Back to Carbon Copy Cloner page
Carbon Copy Cloner free download for Mac

Carbon Copy Cloner Reviews5.1.25

04 February 2021

Easy-to-use backup/cloning utility.

How would you rate Carbon Copy Cloner?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Jan 19 2021
5.1.24
5.0
Jan 19 2021
5.0
Version: 5.1.24
It's one of them rare applications that is really made with love to details put in to every aspect!
Mcr
Mcr
Jan 5 2021
5.1.24
5.0
Jan 5 2021
5.0
Version: 5.1.24
for the benefit of all, note that Apple has completely overhauled how Big Sur is installed and boots and manages files. The entire OS and files are locked down with check sums to prevent malware from corrupting the OS. To my knowledge the only app that can properly create a bootable clone of Big Sur is Carbon Copy Cloner and ONLY on Intel Machines, and only because the author of CCC has figured out how to use Apple's built in functions in Big Sur (on Intel) to properly make a clone bootable. Those same Apple functions are buggy on Big Sur running on Apple Silicon chips. The authoer of CCC explains all of this in detail on his website. So if you have Big Sur be wary of any cloning software claiming it can clone, if you wish a bootable copy. At this time, the basic workaround is to use cloning software (preferably using CCC) to clone, then install Big Sur to the clone...it won't touch your data, apps or prefs, it will just (re)install the OS and in the process will 'bless' the drive and make it bootable, and data, applications etc are maintained. You should then be able to continue cloning data and apps to the backup, and it 'should' maintain it's bootability, but keep checking it. If it fails or loses ability to boot, yep, install Big Sur to the clone again. 5 stars to the author who has spent countless hours reporting bugs to Apple and keeping the pressure on them to address issues related to booting, APFS, system protection and so on. People need to understand the incredible WORK and EFFORT put in just to maintain compatibility with each new version of macOS. read here https://bombich.com/blog/2020/11/03/yes-you-can-have-bootable-backups-on-macos-big-sur
imraniqbal31
imraniqbal31
Jan 5 2021
5.1.24
5.0
Jan 5 2021
5.0
Version: 5.1.24
I've been using the CCC for years. It works great! If you plan to upgrade mac hardrive, just close the current drive with new one, swap and it works like a charm! The cloned disk is bootable. I use it weekly for multiple macbooks in the house.
nobody2011
nobody2011
Oct 17 2020
5.1.21
5.0
Oct 17 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.21
The best app / updater I`ve spent my money. No problems in last years. It works like a charme. New version is out: https://bombich.scdn1.secure.raxcdn.com/software/files/ccc-5.1.22.6082.zip
jones234
jones234
Sep 16 2020
5.1.21
5.0
Sep 16 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.21
It has been working flawlessly for many years. Never gave me any trouble.
mgj203456
mgj203456
Sep 4 2020
5.1.21
5.0
Sep 4 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.21
It is my all-time favourite app. I am a computer semi-literate and CCC has never failed me. Thanks to the Developer.
John217
John217
Jul 23 2020
5.1.20
5.0
Jul 23 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.20
Essential. Wouldn’t be without it.
tstorms493
tstorms493
Jul 22 2020
5.1.20
0.0
Jul 22 2020
0.0
Version: 5.1.20
In google search it said FREE, You do not even have free to try. Deceptive advertising it's all about making the sale lining your pockets with our money!
Slimeyapple
Slimeyapple
Jun 21 2020
5.1.19
1.0
Jun 21 2020
1.0
Version: 5.1.19
I’m lucky that I have not NEEDED CCC lately... but when I’ve needed to clone my HD In the past it has b even awesome
Grichte
Grichte
Feb 14 2020
5.1.15
5.0
Feb 14 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.15
La meilleure application de sauvegarde tout simplement.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Jan 25 2020
5.1.14
5.0
Jan 25 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.14
Yup, another gotta have app!!! Should your Time Machine fail this app WILL save your behind. Fine support. Well worth the price even at double the price.
leo-logical
leo-logical
Jan 22 2020
5.1.14
0.0
Jan 22 2020
0.0
Version: 5.1.14
Thanks so much! Coming from being a PC user for so many years, it was a little confusing trying to figure out how to clone by using the standard Disk Utility, as some things were not available that were showing on related YouTube videos. However, Carbon Copy Cleaner got it taken care of, allowing me to swap out an old slow hard disk drive for a new fast solid state drive. 8)
jbuckle40
jbuckle40
Dec 13 2019
5.1.14
5.0
Dec 13 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.14
Excellent product. I needed to upgrade my mac with an SSD drive to make it go faster. Carbon Copy Cloner did a super job. The app takes you through a simple procedure to clone the old drive and then you simply swap the drives. Great job. Thanks
robprint
robprint
Nov 9 2019
5.1.13
5.0
Nov 9 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.13
Does what it say on the tin. Very easy to use no complications. I used it on Mac mini as I was unable to download OSX on my new SS HD. Thank you for providing such an excellent programme.
iMacWare
iMacWare
Oct 20 2019
5.1.13
5.0
Oct 20 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.13
CCC (Carbon Copy Cloner) is probably the easiest of the tools I have used to clone my drives. I have also used SuperDuper! and Disk Drill.
andrew-likes-mexico
andrew-likes-mexico
Sep 28 2019
5.1.11
0.0
Sep 28 2019
0.0
Version: 5.1.11
i realize this isn't a troubleshooting forum, but i've tried about 10x now to clone my hard drive to a new drive using CCC and keep running into the same problem. After a certain amount of time - between 10 min and 30 min of data transferring - data transfer is interrupted with an error message claiming that the i've disconnected the new drive. the new drive disappears from my desktop, so it is as if it had been unplugged (when of course, it hasn't been). Don't know if this is a bug in CCC, or whether something else is causing this.
Stevie24
Stevie24
Apr 25 2019
5.1.8
5.0
Apr 25 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.8
I run QRecall on all of my Macs plus recommended it to all of my customers. It's fast and the deltas are very small. I use it instead of time machine since these backups run seemingly forever and copy huge amounts of data.
In addition to QR I run CCC for bootable alternative device and managing local filesystem snapshots as they are possible in APFS. Never had any problem and it saved my ass may times..
The most important data is saved additionally to the cloud via Arq.

This triumvirate is my favourite combination to save my data.
iMacWare
iMacWare
Apr 24 2019
5.1.8
5.0
Apr 24 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.8
Carbon Copy Cloner 5, along with the use of Time Machine, is amazing. Have you ever unintentionally messed something up on your drive? Maybe your external drive died and your time machine failed... You can use CCC 5 to clone your drive to any external drive (try using Thunderbolt for best results).
Dgerzeeboy
Dgerzeeboy
Mar 16 2019
5.1.8
5.0
Mar 16 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.8
I downloaded this app two days ago because I needed to duplicate a large group of files to an external HD and my usual go-to duplication/backup software was no longer current. Based on the reviews here and the fact that the developer is generous enough to offer a weeks-long trial period with no restrictions before purchase, I gave it a try. I found it well designed, inuitive, fast and powerful. And it got the job done in good time. Bought it immediately. So should you.
SaJe
SaJe
Mar 15 2019
5.1.8
5.0
Mar 15 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.8
CCC has saved my bacon more times than I can count. I've been using it since I got my first Mac in the mid-Nineties, and it's one of the first things I install when I upgrade. hardware. A true example of "set it and forget it," it runs flawlessly and when Murphy takes a hand, I have a bootable backup waiting for me. Thanks and kudos to Bombich Software!
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
Feb 27 2019
5.1.8
5.0
Feb 27 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.8
Powerful, reliable, and regularly updated to take into account Apple's updates and Apple's bugs. You might not want to spend time making backups. But if you do, this is rightfully the most highly regarded program to do so. I've never once second guessed my purchase.
Sampler
Sampler
Dec 14 2018
5.1.7
5.0
Dec 14 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1.7
I wanted to transfer just three OS 9 apps that I use in Sheep Shaver to another computer. I tried simple transfer via the network, but the sizes of the transferred apps were wrong and they wouldn't open. I then tried SuperDuper over the network with the same result. Finally, I set up the transfer in CCC, hit "Clone" and the apps transferred correctly.

I've had several questions over the years for Mike Bombich and he's always answered quickly with a helpful explanation or solution. A superior app with superior service!
artie505
artie505
Oct 24 2018
5.1.6
5.0
Oct 24 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1.6
Just OUTSTANDING! Performance and support are unequaled.
JohnF1664
JohnF1664
Aug 28 2018
5.1.4
0.0
Aug 28 2018
0.0
Version: 5.1.4
I don't understand all the excitement about this software. Was using it from time to time during past several years and always faced three major flaws: 1) It always brags about something, there's always some kind of error or warning or message during operation or startup or just popping up randomly about what's going on. But what's going on is a simple backup. Please just copy files! 2) When you replace the hard drive you will have to recreate ALL TASKS FROM SCRATCH. Because your hard drive's serial number is now different and CCC doesn't show you previous choice of your backup for a new hard drive. 3) When you add folders to the root of your hard drive being copied - CCC adds new folders to the backup. Did I ask about that? Never! CCC is like a part of CyberNet with its own AI very very hostile towards human beings. And it talks to you without any respect or understanding.
june8
june8
Jul 30 2018
5.1.4
5.0
Jul 30 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1.4
Best in its class.
RoXXXy
RoXXXy
Jul 25 2018
5.1.3
5.0
Jul 25 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1.3
CCC.. Since Day 1 Has always been Full Proof.. Look no Further..Reasonably Priced Stays up on Updates.. Awesome Cusomer Service!! Best Buy on the Planet!!
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Apr 27 2018
5.1
5.0
Apr 27 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1
V5.1 is a stellar update, now supporting APFS snapshots natively, and with a beautiful snapshot viewer. This along with the already existing powerhouse of cloning and backup features makes CCC an essential purchase. In particular I would emphasise CCC has the best documentation I've ever read. The help is comprehensive yet concise, and it is like having an expert sat next to you guiding you you through every process. For example for snapshots, it gives you the best practices and balances what you will gain, and why you would still need clones, and the relative performance merits of each across SSDs and HDDs. Excellent!
Tomq
Tomq
Apr 26 2018
5.1
5.0
Apr 26 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1
Excellent; used for many years (along with TM and SD :-) ) CCC has added many new features lately and especially incorporating the new Snapshot features with Apples new file system.
ben-stamp
ben-stamp
Feb 18 2018
5.0.9
5.0
Feb 18 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.9
I am a customer for a very long time. Though, I do not use it that frequently nowadays. Timemachine is taking care of my data.
bpelka
bpelka
Feb 15 2018
5.0.8
5.0
Feb 15 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.8
Super!
robfol
robfol
Jan 31 2018
5.0.5
5.0
Jan 31 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
Very Powerful, flexible, easy to use and IMHO the best backup app there is. Been using for many years. V5.0 has no problem with High Sierra all the way to 10.13,4 beta. Remember to rotate a couple of external drives and keep one offsite. Just Buy it!
Thuring
Thuring
Jan 11 2018
5.0.5
2.0
Jan 11 2018
2.0
Version: 5.0.5
I'm updating my review on 1/7/18 to 5 stars (I can't change the star rating). Everything seems to be working great now. I swear, it seems sometimes even digital systems can "meld" itself together ... I now have an external drive that can boot and CCC in case my internal SSD blows up (well, sort of) . lol
Thuring
Thuring
Jan 7 2018
5.0.5
2.0
Jan 7 2018
2.0
Version: 5.0.5
I've been using CCC (or SuperDuper) for decades. Having trouble getting either to work well on my iMac Pro with OS 10.13.2 . They have a new file system and new security. I'm not sure who's "fault" it is, but I hope things get worked out because CCC is key to my backup strat. (I'll redo my rating once this gets fixed.)
Laurent-Grisel
Laurent-Grisel
Sep 24 2017
5.0.2
5.0
Sep 24 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
A BIG THANKS for this essential software (the most important for my Mac) and for the suppesion of the historical (as I had requested)
Macs007
Macs007
Sep 23 2017
5.0.2
5.0
Sep 23 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
Still my favorite system backup tool.
frans-3
frans-3
Sep 16 2017
5.0
0.0
Sep 16 2017
0.0
Version: 5.0
Every time at startup the main app starts! It is not under my startup items but for some reason the complete app starts (with interface) instead of just the menu. Very, very annoying! Version 4 did not do this...
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
Sep 14 2017
5.0
5.0
Sep 14 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0
Version 5 contains some very significant upgrades, particularly if you have a sophisticated backup configuration, or backup remote Macs. Pros Version 5 allows the creation of Task Groups. A task group can contain an assortment of tasks to be run in a particular sequence and scheduled as a group. By option dragging a task from one task group into another, multiple Task Groups can contain the same task. The old approach, chaining tasks, was limited because chaining required that the sequence be the same each time or you couldn’t reuse it. This meant that you had to create different tasks that were identical, except for the task they called to run after them. Task Groups free one from these issues. So you no longer have to do some of those ugly workarounds like running your tasks in less than desirable orders, or figuring out how long each task will take so you can “choreograph” them by careful selection of starting times. For copying remote Macs, you now have a really nice GUI interface for filtering what you copy, and what you don’t, that is very similar to what you have for filtering the copies of local volumes. So you don’t have to become an expert on rsync filter rules. ;-) Not Yet Perfect: While it is very, very good. And well worth the upgrade price, there are still some ways in which 5.0 is a “dot zero” release. AFAIK, there I no way to nest Task Groups. That is you cannot put one task group inside of another. The option dragging is a bit tricky. It doesn’t work well if I release the mouse button with the task directly on top of the task group. It seems to work best if I drag the task just to the bottom of the task group. With a bit of practice, you will master it. There are some things that you still cannot do in task groups. For example, if you want to run a script first thing, you cannot set that up in a task group. You must instead set it up in the first task. And it would be really nice if one could use Carbon Copy Cloner to backup to a NAS device, such as a QNAP or a Synology via rsync. But AFAIK, this is not yet supported.
bazlane
bazlane
Aug 26 2017
5.0
5.0
Aug 26 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0
I've used several cloning apps over the years and CCC has been the best of the bunch. Had a small problem once and Mike Bombich responded almost immediately and sorted it out within - if I remember it correctly - around ten minutes. A great app and quite brilliant support. I'm giving it five stars because I'm not permitted to give it 25.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Aug 26 2017
5.0
5.0
Aug 26 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0
Solid app. More comprehensive (and complicated) than SuperDuper! which costs $13 less, but both make excellent cloned backups. I own both. Where CCC pulls ahead is in its ability to clone an internal drive's tiny internal boot partition, and its ability to more easily deal with multiple drives and backup schedules (for a family, for example). I will continue to upgrade to both CCC and SuperDuper (SD is much simpler to use, and my copy is currently used by my parents for scheduled backups on their internal drive to a connected external). In fact, the morning Bombich announced this v5.0 version I upgraded. If you need a simple cheap bulletproof backup SuperDuper! will mostly do what CCC does, for less. But CCC is best if you want your clone to contain Apple's boot partition, and/or you have sophisticated or complicated backup needs re scheduling or multiple drives, then you probably want to take a look at Carbon Copy Cloner.
Rick6
Rick6
Aug 26 2017
5.0
5.0
Aug 26 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0
it's great software!
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Aug 25 2017
5.0
5.0
Aug 25 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0
OK, I'll be the first to venture a review of this new version of Carbon Copy Cloner. First off, this may not be an essential upgrade unless you want or need the new features in version 5. For instance, version 4 is listed on the Bombich web site as High Sierra Qualified. At the same time version 5 is described as being designed for APFS and High Sierra, macOS 10.13. Which means, I think, that it can handle the new file system in Sierra appropriately. So one reason I upgraded was to be on the safe side in that regard, though I won't be using High Sierra right away (as it's still in beta testing as of this post).

Among the new features I find useful is an improved file filtering window which, instead of just noting unchecked files, lines them out in red to make them easier to find in a long list, which can be helpful in custom backups. Just as helpful to me is the ability to group tasks into groups, which shortens my rather long task list. There are some additions that will help new users, including Guided Setup and Restore, which can walk you through the cloning and restoring process. There is also a Cloning Coach that can locate issues and offer advice.

Check out the new features page at https://bombich.com/features, which includes a side-by-side feature list so you can compare versions 4 and 5. I found this particularly helpful in making my decision to upgrade.

That said, I've been using CCC since the old days when you could run it for free indefinitely. I started paying for it when I began using it more regularly. The upgrade from version 4 is 50% off the regular price, which is a better deal than you get with many expensive apps.

If your backup needs are more basic, SuperDuper! is easier to use and costs 25% less. Though for $12 more you get a whole lot more power with Carbon Copy Cloner. Among other things, unlike SD, CCC can back up over a network. Then again, version 5 has a Simple Mode that makes basic backups easier to visualize and manage so you don't actually have to be a propeller-head to use it.
Mac-Ct
Mac-Ct
Aug 21 2017
4.1.18
5.0
Aug 21 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.18
A stunning piece of software. Never ever had a problem with it. Looking forward to Version 5 :-)
Pat-Geerts
Pat-Geerts
Jul 25 2017
4.1.17
5.0
Jul 25 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.17
Best of its class.
lacwbo
lacwbo
Jun 29 2017
4.1.16
5.0
Jun 29 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.16
CCC is definitely the best backup app that I have used. The SafetyNet feature is one that I have used often when one of my files gets corrupted. Much easier to use than Time Machine when a file has to be replaced. Also the support from the developer is fantastic.
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Jun 28 2017
4.1.16
5.0
Jun 28 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.16
The best of its kind, and for a very long time.
Astraloid
Astraloid
Jun 28 2017
4.1.15
5.0
Jun 28 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.15
Minor issue with scheduled backups under El Capitan. Great support: got beta 4.1.16, that fixes the issue.
bin104
bin104
May 21 2017
4.1.15
5.0
May 21 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.15
I have been relying on this application for so long. I donated when it was free because I wanted to support the developer. This is the first application whenever I make a new system volume. Big thanks to the developer.
Tlance
Tlance
May 18 2017
4.1.13
5.0
May 18 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.13
Don't be fooled by the 4-star rating. Look at the reviews and you'll see the less than stellar reviews are form people that had issue with a policy or some other non-application itself issue. CCC.Is.The.Best. Period. I used SuperDuper! for ages. It's developer is one of the most responsive/helpful folks around. But CCC is SD! on steroids. I have three machines each doing a variety of CCC Tasks on a variety of schedules, some tasks simple cloning, some limited/structured data incremental backups, with different ways volumes are handled before and after tasks are run. It's so complicated I had to draw a detailed flow chart for each computer and then merge them so as to manage home network usage. Yes, CCR is a wonder when it comes to doing stuff over a network. And the support is beyond excellent. Couldn't be more prompt nor more detailed and thorough.
bazlane
bazlane
Jan 30 2017
4.1.13
5.0
Jan 30 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.13
I've been using CCC for several years now and only ever had one issue, which the vendor addressed and fixed within (if I remember rightly) two hours. It's worked perfectly ever since and I continue to rely upon it on both my Macs. I can't comment about alternatives (I did try SuperDuper but chose CCC instead), but CCC works perfectly for me.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Jan 18 2017
4.1.13
5.0
Jan 18 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.13
As it says in to description of Chronosync on this web site, it is a professional backup tool. If you need maximum utility in a backup app, Chronosync is the way to go. That said, Carbon Copy Cloner is very capable as well and does everything I need it to. You might say it hits the sweet spot between Chronosync and Superduper! In my experience CCC is too complex for average users who shy away from complicated programs. For them I recommend SuperDuper! which requires a minimum of configuration. Absent that I try to get my clients to use Time Machine, which is as simple as it gets and costs nothing beyond the price of an external drive. Each of these backup utilities serves a slice of the Mac user base.