Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Vallum page
Vallum free download for Mac

Vallum Reviews4.0.1

26 May 2021

Control app connections to outside sources.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
orbannatalie
orbannatalie
May 25 2021
4.0.1
4.0
May 25 2021
4.0
Version: 4.0.1
Wow, it's really easy for use. One click to install, one click to uninstall - right!
Frodo-life
Frodo-life
Mar 16 2021
3.3.4
0.0
Mar 16 2021
0.0
Version: 3.3.4
Vallum is great but unfortunately, it seems like discontinued, the Big Sur beta is expired and the last updated was November 2019, no response to any email. Really a pity as I liked Vallum over Little Snitch but seems like I need to get back to Little Snitch as there is no big Sure compatibility.
DragonMaster
DragonMaster
Jan 30 2020
3.3.2
5.0
Jan 30 2020
5.0
Version: 3.3.2
I have used Little Snitch for a couple of years. Just updated it. Then I tried Vallum. Little Snitch is gone! Vallum beats it in so many ways 1). ease of use, 2) ease of install and activation, 3) decrease in use of my Macs assets. I love it!
Ervins Strauhmanis
Ervins Strauhmanis
May 19 2018
3.0
5.0
May 19 2018
5.0
Version: 3.0
So, Vallum 3 is out with the new core and logic, AFW (Application Firewall for macOS) kernel-based socket filter. Due to the new architecture, the old Vallum 2 rules are not imported and this presented me with the opportunity to experience the upgraded rule-creation process. And, well, it has certainly been polished since the previous major release, and at the same time it has become both more intuitive and even more powerful and nuanced. I would imagine that the new multiuser, group management, logging capabilities are not that important to a typical user, from my perspective of the label "typical," but all these power-features make Vallum very interesting to corporate entities and advanced users.
My reference to the Little Snitch in the previous review of Vallum 2 is now obsolete, as the LS 4 is now quite user friendly, but I would still recommend Vallum over the established name and richer looking product that is Little Snitch. Vallum is cheaper ($15 vs $45 for single license), and it allows for more complex rule creation then LS (but Murus dev please take note how LS lists common ports — 21 FTP, 80 HTTP, etc., for easier rule creation for not so technical users). LS has a neat Network Monitor with a world map for visualizing network connections; Murus has a neat Simulator to test whether you rule does what you intended it to do, which is especially useful in creation of complex configurations, and for me, the Simulator is more important than the said Network Monitor.
Murus is advertised as buy once for life, and all updates and upgrades will be free. At the surface level that is a nice thing for buyers, but we do not live in a utopia and nor any efforts to establish one ever succeeded, so I hope that the dev is and will be making enough money to support and evolve the product, as he has done so far, which, arguably, even from a perspective of the user is more important than saving some bucks. Unless of course the dev is really an eccentric millionaire who made it his life’s mission to bring affordable quality virtual network walls to all Mac users. Then don't change a thing! :-) I’m not sure how this free lifetime upgrade thing is woven into the license agreement, haven’t looked, but I would buy a paid upgrade if at some point in future the upgrade model would change.
Anyhow, here's to Murus 4 *cheers*!
basilmms
basilmms
Nov 14 2017
2.3.2
5.0
Nov 14 2017
5.0
Version: 2.3.2
Dears, Do any one know how to uninstall the Vallum... I'm just asking... The app is good and doing a great job. but I wondered how to uninstalling it while there is no app icon except in the upper bar near the wifi connection signal.
Jvhvr
Jvhvr
Nov 12 2017
2.3.2
5.0
Nov 12 2017
5.0
Version: 2.3.2
Amazing app.
Ervins Strauhmanis
Ervins Strauhmanis
Jun 30 2017
2.3.1
5.0
Jun 30 2017
5.0
Version: 2.3.1
I've purchased the Developer's Murus Pro firewall way back in 2015, and as that time Vallum did not exist yet, yesterday I asked the Dev if I may get a free license for Vallum, because Vallum is now a part of the Murus Pro bundle. And almost immediately I got my key! As always, the Dev is super responsive and kind! It's a pleasure to do business and use a product that is offered by a company like this. *cough* unlike with the now extinct "Little Flocker" venture *cough* Now on to the app itself. Vallum is suitable for both a normal and a master level users, or anywhere in between, and the app asks you how you want to use it with a "Strategy" prompt. To compare it with the Little Snitch, which unlike its name is a rather big sleuth as far as its market share of Mac's firewalls goes, I find Vallum a more user-friendly product. Current stable Little Snitch 3, from the moment you install it and reboot your Mac, throws constant prompts at you - like what to do with this app, and what to do with that sub-process. And when everything is configured, only then it stops bugging me. As far as my personal needs for a firewall go, there are a handful of apps that I want either to be blocked outright or fine-grained for their net access, and the rest of apps can function as they please. In this regard Vallum is a breeze to use. Awesome!
Doms
Doms
Dec 12 2016
2.1
4.0
Dec 12 2016
4.0
Version: 2.1
One of my previous comment was not very fair. I've lost all my configurations after an update and I was in a bad mood. So this is an attempt to correct this bad review. Before I had this problem, Vallum was running fine and developer were very quick to answer my questions. But I confirm the following remark: this is very uncommon for a mac user to lost all settings after an update.
Doms
Doms
Oct 24 2016
1.3.1
4.0
Oct 24 2016
4.0
Version: 1.3.1
After the update yesterday I lost my previous settings and Vallum crashed all the time.