Back to Itsycal page
Itsycal free download for Mac

Itsycal Reviews

28 December 2020

A tiny calendar for your menu bar.

How would you rate Itsycal?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
bruh___
bruh___
Nov 9 2020
0.12.5
5.0
Nov 9 2020
5.0
Version: 0.12.5
I've been using Itsycal for a year or more, never had a problem, and the design is so clean and simple to use. strongly reccomend
Hydester
Hydester
Nov 4 2020
0.12.5
5.0
Nov 4 2020
5.0
Version: 0.12.5
Sweet little app to add iCal to menu bar
OhEssex
OhEssex
Oct 10 2020
0.12.4
0.0
Oct 10 2020
0.0
Version: 0.12.4
I LOVE Itsycal but what's killing me is that in Big Sur you can't remove Apple's clock from the menubar and also in Big Sur the icons across the menubar are spaced even further apart. Not sure I can afford the space up there for Itsycal any more (and a curse on Apple for forcing that miserable situation).
Zoz
Zoz
Apr 22 2020
0.12.3
4.0
Apr 22 2020
4.0
Version: 0.12.3
I've been using Itsycal for a few years now and have to admit that I'm very happy with this little gem: it's small and efficient and serves my limited scope of needs very well. I've never attempted anything like syncing with other devices nor some fancy use so I can't say if then I'd be equally satisfied, but as far as my desktop is concerned it's nearly perfect (customisation thrown in would be very helpful)
qwedcxza0
qwedcxza0
Dec 16 2019
0.12.2
5.0
Dec 16 2019
5.0
Version: 0.12.2
It's very cool, thank you!
artie505
artie505
Oct 27 2019
0.12.1
4.0
Oct 27 2019
4.0
Version: 0.12.1
As simple time/day/date functionality, Itsycal is far superior to Apple's solution, but I'd love its menu bar presentation to be more configurable, so only four stars. In a different vein, Itsycal is NOT free! It's donationware, but I've been put off from donating, because Mowglii is the only developer I've ever run across who doesn't understand that credit card fees are a cost of doing business, and, particularly, that charging me a fee for the privilege of making a voluntary donation is just plan greedy.
Stevie-Ackerman
Stevie-Ackerman
Apr 6 2019
0.11.13
0.0
Apr 6 2019
0.0
Version: 0.11.13
Love the program... Been using it for years. But with Mojave 10.14.3, it won't stay running for more than a few hours at a time.
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
Oct 28 2018
0.11.13
5.0
Oct 28 2018
5.0
Version: 0.11.13
Great program calendar! Used it since its inception, never disappointed. The developer always keeps it updated and bug-free. Highly configurable to suit anyone's taste. I've tried all the mini-calendars out there, none beats and most don't equal this prize app! Many thanks to the developer for the great price!?
JD-1
JD-1
Sep 8 2018
0.11.12
5.0
Sep 8 2018
5.0
Version: 0.11.12
Wonderful little app that does exactly what I need without the need of a separate app password that the way overpriced Fantastical is constantly having issues with. I've been a user of Fantastical since it first was released and it served me well, but has become a real pain to deal with over the years and the price to upgrade to the newer version is absurd. I love this app and wish there was an iOS version too. I highly recommend this to everyone looking for an easy to use and unobtrusive menu based calendar!
castantzen
castantzen
Jun 20 2018
0.11.10
5.0
Jun 20 2018
5.0
Version: 0.11.10
Very good, adjustible little tool to show week number, Day, month , year and time in the Menü-bar of the Mac. 12 hour with am and pm or 24 hour, the European stile possible.l I find it better than apples solution!
Max-G
Max-G
Jun 11 2018
0.11.10
4.5
Jun 11 2018
4.5
Version: 0.11.10
Great app, lomg time user. Would love to see two more features though: 1. Three months' view 2. Integrated reminders That would make the app perfect imho.
alisalevchenko07
alisalevchenko07
Feb 23 2018
0.11.9
5.0
Feb 23 2018
5.0
Version: 0.11.9
The application is simple in use and pretty nice. I recommend to try it, if you want to have a quick view of events that are planned for this date.
pedrotaquelim
pedrotaquelim
Oct 12 2017
0.11.8
0.0
Oct 12 2017
0.0
Version: 0.11.8
If you have a Mac that it's 'stuck' with EL Capitan (OS X 10.11.16), there is a version for it still:
https://www.mowglii.com/itsycal/versionhistory.html
guidocanti70
guidocanti70
Oct 8 2017
0.11.7
5.0
Oct 8 2017
5.0
Version: 0.11.7
Incredibly useful, Incredibly small, incredibly free. Nothing more to say.
apdx
apdx
Aug 13 2017
0.11.6
5.0
Aug 13 2017
5.0
Version: 0.11.6
This was the menu bar calendar app I was looking for! Simple, small and displays alI that I need it to.
lanemjohnson94
lanemjohnson94
Jun 22 2017
0.11.3
5.0
Jun 22 2017
5.0
Version: 0.11.3
Everything about this calendar app is ingenious, well-integrated, and incredibly useful
Wts
Wts
Jun 16 2017
0.11.3
5.0
Jun 16 2017
5.0
Version: 0.11.3
I really do not see the point of this application since it provides what the OS system provides so why waste system resources. However, free is free and I do complement the developer for his efforts. I am still rating this application a top 5.
artie505
artie505
Apr 10 2017
0.11.2
4.0
Apr 10 2017
4.0
Version: 0.11.2
In the end, Itsycal is the best utility of its type that's available, but I'd give it 5 stars only if its layout were more configurable.

In a different vein, though, Itsycal's two donation options are Square Cash, which works off your debit card, and PayPal, which requires your paying a fee if you use a credit card, both of which are, therefore, free to the developer.

Huh?

Mowglii's benevolent beginning comes to an unique (in my experience) and mercenary end which is hardly in the spirit of donationware.
sadath-shariff
sadath-shariff
Feb 26 2017
0.11.2
5.0
Feb 26 2017
5.0
Version: 0.11.2
Nifty app, perfectly sits in the menubar.
Ean
Ean
Feb 4 2017
0.11.1
4.5
Feb 4 2017
4.5
Version: 0.11.1
Simply the handiest, best-looking menu bar calendar available. Add some font customization and I'll give it five stars.
davidinracine
davidinracine
Jan 10 2017
0.11.0
3.0
Jan 10 2017
3.0
Version: 0.11.0
Good to see something like this in active development... three stars for potential. Please take a look at Magical 1.14r to see what Itsycal could be. Sadly, Magical hasn't seen an update since 2010. I'm sticking with Magical in OS Sierra despite some cobwebs... it is sublime.
Max-G
Max-G
Oct 31 2016
0.10.15
4.5
Oct 31 2016
4.5
Version: 0.10.15
Not working on 10.10.5
Max-G
Max-G
Sep 4 2016
0.10.14
4.5
Sep 4 2016
4.5
Version: 0.10.14
Great little app. Excellent UI. Feature request: flexible width (dragable) with three monts view.
ethy
ethy
Aug 26 2016
0.10.14
4.5
Aug 26 2016
4.5
Version: 0.10.14
Simple, efficent, a great companion. Does what it says and has a nice icon too!
ch-am-pion
ch-am-pion
Aug 26 2016
0.10.14
4.5
Aug 26 2016
4.5
Version: 0.10.14
Itsycal is a tiny little thing on my Mac that is unnoticeable and so handy. Works perfectly with El Cap.
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
Jul 31 2016
0.10.13
5.0
Jul 31 2016
5.0
Version: 0.10.13
Wow. Fast, light, great menu bar display, and works great. What more could you ask for? Well, it's also free. Mind blowing. What a great dev. to release this program to us for free. I can do 90% of my calendar work from the menu bar, or double click a date to open Calendar for the other 10%. I'm loving this.
Aeschylus
Aeschylus
May 7 2016
0.10.12
5.0
May 7 2016
5.0
Version: 0.10.12
I gave up using Fantastical 1 for this app. Why? It is light, fast, and opens my full calendar when I need to. I also like the menubar display better. This is a great app and my thanks to the developer for making this. It's great.
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
Apr 20 2016
0.10.12
5.0
Apr 20 2016
5.0
Version: 0.10.12
Perfect!
Devadog
Devadog
Mar 2 2016
0.10.10
5.0
Mar 2 2016
5.0
Version: 0.10.10
An excellent uncluttered calendar. Very handy and the icing on the cake is that it is free ! Im using it on El Capitan without a hitch.
afm369
afm369
Oct 20 2015
0.10.6
4.0
Oct 20 2015
4.0
Version: 0.10.6
Great tiny app but need to add "Reminders" support, colored icon (or just another icon version for highlighting in menubar).
D9
D9
Oct 15 2015
0.10.6
5.0
Oct 15 2015
5.0
Version: 0.10.6
Like most have said here, it's a great app that provides the bare essence of Calendar features that many such as myself want. Nothing against Fantastical, but I don't require 90% of their features...I just want to see quickly a visual month calendar and possibly any events I have currently. That is exactly what ItsyCal provides. It has a simple, crisp UI that has never given me performance issues. You can even add & delete events from it. If you want a simple (and even FREE) menu calendar, there is no better than Itsycal, IMHO.
Max-G
Max-G
Oct 1 2015
0.10.5
4.5
Oct 1 2015
4.5
Version: 0.10.5
Does this work on 10.11 El Capitan?
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
Aug 20 2015
0.10.4
0.0
Aug 20 2015
0.0
Version: 0.10.4
If itsycal could show Reminders then it would be a decent replacement for now abandoned MenuCalendarClock.
Drdul
Drdul
Aug 11 2015
0.10.3
5.0
Aug 11 2015
5.0
Version: 0.10.3
An excellent alternative to Fantastical. For my needs it does everything that I want in a menubar calendar without any unnecessary bells and whistles. And it's free! Also, the dev is very responsive – I wrote to him about the format that dates were displayed in, and he responded within a few hours, and within two days had released a new version that fixed the issue.
Drdul
Drdul
Aug 11 2015
0.10.3
5.0
Aug 11 2015
5.0
Version: 0.10.3
Version 0.10.4 is available now (can download from the dev's site until the MU listing is updated).
CS2530
CS2530
Apr 27 2015
0.9.2
0.0
Apr 27 2015
0.0
Version: 0.9.2
Please make it work with Mountain Lion!
Stevie-Ackerman
Stevie-Ackerman
Apr 27 2015
0.9.2
0.0
Apr 27 2015
0.0
Version: 0.9.2
Any way to shift the app right on the menubar without having to load additional tools?
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
Apr 26 2015
0.9.2
5.0
Apr 26 2015
5.0
Version: 0.9.2
Great little program with all the necessary features....though would it be possible to create a little color? Minimal impact on computer resources!
Bepe
Bepe
Apr 26 2015
0.9.2
5.0
Apr 26 2015
5.0
Version: 0.9.2
Simple, easy, fine look, french localisation :-)
Quirop-Pa
Quirop-Pa
Apr 21 2015
0.9.1
5.0
Apr 21 2015
5.0
Version: 0.9.1
Genial. Simple, útil, y gratis. Imprescindible. Thanks!!!
MacManX
MacManX
Apr 7 2015
0.9.1
5.0
Apr 7 2015
5.0
Version: 0.9.1
This great little app does exactly what it claims to, extends Apple's Calendar by providing a quick reference calendar and up to 7 days worth of events in your menu bar. The perfect successor to Fantastical 1, if you aren't looking for the full calendar replacement that Fantastical 2 provides.
scherf@byom.de
scherf@byom.de
Mar 28 2015
0.9.1
3.5
Mar 28 2015
3.5
Version: 0.9.1
Minimal Art, but much cheaper than Fantastical
Maxter
Maxter
Mar 26 2015
0.9.0
0.0
Mar 26 2015
0.0
Version: 0.9.0
Nice! If you could make it work with BusyCal too I would adopt it immediately.
The-Equalizer
The-Equalizer
Mar 15 2015
0.9.0
0.0
Mar 15 2015
0.0
Version: 0.9.0
Wouldn't it be great if this "complete re-write of the app" worked with Mavericks and wasn't a "Yosemite only" app? I do like this and have the previous version installed.
Max-G
Max-G
Feb 8 2015
0.8.0
4.5
Feb 8 2015
4.5
Version: 0.8.0
Meanwhile at version 8.15 www.mowglii.com/itsycal/versionhistory.html
Echoz
Echoz
Jan 1 2015
0.8.0
5.0
Jan 1 2015
5.0
Version: 0.8.0
Great choice of minimalist options and compact display.
Max-G
Max-G
Aug 22 2014
0.8.0
4.5
Aug 22 2014
4.5
Version: 0.8.0
Nice little menubar calendar. Also showing todos and events! Two questions to the developer: 1. What does pinning to the calendar? 2. I'd love to see a square icon instead of rectangular. Maybe you could build in several options?
djcz
djcz
May 27 2014
0.8.0
0.0
May 27 2014
0.0
Version: 0.8.0
Cool little Menubar Calendar, but not exactly Mavericks compatible. I'll go to click on the Itsycal menubar icon and many times it will do nothing until the actual application is double-clicked, then it will work fine for a while.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
May 15 2014
0.8.0
4.5
May 15 2014
4.5
Version: 0.8.0
Minimal and compact calendar with events displaying support. Just what I need - without any extra stuff, which would make it bloated. Nice.