Back to iStudio Publisher page
iStudio Publisher free download for Mac

iStudio Publisher Reviews

1.4.1
20 August 2018

Desktop publishing app with dynamic text wrapping.

badbassman
15 August 2011

Most helpful

I love it! Easy to use, no clutter. Tutorials on the website are spot on. A few missing features, but looks like they are on the way. Works on Lion too, unlike loads of my other apps... :(
Like (6)
Version 1.1.7

Read 37 iStudio Publisher User Reviews

Rate this app:

alexmccarthy
01 November 2019
Perfect Publishing Programme for a Novice With A Mac I have never, ever used a publishing programme before and found this one very easy to learn, with loads of tutorials and videos. It’s also such a great price for what it is. The help and support I received from the technical team was second to none and the time they took to help me get what I needed, probably far outweighed the cost of the product. (Special thanks to Andy). I have just started volunteering for a cat charity as the newsletter editor and need to produce a 24 page quarterly newsletter in booklet form, in both print and email versions, for distribution to our supporters. The result of my very first newsletter was very positive, considering I had never done anything like this before. I love it and am so pleased that I opted for this one!
Like
Version 1.4.1
Levelbest
03 August 2018
This MacUpdate page is out of date. iStudio is now at version 4.1. Version four apparently was a major release as in, it has added features. It's a very good app to have. I have not used it nearly to it's capacity but, I am glad to have a fully competent page layout and design program when I need it. I also use Swift for quick and dirty stuff like, Facebook banners and announcement flyers. That is because Swift has a very nice built in image library. But when it comes to the heavy lifting of formal page layout - with good templates to start from, I still go to iStudio. As such, given that this is a comment block and not a rating, I would give iStudio five stars.
Like (1)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
iStudio Software Limited
iStudio Software Limited
21 August 2018
Hi Levelbest, and thanks for the kind words. Our MacUpdate pages are now fully up to date. Best regards, The iStudio Team.
Like
sandrah9
03 July 2017
This is the absolute best program using a Mac for preparing books to publish on CreateSpace (the Amazon book publishing subsidiary)! Easy to learn and works like a charm when other apps such as MicroSoft Word, Libre and Open Office, fail to pass all the CreateSpace requirements. Love it! Love it!
Like (1)
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
iStudio Software Limited
iStudio Software Limited
21 August 2018
Hi sandrah9. Great to hear iStudio Publisher is providing you with the functionality you need. We have quite a few users who submit to CreateSpace. Have you seen the dedicated blog article Brandon Davis Jennings produced on the subject? http://www.istudiopublisher.com/blog/making-battle-rattle-and-other-stories-beautiful-with-istudio-publisher-and-createspace/
Like
Fariborz
05 February 2017
I own this software and appreciate its performance but unfortunately it has a flaw that makes it difficult for me to use it in my everyday computing. I know that many users might not need such feature and therefore never bother about it but it is essential to me. iStudio Publisher doesn’t simply support right-to-left scripts like Persian, Arabic or Hebrew. If you are one of those who have to deal with texts of this kind then you’d better look for other alternatives like “Swift Publisher” or “PrintWorks”. As for the rest, it’s an extremely reliable software and I do recommend it. Fariborz AMIRSHAHI - Verona (Italy)
Like
Version 1.3
1 answer(s)
iStudio Software Limited
iStudio Software Limited
21 August 2018
Hi Fariborz, and thanks for the review. You are right that iStudio Publisher doesn't yet support right-to-left scripts. We plan to add this in the future - we have many of the internals in place to achieve it, and the app is fully Unicode based, but I'm afraid I can't give you timescales at this stage. Best regards, The iStudio Team
Like
philip-upton1
02 November 2016
Everyone talks about customer care - or the lack of it. Well, if things don't go according to plan, just contact iStudio Publisher. Apart from doing "exactly what it says on tin", the software is superb, but the BIGGEST PLUS is the customer support which, quite simply, is superb I just hope that none of the support staff decide to migrate to BT or any other company !
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
iStudio Software Limited
iStudio Software Limited
21 August 2018
Hi Philip-upton1 and thanks for the kind words. No danger of any of us migrating to BT! We're a small team who have worked together for decades, and we've all been responsible for the ongoing design and development of the app. I think that may be why we're able to give effective support, because we've lived with the app since we first created it and know everything there is to know about it. Best regards, Chris.
Like
byprecision
19 February 2016
Love this program. So easy to use. I do wish you could edit actual images a bit more in there but other than that it does everything I could hope for and more. Fantastic and really good value for money. Have put it on all my business computers.
Like (1)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
iStudio Software Limited
iStudio Software Limited
21 August 2018
Hi byprecision. Great to hear you love the app! We appreciate your comments about image editing - this is something we've had a fair number of requests for, and consequently it's on our to-do list. I'm afraid I don't have any timescales for this at present as we have a couple of major features we're keen to add next. Best regards, The iStudio Team
Like
ng71
06 January 2016
I am a "self-teaching" desktop publisher. Several years ago, I downloaded iStudio Publisher and have been extremely pleased with it ever since. The software is very user friendly and intuitive, and it allows me to do everything I need to do with a very small learning curve. Although it is not a drawing program, I am still able to create small icons and graphics easily with professional looking results. The preparation of multipage instructional lessons consisting of photographs, graphic representations of equipment in industry, and text can be a challenge. However, iStudio Publisher has allowed me to learn as I go and still prepare very professional layouts on various sizes of pages. In addition, the recently added option of "Export Document as a Booklet" is a fabulous feature for publishing booklets for viewing on iPads and computer screens without numerous added steps. The clients have been very impressed with the end products. Any review would be lacking without reference to the customer support provided by the developer. Again, as a novice to desktop publishing, I have had numerous questions, especially at the beginning of my learning. The customer support at iStudio is beyond great! They are prompt, thorough, and go the extra mile to offer solutions for any question asked, they respond within hours, (not days!), and are so patient, informative, and friendly. They also listen to suggestions and requests for future updates and consider those ideas for development as possible. All in all, I could not be happier with a software/app or the people behind the scenes!!!
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
iStudio Software Limited
iStudio Software Limited
21 August 2018
Hi ng71, and many thanks for a very complimentary review. If you use iStudio Publisher for creating icons and graphics you should find the additions in 1.4.1 very helpful. We've added a lot of handy constraint mechanisms and dimensions popups, so working in fine detail is now much simpler. Best regards, The iStudio Team
Like
Dmrome
12 December 2015
I've only used iStudio Publisher for a couple of weeks and already love it! As a 'former' Adobe InDesign user ... amazing what you can do with this program! Support is great and fabulous templates!
Like (2)
Version 1.2.1
1 answer(s)
azbarrett
azbarrett
26 April 2019
My InDesign subscription ended today and I just can't justify the $360/year but I do love InDesign. As you were a former InDesign user, what did you do about all your files saved in InDesign? How do you access them?
Like
henk-ritzer-1
13 October 2015
It is a "great" program. I used it already for 4 years on my iMac and now on my MacBook Pro too... Easy to use, much possibilities for Desktop Publishing: making cards, brochures etc. Important: Tutorials, templates and excellent and quick service by a.o. Andy! A recommended program for the Mac.
Like (3)
Version 1.2.1
bellaaron
06 October 2015
Great software!!! It's super intuitive and easy to use. I recently had problems opening an iStudio project I was working on due to it's large file size, and Andy in support addressed my issues immediately, in fact, he went above and beyond. I sent him the file and he organized it into smaller sections for me, enabling me to finish my project hassle free. Excellent customer service!!!
Like (3)
Version 1.2.1
Stellajuststella
06 August 2015
Program is great for making illustrated documents like brochures and flyers. Plus great support!
Like (3)
Version 1.2.0
Nicmart
10 July 2015
iStudio doesn't important the native Pages file format, and Pages doesn't save as RFT. There is no satisfactory way I can see to important pre-formatted text into iStudio from the main word processor used on Macs.
Like
Version 1.2.0
kjaniec
30 May 2015
Very good and friendly, lots of options. Using for more than 3 years and very happy.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.0
peggyhamill40
15 May 2015
My husband and I are working on our third book using I studio for all of our layout. We are not publishers. I am a retired nurse and my husband is an artist. We knew nothing about layout when we started this process. Our first book has been won a finalist award in the two contests that we entered!!!! We are in our 60's and not whizzes on the computer. I used my very first computer when I was 45 years old ! Consequently, we have relied heavily on i Studio Support, which is THE BEST .. The responses are timely, accurate, and almost always solve our problem. If the problem continues, they stay with us until we get a resolution. I can't recommend this application highly enough.
Like (2)
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
Billybob152
Billybob152
23 June 2015
Have you tried to contact the developer?
Like
Muck-Raker
11 April 2015
I have used iStudio for over a year now, and find it a very easy program to use. Its ability to write text on a curve and use opacity grade to images helps tremendously when printing many copies of flyers, announcements, etc. - ink savings being a plus for any shop. Not clear to me is the nature of callout and quote balloons, since they do not easily place in documents for me (I don't use them much, so it is not a drawback that is of real concern). My only disappointment is in the tardy posting of updates to the Mac App Store (where I first saw it and purchased the app), which makes me want to ditch that venue for this one. Would I be able to "transfer", as any update here would treat me as a trial user and ask me to pay again? Will contact them to see.
Like
Version 1.2.0
1 answer(s)
Billybob152
Billybob152
23 June 2015
Whoops, I replied to the wrong person.

Have you tried to contact the developer?
Like
dweisser
18 March 2015
We are some parents and teachers who are creating a schoolmagazin for our small elementary school with iStudio Publisher in Germany. After review of a few DTP apps we found iStudio as the very best app for our need. Now we launched our first 52 pages schoolmagazin and feedback from everybody is awsome. Thanks to iStudio and its team.
Like
Version 1.1.9
Urbanmeister
17 November 2014
I left my original review in the 3 Licence Pack location but decided to publish it here as well for general info Urbanmeister Member Icon COMMENT +0 UrbanmeisterNov 17, 2014+0I've been playing with this program for a couple of weeks now and must admit to being impressed. Currently I use InDesign CS6 and have found it fit for purpose but with a steep learning curve. However, the deal breaker for me was their move to CC and the rental thing. Ain't going to happen, hence my search for another DTP. Came across iStudio Publisher and have been very pleased. Initially there were some issues but the speed and friendliness of the responses from the team separates this company from its competition. Keep in mind this program is still in development and those involved will be adding stuff as they complete the testing. Finally, the pricing is extremely fair. In sum, fast response from the company to queries; great customer relations attitude; continuous development; great price and a 30 day trial period of the full program. Not bad in my book. It's definitely worth a look.
Like
Version 1.1.9
KaiH4029
28 January 2014
I LOVE iStudioPublisher! It is so “friendly” to use and yet can do so much. It is EXACTLY what I've been looking for. And I love the detailed support they provide on site. Their customer support is quick to respond, warm, friendly, knowledgeable and very helpful. I had been a Quark fan for years but I couldn't afford to buy it again when I upgraded my computer. Now I'm so glad because I like this program much better. It is much more flexible and has many more creative options. I love it that I have so much control over objects and text. I can put them exactly where I want them on a page. The program is set up so intuitively, it's as if they've anticipated all my needs. I'm very excited to have discovered it. My mind smiles every time I use it. Awesome program! ~ Kai, http://www.wellbeingalignment.com
Like
Version 1.1.9
MacHow2-Com
23 June 2013
If you're looking for alternatives to Publisher for Mac check: http://machow2.com/publisher-for-mac/ iStudio Publisher is an excellent alternative but there are several more including Pages and Swift Publisher.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.9
Evanston
09 April 2013
This has been the best app. I purchased this quite a while ago. This price is fantastic. I paid a lot more for the same version as this earlier. I have used Pages as well as other applications and this has been great for putting together a quarterly 16 page condominium newsletter. The newsletter looks professional as if I had an outside company create it. Even adding graphics has been easy. If you are not sure of how to use a feature you can go back and watch the videos. They are short enough and get right to the point. I highly recommend this application. I recommend if you purchase this watch the help videos. You will get a lot more out of this application.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.9
chocolategelato
18 December 2012
Creative app for desktop publishing for all sorts of projects and documents. My project was a 758 page book with 460 colour pages, full of images and documents. Quick response from support team despite the time zone difference between Australia and the UK. Easy to follow video tutorials, plenty of creative options and that is without using too many of the templates. That's 5 stars for the value also, for some reason this review did not allow me to place higher than 4.5
Like (3)
Version 1.1.9
Kim66
26 November 2012
Very happy with this. It's easy to use and I get good results quickly. The video tutorials on their website were well worth watching. Thanks to the developers!
Like (4)
Version 1.1.9
Ronly
23 November 2012
Super! I use this frequently. It's very versatile and easy to use.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.9
PossumDudemar
04 November 2012
I've had this app for about 2 months now and I can't imagine being without it. It's sooooo useful for all sorts of stuff. Was a bit nervous b4 I bought it because a reviewer complained about trials and refunds. I don't understand what the problem is, as I didn't have any trouble. I downloaded the trial and it's the full product, free for 30 days. How can you get better than that? Everything works. I used it for about 2 weeks then bought it. Also, looks like this is the first update in a while (this is why i've got round to writing a review). I looked at iStudio's blog, and It says updates will now be coming thru much more often. I really hope. so.
Like (6)
Version 1.1.9
Iztoubade
03 October 2012
Promising application with nice features, but the development pace seams very low. With the last 1.1.x update over a year ago, you may expect to wait a decade before you reach the 1.7 version in the roadmap where bleeds and PDF/X-1a export are planed. Its hard to deliver any serious work to publishers without these basic features.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.8
Very questionable. I had to click the pricing page three times from the same menu item before the actual price showed up. Before that, it kept pushing me to the demo explanation page instead; this might be from faulty area coding in the site menu but who knows. Overall, its nice lean package that can do all the basics within a wysiwyg environment. Some functions do not follow industry standard approach for a DTP layout program, and you may have to fiddle with it a bit as the help documentation is always spot on for typical keyword searches. But there's a bigger drawback that is even more suspicious. iStudio's maker DOES NOT give refunds/returns, so once you've bought it, you're stuck. Combine this with the fact that the program does not let you save, export, print, or compile, and this is a deal breaker. The final product is what matters most in any application used. Without seeing whether this thing can do... --a proper PDF (let alone have the settings for the various compatibility options) or --an EPUB (which has growing variations even now and complex multi layered settings possible for different devices)... ...then there is no way anyone sensible would spend money on iStudio. I already have Sigil (free), Jutoh (minimal cost), and InDesign. I was looking for something inbetween that could cut the number of intermediate steps used to tweak epub and mobi files for the different platforms I publish for without so many intermediate steps/apps. Until iStudio realizes that a trialware limiting content is better than hiding what it can really do for a final product... NO SALE! Or until iStudio amends its return policy to at least something like one business week... NO SALE! I recommend to anyone else to walk away unless you've got the pocket money to risk. You will not know if iStudio can live up to your expectations through to a finished product until too late.
Like (2)
Version 1.1.8
Peternew
07 February 2012
Both the download and the Developer's site seem to have disappeared - links from here return - '...can't connect to server...' and this has been the case for several days now.
Like (1)
Version 1.1.8
1 answer(s)
sjk
sjk
02 March 2012
Try http://www.istudio.co/ if the Visit Developer's Site link here doesn't redirect there.
Like (2)
Cenocre
20 September 2011
Having used Quark and hated the company for over 20 years, I have been looking for YEARS for a good replacement for the few simple projects that I now do each year. I tried Swift Publisher (lousy interface), MultiAd Creator Desktop (quite good, but the idiotic company discontinued it), and Scribus (sucks, but should be great). iStudio Publisher is FINALLY it. It has a few quirky ways of doing things, but it is clean, intelligent, and stable. And, the price is great.
Like (5)
Version 1.1.8
RoosterMan
23 August 2011
Incredibly easy to use!
Like (4)
Version 1.1.7
Bruce-Hanson
15 August 2011
I can't speak to any of the other reviewers, but for me, iStudio Publisher is a godsend. When I switched from PC to Mac a year ago, my only regret was that I couldn't take Microsoft Publisher with me. I have discovered that not only can I do the things that made M. Pub. special to me, but many others. Of note, and something I consider essential, watch the video tutorials. They are excellent, numerous, and contain info you absolutely need to get the most out of the software.
Like (6)
Version 1.1.7
badbassman
15 August 2011
I love it! Easy to use, no clutter. Tutorials on the website are spot on. A few missing features, but looks like they are on the way. Works on Lion too, unlike loads of my other apps... :(
Like (6)
Version 1.1.7
veropcnet
25 July 2011
I have never used a desktop publishing program before but I found this program to be very easy to use and understand. I have created several documents and saved them as PDF files, then opened them in Preview and did a "Save As" to save them in different image file formats. It would be nice to save the documents to images in iStudio Publisher, but it's no big show stopper. I am coming from Appleworks and needed to find a simple drawing/layout app. for 10.7 Lion. This is easy to learn and has a bunch of how to videos on the publishers web site, I think it's great.
Like (5)
Version 1.1.6
Fluxo
01 May 2011
This is a very promising software that has had little attention from its developers. I've been following it for a few years now, and while I've been very excited about its roadmap, the speed in which the new features are being incorporated are far too slow to even justify a roadmap. If you decide to buy it do it for the features it has right now, not for what the developers say it will have.
Like (3)
Version 1.1.5
Billybob152
28 February 2010
Now that I have figured out how to use this application I've grown to like it very much. It is designed to fill the void between Pages and InDesign. iStudio does have somefeatures the biggies do not have. Granted, right now it is missing some features but looking at the developer's roadmap on his/her website many new features will be added in upcoming updates. I bought on a special promotion and am very glad I did.
Like (5)
Version 1.1.2
Lightfootadv
18 May 2009
I'm pretty impressed overall with this program as a new page layout option. It reminds me of Pixelmator in early versions. It is a functional program already. I could imagine someone being able to easily use it in day to day operations. There are some obvious oddities and overlooked features though, as with most newish software. Character styles would be a very welcome addition, as well as being able to combine shapes, and custom page sizes. It also feels strange not being able to drag shapes out of the palette directly onto the page. Unless I'm missing it, you can also only save in IStudio format or PDF files. It would also be nice if there was one place to select the object and stroke colors together (instead of in separate places). I look forward to the future development of the program.
Like (2)
Version 1.0.4
Rubaiyat
23 February 2009
I am always keen to see a new challenger in the DTP stakes, particularly one using Cocoa and I give full marks to the developer for having given this a go. However I can not see it as being anything other than a beta. It is usable as it is and will take considerably more work. From common things such as drag and drop doesn't work, to oddities in graphics where images are oddly cropped within objects. Selecting from the type list is slow and odd. The drawing tools don't behave like any I've ever used before and I have used a lot. Cosmetics issues hit you in the eye, such as the tool icons being clumsily large, shapes that don't distort intelligently, and are just so-so built in clipart. Why implement stars as separate objects according to how many points they have? Why are we required to nominate an image type before importing? Why are there no preferences? Why use a slider in the Inspector palette just because it is laid out poorly and nothing fits? I AM impressed by so much functionality included at this point of its development, just not how it has been included, nor to claiming it is final release. I repeat this is a beta in all but name. I would be much more enthusiastic if it was a fully Cocoa app with all its standard UI, icons and simplified conventions. Beat Pages at its own game, which is not hard as there is a lot missing and not right still in Pages. I am sitting back and seeing if this becomes another Pixelmator, which has had a great deal more aesthetic thought put into it. As it stands it is a diamond in the rough.
Like (3)
Version 1.0.4
Macyouzer
26 January 2009
Yikes! I thought this might be like Pages but with better drawing tools and features like the ability to combine and subtract overlapping shapes and so forth. I've always enjoyed the “magic” ability of Pages to maintain as well as offer so much control over the format and structure of information copied from other Cocoa apps like Safari. For example if I copy a Wikipedia article from Safari and paste it directly into a Pages layout document, Pages maintains tabular data by transferring the info into a Pages Table and in turn placing that in the text columns, it's really great stuff. IStudio on the other hand doesn't seem to offer such niceties in the realm of what many users generally know as a “Cocoa experience” (not to be confused with the actual Cocoa API which iStudio might in some ways utilize). I'm probably at fault for having the wrong set of expectations. That said, I am a bit amazed at how silly this application feels, it doesn't exhibit much in the way of good design and usability. I hate to come off as a curmudgeon but the truth is iStudio Publisher is basically rubbish. Maybe somehow I was redirected to the wrong download or something. Is this by any chance just the alpha? Oh well, competition is always good for end users, in this case it's definitely the competing products that shine! P.S. Reduced Functionality demos are bad news and iStudio's implementation of a crippled trial is no exception. The inability for users to test drive and experience the full potential of the tool within their workflow most often ends quickly with a trip to the Trash bin. /My Mac/.Trashes/iStudio.app
Like (5)
Version 1.0.2
2 answer(s)
pandora-1
pandora-1
14 January 2010
"The inability for users to test drive and experience the full potential of the tool within their workflow most often ends quickly with a trip to the Trash bin." Yep. i just found this, downloaded the trial copy, did a couple of things, found i couldn't even print to see how it would look using a b/w laser printer. Dragged the app icon onto AppZapper and it's cleaned off my Mac. Too bad.
Like
Version 1.1.2
Billybob152
Billybob152
15 June 2010
It seems pretty obvious to me that this reviewer has probably never worked in the hot-type or cold-type printing trades. I love the way I can layout my pages BEFORE including any content. To me, this is easily done in iStudio Publisher. True some features are missing but, if you take the time to read the developers road map you will see things are coming. Giving a one-star rating seems to me to be childish and incorrect based on a comparison between an application that has been around quite a while (Pages) versus a much newer application (iStudio) under development. Give the developers a chance.
Like (4)
Version 1.1.4