Back to Safari Technology Preview page
Safari Technology Preview free download for Mac

Safari Technology Preview Reviews

13.1
13 August 2019

The newest browser tech from Apple.

Swo
15 April 2016

Most helpful

Unlike what users with a serious Apple hangup (Helmo Hass) who misuse the Discussions page, I have found nothing wrong with the Safari Technology Preview application. It's significantly quicker than regular Safari, imports bookmarks just fine, and has the access to the Keychain as well. Like most things from Apple, it just works. That being said, I have only been using it for a little while, and it works great.
Like (11)
Version 9.1.1

Read 29 Safari Technology Preview User Reviews

Rate this app:

OhEssex
25 January 2019
The description at the top of the MacUpdate page says this is also available for MacOS Sierra (10.12) but if you go to Apple's website it only provides links for 10.13 and 10.14. The download link on MacUpdate for 10.12 is for release 49 and it hasn't been updated in pretty much a year now.
Like (1)
Version 12.2
Derekcurrie
10 January 2019
And now we're at v73! Again, until Apple get their lagging butts in gear, it is HIGHLY recommended to use Safari Technology Preview and NOT regular Safari due to a published exploit present in ALL of version 12.0.x. These latest betas have solved the exploit. Why Apple hasn't formally updated Safari is beyond comprehension. I'm starting to think of the word 'irresponsible' at this point.
Like (1)
Version 12.0
1 answer(s)
pjeylani20
pjeylani20
17 September 2019
pjeylani20@gmail.com
Like
Version 13.1
Derekcurrie
19 December 2018
Safari Technology Preview is now at v72 (aka compiled Safari v12.1 beta, WebKit 14607.1.17.1). It is highly recommended over regular Safari v12.0.2 as it includes a critical security hole patch.
Like
Version 12.0
Derekcurrie
09 December 2018
IMPORTANT! Release 71 (Safari 12.1, WebKit 14607.1.15) is the current version of Safari Technology Preview as of December 5, 2018. This version is particularly important because all previous versions of Safari 12 (up through 12.0.2) have a vulnerability currently called "WebKit-RegEx-Exploit", for which a PoC, Proof of Concept, has been published. IOW: If you demand maximum Safari security, you MUST upgrade to this current version of Safari/WebKit. More about the exploit is published here: https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/security/webkit-vulnerability-affects-latest-versions-of-apple-safari/ The page providing the most current Safari Technology Preview is: https://developer.apple.com/safari/download/
Like (1)
Version 12.0
YvesG3963
17 May 2018
L'appli depuis sa dernière mise à jour, fait planter l'application Safari qui quitte sans prévenir…J'ai donc désinstallé. YG
Like
Version 11.2
Leesa
11 August 2017
I guess MacUpdate no longer Updates Mac Apps? The update for this has been out for days now.
Like (3)
Version 11.0
Leesa
10 August 2017
This latest Version has lost the Keyboard Commands. Didn't remember the Previous Session. Pages take forever to Open. This is as bad as MS Office 2016.
Like
Version 11.0
3 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
12 August 2017
Is anyone else using this Newest Version, Safari 11.1, WebKit 12605.1.2, from 3 Days ago? It barely functions in Sierra. I'm thinking it might be built for High Sierra(?)
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
12 August 2017
There are a number of unacceptable bugs in 11.1 and I 'd advise skipping it until the next version. Unfortunately my STP was updated automatically and there's no version list to go back to. In the meantime I've started using Safari again.

Like
Leesa
Leesa
20 August 2017
@ Fyreflye

Me too. I would think apps that functions as badly as this version, would be patched pretty quickly. How can someone "Test" it if it only barely works?
Like
Albabe
09 August 2017
DO NOT D/L TODAY'S LATEST VERSION: Release 37 (Safari 11.1, WebKit 12605.1.2)

KEYBOARD COMMANDS DON'T WORK. LOST ALL PREVIOUSLY OPENED SESSION PAGES. POS!!!
Like
Version 11.0
Albabe
18 July 2017
This version was released on July 12, 2017. Get on the ball MacUpate.
Like
Version 11.0
Albabe
06 June 2017
For some reason my Apple Updates doesn't see this version and it's not on the Apple Safari Technology page.
Like
Version 10.2
Ecmarco
07 April 2017
There seems to be an issue with the bookmark drop down menu. maybe it's how it's being drawn, maybe not. but the app freezes anytime I try the bookmark menu. No issues with any other Safari or browser. Can't use it as it is now.
Like
Version 10.2
2 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
07 April 2017
No problems with my bookmark menus. Have you tried the sidebar bookmark menu?
Like
Ecmarco
Ecmarco
04 May 2017
It was definitely a problem as it did the same on 3 machines. Since the u
update it is better although it stalls.
Like
Mruben
07 April 2017
Release 27 just came out (April 6, 2017) and on my two systems it fixes the spinning beachball and super-high CPU usage problems that made Release 26 unusable.
Like
Version 10.2
1 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
07 April 2017
Mine too.
Like
Mruben
23 March 2017
Build 26 is a bit of a disaster - spinning rainbow on many web sites.
Like (1)
Version 10.2
1 answer(s)
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
23 March 2017
Thanks for warning, I'll stick with 25.
Like
anonymous-thrush-1121
11 February 2017
Release 22&23 broken Extension of Preference...
Like
Version 10.2
Noraa
25 December 2016
Getting there, still lags behind other browser in HTML 5 compatibility though. According to html5test.com: Firefox scores 466/555 Chrome scores 507/555 Safari Technology Previews scores 416/555 For reference, current version of Safari only scores a 383/555 - so the TP is an improvement, but still a long ways to go.
Like (1)
Version 10.1
3 answer(s)
OhEssex
OhEssex
12 January 2017
So it's a little messed up that Apple was the one that shot Flash in the head and forced a mass transition to HTML5, and here they now are with the worst performing HTML5 browser on the market :-/.
Like (3)
Mysticalos
Mysticalos
09 March 2017
As of today Tech preview 10.2 is 419 and chrome 57 is 519
Like
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
06 June 2017
I get 518 for: Opera, Chrome and Vivaldi
Like (1)
xcoxco
07 December 2016
My experience -- Release 19 (Safari 10.1, WebKit 12603.1.14.2) Search bar bug for me. Type in the search term "executable" and the latest Safari Preview crash instantly and every time while typing. This is not the case for other search terms however. Have submitted a bug report to Apple. Otherwise prior Safari Technology Preview versions have worked fine. The problem occurs with all extensions off or on. No difference.
Like
Version 10.1
1 answer(s)
Noraa
Noraa
25 December 2016
No issues like that in Release 20
Like
MQLe
13 November 2016
Pros: Fast and secure
Cons: extensions not available. In addition, some websites don't work properly in the latest version. For example, Pinterest
Like (1)
Version 10.1
2 answer(s)
alzoub
alzoub
11 December 2016
Put youtube on notworking list, too.
Yes it`s way faster then regular safari, but it`s buggy, it looks more like an under development app rather then a ready to meet a public app..

PS
As I`m not a fan of google apps *meaning chrome, I wold love to see this browser as a fully functional regular apple browser.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
24 December 2016
Of course it's buggy, etc. It's a "technology preview" for developers. It's not even beta!
Like (4)
zbysio
27 October 2016
Wow. It works and really fixes some bugs. Well done.
Like (1)
Version 10.1
DJSquint
01 October 2016
This fixes a LOT of bugs. Finally Safari is again useable. Still I prefer Chrome though.
Like
Version 10.1
Fyreflye
29 September 2016
This edition (10.1) appears to have eliminated Top Sites. Please bring it back.
Like
Version 10.1
ottoarimatheia
19 September 2016
You receive notifications of updates from the Mac App Store! Great!
Like (1)
Version 10.0
snozdop
19 September 2016
WARNING! If you're not logged in to MacUpdate, the download provided here is NOT the Safari Technology Preview, it is MacUpdate's malware installer crap. Download directly from Apple instead here: https://developer.apple.com/safari/download/
Like (6)
Version 10.0
2 answer(s)
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
29 September 2016
Correct.
Like (2)
forwardleaps
forwardleaps
14 October 2016
snozdop is right. Download directly from Apple. Version here is infected with malware.
Like (3)
marnold2000
18 August 2016
FYI, doesn't work with macOS Sierra 10.12

This version does: http://appldnld.apple.com/STP/031-72345-2016008017-A6486170-6411-11E6-A46A-7743474FE3CA/SafariTechnologyPreview.dmg
Like (1)
Version 9.1.2
from About Release 9 (Safari 10.0, WebKit 12602.1.41)
Like
Version 9.1.2
2 answer(s)
tno
tno
10 August 2016
Release 10 (Safari 9.1.2, WebKit 11603.1.1)
Like
anonymous-thrush-1121
anonymous-thrush-1121
02 September 2016
Release 12 (Safari 10.0, WebKit 12603.1.3)
Like
tno
21 July 2016
Release 9 (Safari 9.1.2, WebKit 11602.1.41), works very well and is noticeably faster than the regular (Version 9.1.2 (11601.7.7). The extensions I use are working fine: AdGuard, Ghostly, Shortly, PriceBlink, and a few others. The recent Previews seem to manage memory and sleep background windows and tabs better.

Some issues with Cookie Version 5.0.10 (or could be with Cookie itself).

(This on a MacBook Pro retina, and images look fine. I haven't used on a non-retina.)
Like
Version 9.1.2
Harry Flashman
08 June 2016
I really wish they would fix the messed up retina images in Safari that appear mushy and soft on non retina displays. Chrome has the same problem but Firefox is fine.
Like
Version 9.1.2
Rjmorita
30 April 2016
The only problem I've found so far is with extensions. Some will not install or they will install but not work.
Like
Version 9.1.1
Swo
15 April 2016
Unlike what users with a serious Apple hangup (Helmo Hass) who misuse the Discussions page, I have found nothing wrong with the Safari Technology Preview application. It's significantly quicker than regular Safari, imports bookmarks just fine, and has the access to the Keychain as well. Like most things from Apple, it just works. That being said, I have only been using it for a little while, and it works great.
Like (11)
Version 9.1.1
4 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
29 April 2016
I've been using it for a while now and my findings coincide with yours. I'm using it right now. It is very snappy.
Like (2)
Svenster
Svenster
19 August 2016
I concur. Its been my go to browser for a while now and with each release it improves even more. Quite impressive.
Like (1)
cig0
cig0
25 March 2017
+1
Like
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
21 April 2017
Unlike MacFan boys, when something Apple release as improvement for an already existing software, i expect it to be part of the next retail, meaning integrate it into next system update release and not becoming an alternative application for an already and system based one.
But ofc, it doesnt matter if your machine become a trash can, and as per today, we'r at v.10.2 still going on. When new web technologies will arise their standards what will you expect then, a third Safari? A Safari Ultra Technology would be needed don't you think? but ofc it seems to me that your all just interested on fulling your folders then asking for real improvements. And for sure i have a serious Apple hangup, i dont like to be fooled, if problem exist i'd like them to be solved in the first place, not replaced by new shining toys, I PAID my Mac since 1987 so i pretend!
Like (1)
Akanico
14 April 2016
Well, guys, maybe you're not familiar with beta or nightly builds. There is no point installing them and using them unless you're willing to experiment with whatever's implemented (detailed in the release notes) and ready to face whatever bugs you will experience. New features needs testing before being implemented in a future stable release. All your complaints are simply related to the fact you are using an unstable preview release of a browser and therefor is irrelevant. Clauclau, 1. & 2. the preview uses a different profile, that's protecting your primary and default one. 3. Since it is a different profile, of course it doesn't sync with the default. 4. Installing a beta system is an all different concept from installing a browser beta, a frontend developer (for example) might want to experiment with a beta browser without having to install and deal with an unstable system, that's the point. Helmo Hass Seems like you have a problem with Apple that goes way beyond a browser preview release, an all different subject. About your BTW paragraph, same as above, different profile is way better than using your default one, guess you would have been complaining if it did mess something up in it anyway.
Like (6)
Version 9.1.1
2 answer(s)
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
14 April 2016
i'm totally familiar with alpha/beta builds since 10.0 (my 1st OS was OS7).
what you fail to understand is :
this is a Preview not a beta = passed the beta testing
then even if a simple beta it MUST have all functionalities/compatibilities as previous releases, otherwise testing it totally useless... and since there are no major improvements just silly patches, and BTW, since a beta is made public i expect to have at least the basic well stable and usable. Otherwise there is the developer centre paid to check on bugs instability etc.. no need to exploit people to get what you'r expected to do by yourself.

Probably (maybe ?) you used windows too much to understand what i mean, therefore everything looks shining, pretty and fabulous just being from apple, enjoy its your choice.
Like (1)
Akanico
Akanico
14 April 2016
Sorry Helmo Hass, a preview is not a stable release, might be a bit different from a beta but it is not stable because of the functionalities it is implementing.
What you expect from a beta (huh?) is one thing, the reality of what a beta is might be different. I mean, obviously.

BTW, you mentioned bugs without explicitly naming one, only your settings and bookmarks not being automatically imported.

Tried Chrome Canary? it uses a separate profile. Tried Firefox Developer Edition? It also uses a separate profile.
But you can import anything in those new profiles without risking to damage your default one, don't you think it is pretty useful?

RavenNevermore (below) explained she imported everything with her iCloud account, not easy enough for you?

If as a developer I want to test this browser with a clean and fresh profile, do you think it would make sense having to manually remove all add-ons and settings because it automatically imported everything from my default profile?

Your complaining (ranting?) doesn't make any sense, sorry.
You obviously have an issue with the Apple brand and its hardcore fan base but let's not even go there.

And don't jump so easily on childish conclusions, I'm not a window user.
Like (4)