Back to Android File Transfer page
Android File Transfer free download for Mac

Android File Transfer Reviews1.0.12

10 July 2019

Gives access to MTP devices over USB.

0.5
Zeebie
02 July 2014
Version: 1.0

Most helpful

Fantastic piece of software. Sometimes, if you're lucky, it even works.
(3)

How would you rate Android File Transfer app?

Read 25 Android File Transfer User Reviews

5
patephotographic
08 January 2020
Version: 1.0.12
This app is not "automated" in any way or wireless, like some paid apps are. You must hook up your android device to your Mac via a USB cable. I hook up my Galaxy S7 phone to a powered USB hub hooked to my 2015 MacBook Pro which runs MacOS High Sierra. Here are the steps: 1. When you plug in your device using its own USB cord, the App automatically launches on your Mac. 2. Two pop-up windows appear, one on your phone (Allow access to device data) and one on your Mac desktop (Can't access device storage). 3. FIRST, on your Mac, click OK. The window will disappear. SECOND, on your phone, tap "Allow." Then a window will pop-up on your Mac showing your phone's file structure. 4. Find the files you want under the "Phone" or "Card" tabs at the top. Photos are in the DCIM > Camera folder under each tab. 5. Drag the files from the app window to your desktop or an open File folder window. 6. Once files are transferred, you can delete them on your phone to save space. Most of the negative reviews are probably from people who don't perform step 3 in the correct sequence. Unless you do, the app will not launch properly.
(0)
Septic Monkey
04 January 2020
Version: 1.0.12
doesn't connect to anything
(0)
3
Dorkypants
27 September 2019
Version: 1.0.12
Works on Mojave (10.14). 32-bit only, so won't work on Catalina (10.15). No updates, Google?
(0)
0.5
Citizenvern
01 May 2019
Version: 1.0.11
Works once after you install it, then it never detects your phone again.
(0)
4
ashishcompuiting
20 July 2018
Version: 1.0.11
Transfer files in Mac
(0)
0.5
philcheese
19 July 2018
Version: 1.0.11
Doesn't work with High Sierra and S7 edge.
(0)
Show comment (1)
1
elgaber
13 June 2018
Version: 1.0.11
At first, months ago it worked just fine, and now I can't download my files, it just won't let me or will take hours even if they are just a few pictures, it's a shame it used to work great.
(1)
1
ronn-2
07 May 2018
Version: 1.0.11
This application simply does not see any connection with the Samsung Galaxy I connected to. Using WiFi is better.
I tried this in 10.9.5
(0)
iareed0
21 February 2018
Version: 1.0.11
It's easy to use.
(0)
2.5
aarongoldstein
14 February 2018
Version: 1.0.11
it's okay
(0)
5
shaniduckworth
12 February 2018
Version: 1.0.11
Cool app. Easy to use!
(0)
3.5
Max-G
23 November 2017
Version: 1.0
Meanwhile at version 1.0.11. Not the best, but functional. Works with High Sierra.
(1)
Show comment (1)
0.5
lightfalling
22 November 2017
Version: 1.0
Listing says compatible with os 10.5 and up, Does not work with os 10 .6 Junk.
(0)
Cowicide
24 July 2017
Version: 1.0
Would it kill Google to upgrade this thing to have thumbnails for images, etc.? Just goes to show how huge a monopolistic corporation like Google is that they can't even be bothered to put their best foot forward to try and grab more Apple users to switch over to Android. This just makes it seem like the platform is an afterthought when it comes to Apple users.
(1)
4
traderstf
07 May 2017
Version: 1.0
Still working, very simple but does its job.
(0)
5
anonymous-skink-4656
20 February 2017
Version: 1.0
It just works well.
(0)
0.5
Maclover1-1
31 January 2017
Version: 1.0
Piece of shit
(2)
4
Csean2006
25 August 2016
Version: 1.0
Definitely pretty basic. Basically you plug in your Android phone and a folder pops up, where you can drag and drop all types of files (music, ebooks, videos, etc) to and from your Mac. But it works. And it works as far back as Snow Leopard 10.6 and, surprisingly, is compatible with phones using Android 5 and 6, e.g. I have a Nexus 5 with 6 and an LG G3 with 5. The pity is that while I can use a recent Android phone with my Mac on OSX 10.6, I can't use a recent iPhone.
(0)
2
Mykl.biz
21 August 2015
Version: 1.0
A barely adequate app, lacking some basic functionality we take for granted in the Finder.
(2)
Mykl.biz
21 August 2015
Version: 1.0
Using Android File Transfer the past couple years, I've had no such problem with any of my flash drives.
(0)
0.5
Flechtwerk
24 August 2014
Version: 1.0
Beware! Android file transfer secretly installs an auto-launch so that a daemon is always active in background. This software then instantly erases any HFS+ formated USB flash drive without warning. Even reformating does not help: The flash drive is permanently defective and does not store data reliably any more. I lost three flash drives this way and much of my data. :-(
(3)
Show comment (1)
0.5
Zeebie
02 July 2014
Version: 1.0
Fantastic piece of software. Sometimes, if you're lucky, it even works.
(3)
1.5
Chaloots
24 March 2014
Version: 1.0
Worked for while as designed, then developed a serious case of amnesia, unable to recognize the same Nook HD it had shook hands with on previous occasions. Have since escorted to using a microSD-to-USB adapter to enable add/removal of files stored on the Nook. The process is more time consuming than Android File Transfer used to be, but seeing as how AFT is now DOA, it's an alternative I'm more than willing to live with. Did just come across what's billed as "The Best Alternative for Android File Transfer for Macs: at: http://transgenius.net/tutorials/android-file-transfer-alternative.html and will be giving it a closer look.
(0)
star-affinity
19 November 2013
Version: 1.0
”…copy files up to 4 GB to or from your Mac” Nooooo! Why not more than 4 GB files?
(0)
3
Volcanus
19 November 2013
Version: 1.0
Works fine with my Nokia cellphone. But installs a launchd process without any warning. No capability to remove it from within this program.
(0)