Back to Java SE Runtime Environment 9 page
Java SE Runtime Environment 9 free download for Mac

Java SE Runtime Environment 9 Reviews

9.0.4.0.11
16 January 2018

Java runtime environment from Oracle.

Derekcurrie
16 July 2014

Most helpful

The usual reminder: Java is the single most DaNGeRouS software Mac users can run on the Internet. If you're a user on the Internet: Don't run Java in your browsers unless you really really have to. Even then, turn it off when you're done or it may leave a nasty stain. If you're a developer: Please give the world a break and use some other technology for programming on the web. Java really is the worst POS rubbish coding language on the Internet, no exceptions. Thank you for caring. Oh and thank YOU Oracle for ruining Java. I hate you Oracle!
Like (6)
Version 1.8.11.12

Read 18 Java SE Runtime Environment 9 User Reviews

Rate this app:

Cortig
29 September 2017
For information, ImageJ and all derivatives seem incompatible with the Java 9 JDK at this point.
Like (1)
Version 9.0.0.0.181
Eric•Woehler
19 July 2017
Don't forget to uncheck the box to have Yahoo set as your default homepage in Safari by the JRE installer. Also note that Firefox 52+ doesn't support Java.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.141.15
1 answer(s)
Sgilbert
Sgilbert
29 September 2017
Yahoo is no longer installed as default, nor even an option. (v.9)
Like (2)
AlVarnell
26 July 2016
Java SE 8u101 is the latest Security Alert releases for JDK 8. Java SE 8u102 is the latest patch-set update with additional features that are not required for normal operations.
Like
Version 1.8.102.14
Shock-J
08 February 2016
I believe the current version, as of 2/8/2016, is1.8.73.02 NOT 1.8.74.02.
Like
Version 1.8.74.02
5 answer(s)
rardin
rardin
08 February 2016
Although Oracle isn't pushing 1.8.74.02 yet via java.com/download, it's available alongside 1.8.73.02 on their Java SE Runtime Environment 8 Downloads page.
Like
Shock-J
Shock-J
08 February 2016
@rardin - Well I'll be.. you're right. Strange though. The installed Java Control Panel only updates you to 1.8.73.02 and then says you're up-to-date. Why not link to the ACTUAL most current version?
Like (1)
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
24 February 2016
So weird. I’ve tried to update from 73.02 to 74.02 a dozen times with MacUpdate app, and after every (apparently) successful install, MacUpdate still thinks it's 73.02 and shows an update available. WTF? Is this a "real" update, or what?

Like (1)
Shock-J
Shock-J
24 February 2016
@Steven What I discovered is that the MacUpdate app downloads the INSTALLER for the latest Java. It does not actually install Java (at least not 1.8.74). Go to the "Installed" tab in the app, select "Java 8 Update 74" and click on the "Open" button in the right column. This will trigge/open the installer for version 1.8.74. Run this and then you'll be up to date. Yeah, it's totally misleading/confusing.
Like
Steven-Goodheart
Steven-Goodheart
25 February 2016
Shock-J -- Brilliant! Thanks so much, that did it. Found the Installer -- a file/app called "Java 8 Update 74 and ran it and it updated. Appreciate your taking the time to share this; I'm sure I'm not the only one who has been a bit baffled.
Like
Derekcurrie
20 January 2016
Don't install it. If you already have a version of Oracle's Java Internet plug-in installed, go to Oracle's website and download their universal UNinstaller for Java, then run it. The Oracle Java Internet plug-in is one of the most dangerous pieces of software you can run on the Internet, second only to Adobe's awful Flash Player plug-in. Just say 'NO!'
Like (1)
Version 1.8.72.15
Enk3
03 December 2015
The adware is back. But you can at least suppress it in the Java control panel's Advanced preferences: http://i.imgur.com/fVT7GoU.png
Like (4)
Version 1.8.66.17
1 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
08 February 2016
Scroll right down to the bottom of the Advanced menu and check that "disable sponsor" thing.
Like
iPoopStore
20 August 2015
I just installed Java 8 Update 60 and there was no sign of any malware. I checked first with Pacifist also to make sure before launching the installer. Thanks for listening Oracle and getting rid of that nonsense. Update went smooth with 10.10.5 and no troubles with the few Java apps I use.
Like
Version 1.8.60.27
jeffbonta
11 May 2015
I am unable to install the Java 8 Update 45 on my mac version 10.10.3. I keep getting messages that Java 8 Update 45 is now available-you have Java 8 Update 31. So I click on Install Update from the Software Update window. That causes the update to download, but it never installs. If I go to the Java Control Panel from System Preferences, it again says that my current version is Java 8 Update 31. No matter how many times I click on Update, it never updates. How do I fix this?
Like
Version 1.8.45.14
1 answer(s)
starsizzle
starsizzle
22 May 2015
Sounds like a great user experience you are having and valid reason for a 5 star rating. Interesting thought...
Like (6)
IrishBadger
17 April 2015
OS requirement info is incorrect. Claims to require 10.8.3, installs fine on 10.7.5 (Lion)....
Like
Version 1.8.45.14
Sean-Smith
15 March 2015
Well, this is getting to be farcical. Oracle just released a new build, JRE 1.8.0_40-b26 (vs the previously released 1.8.0_40-b25). While the standalone installer downloaded from Oracle's web site no longer attempts to install the Ask.com adware, the preference pane updater now does.

I really don't get the mentality behind a successful company like Oracle trying to sneak adware onto the user's system. Yes, you can opt out, if you're paying close attention, in which case Oracle has at best mildly annoyed you and gained nothing in return.

But if (not being used to such tricks in the Mac world) your eyes glazed over and you clicked "Next" without unticking the tiny checkbox that's buried in visual clutter, you'd find yourself with your homepage hijacked and a new ad-laden browser toolbar you didn't want, in which case you'd be furious at Oracle.

Either way, whether Oracle wins or loses in their attempt to sneak adware onto your system, from henceforward you're probably going to be inclined to regard the company as sleazy.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.0_40
7 answer(s)
Sean-Smith
Sean-Smith
17 March 2015
And now the adware is back in the JRE 1.8.0_40-b27 standalone installer.

Stay classy, Oracle.
Like (1)
MikeChip
MikeChip
22 March 2015
The easy answer is to remove Oracles Java from your system and never install it again. Do the same with Flash and your mac is much more secure than before.
Like (3)
Macinman
Macinman
15 April 2015
what adware are you talking about? i've always installed the JDK directly from oracle's site and i've never had anything added to any browser that changed my home page or added a tool bar. No version of java has done that to any of my systems.
Like
Macinman
Macinman
15 April 2015
In fact, I forgot to add in my first post, I have the latest version of adware medic and it's never detected anything from the oracle installer. The only time it's reported adware is if firefox or chrome tries to install something.
Like
Sean-Smith
Sean-Smith
15 April 2015
Macinman, I'm talking about the Ask Toolbar. You can see a screenshot of the lovely installer UI at step 5 of "How do I install Java for my Mac?":

http://www.java.com/en/download/help/mac_install.xml

Note also this page, "What are the Ask Toolbars?":

http://java.com/en/download/faq/ask_toolbar.xml

And for the pièce de résistance, the oh-so-user-friendly "How do I install Java without third party sponsor offers?":

http://java.com/en/download/faq/disable_offers.xml
Like (1)
Dgeo
Dgeo
18 April 2015
Sean Smith, the last 15+ years I have been downloading JDK and JRE from http://java.sun.com , which still works, redirecting to http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java nowadays :) Being old school, I never really like automatic updates in the programs and tools I use. I hated http://www.java.com right from the start as I believe it gives Java a bad name.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
15 July 2015
Just updated to 1.8.0_51-b16 and no "ask bar" in sight. Great. Maybe someone realized that inclusion was totally uncalled for.
Like
michael-macupdate
13 March 2015
On top of the absurd decision to include known adware in the installer, 8_40 has caused a number of applications to fail to launch. I have spoken with a couple of developers who use Java, only to hear that they are hearing of issues from their users. While the decision to upgrade is a personal one, I can say that I rolled back to 8_31. Here is a link to 8_31: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/java-archive-javase8-2177648.html#jre-8u31-oth-JPR
Like (2)
Version 1.8.0_40
Sean-Smith
04 March 2015
The JRE 1.8.0_40 installer attempts to install adware (in the form of a Safari extension) and hijack your home page and search engine. Users in the Windows world, where installers that attempt to sneak adware onto your system are commonplace, may accept such utter contempt for them, but we don't need this crap in the Mac world. Screw you, Oracle.
Like (3)
Version 1.8.0_40
5 answer(s)
Mcd3
Mcd3
04 March 2015
Can anyone explain to me IF and WHY Java rte (or ANY Java, is needed?) I use a lot of YouTube and other video sites; I know this is a highly radioactive app, so i only want it on if i absolutely need to. Sometimes videos stay blank; I use HTML5......
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
04 March 2015
@Sean Smith, Where did you download it from? I used the Java reference pane. No adware installed on my system.

@Mcd3, a few websites still use it, such as for printing shipping labels, and Wikipedia for playing media. Why? I have no idea.
Like
Sean-Smith
Sean-Smith
05 March 2015
Raven, I downloaded the installer from www.java.com, as the v1.8.0_40 updater was not yet being offered through the preference pane.
Like (1)
ben-marko
ben-marko
07 March 2015
I got it here. Really annoying.Hard to understand what Oracle was thinking with this stunt.
Like (1)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
07 March 2015
OK, I just read about this on one of the Mac news sites.

Apparently if you just click through the installer, as everyone might do, you miss the option to not install the Ask search thing. So if you install this, don't just click through, and do a custom install and deselect it.

It's messed up that they did that without warning.
Like
vangulickc
21 January 2015
Can't download the software anyway. Even Oracle's site leads to a dead end. harming.
Like
Version 1.8.0_31
2 answer(s)
Pissnaround
Pissnaround
21 January 2015
If you have a previous version of Java 8 installed just use the Jave preference pane.
Like
sjk
sjk
24 January 2015
Easily downloadable from here:

Java SE Runtime Environment 8 - Downloads
http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre8-downloads-2133155.html
Like
Derekcurrie
16 July 2014
The usual reminder: Java is the single most DaNGeRouS software Mac users can run on the Internet. If you're a user on the Internet: Don't run Java in your browsers unless you really really have to. Even then, turn it off when you're done or it may leave a nasty stain. If you're a developer: Please give the world a break and use some other technology for programming on the web. Java really is the worst POS rubbish coding language on the Internet, no exceptions. Thank you for caring. Oh and thank YOU Oracle for ruining Java. I hate you Oracle!
Like (6)
Version 1.8.11.12
9 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
17 July 2014
Odd. I ran 'java -v' in the Terminal and was prompted to install Oracle's Runtime :P
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
22 July 2014
Close to every language runs on the JVM (Java Virtual Machine), so you do seem misguided on what Java really is. Hint, it's a platform not a language.
Also, Java on the server isn't more insecure than other languages (PHP especially).

I have no idea why you would run Java in the browser these days. (Java ≠ Javascript), so I'm with you there.
Like (6)
umaromc
umaromc
23 July 2014
@Mikael B; https://www.java.com/en/download/faq/whatis_java.xml

"Java is a programming language and computing platform..."

Maybe you should tell Oracle what's up because it seems their explanation disagrees with yours.
Like (1)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
23 July 2014
Of course it's also a language, but not just a language. As I said, it's a platform, which is what Oracle says. It certainly doesn't support your initial sentiment.
On this Java computing platform runs a large number of all modern web languages in use. That was the point, not splitting hairs.

On the upside, you are now guided in what Java is.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
23 July 2014
Of course my hint should have read:
"Java is a platform just as much as it's a language.", but I think most people that read the first version understood it that way.
Like
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
24 July 2014
Mikael B: My two dozen books on Java disagree with certain details of what you've written here. Strictly speaking, Java is ONLY a programming language. There are NO other languages that run on any JRE. The JRE is a platform specific method of running the same Java code on various platforms. The 'platforms' are OS X, Windows, Java, Solaris and not doubt a few others. There i no Java 'platform'.

There are actually MANY Java applets on the Internet. Some are required by banks in order to access your account. Many are games. They do as many things as you can think of directly on the Internet via the provided Java plug-in for various browsers on various OS platforms. Thankfully, these days, writing code in various scripting languages, most particularly ECMAScript (often oddly still called 'JavaScript' despite including a lot more coding than what was provided in JavaScript), has shoved Java applet coding off to the side. Would that it was entirely removed from the Internet.

The core problem with Java on the Internet: Stupid idiotic Oracle removed Java sandboxing. This allows Java applets to access the user's computer and therefore destroy it if the code so desires, one of the most destructive and ridiculous moves in computer history. That is why I Hate Oracle.

There is obviously A LOT of history and detail about Java. PLEASE do your homework so you know what you're talking about in the future. I know what it's like to be a newbie to everything and to discover the mythology other people have handed you is garbage. The cure is to do your own research, get good at it, enjoy it, share it. :-Derek
Like (3)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
25 July 2014
The JVM is the computing platform, as you very well know. You're hardly denying that many languages are run daily on the JVM of millions of computers, usually in cloud clusters solutions and similar. Are you?

While you can argue that the JVM is independent of the Java the language, it's a central aspect to any Java developer, as the byte code of different languages in the JVM can be made to work together very well.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
25 July 2014
Here's more reading for those that want to know more about the issues witn Java sandboxing: http://nakedsecurity.sophos.com/2013/09/17/oracle-java-fails-at-security-in-new-and-creative-ways/
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
25 July 2014
@Derekcurrie, despite your tone it's interesting to note that nothing you wrote really contradicted my raised notions in my previous responses. Applets, schmapplets not withstanding, they can all be gotten rid of or worked around. If your bank commands you must use them for services, change bank. If a company feel they need an applet for their ancient system, make it internal only.

It's a rare case that you HAVE TO use Java applets these days. Just don't do it, is my recommendation.

I'll be running Java webapps on my own server, as I've done for the last 8 years, thank you.
Like
Macmicky
18 April 2014
Funny when you get to Oracle they say the download is 166 Megs and as noted it installs straight over 1.7 and heals several critical patches. If you open Safari after the install it will tell you tell you the version you installed admittedly this requires a couple of clicks to connect to the Oracle site but then you are good to go. Runs pretty quick.
Like
Version 1.8.0_5
lurkingremlin
17 April 2014
Another "critical" update (8u5) patching 37 security holes is out: http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/jre8-downloads-2133155.html
Like (2)
Version 1.8.00.132
Libertyforall1776
24 March 2014
Funny when I ran the Java Update Check it did not find 1.8, had to manually download and install it.
Like (4)
Version 1.8.00.132
2 answer(s)
Imarc845
Imarc845
15 April 2014
Ditto
Like (1)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
16 April 2014
What a strange update policy. Very confusing and user unfriendly. Also no word on how to update if Java 1.7 is installed and wanting to update to 1.8. Fact is, just install it over the existing Java and you're good. Communicating this to the user would be even better. Oracle is a strange company.
Like (1)
Moxiesozo
23 March 2014
I installed, confirmed latest version was successfully installed in my web browser, and rebooted. Going into Apple menu / System Preferences / Java, I select Update in the Java Control Panel, press the Check for Updates button, and get this message: "Unable to check for Java updates" "Please check your internet connection and try again." I bet other folks will experience the same behavior/result. Pretty sad this is released without strict quality control. Get your sh!t together, Oracle!
Like (3)
Version 1.8.00.132
3 answer(s)
Valmontian
Valmontian
17 April 2014
Ditto. Very bad.
Like
majormikey
majormikey
30 June 2014
Everything on my Mac says I've updated to 1.8 except MacUpdate Desktop.
Like
majormikey
majormikey
30 June 2014
Found the problem with MacUpdate Desktop. A residual plugin for Java 1.7 was in my /Library/Internet plugins/ directory.
Like (1)