Back to Screenflick page
Screenflick free download for Mac

Screenflick Reviews

28 October 2019

Capture screen movement to video.

How would you rate Screenflick?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
mzulgis
mzulgis
Dec 15 2019
2.7.45
5.0
Dec 15 2019
5.0
Version: 2.7.45
I like this product - easy to use, powerful, very clean and simple interface. I have been using it for a while now and recently upgraded to Mojave, and I notice that it crashes sometimes at the beginning of a recording. Otherwise a very good and reliable piece of software and highly recommended.
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
Aug 22 2018
2.7.35
0.5
Aug 22 2018
0.5
Version: 2.7.35
This latest version seem to have a problem exporting.... nothing happens... just beeps, so much for a 5 stars app...
Tommy-Gun
Tommy-Gun
Aug 7 2018
2.7.34
0.0
Aug 7 2018
0.0
Version: 2.7.34
Not a review but an important comment. The upcomming new macOS 10.14 Mojave version has screenrecording build in as default. Just press Shift+Cmd+5 It captures in 60fps, has editing features and other nice things. It does not have video-in-video possibilities, but many people do not need this. This is one of the great new feature of macOS10.14 which I really like. This makes a lot of screen recording tools obsolete.
Krioni
Krioni
Aug 10 2017
2.7.27
5.0
Aug 10 2017
5.0
Version: 2.7.27
I've used this app many times to create training videos for my team's software, to capture a video that doesn't have an easy save feature, and so much more. Here's a useful tip: it's possible to redact portions of the video by doing the following: make a mostly transparent PNG the same dimensions as your video, but with black shapes where the video has content you don't want in the final video. Then, before exporting, choose that PNG file as the "Emblem" (see the Movie Info tab of the Export interface), and make its Position: Center. The way I did this was to take a screenshot of the first video I exported, then open that screenshot in Preview.app, then use Preview's annotation features to add a couple black rectangles, then clicked in the screenshot's background, Select All, and delete. The only thing still there were the black rectangles. I saved the screenshot (it was a PNG), and then used that as the Emblem, did a fresh Export, and voila! A redacted screen-recording video.
Itty
Itty
Mar 30 2016
2.7.10
5.0
Mar 30 2016
5.0
Version: 2.7.10
Had been using another product by Ambrosia software, but it was not yet Yosemite compatible. So I bought Screenflick and I like it much better. It's very simple to use and easy to run large batches after captures are completed.
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
Sep 25 2015
2.7
0.5
Sep 25 2015
0.5
Version: 2.7
Application behave very strangely, and keep crashing anytime preferences pane is selected. even trashing old preferences does nothing.. So trashed again, Screenflow will keep its place :)
H-toelle
H-toelle
Mar 19 2015
2.5.5
4.0
Mar 19 2015
4.0
Version: 2.5.5
I have been using Screenflick for some years now, using Version 1.6 . Recently my needs changed and I upgraded to the current version 2.55 to meet those new needs. Recording longer audio/visual presentations of more demanding quality. Usually in the 90 to 120 minute range. Does Screenflick have all the bells and whistles and is it as fast as can be desired or obtained? Well I do not know that for certain. However this much I can attest to . If one wishes to record an AV presentation of about 90 to 120 minutes in length, then Screenflick will present one with a very acceptable result. At a very reasonable price point. HT
Leopold-Nagelkerke
Leopold-Nagelkerke
Apr 18 2013
2.2.12
4.5
Apr 18 2013
4.5
Version: 2.2.12
I bought screenflick 2 days ago and had an error I didn't understand. I contacted the Araelium Group and they immediate helped me. My screen saver and sleep-mode made the error. Now today there is already an update for that and my problem is solved (long recording of POS system-screen) Compliments!
Helmo-Hass
Helmo-Hass
Feb 16 2013
2.2.7
0.5
Feb 16 2013
0.5
Version: 2.2.7
I like his application works nice and easy, the only great problem (for me) is the Hud, when recording a partial area its impossible to make anything else on your desktop, and this make things really complicated for someone who needs to, for example, make a record of different files, so you are forced to get them one by one which can be avoided simply by making it accessible, once the area if fixed, and will also avoid the need to merge them (by this i mean, spending more time again after awaited the conversion) would this be possible?
sunscreener
sunscreener
Sep 6 2012
2.2.3
0.0
Sep 6 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2.3
How do I remove this software from my system (Osx 10.6.8). "Uninstall audio device" in "Audio extensions" does not work. It's version 1.6.15 (506).
timmy-toad
timmy-toad
Aug 22 2012
2.2.3
5.0
Aug 22 2012
5.0
Version: 2.2.3
Kool, just what i wanted
Danshock
Danshock
Apr 25 2012
2.1.2
4.5
Apr 25 2012
4.5
Version: 2.1.2
Screenflick has been working great for me for quite a few months. I recently ran into a problem where my exports were failing. I contacted the developer, who responded quickly. They asked for a sample recording that failed and within a day had an update that fixed the problem. Great job!
2stepbay
2stepbay
Apr 13 2012
2.1.2
0.0
Apr 13 2012
0.0
Version: 2.1.2
Does this software compliment TeleStream's ScreenFlow, or is it designed to be a standalone screen caster app?
sjk
sjk
Apr 6 2012
2.1
0.0
Apr 6 2012
0.0
Version: 2.1
I wish every developer published as clearly and thoroughly detailed release notes as these (for v2.1). Thanks, Araelium Group!
Peter-Emil
Peter-Emil
Jan 23 2012
2.0.3
3.5
Jan 23 2012
3.5
Version: 2.0.3
Too bad you can't preview the screencapture better; first you have to export it to watch it in full. Screenium and iShowU HD are doin' this more user-friendly.
Mcoyle
Mcoyle
Jan 15 2012
2.0.3
5.0
Jan 15 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0.3
As a sound designer, I use this app to capture new flash web pages as a Quicktime movie. I can then import the movie to Pro Tools and start creating sounds for button pushes, dissolves, etc. I bought my first version in 2008 and it has saved my ass more times than I can remember.
Bfulop
Bfulop
Nov 23 2011
2.0.3
5.0
Nov 23 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0.3
Finally I could record my screencast at decent speed. On my 2009 MacBook Pro, I got these speeds: screeny: 13 fps ishowu: 5 fps ishowu HD Pro (low cpu mode broken in Lion): 14 fps screenflick: 29fps
Neo979
Neo979
Nov 11 2011
2.0.2
1.0
Nov 11 2011
1.0
Version: 2.0.2
You have to buy a PAID upgrade just to get Lion compatibility. The upgrade price is 2/3 of full purchase price. I want my money back.
Bernardo-Jaimes
Bernardo-Jaimes
Sep 24 2011
2.0 Preview 5
5.0
Sep 24 2011
5.0
Version: 2.0 Preview 5
I have screenfleck since 2008 was workin perfect but now I can't errase my old recorder and I can record new videos can som gody Help me please
Neox
Neox
May 26 2010
1.6.14
0.0
May 26 2010
0.0
Version: 1.6.14
It would be nice if there was some sample screencasts or movies showing it in action and what is possible, on their website. I realize I can download it and try it but I don't always have time to do that. A picture is worth a thousand words but a video is worth a million.
JollyRoger8X
JollyRoger8X
May 25 2010
1.6.14
0.0
May 25 2010
0.0
Version: 1.6.14
When i try to uncheck the "Show in Dock" preference, Screenflick just beeps at me. If I examine the preferences file, the dock preference is set to false. So it shouldn't be appearing in the Dock, yet does. I tried deleting the preferences file, but the new one that is created has the same issue. Help?
Tfindlay
Tfindlay
May 4 2010
1.6.12
0.0
May 4 2010
0.0
Version: 1.6.12
Crashes repeatedly when starting to record on Intel iMac with OS X 10.6.3
Imjustasimpleguy
Imjustasimpleguy
Jan 16 2010
1.6.12
0.0
Jan 16 2010
0.0
Version: 1.6.12
Works great on Power Mac. Then I purchased a new iMac 2009. installed the program. Nothing but problems on iMacs. Beware if you are using a iMac. Nothing but problems using the sound kernel from this program. Disk Utility removes it, and recorded video sound is very echoey. Developer took a few days to respond. After a few questions and emails the developer provided a work around with a 3rd party sound recording software. I am not very satisfied. Now I can not hear any sound when recording, but there is sound when I play back the video after I switch from one sound output to another. Anyone else having these kind of problems on newer iMac 2009 or more????
Macstuf2
Macstuf2
Apr 30 2009
1.6.10
0.0
Apr 30 2009
0.0
Version: 1.6.10
best screen capture software out there believe me guys i have tried every thing nothing is as easy as screenflick screenium is a also a great one
Pat320
Pat320
Jan 26 2009
1.6.4
0.0
Jan 26 2009
0.0
Version: 1.6.4
How to uninstall the Screenflick Audio Device from my computer? Any tips?
Mrchips
Mrchips
Nov 27 2008
1.6.2
5.0
Nov 27 2008
5.0
Version: 1.6.2
This is an excellent screen capture/record app with an active, engaged developer. The GUI is intuitive and offers many options. The recorded screen cast is of high quality. I made a simple tutorial video including system and microphone audio which lasted 4:20 minutes and the .mov file was only 52 MB - and this was with a full-screen capture of 1920x1200 pixels! Screenflick supports multiple monitors (record on one monitor while reading your tutorial "notes" on the other), can hide your desktop, and will use a custom background if you want. Recordings are automatically saved in full-resolution, but you can specify compression, quality, etc, for the .mov file you output. This is similar to the way Screenflow works and is a wonderful feature. The developer has indicated more features will be added after the new year. I can't wait! :) All-in-all a terrific value!
gcoghill
gcoghill
Oct 20 2008
1.6.2
0.0
Oct 20 2008
0.0
Version: 1.6.2
Two things that have kept me from purchasing a license: • The on-screen keyboard input indication does not show modifier keys alone, only if they are used in conjunction with another keystroke (letter, number, etc.) • The mouse-follow mode needs a slight tweak, as I have mentioned before: I would like to be able to set a mouse-follow area, and then separately set the capture area and be able to toggle between the two. As it stands now, when setting the mouse-follow area and then toggling to fixed mode, it uses the area dimensions set for the mouse-follow for fixed mode. I would prefer that the non-mouse-follow mode be able to be set separately so for example I could set the capture area to full screen or some other large setting, and then be able to toggle to a user-specified zoomed/close-up view that follows the mouse. I want to screen-capture graphics software, and both of these features are integral. Otherwise this app is perfect. Lots of great included features, looks sharp and generates great videos/audio. I dropped the developer an email to see if/when these features might be implemented, still waiting to hear back.
Everyday-Software
Everyday-Software
Apr 29 2008
1.5.3
5.0
Apr 29 2008
5.0
Version: 1.5.3
Does what it advertises in a straight forward and simple way. Besides some basic editing options (which I currently do in iMovie), I couldn't really ask for more.
Jobby
Jobby
Nov 5 2007
1.0.5
0.0
Nov 5 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0.5
It won't let me record an area on any monitor other than the main one, either in fixed camera mode or follow-mouse mode (the viewport just bangs up against the edge of the screen and tries to stay as close to the pointer as it can) Are there any plans for dual-monitor support in a future version?
gcoghill
gcoghill
Nov 2 2007
1.0.5
0.0
Nov 2 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0.5
To clarify my previous comment: the "follow mouse" mode needs to be able to be toggled as you are capturing; some times you want the whole screen, sometimes you want it to follow. The right & left mouse click indicators looked the same to me on this version.
gcoghill
gcoghill
Oct 23 2007
1.0
0.0
Oct 23 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0
Seems like a cool app, only briefly demoed but noticed two features that are missing already: need a way to toggle fixed capture mode and "mouse follow" mode; also need a way to preview or view captured vids in the app itself. I had a glitch on the only capture I did where the video didn't show up until I ran my mouse around the screen cap area, but once it kicked in all worked fine. Didn't notice this until after the movie was generated.
Biturbo27t
Biturbo27t
Oct 23 2007
1.0
0.0
Oct 23 2007
0.0
Version: 1.0
Great to see some more competition in this type of utility. Love the ability to visually show when mouse clicks are made. Would like some additional "effects" for this, as well as an option to automatically insert in the audio a mouse "click" sound. Price is a bit steep compared to other similar utilities, but I'd say this is a nice little screen capture app that I'll be keeping an eye on.