Back to SixtyFour page
SixtyFour free download for Mac

SixtyFour Reviews

1.7.4
27 August 2016

Boost your old Mac's performance.

Stickman67
26 October 2011

Most helpful

I read through much of the feedback on this app with interest, and then did a bit of research. That tended to back up the developer's suggestions that running apps in 64-bit mode did use extra memory. I then went and changed those of my most frequently used apps to 32-bit mode, just to see what happened. Memory usage has been lowered significantly. Other than that, not much to report about performance, one way or the other, except … Photoshop CS5 is much snappier on the startup in 32-bit mode. Why? Who knows? Who cares? It now uses less memory and starts faster. Downside for this developer is that I did this using Get Info and clicking "Run in 32-bit mode" for those apps that offered the option – took me all of a few minutes – so I'm not going to part with my cash. That's not to say, however, that others might well find this app beneficial, in terms of time savings, or just because they're not 100% sure of what they're doing otherwise. I'm not saying to buy it or not. What I am saying is that the process it is designed to carry out has been of benefit to me, even if I didn't use this app to carry out that process. [MacBook Pro 2.53 Intel Core Duo, 4 GB RAM, OS X 10.7.2]
Like (5)
Version 1.0.3

Read 27 SixtyFour User Reviews

Rate this app:

Stevencee
25 January 2016
I downloaded this from the email I received from MacUpdate, but when I opened it, I was told it won't work with Snow Leopard, despite the email telling me it would! Then I went to the 64 website, and it also said it will work with Snow Leopard, on the FAQ page! "SixtyFour is compatible with any G5-based PowerPC or 64-bit-capable Intel hardware running OS X Leopard, Snow Leopard, Lion, Mountain Lion or Mavericks." But on this page on MacUpdate, it now says the current version needs 10.7, however it said see links for earlier versions. that would work with Snow Leopard. Well the version shown is the same one it says only works with 10.7, 1.7.3, which does NOT work with Snow Leopard! So come on, can you not keep your versions straight? If there is a version for Snow Leopard where is it???
Like (1)
Version 1.7.3
4 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
25 January 2016
Please download SixtyFour from the homepage (it will automatically detect your OS version):
http://getsixtyfour.com/

Direct link:
http://getsixtyfour.com/SixtyFour%201.0%20(snow%20leopard).zip
Like (1)
Stevencee
Stevencee
26 January 2016
Thanks for the link. I opened the app, and see the window with all the apps, but there's little info as to what to do from there. How do I make them open in 32 bit? If just check it do I have to close each app and open it again to take affect? Are all the apps shown safe to downgrade, as some are System & Core apps. And how do you get the "Quick Look" function to work, your screenshot only shows it in use, not how to create the little window opening.
I would think a simple one-page of instructions might be something you should consider doing, as it's frustrating having no idea what's what, or how to do anything.
Oh, and do I have to individually select each app I want to open in 32 bit?
Like (1)
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
26 January 2016
That's the same link as what MacUpdate uses for the Snow Leopard version.
Like
1951fdg
1951fdg
27 January 2016
You are welcome. Just check the app, if the app to be opened is already running, quit it and launch it again or use the Open action under the File menu of SixtyFour. Most of the apps shown are safe to "downgrade". Some apps are automatically blacklisted and not shown. The "Quick Look" function can be used in Finder or in SixtyFour when an app is selected. Yes, you have to individually select each app you want to open in 32 bit. Regarding instructions, please visit our homepage, where you will find Docs and FAQs. The FAQs section is definitely worth reading! Remember that you can always contact us. Contact info can be retrieved on our homepage at the top right hand corner, a red mail icon button.
Like
Wile-E-
01 January 2016
Initially I was interested in giving this a look until on first launch it tried to connect to download.trusteer.com. What is that about? Trying to go to the Developer's website presents one of my serious peeves - blocking viewing the website unless you click through something else to get there. Disappointing tactics in my mind and enough for me to simply trash this.
Like
Version 1.7.2
3 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
02 January 2016
SixtyFour has been around since 2011! Enough said! SixtyFour does not connect to download.trusteer.com! It should not! Do you have proof of this? Please contact us, much appreciated!
Like
Wile-E-
Wile-E-
02 January 2016
Whether it has been around for a day or five years is not really relevant to my comment. I would be happy to send you the information I have if you want to provide me with an email address. I did not click through the first popover, not sure what else to call it, in order to get to the main part of your site so I have no idea what your contact info is. I never click through things like that.
Like
1951fdg
1951fdg
02 January 2016
It is not called a popover, it is called a modal overlay. I have updated the main part of my site and removed the modal overlay. Contact info can be retrieved at the top right hand corner, a red mail icon button.
Like
Dhess01
05 June 2015
A good way to selectively enable 32bit mode for apps w/out using the Info pane. The developer helped me work out an issue when I encountered an Apple bug by setting the MAS in 32bit mode. Very responsive and thorough communication.
Like
Version 1.5.0
Wts
18 April 2015
You are better off to max the RAM of any computer rather then waste money on some nonsense software trickery. Some programmes simply do not work well in 32 bit only because they were not programmed to run in 32 bit.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.0
2 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
18 April 2015
Yes, it is better to increase or max the RAM of your Mac. But what if you can't for systems limited to 3Gb or 4Gb due to chipset, defective memory slot/s or lack of money?

Most apps that are 32-bit-capable work without any problems in 32-bit mode. Developers who decided to only program for 64-bit should only release the app as a 64-bit app. It's as simple as that.
Like (4)
Cartoonasaur
Cartoonasaur
31 December 2015
My iMac is maxed out at TWO gigs. It is always in a ram-starved state... This app is very useful to people like me...
Like (1)
GeogProf
29 January 2015
$5 for something that’s already built into OS X?

You don’t need this to switch 32-bit-capable apps from 64- to 32-bit mode — just open each app’s Get Info dialog and click the “Open in 32-bit mode” checkbox, and voilà.
Like (4)
Version 1.4.0
2 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
16 April 2015
SixtyFour does a whole lot more than just, well, switch 32-bit-capable apps from 64- to 32-bit mode. SixtyFour is a system utility, it shows the current bit status next to each app, making it easy to manage 32-bit-capable apps. SixtyFour includes a Quick Look plug-in which extends Quick Look’s standard functionality to display extra info: app architectures, app platform info and bundle version. SixtyFour also includes SixtyFour Agent, a standalone app within SixtyFour, which displays the bit mode of an app when launched. None of the above mentioned features are already built into OS X.

SixtyFour also includes ProcessTimer: A simple, but effective process viewer and CPU/MEM monitor. ProcessTimer, which shares functionality similar to Activity Monitor, has some features which are completely absent in Activity Monitor.

In my humble opinion, SixtyFour is a very complete app, with some interesting extra features.
Like (2)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
18 June 2015
System Profiler and Activity Monitor will BOTH show you what 32/64 bit apps you have and which are running currently, respectively. This app should be free, it is not worth buying.
Like
Anthony-Angelo
14 January 2015
I got SixtyFour when it first came out over two years ago. It really helped my 2006 iMac have a second life. What I thought was a failing computer, was just one that couldn't handle as much memory as some of the 64 bit programs were taking up. Many of those programs were able to drop to 32 bit and left the system with a lot more working memory. Recommend!
Like (1)
Version 1.3
3 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
29 January 2015
Might I ask how much RAM you have?
Like
Anthony-Angelo
Anthony-Angelo
29 January 2015
My iMac is maxed out at 3GB.
Like
Cartoonasaur
Cartoonasaur
31 December 2015
My white iMac is MAXED at a paltry 2 GIGs...

This app is a godsend...
Like (1)
Ittai
05 October 2014
Great simple UI, easy to use, save more ram on my old mac. Good value. Fast support for my question.
Like
Version 1.2.0
PepperDogSoft
03 October 2014
Not the best UI, but does what it says. Saves memory on older devices.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Randychev
01 October 2014
I was trying the demo today and don't find Mail, Safari, or other such programs that I seem to have open all the time, thus being great candidates for 32 bit operation. Is it possible that Mt Lion doesn't have a 32 bit version of these programs available to run?
Like
Version 1.2.0
2 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
01 October 2014
Try the Quick Look plug-in. It will display the app architectures. If it does not display both "i386" and "x86_64" under "Intel" it is 64-bit only. It is possible that some apps are 64-bit only, especially under Mountain Lion.
Like
Randychev
Randychev
01 October 2014
This is indeed the case. Few of my "always open" apps have i386 capability. Thanks for the insight into the Quick Look info.
Like
Weasel
27 January 2014
I recently had trouble with v 1.1.0 on my G5. It bounced in the dock & crashed. The developer found the problem & advised me on what to do. Problem gone!!!
Like
Version 1.1.0
Weasel
17 January 2014
I now have a G5 with a 64 bit dual processor. I tried to launch SixtyFour v1.1.0, it bounced in the dock then disappeared. I made a copy of the Problem Report to send the developer. Clicked on the 'contact us' on their home page but nothing happened. HELP!
Like
Version 1.1.0
Mikael-B
02 March 2013
If you need 32-bit kernel mode because of lack of driver support, as I did, then the sixtyfourswitcher preference panel is very simple to handle this and lock the Mac to 32bit: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/32299/sixtyfourswitcher Of course you can also just hold down "2" and "3" when booting too. Otherwise SixtyFour may have its uses too. For some Macs it's simply not cost effective to upgrade RAM. I maxed out to 6gb on my old Macbook Pro and recently downgraded to SL because of stability issues. My machine does support ML so that is on the horizon when I have updated the well sounding hardware that needs 32bit kernel mode. :-)
Like (1)
Version 1.0.8
4 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
02 March 2013
Yes, that makes sense. SL is always booted in 32bit kernel mode, except AFAIK for in a few Xserves. That does of course not mean 64 bit apps must run in 32 bit even though the kernel is. However, when running SixtyFour, I see only 250 of 519 apps listed and among those not listed are 64bit apps — and listed as such in System Info — that I'd like to try in 32bit to see if they can work. I have very few 64-bit apps that actually need much memory and that I keep open. Most listed are not in /Applications where I have only 140 applications installed currently. Why doesn't SixtyFour focus on the apps in there?
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
03 March 2013
OK, that makes some sense. Except that there's no reason what so ever to make changes to an app that isn't installed in Applications. Unnecessary work. Consider that a request for SixtyFour to only list apps in /Applications.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
04 March 2013
:-) Another suggestion is to have clear instructions on how to evaluate the memory saved. At the moment I'm not sure what effect if any, SixtyFour have had on that. A built-in full on memory analysis is perhaps a bit over the top, but I assume there are other apps that can do this job. I'm starting to look around.....
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
05 March 2013
I wasn't aware of Processtimer. Do you recommend to compare most favorably with application just opened or just some standard document loaded as well? Thanks!
Like
Imac4ever56
05 November 2012
works great for me.
Like
Version 1.0.8
Tom-E-Gun
13 February 2012
If you're such a smart developer, can you explain why do you compile your own app also as a ppc64 executable? There is/was no PowerPC 64-bit capable mac ever!
Like
Version 1.0.5
1 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
13 February 2012
Power Mac G5. http://www.apple.com/pr/library/2003/11/18Apple-Introduces-New-Dual-Processor-1-8-GHz-Power-Mac-G5.html
Like (13)
Espiridion
14 January 2012
Although focused on working with audio, some people may find this interesting as it addressees many of the questions that have been posted regarding speed, memory usage, and performance. http://www.meldaproduction.com/audiotutorials/32vs64.php
Like (2)
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
14 January 2012
Thanks for the link!
Like
Penguirl
14 December 2011
I guess there's nothing wrong with running 64 bit apps in 32 bit mode but if they don't have enough RAM that just means more pageins & pageouts which adds additional wear to your HDD or SSD. Better really to have enough RAM to meet your needs.
Like
Version 1.0.4
6 answer(s)
Edgarcabrera
Edgarcabrera
14 January 2012
Under Lion, Spotlight must be active in order to have App Store working fine and generally for the OS X, thus adding more pageins & pageouts... I would add a better memory managing under Lion as well, so the enough RAM will be really optimised... I was able to have around 60% of free RAM in 32 bits with 2Gb under normal conditions, now with Lion and 4Gb, I manage 38% of free RAM in 64 bit... therefore the memory managing in Lion is utterly horrible and more RAM will never be enough :(
Like
Nick-Collingridge
Nick-Collingridge
14 January 2012
@Edgarcabrera: Don't say that Lion is horrible at memory management unless you TRULY understand the deep-down details of what and how it is performing this function. The amount of "Free" RAM is not necessarily that significant - much of the RAM marked as "Inactive" is not free simply because the system has not needed it. It is better to keep inactive program code and data in RAM than flush it to disk because it may be needed again (because of a context switch for example) before a program needs totally new RAM, and that way you avoid the delay involved in getting the code/data back into RAM from the hard disk as you would get if the OS maximally flushed stuff to disk in order to maximise the amount of "Free" RAM.
Like (3)
Edgarcabrera
Edgarcabrera
14 January 2012
@Nick After your explanation, the problem is that such caching should be always for the system itself, not for any non-system application... when you've got 4 applications cached, such cache or "inactive" memory is wasted, because in order to open another memory demanding application, such "inactive" memory must be freed, and a worst delay... and it is always better to have unoccupied memory. The memory management is horrible because it didn't happen in Tiger, in fact it should be as in the early days, load application to RAM, finish to use it and unload from RAM or if you've got to do caching, then do profiling on the applications... and by the way, the RAM initially was created to support the registers and to randomly put load and unload code...
Like
Nick-Collingridge
Nick-Collingridge
15 January 2012
In what way is it better to have that RAM empty or "Free" than to have it occupied by program code or data that might or probably will be re-used? Do you REALLY believe that it would be better for all of that stuff to be paged out than leaving it in RAM?
Like (1)
Edgarcabrera
Edgarcabrera
15 January 2012
well, since what really happens is that the RAM is occupied by other applications and not liberated as intended for other applications, memory management is horrible... and there are long discussions in various forums in that respect, such an issue is becoming mythical... and do you REALLY want to have got such an issue?
Like
Nick-Collingridge
Nick-Collingridge
15 January 2012
OK, one simple question - what is the performance difference in an application getting RAM from "Free" memory rather than getting it from "Inactive" memory?
Like (1)
PorkPieHat
02 November 2011
Is it really pay-what-you-want-ware if you're broke and therefore want to pay $0.00 for it, but you must pay at least $0.01 and use a credit card or PayPal (which is also by credit card)?
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
3 answer(s)
tmtsui
tmtsui
02 November 2011
If you are really broke, don't buy anything. Sell your computer, too.
Like (4)
GeogProf
GeogProf
11 December 2011
Actually, this developer's definition of pay-what-you-want-ware is anything OVER $1 USD - he won't accept 99 cents or less using either PayPal or a credit card. Isn't it amazing how easily we'll allow our language to be perverted in the name of capitalism?
Like (3)
1951fdg
1951fdg
12 December 2011
PayPal charges a fee on the amount donated. Fees vary by country, please insure we receive at least $0,01 USD. If a payment is made from a US PayPal account, the PayPal fees are 3,9% + $0,30 USD. For example, for a donation of $1,00 USD, we receive $0,648 USD from PayPal.
Like (3)
tmtsui
01 November 2011
Memory is king. By forcing some apps into 32-bit mode does save me more RAM for running memory-hungry applications. It's true that one can do the same by opening the info box of any app to find out whether it can be run in 32-bit mode. And then select the box to force the app to run in 32-bit. That's no doubt about it. But this little app collects all the information and gives you a nice and user-friendly interface. The new version even remembers which apps have been selected to run in 32-bit mode. Just for that reason, I am willing to pay for it. Moreover, I am impressed by the quick response from the developer regarding suggestions and questions. Edgarcabrera. I did my payment via Paypal. I didn't find any problem with it.
Like
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
Bunky
Bunky
11 June 2012
I will make a payment to register this handy little app.. Just recently ran into a situation using Graphic Converter. Was trying to open MrSid graphic files to convert parts of them to tiffs. The LizardTech plug-in reported - unidentified files.. I emailed the developer (Lemke) and he replied - open GC in 32 bit mode and see what happens.. I suspect that there are numerous situations where this may be the case..???
Like
Edgarcabrera
01 November 2011
It's a very good little application, quite helpful to run those applications everyday use in 32bits mode in Lion, i.e. Safari, Mail, Webprocess, etc. to reduce memory usage. For more demanding applications, 64 bits is good. But I'd like to recommend to the developer to have another payment gateway apart from Paypal, I've tried to pay for this but I can't via Paypal, perhaps google checkout?...
Like (1)
Version 1.0.3
6 answer(s)
tmtsui
tmtsui
01 November 2011
Hi Edgarcabrera, I overlooked at your comment regarding Paypal. Sorry about that.
Like
Edgarcabrera
Edgarcabrera
01 November 2011
it's alright, no worries
Like
1951fdg
1951fdg
01 November 2011
Why can't you pay via PayPal?
Like
Edgarcabrera
Edgarcabrera
01 November 2011
I'm using debit card, but it cannot be used it if issued from Mex, only CC but I don't have CC... I've got no issues with google checkout and App Store, but Paypal seems more restrictive...
Like (1)
1951fdg
1951fdg
01 November 2011
I will sign up for Google Checkout. In the meantime, send an email to the email address displayed on the PayPal page.
Like
Edgarcabrera
Edgarcabrera
01 November 2011
Thank you, I appreciated it... I hope to have more payment options shall help you to get more customers, specially those who cannot pay via Paypal :)
Like
Stickman67
26 October 2011
I read through much of the feedback on this app with interest, and then did a bit of research. That tended to back up the developer's suggestions that running apps in 64-bit mode did use extra memory. I then went and changed those of my most frequently used apps to 32-bit mode, just to see what happened. Memory usage has been lowered significantly. Other than that, not much to report about performance, one way or the other, except … Photoshop CS5 is much snappier on the startup in 32-bit mode. Why? Who knows? Who cares? It now uses less memory and starts faster. Downside for this developer is that I did this using Get Info and clicking "Run in 32-bit mode" for those apps that offered the option – took me all of a few minutes – so I'm not going to part with my cash. That's not to say, however, that others might well find this app beneficial, in terms of time savings, or just because they're not 100% sure of what they're doing otherwise. I'm not saying to buy it or not. What I am saying is that the process it is designed to carry out has been of benefit to me, even if I didn't use this app to carry out that process. [MacBook Pro 2.53 Intel Core Duo, 4 GB RAM, OS X 10.7.2]
Like (5)
Version 1.0.3
GeogProf
26 October 2011
Wow, a new SixtyFour version number and MacUpdate post only 4½ days after the last version's release and just for having been "Tested on Mac OS X 10.6" (and BTW, that 'X' is superfluous)? Since no changes were made since the previous version, that's an ethically extreme justification for a new MU post, and therefore not deserving of the free advertising obtained.
Like
Version 1.0.3
2 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
26 October 2011
SixtyFour is constantly being updated. Changes were made to the this version, albeit minor ones. You've got your point.
Like (2)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
04 December 2012
Yeah, right. Why in the world should we have the latest version of software listed here from the day it is released? Better to just let Macupdate get stale and useless for its users. This is so? Well, I couldn't disagree more.
Like
Cowicide
25 October 2011
What are the disadvantages of using this? Or is this the best way to run all your apps, period? Is there any catch whatsoever? In other words, if it's better to run apps in 32-bit mode, then why doesn't Apple do this by default?
Like
Version 1.0.3
1 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
26 October 2011
On older systems that have little memory available, it is better to run an application in 32-bit mode. If the system recognizes less than 3 GB of memory then force the listed applications to open in 32-bit mode. On 10.5 most applications open in 32-bit mode by default. SixtyFour will facilitate changing a preference to force an application to open in 32-bit mode. On newer systems that have plenty memory available, it is better to run an application in 64-bit mode. Applications that are optimized for 64-bit can run faster than their 32-bit counterparts. Applications that open in 64-bit mode can access more memory than their 32-bit counterparts. SixtyFour will facilitate finding applications that will not open in 64-bit mode. The best way to run an application depends largely on the memory available to the system, its type and how it is programmed.
Like (2)
RoyPDX
20 October 2011
Why is this commercial software listed here as "free?"
Like (1)
Version 1.0.2
3 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
21 October 2011
SixtyFour is a non-free app, listed as "free" because it is pay-what-you-want-ware and therefore has a flexible price.
Like (1)
RoyPDX
RoyPDX
21 October 2011
Then maybe you should say that on your site, instead of saying it's "commercial." From the site: "SixtyFour is a commercial application. Use of SixtyFour beyond the initial trial period requires the purchase of a license. note: For a limited time only, pay what you want for SixtyFour."
Like (1)
1951fdg
1951fdg
21 October 2011
SixtyFour is a commercial application!
Like (2)
Stormchild
20 October 2011
"An application opened in 64-bit mode uses approximately 2x the memory that the same application uses when opened in 32-bit mode." This claim seems exaggerated and probably untrue. Is there any real evidence to support it? It just doesn't make sense. There may be some additional overhead for longer memory address strings, but that doesn't increase the size of the actual information and resources stored in memory.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.2
4 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
21 October 2011
In some cases, the claim may be exaggerated, while in other cases, the claim will hold true. Whether the claim is true or not is heavily dependent on the type of application and how it is programmed. But regardless of whether the claim will hold true, a 64-bit build of an app will use more memory when compared to the 32-bit build. The memory overhead should not matter on modern systems that have plenty memory available but will matter on older systems that have little memory available. On modern systems, SixtyFour is an informative application, listing only applications that will open in 64-bit mode by default. On an older system, SixtyFour is an optimizer, optimizing memory like no other application can!
Like
1951fdg
1951fdg
21 October 2011
Apple Numbers File Format: http://db.tt/QCgQ53eW
Like
1951fdg
1951fdg
21 October 2011
Microsoft Excel File Format: http://db.tt/mnDnfvXh
Like
truthhurts
truthhurts
25 October 2011
The "double memory" claim is blatantly false. As for anyone who pays for this, well, a fool and their money...
Like (1)
tmtsui
20 October 2011
Still testing though I paid already. It would be better to show the current bit status next to each application.
Like
Version 1.0.1
3 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
20 October 2011
True. Showing the current bit status is possible by taking into account if the open in 32-bit mode option for an application is checked or not. The issue will be tackled in the upcoming release with your help and that of other testers, to ensure that the new feature will also work on Mac OS X 10.6 or later.
Like
tmtsui
tmtsui
20 October 2011
So glad to hear that and hope it's coming soon.
Like
tmtsui
tmtsui
21 October 2011
Downloaded the new version 1.02. More apps added to the list for switching to 32-bit mode. So far haven't encountered any problem. But still, hope to see the "showing the current bit status" adding to the app soon. Because you can't tell which has been changed and which hasn't after a few times switching. The addon feature will be a definite help.
Like
NotUsed
29 September 2011
Inaccurate. Doesn't list all 64-bit apps. List is missing at least 5 major 64bit aware apps on my system.
Like (3)
Version 1.0
5 answer(s)
1951fdg
1951fdg
30 September 2011
Accurate. Doesn't list all 64-bit apps but lists apps that will open in 64-bit mode. A "64-bit aware app"(an app that also contains the ppc64 and/or x86_64 architecture) will not necessarily open in 64-bit mode and could just as well open in 32-bit mode. There are also other factors that collectively determine in which mode the app will open. SixtyFour takes these factors into consideration when presenting the list of apps. Conclusion. For an app to be listed it must meet two conditions, the app will open and the app will open in 64-bit mode. Other "64-bit aware apps" that don't meet these two conditions will not be listed because they will either not open or open in 32-bit mode.
Like
NotUsed
NotUsed
20 October 2011
So you're telling me Adobe Photoshop CS5 is not 64-bit aware then... yeah.. okay, then. Inaccurate.
Like (2)
1951fdg
1951fdg
20 October 2011
If Adobe Photoshop CS5 is not listed, Adobe Photoshop CS5 should open in 32-bit mode on your Mac. ProcessTimer and Activity Monitor will tell you which apps are running in 64-bit. Use either one of them in order to confirm in which mode Adobe Photoshop CS5 is running.
Like
1951fdg
1951fdg
20 October 2011
After some thorough investigation, the problems were found, and a new release will be released today that fixes the problems.
Like
NotUsed
NotUsed
26 October 2011
Thanks for the negative ratings for pointing out problems with your software. Always nice when a developer chooses to argue with potential customers rather than listening to them. Not everyone is clueless.
Like (2)
Libertyforall1776
29 September 2011
What is the point?! System Profile does this and is already on EVERY Mac... Just look under the Software section under Applications, look for the "64-Bit" column.
Like (2)
Version 1.0
4 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
29 September 2011
To make an app open as 32-bit, simply "Get Info" on the app and click "Open in 32-bit mode".
Like (2)
1951fdg
1951fdg
30 September 2011
The "64-Bit (Intel)" column is a new feature of System Profiler only accessible on a Mac which has Mac OS X 10.6 or later installed. The "64-Bit (Intel)" column indicates wether the app is "64-bit (Intel) aware"(contains the x86_64 architecture). It is not a complete indication of wether the app will open in 64-bit mode. A "64-bit aware app" could just as well open in 32-bit mode. There are also other factors that collectively determine in which mode the app will open. SixtyFour takes these factors into consideration when presenting the list of apps. The point is there are multiple command line utilities and apps which can determine wether an app is "64-bit aware"(contains the ppc64 and/or x86_64 architecture) but SixtyFour takes this further by actually determining if the "64-bit aware app" will open and open in 64-bit mode.
Like (1)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
01 October 2011
Activity Monitor will tell you which apps are running in 64-bit.
Like
1951fdg
1951fdg
01 October 2011
Correct. You have a choice. Will you choose to open Activity Monitor and check every app on a one by one basis or open SixtyFour?
Like (2)