Back to AIM page
AIM free download for Mac

AIM Reviews

509
20 June 2016

AOL Instant Messenger client.

Derision
06 May 2010

Most helpful

Let's state the obvious, first: iChat has the market cornered for AIM videoconferencing. Honestly, if you're on a Mac and you have an AIM account, you're most likely going to use iChat to take care of that. It is integrated better with the OS, it operates perfectly fine and, yeah, it has video. What iChat doesn't do, however, is merge the AIM and Facebook contacts as nicely as this. Sure, you can login to Facebook chat using iChat's Jabber protocols, but it isn't nearly as pretty and you don't get AIM's jazzy new "LifeStream" deal which nicely integrates AIM status messages with the Facebook status messages. AIM for Mac also makes use of AIM Expressions which, until now, only worked on the PC side. Another thing that this software does is allow you to login to your ICQ account -- a beautiful feature considering that ICQ for Mac hasn't been updated in seven years. It's not perfect, but it does make an entirely passable alternative ICQ client. People like to malign this software because of the perceived "corporate" or Windows-centric persona of AOL and while this version does lack stuff like video conferencing, it is light years beyond the buggy 4.7 version of AIM that was released before this and, in reality, the feature set of this software easily surpasses Adium's AIM implementation. And Adium is universally loved by all Mac users, despite having the same shortcomings as this software (namely, lack of video). Rather than complain about how it lacks videoconferencing and how it's not iChat and how it's made by AOL and is therefore terrible, let's give credit to AOL for even making the thing at all. AOL could easily have thrown their hands up in the air and said, "Eh, why bother... it's a Mac and they've got their own iChat". They could have, in short, pulled an ICQ, who has no intention of supporting Mac in the future. But they did bother to make something, and they released it and they continue to update it regularly. As someone who got used to fighting with old and outdated pieces of Mac software because of lack of support, I see this at least as a good start.
Like (18)
Version 2.1.282

Read 110 AIM User Reviews

Rate this app:

Macinman
27 March 2013
Hey guys, if any macupdate staff read this, it would seem like mac update's listing of aim is out of sync, The version listed here, is different from what is currently on aim.com. The listing here says 1.0.9, that's not what downloads, and the version on aim.com is:1.2.5.4, the version that downloads from the link listed here is: 2.2.439. The 2.2x version is the old style aim, from when it first came to os x. Just wanted to let people know for the current version of aim for mac go to www.aim.com, until mu fixes their listing. Thanks.
Like
Version 1.0.9
1 answer(s)
Techboy
Techboy
08 July 2014
Doesn't look like they intend on updating this or that they are monitoring it. As of now the app downloaded from the web site is Version 8.0.5.2 (505). It's kind of a "web app" in that it seems to exactly mimic the web version rather than appear like a typical desktop app.
Like
Nicolasd
18 November 2011
is there a way to globally turn off "on the record?" this is the kind of privacy screw-up that got Google and Facebook into a federal investigation.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.439
AlvAmo
17 November 2011
Hello, i tried the application because a friend with a Windows PC, to do a video chat. It work badly, and now, when i use iChat, every time i send a message to him, i get a message from AIM telling me that i had a new version of AIM, and my friend could record the conversation and read the faq!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.439
Macguruguy
17 November 2011
I think AOL just shot themselves in the foot, in the middle of the dessert, and are now dying a slow death. This app is terrible.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.439
Andersh
26 February 2011
It is just getting uglier and uglier and looks more like a pc port than a mac app. It's getting bloated with useless icons and options. I need to find a clean and easy option. I just can't take it anymore
Like
Version 2.2.429
1 answer(s)
Alex-r-tan
Alex-r-tan
11 August 2011
...iChat?
Like (4)
MacgirlDC
24 February 2011
Like previous stated -- LifeStream & Facebook.
Like
Version 2.2.429
Cwilder
19 November 2010
Someone please. Why would I use this app? I use iChat, which supports video/audio and Facebook logging-in. Why would I bother with this?
Like (3)
Version 2.2.421
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
20 November 2010
Scroll down and read the review by DERISION below.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.421
Bousozoku
30 July 2010
The auto update/update notification works now.
Like
Version 2.1.302
1 answer(s)
Fhall1
Fhall1
31 July 2010
Update from the app is not working for me yet
Like
Version 2.1.302
Pissnaround
30 July 2010
bad link or version?
Like
Version 2.1.302
2 answer(s)
Pissnaround
Pissnaround
30 July 2010
oops, nm, is working now
Like
Version 2.1.302
instantloanss
instantloanss
21 December 2010
do you know what soft to use on Iphone 2G for having yahoo messenger? instant loans
Like
Derision
06 May 2010
Let's state the obvious, first: iChat has the market cornered for AIM videoconferencing. Honestly, if you're on a Mac and you have an AIM account, you're most likely going to use iChat to take care of that. It is integrated better with the OS, it operates perfectly fine and, yeah, it has video. What iChat doesn't do, however, is merge the AIM and Facebook contacts as nicely as this. Sure, you can login to Facebook chat using iChat's Jabber protocols, but it isn't nearly as pretty and you don't get AIM's jazzy new "LifeStream" deal which nicely integrates AIM status messages with the Facebook status messages. AIM for Mac also makes use of AIM Expressions which, until now, only worked on the PC side. Another thing that this software does is allow you to login to your ICQ account -- a beautiful feature considering that ICQ for Mac hasn't been updated in seven years. It's not perfect, but it does make an entirely passable alternative ICQ client. People like to malign this software because of the perceived "corporate" or Windows-centric persona of AOL and while this version does lack stuff like video conferencing, it is light years beyond the buggy 4.7 version of AIM that was released before this and, in reality, the feature set of this software easily surpasses Adium's AIM implementation. And Adium is universally loved by all Mac users, despite having the same shortcomings as this software (namely, lack of video). Rather than complain about how it lacks videoconferencing and how it's not iChat and how it's made by AOL and is therefore terrible, let's give credit to AOL for even making the thing at all. AOL could easily have thrown their hands up in the air and said, "Eh, why bother... it's a Mac and they've got their own iChat". They could have, in short, pulled an ICQ, who has no intention of supporting Mac in the future. But they did bother to make something, and they released it and they continue to update it regularly. As someone who got used to fighting with old and outdated pieces of Mac software because of lack of support, I see this at least as a good start.
Like (18)
Version 2.1.282
2 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
20 November 2010
Preach!
Like (1)
Version 2.2.421
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
20 November 2010
Derision, great analysis - couldn't' agree more.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.421
Organik
29 April 2010
No way to change Lifestream list font or font size? Really? Font rendering looks like poo for some reason also.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.279
Dspencer3491
27 April 2010
If you only use AIM iChat is the best app you could possibly use. Anything from AOL is horrible and that's the truth. If you use other networks then Adium is your best bet.
Like (5)
Version 2.1.279
Justanthrguyhere
25 November 2009
After all these years mac users STILL get a substandard version when compared to the Windows version!?!?! No Audio, No Video, heck even Yahoo managed to do it and AOL has iChat to steal from!!! AOL just die!
Like (5)
Version 2.1.251
Yoshinatsu
24 November 2009
You just CAN'T s*ck SO MUCH, AOL... STILL releasing AIM for Mac... just... Just support Apple's iChat, will you?
Like (8)
Version 2.1.251
2 answer(s)
Chadcn
Chadcn
24 November 2009
Don't listen to comments like this. He obviously has a hated for all things AOL and has prejudged this product without using it. I have used it for quite some time and it is a great piece of software. Yes there are alternatives which allow you to use multiple services at once (Adium). However if you are looking to only use the AIM messaging service, this app is MUCH better than anything else out there, Adium included.
Like (7)
Version 2.1.251
Bushwhack
Bushwhack
10 February 2010
This is no where near close to being anything close to the product that Adium ships. There's a reason why this company is falling apart, and the poor support of this product only elevates those arguments. AIM is a great IM service, but AO-HELL really needs to stop development on the Mac version if they cannot turn out a quality product that is 10 years behind the PC version. This brings back VERY BAD memories of AOL 4.0..no...AOL 5.0...no AOL 8.0 .... no AOL 9.0... you get the idea.
Like (6)
Version 2.1.266
Bousozoku
14 October 2009
It's interesting that Check for Updates doesn't seem to find anything. For the last update, I waited about a week and it still told me what I had was the latest. It seems to be the same functionality that's in RapidWeaver and Cyberduck so it works when used properly. It's just interesting that AOL can't get things right. The IM functionality is good, if a bit late after, what, 8 years?
Like (3)
Version 2.1.243
2 answer(s)
tim-dehring
tim-dehring
14 October 2009
If you have the final version, it won't update to the beta version (which this is, according to the AOL website). Also, if you have the beta version installed, it won't update to the final version. That's what was posted on their blog when version 2 was released.
Like
Version 2.1.243
Bousozoku
Bousozoku
25 November 2009
@TIM.DEHRING: I wasn't trying to find a beta, I was trying to find the next stable release, which had been out for days. It's the same way with the latest two stable releases. It's as though they're not entering the information on the other end so when it checks it will find something.
Like
Version 2.1.251
Likos
14 October 2009
Why this over iChat? (I'm being serious.)
Like (6)
Version 2.1.243
Despite all the vitriol here, I'm seeing huge improvements in the official Mac client. Can this one format spaces in your screen name? Or do we still need to keep 4.7 around for that? I'm not going to lie; like many, I don't actually use the official client, but it's great to have a decent one, anyhow--even if you personally only use it to set up various small features of your account before switching to Adium.
Like (3)
Version 2.0b2
Ovipas
09 July 2009
lifestream addition is a big enhancement, however it seems that it doesn't allow for ICQ contacts to add a twitter or facebook account. no possibility to use iTunes song like a status message, which is a standard now for any IM application on macs. still no A/V capabilities :(
Like (7)
Version 2.0b1
Yoshinatsu
07 July 2009
What is AOL even thinking doing this??
Like (4)
Version 2.0b1
1 answer(s)
Glenn-Braid
Glenn-Braid
07 July 2009
There are lots of things that don't make sense about AOL - with the top being, "why the hell do they still exist". They should die just like Prodigy, Voyager, CompuServe and other organisations that have no relevance any more.
Like (4)
Version 2.0b1
Justanthrguyhere
16 April 2009
AOL! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE STOP THE INSANITY! This product is an insult to the Mac and the Mac community! I have both a Mac and Windows so I know what this is missing and it's nothing more than a prettier version on AIM 6 years ago!!!!! Whoa! Sorry you added SMS! WOW! Just stop!
Like (14)
Version 1.5b2
Why not just go with online only and support iChat 100% in the future.If your this far behind the game, You better pick a better position... :) At least there's not advertising in it...
Like (15)
Version 1.5b1
St00pid-M0nk3y
07 March 2009
This is way better now than it used to be compared to the old joke of an application. Having said that... this program is a steaming pile of cow dung. Since there is no audio/video chat support... still... after years and years and years... this application is virtually useless. With alternatives such as Adium... and even Apple's default iChat... which needs a lot of work too, but at least there's audio/video chat... there's no point in disgracing your hard drive with this garbage.
Like (7)
Version 1.1
anonymous-elephant-2404
13 February 2009
Really, what's the purpose of this? Why not work on like making iChat better?
Like (6)
Version 1.1
3 answer(s)
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
07 March 2009
AOL makes AIM... Apple makes iChat... what does your comment have anything to do with AIM?
Like (2)
Version 1.1
anonymous-elephant-2404
anonymous-elephant-2404
07 March 2009
Why doesn't AOL work with Apple to make iChat better then?
Like (3)
Version 1.1
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
09 March 2009
Because they're lazy and don't care. I mean... look at this version of AIM for Mac... it's a joke as you've noticed. I agree with you though... AOL should work with Apple to make iChat better... at least in regards to the AIM portion of iChat. I can barely connect a third of the time with video chat to other friends using AIM. It's always flawless when it's iChat to iChat. Meh...
Like (3)
Version 1.1
Justanthrguyhere
01 February 2009
I can't say it better than it's been said already other than to point out that this is nothing more than the IM part of the equally non-sense AOL Desktop for Mac just ripped out for a twofer deal for AOL. While I am glad to see them doing anything at all for the Mac I am baffled by their continued inability to sync the feature sets for the Mac and Windows products after almost 5 years of nothing. This is why AOL is no longer a player and should just close up shop once and for all. Sad.
Like (3)
Version 1.1b1
Threedee912
16 December 2008
I have to say, I'm surprised that AOL is still updating it's Mac client. It's a tad slow and still a little buggy, but the interface is clean, and you can chat to people fine. It's not on par with Adium yet, but it's a lot better than that ancient v4.7 back from 2003 or whatever.
Like (7)
Version 1.0
New-User
26 November 2008
Dear AOL. Start by being feature complete against iChat (audio/video), have a clean user interface (kill the style bar), and then improve from there. Save your bandwidth. There's no reason to choose this over iChat.
Like (7)
Version 1.0b5
1 answer(s)
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
26 November 2008
I agree. Why release something when it's still inferior to the competition. You want people to take it seriously, bring it's feature set up to par with the others first then get it out there. This client hasn't even caught up to 2001 yet when voice was becoming standard in most IM clients.
Like (2)
Version 1.0b5
Gmax
14 November 2008
QUICK! Someone tell AOL it's 2008!
Like (8)
Version 1.0b4
info-789
15 October 2008
There are still some bugs, but superb app!!!
Like (2)
Version 1.0b2
Ned-Scott
15 October 2008
Apparently version numbers roll over at AOL..
Like (2)
Version 1.0b2
-M-S-
29 September 2008
I really don't see the advantage of this over iChat, except a slightly different interface. It definitely has advantages over Adium for some things (file transfers, mostly, which still are painful with Adium over AIM), but so does iChat. Still, it's good to see AOL continuing to develop this, I suppose.
Like (5)
Version 1.0b1
3 answer(s)
Stormchild
Stormchild
30 September 2008
AIM file transfers work perfectly fine in Adium, and always have. I think maybe you're thinking of MSN file transfers, which are still excruciatingly slow in all third-party MSN clients, including Adium. But AIM file transfers have never been an issue for me.
Like (1)
Version 1.0b1
-M-S-
-M-S-
30 September 2008
I wish I could say the same thing, but from my experience Adium-Adium transfers work ok, but iChat-Adium transfers fail more than 50% of the time. Usually the person on the receiving doesn't even see that I'm sending a file to them. But if they switch to iChat (so it's iChat-iChat) it goes off without a hitch. There was a time when Adium transfers were REALLY poor (years ago) and they have improved since then, but the reliability from my use still isn't at the level it typically is with iChat. I've also been impressed with the reliability of iChat's transfers. I've sent 2GB files over iChat without it failing, when attempts to send smaller files with Adium have choked after a while (my company had multiple VLANs set up so Bonjour wasn't an option).
Like (2)
Version 1.0b1
cottinghamk
cottinghamk
15 October 2008
Interesting. I only have problems with Adium -> Adium, not Adium -> iChat or vice versa.
Like
Version 1.0b2
Mac4drew
29 July 2008
I like it. Fast, clean, and stable on an Intel Mac, just like AIM for OS 9 used to be on my old iBook. No ads, just pure classic AIM goodness. They have attained almost feature parity with the previous Mac version, which is also very cool. Some things missing: notifications and the ability to change sounds (which I believe can both be added via a plugin on the AIM Lite website http://x.aim.com/laim/ ) and video/audio chat, which cannot be added. I use Adium for most of my instant messaging, but it still doesn't handle Direct IM or AIM chats very well. It crashes ALL THE TIME for me. If you ever use Direct IM or AIM Chats, you should be pleasantly surprised by this little program. It hasn't crashed once since I started using it. Only problem is, it only seems possible to save images received from Direct IM as low-quality GIFs. It prints images on the screen in full quality but then won't save them as anything but a low quality GIF. Please, AOL, update this some more... there are some people out there who appreciate it.
Like (3)
Version 0.8.6
1 answer(s)
Macteam
Macteam
15 July 2009
Thanks for your review. We will continue to update AIM for Mac for our users and stop by the Mac@AOL blog to stay in touch (http://macblog.aol.com). thanks! Lee Givens AOL Mac Product Lead
Like
Version 2.0b1
New-User
07 May 2008
Don't waste your bandwidth. The interface needs a complete overhaul. Very bare-bones and awkward. Feels like a weird cross between the old Carbon port and a modern Cocoa app. It's going to be a while until this is anywhere near being a replacement for iChat.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.6
Roro01
08 January 2008
What are the advantages of this application over iChat?
Like
Version 0.8.6
Threedee912
07 January 2008
Wow, after almost 3 years, AIM for Mac has actually been updated?
Like (2)
Version 0.8.6
Pissnaround
07 January 2008
well, this has any number of problems which I have to assume is because its a beta version, although it doesnt say so. It crashes when I quit the app, it doesnt scroll text correctly in message windows, and I have to install a new copy every time I want to use it. otherwise it's fine... :o)
Like
Version 0.8.6
Aruch1
08 August 2006
I recently got the G5 mac for school, and have had problems with AOL i/m 4.7 and mozilla firefox randomly "quitting". It's extremely annoying and I don't know what to do to fix it! I called applecare once and she told me to empty my cache files but that hasnt quite done the trick.
Like
Version 4.7
1 answer(s)
Leanna-Assid
Leanna-Assid
01 October 2006
same things happens here. i'm always disconnected when it says it suddenly quit. whats the deal?
Like
Version 4.7
St00pid-M0nk3y
18 February 2006
Even though this app is 2 years old, it still seems faster, more stable, and less buggy than it's newer Windows counterpart. Despite that, why in the heck did they stop supporting new updates? Oh my gosh! Download the new Macintosh version! Oh wait...it was released in 2004. AOL needs to get up off their rears and come out with a new Mac OS X version because this is freaking ridiculous.
Like
Version 4.7
N0dl
04 December 2005
Hello my sister just happily purchased an imac G5 (the imac with the isight camera built in and ibooth etc) sorry if i got the model number wrong... I am an MAC newbie after all... Anyway, While my sister runs OSX tiger, I run linux(ubuntu). Whenever my sister is running AIM4.7 it disconnects my sister out of random. An error message saying "AIM has suddenly quit". At first i thought it was becuase me and my sister were logged on AIM at the same time. So I logged off but that did not solve the problem. The only thing i have been running besides my browser was an irc client (irssi to be specific). Does anyone have any idea what the problem is or how to fix this? A happy new non-windows using family.
Like
Version 4.7
Jason
01 September 2005
Some of us HATE iChats layout and the fact that it lacks animated gif buddy icons, profiles, file sharing etc. Adium doesnt suport file sharing. i mean sharing not transfer. AIM is still the best at doing everything that needs to be done and displaying the buddy list. i dont want another program. I want this updated just like windows. who the hell canned it, it used to get updated all the time.
Like
Version 4.7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 September 2005
"who the hell canned it" I did, just to p*ss you off.
Like
Version 4.7
erika
26 May 2005
I have mac OS X tiger, and I can't download AIM, why? I don't want to use iChat.
Like (1)
Version 4.7
1 answer(s)
Macteam
Macteam
15 July 2009
Erika, make sure you've updated Tiger to 10.4.8 or higher. thanks... Lee Givens AOL Mac Product Lead
Like
Version 2.0b1
Anonymous
17 May 2005
Just use iChat, the Tiger version (3.0) has a lot of good features and in adium 0.81 they also have file transfers
Like (1)
Version 4.7
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 May 2005
but it doen't support Get Files....the most useful feature om IAM
Like
Version 4.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 June 2005
i have found that iChat in Tiger is extremely buggy. when my friends who are using AIM try to IM me, iChat crashes. In many cases i am not even able to IM them at all. Anyone else experience this? I think i may try out Fire, which seems to be native for the OSX.
Like
Version 4.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 June 2005
iChat has been completely stable for me in Tiger (both 10.4 and 10.4.1), in spite of using a marginal wireless connection. Perhaps deleting prefs files would solve the crashing problem. (Try a spotlight search) Most wanting an iChat alternative should be satisfied with Adium. It supports file transfers as well as interacting with buddies on many networks. it is ad-free. I don't recall seeing audio/video chat supported though. I'd like to see some other Mac and Windows chat programs, preferably open-source, support video connections with iChat. I believe AIM does do it if running XP.
Like
Version 4.7
Anonymous
12 April 2005
Why on earth are you using AOL Instant Messenger, why not use iChat?
Like (1)
Version 4.7
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 May 2005
because iChat is only for mac. Apple must develop iChat for windows like iTunes....
Like
Version 4.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 May 2005
AOL and iChat using the same network
Like
Version 4.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 May 2005
because it doen't support Get Files....the most useful feature om IAM
Like
Version 4.7
Anonymous
12 March 2005
When is there going to be an updated version on this????? It's been HOW LONG since they updated? At least 2 or 3 years. I'm geting sick of waiting, and if there is no more updates, then screw AOL.
Like
Version 4.7
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 March 2005
There HAS been an update, it's called OS X and iChat (iChat uses the AIM network)
Like
Version 4.7
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 June 2005
I'm not sure an update of this would even be a good thing. A friend on broadband was loading the whole AOL client just to get to his buddy list. I had him install the current AIM. I was shocked at all of the other cr#p that's in the program now. It looked like the AOL welcome screen and then some. A zillion options and distractions beyond what he wanted the program for. The PC version also had no independent way to adjust the volume of the chat room sounds, driving us nuts while trying to enjoy iTunes. I think a clean ad-free open source alternative is the way to go if iChat isn't enough. On the Mac there's AdiumX, on Windows there's GAIM. In both cases chat with a bunch of other networks is supported too. I believe file transfers are also. No ads, no spyware.
Like
Version 4.7
Pianoman0334
02 January 2005
I recently downloaded AIM 4.7 for Mac, and I am very pleased, except for the fact that the talk feature is not supported. Will there ever be another higher version of AIM for Mac users??? PS: Alana, to set away messages, go down to the dock, click the AIM icon, hold it, then when the menu comes up, click on " Away Messages."
Like
Version 4.7
Anonymous
30 December 2004
Aim version 4.7 sucks!!! I've been using version 5.1 on windows for like 5 years and it sucks that i cant get it on mac. Version 4.7 is like forgein for me, i have no clue how to use it. I dont even know how to set my away message!
Like
Version 4.7
dani
27 October 2004
i wanted to know if someone knows if i can make a voice chat with this messenger, and if not, do you know any program that supports it? i have mac os X 10.2.8 thanx.. if you know, can you send me an email...
Like
Version 4.7
Anonymous
09 August 2004
I like that you can see the status of the file transfers unlike adium ;)
Like
Version 4.7
Anonymous
03 August 2004
it blows that they cant update AIM for Mac to have cool features and skins like in 5.5 for window users, does anybody know when they will come up with a new version,or a better version of AIM for macs?
Like (1)
Version 4.7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 December 2004
Adium.
Like
Version 4.7
Anonymous
24 February 2004
have a problem. since i updated to this from the beta version, i cannot share files or transfer them to non-mac people.
Like (1)
Version 4.7
PORTHOS
22 February 2004
I can see alot of people do not like this AOLIM. I am on AOL as an Internet Service Provider and to tell you the truth.....over her in the UK it really is not that bad using the integrated Messenger that comes with AOL X......BUT I have tried one version of AOL IM once before and found it to be a waste of time. My advice to you people is to get an AOLIM account...but instead of using poor unrealiable rubbish like this....do youreself a favour and use iChat...not only can you have all your buddy lists but I have had no problems with it at all...great app, go get it!
Like (1)
Version 4.7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 March 2004
why does chat freeze or float after short use using instant messinger
Like
Version 4.7