Back to CodeKit page
CodeKit free download for Mac

CodeKit Reviews

3.9.2
26 July 2019

Build websites faster and better.

Teksestro
22 March 2017

Most helpful

Absolutely cannot live without it. Forget stupid command line tools like Grunt and Gulp - which take months to learn and hours to setup - just use CodeKit. Get your web development project setup literally in 5 minutes, and all using a beautiful GUI.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.8

Read 17 CodeKit User Reviews

Rate this app:

Teksestro
22 March 2017
Absolutely cannot live without it. Forget stupid command line tools like Grunt and Gulp - which take months to learn and hours to setup - just use CodeKit. Get your web development project setup literally in 5 minutes, and all using a beautiful GUI.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.8
jerry-turi
11 March 2017
I'm very happy with all Codekit features, this is absolutely worth the money. If you code, you should get it.
Like
Version 3.0.8
johnyappleby
09 December 2016
Not working for me anymore on macOS Sierra...
Like
Version 3.0.3
1 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
23 February 2017
This isn't the MAS don't do this shit.
You can't get it to work? Email the developer.
Like (2)
Gregr
05 November 2016
Ten billion stars! Version 3 is a huge boost in speed-- time to compile my sass files is nearly instant! This is money well spent.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
Rochade
03 November 2016
Wow, one of the best web dev tools on the mac gets even better with version 3. Nice UI redesign and the build process is so streamlined, easy and flexible. Sure, you can do most of it with many other tools and also from the command line but keeping everything in one app with many additional features saves a lot of time and for a professional, time is money.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Teksestro
10 October 2016
Great little tool - indispensable in my web dev workflow. Developer is super responsive, conscientious, and thorough - keeping up-to-date with the current web dev trends. Can't wait to see what version 3.0 will include...
Like
Version 2.9
LuxLogica
01 May 2016
I'll say this upfront: although I like the command-line, I do prefer a good GUI. I find it infinitely easier to pre+post process my LESS/Jade/Coffeescript files in CodeKit than having to mess around with Gulp or Grunt. Being able to graphically do all my processing, including concatenation and minification, in a graphical interface is a huge relief, and already worth the money. The fact that you get Bower management thrown in, is just the icing on the cake. And then, you also get a full-blown auto-updating local preview server, automatically setup for you without needing to write a single line of code. All of this without having to litter your system with third-party products or command-line tools and plug-ins. This is an AWESOME piece of software, worth every cent.
Like (1)
Version 2.8
MikeLi
06 December 2015
you can try this free online service to compress javascript http://www.online-code.net/minify-js.html and minify css http://www.online-code.net/minify-css.html, so it will reduce the size of web page.
Like
Version 2.6.1
1 answer(s)
Rochade
Rochade
03 November 2016
codekit is much MUCH more than just minifying files.
Like
Tim27
26 May 2015
I can only seem to get this to work with locally developed sites. Is there a trick to using it with sites hosted online?
Like
Version 2.3.10
1 answer(s)
Gryffin
Gryffin
30 June 2015
That's kinda the idea: it provides a local server, and manages your source files on your local machine; then it's up to you to commit your changes to Git/SVN or otherwise push them to the staging/testing/production server.
Like
Moxiesozo
02 October 2014
I *like* that final fix mentioned for 2.1.7. Was wondering how long it would take for them to get around to taking care of this critical bug! ;-)
Like
Version 2.1.7
Itistoday
19 April 2014
Looks like a GUI for Grunt (which is free).
Like
Version 2.0.4
1 answer(s)
Iztoubade
Iztoubade
17 October 2014
But it's not.
Like
Diarbyrag
29 March 2014
Absolutely Brilliant, does everything I need, built in server, press save and the site updates on your computer, iPad, iphone instantly. Gets better every update and $29 is a bargain !
Like
Version 2.0.3
Mikael-B
05 January 2014
Now, when I'm upgraded to Mavericks the demo seems gone?
Like
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
05 January 2014
OK, proper download link is http://incident57.com/codekit/files/codekit-8403.zip. Please update the link, Macupdate!
Like
Mikael-B
30 July 2013
This looks really cool. Too bad it needs OS X 10.7.
Like
Version 1.7.1
X3i
22 July 2013
How is that app different from LiveReload aside from being 3 times more expensive and having OSX 10.7 requirement?
Like (2)
Version 1.7.1
1 answer(s)
Gryffin
Gryffin
30 June 2015
It costs 3x as much because it does 30x more.

It pre-processes languages like CoffeeScript, TypeScript, Haml, Less, Sass, Stylus, Slim, Jade, and Markdown, AND it provides the latest versions of all the frameworks like Compass, Curb Foundation, Bootstrap, and Google Wen Starter Kit, AND it handles combining, syntax checking and compression of the final CSS and JavaScript, AND creates sourcemaps that allow browser dev tools to grok the original pre-processed files.

If all you're doing is banging out vanilla HTML, CSS and Javascript in TextEdit, then yeah, CodeKit is probably overkill. But if you're trying to use all the new languages and tools the cool kids are using, CodeKit rocks. Hard.
Like (2)
DevMan
18 July 2013
Actual version is 1.7.1
Like
Version 1.5.1
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ishaq
MacUpdate-Ishaq
18 July 2013
Thanks for the heads up!
Like
Rochade
05 January 2013
This app changed my way to build websites - especially web templates. I have heard about SASS, LESS and CoffeeScript before but this app was the reason why I had a closer look at those tools. Now I don't know why I ignored those great tools! I have some minor issues with the app (e.g. changing the output of SASS files won't apply when working on an existing project) but I am sure those small problems are either because I still don't fully understand the app or they will be fixed in a future update. There also is one feature I would like to be added: automatically add the files from the Frameworks to the project folder. I have some scripts working with other files (PHP, images, ...) but I only can include javascript files in my project when adding a framework. If you are new to web development, this app may be not for you, as you will have to know the tools (CSS, HTML, Javascript, SASS, ...) or you should be willing to learn a lot. But if you know to code, this app is very helpful and adds a nice GUI to the included tools.
Like
Version 1.4.1