC Compatible Server" and "Control/Observe/Share with any VNC compatible server"... that's cool.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 June 2004
Is your brain connected to your mouth at all?
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 June 2004
What a maroon! ARD 2.0 is much more than just a VNC client. You should bother to do a little reading before opening your mouth and spewing nonsense. I'm particularly excited about the some of the new asset management tools built into ARD 2.0. I'm hoping that it can integrate into our existing TrackIt system, so we can have our PC and Mac inventories in the same database.
Like
Version 2.0
leoofborg
leoofborg
11 October 2004
anonymous cowards are what they are. The fact that none of you has anything constructive to say other than the tedious mac zealot line shows you to be crApple shills or ARD Developers. ARD is not neccessary for a 2 - 5 machine setup and is not secure for remote (as in over the internet) administration. It's slow and sluggish. Heck, even Timbuktu is faster and cross platform to boot.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
29 March 2004
cool software but not perfect...
Like
Version 1.2.4
Anonymous
18 December 2003
guys...this is an update for the "client" only, which is built in to OS X. it will NOT update the "admin" tool.
Like
Version 1.2.4
Anonymous
17 December 2003
I don't understand: my Software Update indicates that I can d/l it... meaning that it's detected the software on my system and wants to update it, or what? I have no need of Apple Remote Desktop -- so would there be a benefit of installing it? Has Panther installed it already, albeit the preceding version? Are there components to ARD that other areas of the system would use?
Like
Version 1.2.4
Anonymous
03 April 2003
From the Description in Software Update: The Apple Remote Desktop v1.2 client software must be installed on any computer you plan to manage with the administration version. RTFM ppl.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
17 March 2003
Its kinda slow, and cursors are messed up... I'm just testing the admin out at the school, and i certainly wouldn't pay $500 for it...
Like
Version 1.1
Anonymous
28 April 2002
I like it a lot. Very convinient to wake up the whole office of iMacs with one click, looks very slick. My clients are very impressed.
Like
Version 1.0.1