Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Android File Transfer page
Android File Transfer free download for Mac

Android File Transfer Reviews1.0.12

10 July 2019

Gives access to MTP devices over USB.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
craig-13
craig-13
Mar 17 2021
1.0.12
1.0
Mar 17 2021
1.0
Version: 1.0.12
F Google, just F them. They are evil scum. The world would be a much better place without Google and their useless, infuriating, crap software for Android file transfers.
craig-13
craig-13
Mar 17 2021
1.0.12
1.0
Mar 17 2021
1.0
Version: 1.0.12
F Google, just F them. They are evil scum. The world would be a much better place without Google and there useless, infuriating, crap software for Android file transfers.
princeabebe666
princeabebe666
Mar 10 2021
1.0.12
0.0
Mar 10 2021
0.0
Version: 1.0.12
As everyone else says, a total piece of shit. I'm on Catalina, and occasionally - and randomly - it might find your phone straight away, but 99% of the time nothing happens...or my mac gives me the 'something is using too much power' message.
mberenreeder
mberenreeder
Feb 15 2021
1.0.12
1.0
Feb 15 2021
1.0
Version: 1.0.12
I would also rate this POS a zero if I could (as some others have already stated). I can't believe that five years ago I literally had to use this same exact app for the same deplorable functionality and to this day there is nothing better. That said I am going to install this app, called OpenMTP, that I just found and seems to be getting rave reviews from the other millions of people frustrated that this little company with no resources call Google couldn't find the time to update. Yet here a guy had to basically rewrite a Kernel for MTP in order to make an app worthwhile. Here is the link to OpenMTP: https://openmtp.ganeshrvel.com/ Here is a link to an interview with the one guy who tried to make our lives better because Google, you suck: https://www.inputmag.com/guides/theres-finally-an-alternative-to-googles-horrible-android-file-transfer-app
andrewbyrneutube98
andrewbyrneutube98
Nov 25 2020
1.0.12
1.0
Nov 25 2020
1.0
Version: 1.0.12
I wish I could rate it 0 stars. Worst application I've ever used. Half the time it can't even open the folders let alone transfer them. Then when it does, no guarantee all the files even transfer as I always seem to end up with 5 or 6 missing and too many to scroll through to try and find what ones exactly so the whole time spent trying to get the app to work and transfer the files is then wasted. I'm literally crying right now after trying to transfer files I have had on my phone for over a year and unable to f****g clear off because Apple and Android hate us so much and want a monopoly and ugh! Anyway. No point in using this. You'd have less stress trying to raise the money to just buy a second phone and second laptop.
patephotographic
patephotographic
Jan 8 2020
1.0.12
5.0
Jan 8 2020
5.0
Version: 1.0.12
This app is not "automated" in any way or wireless, like some paid apps are. You must hook up your android device to your Mac via a USB cable. I hook up my Galaxy S7 phone to a powered USB hub hooked to my 2015 MacBook Pro which runs MacOS High Sierra. Here are the steps: 1. When you plug in your device using its own USB cord, the App automatically launches on your Mac. 2. Two pop-up windows appear, one on your phone (Allow access to device data) and one on your Mac desktop (Can't access device storage). 3. FIRST, on your Mac, click OK. The window will disappear. SECOND, on your phone, tap "Allow." Then a window will pop-up on your Mac showing your phone's file structure. 4. Find the files you want under the "Phone" or "Card" tabs at the top. Photos are in the DCIM > Camera folder under each tab. 5. Drag the files from the app window to your desktop or an open File folder window. 6. Once files are transferred, you can delete them on your phone to save space. Most of the negative reviews are probably from people who don't perform step 3 in the correct sequence. Unless you do, the app will not launch properly.
Septic Monkey
Septic Monkey
Jan 4 2020
1.0.12
0.0
Jan 4 2020
0.0
Version: 1.0.12
doesn't connect to anything
Dorkypants
Dorkypants
Sep 27 2019
1.0.12
3.0
Sep 27 2019
3.0
Version: 1.0.12
Works on Mojave (10.14). 32-bit only, so won't work on Catalina (10.15). No updates, Google?
Citizenvern
Citizenvern
May 1 2019
1.0.11
0.5
May 1 2019
0.5
Version: 1.0.11
Works once after you install it, then it never detects your phone again.
CODE_ASH
CODE_ASH
Jul 20 2018
1.0.11
4.0
Jul 20 2018
4.0
Version: 1.0.11
Transfer files in Mac
philcheese
philcheese
Jul 19 2018
1.0.11
0.5
Jul 19 2018
0.5
Version: 1.0.11
Doesn't work with High Sierra and S7 edge.
elgaber
elgaber
Jun 13 2018
1.0.11
1.0
Jun 13 2018
1.0
Version: 1.0.11
At first, months ago it worked just fine, and now I can't download my files, it just won't let me or will take hours even if they are just a few pictures, it's a shame it used to work great.
ronn-2
ronn-2
May 7 2018
1.0.11
1.0
May 7 2018
1.0
Version: 1.0.11
This application simply does not see any connection with the Samsung Galaxy I connected to. Using WiFi is better.
I tried this in 10.9.5
iareed0
iareed0
Feb 21 2018
1.0.11
0.0
Feb 21 2018
0.0
Version: 1.0.11
It's easy to use.
aarongoldstein
aarongoldstein
Feb 14 2018
1.0.11
2.5
Feb 14 2018
2.5
Version: 1.0.11
it's okay
shaniduckworth
shaniduckworth
Feb 12 2018
1.0.11
5.0
Feb 12 2018
5.0
Version: 1.0.11
Cool app. Easy to use!
Max-G
Max-G
Nov 23 2017
1.0
3.5
Nov 23 2017
3.5
Version: 1.0
Meanwhile at version 1.0.11. Not the best, but functional. Works with High Sierra.
lightfalling
lightfalling
Nov 22 2017
1.0
0.5
Nov 22 2017
0.5
Version: 1.0
Listing says compatible with os 10.5 and up, Does not work with os 10 .6 Junk.
Cowicide
Cowicide
Jul 24 2017
1.0
0.0
Jul 24 2017
0.0
Version: 1.0
Would it kill Google to upgrade this thing to have thumbnails for images, etc.? Just goes to show how huge a monopolistic corporation like Google is that they can't even be bothered to put their best foot forward to try and grab more Apple users to switch over to Android. This just makes it seem like the platform is an afterthought when it comes to Apple users.
traderstf
traderstf
May 7 2017
1.0
4.0
May 7 2017
4.0
Version: 1.0
Still working, very simple but does its job.
anonymous-skink-4656
anonymous-skink-4656
Feb 20 2017
1.0
5.0
Feb 20 2017
5.0
Version: 1.0
It just works well.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Jan 31 2017
1.0
0.5
Jan 31 2017
0.5
Version: 1.0
Piece of shit
Csean2006
Csean2006
Aug 25 2016
1.0
4.0
Aug 25 2016
4.0
Version: 1.0
Definitely pretty basic. Basically you plug in your Android phone and a folder pops up, where you can drag and drop all types of files (music, ebooks, videos, etc) to and from your Mac. But it works. And it works as far back as Snow Leopard 10.6 and, surprisingly, is compatible with phones using Android 5 and 6, e.g. I have a Nexus 5 with 6 and an LG G3 with 5. The pity is that while I can use a recent Android phone with my Mac on OSX 10.6, I can't use a recent iPhone.
Mykl.biz
Mykl.biz
Aug 21 2015
1.0
2.0
Aug 21 2015
2.0
Version: 1.0
A barely adequate app, lacking some basic functionality we take for granted in the Finder.
Mykl.biz
Mykl.biz
Aug 21 2015
1.0
2.0
Aug 21 2015
2.0
Version: 1.0
Using Android File Transfer the past couple years, I've had no such problem with any of my flash drives.
Flechtwerk
Flechtwerk
Aug 24 2014
1.0
0.5
Aug 24 2014
0.5
Version: 1.0
Beware! Android file transfer secretly installs an auto-launch so that a daemon is always active in background. This software then instantly erases any HFS+ formated USB flash drive without warning. Even reformating does not help: The flash drive is permanently defective and does not store data reliably any more. I lost three flash drives this way and much of my data. :-(
Zeebie
Zeebie
Jul 2 2014
1.0
0.5
Jul 2 2014
0.5
Version: 1.0
Fantastic piece of software. Sometimes, if you're lucky, it even works.
Chaloots
Chaloots
Mar 24 2014
1.0
1.5
Mar 24 2014
1.5
Version: 1.0
Worked for while as designed, then developed a serious case of amnesia, unable to recognize the same Nook HD it had shook hands with on previous occasions. Have since escorted to using a microSD-to-USB adapter to enable add/removal of files stored on the Nook. The process is more time consuming than Android File Transfer used to be, but seeing as how AFT is now DOA, it's an alternative I'm more than willing to live with. Did just come across what's billed as "The Best Alternative for Android File Transfer for Macs: at: http://transgenius.net/tutorials/android-file-transfer-alternative.html and will be giving it a closer look.
star-affinity
star-affinity
Nov 19 2013
1.0
0.0
Nov 19 2013
0.0
Version: 1.0
”…copy files up to 4 GB to or from your Mac” Nooooo! Why not more than 4 GB files?
Volcanus
Volcanus
Nov 19 2013
1.0
3.0
Nov 19 2013
3.0
Version: 1.0
Works fine with my Nokia cellphone. But installs a launchd process without any warning. No capability to remove it from within this program.