Back to goPanel page
goPanel free download for Mac

goPanel Reviews

2.8.0
06 December 2019

Manage Web servers.

nowvisiting
21 March 2019

Most helpful

This app is AWESOME. It's such a timesaver and makes managing multiple VPS a breeze. I'd been looking for something like this for a long, long time, but it's seemingly the only alternative. Of course, like any software, it's not absolutely flawless and has the occasional hiccup (the app itself, doesn't affect the server at all), but overall it's very stable and reliable. Still left on my wishlist: Domain staging/cloning. That would be such a killer feature if had a Wordpress sync/cloning option (Database, files, etc.)
Like (2)
Version 2.1.0

Read 18 goPanel User Reviews

Rate this app:

nowvisiting
21 March 2019
This app is AWESOME. It's such a timesaver and makes managing multiple VPS a breeze. I'd been looking for something like this for a long, long time, but it's seemingly the only alternative. Of course, like any software, it's not absolutely flawless and has the occasional hiccup (the app itself, doesn't affect the server at all), but overall it's very stable and reliable. Still left on my wishlist: Domain staging/cloning. That would be such a killer feature if had a Wordpress sync/cloning option (Database, files, etc.)
Like (2)
Version 2.1.0
after a long search for a good solution, close to giving up, I stumbled upon goPanel. This s*** really works out of the box! Saved me a lot of time and I couldn't be happier!
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
InspiredLife2
08 February 2018
I left a review previously, but for some reason I am not able to edit it. So I am writing a new one. After having attempted to use GoPanel to configure a server from start to finish, I must drop my rating to 2 stars.

I am using a fresh Ubuntu 16.04 VM on Microsoft Azure.
GoPanel crashes often whilst trying to perform tasks, essentially rendering it too unreliable to depend on. This is a pity, as it obviously has great potential.

I've taken the matter up with the developer, and received only a few terse replies, through which he eventually indicated it might be crashing when GP has an issue connecting to the server during an operation. Which, to me, suggest it doesn't have adequate fault handling routines, because a slow or unresponsive server connection should not cause the app to crash.

I've attempted to get an update from the developer as to when he is likely to implement decent fault handling, and after a more than a month, I've heard nothing at all back.

As I paid for a license to this app, I find this rather disappointing. I can only assume he put it into the "too hard, too busy" basket.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.2
Teksestro
13 November 2017
Excellent cPanel replacement - easy to setup and use, and very reliable. Developer is responsive, friendly and helpful. It would be a 5-star app if there were more easy-instal options for more software - WordPress alone doesn't cut it, when we have to compete with the likes of Installatron. Ideally, I'd like to see an option to install Docker and dockerized apps. This would open a world of possibilities for software instals that normally consume hours, and for which there is no 'easy-instal' option anywhere (like Discourse, Gitlab, etc.).
Like (1)
Version 1.9.1
InspiredLife2
11 November 2017
An excellent time-saving app for anyone managing Linux web servers. At first I thought the price was a bit high, but in reality this app only needs to save me around 30 minutes and it's covered the cost. It will in fact save untold hours of time setting up servers.
Currently it's got most of the major web server bases covered. The one area I think it's deficient is installation/configuration of caching options. Would be nice to see support for OpCache, Redis and APC. Perhaps Varnish too, for those wanting to squeeze even more speed out of Nginx, and those how want to get a lot more speed out of Apache.

The interface is excellent. Clear and easy to use. I pleasant change to working in a bash terminal.

So my rating is 4 stars for now. Robust support for the major caching options will push that up to 5. For now, I'll have a bash (no pun intended) at implementing caching on top of what goPanel sets up on the server (I've yet to do it, but assume it will have no hitches)
Like (2)
Version 1.9.1
Gregorgy
18 August 2017
Wow. Just wow. This is extremely cheap for the amount of time it save. When it comes to choosing how many stars, 5 is not enough.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.7
Xipper
06 July 2017
I wish I could actually give a meaningful review, however I wasn't able to actually get this app to connect to my server at all. They provide no logging that I can find, I attempted to add a Linux server operating CentOS 7.3.1611 and it fails to connect. No meaningful errors, no debug info on the SSH session, nothing but a black box of failure. I see no errors in the server logs Zero documentation to help troubleshoot authentication issues. No in depth documentation on supported SSH key types. My servers only allow key based authentication, I use SSH all day using the keys I provided to goPanel and they always work...and yet with goPanel I get a "Received error: Callback returned error". If you accidentally input an invalid hostname you must wait for it to fail and timeout, there are no cancel options on connection attempts. I don't want my passwords and SSH key passphrase being stored (especially by an app that provides no documentation on how it stores credentials), but it seems that the app will not prompt you for this info on a per session basis. If you don't input your key passphrase authentication the app errors with "Received error: Invalid public key, too short".
Like
Version 1.8.5
2 answer(s)
Mike-C
Mike-C
06 July 2017
You really should contact the developer. He's very prompt at responding to emails. I'm sure he could walk you though the process and address your concerns. If not, then certain post here and let us know.

Otherwise, I don't think it's fair to give it a 1/2 star.
Like
Global Web SRL
Global Web SRL
07 July 2017
hi,
on connection issue:
We tested the app on several Centos machines using standard PEM key files (both unprotected and passphrase-protected) and we didn't encounter any issue.

When you try to connect do you get any kind of error message?
Can you give us more details about how your server is configured? The app needs either root access or to be able to use the "sudo" command.
Did you configure your server yourself or do you use a prebuild VPS (like those provided by Digital Ocean or Amazon (EC2))? There might be a particular situation in your case that might need to be taken into account.

on ssh/key safety:
Those passwords and passhprases (along with other details and settings needed by the app to manage the server) are stored with the app's local storage (provided by Apple for all apps) on the user's Mac and as a backup on the server within a encrypted file (/etc/gopanel.conf). Initially we did have an option to request passwords when needed, but many users complained about having to enter those details every time they connect.
Like
macpayne
13 June 2017
Couldn't agree more with Mike-C's review. The app is really speeding up the the server setup and some basic management processes.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.5
Mike-C
07 June 2017
Now that I've been using goPanel for just under a week, I absolutely love it! it's been a real time saver. It works wonderfully and my e-mails to the developer were answered promptly and in detail. The support is excellent. The one catch is that it seems to work better with Apache + MySQL. I had all sorts issues when using it with Nginx + MariaDB. I'm not sure if that was just me, my VPS, goPanel, or a combination of all those. Regardless, buying goPanel is a no brainer.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.5
ra7big
26 April 2017
Do this app support intel extention for developing cakephp 3 ?
Like
Version 1.8.5
1 answer(s)
Global Web SRL
Global Web SRL
27 April 2017
the app is not limited, but best to help you with that is if u can tell on what linux distro and version you are trying this?
Like
Mike-C
12 March 2017
I'm very interested in goPanel. Even the regular price is a bargain. The one thing stopping is me trust. I know this is a hard one to validate. What assurances do I have since I'm giving this software access to my servers and all my sites? How can I assured that there's no funny business going on?
Like
Version 1.8.1
4 answer(s)
Global Web SRL
Global Web SRL
13 March 2017
goPanel doesn't use or connect to any web services - its all on your mac and between your mac and your servers. - just sends a batch of commands directly to server like you would do from a terminal.

Like
Mike-C
Mike-C
13 March 2017
Thanks for the quick reply. I guess my question is what assurances do I have that when goPanel sends "sends a batch of commands directly to serve", it doesn't also send the username and password to a 3rd party.

Can you assure that goPanel doesn't send traffic to any other site or server? If I purchase your software and run it through some network capture, I'm not going to see any other URL or IP address activity, am I?
Like
Global Web SRL
Global Web SRL
13 March 2017
If you put it through a packet analyzer you will see 3 types of activity:
1. Between your Mac and whatever server (or servers) you are managing. This is just a standard SSH connection used by the app to send and receive data (commands and responses).

2. From time to time the app will check with Paddle.com (manages licensing and billing offMAS system used by many applications) to verify your license.

3. Also from time to time (if automatic updates are enabled) the app will check for new updates. This can also be done manually by selecting “Check for updates” in the main menu.

Points 2 and 3 do not apply to the Mac App Store version because licensing and updates are handled by Apple’s systems.

All the necessary data needed to connect and work with a particular server is stored on your Mac and also backed up as a configuration file on your server (or servers) just in case you forget to make a backup of these settings. (you should export your servers configuration data from time to time using the “File->Export” menu option).
Like (1)
Mike-C
Mike-C
13 March 2017
Great! Again, thanks for the quick answers. I'm definitely going to buy goPanel and leaning towards the Mac App Store version. Keep up the great work!
Like
tronath
14 February 2017
Excellent value
Like (1)
Version 1.7.4
Svenster
15 December 2016
See here is the problem with these trials I downloaded and installed this software in the vain attempt to get it to connect to my web servers and it failed.

A few days later there was an update so I thought I would give it another try...

"You have 0 days remaining in your trial"

Quit

Goodbye

I’m not paying $50AU to find out if it now works...
Like
Version 1.7.3
1 answer(s)
Global Web SRL
Global Web SRL
04 January 2017
hi,
just increased to 20days trial period. for now u can get the Lite version form appstore too to try unlimited time but 1server, for any questions contact us trough the site contact form we'll be happy to assist
Like (1)
@timi
31 October 2016
It has evolved some since it launched in April. There is a trial now, and if you look really really hard you can buy it outside the crap store. But it still isn't $24.99 mature. I think I might go for it if it goes on promo for $4.99 again.
Like
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
Global Web SRL
Global Web SRL
04 January 2017
will develop more and make it worth for you - we can't sustain it at 4.99, better have a stable software thats updated than a cheap product thats gone in 3months off the market.
but also re cost is one time for all your servers, not a monthly cost /month /server so i can say gopanel is at least 10x less cost than any other option ...
Like
team-noob
18 April 2016
No ability to configure a proxy connection??
Like
Version 1.0.1
JohnAlex
12 April 2016
Used it to set up a couple of servers and saved me a day's work. I had them up and running in about 20 minutes with all the basic stuff (www, ftp, mail, mysql) ready to go.

A lot easier than doing all of this from the command line.

Like
Version 1.0.0
jbradyDublin
11 April 2016
a bit brutal, but does the job - still a lot of features missing so don't expect cPanel. no DNS and no SSL managers which would have been handy, but hey installed all I need to run sites in 5minutes (for me FTP server is the big gain with the app). So good idea/start, looking forward for updates with features
Like
Version 1.0.0
@timi
11 April 2016
MAS only, no trial, no direct-buy option. Good luck with that.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.0