Back to StuffIt page
StuffIt free download for Mac

StuffIt Reviews

15.0.7
27 September 2012

File compression tool, includes Expander.

Dualist
29 September 2009

Most helpful

"Expansion support for archives created with the latest versions of StuffIt". This is a feature? Wouldn't one take that for granted with ANY new version? There is really nothing at all compelling about this "upgrade".
Like (3)
Version 14.0

Read 93 StuffIt User Reviews

Rate this app:

Miner
08 March 2015
Version 16 is out for some time now...
Like
Version 15.0.7
1 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
17 November 2018
And still no update at MU. Possibly reflecting the popularity of this app...
Like
MacUpdate-Lon
27 September 2012
Stuffit was king before OS X came along. Now it's .dmg or .zip, amongst others. Can't remember the last time I saw a .sitx file. Hard to believe this software hasn't been EOL'd.
Like
Version 15.0.7
1 answer(s)
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
28 September 2012
Truth, and I actually prefer dmg, so much practical, but is also truth that pretty often only stuffit expander can open archives with no problem in password input or language codes. The Unarchiver has some problems that stuffit expander has not.
Like (1)
dalesorel
11 September 2011
Stuffit Destinations is broken under Lion. I tried using it to unzip a file, and even though it said it was putting the unzipped file into the same location as the source, instead it put it into /private/var/folders/xn/g7jg5.../T/TemporaryItems/StuffitLocal... So I told it to ask me where to put the file, and it put the file in exactly the same location. Then I gave it a specific location to put the file, and it once again buried the file deep in my harddrive.
Like (2)
Version 15.0.2
jamesnrth
14 May 2011
Has a butt-ugly and obnoxious interface. Bloated and unstable. Crashed on some of my RAR files. Two thumbs down.
Like (1)
Version 15.0.2
Kapina
27 September 2010
I remember Stuffit from 4-5 ago as a program that "just works". Today the UI is "different" for no apparent reason. It's not exactly hard to use, but not very intuitive either. The website is horrible. First they present you with "deluxe" price - way too high for this kind of tool IMO. When you eventually get to the downloads, the software is offered "for free" if you order some stupid crap from some random companies. Come on! It's hard to make any worse "first impression" than this. I'd like to use your software, but you make it near impossible to like it.
Like (2)
Version 15.0.1
1 answer(s)
r3m1
r3m1
23 April 2012
Another first: To download a trial a CC is needed: * The trial version is free for 30 days, but a credit card is required. If you do not cancel within 30 days, a payment of the full price $49.99 will be processed. We will verify your credit card is valid and in good standing through a credit card authorization and a "pending transaction" may be noted on your account. If you use a debit card, those funds may not be available to you during the trial period. If you decide to cancel within 30 days, the pending transaction will be canceled within 48-72 hours. So if YOU dont cancel your trial, they will bill your CC - this is a first. Stay away from these guys!
Like (1)
Bluestar
22 September 2010
Developers and webdesigners at MithMicro must qualify for the worst UI designers of all time. It's near impossible to find the most basic fundamental pertinent imfo on their website about Stuffit such as the latest version numbers, updates, etc. The software itself is the most archaic stupid UI I have ever seen it's as if they don't want to have the most intuitive and easiest user interface for people - just the opposite. They have been like this for decades and no doubt will continue the practice.
Like (3)
Version 15.0.1
Flash1296
18 September 2010
With all of its faults, Stuffit as to the tightest compression cannot be beat - presuming that you want as much compression as possible.
Like (1)
Version 15.0.0
Cuneyt
18 September 2010
Opening a password protected file, makes Stuffit crash at the end, no result
Like
Version 15.0.0
Cuneyt
18 September 2010
You cant even open multiple files at the same time
Like
Version 15.0.0
Cuneyt
18 September 2010
How do you get rid of Stuffit Destinations opening the destination folder each time you unzip or unrar? How do you get rid of Stuffit Destinations staying opened after unzipping or unrarring. I want it to close by itself after finishing and not open the destination folder JUST LIKE version 14.0 WHICH WAS THE STUFFIT EXPANDER..
Like
Version 15.0.0
Hldwizard
16 September 2010
Why would you pay $120/year for only 8G from sendstuffnow.com when you can pay $99/year for 50G from www.getdropbox.com?
Like (2)
Version 15.0.0
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
16 September 2010
Smith Micro is trying (some would say desperately) to keep this product relevant, now rebranding DropStuff to Stuffit Destinations, to reflect an expanded list of functions, which include a number of destinations in the cloud. Whether this effort will succeed remains to be seen. I need to keep a copy of Stuffit Expander around for legacy files, but rarely use it otherwise. Disc image files (dmg) have largely replaced Stuffit files for archiving data on the Mac and are supported natively in OS X in Disk Utility. OS X also supports zipping files directly in the Finder, which is even easier to use - though many people seem unaware of this capability (right-click a file or folder and select Compress). Naturally, Stuffit Destinations also now includes the ability to create disc images. Indeed, Stuffit cannot be beat for its range of compression options. If you need that kind of flexibility and power I'm sure it would be worthwhile having it around.
Like (3)
Version 15.0.0
Penguirl
16 September 2010
I would be very curious to know how sitx compares to 7z, bzip or gzip.
Like
Version 15.0.0
6 answer(s)
Hal2007
Hal2007
16 September 2010
In my tests, most 7z or RAR archives were smaller than sitx files. I find it disappointing that Stuffit only wants to feature its own proprietary file format. You can unpack 7z and RAR archives, but you cannot create them with Stuffit.
Like (1)
Version 15.0.0
Penguirl
Penguirl
16 September 2010
Thank you for the information HAL2007, I uninstalled Stuffit Deluxe v9 a long time ago before I even knew about 7z so I'm not able to compare them. You are right, having 7z and RAR capability would make the product more useful, perhaps they don't include it because more of their customers would realize just how unnecessary Stuffit has become under OS X.
Like (1)
Version 15.0.0
Dualist
Dualist
16 September 2010
These days storage is so inexpensive that shaving a 20% off file size is practically pointless, unless you're posting to newsgroups or torrents.
Like (1)
Version 15.0.0
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
13 November 2010
It's not pointless, however, to stuff or zip several files and/or folders into only one archive, thus allowing someone to download a stuffit file, or a zipped file, that contains a whole bunch of files and folder within. Whether your container is a stuffit file, a zip file, or a disk image, beyond the compression capabilities, the primary utility of such software is that you can pack several files into one container, encrypt it at your option, and transmit it over the Internet all in one go. If you were downloading 50 files, would you rather go through the downloading process 50 separate times, or just once?
Like
Version 15.0.2
Penguirl
Penguirl
14 November 2010
If you have 50 files to compress wouldn't a tar archive be the best way to go?
Like
Version 15.0.2
bowlerboy-jmb
bowlerboy-jmb
14 November 2010
Having just now read the Wikipedia article on tar archives, I think you make a good point. In countering the argument about the pointlessness of using compression technology, I was merely reminding people in a general way that the convenience factor of being able to archive several files into one container can be just as valuable, if not more so, as the compression technology used to do the job. The Wikipedia article indicates that "Tar archiving is often used together with a compression method, such as gzip, to create a compressed archive," so the two technologies work together to give the best of both worlds.
Like
Version 15.0.2
Posthaste
15 September 2010
Why do people still use StuffIt?
Like (3)
Version 15.0.0
1 answer(s)
Dualist
Dualist
16 September 2010
Because there are literally millions of Stuffed files still in use. There are entire archives comprised of 10s of 1000s of stuffed files that have to be maintained. It would be an immense and expensive project to convert everything to some other format. Also, some old timers like to stick with what they know, and Stuffit has been around for decades. So, stuffed files keep chugging along, to the chagrin of those of us who would much rather use something open source and universal.
Like
Version 15.0.0
Ecbrown
12 August 2010
I desperately want to like this software (DropStuff). I have defended it on several review sites. It combines lot of features that would take at least two (or three) other packages to cover the functionality. Also, I like that it fires on all eight cylinders on my 8-core Mac. But, try this: take a folder of about 100 megabytes in size. Crank up to maximum compression, add a little error correction, and then choose the native sitx format etc. etc. (sitx is actually very good, not knocking it in this review. I don't care if it is proprietary for my purposes.) Also, it is very picky and will often die if you tell it to use the maximum amount of memory (I have 32 gigabytes of ram for goodness sakes). However, the program gets part way through the compression, and then dies. If you roll back the compression ratio, then it will work, eventually. But why do I have to try ten times to find that sweet spot? I can't use it in scripts with any reliability. Smith Micro said that they were "fixing the bug" but still no news after all these months (or a year now?) If they would fix this damned bug, it would be 4 1/2 star software. Please note it works great for .zip and .tar.gz, etc. but so do free solutions.
Like
Version 14.0.1
Thomas-Harte
15 March 2010
Just horrid stuff - arbitrarily proprietary, slow, oversized and prone to adversely affecting your entire system.
Like (3)
Version 14.0.1
Tekl
20 January 2010
I could check compatibility, but that's still sitx.
Like
Version 14.0.1
Tekl
20 January 2010
If you need an older Version to create .SIT files (without X), try this link: http://my.smithmicro.com/downloads/files/stuffit_std_703_x_install.dmg
Like
Version 14.0.1
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
20 January 2010
Can you no longer specify in Preferences if you want .sit or .sitx? (I haven't tried 2010 yet.)
Like
Version 14.0.1
Dualist
29 September 2009
"Expansion support for archives created with the latest versions of StuffIt". This is a feature? Wouldn't one take that for granted with ANY new version? There is really nothing at all compelling about this "upgrade".
Like (3)
Version 14.0
Rog360
07 November 2008
Version 13.0.2 seems to mess up my Apple Menu. So I went back to 13 and all is fine. Please get your apps straight. This thing gets more bugs every update...
Like (1)
Version 13.0.2
star-affinity
27 October 2008
Horrible new icons! Especially when they are shown small, like .sitx archives attachments in an email. Before one could see they were small boxes, now they look like some "green-blob-with-a-faint-square"-thingy. Example: http://home.mac.se/star-affinity/horrible_icons.png
Like (2)
Version 13.0.1
Backpacker
22 October 2008
Having used tools like iDMG to access bzip2 high-compression, it was a nice surprise to return to Stuffit to find that its v13.0.1 'Best Binary Compression' (custom-set at highest level) beat everything else I've tried so far. The time penalty for high-comp settings doesn't seem as great as that for older versions, and the sitx files are much smaller than bzip2-type files. The only quirk has been occasional crash-on-quitting under Leopard PPC on a Quicksilver G4.
Like (1)
Version 13.0.1
Phaseangle
22 October 2008
Do not use the installer. It asks for password but shouldn't very sus. Previous versions just copied to disk so I searched the package and found the folder no problems
Like (1)
Version 13.0.1
2 answer(s)
Stuffit
Stuffit
27 October 2008
StuffIt Standard is completely self-contained. No other components are installed anywhere on your machine. The admin password is required in case your account is a non-Admin user and you do not have write-permissions to the Applications folder. --Eric Kopf StuffIt Product Manager Smith Micro, Inc.
Like (1)
Version 13.0.1
Phaseangle
Phaseangle
19 March 2009
Still this promotes the bad practice of people entering their password for any installer that asks for it.
Like (2)
Version 13.0.3
Owenojo
04 December 2007
This is a shocking, sloppy piece of junk. As many others here have said, it is useless. It cant even correctly open its own file format! Back in olden times, stuffit expander and its related formats, sit, bin , hqx and the dreaded sea thingie, were the standard mac archive formats. Now that many files are zipped, os x deals with these no problem, this thing is only needed to do one thing: open its one native format: a format you only encounter when a) someone made the mistake of encoding a file with this monstrosity, and b) to open old archives/ obsolete software you downloaded. IT CANT EVEN DO THIS RIGHT. version 12, 11, all cant extract a .sit properly without showing zero files, or missing files. How can Smith Micro/Alume/Aladdin (ive lost track!) market this evil, vile bastard offspring off years gone by anymore? Get the free "the unarchiver". it works.
Like (1)
Version 12.0.1
1 answer(s)
Bebdabhrhbrwefg-3r§5y5h4wtedsfb
Bebdabhrhbrwefg-3r§5y5h4wtedsfb
23 December 2007
the unarchiver won't open sitx files. until it does [or people stop exchanging files in crappy stuffit format!] i have to keep this bloated POS hanging around on my hard drive - just in case :-(
Like
Version 12.0.1
C-button
25 February 2007
Absolutely horrendous piece of software. Firstly the small-time developers behind it make you jump through far too many hoops to get a download for what is after all free software, then it's been so poorly coded that it's useless for the purpose it was designed for. Macs have been using dual processors for some time now, yet this app which could *really* benefit from being multi-threaded still only uses one. Nearly every other decompressions app out there is multi-threaded and sees huge performance benefits, but this doesn't and as a result takes forever to compress/decompress large files. Not that it'll take the millions of hours the poorly coded estimate will give you (if you even get one, on multi file archives it rushes to 100% after one file then stays there for ever....), but it's just plain slow. Back in the days of OS 7/8/9 this app was a must. With the advent of the built-in zip compression of OS X this is a vestige best left to the past. Yes, it creates files a few percent smaller than a zip, but then it takes forever for the person you send files to to find the decompresser and install it, assuming they even know where to look. For compressions stick with the Finder's .zip, and for decompressions use The Unarchiver. Both are free and much, much better than this legacy, proprietary lump of slow, buggy bloatware. Sorry Allume, you used to be cool but now you just suck.
Like (1)
Version 11.0.2
Carl-B-
22 September 2006
Betterzip does a far better job for a smaller price and it is only a few months old. I mailed the developer once with a problem and got an answer in two hours, the bug fix was available after 3 days. Try that with Allume!
Like (1)
Version 11.0
Joshua-Kaplan
22 September 2006
Stuffit simply said sucks. Its slow and buggy and I found an alternative thats free and way better called: THE UNARCHIVER
Like (1)
Version 11.0
1 answer(s)
Sbruner
Sbruner
16 December 2009
I'm surprised at all the flames. I sometimes get a little tired of all the upgrade frenzy created by developers needing to create new versions to maintain their income stream, but that said, I've been using Stuffit for many years and versions now (and now version 2010) and it's been pretty good, very useful and stable. I use a lot of different apps on the Mac, which I've been using since the mid 80s, and even the software you would most expect to be stable sometimes has issues. Stuffit is no different but it's worked well for me for many years. I've tried many other apps (like unarchiver), but none seems to be as comprehensive. I'm pretty happy with Stuffit.
Like
Version 14.0
Fabro
21 September 2006
It seems that at Allume nobody knows the concept of "minor version number" ... they release a pair of X.Y.z releases just to fix the most relevant bugs of the latest major release, then after a few months they add one or two features (often not useful for most users) et voilà ... a new "major" release is out ... with overpriced upgrade licenses, of course.
Like
Version 11.0
Startrekker3
22 August 2006
never seen a program in such a high version that is so unstable.
Like
Version 10.0.2
Ddavidmullin
22 March 2006
Nice try, a real quick Compressor, but slow loading by a dial-up, do you have a tiny one (1Meg), just to make a .sit
Like
Version 10.0.2
Valens
14 March 2006
This is why people shouldn't use proprietary compression formats. All these .sits and .sitx files mean that we're subject Allume's tender mercies if we ever want to see our files again. Bah.
Like
Version 10.0.2
Amavida
11 March 2006
* Overpricced (it's just an archiving util after all..) * Poor backwards compatibility * Too many money grabbing releases * Extortionate upgrade policy
Like
Version 10.0.2
2 answer(s)
Davidlaska
Davidlaska
20 September 2006
I completely agree. Backward compatibility ? I do not want to try to explain why I use expander 5.5 for one situation. I agree on all your points.
Like
Version 10.0.2
michael-3abn
michael-3abn
21 September 2006
Well said. At $10-20 it might be reasonable. But the current retail price is a joke. The sitx format isn't THAT good. The application interface is actually quite clunky for such a premium priced product.
Like
Version 11.0
S-P-L-A-T-!
09 March 2006
sooooooooooo slowwwwwwwww for download!
Like
Version 10.0.2
Applecrypt-Mods
09 March 2006
great program but it's worthwhile spending the extra for the deluxe. This standard version is over priced
Like
Version 10.0.2
Anonymous
14 November 2005
The Stuffit utilities have been very useful over the years, but having some compression modes supported on new versions that are not supported on older platforms is a real problem. Even if it is slow to unpack, anything created on any of the platforms that Stuffit has worked on should be unpackable on any of the others. It'd be nice to see a simple direct link to Stuffit Expander by itself for those times when we don't need the full package. And whatever I install should not normally require any kind of administrator access. The fewer things that have that on our systems the better. If a compressor is going to create an archive that is extremely slow to open on older systems, some sort of "Satanic Maximum Compression Mode" alert should be displayed.
Like
Version 9.0.2
semidetatched
19 October 2005
Both stuffit 9 and 10 quit themselves as soon as i open them, or anything with them. It's rubbish.
Like
Version 9.0.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 October 2005
This just started happening with me also, so I reinstalled it with no better results... what's going on?
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 October 2005
Same thing with me... unless I boot in safe mode though
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
11 October 2005
Version 10 of Expander is out... Hellooooo... ? I do like the product though, except that I have to download a bunch of shareware garbage too and then delete it.
Like
Version 9.0.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 October 2005
Correction - you can now download just Expander again, for the first time in years. Thanks Allume.
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
21 September 2005
I've not had any difficulties with stuffit, as long as I used the same or more recent version of the application the archive was created with. These days, I only need the expander. It is possible to get just the expander, but the site it comes from is so dog slow, it's painful. 40 minutes remaining to download the other 2/3rds for the 8.3 meg download. I commend Allume for finding a use for the MacPlus running off of a floppy system install connected via 300baud modem.
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
06 September 2005
I remember being confused several weeks ago when confronted with empty folders after unstuffing .sit files. I now know what the problem is. In Panther or Tiger, Stuffit 9.0.2 will unstuff an enclosing folder fine, but the contents are sometimes invisible. A ten item archive will typically show either no items inside the resulting folder, or only one. Apparently this happens only when you have the "Show Item Info" option selected in the Finder. There is a solution. You can make the Finder update the folder and make the items visible again by dragging a new item into the folder. You can also avoid the issue entirely by turning off the "Show Item Info" option in the Finder's "View" menu. Of course, you lose the functionality of the "Show Item Info" option. Allume acknowledges this is a known bug: http://support.allume.com/techsupport/forum/viewtopic.php?t=542 http://support.allume.com/techsupport/forum/viewtopic.php?t=564 I didn't know until today, however. I am now wondering how many files I lost because I thought the folders were empty. How annoying.
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
01 September 2005
For well over a decade this third party application has been available to compress files on the Macintosh. I don't remember having any problems with Stuffit from 1990-1997. At some point around 1997 updates to Stuffit introduced extreme unreliability for many users having to have several different versions of expander available to "try" unstuffing files stuffed by any number of versions of stuffit. Ever since those troublesome days I've experienced a high percentage of unreliability with unstuffing files. Even these days when I download less than one stuffed file a week and sometimes less than one a month I experience unreliability. IMHO Stuffit is worse than useless at this point it's a nuisance. With OS X there are a number of ways to arrive at a reliable archived file using freely available tools supplied with OS X. I personally look forward to the day no one uses stuffit to archive files I encounter.
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
22 July 2005
Stuffit causes and has caused, for years now (since version 4.5, I'd say), too many problems for endusers. It is not necessary anymore, now that we have OS X. Time for developers to stop using it, Apple does not even ship 10.4 with Stuffit. Can you read the handwriting on the wall? Then dump Stuffit.
Like
Version 9.0.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 August 2005
I agree,people should just zip or tarball their files.
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
22 July 2005
StuffIt still is the best for compression, but it is also the buggiest. You want to REALLY compress files? Use Stuffit. You want ease-of-use? Use apple's archive feature. Too bad apple has soured their relationship with stuffit. It would really benefit everyone if apple bought Allume outright, improving and integrating the SITX technology into OSX. *Sigh*
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
11 July 2005
People having troubles unstuffing (and getting no files in unstuffed folders): Try logging in to another account (make one if need be) and try unstuffing in that one. I just tried it now and seems to work, even if it's a nuisance. Hope it gets fixed in 9.0.3 and I hope that's not far away.
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
08 June 2005
Works for me on 10.4.1. Still sucks though, would everyone please start using OS X's built in "Create Archive of" command. If you're a developer please use internet-enabled disk images.
Like
Version 9.0.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 June 2005
Strangely enough, if you PAY for the product all these bugs, go away.
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
05 June 2005
Please Allume, I beg you. All my Stuffit Applications, shut down immedeately. And I am not the only one. So please do something, it is the 4th week now. It does not work under Tiger 10.4.1 !
Like
Version 9.0.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 June 2005
Eventually Allume will do something. They'll release an update that will cause new problems.
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
29 May 2005
Does not work at all in 10.4.1
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
14 May 2005
Still does not work properly under 10.4. Unstuffed archives show no files in folders. Anyone have a fix for this or experiencing the same problems?
Like
Version 9.0.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 June 2005
Same here. I sometimes end up with an empty folder. But I think it has more to do with Tiger (10.4.1) in general than Suffit. Why? Got the same results with older Stuffit apps.
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 June 2005
Same annoying problem happening with me. And yet to see any solution.
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
12 May 2005
Take This .sit and Stuff It! Read more about what I think about this peace of s... @ http://www.tgr.com/weblog/archives/000361.html
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
06 May 2005
I mount the disk image with this and I get an installer that wants an admin password to install. Where can I find a version that doesnt require this (something like the old Expander and Drop Stuff)? After seeing the comments about iDefrag I don't trust anything that wants to modify my system.
Like
Version 9.0.2
Anonymous
05 May 2005
On the read me file, it says the version of the application will stay at 9.0.1, only the internal components get updated. I say, the title is very misleading, they could have call it security update or something.
Like
Version 9.0.2