Back to Quake X page
Quake X free download for Mac

Quake X Reviews

1.2.1
22 September 2013

Play original Quake game on OS X.

Kalice
20 February 2012

Most helpful

Great update ! This all new version fixes the FSAA bug I was experiencing. Quake lives after all these years, this is awesome !
Like (3)
Version 1.2

Read 29 Quake X User Reviews

Rate this app:

ruchovny
27 June 2018
How can i get the mouse to work on mac high sierra?
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
jpartida-armenta
08 March 2018
Hola, recién estoy viendo tus comentarios y quiero preguntarte si conoces como debo correr maps (de los que hay por montones) para quake 1?, te comento que hay un tipo que creo un lugar que se llama abandonaware y que tiene una colección de juegos que ya no corrían en SIERRA pero el los arreglo para que funcionarán, la cosa es que en el caso de Quake 1 es bastante aburrido jugarlo una y otra vez, lo interesante es jugar los maps que vas encontrando por ahí y no los he podido correr. Tienes alguna sugerencia o solución?
Like
Version 1.2.1
jpcamara
01 October 2016
I have just tested this version of quake on Sierra (macOS 10.12 version) and it works fine, despite the magic mouse that is now working, only the trackpad. Do you know how to solve this issue?
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
guptab3
guptab3
04 December 2016
It's asking for locating id1 folder but I'm not able to find it. Please help.
Like
Ozyr
17 March 2015
Works great, but defaults to 4-player. States to use command line to increase, but no instructions. How does one do this?
Like
Version 1.2.1
EvanH5816
24 March 2014
Great to see quake again however I have issues with instability when entering water. Whenever I enter a fluid it crashes.
Like
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
EvanH5816
EvanH5816
24 March 2014
Apparently it works on some levels but not any of the starting levels or the intro area.
Like
mkm5359
04 October 2013
Quake - Quake 2 still being updated. There are HUNDREDS of Servers out there too. I play or compete with players on weekends or early nights after dinner. http://www.mediafire.com/?931q3cw6emnkv2h Has a Server Browser inside! http://quakepc.com http://quakepc.webs.com (Homepages) They even have servers linked at the sites. Quake/Quake 2 in 2013 is JUST as alive as it was in 1996!
Like
Version 1.2.1
jdryyz
21 July 2013
I tested this on three of my Intel-based Mac minis. I have trouble on the 2012 Mac mini (with HD 4000 graphics) running OS X 10.8.4. When I first launched GLQuake, I was given the option to change the screen resolution. I picked 1280x720 because this worked well on the older mini. When the game screen first appeared, however, it was not in 1280x720. It was more like 1024x768. When I quit and relaunched, the option to change the resolution is now ghosted out. I tried removing any meetings file I could find but I do not see where it is being stored. Usually, this was in an .ini file. I removed the Logitech Control Center as advised but my wireless mouse is not working. My Apple wireless keyboard is fine, however.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
jdryyz
jdryyz
21 July 2013
Disregard all but the wireless mouse problem. I figured out what I did wrong. Guess I could try a different brand mouse. I am also having a problem with the brightness setting not saving. It has been so long since I have played this for any length of time-- was the character movement always kinda choppy? They seem to be skipping frames or something. The movement of my character through the environment is smooth, though. The best it has ever been.
Like (1)
RMACPHK
24 February 2013
I was a big Fan of Quake I and II on Windows, still have the original software. I have since moved to MAC and the Lion Operating System. I would love to run Quake on My New Mac, tried following this and downloading the latest Quakev1.2 , but requires id1 file which i do not have for Mac Lion, any advice on where to get or how to purchase the id1 file. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
mkm5359
mkm5359
04 October 2013
http://quakepc.webs.com http://quakepc.com Also Try Installer: http://www.mediafire.com/?931q3cw6emnkv2h Ask the site owner if u have any issues. I know they have 3-4 mission packs for Quake that is for MAC too!
Like
fabricepsb
20 February 2012
sorry but GLQuake crashes when launched. The application works perfectly in PPC version with Rosetta on my imac intel 24" (late 2006 Geforce 7600GT 10.6.8)
Like (1)
Version 1.2
2 answer(s)
Fruitz Of Dojo
Fruitz Of Dojo
20 February 2012
Did you delete the old glquake folder inside the id1 folder as mentioned in the read me?
Like (4)
fabricepsb
fabricepsb
20 February 2012
oups sorry !!! i didn't read the Read me file Now it works perfectly thank you
Like (3)
Spudboy
20 February 2012
Works great. Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Namadany
20 February 2012
Where do I get Quake I to use with this update?
Like (1)
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
20 February 2012
A 2-star rating for not being able to find a copy of Quake? Is that a rating of your character...?
Like (8)
niewiesznic-1
20 February 2012
Excellent! :D
Like (2)
Version 1.2
umaromc
20 February 2012
I'd be rummaging for my Quake disc were I not playing RAGE... thanks for the update! I missed playing this on my college's LAN when it was new!
Like (1)
Version 1.2
Kalice
20 February 2012
Great update ! This all new version fixes the FSAA bug I was experiencing. Quake lives after all these years, this is awesome !
Like (3)
Version 1.2
Gregjsmith
25 March 2006
Too bad it crashes for me.
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Applecrypt-Mods
19 March 2006
i can't believe this is still being updated!!! fantasic :D
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Hal-9000
19 March 2006
Will not open! Why is the id1 folder not included? Where can i find the id1 folder to play these? What's up with a cripled legacy release? :(
Like (1)
Version 1.1
4 answer(s)
Awe
Awe
19 March 2006
The Quake data files are still copyrighted by id Software so there is no way that I can include the full version of the game with this download.
Like (4)
Version 1.1
Peanut-Butter
Peanut-Butter
19 March 2006
Dude, look at the requirements before posting.... REQUIREMENTS Mac OS X 10.0 or later, ----> Quake 1 (shareware or retail version).
Like (4)
Version 1.1
Thefunkymunky
Thefunkymunky
20 March 2006
How can you install the shareware version of the game on an Intel Mac. Its Classic only it seems. :(
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Awe
Awe
20 March 2006
You can get the extracted shareware PAK file at: "http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/macglquake/Quake106SW_DATA.sit".
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Applecrypt-Mods
11 December 2005
plays 100% here and i've also played a ton of extra 3rd party sp-maps too. Wonderful performance - thank for making :)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.9
Anonymous
17 October 2002
Support for modern video card features is great. But sensitivity is seriously screwed up (drops way down, have to use numbers greater then 70 for acceptable speed, and even then it's not smooth). I'll have to stick with the other OS X GLQuake app for now, until this is fixed :(
Like
Version 1.0.9
Anonymous
30 September 2002
It's actually faster on 10.2?
Like
Version 1.0.8
Anonymous
30 September 2002
Download it!
Like
Version 1.0.8
Anonymous
30 September 2002
Seems that the graphics are way the hell better then the demo I played 3 years ago. And game play is still tops, so it deserves a nice line of 5's.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.8
Anonymous
30 September 2002
Quake for 10!, There goes my weekend.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.8
Anonymous
30 September 2002
Quake for 10!, There goes my weekend.
Like
Version 1.0.8
Anonymous
30 September 2002
Drool...
Like
Version 1.0.8
Anonymous
16 September 2002
Runs great doesn't crash blah blah blah. It can't connect to windows quake servers for some reason. I can search for them, and they show up, but when I try to join it says no response from server. thats why I give it 4 on features and 2 on playability. Otherwise I would give all 5's.
Like
Version 1.0.7
Anonymous
01 May 2002
I cant get this to work using x.. not sure why? Ive tried, and no luck.. :(
Like
Version 1.0.6
Anonymous
18 December 2001
Quake 1??? What about Quake III? Is there an update for the recent games too?
Like
Version 1.0.4
Anonymous
19 November 2001
Looks and Runs great. On an iBook 500, I can use GLQuake at max resolution and it's totally playable.
Like
Version 1.0.2