Back to VueScan page
VueScan free download for Mac

VueScan Reviews

9.7.08
12 November 2019

Scanner software with advanced features.

Radus
03 October 2019

Most helpful

Best App of its kind. It works perfectly on my old Scan Snap S1500M.
Like (1)
Version 9.7.01

Read 642 VueScan User Reviews

Rate this app:

dpdelly
17 October 2019
BEWARE IF YOU HAVE A DOCUMENT SCANNER. I have a simple Fujitsu ScanSnap S1500M. I happily paid for the standard VueScan at $39.00, delighted I could sustain my ScanSnap. I then loaded a single black & white Word document and scanned it. Immediately a pop-up window appeared saying "Document Feeders Require the Professional Version of VueScan." And if you don't upgrade for another $50 to the "Professional" version, you get a nice large watermark across your simple Word document. This is CLEARLY A BAIT AND SWITCH. BEWARE!
Like (1)
Version 9.7.04
1 answer(s)
libertea1st
libertea1st
21 October 2019
Unless you review the VueScan website carefully it leads a person to believe the Standard version priced at $49.95 will work with the SnapScan S1500M. In the fine print there is the statement "No Automatic Document Feeders" which means you have to buy the Professional version at $99.95 to get rid of the watermark that appears on scans with the Standard version. Unfortunately I was seduced by the headline on the
Like
Version 9.7.05
Radus
03 October 2019
Best App of its kind. It works perfectly on my old Scan Snap S1500M.
Like (1)
Version 9.7.01
Dovidls
03 October 2019
In nearly every respect, this is five-star software -- reasonably priced, reliability, intuitive ui, quality scanning etc, etc. VueScan kept my CanoScan 4400F away from landfill for many years after its manufacturer chose to abandon supporting it and I cheerfully paid for a pro version license. Perhaps my expectations were too high, but I had great hope that Vuescan would continue supporting my scanner even after Apple dropped support for 32bit apps. and appreciated and was impressed with the developer's responsiveness throughout frustrating trials with the 64bit version, So, great was my surprise when the developer finally said he had enough and threw in the towel. Hearing that some other canoscan 4400f users had better results was small comfort to me. As high as my expectations and passion for VueScan is, I never dreamed these could exceed that of its creator. Regretfully, I cannot give VueScan the five stars it should deserve.
Like (1)
Version 9.6.47
Macmuser
29 August 2019
I'm pleased to be able to keep using my Epson Perfection 3200 Photo scanner after Epson and Apple chose to forget it. I wish I'd kept some of my older, better scanners, such as my Agfa Arcus and Nikon Cooscan because Vuescan still supports them as well. However, Vuescan is just not as good as the software that came with my scanners and the interface is the stuff in the last century. For me it's a love/hate relationship with Vuescan and memories of far better, more productive (and better scans) times. Ed gives good support.
Like
Version 9.6.47
drnoel
19 August 2019
I have not been able to update MacUpdate, had to to this on my own.
Like
Version 9.6.46
Umbe42
30 June 2019
I had a problem with my scanner not able to scan to PDF so I sent a support request to the developer: in 1 hour time I had the answer that solved the problem. Bravo Hamrick!
Like (3)
Version 9.6.43
glrooney
14 April 2019
MY SCANNER DOESN'T WORK WITH VUESCAN SOFTWARE. THE OWNER AND CUSTOMER SUPPORT PERSON (THE SAME PERSON) HAS BEEN CONTACTED BY ME 12 TIMES, AND AFTER PAYING $50 FOR THE UPGRADE AND TRYING THAT, IT STILL DOESN'T WORK. HE, (THE OWNER), ED HAMRICK, KEEPS TELLING ME THAT MY SCANNER DRIVER HAS TO BE DELETED BECAUSE VUESCAN CANNOT ACCESS THE SCANNER. AFTER THE SUGGESTION THAT I CALL HP AND ASK THEM, I DID SO. HP TOLD ME THAT THE SOFTWARE ONLY WORKS WITH MAC 10.8 AND I HAVE 10.14. THIS GUY, HAMRICK REFUSES TO REFUND OUR MONEY. HE IS A VERY UNCOOPERATIVE AND DOES NOT STAND BEHIND WHAT HE SELLS.
Like
Version 9.6.38
5 answer(s)
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
06 May 2019
Which software did HP say only works with 10.8? The HP scanning software, or VueScan?

I can tell you that VueScan works with the latest version of macOS, because it does on my Mac.

Sounds like the HP driver was interfering. That is a common problem (that is not VueScan's fault), so it is a reasonable suggestion to remove it. You can't have two drivers fighting over the scanner.

Hamrick can be a difficult person, but I can find no error in what he was saying. For me, VueScan has been 5-star software for the at least 15 years I've been using it.
Like (4)
glrooney
glrooney
07 May 2019
ON APRIL 12, 2019, I SPOKE TO ALBERT GACAYAN, HEWLETT PACKARD SUPPORT. AND HE TOLD ME THAT THE VUESCAN SOFTWARE ONLY WORKS WITH MAC OS 10.8 OR EARLIER. I HAVE MAC OS 10.14.

THE SCANNER SOFTWARE ON MY PRINTER WAS GONE FOR SEVERAL YEARS. I EVEN BOUGHT VUESCAN SCANNER SOFTWARE A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO AND IT WORKED ON MY OLD COMPUTER JUST FINE. THE HAMRICK SITE SAYS THAT MY PRINTER AND MY CURRENT SOFTWARE ARE COMPATIBLE AND THEY ARE NOT. IN CHECKING ON VARIOUS SITE FOR VUESCAN AND HAMRICK REVIEWS, THEY GET MANY, MANY BAD REVIEWS FOR THE SAME REASON. I BELIEVE THAT WHEN THEY EMAILED ME, AND OFFERED THE LATEST UPDATE TO MY SOFTWARE, IT WAS JUST A COME ON AND A FRAUD - TRYING TO GET THE $50 FOR THE UPGRADE BECAUSE THE "FREE" VERSION NEVER WORKED EITHER. I HAVE ALSO SEEN MANY REVIEWS WITH THIS CLAIM. ALL ANYONE HAS TO DO IT SEARCH GOOGLE FOR VUESCAN OR HAMRICK REVIEWS. THEY ARE ALL OVER THE PLACE AND THE GUY WHO RUNS IT IS STILL GETTING AWAY WITH IT. I HAVE REPORTED THEM TO THE DEPT OF JUSTICE, CONSUMER AFFAIRS AND OTHER GOVERNMENT SITES. HOPEFULLY, THEY WILL BE TAKEN DOWN.
Like
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
08 May 2019
Either the HP rep misunderstood, or you misunderstood. Because it is a FACT that VueScan works on the latest macOS, it is not limited to 10.8. Otherwise, how did I just spend the last two weeks scanning film with VueScan on macOS 10.13.6? And others are using 10.14.

If your HP scanner was old, what the HP rep was probably saying is that the *HP* software for that scanner probably doesn't work past 10.8. We see that a lot more often...scanner makers not updating their software to keep up with macOS. That's why I started using VueScan, when Nikon stopped updating their software to keep up with Mac OS X. But VueScan is ALWAYS updated for the latest Mac system. It keeps our old scanners alive on the latest system, that's why you see so many positive reviews here.

What is the model of your HP scanner? Maybe we can clear up whether the HP software still works past 10.8.
Like (5)
glrooney
glrooney
08 May 2019
The printer is: HP Laserjet M1522nf. I ended up buying a new printer and scanner. As I stated before, my Laserjet had no scanner software on it at all.
Like
Abugirges
Abugirges
10 May 2019
Before buying VueScan you should have checked if your scanner is supported:

https://www.hamrick.com/vuescan/hp_laserjet_m1522n.html#technical-information

and why didnt you install the software and tested it before buying?

Your childish behaviour does not help anyone.
Like (6)
David-Losada-Soler
21 February 2019
Does not work with Xerox WorkCentre 6515 through Ethernet in macOS 10.13.6. Using ExactScan now.
Like (1)
Version 9.6.32
Electronman
18 February 2019
Get professional scans from prints, negatives, and transparencies at whatever resolution and bit depth your scanner can handle. This is the best I have worked with in this price range. The next step up should be Silverscan for much more money however, I cannot see any difference in the scan quality. Also, the developer Ed Hamrick, works on this program all the time, adding new scanners and making improvements. I have been using this program for years. My only complaint is that it does not keep the pre-scan in memory, so for scanning multiple slides or negatives you need to do a time-consuming pre-scan after every scan. That is one of the only obvious advantages of Silverscan over VueScan for my work.
Like (4)
Version 9.6.31
Svenster
10 January 2019
Oh such an excellent product. Just resurrected a perfectly good scanner. Love this software.
Like (3)
Version 9.6.26
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
26 October 2018
VueScan is generally a good program. Though I've had some issues with it. The latest one is the suggestion above that it installs a Photoshop plugin. It, in fact, does not. The plugin does exist, but you have to install it manually, as you do the application itself.

To find the plugin, right-click/Option-click on the application and select Show Package Contents; inside you'll find only the Contents folder; open this and you'll see the Plugins folder; wherein you'll find the Vuescan.plugin file. The easiest way to move this to the Photoshop Plug-ins folder is to select it and copy it to the clipboard (Command-C). Then open the Photoshop folder, navigate to the Plug-ins folder; open this folder, and paste the file (Command-V) to the folder. Thereafter it should (it did for me) show up in the Photoshop File>Import pop-out menu. I found very few items in the CC2019 plugins folder. No Import/Export folder as in past versions. Nevertheless, VueScan showed up in the File>Import pop-out menu in Photoshop. Over the years Photoshop has often changed the way it does things. To use it you have to adapt to those changes. That's another reason people don't upgrade. They don't want to learn new sh*t.

FYI: here the plugin is specified for Photoshop CC 2019, but it also works, in my testing, in Photoshop CC 2018, which the installation of 2019 did not replace. It also works in Photoshop CS6, though you should remove any other VueScan plugins you find there, including the TWAIN plugin. It also works in Photoshop CS5.5, for whatever that's worth. The point of replacing any old VueScan plugins is so that you can be sure of launching this latest version of VueScan in Photoshop. When you scan an image it will open in Photoshop, as it should do, for editing purposes.

By the way, I did not get this solution from VueScan tech support. They insist that VueScan installs the plugin, which it does not. Perhaps it once did—I found a VueScan plugin in Photoshop CS6; I don't remember how it got there. But I figured this out on my own and tested it. Hopefully this solution will work for you, whatever version of Photoshop you're using. You might also try it in other applications, like Adobe Photoshop Elements, and any other app that has a plugins folder or capability. Just a suggestion, if you like VueScan.

I though to give VueScan a lower score because of how disputatious their tech support turned out to be. But for the most part I think reviews should restrict themselves to the quality of the app, which is what I've done here.
Like (1)
Version 9.6.20
2 answer(s)
Maxter
Maxter
30 November 2018
Agree! VueScan itself is a top notch application, but the tech support can be quite rude. I've used it for over 15 years, through many OSses and several scanners
Like
Macmuser
Macmuser
27 December 2018
The plug-in tip is excellent advice and I confirm that the plug-in did not install automatically into my copy of Photoshop CS5 when I installed Vuescan. Perhaps it will only install into newer versions?
Like
Camille-C-Laflamme
22 October 2018
For me it is the best scanner application, works flawlessly with any of my scanners. I recommend it to all Mac user who are looking for scanning. works great with my 17" scanner software.
Like (1)
Version 9.6.20
Aaronk
02 August 2018
Ressurects an old scanner from the dead when the scanner vendor stops supporting it. Using with a Fujitsu Scansnap S510. Developer releases regular updates, well documented. I wish the software had an auto update feature. The GUI isn't the prettiest, but the software just works. Love it! Another review mentions the subscription. If you pay the ~$100 cost for the software at the developer's website, unlimited free updates are included. Well worth it to stop me from replacing my $400-500 scanner.
Like (1)
Version 9.6.13
ben-marko
15 July 2018
This is an awesome bit of software. It gets frequent updates and is very easy to use. Bear in mind that it does use subscription licensing - but this is one of the VERY few applications that I would say is well worth 40 bucks a year.
Like (2)
Version 9.6.12
orsobou4
15 July 2018
Sorry, but this time, the most recent update, the 9.6.12, did not even open, so I had to return to the previous version, the 9.6.11! Usually, this software works very well with my scanner.
Like
Version 9.6.12
2 answer(s)
Macatak
Macatak
15 July 2018
Same here. Reckless, and Hamrick Web site does not keep any previous versions. A little over-confident.
Like
Macatak
Macatak
30 July 2018
v9.6.13 is opening. Thank you.
Like (1)
Phylo
04 July 2018
Long-time user, working as a doctor on different places, working as politician too, this is my preferred applications to use the different scanners I may encounter during my day, keep the job done. For special photography slides, I use a most powerful application, but it needs time and is for a dedicated scanner. Do you need one all-round application? This is it!
Like
Version 9.6.10
selizabethwebb
14 May 2018
I've been using this for quite some time now and I can say that it is really amazing.. Highly recommended!
Like (2)
Version 9.6.08
Eric•Woehler
01 May 2018
Long-time user, recommend this software. Remarkable set of options for scanning, talks to Photoshop and generates excellent scans. Talks to the scanners and often provides more preferences/settings than the scanner manufacturers' software. No doubt in my mind the best 3rd party scanner software and well worht the investment.
Like
Version 9.6.07
Thinking-Differently
24 October 2017
Looking for something that can take a 2-up document, and convert it to separate pages. Or to say it differently, we are looking for something that can undo imposition. Can VueScan do this, or should we look elsewhere?
Like
Version 9.5.89
1 answer(s)
TomLoredo
TomLoredo
06 July 2018
I know it's been a while since you posted this request, but in case it's useful: I split 2-up scans using the freeware briss Java app: http://briss.sourceforge.net/. My workflow is to scan to a multipage PDF (our scanner at work does this; I don't know if Vuescan can), use briss to split into single-pages, and then use Adobe Acrobat to do deskew & OCR. It's more "manual" than I'd like, but it works well.
Like
Electronman
01 October 2017
An excellent program for the money. Will scan B&W at up to 16 bits or color at 48+ bits with whatever resolution your scanner can handle.

One weak spot however is: Every time you open the program, you have to do another pre-scan, which means scanner lamp warm-up and full scan time. This is VERY time-consuming if you have a number of slides or negatives in a holder in your scanner. They could easily solve this problem by holding the previous pre-scan in memory. I expressed this to the developer, Ed Hamrick, but he didn't seem to understand what I was talking about. If you are only scanning one print, slide or negative per session, it won't matter to you. But when I have a large number of images to do it does! I now have to use SilverScan for multiple scans, which does hold the pre-scan in memory and thus, takes far less time to get my job done. After all these years and all the other improvements he has made, I wish the developer would make tis one simple improvement that would save so much time and make the program an A+ for pros. Are you listening Ed?
Like
Version 9.5.87
3 answer(s)
Jcraig
Jcraig
20 November 2017
Hmm, let me take a stab here. Load up the glass with your images, and click Preview, making sure the Preview resolution is set to your intended resolution. Then, frame your image(s), then click Save (not Scan). If you have multiple images (i.e. not using a negative holder with preset frame sizes), just repeat the process until you've saved all the desired images.
Like
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
22 November 2017
If you are getting repeated preview re-scans during the same session try increasing the Image Memory amount in the Preferences tab (Advanced) so that it can keep more scans in RAM and doesn't have to purge and re-scan. I have mine set to about 8000MB (8GB) of memory, which I can afford to allocate in a 32GB Mac, and that seems to work well for scanning 4- to 6-frame filmstrips.

If you are annoyed by getting a preview every time you start the program while scanning a lot of images, then keep the program open during long scan sessions instead of quitting it. Maybe I don't have the problem because I don't insert a filmstrip into my film scanner until after I have turned it on. Or maybe we don't understand the exact issue either, or maybe it's specific to how your scanner works.
Like
Jimw
Jimw
02 May 2018
Consider buying a new scanner. Prices for good scanners have come down and the new ones use LED's that require no warmup time and save energy. they also provide more consistent lighting and the 'bulb' never needs replacing or frequent calibration, along with being easier on your electric bill.
Like (1)
ben-marko
17 May 2017
VueScan has to be Force-Quit now, it gets hung up with a spinning beach ball when I try to quit it normally. Software still works fine.
Like
Version 9.5.76
Mr-Mike
23 April 2017
Simple to use, great results and constantly updated. Best utility app purchase.
Like
Version 9.5.74
Meitnik
12 April 2017
Love the app, but seriously He can't support umlauted characters in the saved folder path without crashing!!! I have become deeply disappointed in the testing of the app. For 10 yrs it worked just fine, now I have to be careful to keep an older version around.
Like
Version 9.5.73
orkavaal
05 February 2017
Hello I already have buy the program to use the Damage Scan Dual i4 some time ago. Due to a computercrash I lost the figures from my account. Could you please help me to be able to use it again.
Like
Version 9.5.68
1 answer(s)
PaulA2283
PaulA2283
21 February 2017
Go to the developer's website. You can get reminders there.
Like
Ecmarco
17 January 2017
This version seems to have an issue with my HP Envy 100. Looks like it is scanning but never gets out of the opening image set in the app.
Like
Version 9.5.65
Steinarh
16 January 2017
Have used it for years because it´s reliable, fast and meet all my needs. Recommended.
Like
Version 9.5.65
ben-marko
24 November 2016
Very handy utility, it works well and has features that similar software does not. Plus it has frequent updates which tells me that the dev is active in ensuring that the But the price for what you get is awfully steep. And if you buy it, bear in mind that the $50 you pay only gives you a year-long license. That's it! Then you have to fork over another $50 for continued use...for another year.
Like
Version 9.5.60
2 answer(s)
Quortz
Quortz
09 December 2016
If you like it (and it sounds like you do), you’re better off paying the one-time extra $40 for the pro version. That’s what I did many years ago, and I’ve never paid another penny since. Also, the pro version gives you some extra features that may be useful and/or important to you, depending on your needs. Paying the extra $40 once and forgetting about it (rather than fret about paying $50 a year)... well, it just makes sense to me.
Like (1)
Neutralzone
Neutralzone
10 December 2016
Like Quortz said, the pricing is very clear on the VueScan site. The Purchase page shows the Standard and Pro edition pricing side by side, and the free upgrade policy is right below that. I'm very happy with having paid my $90 so long ago I can't remember when, and still getting free upgrades today.
Like
pl-svn
01 August 2016
could someone, please, tell the developer to make it so a Dock shortcut is *not* added again every time an update is released and launched for the first time? :mad: (already tried doing it myself but he never cared to reply :rolleyes: )
Like (2)
Version 9.5.53
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
11 September 2016
My request for this, now long ago, was also ignored.

When VueScan is first opened after an update, dragging its icon out of Dock will "snap back" but _sometimes_ keeps it from being permanently added (and annoyingly restarting Dock) when quitting VueScan.
Like (1)
MJVS
18 July 2016
I have been using this application for years. Of all the applications I have purchased, this has been the most reliable on both Windows and Mac platforms.
Like
Version 9.5.52
RebeccaA
16 June 2016
My friend has recommended this app to me. So, I've installed it and feel myself very glad. VueScan has an excellent color balance. When I tried it for scanning even old faded photos of my parents, it gave me a great result - photos are clear and saturated. Great app, I won't regret any cent for it. Many thanks to developers!
Like
Version 9.5.51
Quad
14 May 2016
I am looking forward to version 10.x which, hopefully, will bring an updated and modern interface, on par with current Mac OS X design. :)
Like (1)
Version 9.5.48
2 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
27 May 2016
Yeah, what's up with the Windows XP look?
Like
Mcr
Mcr
11 June 2016
Vuescan is a cross platform app that runs on Windows, Mac and Linux. The developer has chosen to use cross platform developer tools (such as QT frameworks for example) that allow a developer to maintain one set of code, then compile it for different platforms. In plainer terms, that means one set of code to write, not three, one set of code to maintain, one set of code to fix bugs for, not three. Lastly ONE set of developers to pay, not three.

Therefore the UI is the same across Windows, Mac and LInux versions, because the UI is being coded once, and thus will look and act the same. Calibre is another example of a program that is built one from one set of source code and runs on Windows, Linux and Mac. Given that Windows is by far the largest user base, the developer has opted to design the UI in favor of that majority. Technically, the developer could if desired, coded the UI to look and act more like Mac or Linux, but then it would be the Windows users complaining that it "looks like a Mac" and probably not buying. In very short time, the company would not sell enough licenses to make it viable to continue.

Some people will be quick to say why doesn't the developer simply write three different versions of the program, and tailor each version to the platform. Well, that takes resources, be it time, knowledge, software tools, people, money, hardware to build and test it on, etc. I suspect, just my guess, that the market share for Mac and Linux is not large enough to justify hiring and paying Mac and Linux developers to code native versions from the ground up. Or else in order to do so the price of the software would have to be increased to cover additional costs, but that would only LESSEN the number of Mac and Linux copies sold. As it is, look at some of the reviews already complaining that feel $49 is too high for what the app does.

For the most, part the company is marketing and coding to the Windows user base, and the fact the tools they use allow them to produce Mac and Linux versions with relatively minimal additional labor, is a value add.

So, I wouldn't hold my breath that version 10 will look much different, or if does it won't be to accommodate Linux or Mac look and feel, but to adapt to Windows 10.
Like (3)
Joe-Porter
13 May 2016
Used this for years. Has driven everything from high-end devices to cheap USB junk. Not a single issue. Ever. The Pro licence isn't free but is very cheap compared to SilverFast. And I've paid once in the last more than ten years.
Like (5)
Version 9.5.48
Mikeymike
07 May 2016
Lovely. Just ran ClamXAv and it reported the VueScan installer.dmg is infected with Osx.MalwareAgent-1396095. [Yet no US Presidential candidate is saying anything about creating a tough national pro-consumer security policy.] Thanks, MacUpdate (and/or Hamrick Software), for hosting malware infestations. I haven't renewed my paid subscription and this just dissuaded me from doing so any time again soon.
Like
Version 9.5.47
1 answer(s)
Michael-Wayne
Michael-Wayne
14 May 2016
Why on earth do you download from MU. If you have the fully paid VueScan application it will automatically check for updates and ask you if you want to go to his site and download. No malware, viruses etc etc..
You must use Ed Hamricks site for updates. It's safe and reliable.
Reading many responses related to VueScan it appears that those that have fully paid for the software don't have any issue. Those that want something for nothing ie. get free trial to use as a one off and never intend to purchase have problems. Also be aware that the number of fully paid happy and content users far outweighs the tiny number that get it via MU. The downloads number of 1.25 million doesn't reflect those that downloaded directly via VS but the 1.25 million does reflect numbers of those just 'giving it a go'.

This also goes for all the other software available on MU, providing they are honest and responsible developers. MU is the best for just seeing what has been updated by the respective developer and then it's up to you to go direct rather than the reseller. If I wanted to buy a Bentley I wouldn't go to a Suzuki dealer.
Like (2)
mikomeryl
15 April 2016
MacUpdate Desktop says I need to update to version 9.5.44 but the downloaded file is for 9.5.42, which I already have. I went to this website page for MacUpdate and it says the updated version is 9.5.44 so I downloaded that. I got version 9.5.45 instead. I am hoping that is the correct version but you guys need to clean up the version information in your MacUpdate website and the Desktop.
Like
Version 9.5.44
1 answer(s)
mikomeryl
mikomeryl
15 April 2016
I just downloaded the 9.5.45 update from this MacUpdate website for another computer and it was quarantined by the ClamXav application virus checker because VueScan Installer.dmg: is infected with PUA.OSX.InstallCore., which installs adware. If anyone else has installed this, to remove this unwanted malware, use Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for Mac. Somuch for trusting that we'll get clean downloads from MacUpdate. :(
Like (1)
Mike B.
30 March 2016
Great software but confusedor misinformed developer. A few years ago, I purchased the PRO version using a "no spam" address (@bugmenot) and Mr Hamrick decided that I was a "fraudster", canceling that registration without giving me a refund or even any credible explanation. Since the product is so good, I now decided to waste another $80 and purchased a Pro registration AGAIN, this time using PayPal. Mr Hamrick now also cancelled that new registration but at least I got a refund this time, along with an offensive accusatory email. Apparently because I once used an email address that would shield me from spam email, I can't buy Vuescan and will have to scour the dark corners of the net for a "pre-registered" version. There is a "fraudster" in there, but it's not the customer. Ridiculous!
Like
Version 9.5.43
Phylo
04 January 2016
When did I buy it 16? 20 years ago? Working in different environments, this one of the most useful software I bought, connecting at all scanners I met on my work. The only point is that it is maybe not equal at Silversoft' Silverfast for detailed and true pictures, but on an every day use, it is faster and easier to use (I own both)
Like
Version 9.5.35
Me2
19 December 2015
Wrote a comment. This is by far one of the most effective and reasonable and worthy apps I've ever purchased.
Like (1)
Version 9.5.33
Me2
13 December 2015
Luckily, I saw quality and purchased a 'PRO' license several years ago: always with free upgrades. Now works with not only my Epson, and HP scanners, but also with my new Plustek slide scanner. Not sure what all the negative comments are about as I don't need to read them: I bought it, it works fantastically, it was and is ahead of its time, and I appreciate good workmanship. Thank you for such excellent software for my Mac. Patrick w MacOvation
Like (1)
Version 9.5.32
3 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
19 December 2015
Why not leave a bunch of stars for the developer ;)
Like
Talltxn
Talltxn
10 January 2016
What Plustek slide scanner did you purchase. I'm trying to archive family slides and am looking for a good as great scanner.
Like
Me2
Me2
10 January 2016
I am using the OpticFilm 8200i Ai dedicated 35mm slide scanner.
Like
mac-v
11 December 2015
Unusable. "Free trial" has tiny watermarks a few millimeters apart that cover the whole document. What is the point of a free trial if I can't actually use the software to produce a file I can use? Swindles like this are the reason piracy exists.
Like
Version 9.5.30
1 answer(s)
Holypoly
Holypoly
19 December 2015
shill alert
Like (3)
del-st
11 December 2015
Unusable. "Free trial" has tiny watermarks a few millimeters apart that cover the whole document. What is the point of a free trial if I can't actually use the software to produce a file I can use? Swindles like this are the reason piracy exists.
Like (1)
Version 9.5.30
1 answer(s)
Imarc845
Imarc845
18 March 2016
Another shill! Note that the "review" text from mac.v is identical to this one.
Like (1)
umaromc
08 December 2015
This software is great and I'm glad I bought a license years ago to support development and it was the only option for scanning on the fairly new OS X using an unpopular USB scanner (most were still SCSI). Other than that I highly suggest NOT DOWNLOADING THIS VIA MACUPDATE as you'll end up installing MacUpdate's software directly rather than a direct installer of VUESCAN! http://www.hamrick.com/download.html **DOWNLOAD DIRECTLY FROM THE DEVELOPER UNLESS YOU WANT TO INSTALL MacUpdate's SOFTWARE.** When downloading the page states "DOWNLOADING VUESCAN 9.5.25" but you're actually downloading the MacUpdate software installer, NOT VueScan!
Like (6)
Version 9.5.29
Ced
04 December 2015
I'm wondering why MacUpdate doesn't provide the original installer from the developer. Instead there is an "MacUpdate Installer". I don't like this...
Like (1)
Version 9.5.29
Jeffsters
02 December 2015
Something is VERY strange. How can it be that VueScan has 1,231,529 downloads? Really? Not even Chrome has broken 1,000,000 here! Scanner software? Hmm...manipulation to get it on the coveted "Red" listed updates?
Like
Version 9.5.29
3 answer(s)
Maltz2
Maltz2
03 December 2015
This app is updated a LOT, and that count includes downloads of all versions. What you're probably seeing is the same people re-downloading the app over and over as it's updated. The same thing applies to Chrome, of course, but A) Chrome is not updated as often and B) most people probably don't download Chrome from here - they directly to the source. So the Chrome number is probably greatly underreported, on top of VueScan's numbers being high because of frequent updates.
Like (1)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
03 December 2015
The downloads are legit. It's a Hot Pick app on MacUpdate that has been popular for many years -- much longer than Chrome.
Like
Jeffsters
Jeffsters
28 December 2015
Lesson then to all... the key to getting high ranking its to update your app a lot!
Like
anonymous-camel-2414
02 November 2015
Something fishy going on here, when I download version 9.5.28 I get a disk image called VueScan Installer but when I open it there is only a MacUpdate installer app. Malware tactics from MacUpdate?
Like (3)
Version 9.5.28
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
08 December 2015
Yes it is. Sourceforge pulled this with a few of its repositories and caught a lot of slack.
Like
Ashley-Hunter
31 October 2015
BEWARE!! this update comes in a MacUpdate installer that will install other software if you are not careful!
VueScan gets a 5 star review
MacUpdate a 0 star review for packaging other software in an installer.
This is the kind of thing Windows users are plagued with. Mac users should not put up with this!!
Like (21)
Version 9.5.28
9 answer(s)
M-Rick
M-Rick
18 December 2015
"MacUpdate a 0 star review for packaging other software in an installer.
This is the kind of thing Windows users are plagued with. Mac users should not put up with this!!"
And MacUpdate do not even inform users and force them to use this!
Like (2)
Neil-M
Neil-M
21 December 2015
Better to update from within Vuescan. When you launch Vuescan, it should tell about updates.
Like (3)
Moofpup
Moofpup
19 January 2016
I just used the MacUpdate installer to install the latest version of Vuescan and Safari opened and asked " Are you sure you want to install the search connect extension" WTF? What are you guys Microsoft? You have no right to do this crap.
Like (3)
ZeroDark:30
ZeroDark:30
24 February 2016
I just downloaded from MacUpdate and installed this on a Mid 2012 MBPro 13 running El Cap, using my previous Pro license for a Canon LiDE30 flatbed scanner. Absolutely no problems, no issues, no "icky twitches," et al. I'm glad I purchased my Pro license back in 2002, and to discover it *still* works AOK after all these years - money well spent!:-) On the occasion I've emailed developer, he/she/they have been quick to respond with quality info. Thanks!:-)
Like
markrfriedman
markrfriedman
12 March 2016
Always download from Ed's site. If that wasn't clear:

ALWAYS DOWNLOAD FROM ED'S SITE.
Like (1)
Hawke5501
Hawke5501
13 March 2016
As long as MacUpdate gave me a choice to install MalWare or do A straight download of the software I was O.K. Now they are using the same methods as MacKeeper to trick customers into downloading ad ware or who knows what else. MacUpdate is gone to the dark side and I am not sure they will ever come back. I will use the site but will download from the original site only. The MacKeeper method will only cause MacUpdate more problems. May be thats the reason they did not remove MacKeeper from the site.

MacUpdate has been great for the Mac community and I am sorry to see the management taking this site into the slime pit.
Like
mikomeryl
mikomeryl
15 April 2016
If you installed the 9.5.45 version, it contains malware called PUA.OSX.InstallCore., which installs adware. My ClamXav application virus checker quarantined it and sent me an alert. If you opened it, you can use Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for Mac to uninstall it.
Like (1)
orsobou4
orsobou4
09 September 2016
There is always a link to the developer's website. I never download software from MacUpdate, only from the software's own site. The link is always in the upper right corner, right above the screenshot.
Like
ben-marko
ben-marko
24 November 2016
What other software???
Like
umaromc
31 October 2015
BEWARE! MacUpdate have pulled a SourceForge (http://arstechnica.com/information-technology/2015/05/sourceforge-grabs-gimp-for-windows-account-wraps-installer-in-bundle-pushing-adware/) and are tricking downloaders with the MacUpdate Installer PKG file instead of the VueScan update directly which they expect, which is available here, directly from the dev's site; http://www.hamrick.com/download.html
Like (4)
Version 9.5.28
Fra
30 October 2015
The fucking installer from macupdate. Eat your shit !
Like (4)
Version 9.5.28
1 answer(s)
Velgor242
Velgor242
31 October 2015
Amen, what is this bullshit?!
Like (1)
Robpaterson
07 October 2015
This is my first review on MacUpdate. I feel compelled to leave a review for this software for a variety of reasons, but mostly because this software just rocks. Not only that, the customer service is fantastic, and the software designer himself (apparently) emails back, at least he did for me. I am incredibly grateful for this software. It's always irked me that obsolescence is built into so much of the tech world, and I really don't like the idea of trashing a perfectly good scanner just because a driver or software is outdated. It makes me happy that I can continue to use my scanner because of this software. My highest recommendation.
Like
Version 9.5.27
Kunta-Kinte
08 August 2015
It's true, it works with many scanners, but the GUI is such a mess it is unusable. I worked with some pro SW and HW combos in the past (Linotype, Creo, ...) and now I'm using Epson Scan and Silverfast 6.6 at home with Epson 4870. Can't stand newer version of Silverfast either. But at least they both have normal interface for tweaking a scan (histogram controls) and you know what you are doing. This is not true for Vuescan; developer is not capable to produce normal scanning GUI environment or maybe he tries to invent hot water, so to speak. Anyway, this software is much too expensive for what it is: unfinished product. I will be more that happy to review my statements if in the future GUI and the process becomes usable and logical. Right now it is horrible and I would rather throw my scanner out the window than use it with Vuescan as it is. At the moment Epson Scan is maybe the best solution, even with it's quirks and limitations.
Like
Version 9.5.22
David-Losada-Soler
03 June 2015
The new Text / Text in color option causes problems with an EPSON Perfection Photo 2480 under Yosemite 10.10.3. When the input setting is Text, after tweaking the threshold value, any new preview or scan shows a red curtain while scanning and the result is a blank image. To be able to scan again, you have to change to Color and do a new preview. This did not happen in 9.5.11. Back to 9.5.11
Like
Version 9.5.13