Back to Rarify page
Rarify free download for Mac

Rarify Reviews

0.8.1
25 November 2008

GUI for RAR compressor.

Cavallo
13 November 2008

Most helpful

Excellent. Unlike literally every other GUI rar compression tool I've tried, this one actually does its job and shuts up about it. I mean, what is wrong with all the others? Is it so hard to write an app that can recursively traverse a folder structure and add a whole hierarchy of files to an archive? This guy managed it, and did it without requiring me to click a million buttons and set up a bunch of options and drag a bunch of files everywhere, only to be faced with a terminal window, or worse - a silent failure. Sheesh, it's like we Mac users are being invaded by Windows users or something. Anyway, kudos to the author for not being lazy, and putting the user first.
Like (3)
Version 0.7

Read 12 Rarify User Reviews

Rate this app:

bbw7
21 December 2013
It works as advertised; however, the way it works is a little unintuitive, nonetheless I was able to figure it out fairly quickly, albeit after one archiving that didn't turn out right. Hence I docked it half a star on Features and Ease of Use. All configuring of how you set up a rar archiving to run is done via the preferences, AND the preference window must be closed (usual upper left red button) before running the rarification; otherwise the preferences used are just the plain, default ones. The other somewhat unusual feature is that one drags 'n drops the file or folder onto the Rarify icon; there is no Open File option. Knowing these two things, makes it very straight forward and easy to use. I'd suggest that the dev. say as much in his/her readme file in order to make the initial user experience as smooth as possible.
Like
Version 0.8.1
MadameMacintosh
07 December 2010
This is by far the best gui for making rars out there, even though I'd love to see some improvements : The preferences don't remember what you entered, so I gotta re-alter the settings each time I'm compressing folders. I think using a separate window instead of preferences might be a better idea (RarMachine does a better job at that). When compressing a folder that contains an alias (e.g. an alias to the applications folder), it also compresses the items in the folder connected to that alias. I thought the program was slow, but it was in fact compressing approximately 40Gb of items instead of 500mb. Batch processing (enabling you to drag a lot of folders to the app) would be great too, and maybe a new icon :p ? Overall though, I think this is a great program, I love the cancel button, the fact that it works well unlike RarMachine, the simplicity, ...
Like (1)
Version 0.8.1
Frank-Martin
02 May 2010
Thanks. Did what I needed and the price is right.
Like (1)
Version 0.8.1
Bobster
01 October 2009
Unlike SimplyRAR, with Rarify you can control segment sizes when creating a RAR archive. That feature alone makes this app useful, and SimplyRAR useless (for the time being). The devs of SimplyRAR should at least have included this feature before releasing. But that's just my 2 cents.
Like (3)
Version 0.8.1
Handy little app, but unfortunately it does not keep the containing folder, meaning that every time you open a rar from this app, you get all the files strewn about. Seems like a simple enough fix, but unfortunately makes this too annoying to use...
Like (2)
Version 0.8.1
Bloo7
30 January 2009
As others have noted, this RAR utility does just what it says and it does that well. Unlike SimplyRAR, Rarify doesn't lock up while archiving. It also allows you to flexibly choose part sizes (something you can't do properly with SimplyRAR either). A nice addition would be a window that you can drop the files to be archived on (though you can already drop them on the Dock icon, of course).
Like (3)
Version 0.8.1
Stormchild
23 November 2008
Kind of a funny name, since "rarefaction" (also spelled "rarifaction") is the *opposite* of compression. rarefaction |ˌre(ə)rəˈfak sh ən| (also rarifaction) noun diminution in the density of something
Like
Version 0.8.1
1 answer(s)
Stormchild
Stormchild
25 March 2009
Heh. I know what RAR is (why else would I be on a RAR app's page?). Just pointing out something I thought was fun. Obviously I am amused easily, and by strange things.
Like (2)
Version 0.8.1
Bidule
23 November 2008
Crashes at startup on my iMac G5 PPC, Tiger 10.4.10.
Like
Version 0.8
2 answer(s)
~s
~s
23 November 2008
Yes. Sorry. Re-download it. I just forgot to check the "magical" button when compiling... ;-)
Like (2)
Version 0.8
Bidule
Bidule
24 November 2008
Thanks, works perfectly now.
Like
Version 0.8.1
Cavallo
13 November 2008
Excellent. Unlike literally every other GUI rar compression tool I've tried, this one actually does its job and shuts up about it. I mean, what is wrong with all the others? Is it so hard to write an app that can recursively traverse a folder structure and add a whole hierarchy of files to an archive? This guy managed it, and did it without requiring me to click a million buttons and set up a bunch of options and drag a bunch of files everywhere, only to be faced with a terminal window, or worse - a silent failure. Sheesh, it's like we Mac users are being invaded by Windows users or something. Anyway, kudos to the author for not being lazy, and putting the user first.
Like (3)
Version 0.7
ag010c3648
19 October 2008
if i drag the compression bar to the very beginning does that mean it only store what in the rar rather then compress it
Like
Version 0.7
Tekl
12 September 2008
Glad to see that someone is doing a GUI for RAR. I'm missing some options, for why I would use RAR instead of ZIP. - Advanced options for solid archives (-s) and dictionary size (-md) - Options to enable the recovery record - The ability not to include files beginning with . (dot) like .DS_Store or the Adobe Bridge cache Maybe this could be easily implemented by allowing to add command line parameters.
Like
Version 0.7
saintlouisblues
13 July 2008
Good Starting. Seems to Work but so far I didn't have the opportunity to do extensive tests. We really lack a descent UI for RAR on the Mac. All the former attempts have become "abandonware". I would like to be able to disable the sound, and Growl support would IMHO be nice. Anyway, keep on the good work. Thanks so much for this simple but neverthless useful UI.
Like (2)
Version 0.7
3 answer(s)
Julifos
Julifos
18 July 2008
As for most of utilities I use daily, I wished something very "drag & drop" for my RAR needs, as I use to do the same allways: pick a folder and compress it, pick a file and compress it, pick a bunch of files and folders and compress it. Some times, create parts... Very simple tasks. Existing products are nice (I take into consideration RarMe and SimpleRAR, but there are some more options), but they have many clicks to get the job done. I missed too the existence of a "Cancel" button. And the RAR binary is updated so often, so I thought an automated update would be nice... Hopefully, I won't be adding new features/options to this app. The simpler the code, the easiest to mantain. Also, using the binary is not very reliable, IMHO. I thought initially in something similar to SimplyRAR (but more powerful), where you could create dirs, and items inside, etc. But, put simply, it's not reliable and not very interesting at all. If I was forced to write such a thing, I would rather pay this folk (http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/17741/rar-expander) to do it using the RAR libraries. I love RAR Expander and Kris Gybels has the skills to do it.
Like
Version 0.7
saintlouisblues
saintlouisblues
26 July 2008
I think you have miss understood my comment. I find your app nice and easy to use, and so far it has been very reliable. For my personal use I do not need more. As I said before if I had any wish,I would like to be able to turn off the sound, and growl support would be a nice plus! Thanks!
Like
Version 0.7
Julifos
Julifos
26 July 2008
No problem, it was only my point of view about a possible meaning of the words "Good starting". About "disable the sound", you must be talking about the double-beep after a file is rar-ed. I'll add a checkbox in the prefs window. About "Growl support", I'm not entirely sure about what-is-it, as I don't use it myself (as far as I know), but smells to a replacement for the double-beep?. A quick googling says it can be done easily, so I'll take a look as well if you find it an interesting feature. Many thanks for your review!
Like
Version 0.7