Back to Carbon Copy Cloner page
Carbon Copy Cloner free download for Mac

Carbon Copy Cloner Reviews6.0.5

14 November 2021

Easy-to-use backup/cloning utility.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
nobody2011
nobody2011
Nov 13 2021
6.0.4
5.0
Nov 13 2021
5.0
Version: 6.0.4
version 6.0.5 ist out. Works like a charme on Montery. https://bombich.com/download
warrenjacobs
warrenjacobs
Oct 30 2021
6.0.4
0.0
Oct 30 2021
0.0
Version: 6.0.4
This software is like the EA of backup software. It might as well be micro-transaction based on the number of times I've been asked to pay! I exaggerate slightly but seriously, purchase it now but don't expect long term support. It will break after a few OS upgrades and you will need to buy it again. I purchased CCC5 ten months ago and now I need to do it again for the Monterey upgrade. When reaching out to the developer they would rather argue about the purpose of their software and tell you that it 'should be fine' though this is not what his marketing is saying in the warning which comes up when starting up CCC5 (it threatens that your files may be inadvertently deleted).
Frodo-life
Frodo-life
Jun 6 2021
6.0.1
0.0
Jun 6 2021
0.0
Version: 6.0.1
Bought it in September last year and can't get a year out of the Software before I need to pay again for an update, I rather stick to SuperDuper. I also had a few issue with CC not working properly on my Machine while Super Duper did backup without an issue. I have a 2020 5k iMac and recently updated from Catalina to BigSur and now every time Carbon Copy Cloner runs in the background for a backup CCC Hangs and affects the whole machine which then needs to be restarted via a force restart.
freddofoxxy
freddofoxxy
May 26 2021
6.0
3.0
May 26 2021
3.0
Version: 6.0
Wow, Dark Mode support - nice thing.
zlazkow
zlazkow
May 21 2021
6.0
0.0
May 21 2021
0.0
Version: 6.0
Can anybody do a short comparison between CCC and SuperDuper ? Which is easier to use etc... Thanks!
Fariborz
Fariborz
May 20 2021
6.0
0.0
May 20 2021
0.0
Version: 6.0
I just bought an upgrade to version 6 without any further hesitation. There’s no need for me to doubt the performance of this old companion after so many years of trustworthy reliability. Backing up my precious data is something I do regularly, and this application is second to none to do properly and in elegant way. The new version contains so many functions and enhancements that it will take me some time to learn all of them, but my first impression has been very positive. If you rely on your data and need a reliable instrument to take the burden off your shoulders, then this is the way to go. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI – Verona (Italy)
Wunderhorn
Wunderhorn
May 7 2021
5.1.26.6180
5.0
May 7 2021
5.0
Version: 5.1.26.6180
Very solid application - and has been for years. There is also a very responsive customer service. Good choice for all things backup!
Pjaym59
Pjaym59
Apr 30 2021
5.1.26
0.0
Apr 30 2021
0.0
Version: 5.1.26
These are the updates for 5.1.26: "Fixed Build 6080 fixes an issue in which CCC was not prompting to establish a bootable backup on Intel Macs running Big Sur (i.e. when the destination is freshly erased). Changed The user's preferred calendar (e.g. Gregorian, Thai, etc.) is now used when determining snapshot labels. Fixed Addressed a small UI issue in which the task name and description would be truncated when restoring a custom sidebar width on launch. Changed Fixed an issue in which CCC would errantly indicate that your Mac is booted from an older OS than what is on the source, when the source is the current startup disk with a staged installation of the next available macOS update. Fixed Addressed an issue in which the user would be prompted to erase the destination (again) despite having an installation of Big Sur. This was occurring when the destination volume was not currently mounted, and typically only after updating the system on the source volume. Fixed Fixed an issue with selecting the Data volume of the startup disk on a remote Mac in the remote host browser. We also weed out read-only volumes, and some of the APFS helper volumes, because they're never valid sources or destinations in this context. Changed Fixed a logic issue in which the system file exclusion would be imposed upon a task that's backing up a folder to a volume in the startup disk's APFS container. Fixed Fixed a regression that would lead to the System volume's contents to be loaded in the Task Filter window rather than the Data volume, making it impossible to exclude content from the task that is exclusive to the root of the Data volume (e.g. "cores" and "boot"). Changed On macOS Big Sur, CCC now automatically proceeds with a data-only backup when a SoftRAID device is selected as the destination to a task that backs up the startup disk. macOS (Catalina and later) can't boot from a SoftRAID device, so there's no point in attempting to back up the system to those devices. Changed CCC now issues an error when dropping OneDrive placeholder files, along with directing the user to a Kbase article explaining why these files cannot be copied, and the implications this has on future restore activity. Fixed Fixed an issue in which the Continue Anyway and Cancel buttons in the Cloning Coach could be errantly hidden when the window is attached as a sheet."
Deber
Deber
Apr 29 2021
5.1.26
0.0
Apr 29 2021
0.0
Version: 5.1.26
fselivan, maybe something is wrong in your settings. When I copy my two SSD disks with a MacOS X installed on them (one Big Sur, one Mojave), CCC needs about 30 mins for a new backup of about 300GBs; when I do an incremental update (I do that about every day), CCC takes not more of 2 mins for 4/5 GBs.
fselivan
fselivan
Apr 14 2021
5.1.25
1.0
Apr 14 2021
1.0
Version: 5.1.25
Incremental update advertisement by the developer is making you believe that any subsequent clone creation will take less time. IT WILL NOT... whatever value of new information is being copied, BUT the process to determine such new modifications is identical to creation of a clone for the first time... THUS - you save NO TIME AT ALL... AVOID this MISREPRESENTATION!!!!!!
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Jan 19 2021
5.1.24
5.0
Jan 19 2021
5.0
Version: 5.1.24
It's one of them rare applications that is really made with love to details put in to every aspect!
Mcr
Mcr
Jan 5 2021
5.1.24
5.0
Jan 5 2021
5.0
Version: 5.1.24
for the benefit of all, note that Apple has completely overhauled how Big Sur is installed and boots and manages files. The entire OS and files are locked down with check sums to prevent malware from corrupting the OS. To my knowledge the only app that can properly create a bootable clone of Big Sur is Carbon Copy Cloner and ONLY on Intel Machines, and only because the author of CCC has figured out how to use Apple's built in functions in Big Sur (on Intel) to properly make a clone bootable. Those same Apple functions are buggy on Big Sur running on Apple Silicon chips. The authoer of CCC explains all of this in detail on his website. So if you have Big Sur be wary of any cloning software claiming it can clone, if you wish a bootable copy. At this time, the basic workaround is to use cloning software (preferably using CCC) to clone, then install Big Sur to the clone...it won't touch your data, apps or prefs, it will just (re)install the OS and in the process will 'bless' the drive and make it bootable, and data, applications etc are maintained. You should then be able to continue cloning data and apps to the backup, and it 'should' maintain it's bootability, but keep checking it. If it fails or loses ability to boot, yep, install Big Sur to the clone again. 5 stars to the author who has spent countless hours reporting bugs to Apple and keeping the pressure on them to address issues related to booting, APFS, system protection and so on. People need to understand the incredible WORK and EFFORT put in just to maintain compatibility with each new version of macOS. read here https://bombich.com/blog/2020/11/03/yes-you-can-have-bootable-backups-on-macos-big-sur
imraniqbal31
imraniqbal31
Jan 5 2021
5.1.24
5.0
Jan 5 2021
5.0
Version: 5.1.24
I've been using the CCC for years. It works great! If you plan to upgrade mac hardrive, just close the current drive with new one, swap and it works like a charm! The cloned disk is bootable. I use it weekly for multiple macbooks in the house.
nobody2011
nobody2011
Oct 17 2020
5.1.21
5.0
Oct 17 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.21
The best app / updater I`ve spent my money. No problems in last years. It works like a charme. New version is out: https://bombich.scdn1.secure.raxcdn.com/software/files/ccc-5.1.22.6082.zip
jones234
jones234
Sep 16 2020
5.1.21
5.0
Sep 16 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.21
It has been working flawlessly for many years. Never gave me any trouble.
mgj203456
mgj203456
Sep 4 2020
5.1.21
5.0
Sep 4 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.21
It is my all-time favourite app. I am a computer semi-literate and CCC has never failed me. Thanks to the Developer.
John217
John217
Jul 23 2020
5.1.20
5.0
Jul 23 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.20
Essential. Wouldn’t be without it.
tstorms493
tstorms493
Jul 22 2020
5.1.20
0.0
Jul 22 2020
0.0
Version: 5.1.20
In google search it said FREE, You do not even have free to try. Deceptive advertising it's all about making the sale lining your pockets with our money!
Slimeyapple
Slimeyapple
Jun 21 2020
5.1.19
1.0
Jun 21 2020
1.0
Version: 5.1.19
I’m lucky that I have not NEEDED CCC lately... but when I’ve needed to clone my HD In the past it has b even awesome
Grichte
Grichte
Feb 14 2020
5.1.15
5.0
Feb 14 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.15
La meilleure application de sauvegarde tout simplement.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Jan 25 2020
5.1.14
5.0
Jan 25 2020
5.0
Version: 5.1.14
Yup, another gotta have app!!! Should your Time Machine fail this app WILL save your behind. Fine support. Well worth the price even at double the price.
leo-logical
leo-logical
Jan 22 2020
5.1.14
0.0
Jan 22 2020
0.0
Version: 5.1.14
Thanks so much! Coming from being a PC user for so many years, it was a little confusing trying to figure out how to clone by using the standard Disk Utility, as some things were not available that were showing on related YouTube videos. However, Carbon Copy Cleaner got it taken care of, allowing me to swap out an old slow hard disk drive for a new fast solid state drive. 8)
jbuckle40
jbuckle40
Dec 13 2019
5.1.14
5.0
Dec 13 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.14
Excellent product. I needed to upgrade my mac with an SSD drive to make it go faster. Carbon Copy Cloner did a super job. The app takes you through a simple procedure to clone the old drive and then you simply swap the drives. Great job. Thanks
robprint
robprint
Nov 9 2019
5.1.13
5.0
Nov 9 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.13
Does what it say on the tin. Very easy to use no complications. I used it on Mac mini as I was unable to download OSX on my new SS HD. Thank you for providing such an excellent programme.
iMacWare
iMacWare
Oct 20 2019
5.1.13
5.0
Oct 20 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.13
CCC (Carbon Copy Cloner) is probably the easiest of the tools I have used to clone my drives. I have also used SuperDuper! and Disk Drill.
andrew-likes-mexico
andrew-likes-mexico
Sep 28 2019
5.1.11
0.0
Sep 28 2019
0.0
Version: 5.1.11
i realize this isn't a troubleshooting forum, but i've tried about 10x now to clone my hard drive to a new drive using CCC and keep running into the same problem. After a certain amount of time - between 10 min and 30 min of data transferring - data transfer is interrupted with an error message claiming that the i've disconnected the new drive. the new drive disappears from my desktop, so it is as if it had been unplugged (when of course, it hasn't been). Don't know if this is a bug in CCC, or whether something else is causing this.
Stevie24
Stevie24
Apr 25 2019
5.1.8
5.0
Apr 25 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.8
I run QRecall on all of my Macs plus recommended it to all of my customers. It's fast and the deltas are very small. I use it instead of time machine since these backups run seemingly forever and copy huge amounts of data.
In addition to QR I run CCC for bootable alternative device and managing local filesystem snapshots as they are possible in APFS. Never had any problem and it saved my ass may times..
The most important data is saved additionally to the cloud via Arq.

This triumvirate is my favourite combination to save my data.
iMacWare
iMacWare
Apr 24 2019
5.1.8
5.0
Apr 24 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.8
Carbon Copy Cloner 5, along with the use of Time Machine, is amazing. Have you ever unintentionally messed something up on your drive? Maybe your external drive died and your time machine failed... You can use CCC 5 to clone your drive to any external drive (try using Thunderbolt for best results).
Dgerzeeboy
Dgerzeeboy
Mar 16 2019
5.1.8
5.0
Mar 16 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.8
I downloaded this app two days ago because I needed to duplicate a large group of files to an external HD and my usual go-to duplication/backup software was no longer current. Based on the reviews here and the fact that the developer is generous enough to offer a weeks-long trial period with no restrictions before purchase, I gave it a try. I found it well designed, inuitive, fast and powerful. And it got the job done in good time. Bought it immediately. So should you.
SaJe
SaJe
Mar 15 2019
5.1.8
5.0
Mar 15 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.8
CCC has saved my bacon more times than I can count. I've been using it since I got my first Mac in the mid-Nineties, and it's one of the first things I install when I upgrade. hardware. A true example of "set it and forget it," it runs flawlessly and when Murphy takes a hand, I have a bootable backup waiting for me. Thanks and kudos to Bombich Software!
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
Feb 27 2019
5.1.8
5.0
Feb 27 2019
5.0
Version: 5.1.8
Powerful, reliable, and regularly updated to take into account Apple's updates and Apple's bugs. You might not want to spend time making backups. But if you do, this is rightfully the most highly regarded program to do so. I've never once second guessed my purchase.
Sampler
Sampler
Dec 14 2018
5.1.7
5.0
Dec 14 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1.7
I wanted to transfer just three OS 9 apps that I use in Sheep Shaver to another computer. I tried simple transfer via the network, but the sizes of the transferred apps were wrong and they wouldn't open. I then tried SuperDuper over the network with the same result. Finally, I set up the transfer in CCC, hit "Clone" and the apps transferred correctly.

I've had several questions over the years for Mike Bombich and he's always answered quickly with a helpful explanation or solution. A superior app with superior service!
artie505
artie505
Oct 24 2018
5.1.6
5.0
Oct 24 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1.6
Just OUTSTANDING! Performance and support are unequaled.
JohnF1664
JohnF1664
Aug 28 2018
5.1.4
0.0
Aug 28 2018
0.0
Version: 5.1.4
I don't understand all the excitement about this software. Was using it from time to time during past several years and always faced three major flaws: 1) It always brags about something, there's always some kind of error or warning or message during operation or startup or just popping up randomly about what's going on. But what's going on is a simple backup. Please just copy files! 2) When you replace the hard drive you will have to recreate ALL TASKS FROM SCRATCH. Because your hard drive's serial number is now different and CCC doesn't show you previous choice of your backup for a new hard drive. 3) When you add folders to the root of your hard drive being copied - CCC adds new folders to the backup. Did I ask about that? Never! CCC is like a part of CyberNet with its own AI very very hostile towards human beings. And it talks to you without any respect or understanding.
june8
june8
Jul 30 2018
5.1.4
5.0
Jul 30 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1.4
Best in its class.
RoXXXy
RoXXXy
Jul 25 2018
5.1.3
5.0
Jul 25 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1.3
CCC.. Since Day 1 Has always been Full Proof.. Look no Further..Reasonably Priced Stays up on Updates.. Awesome Cusomer Service!! Best Buy on the Planet!!
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Apr 27 2018
5.1
5.0
Apr 27 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1
V5.1 is a stellar update, now supporting APFS snapshots natively, and with a beautiful snapshot viewer. This along with the already existing powerhouse of cloning and backup features makes CCC an essential purchase. In particular I would emphasise CCC has the best documentation I've ever read. The help is comprehensive yet concise, and it is like having an expert sat next to you guiding you you through every process. For example for snapshots, it gives you the best practices and balances what you will gain, and why you would still need clones, and the relative performance merits of each across SSDs and HDDs. Excellent!
Tomq
Tomq
Apr 26 2018
5.1
5.0
Apr 26 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1
Excellent; used for many years (along with TM and SD :-) ) CCC has added many new features lately and especially incorporating the new Snapshot features with Apples new file system.
ben-stamp
ben-stamp
Feb 18 2018
5.0.9
5.0
Feb 18 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.9
I am a customer for a very long time. Though, I do not use it that frequently nowadays. Timemachine is taking care of my data.
bpelka
bpelka
Feb 15 2018
5.0.8
5.0
Feb 15 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.8
Super!
robfol
robfol
Jan 31 2018
5.0.5
5.0
Jan 31 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
Very Powerful, flexible, easy to use and IMHO the best backup app there is. Been using for many years. V5.0 has no problem with High Sierra all the way to 10.13,4 beta. Remember to rotate a couple of external drives and keep one offsite. Just Buy it!
Thuring
Thuring
Jan 11 2018
5.0.5
2.0
Jan 11 2018
2.0
Version: 5.0.5
I'm updating my review on 1/7/18 to 5 stars (I can't change the star rating). Everything seems to be working great now. I swear, it seems sometimes even digital systems can "meld" itself together ... I now have an external drive that can boot and CCC in case my internal SSD blows up (well, sort of) . lol
Thuring
Thuring
Jan 7 2018
5.0.5
2.0
Jan 7 2018
2.0
Version: 5.0.5
I've been using CCC (or SuperDuper) for decades. Having trouble getting either to work well on my iMac Pro with OS 10.13.2 . They have a new file system and new security. I'm not sure who's "fault" it is, but I hope things get worked out because CCC is key to my backup strat. (I'll redo my rating once this gets fixed.)
Laurent-Grisel
Laurent-Grisel
Sep 24 2017
5.0.2
5.0
Sep 24 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
A BIG THANKS for this essential software (the most important for my Mac) and for the suppesion of the historical (as I had requested)
Macs007
Macs007
Sep 23 2017
5.0.2
5.0
Sep 23 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
Still my favorite system backup tool.
frans-3
frans-3
Sep 16 2017
5.0
0.0
Sep 16 2017
0.0
Version: 5.0
Every time at startup the main app starts! It is not under my startup items but for some reason the complete app starts (with interface) instead of just the menu. Very, very annoying! Version 4 did not do this...
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
Sep 14 2017
5.0
5.0
Sep 14 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0
Version 5 contains some very significant upgrades, particularly if you have a sophisticated backup configuration, or backup remote Macs. Pros Version 5 allows the creation of Task Groups. A task group can contain an assortment of tasks to be run in a particular sequence and scheduled as a group. By option dragging a task from one task group into another, multiple Task Groups can contain the same task. The old approach, chaining tasks, was limited because chaining required that the sequence be the same each time or you couldn’t reuse it. This meant that you had to create different tasks that were identical, except for the task they called to run after them. Task Groups free one from these issues. So you no longer have to do some of those ugly workarounds like running your tasks in less than desirable orders, or figuring out how long each task will take so you can “choreograph” them by careful selection of starting times. For copying remote Macs, you now have a really nice GUI interface for filtering what you copy, and what you don’t, that is very similar to what you have for filtering the copies of local volumes. So you don’t have to become an expert on rsync filter rules. ;-) Not Yet Perfect: While it is very, very good. And well worth the upgrade price, there are still some ways in which 5.0 is a “dot zero” release. AFAIK, there I no way to nest Task Groups. That is you cannot put one task group inside of another. The option dragging is a bit tricky. It doesn’t work well if I release the mouse button with the task directly on top of the task group. It seems to work best if I drag the task just to the bottom of the task group. With a bit of practice, you will master it. There are some things that you still cannot do in task groups. For example, if you want to run a script first thing, you cannot set that up in a task group. You must instead set it up in the first task. And it would be really nice if one could use Carbon Copy Cloner to backup to a NAS device, such as a QNAP or a Synology via rsync. But AFAIK, this is not yet supported.
bazlane
bazlane
Aug 26 2017
5.0
5.0
Aug 26 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0
I've used several cloning apps over the years and CCC has been the best of the bunch. Had a small problem once and Mike Bombich responded almost immediately and sorted it out within - if I remember it correctly - around ten minutes. A great app and quite brilliant support. I'm giving it five stars because I'm not permitted to give it 25.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Aug 26 2017
5.0
5.0
Aug 26 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0
Solid app. More comprehensive (and complicated) than SuperDuper! which costs $13 less, but both make excellent cloned backups. I own both. Where CCC pulls ahead is in its ability to clone an internal drive's tiny internal boot partition, and its ability to more easily deal with multiple drives and backup schedules (for a family, for example). I will continue to upgrade to both CCC and SuperDuper (SD is much simpler to use, and my copy is currently used by my parents for scheduled backups on their internal drive to a connected external). In fact, the morning Bombich announced this v5.0 version I upgraded. If you need a simple cheap bulletproof backup SuperDuper! will mostly do what CCC does, for less. But CCC is best if you want your clone to contain Apple's boot partition, and/or you have sophisticated or complicated backup needs re scheduling or multiple drives, then you probably want to take a look at Carbon Copy Cloner.
Rick6
Rick6
Aug 26 2017
5.0
5.0
Aug 26 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0
it's great software!