Back to The Hit List page
The Hit List free download for Mac

The Hit List Reviews

1.1.32
27 September 2018

Advanced reminder application.

Xenophile
26 March 2011

Most helpful

Suffers from GTD developer conundrum: the developer needs a completed GTD app to give him that extra little push to finish developing his GTD app, but as long as his GTD languishes in beta, he cannot get the things done needed to get his GTD app done. No GTD app, no things get done. The solution is elusive but exceedingly simple once executed: the developer must first develop a GSD (Get Sh!t Done) app which will then enable him to complete his GTD app. Of course many people find Getting Sh!t Done more than adequate, and once a GSD app is completed, most developers see little point in continuing development of the GTD app. Instead they find that once a critical mass of sh!t is done, they urgently need to get their sh!t together, hence the forthcoming market for GST apps. As for THL, until the developer finishes his GSD app, it's not going to be much of a GTD app.
Like (23)
Version 0.9.3.26beta

Read 135 The Hit List User Reviews

Rate this app:

Kerry-Dawson
09 January 2018
The Hit List is a great program that's functional and easy to use but since it is not crosss platform (Android) it lives in the last decade. I'm not sure like Omni they're myopic but lack resources.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.31
xbteng
17 October 2016
非常棒的App
Like
Version 1.1.26
Anon-Bud
19 December 2015
Meh.. Pretty app. But not reliable. Doesn't really work well trying to have repeated tasks that have subtasks. Sync got messed up between my Mac and mobile devices and had to delete and then reinstall on the mobile devices to get the sync to work. Documentation is lacking and support is only half there [they helped a bit on the sync issue, but not at all on the repeating task issue]
Like
Version 1.1.17
FreeWizard
18 June 2015
Wonderful task management app with Finder-like smart folder and a beautiful timer. Sync is light speed; AppleScript support is great.
Oh, plus the iPhone/Watch version is almost perfect.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.10
Dingdongdaddy
10 March 2015
Like that it will organize in an outline, but then allow sorting by other criteria that breaks tasks into a list. I like to sort by date modified to work through tasks Mark Forster style, http://markforster.squarespace.com/. Omnifocus can do this, too, but it always confused me. Hitlist makes it simple and clear.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.12
1 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
24 May 2015
I own THL and have only recently come across FVP by Mark Forster. Are you able to elaborate how you integrate THL with FVP?
Like
Matt-M
01 February 2015
This app works well for me, doesn't crash, syncs reliably, has been around for a long time, continues to be developed, and is completely keyboard navigable.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.10
Matt-M
01 February 2015
This app works well, doesn't crash, syncs reliably, has been around for a long time and continues to be developed, and it's completely keyboard navigable.
Like
Version 1.1.10
Ajmac25
11 January 2015
A great app that is now back. I have used THL, OmniFocus, Things and Firetask. All have pluses and minuses and I think it depends on the user and what you need. THL is an easy program, and now it is finally being updated. I too appreciate honoring previous purchases, the iPhone update and the included sync. Now, PLEASE get an iPad version. I am still using Omifocus for my primary "To-Do" app but I think THL could replace it, IF an iPad version ever comes out.As for price, all of these apps are pricey, but if you truly need a to-do app, the time they save and keeping me on-track with multiple daily tasks is priceless.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.10
Steve K
11 January 2015
I just wanted to say THANK YOU to the developers for honoring our Hit List serial numbers from the Mac Heist Bundle all the way back in 2009. I always loved the app but I just didn't like the subscription-based model that was introduced after I purchased it. So I kicked it to the curb and tried every other app in the same category but none of them were as much of a joy to use as The Hit List. So now, I'm back. I'm not going to review the newest version just yet because I haven't used it enough to make an honest go of it. But I will.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.10
Celtkin
11 January 2015
A $49.95 reminder program seems way too expensive.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.10
4 answer(s)
hwgray
hwgray
03 March 2015
Your random *opinion* is *not* a *review*, Celtkin!
Like (5)
Celtkin
Celtkin
03 March 2015
No one gives a crap what you think IamontDakota. Your opinion about what constitutes a "review" is wrong.
Like
siamlotus
siamlotus
30 September 2015
Moronic review and reply Celtkin.
Like (2)
Oneblessedguy
Oneblessedguy
13 April 2016
I agree with hwgray. Giving a one star review because you don't agree with the price is not helpful to anyone.

A better option would be to try the program out and let us know how it does or does not fit into your workflow.

That would truly be a review.
Like
ctt1wbw
04 January 2015
I have finally found The One. The iPhone version is super duper slick and the desktop version is too. I very much love this app, the ease of use as well as the GUI, and the cards layout is great. Super app!
Like (1)
Version 1.1.9
Jazzyguy
04 January 2015
This version is simply great in every way. Love the GUI Randall of the features.
Like
Version 1.1.9
Jazzyguy
04 January 2015
This version is simply great in every way. Love the GUI Randall of the features.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.9
Mhoutman
28 December 2014
Latest version in both MAS and Karelia web store is now 1.1.9 ! Also release of new iOS app 2.0 last week. https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/hit-list-simply-powerful-tasks/id948328681?l=en&mt=8 Sync between iOS and OS X is now FREE !! I really would like to see some cross upgrade option for Things users :0
Like
Version 1.1.7
1 answer(s)
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
31 December 2014
It seems they changed their blog recently as till the end of this year there is a 30% rebate http://www.karelia.com/blog/the-hit-list-for-iphone-2.html
Like
Sparrowhawk
28 August 2014
Note to MacUpdate admins: 1.1.5 is out (20th August)
Like
Version 1.1.3
Sigil
28 July 2014
Paying for sync is a deal breaker. Using Dropbox, and iCloud are arguably better alternatives. Many people want WiFi sync, The most paramount reason being privacy. However, they won't offer WiFi sync, because there is no legitimate way to monetize it. That is the only reason I can see why it hasn't been implemented. The advent of DropBox and even iCloud has made the legitimacy of charging for sync dubious unless you offer a higher level of security or something.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
lemon-kun
lemon-kun
26 December 2014
Sync service is free now.
Like
Anon-Bud
05 March 2014
Just a note: Karelia Software has acquired The Potion Factory. So maybe there will be movement here again! Let's hope so!
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
Ajmac25
Ajmac25
05 March 2014
http://www.potionfactory.com
Like (1)
lemon-kun
30 December 2013
Just a comment about the paid syncing service: The Mac version of The Hit List costs 50$, the iPhone app 10$ and syncing 20$ per year. So one year using The Hit List costs 80$, +20$ for each year. (no iPad app?) OmniFocus costs 80$ the Mac version, 20$ the iPhone version, the iPad version costs 40$. Syncing is free, and there aren't "must to" updates all that often – it is still at version 1 for years. So the complete package of OmniFocus cost 140$. That is the same like four years of using The Hit List. Organize Pro costs 50$ for the Mac, iPad app for 13$, iPhone app for free, syncing free. So all of it for 63$. Things costs 50$ for the Mac, 10$ for the iPhone version, 20$ for the iPad version, syncing free. The whole package costs 80$ (it won't do sub-sub-sub-tasks as far as I know, so no deal for me). 2Do costs 40$ for the Mac version, 10$ for iPhone/iPad app, so about 50$ for the complete thing (sync via Dropbox). No sub-sub-sub-tasks, so nothing for me.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.3
Jazzyguy
17 December 2013
I just want to add the fact that there is no better reminder app on OSX or on any platform than this app.It has been honed to Perfection
Like (1)
Version 1.1.3
Jazzyguy
05 December 2013
I agree with onamac this is a well thought out application. The GUI and everything in it is great.I use it daily.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.3
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
13 December 2013
In addition it is very easy to use with the configurations you need to apply tags etc included with the app.The Developer sent me a PPC application for 3 of my older Macs. He is very responsive and cooperative!
Like (1)
Mhoutman
05 December 2013
Is this a joke ?
Like (3)
Version 1.1.3
3 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
13 December 2013
Are you a JOKE???
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
18 December 2013
Maybe you ought to take a little Duck Walk as this is a 5 Star web site!
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
27 December 2013
The Biggest JOKE of all is OSX-FTW!
Like (1)
onamac
31 May 2013
Owned this app for a long time, back when it was a beta. Since then I also demoed the competition, but I still come back to this one. It's just a very well-implemented, thought-out app IMO. I like that you can have regular tags and contexts too, and more than one of each if you want. The Smart folders are great as are the way it handles projects too, similar to OF but Hit List just feels better to me. Archiving is done well too, that it is still accessible and 'live'. I do sort of like the context columns in OF but it's just as easy to enter the details in THL and seeing them right next to the task instead of a column is fine with me. The subfolders / nesting is essential to me in organizing my things. I agree there's a security in knowing a product is actively developed, but since this one works so well, that's not a big concern for me. I figure in 10 years if it's not around, I'll have to adapt to something else. I'm sure there will be plenty of apps not around in 10 years and lots more to replace them. It's not like I'm worrying about future importing my projects to a new app, because if my projects are still going on 10 years from now then I've got bigger problems than finding a new app. I've used some old old well-coded software that still worked long after it was abandoned. Remember NotePad Deluxe? That thing would still be working if Rosetta were still around. Anyway we don't know that this app is abandoned. Plenty of stuff that is working hasn't seen an update for a year, not just this. That said though, I do hope Andy still has the desire to keep it alive, because even with what else is out there, THL just does everything so smoothly and is very flexible. It really is a gem. Anyway, I too would like it if syncing wasn't a paid option, and up until recently I got around that by syncing to iCal and letting iCal show me the events on my iPhone. However, I did decide to try out the iPhone app and pay for the syncing just to see what I was missing, and I think it's really well-implemented. I personally don't like iOS apps where the only option is to sign up and pay from there, so was glad this wasn't the case. I'm also glad it isn't an autopay. I was impressed with the way THL handled the whole thing—quite elegantly, actually. And the sync is crazy fast. As soon as I'd type something in THL it would appear on my phone. I feel this app is the best out there for the way I want to work.
Like (6)
Version 1.1.2
Monkeyjunkey
13 December 2012
Nice app, but having to pay for an app AND having to pay a monthly fee, for syncing between OS X and iOS, is not cool. Deal breaker. Either charge for the app and allow syncing for your paying customers or make the app free and charge for syncing.
Like (12)
Version 1.1.2
Dingdongdaddy
22 October 2012
Long time OmniFocus user here. Every single time I opened that program up, I'd groan, and die a little inside. Technically sound, it just felt hard to look at, and (especially on the iphone) convoluted to use. I'm in the early days of The Hitlist, but what a breath of fresh air. To open a task in card view and do some some serious brainstorm writing is great! Tags and tag filtering--Omni swears we don't need that, and I believed them, till I used them here. Tags are great and easy to use in The Hit List. Multilevel outlining--another plus. It's reminding me a bit of the old program InControl, which was basically an outliner with a built-in calendar. That would be a sweet addition to The Hitlist. But even as is, I'm loving it.
Like (6)
Version 1.1.2
FTBZ
30 May 2012
Unable to use the sync service from two weeks now. I get an error "The operation couldn’t be completed. (OSStatus error -25300.)" and the support does not respond to my emails. Boring.
Like
Version 1.1.1
1 answer(s)
Bayard
Bayard
11 July 2013
So you see what I meant.
Like
Lodestone
27 May 2012
This is a great todo app for keyboard enthusiasts. The keyboard mappings are intuitive (especially for someone who has ever used Vi/Vim). Sync with iOS (payed service) is not where I'd like it to be but I understand sync is a hard problem to solve. I'm willing to be forgiving for an app I enjoy using so much.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.1
Blloyd
26 April 2012
The 1.1 update to The Hit List brings one of my most needed features: Context-sensitive quick entry (via integration with OS X services). It makes a huge difference in usability to me. THL is beautiful, well-designed software, and the sync service is fantastic. It's noticeably faster than OmniFocus sync for me. The main knocks at this point are a couple things: * There's no iPad version yet. Potion Factory says it's on the way, but things often take longer than people would like * Between releases, Andy can go kinda quiet. This is fairly well documented in the comments below. With the large number of changes in 1.1 and the improvements, it's pretty clear to me that he's investing a lot of time in it, and it's worked reliably for me for the last couple releases so I don't have much bad to say about it. It really is nice and flexible to use, and it doesn't frustrate me like Omnifocus does.
Like (5)
Version 1.1
FTBZ
24 April 2012
Having tested many competing software, I never found a replacement as good as "The Hit List". OmniFocus have an old-style interface and the pricing is unacceptable and Things suffers from a lack of features. I love how the "context" and "tags" are simple to use with The Hit List.
Like (6)
Version 1.1
Pdwal
23 April 2012
The Hit List is the best solution I have found for the rapid, powerful processing of notes, ideas, and tasks. The implementation of keyboard shortcuts is particularly excellent, as is the overall elegance and speed of the application. It is clear that a great deal of thought went into the design of the Hit List. I confess I hesitated because of the price -- it is on the hefty side -- but the nature of my job leaves me with a long, complicated set of tasks, notes, and things to track, and, in my opinion, only Omnifocus rivals the Hit List in power, and pales significantly in ease of use and elegance.
Like (6)
Version 1.1
Bayard
09 March 2012
STAY AWAY FROM THIS APP! Forget all the discussion of features, functionality, etc. Its disabling factor is the total, inexcusable lack of tech support. I go a message on 7 Feb. 2012 that it coudn't open my library, went to Potion Factory's website & found instructions for how to repair a corrupted library, but then found they didn't match AT ALL what they said I would in my App Support. What's more, I couldn't find a backup file on my iMac that was less than 8 mos. old. Sent PF 4 increasingly frantic messages asking for help (including the relevant files, screenshots, etc.), but have STILL (03/09) gotten NOTHING except their original auto-reply to my original message. Had an earlier parallel experience with them over a less incapacitating problem (duplicate appearances of tasks, bloating sorted to-do lists. At least that time I got into correspondence with Andy Kim, but after I sent him the files he requested I NEVER heard back. This SW is simply too unreliable and unsupported to depend on as a tool for daily use. A shame, because it has some useful features, especially if they worked the glitches out. But absent support (and, apparently, a robust system for backing up your data), just too undependable. DON'T TOUCH IT! Something's wrong w. MacUpdate's rating system: I want to give it a 0 rating for value & stability, but MUD won't let me; also to lower the Features rating because they don't work properly.
Like (14)
Version 1.0.6
4 answer(s)
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
23 April 2012
Anyone following all delays with the beta development of this once promising app would stay away. Andy Kim once again showed himself as an unreliable developer. What a shame and pity.
Like (7)
FTBZ
FTBZ
24 April 2012
Why this is a "Potion Factory" problem ? The Hit List database is a DATABASE and like every database need to be backuped with cautions. I'm not sure your complaint is rightful with no backup for 8 months...
Like (3)
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
24 April 2012
Okay I have to be fair, at the same day I write my negative comments, version 1.1 is released. Still sticking to my objections against a developer which operates completely in the dark. Buying software is except an excellent product also about confidence and above all satisfactory customer support !
Like
Acwolf
Acwolf
10 August 2012
I don't know enough to judge THL as a program, but if you want development and communication that is out in the open, you can't do better than Free and Open Source combined with an active community and responsive developers. You get that with TASK COACH! I contacted Task Coach forum first day I was using it thinking something was wrong and the main developer wrote back almost immediately to clarify how I should handle the situation. Very friendly, very responsive, and very powerful software. Not perfect or bug-proof, but no major problems and not left in the dark as a passive consumer…
Like
Mhoutman
06 March 2012
IMHO one should stay off this software. Sure it is nice, but again its developer seems in a very deep sleep. No updates for months on both Mac OS and iOS, so why even bother. FYI his last tweet was 207 days ago ! Sync should be free or at least have give us a product which had continuous support like OmniFocus, Things or Firetask
Like (8)
Version 1.0.6
Macgruder
12 February 2012
There are many good things about this app but unfortunately the only way to sync is to pay for it. While having a paid syncing service is fine, what is not so fine is the fact that you can't use a WiFi to do the job if you wish. Given that the mechanics of sync have been developed there seems to be no good reason to not have WiFI syncing - unless the developer is hoping to make more money by forcing users to use the cloud sync. I don't want to put my data on the cloud if I can avoid it for security issues. Also depending on where you are you may not have a web connection.
Like
Version 1.0.6
2 answer(s)
Blloyd
Blloyd
22 February 2012
There is a good reason there's no Wifi synching: It's more work to develop it. The fact is that Potion Factory is a small company, and it takes time to impement Wifi sync (as it does to develop other sync methods). And Wifi sync isn't as useful to _most_ people as is cloud sync. There are chargest to host the THL sync service (It's hosted on Google app engine, if you do some network sniffing you can see this), so with Apple taking 30% of the sub fee, it's $1/month so it's probably not a huge cash cow.
Like (1)
Xplicit
Xplicit
26 February 2012
@Blloyd And why should anyone care what which feature costs? If someone needs WiFi-Sync and there is none they can rate this app whatever they like. At least Macgruder didn't rate the app 0.5 stars.
Like (3)
Fibric
09 October 2011
after years of being not satisfied with many of myself tested to-do and task planing apps but finally the hit list changed my mind. it does not force me to stick to bloated and inconsistent gtd system. it supports me in using tro (total relaxed organization). there is only one missing thing. syncing over the air or at least an api extension for the paid sync service. oh and the price is ok but syncing costs extra per year but thats okay actually i do not use sync because of lacking possibilities on syncing. ical is no good interface for syncing with other apps and services. the last sentence. the hit list fits bests to my requirements :-)
Like (3)
Version 1.0.6
FlyinRyan7
27 August 2011
Solid 4 star app considering the price (50$ at the time of this writing). How anyone could rate this app 1 or 2 stars is mind-boggling to me. There are a lot of things I love about The Hit List such as: * keyboard shortcuts (very intuitive…awesome job) * reasonably priced iOS app w/ sync * intuitive layout with containers (folders, Inbox, Today and upcoming) * tags and contexts are easy to use and effective for organization * The Hit List doesn't force you into using a system - you can use it how you'd like * the hints at the bottom are great! Some things I don't like: * developer makes me nervous… he doesn't really respond to email. Also from what I read it was 3 years of promises before this app finally made it out of beta. I understand that software development isn't a straight-forward process, but good grief. * the price is slightly high for what it does. This is more of a 40$ piece of functionality in my mind. However, there really aren't a lot of GTD alternatives that do what I want and I've done trials on quite a few of them! Sooo… I just paid the 50$. * no dropbox or alternative syncing. What would make this a 5 star app (or if the price were lower… obviously you expect more from a 50$ app than a 40$ app): * rules - for instance, if I mark something with a certain tag (ex: /important) then automatically make it a priority 1. Or if it has a certain tag, move it to this list automatically. * the ability to drop a file into a to do (instead of it just linking)…..more of a "nice to have" * being able to iCal sync based on priority (I guess technically you can if you create a smart folder for high priority items and then set it to sync w/ iCal) * a preferences setting to sync every X minutes. Instead I have to manually sync. If there is a way to automatically do this, I am unaware of it. * ability to customize a few things: folder colors, list backgrounds, text colors….etc. The blue folders and yellow notebook paper are great at first… and then get boring. I'm happy with this app and it does about 90% of what I want it to do. If you are considering either Things, Pagico, or Omnifocus, you HAVE to check out The Hit List.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.6
1 answer(s)
FlyinRyan7
FlyinRyan7
10 December 2011
Update: Still working great!....however, I moved to China and the servers that THL uses are blocked by the Chinese government (no idea why). Obviously this is not something I would expect the developer to do something about. However it's a serious limitation if you travel often, or live in places with strong firewall rules (south-west Asia, China...etc), the sync'ing functionality may not work without a VPN connection.
Like (1)
Sw-tester
11 August 2011
What I like: keyboard commands and the smart lists. what I dislike: sorting sucks (no way to not sort without headers, it waste too much space), notes access are a little clunky, more options to customize interface like turn off tabs (don't need them we have the side bar), cloud sync (give me a break, and paid? not only that but I would not trust the developer with him having access to my todo lists, (also apple provides free cloud now) missing: collaborative or network share todo. is dev going to do the separate iphone/ipad apps, probably since he only released a the iphone one. i think a universal app show the dev is considerate. company: hard to trust a developer that took almost 3 years to get out of beta and sold to people like it was almost ready 3 years ago.
Like (5)
Version 1.0.6
Xplicit
10 August 2011
The Hit List adds something to the help viewer so that every time the help viewer is started it wants to connect to static.potionfactory.com even when it's started from an app other than The Hit List. The developer doesn't respond to eMails regarding this. As I said before, very unreliable app and developer, sorry but that's how it is for me.
Like (6)
Version 1.0.5
signalprocessor
18 July 2011
Incredibly well done app. I've been wanting to write my own to-do list application for a long time, and now I don't have to. I just switched from OmniFocus, which was decent, but hasn't changed much in a few years and didn't handle synchronization well at all. As a developer, I appreciate the considerable recurring costs of maintaining servers, and the need to charge for sync. You only pay for the app once- but you could use the sync service for years. Developers get billed monthly for servers, bandwidth usage, and also have to pay people to maintain, backup, and manage the servers- so you continue to have a seamless sync experience. At $20/year for sync, this is a steal!
Like (6)
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Sigil
Sigil
25 July 2011
This app is not as elegant as Culture Code's Things. However, aesthetically it has its own charm; I find it fun and upbeat. In my usage, not as powerful and functional as OmniFocus, e.g. Postbox support. (Things has this too.) However, I've heard there is browser support via chrome. The timer is useful. The desktop and mobile apps are priced fairly, excluding the sync subscription. The app doesn't have the same level of customer service/support as OmniFocus. For example, Potion Factory's Twitter feed "pauses" on Christmas 2009 and resumes May 31st, 2011. I received no news letters or updates etc. I thought they went under. Potion Factory's customer service (communication) is on par with Culture Code, which isn't a good thing. Additionally, the developer didn't build in an alternative sync solution. Why couldn't we have a choice? For quite sometime, I was syncing The Hit List via Dropbox. Why couldn't this be support too? Do you honestly think everyone needs "that" level of sync? Perhaps the Internet providers and Cell companies need to adopt the same philosophy? Is this a one star app? No. However. after the long wait. I believe the developer could of given many early adopters a courtesy six months of sync service. In the end, I'll rather this app whatever I want for whatever reason or reasons I want.
Like (1)
Mar6473
16 July 2011
Dev, don't listed to the cheapskates on here complaining. The sync service is fast and reliable and a deal at $19.99 a month. You deserve to make some cash of this great app. Thanks!!!
Like (6)
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Hauntedtapedeck
Hauntedtapedeck
28 July 2011
Point of correction: it's $19.99 a YEAR.
Like (4)
Bimmerman
08 July 2011
Pay to sync?
Like (12)
Version 1.0.4
10 answer(s)
Sigil
Sigil
13 July 2011
Yeah, it is ridiculous.
Like (6)
Jimmysmits
Jimmysmits
15 July 2011
Pay monthly to sync. :(
Like (5)
signalprocessor
signalprocessor
18 July 2011
Yes, the author of the application needs to charge for the monthly bills they receive for bandwidth, storage, backup and computes required to run the excellent syncing service they've developed.
Like (4)
Sigil
Sigil
19 July 2011
If you say so, time will tell. By the way, I have never had an issue syncing OmniFocus. 1Password, uses Dropbox; I have never had an issue with syncing that app or any app that uses Dropbox. Wunderlist syncs very well too. I'm not saying that their solution doesn't require money to operate. I'm arguing that perhaps it's not the most economical solution. I paid for OmniFocus and I'm done. Unless, I see a video showing a significant difference in performance between this solution and others and a direct benefit... I don't see the upside of paying for a service that is a free feature in other like apps. Again, consumers will decide.
Like (4)
signalprocessor
signalprocessor
19 July 2011
In response to Sigil, OmniFocus is a great app- it served me well since it was released. Syncing in OmniFocus is based on the open WebDAV protocol, which works well and gives you a choice of storage providers- including MobileMe and their own service. It's solid and reliable. That said, I find synchronization in The Hit List to be drastically faster, and I like that changes are "pushed" automatically to my other devices. I never have to manually tell it to sync, it just happens. It looks like they've implemented their own protocol, optimized for this type of application, that likely costs a bit more to operate than an off-the-shelf WebDAV server. I think both apps will benefit greatly from iCloud- for the Hit List, it will save them from maintaining their own servers, and for OmniFocus, it will greatly speed up synchronization.
Like (4)
Raddle
Raddle
25 July 2011
Charging for a service??? Yes, that is outrageous. Even if the service is lightning fast and vert efficient. Absolutely you should one-star a sophisticated app over this one point. Very helpful.
Like (6)
Sigil
Sigil
25 July 2011
"Sophisticated app" with "Lightning fast" sync are both opinions. If you believe the sync speed boost that you receive warrants paying a subscription, then go for it. When I start OmniFocus, Wunderlist or other similar apps, my info is there in seconds. So, unless their service is faster than being instantaneous, I don't see the significance. Yes, charging for a service when your competitors are not isn't a good idea. For example, if I opened a Neflix like service, but charged for shipping. I doubt I'd be successful. Even if I could ship a bit faster than them. Also, I have every right to rate/review and app that I own. That I paid for. I can rate it whatever I like. Who are you to tell me otherwise? Until you start buying my apps, this is how it will be.
Like (2)
Raddle
Raddle
08 August 2011
@ Sigil Wasn't trying to tell you anything. Your post was eminently reasonable. Was responding to the original post - hence my reference to one-starring, which you hadn't done. Hope this is now clear. Yes, consumers will ultimately choose - I just thinking blasting an app with a one star over a single subjective issue is worst kind of unhelpful reviewing.
Like (1)
Jimmysmits
Jimmysmits
08 August 2011
If they want to "roll their own" syncing rather than use proven tech, that's cool. But it is perfectly reasonable to complain about the costs. They did their own sync so they could have a monthly income from it. Nothing wrong with that. But people can legitimately comment about it.
Like (2)
hmurchison
hmurchison
11 August 2011
LOL...thanks for the "extensive" review. Andy spoke about this and said the current sync options didn't give him what he wants. Now I'd say BS if the sync didn't work well but for me it's exactly as SignalProcessor says. It's fast and reliable (for me) and until there's a free solution that delivers the same I'm gonna pay the measly $1.80 per month for the sync. BTW I did get 3 months of sync and I got THL through Mac Heist. Those that bought the app outright got a year of sync for free or at the least 6 months so it's not like Andy is trying to rob people. Now I await the iPad app!
Like (1)
Mjkphoto
08 July 2011
The iPhone App has been released. I'm disappointed to see that it, too, requires use of Potion Factory's Cloud syncing. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. Other apps sync without the need for a Cloud service. I've waited two years for this promising program and now it goes in the TRASH.
Like (9)
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Sigil
Sigil
13 July 2011
I agree.
Like (4)
Xplicit
22 June 2011
Actually I find THL is more complicated to use than OmniFocus now that I've tried it. Especially entering and handling contexts is much worse in THL and the possibility to enter more than one context doesn't make it easier to use. Also OmniFocus omits tags completely, which is a good choice. Because of my past experiences with THL for iPhone, which I've been waiting on for years, hearing promise after promise, and the sync service which suddenly requires a fee (why no sync via MobileMe/iCloud?), I think THL is not a very reliable system.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.4
1 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
28 July 2011
@KeesBakker Tags, are those really GTD? Haven't found anything about tags in the book. And what about tags with a "/" within? And having as many tags as you want makes it only unnecessary complicated. Like Mjkphoto says above: I've waited two years for this promising program and now it goes in the TRASH.
Like (2)
Steven-Goodheart
21 June 2011
I've never enjoyed any PIM's interface or found a more useable interface than The Hit Lists. I try to use OmniFocus but I keep coming back to THL for ease of use, even though OF is arguably more powerful. It's great to have the program *finally* out of beta and to see these bug fixes appearing so regularly now; it seems the program has finally got its feet under it, and I'm glad.
Like (9)
Version 1.0.4
FTBZ
09 June 2011
Why The Hit List ? Because OmniFocus is too complicated to manage properly and the interface is very repulsive. Because "Things" was unclear with the classification of tasks (the tags are not a good solution). Because TaskPaper is a good product, but still too limited. The Hit List is the best software to manage its tasks properly and easily.
Like (13)
Version 1.0.3
Ricoblues
08 June 2011
Early user. Elegant, easy, fast. Perfect to store my ideas on web development for every project. It store all my to-do: about music, graphics ... everything I must remember and organize. A fantastic vale. Thanks
Like (7)
Version 1.0.3
Mathias-Rhein
06 June 2011
well, about one year short of delivering... sad to see though, because the interface looked and felt really promising- so if You're not already sold to one of the competitors that offer free syncing over WebDAV (Omnifocus) or the web (like Toodledo), test run this one to see whether it suits your needs...
Like (9)
Version 1.0.2
4 answer(s)
Lev
Lev
13 June 2011
That's all very well but why the one-star rating when you haven't said anything of substance except that it's taken a lot longer to reach v1 than anyone expected (or hoped)? It seems terribly mean-spirited.
Like (6)
Mathias-Rhein
Mathias-Rhein
13 June 2011
I disagree- as far as I have peeked in, the feature set is pretty much the same and the cloud service is for crying out loud- that's as mean-spirited as you could think towards the customers paying money a year ago... your mileage might vary, but to me this is very disappointing to see that the major implementation of this software over the last year is a way for me to shell out more money... no applause from my side...
Like (5)
Raddle
Raddle
22 June 2011
If you're not reviewing the app's features and quality, don't one-star it. One star reviews should be for software that crashes on launch, not for complaining about something not being free. That's merely a comment, and not a helpful one at that.
Like (4)
Mathias-Rhein
Mathias-Rhein
22 June 2011
I disagree, paying for an app is a quite INTEGRAL part of using this app (correct me if I am wrong), the syncing interface is THE feature that took it so long to arrive... and my one-star rating is merely a reflection of this otherwise neat app pissing me off with the annual fee thing- and I don't think that I am the only one being annoyed... after all, the star ratings are very subjective aren't they? Seriously, this is really annoying me wishing I'd have never bought it....
Like (4)
Raddle
03 June 2011
I'm delighted to see this app back in business - it was always my favourite To Do application and I only moved away reluctantly because it failed to go iOS, now coming any day. It's not for the droning GTD obsessives out there, and that's precisely why I like it: it doesn't constantly force me to mess about with contexts and tagging. It helps me get things done, rather than Get Things Done. It's clear and attractive and very, very direct to use. The sync is *blinding* fast between Macs. Twenty bucks a year is *not* such a big deal to pay for this. And I could care less about whether it has industrial level encryption, as my work reminders will bore cybervillains to tears. Anyone who stores really important information in their GTD app is ignoring the fact that anyone could walk in, fire up the app, and copy it off the screen. Face it, nobody cares about your To Do list. Store your CC numbers and Secret Spy Name somewhere else. If the iPhone app integrates with this as well as I hope, my search for To Do software is finally over, and my work on this planet is done.
Like (12)
Version 1.0.2
4 answer(s)
Itistoday
Itistoday
03 June 2011
"Face it, nobody cares about your To Do list." You're free to speak for yourself, but it's damned arrogant of you to speak on behalf of others when you have no idea.
Like (8)
Raddle
Raddle
04 June 2011
@Itistoday Um, no, it's not damned arrogant - it's an opinion. Like "This software works for me" is an opinion, and not a suggestion that other people are at fault if it doesn't work for them. I get so very bored by people slating good pieces of software over issues that - again, in my opinion - just aren't that big a deal, including reviewers getting all paranoid about the security of their shopping lists. In real life Human Engineering techniques are far more likely to strip you of your secrets than concerted campaigns of cyber-espionage. This remains an *opinion*, however. I'm not speaking on behalf of you or anyone else. Why would I even try? Comments are not designed to express some gestalt wisdom or to encompass the experiences of all mankind. They're there to express the commenter's opinion, in this case, mine. By the way - have you actually checked with the developer how the data is stored? If not, then your comments remain only an opinion, too, and one not based on reality. Mere speculation, in fact, in a forum that will impact the sales of software that someone's hoping to earn a living from. That's kind of arrogant, actually. Regardless of the encryption used - about which I simply don't care - I stand by my comments on this software. If your to do lists genuinely *are* a matter of national security, then I apologise for any inference to the contrary, and suggest you either contact the developer for reassurance or look elsewhere for your GTD needs.
Like (8)
Lev
Lev
04 June 2011
@Raddle: well put. I'm not a developer but knocking a product on pure prejudice or a sense of entitlement is unfair. Sheer bad karma.
Like (6)
Sigil
Sigil
13 July 2011
"Twenty bucks a year is *not* such a big deal to pay for this. " This statement can be easily be seen as speaking for others. Additionally, I or anyone can rate this app negative one-thousand stars for just one issue. Any rating is based on the importance of the cited issue or issues to that person. So, what gives anyone the right to tell anyone how they should review?
Like (2)
Jim-Leff
03 June 2011
Here's an excellent 3rd party Tip Sheet for The Hit List. On this page, download the link for "THL Tips Second Edition: http://www.zyxnet.co.uk/tips
Like (6)
Version 1.0.2
1 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
03 June 2011
Thanks. Very good stuff, and Keyboard Maestro is a great piece of software.
Like (2)
Itistoday
03 June 2011
Great app with a lot of thought and love put into it, but I'm deeply disappointed with the new sync feature. I don't think enough thought or care went into that. The author wants me to *pay* for the convenience of sending my THL items to be stored on his servers in the clear? You'd have to *pay me* to convince me to do that! Have we learned nothing about the value of our data and what kinds of disasters can happen? (Looking at you, Sony, and a thousand other compromised companies.) Previously, I rated this as a 4 or 5 star app because it is my favorite GTD app. Now, I can only give it 3 stars, because to me, this is a much asked-for sync implementation is a step backwards.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.2
3 answer(s)
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
03 June 2011
You can't be disappointed with the new synch feature because you've never tried the new synch feature, because the iPhone app is not yet available (it's in the approval process) so there's nothing to synch to. And it's absurd to down-rate a program because an extra feature, not required for the program to function perfectly well on your computer, is not free.
Like (4)
Itistoday
Itistoday
03 June 2011
@Jimleff: "You can't be disappointed with the new synch feature because you've never tried the new synch feature" Of course I can. I understand enough about how his sync feature works to pass judgement on it. Does it securely store your data on his servers? No. It doesn't. End of story.
Like (4)
Itistoday
Itistoday
03 June 2011
Actually, I shouldn't be that confident. I might be wrong. But I feel pretty certain based on how he's presenting the service and his privacy policy that he doesn't store the data encrypted on the servers (in a way that's impossible for him to access). The author is of course free to correct me on this, and I'll change my review accordingly.
Like (4)
Steve K
02 June 2011
I've loved this app since day one. But paying extra for syncing is absolutely out of the question. And that really bums me out.
Like (4)
Version 1.0.2
Espiridion
02 June 2011
(For a summary just read the last 2 paragraphs :) ) Although Jimleff calls this app perfection, and Dystopia agrees so much that in just the past two days has rated it with 5-stars three separate times in addition to his previous 5-star rating, the app has not been perfect. Fortunately the developer has quickly addressed the problems starting with version 1.0. One issue that I can’t test until a new version is available is automatic updating. From 1.01 to 1.02 automatic updating on a PPC is flawed, since it downloads and installs an Intel-only version. Going to the developer’s website and doing a manual download gave me the correct Universal version. By the way, just as I disagree with their 5-star reviews I also disagree with 1-star reviews based on the application’s price. The Hit List (THL) is an application used for making lists, which may include tasks. It adds a lot of useful features that, to a degree, support David Allen’s Getting Things Done (GTD) methodology. For people following GTD, Midnight Inbox, Ready-Set-Do!, or Thinking Rock may be better choices. Of those 3, my favorite is Thinking Rock, but I haven’t spent much time with the most recent version of Inbox. Both Thinking Rock 2 and Inbox 1.5 are free. For something perhaps more powerful, there’s JIRA. It has a steeper learning curve, but the time spent learning JIRA can really pay off. Just as an example, it’s possible to automatically create a task for each email that gets to a specific address (e.g., support@xxx, sales@xxx, etc.) THL’s User Manual covers very basic concepts, but there’s a lot of room for improvement. For example, pointing step-by-step how to accomplish tasks such as entering an item, moving an item, choosing a context, changing a context, removing a context, etc. I’ll mention that a context is just a tag. THL is fairly intuitive, but a more comprehensive manual would be beneficial. The “Learn The Hit List” item is good, but seems inaccurate. For example, under Hit Lists I could not move items around using the w and s keys, although d and a worked. Every key worked fine under Inbox. Contextual Menus are limited, but by going to the Menus or displaying hints it is easy to accomplish simple things with THL. For my needs it still lacks a lot of functionality. For example, GTD aspects such as Delegate and Waiting For are not properly covered, so I prefer to use other applications. As mentioned, THL is more useful for creating lists and/or managing certain tasks. I can achieve some GTD functionality by using tags, but I did not find a way to filter all of my tasks simultaneously. In contrast, Thinking Rock allows me to filter using multiple criteria (e.g., status, project, context, time, energy, priority, etc.), with multiple options for each one. That makes it easy to focus on ALL tasks for Project X that I’ll work on from @OfficeComputer due in the next day or 2 days or a week or a month. Although initially THL is visually pleasing, the eye-candy did not enhance my work. All contexts use the same color. I found no way to change Font type and color (for font and background) per project. This simple formatting option allows me to quickly view all my tasks and immediately know their respective projects. Printing can be very useful and THL is quite capable. Let’s say I want to print a list with all my @errands or @computer items for specific dates. I can create a Smart Folder and select the appropriate criteria. This seems to work fine and is a powerful feature. I often print by @PersonName, and generate a list of all the items I need to address with a specific person. Overall, this is a capable task manager / list creator. Looks nice and is relatively easy to use. After the 1.0 release, the developer has been responsive and fixes have been made available quickly. Is it worth $50 or more with syncing? That’s up to each user. There are plenty of free or cheaper alternatives, as well as more expensive ones. THL has some limitations, including that it does not seem to import/export from/to other formats, URLs are not always treated as such, email addressees are treated as plain text, etc. I also could not find a Trash for deleted items. For my needs, I’ll still use something like Entourage/Contactizer Pro/Daylite for tasks, Thinking Rock or JIRA for a more robust GTD system, and NeO for my lists and outlines. I was enthusiastic about THL a couple of years ago. In spite of the eternal beta my rating is as though it was just made available today. For me, THL just doesn’t add much value considering the available alternatives. It is good for some basic stuff and that may satisfy the needs of many users. For a "1.0" release it shows potential, but it's not something I would use every day or that will replace the applications I already use.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.2
4 answer(s)
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
02 June 2011
There's a very helpful Tips document that answers many of your questions. You can get it at....woops, I got a 404. I'll find out the new URL and post it. All to-do apps have a learning curve (none steeper than Omnifocus). That's not the app's fault. Nor did I suggest that THL contains every conceivable feature. Every developer picks/chooses features to include, of course, so it's a matter of finding the program that works for you. THL IMO does a perfect job at what it aims to do (and it actually does much of what you want...hold on while I figure out the deal with that tip sheet!). Finally, I don't know any to-do app that exports to competitors' formats. However there are 3rd party scripts to go in and out of THL, available by searching the support group: http://groups.google.com/group/the-hit-list-users
Like (1)
Espiridion
Espiridion
03 June 2011
Thanks for the link. Tinderbox and NeO probably have steeper learning curves than OmniFocus. As far as features I merely pointed features that alternative programs -even free ones- offer. If you don't need or want them that's fine. For $50 the feature set may be a bit underwhelming for some. Regarding export to competitors formats, it's actually fairly common to offer a variety of export formats such as HTML, CSV, Text, XML, etc. For example: Task Coach (Free). Exports to HTML, CSV, and iCalendar. Thinking Rock 2 (Free, although I gladly donated). Exports to Text and XML. NeO ($20). Exports to RTF, OPML, HTML, Text, Word, Raw XML. OmniFocus ($80). Exports to Text, HTML, and CSV. JIRA, Entourage, Contactizer Pro, Daylite, and others also offer various export options. I read the tips file. It's quite interesting, and I love Keyboard Maestro, so it was nice to see it in use along THL. The tips remind me of how people approached some software (e.g., Tinderbox, Notebook) to implement GTD. In fact, OmniFocus was born from the implementation of Kinkless in OmniOutliner Pro. Some people may be interested in such an approach. These days I prefer to achieve the same functionality with just a couple of clicks, as is the case with Thinking Rock. Everything is already designed and incorporated into the software. Even considering all those tips, there are still limitations as I mentioned, such as lack of font/color customization. Sure, a lot can be achieved via Smart Folders and I already explored that option. It would not make sense for me to devote so much time for something I can already accomplish easily with other software. If/when some of this functionality is incorporated into the application itself, I'll be happy to give it another try. Thinking Rock calls these plugins, and they are downloaded and installed within the app itself. I have over 60 installed, all free, made by other users for the most part. It's good to see something similar with THL, even if it requires a bit of work by the end user. :)
Like (1)
anonymous-aardvark-2083
anonymous-aardvark-2083
03 June 2011
Actually I wasn't able to tell if my rating went through — and btw I don't like fact that you can rate multiple times (two things I feel MacUpdate could do better). My intention was to counter all the unfair half-star ratings as you also seem to disagree with. Anyway… For me this has always been and continues to be 5-star quality software. There is no doubt that I make more money in my busines because of THL — which (for me at least) means that the $50 + $20 a year is nothing compared to it's value.
Like (1)
Espiridion
Espiridion
03 June 2011
Thanks for the clarification Dystopia. As more people rate the application, the ratings (ideally) will become more balanced. If you disagree with a rating just post your own. To see if your rating was applied, just click on the ratings Tab. There you'll see all of your ratings. I really like that the developer seems much more responsive and look forward to future releases of THL. :)
Like (1)