Back to Encrypto page
Encrypto free download for Mac

Encrypto Reviews1.3.6

01 May 2020

Encrypt files with AES-256 encryption and then send them to friends or coworkers.

5
june8
18 September 2018
Version: 1.3.3

Most helpful

Simple, useful, free!
(1)

How would you rate Encrypto app?

Read 7 Encrypto User Reviews

1
pmacsimsign
17 January 2020
Version: 1.3.4
important files are gone, hate this app
(1)
5
june8
18 September 2018
Version: 1.3.3
Simple, useful, free!
(1)
5
oh-4
23 June 2018
Version: 1.3.2
Straightforward & exactly the same on Mac and PC. Best simple file encryption tool available at any price - let alone free :-)
(0)
4
Milesw
03 May 2016
Version: 1.3
Excerpt from a MacPaw blog post dated 2016-04-29: http://blog.macpaw.com/post/143574853723/encryptor-and-privacy-for-all "[W]e made Encryptor, the engine we built to power our Encrypto app, open-source for developers and anyone interested. Why? Because one, we believe data protection tools should be widely available and easy to make. And two, we think people have the right to know how apps that handle their private files actually work. So, fellow developers — go ahead and use our code to build your own encryption apps. Our beloved users — go ahead and look what Encrypto has under the hood. You can get Encryptor here on GitHub < https://github.com/MacPaw/ENCryptor >, along with installation and usage instructions. Enjoy!" The GitHub repository includes a CLI tool called "encrypto-cli" which can encrypt, decrypt, and preview files. I have successfully tested Encrypto under OS X 10.9.5 and Windows 8.1, encrypting and decrypting files between the two platforms. Why 4 stars instead of 5? 1. Encrypto for OS X is available only via the Mac App Store, while the Windows version can be downloaded directly. Given the recent problems with MAS, a direct download for OS X is critical if Encrypto is to be relied on. 2. Since Encrypto is free for both OS X and Windows, why not open source the client software and not just the engine? What advantage is there to keeping freeware closed source?
(0)
3.5
greenwayrod
13 April 2016
Version: 1.3
Cross platform application for Windows and Mac computers. Allows to share encrypted files with friends and send them via e-mail. You can also encrypt the file and and set up the hint. Hint is useful in case you forget the password. Main advantage - it is free! Give it a chance and try.
(2)
5
FlyinRyan7
28 December 2015
Version: 1.3
Dynamite app - I have family who live all over the country and on occasion we have to share files that are more sensitive in nature (I do some of their taxes). This app has been a life saver when it comes to providing a nice front end, works on multiple platforms, and is easy to use for my non-technical family....and it's free!!

Something MacPaw could improve on (I have a few of their apps...highly recommended by the way) is providing more information about the security of their apps up front. Security professionals are inherently skeptical people and want to know the details. For example, a reviewer below mentioned not knowing which hash the software was using. Though it says in the description that it's AES-256 I imagine that information was added because enough people complained.
(0)
2
iMiNiMaL
14 May 2015
Version: 1.1
This application looks very suspicious. It would be just another snake oil??? a lot of relevant information were not provided ... what the hash it uses? SHA-512, Whirlpool, SHA-3 (Keccak)? It has open source code? How can we trust that encryption is really safe and does not have back doors?

Many questions to be answered!

Currently I recommend GnuPG and VeraCrypt for anyone who needs SERIOUS encryption.
(3)
Show comments (2)