Back to Jump Desktop page
Jump Desktop free download for Mac

Jump Desktop Reviews

31 August 2021

Remote desktop utility.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
marcello-12
marcello-12
May 19 2021
8.7.15
0.0
May 19 2021
0.0
Version: 8.7.15
February 1st, 2021: "Windowed mode" is not working after the update to last release (8.7.15). The new window is not "merged" with other windows as it was before the update. Every time I open a new connection I need to click on the menu option "Merge all windows". It's really frustrating and time consuming. The JUMP assistance team answered almost immediately that they "were working on a fix for the tabbing issue and will be releasing an update for this soon." May 19th, 2021: After nearly 4 months the problem is always present. I’m really unhappy of JUMP assistance team!
Drmash08
Drmash08
Aug 18 2020
8.5.15
5.0
Aug 18 2020
5.0
Version: 8.5.15
I use this application routinely to connected to a Mac mini serving as a dedicated machine running a research application. Application is quick, rescales your screen to leverage my 27" iMac screen and much faster than the competition. I wasted a lot of money on screens, but could not get it to connect remotely and large file directors screwing would blur. Pros 1. Simple to configure remote access 2. Supports dynamic IP assignment from your ISP 3. Supports full screen mode (Screen Sharing Does not) 4. Great screen rendering with no motion artifact (Screens 4 was terrible) Con I wish there was default screen sizes that would maintain readable screen resolution. If you size the window perfectly the client screen is perfect and font is easy to read. If you re-size the window to the wrong size the screen resolution of the client is un-readable. I will try experimenting with 3rd party app Magnets
Michael Frankel
Michael Frankel
Sep 14 2018
8.0.2
0.0
Sep 14 2018
0.0
Version: 8.0.2
Been trying to get an update to this software (bought it on the App Store) and am either getting "please bear with us" or radio silence. Asked about converting my license to a non-App Store version - radio silence. It's been 9 days now and NOTHING. How hard is it to take care of this??
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
May 21 2018
7.1.4
0.0
May 21 2018
0.0
Version: 7.1.4
Jump Desktop works very fast and is reasonably priced IMO. However I always use Screen Sharing to connect to my MacMini iTunes Server in my home network (1680x1050 resolution) and compared to Jump Desktop the MacOS ScreenSharing.app shows the shared macMini screen on my MBP (using 1900x1200 resolution) much crisper and sharper using HiDPI.

This is the only flaw to Jump Desktop I have noticed so far, Jump Desktop shows the shared screen rather blurry and very hard to read, and I won't buy a license therefore until they improve this.
wboweng10
wboweng10
Feb 27 2018
7.1.2
5.0
Feb 27 2018
5.0
Version: 7.1.2
I use this product occasionally, particularly when I am having some issue with Apple Remote Desktop and need to try an alternate method of accessing computers in my home network. No real issues to report. It does what it is supposed to do, for me anyway.
Noraa
Noraa
Feb 12 2017
7.0.4
5.0
Feb 12 2017
5.0
Version: 7.0.4
In conjunction with it's iOS counterpart, as well as the free Jump Desktop Connect software for Mac and Windows, Jump Desktop is hands down one of the best remote access pieces of software out there.
bell-juliet
bell-juliet
Jan 23 2017
7.0.1
0.0
Jan 23 2017
0.0
Version: 7.0.1
Apart from Jump Desktop, you may also try tools like logmein, R-HUB remote support servers, teamviewer etc. for remotely accessing computers from anywhere anytime.
pietz
pietz
Apr 3 2016
6.0.3
4.5
Apr 3 2016
4.5
Version: 6.0.3
Works much better than the OSX Client from Microsoft. The Setup is easier and yet the Preferences give you much more control. Due to the mentioned comments regarding possibly untrusted connections, I disabled all outgoing connections with Little Snitch.
dennispipper
dennispipper
Feb 24 2016
6.0.3
4.0
Feb 24 2016
4.0
Version: 6.0.3
Works fabulously! Support is very responsive. Gave me exclusive access to a beta since the app wasn't working as expected. The new version worked better than expected.
Mondele
Mondele
Dec 25 2015
6.0.3
5.0
Dec 25 2015
5.0
Version: 6.0.3
I ran this program with Hands Off filtering network traffic. There was never an attempt to contact any Google server, though it did contact Amazon's S3 network when I asked it to check for updates. I'm usually a cheapskate, and I've been very happy with Screen Sharing - the built-in remote desktop software from Apple. However, I got this with a bundle, and I have to say, "Wow!" Jump Desktop is extremely fast. I have been using it to connect to other Macs of varying OS levels on my home network and it's considerably faster than making the same connections using Screen Sharing. Screen updates, cursor movement, transparent clipboard transfer, all works very nicely indeed. My network is Yosemite and Lion, for the most part, and I haven't had any issues at all. Even my old Tiger machine is able to participate. I'm not sure if I would pay full price for this, but if you can get it at a discount and you need remote screen sharing (at least on a local network) you owe it to yourself to try out Jump Desktop.
tam-saunders
tam-saunders
Nov 18 2015
6.0.3
1.0
Nov 18 2015
1.0
Version: 6.0.3
I purchased this app, used and liked it. But I've now uninstalled after recent update requested access to my Gmail and view send chat etc. This seems totally unnecessary, the support response basically told me to just trust them not to do anything bad. I'm very worried that this is spyware / phishing app. The profiling / privacy intrusion just smells really wrong. Be careful.
LKN G-Man
LKN G-Man
Nov 23 2014
5.0.2
5.0
Nov 23 2014
5.0
Version: 5.0.2
I have used many remote access apps, and they all have worked. Jump Desktop works best! It is much more simple to configure than most, and connections always work well. I use it almost daily to connect with both Macs and PCs.
Richard-browne
Richard-browne
Oct 21 2014
5.0.1
4.5
Oct 21 2014
4.5
Version: 5.0.1
I use this software daily. Best RDP for Mac I have come across. I've emailed the developers several times with issues/bugs and they have been very responsive. Usually sending out a fix within a few days, if not sooner. Highly recommended.
KayC2
KayC2
May 26 2014
4.0.3
4.0
May 26 2014
4.0
Version: 4.0.3
I highly recommend this app for Mac OS X 10.6+ because It's simple to use and really good value. I'm not computer savvy, and haf previously trialled Log Me-in and TeamViewer, but gave up in frustration because they were so complicated. I must admit I had a few problems with my first attempt at installaing JumpDesktop – but it is easy to uninstall and try again. I've since downloaded Jumpdesk from the Apple App store and successfully installed on both my iMac and Macbook. I moved the Viewer Windows (which were found in the Documents folders on my Macs) to a separate Dropbox folder and so far the app is working like a charm! These guys are doing their best to iron out any issues and deserve our support. Note: I have no connection to the developers, and this review is unsolicited.
OJB
OJB
May 11 2014
4.0.3
3.0
May 11 2014
3.0
Version: 4.0.3
Seems to work fairly well. If it has some nefarious purpose as some people are insinuating, it is well hidden. Two points: 1. it's disappointing that I can't drag and drop files between local and remote machine like I can with ARD; and 2, is there a screen sharing app which plays the sound from the remote machine on the local machine? I need one for a blind friend.
jdh98467
jdh98467
May 9 2014
4.0.3
0.0
May 9 2014
0.0
Version: 4.0.3
Just for kicks, since this is a reviews section, after all… Has anyone actually use the program? And if so, can you tell us anything about it? Sorry to get in the way of the political rants, but I really would like to know more about people's experience with the program! :-)
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
Sep 17 2012
1.0.12
0.0
Sep 17 2012
0.0
Version: 1.0.12
Who is Phase Five Systems? There is no address and no information about this company even on their website. I would not trust such a company - especially not with any kind of remote control software that gets routed through the company's system.