Back to Droplr page
Droplr free download for Mac

Droplr Reviews

5.6.2
27 March 2019

Share images, documents, files, and links.

Monkeyjunkey
06 September 2012

Most helpful

MAS only? Staying with Cloud.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.1

Read 24 Droplr User Reviews

Rate this app:

cjred
12 September 2018
Amazing! but sometimes slow uploads. With the boards so i can share a group of files in a link.
Like
Version 5.0.2
thecoolabbas
23 August 2018
OK I dont understand what is wrong with it, It was working just fine until i took some images and then it started taking all my bandwidth like crazy and never end until i close it from the menubar. Please see the video below: https://d.pr/sIzVsJ Does anyone have the same issue with it? I have contacted support twice without any reply.
Like
Version 5.0.2
DarlaAnne
03 September 2017
Many years later, Droplr continues to be my most used, daily, even hourly at times, app. The support is wonderful and they are always adding new features. I could not live without it!
Like
Version 4.6.7
cjred
11 August 2017
Great app and service! Sharing is very easy and you don't need to think about it! Overall satisfied using Pro!
Like
Version 4.6.7
Funjoy
17 September 2016
Great app/service. I also have CloudApp but I don't use it because I like the Droplr iOS app. Oddly, Macupdate says the latest version as of yesterday is now 4.6.3 but when I checked for updates Droplr told me I had the latest version at 4.6.2.
Like
Version 4.6.3
pietz
15 August 2016
theres no simpler way of sharing files quickly. i do love that approach. that being said i think the speeds arent very good. im seeing upload speeds between 200-600kB/s. that might be fast enough for some, but having a 4MB/s upload i find that quite slow. Google Drive maxes out my bandwidth on any occasion.
Like
Version 4.6.2
TCalhau
14 July 2015
I just don't like the fixed Icon in the Dock while the application is open. I believe that only an icon in the menu bar is ideal.
Like
Version 4.5.2
1 answer(s)
cjred
cjred
30 November 2015
huh? there is a "Hide Dock Icon" under settings dude...
Like (4)
Kukkis
21 April 2014
Droplr is great cloud service for sharing files. On the other had, if you are looking for a cloud storage then this is horrible choice since you can't use any directory / folder structure. Its just bunch of files in a long list. However, the desktop app has very nice sorting and search features so its relatively easy to find your files even if you have long list of them. Although, since Dropler has real infinite storage you will most likely end up with huge list of files sometime in the future so some directory structure would still be appreciated. Overall Droplr is great service. Its very affordable when you compare it other cloud sharing services and whats even more important is the fact that its rock solid. All the files are stored in Amazon S3 servers so you can truly trust and rely on Dropler when it comes down to file sharing. So, if you are looking for cloud storage for all your files check out DropBox but if you want rock solid and very fast and easy file sharing Droplr is definitely worth a look. Before I went with Droplr I gave CloudApp, Mibox, Copy and Hightail a try. At least for me Droplr was the best option but you'll never know, all of them have their ups and downs. Pros: 2GB files can be shared Infinite storage Low price Custom visual identity - you can use your own domain and logo. Reliable and fast (uses Amazon S3) Good support (but slow, see cons) Cons: It took the support over 48 hours to reply my email No directory / folder structure With the following link you'll get 10% off (+free 30 day trial) from Droplr subscription (my gain? I'll get 10% off too) https://droplr.com/join/d/2fJzUU9Q
Like (1)
Version 4.0.5
RJC.NJNYC
17 January 2014
Looks like v3.5.0 is still free at the App Store?
Like
Version 4.0.3
bumper314
11 January 2014
I've been very happy with Droplr for the past few years and I'm thrilled to see it moving forward and adding new features. While I too use Dropbox, Droplr serves a different function for me. It's almost like a dumping ground where I put files I'm not interested in organizing, but want to keep and/or share. I use Droplr for: - Screenshots for support emails. - Quick files to friends. - URL shortening. - Adding links to files in my todo manager, which doesn't support attachments.
Like
Version 4.0.2
1 answer(s)
bumper314
bumper314
21 January 2014
Forgot to mention my favorite use-case. I love how Droplr shows you many times an item has been viewed. This can be handy when collaborating with someone so you can get a feel for when and what they're working on. It's funny getting a "Looks great!" reply from someone when Droplr tells me they haven't even looked at it yet.
Like
Kappe
03 January 2014
time to find an alternative, next week you'll have yo pay. and no, dropbox isn't an alternative.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.0
1 answer(s)
billybillybilly
billybillybilly
11 January 2014
Cloud. It has some limitations, but it is free and although I've enjoyed droplr, I won't pay $5/month for it.
Like (1)
DarlaAnne
10 December 2013
While I use Dropbox for my file sharing and synching, However, I also use Droplr as a part of my workflow. One thing Dropbox doesn't do is screenshots. When I am working on a client design, I will often screenshot the progress, just to give the client a quick visual update. Using my custom hotkey, it's a snap to screenshot, and upload, and be immediately given a URL to paste into my client emails. I don't really focus on "versions" of my work (for that, I'd use Adobe Creative Cloud) ... so I don't usually ever go back to a Droplr upload. I screencap it, send it and forget it. And it just works. I also love that premium users can use a custom domain. Everything I send to clients appears as if it's coming from my main website, displayed and showcased nicely. That said, I do wish they'd give an option for annotations. I don't use them myself, and it's an extra click for me to "upload". This is a newer feature, and I honestly preferred the faster/auto upload.
Like
Version 3.5.0
1 answer(s)
DarlaAnne
DarlaAnne
03 September 2017
I wanted to update my review. I still gladly give this app 5 stars. It still does what I need it to do every day. The developers are very responsive and the support is great!
Like
anonymous-dingo-653
02 March 2013
This is almost sneer worthy compared to DropBox. --Half the storage --no file structure preset or allowed and built on yet another paradigm of "you don't need to know and we won't tell you" --no direct links to files --link pages with ads instead --the app sucks up to Apple pushing its latest OSX with only an obscure page where one can find a pre-Lion version to run on Snow Leopard. Ummm... why would I put up with any of this, even for free, when just about any other service is better?
Like
Version 3.0.5
zo219
21 February 2013
What would be the point, when there is DropBox?
Like
Version 3.0.4
bbw7
28 January 2013
So there is a Snow_Leopard version available at: http://support.droplr.com/kb/policies/droplr-snow-leopard but going to the developer's front-end website, i.e. the one to which MU provides the link, you wouldn't know this because it is one of those minimalist webpages with only links for downloads, i.e. not much information. One has to google to find the support page for this link I provided. There is a login/register button at the front-end site, and once one joins, one might get more, obvious options, but such information ought to be readily available without joining the collective. But now reading about the uninstall issues (below), I will have to think long and hard before installing. Additionally, the download is the app bundle, not a zip or dmg file, which seems to be a hinky deal too, i.e. one click too many and the thing is installed.
Like
Version 3.0.4
Ronly
23 November 2012
Great! Especially as it's free. Thanks to the developers.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Brooklyn-Al
06 November 2012
Cattus--unfortunately it is true when I posted my concern on the Droplr website this is the solution that was offered: Albert, We don't "attach" ourselves to any programs. We are sandboxed and follow all of the Apple standards for interacting with your system. You can remove us from the keychain by deleting any entries you find there You can do a Spotlight search and remove anything you find with the name "Droplr". You can do a clean reinstall of your OS. :-) Best wishes! XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX I cannot believe that they suggested a re-install of the OS. I had indicated that I attempted repeatedly to delete it from keychain on all three operating systems and on reboot it always reappears in keychain and asked if they attach to any program or modify any other plist file but they indicated that does not occur and yet it keeps reappearing in my OS X3. I posted it to warn people and the suggestion, by another person, that I should not download is somewhat obtuse given the circumstances. My comment is intended to preempt this issue for other users.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
4 answer(s)
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
07 November 2012
If that is their answer, I would also react negatively. I find the last solution, reinstall the OS, entirely boorish and unacceptable in a decent dialog. I may find the positive part in that it does not hang to parts of the system, and that may be deleted by finding all files with app name.
Like (1)
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
07 November 2012
Cattus, though, it does attach itself to other programs. Otherwise after I delete all remnants of Droplr, to include searching any and all hidden Droplr files, it should be eliminated but again it appears after deletion in the keychain. I scoured all three libraries in each operating system to include but not limited to...... the launch agents/daemons, preference files, container (in lion and ML) all to no avail. Supremely annoying!
Like
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
08 November 2012
Surfspirit; that solved the problem. Thanks for the information/help.
Like
Mar6473
Mar6473
08 November 2012
I find your inability to delete Droplr using the keychain very strange. I had no such issue. It is good that you mentioned though, because obviously is there is an issue, even just a quirky file that isn't behaving, they should know about it. I recommend CleanApp over AppDelete because it has a preference pane logger that records all files that were installed and then tracks them. That way, when you want to delete. It knows exactly what files need to go.
Like
Brooklyn-Al
03 November 2012
Mac users absolutely do not download this program it will be nearly impossible to completely delete from your system; I have used AppCleaner then went into the user library to find remnants of this pest but to no avail. I have repeatedly tried to delete it from keychain but on reboot it is back again. This is no accident that developers have intentionally created this software flypaper. It has gotten to the point were I am thinking of doing a clean install to get rid of it. The minimal value this program provides is not worth the aggravation. You have been warned—these developers are not above board with the design of this program. This program deserves zero stars and even that would be generous.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.1
10 answer(s)
Mar6473
Mar6473
06 November 2012
Who wants to delete it? it works great! if you don't want it on your computer, don't install it.
Like
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
06 November 2012
If indeed impossible to delete, then a very bad mark for the developers. This should NEVER happen. Is it true? What do others say?
Like (1)
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
07 November 2012
Can you explain it better? because I installed and removed with no problems! It even doesn't ask for you user password!!!
Like (1)
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
07 November 2012
Surf Spirit; what I have found with all three operating systems is I cannot delete Droplr from the keychain permanently. It always reappears after a reboot. Check your keychain for Droplr and let me know what you find.
Like (2)
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
08 November 2012
Brooklyn_Al you are right, I can confirm this, it appears in the keychain again, somehow it auto installed again, this is like a trojan, what else is this doing? how can't I deleted? Users be aware!!!!!!!
Like (1)
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
08 November 2012
Shall we understand that it includes a spyware?
Like
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
08 November 2012
Well, I don't how it won't delete by the keychain but I figure it out how to deleted permanently, somehow if you delete in the Mac OS X keychain it will come back again, but it seems it's locked on the browser, I use Chromium, so maybe it's a problem with chrome/chromium, Go To Chrome/Chromium -> Preferences -> Show Advanced Settings-> Privacy -> Content Settings -> All Cookies and Site Data -> Look for Droplr and delete it! Now after a restart no Droplr is shown in my keychain.
Like (1)
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
08 November 2012
Surfspirit; I thought your solution worked but the program or is it a virus....... droplr reappears in keychain yet again.
Like
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
10 November 2012
@Brooklyn_Al try delete the other browsers droplr cookies that you might being using, in my system droplr is not appearing in the keychain anymore.
Like (2)
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
10 November 2012
Surfspirit; your recommendation worked for Lion and Mountain Lion but for snow leopard I went into googles advanced settings--passwords/forms---passwords and deleted the droplr password. That appears to have eliminated all remnants of Droplr from snow leopard as well. Your advice to go into advanced settings put me on the right track. Thanks again.
Like (1)
June8
10 October 2012
Very easy to use. Web interface is very nice.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Monkeyjunkey
06 September 2012
MAS only? Staying with Cloud.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
09 September 2012
Great stuff. :) Sent a mail to MU, so they can add a non-MAS download option.
Like (3)
dmu
17 July 2012
Why this app is not wildly popular I do not understand. Dropbox is nice and I use it for linking and backing up data as a cloud service, but when I go to share files with someone, Droplr is the fastest and most elegant solution imaginable. I was actually complaining that I wished something exactly like this existed when a redditor pointed me to it. Now I can send stuff to my parents in a way they can understand, and get files to my work computer in a snap. The interface is gorgeous, simple, and whole app/service/site is all as stable as they come. Get this!
Like (3)
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
Pacmanen
Pacmanen
06 September 2012
You are so right^^
Like (1)
orange0422
23 June 2012
Why delete droplr to tweet function?
Like
Version 2.0.6
Trooper4
30 December 2009
If you don't have a Twitter account you cannot use this application. I downloaded it thinking that it was such a good idea until I got to the login screen for my Twitter account (which I neither have or want). Oh well, good luck to those who decide to download it.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
SteveLong1415
SteveLong1415
17 October 2016
You clicked the wrong sign in. You can sign in more easily by linking to Twitter but it is not necessary.
Like
Mcdonoughab
30 December 2009
So far Droplr is absolutely faultless in operation. The menubar icon is unobtrusive and is fairly good looking. Droplr makes it a breeze to share any image, file, note, image, link with anyone. Just drag the item you want to share onto the Droplr icon and it's automatically turned into a short link that can be shared. Droplr also provides a web based file management tool for organizing your items. It's very basic and should be enough for most users. Don't confuse or compare this little gem with Dropbox. Dropbox is a great service, but it's more for file synchronization.
Like (1)
Version 1.0.4