Back to Flux page
Flux free download for Mac

Flux Reviews

7.1.11
30 October 2018

Advanced Web-design tool.

Scott-C-H-
08 May 2009

Most helpful

Tried it for an hour or so and purchased immediately. The WYSWYG editing view renders existing CSS based webpage layouts surprisingly accurately, while giving me a complete control over HTML/PHP/CSS code. In a way it's basically like Firefox with Web Developer plug-in's CSS layout "Outline" feature with drag & drop editing capability added to it, a DOM inspector along with Dreamweaver-ish Code View - Design View integration. You click on any elements in WYSWYG and it would take you straight to the actual code when the code window is open. Even CSS-based multilevel menu works in WYSWYG editing menu. Double-click on a DIV tag in WYSWYG view and it would bring up a window for click-and-select easy editing. I find this kind of decent CSS layout visualization WITH editing capability (not just preview or rendering common among coder-centric editors) a godsend for visual oriented developers. Unlike Rapidweaver, iWeb, Sandvox and Freeway, it can work with any existing generic CSS-based web sites created in other applications without any special modifications, simply by dragging and dropping a folder containing HTML/CSS files onto Flux icon, (just like BBEdit, Coda, etc.) It does a pretty decent job of not breaking any existing codes written outside the program. I was able to download a few free CSS design templates (Template Monster, etc.) and use it in Flux to quickly create a whole web site without any problems, and I was also able to use a Flux-generated site in Dreamweaver without doing any additional tweaks. This program can be used in conjunction with other tools. It still has a way to go in fully supporting CMS WYSWYG layout editing such as WordPress, etc. but it looks like it's getting there, and I think it might grow to become a "Dreamweaver killer" on the Mac in the future. Either way, it does a fantastic job as a v.2.x product, and it has a huge potential. Great value for the money, a welcome addition to my toolkit. Strongly recommended.
Like (11)
Version 2.16

Read 128 Flux User Reviews

Rate this app:

Eviandem
27 July 2018
Although I bought this software as a full version, I switched to Pinegrow.

The user interface is simply too confusing and not very intuitive. I never had the impression that I could ever use the software properly.
Like (2)
Version 7.1.10
Teksestro
30 April 2017
Flux Developer: please, update your software description here in MacUpdate - it looks bad for a company that does software for modern, mobile-first websites to be talking about 'XHTML' and 'Quicktime' and 'Flash'. Also: please update your website, so its layout doesn't break on mobile. Again, it makes you look bad.
Like (4)
Version 7.0.5
2 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
30 April 2017
Their about us page is broken, too. When you click on an image of one of the founders is says, "This image failed to load." There seem to be issues like this on their site every time they update the app. It's like they don't pay enough attention to details. Unfortunate.
It is an interesting app, but overall I've found Pinegrow to be far better in use, functionality, and code produced.
Like (1)
LuxLogica
LuxLogica
02 May 2017
They also want you to go see their 'screencasts'. All screencasts are for version 6 - apparently there are no videos yet of version 7...
Like (2)
ylluminate
26 April 2017
Name conflict with F.lux app (https://justgetflux.com) when putting into /Applications. Might be worth addressing this because it is frustrating.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.4
Flux 6 outputs fantastic html/css code, you'll almost think it was handwritten. Kudos to the team, they totally built an app that rivals others.
Like
Version 6.1.13
Scott-C-H-
08 February 2017
Learning to code HTML/CSS/Bootstrap is far easier and faster than trying to figure out how to use this piece of software properly. I don’t see a point of spending $100 to make my workflow more confusing and convoluted. Enough said, and yes, it's that bad.
Like (4)
Version 6.1.13
Scienceman
06 January 2017
Really expensive upgrades!
Like (2)
Version 6.1.13
Why-Not
22 December 2016
One of the best software trailers, ever. Might bring me back to using Flux. Currently, Pinegrow has me with their WordPress kit.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.13
jhawthor
02 July 2016
How to I purchase an upgrade from V4 to V6?
Like
Version 6.0.31
Michael-Vilain
19 June 2016
I used Flux for a while to learn how it did what it did. I also wanted to compare the flow of Dreamweaver vs. Flux vs. Rapidweaver. Clients were asking for web sites and I had to figure out what was easiest to use. For modifying Wordpress, Dreamweaver. For building ready-made sites from templates, Rapidweaver. I never did figure out where Flux fit. So I stopped using it. Then, just recently, they started SPAMVERTIZING their products to the former customers. I explicitly said "Don't contact me" and up until recently, they didn't. I figured they hired some new marketing person who didn't understand "opt-out" or thought there was a statue of limitation on it. They sent me SPAM twice despite saying "We only send email" on their Twitter feed. I looked at their web site and that explains a lot. They also sell a tool to do bulk emailing. So I guess they were dogfooding. I'll steer clear of this company and their products from now on.
Like (9)
Version 6.0.29
RogerKatz
07 May 2016
The current version, which MacUpdate installs, is 6.0.25 (not the version "6.0.24" stated above)
Like
Version 6.0.24
Rochade
26 April 2016
Well, I give flux a try with each new version but still it can't get into my daily process because of the UI. It really is counter-productive and I never spent the hours it needs to adopt it. Sure, the idea of flux to sit between easy website creation tools and a fully fledged editor is great but the ui is too complicated to really use it. I am much faster coding my sites by hand. To conclude: if you want to invest a lot of time learning to use flux, it can be a perfect tool but maybe you are faster learning html+css.
Like (6)
Version 6.0.19
Albertkinng
26 April 2016
I remember paying the full price for Flux 4 and I really never understand how to use it. I want to jump from Rapidweaver, I've been using Espresso lately to work with some pages but I really think Flux will be for someone like me (graphic designer with intermediate knowledge of html5 and CSS3) do you think Flux 6 is good enough to understand and use this time?
Like
Version 6.0.19
1 answer(s)
Tim27
Tim27
18 June 2016
I would give either Pinegrow or Blocs a try instead.
Like (2)
Sandro-Bilbeisi
10 February 2016
I purchased a copy of Flux V in a bundle , and was looking forward to updating to version 6.
Unfortunately, v6 now requires Mac OS X 10.11 - whilst my main iMac is still running 10.10 - and I'm not going to update my flagship anytime soon. what a pity ...
Like (4)
Version 6.0.4
3 answer(s)
SunWolf
SunWolf
10 February 2016
Plus, the update price to v 6 is 49.50 US$, which is quite steep.
Like (4)
Mtescape
Mtescape
11 February 2016
Sorry about this, but we were having a lot of trouble with 10.10 and decided against supporting it for now.
Like (1)
ylluminate
ylluminate
12 February 2016
For what it's worth, 10.11 (and even beta drops) have been miles ahead of 10.10 on all the workstations in our office. We've got them all moved over.
Like (3)
Mikael-B
28 June 2015
I still see no signs Flux have evolved to the stage where also hand-coders can use it. Can you code really fast in the current version or are there still a ton of dialogs to wade trough as in v.4? I found v.5 very convoluted, if quite attractive as a concept. Personally, lately I've owned Macaw 1.x, which I hated, and found refuge in Espresso, which let's me code SASS, the occasional CSS and HTML5 templates, yet gives me some assistance when I need it without getting in the way. For all other tasks there is Sublime Text, except for my development environment Eclipse of course. Staying away from Flux is still the best bet, right? For people like me that is. I'm sure there are people that can benefit from it.
Like (6)
Version 5.6.12
2 answer(s)
Mtescape
Mtescape
03 September 2015
Hi, we are working on a new version of Flux (V6), that will introduce a HUGE improvement on the code editor, amongst, many, many other things.

Cheers

Moray
Like (1)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
03 September 2015
Thanks Moray for your response. I'll make sure to keep my eyes open.
Like
chikega
11 January 2015
A very powerful app in the right hands. It is not for the complete beginner wanting to throw a website together a la Rapidweaver. You have to be at least at an intermediate developer level to fully exploit Flux V.
Like (2)
Version 5.6.4
Charles-Miller
22 September 2014
If it exists, this might be a side channel for Flux. But I'm wondering if Flux makes any provision for working in WordPress or Bootstrap? If the app or the templates offer extra utility in these areas? Expanding that a bit, does Flux have special features for making responsive websites?
Like
Version 5.2.0
1 answer(s)
Mtescape
Mtescape
29 September 2014
Hi Charles, Flux can work with Bootstrap, it's pretty good for responsive websites, Flux would probably benefit from better integration with it though.

I'd also recommend Skeleton for responsive websites, very simple, works great with Flux.

Cheers

Moray
Like (5)
andreperian
15 September 2014
Steep learning curve, but once you 'get' it, it's the most powerful web design app. A lot cheaper than Dreamweaver and just as good!
Like (3)
Version 5.1.5
Rondfranks
08 August 2014
On sale for 50% at MAS.
Like
Version 5.0.9
Christa-1980
29 July 2014
Seems very powerful but its very difficult to use. You need some HTML and CCS knowledge to make decent websites. So basically only for advanced users. If you need an easy comparable app I suggest looking at Rapidweaver. Can deliver very pro looking websites too without any coding.
Like (2)
Version 5.0.6
2 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
29 July 2014
I would rather suggest EverWeb vs Rapidweaver. Everweb gives you the flexibility of iWeb in a supported and responsive environment with much a much higher degree of flexibility. The developers are also perpetually adding new features.

It seems that for more custom designs for a webapp, Flux will be more appropriate. It would be nice if Flux could fit both scenarios, but the developers never have really taken it in that direction as per our hopes.
Like (4)
Mtescape
Mtescape
31 July 2014
Yes, Flux requires an amount of CSS knowledge to create something awesome, but we supply templates to get you started. You can also download an use any template from 3rd parties, like ThemeForest and the other ones.

Cheers

Moray
Like (2)
Bdkennedy1
29 July 2014
Please update the picture above so I never have to see it again. :)
Like
Version 5.0.6
kalexan
28 July 2014
A program MacFlux fifth version coming soon?
Like
Version 5.0.5
Rondfranks
27 July 2014
Updating in app from 5.0 the latest version doesn't work. It downloads but freezes before updating.
Like
Version 5.0.5
1 answer(s)
Mtescape
Mtescape
28 July 2014
We are aware of this, only 5.0.0 has this issue, you can download Flux manually from www.theescapers.com/flux
Like
mrcndc
26 July 2014
As of 11:55 EDT (US) the purchasing site does not seem to work, at least for the upgrade discount. Everything works until the final step to purchase when the following error message is returned. 10501 Invalid Configuration This transaction cannot be processed due to an invalid merchant configuration. Error. I have sent a message to the developer with a request they they notify me when fixed. I'll post that here when I receive it and confirm that upgrade purchases are possible.
Like
Version 5.0.2
2 answer(s)
Mtescape
Mtescape
27 July 2014
We are working on this, but the gears grind slowly at Paypal...
Like
Mtescape
Mtescape
31 July 2014
We can finally take credit cards again! Woop!
Like
ylluminate
25 July 2014
If this is essentially an EverWeb (iWeb) for professionals, I'm sold. I want something more robust and drag-n-drop than Stylizer and Macaw. Would welcome a solid in depth review here.
Like
Version 5.0.0
2 answer(s)
ylluminate
ylluminate
25 July 2014
I have to say that the screencast certainly looks promising on the site. The options for different English accents for the screencasts was fun guys... :)

Looks like it has some real potential and I'll be giving it some evaluation time in the coming weeks.
Like (1)
Mtescape
Mtescape
26 July 2014
I'd say we're probably getting more users switching from DreamWeaver than we are iWeb, but yes, we've had a few refugees coming from iWeb.
Like (1)
Rondfranks
25 July 2014
I'd be interested in hearing what people have to say about Flux 5.
Like
Version 4.1.31
3 answer(s)
Rondfranks
Rondfranks
25 July 2014
I went to the site and it said the price was $109 and 50% off for upgrades from versions 1-4. I downloaded the 30 day demo, but I'm still debating whether to upgrade or wait for a bundle special.
Like (1)
Mtescape
Mtescape
26 July 2014
Can't reply directly to ptk3, but the upgrade price is 50% off the full price, you can see it over at www.theescapers.com. In terms of recent buying, email us at us@theescapers.com and we can likely work something out. We don't have a fixed window as we're willing to be flexible depending on how long you've had Flux 4 etc.

Might I ask why you can't test Flux V? There is a 30 day trial.
Like (1)
Mtescape
Mtescape
26 July 2014
If you want to keep V4, just make a copy of it using the Finder, and update the other one to V5, so you can try both if you like.

macFlux is the same as Flux, but sold by a 3rd party reseller.

As for pricing, we are pretty flexible, if you bought V4 last month, we'd give you V5 for nothing, but if you bought it in a bundle, we'd need to charge something just to put food on the table!
Like (1)
Mikael-B
30 January 2014
StackSocial has a current bundle including Flux 4 with a name your own price tag and 100% going ot charity. http://goo.gl/SpuVQG If i hadn't already checked out Flux 4 I would have a go at it.
Like
Version 4.1.31
1 answer(s)
kat-attack
kat-attack
03 February 2014
Thanks Mikael for the link. Saved me heaps of $$ and I got to help a worthwhile charity too A+++
Like
Mikael-B
16 November 2013
I predict the interest in Flux from actual web developers — as in people that design web sites every work day — will be replaced by Macaw when it is released in beta: http://macaw.co/. It may very well be that Macaw will become what Flux should have been and should be. As Macaw is yet unreleased — it just a few weeks ago finished off a kickstarter funding round —  it remains to be seen how well it will work in practice for the advanced designs which are an important part of modern web site requirements. If The Escapers don't change up very soon to really fulfill the promise of Flux, that app is going to be history. I certainly can't use it for anything as writing code by hand in apps like Sublime is way faster and easier too. As with Flux I'm going to follow Macaw very closely. Sign up for info right now at the site!
Like (2)
Version 4.1.31
2 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
18 April 2014
As far as Macaw 1.04 in concerned, Flux got the upper hand. At least with Flux you can actually do something professional, albeit very slowly. With Macaw it's either not possible or much slower to do (as you need ot work around odd limitations and bugs). That said hand coding in a great editor beats them both.
Like (1)
Albertkinng
Albertkinng
23 June 2014
ok, here is what happens. There is no "all in one tool" for web development. you need to take advantage of what a tool is good for. If I need to open a website for a couple of fixes, Flux is a great tool for that, If I want to build a website from scratch I try to use a WYSIWYG tool first and then clean it up with an app like Coda or Espresso and then make adjustments on the server. I bought Macaw and it's not letting me create a single website yet. I tried and tried and the bugs and the crashes are making me crazy. please don't buy that app just yet. In fact, do you want to create a nice responsive website from scratch? go ahead and buy Rapidweaver, Stacks and Fundation pack. You'll be amazed of what you'll see. Even Realmac Software still don't see what this plugins did to the Rapidweaver toy they sell.
Like (1)
Scott-C-H-
09 September 2013
I used to like this software and rated high, but things have changed since then. Flux stands in an interesting but rather awkward niche market. It doesn't serve the low-end market in which users just want to get something up and running fast and easy with minimum fuss, because Flux really isn't that easy and quick to master and it requires pretty extensive HTML/CSS knowledge. Online services such as Squarespace.com, Weebly.com, WordPress.com are far more suitable for that market and they still offer CMS and social capability right out of the box, which Flux doesn't. And then, for those who want more than that, open source CMS platform such as self-hosted WordPress and Concrete5 would give them the power to do all kinds of custom work while also keeping you from reinventing the wheel via plug-ins and premium themes, none of which Flux can match. The most advanced coders would just go straight to a more robust text editor such as Sublime Text and skip Flux all together, so it doesn't serve that market, either. You can certainly argue that Flux is really an IDE, not a platform, and comparing it with open-source CMS is like comparing apple and orange. It is indeed valid points in some ways. But you have to look at the overall objective and workflow as well and which one gets you an useful site faster with less effort. The objective is to create an useful site, not just to edit HTML/CSS/PHP and render fancy graphics. You can use Flux to work on WordPress theme if you treat it like a text editor. But then there is no real advantage of using Flux since WYSWYG editor wouldn't really work without some tedious workaround. In that case, why not just use a robust code editor and browser-based tools such as Firebug? There are reasons web developers work directly with code and avoid WYSWYG in a Dreamweaver sense. Overall, I believe that the era of Mac editor based on the idea of locally managed static site such as this one is pretty much over, and customizing one of the design patterns through CMS is most often more cost effective and faster than doing everything from scratch and reinventing the wheel using a tool such as Flux. There will always be a need for custom development, at least to some degree, and Flux can certainly handle that well, but overall it is still most often unnecessary. It’s no reflection on the quality of work fine folks at The Escapers. But for someone who follows the current trend in web site design at all levels, Flux just doesn’t make sense any more.
Like (4)
Version 4.1.31
2 answer(s)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
03 October 2013
Actually... I would like to take back some of my comments here. I gave another chance just to see if I was missing something (I always do even after reviewing... these developers put a lot of work into their software and I tend to think they always deserve another look). The more I play with it the more I realize this could be a decent tool for editing WordPress themes and other dynamic web sites. It's live view option, once properly configured, can be very handy in figuring out some layout glitches. I could see I could use this tool in conjunction with other tools to skip some of manual labors. Definitely keeping an eye on this app. :)
Like (4)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
16 November 2013
Welcome to the club, Jp3421. :-) I've kept my eye on Flux since version 1. What do you think about Macaw? (See above post)
Like
Psykopup
13 November 2012
A wonderful alternative to the crazy expensive Adobe Dreamweaver. I love the WYSIWYG and code editing options. Its definitely an app for the more experienced web designers/developers. If you fall into that group, you'll find this very user-friendly.
Like (3)
Version 4.1.18
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
08 December 2012
So far I haven't unfortunately.
Like (2)
Vinkri
04 November 2012
Got this one in a bundle (yes I bought a lot of bundles). I'm a Rapidweaver user and frankly, never found better. Flux is certainly more powerful than any other website creation tool. But it requires extensive knowledge of website structure, html and CSS... Definitely not for everyone. From the editor's description, I thought it was a really easy website creation tool, WYSIWYG and all... It is not. I guess it's worth the 144 bucks, but not to me.
Like (5)
Version 4.1.18
Jody
28 October 2012
I have used Rapidweaver for several years now, and as a non-coder (well, just a bit), I have been able to produce full-fledged websites with e-commerce, etc. The RW community is incredibly helpful and active and that is a big plus when you've got a question. Also, all the devs have made great strides in documentation that is clear, and geared to newbies. At this point, I consider myself intermediate+ level. Yes, I know I could be brilliant if I coded, but so far have not needed to really get down and dirty with it. I'm curious to know what I might be missing? A couple of folks have said "it's more powerful than Rapidweaver." How so? If I don't code in the first place, what intuitive, basic abilities does Flux have that are available right off the bat to produce a great website? I'm not in the mood for a steep learning curve just to get Flux to do what Rapidweaver does for me already. So? Where's the beef?
Like (1)
Version 4.1.18
1 answer(s)
Mirko1978
Mirko1978
09 August 2013
With Flux, you don't have to use a template. You start with a blank page and design whatever you want.
Like
MacFTW
27 October 2012
What is the upgrade policy for this application? Would I get free upgrades for the duration of version 4.x?
Like
Version 4.1.18
1 answer(s)
MacFTW
MacFTW
28 October 2012
Ok I posted this question on the developer's forum. This was the answer I received: "The upgrade deal will be the same for MacUpdate purchasers as for everyone else. v4 updates will be free, v5 will probably be a discounted upgrade. "
Like
Ocsurfreport
27 October 2012
Oct 27, 2012 I saw that there is a 59% off to bring it to 59.99 today for new license. But I wanted to know if it would be posible to get our hands an discounter rate upgrade edition? LIke a 59% off upgrade price. I like the program but I don't want to buy a whole new licence again especially since he people who have the option to upgrade have been a suporter from the start. It would go a long way in suport for long time users and not to mention customer loyalty. Thanks.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.18
3 answer(s)
Dayenu
Dayenu
27 October 2012
I would second that option!! Thank you.
Like
Weavie
Weavie
27 October 2012
I could not have said it better. You took the words right out of my mouth. I missed it a few weeks ago on StackSocial and have been kicking myself ever since. I was waiting for a good sale but $60 is just too much for me. I have been supporting them for a few years now... and this time I actually intend on using the application more than twice. Nowadays it just seems all of the developers are starting to forget about loyalty. Years ago I tried to support developers like this that put out good apps in the hopes that it would just get better and better and would give us all what we wanted but I just do not have that extra money anymore. All the prices are too high. I was waiting on an app like lucid for years since I just never had the time to commit to javascript coding so I have supported them on their latest project (on a Macupdate promo). With Edge Animate out I feel I may not really need it but I think it will still be useful as it gets better.
Like (1)
Mtescape
Mtescape
31 October 2012
Dev here - Get in touch, we are reasonable people!
Like (2)
freevito
14 October 2012
Does anyone know whether Flux generates code that validates to W3C standards? I didn't see anything about that on their website. If it doesn't generate standards-compliant code, I won't even waste my time trying it.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.14
3 answer(s)
Mtescape
Mtescape
19 October 2012
Hi, Dev here, in FreeCode mode, the compliance is very much in your hands, as you can write any code you want. The code that Flux does generate is pretty clean and nice however.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
19 October 2012
Isn't the issue, if you can influence Flux to generate the code you want? In Dreamweaver I use Snippets, Library and occasionally my own templates (though only in non java-built projects as I use native templating systems there) for my code, but usually this is in 2 or 3 parts as I separate my HTML from the CSS as well as the JS. I'd love to be able to install a specific combination of CSS, HTML and JS and to be able to drag and drop it on elements where I need it.
Like
freevito
freevito
19 October 2012
Sorry, Dev; my question wasn't specific enough, and I haven't used the application so I didn't know anything about FreeCode mode. Of course, it makes sense that if users are going to write their own code, Flux can't possibly control what they're going to write. So I wouldn't expect the application to generate standards-compliant code in that case. My question should have been, "If you use the drag and drop design feature — without meddling with the code — does Flux generate code that validates?" Thanks for your reply.
Like
Mirko1978
30 September 2012
Excellent software, much more powerful than iWeb, SandVox or RapidWeaver. It should be more compared to Dreamweaver, but with a cleaner code. Allows to build websites very quickly through its WYSIWYG interface or to handdcode if you prefer. The only reason why i don't give it 5 stars is because the user guide is veeeery incomplete making the learning curve steep.
Like (3)
Version 4.1.12
3 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
16 October 2012
Tell me more about how you can successfully handcode with Flux?
Like
Mtescape
Mtescape
19 October 2012
If you want to handcode, check out the FreeCode mode, and you can type whatever you want!
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
19 October 2012
Yes, I know about freecode and I'm also aware of people saying it doesn't work for their work process. So they have not been successful. After I finish my current project, which is handcoded in Dreamweaver CS6 and Smultron, I'll reevaluate Flux 4 again. I do think I'll find again that Flux isn't for people that know their HTML/CSS/JS. But I'm hoping to disprove this belief.
Like
SickTeddyBear
28 September 2012
In reference to a couple of issues: 1. Flux and MacFlux are the exact same product. Flux is direct from the developer, who is based in the UK, while MacFlux is a rebranded version sold by U.S. reseller Macware. The licenses for both are interchangeable. 2. MacFlux is currently available very cheaply via the "Name Your Own Price" bundle from StackSocial (expires October 5th): https://stacksocial.com/sales/the-name-your-own-price-mac-bundle
Like (6)
Version 4.1.12
2 answer(s)
Cls9
Cls9
29 September 2012
But don't expect any support from MacFlux. I have submitted several requests for technical support over the past month and they sent out that automated "we've received your message" email and then nothing more.
Like (1)
Ryde
Ryde
27 October 2012
In fact, Flux does accept the MacFlux license key. Thank you for pointing this out, Negritude! (The key file, ~/Library/Preferences/.f4bridge01.dat, is the same for both versions, so one does not even have to enter the license code again.) I also initially bought MacFlux, so I am very happy now to be able to benefit from the stream of updates made available for Flux, which already is at version 4.1.18 while MacFlux is still stuck at 4.1.7.
Like (1)
carolusmagnus
03 September 2012
looking as a promising dreamweaver competitor at first sight, i gave it a spin and bought it for a promotional price. after toying with it for an hour or two, i must say i regret even having paid the rebated amount (ya, i know, i should've tested the trial version). i must admit that i didn't want to dive into documentation for hours before starting to work with flux, but isn't this application intended for peeps like me after all? i tried importing and modifying a simple one-page text & tables document, to edit a few links and add some text. i didn't succeed: - while trying to import the document from my desktop, it came up with an error message, telling me that "folder structures would become to deep", so i had to move the file to my harddrive. - interface of flux is almost totally unintuitive. the application seems to provide lots of advanced concepts (i see "containers", "actions & widgets", "masters and tokens", etc.), but fails to provide simple html features (adding links, formatting text). - for any table in my document, flux was nagging about some "positional" information to be missing, forcing me to specify either "relative" or "absolute" for this detail. this "style" data is added to the table tag, messing up the layout completely! - like in dreamweaver, i can choose to have code and preview next to each other. however, if i select something in the preview, it isn't also highlighted in the code, so have to search for it again and again. - i didn't find any option to tidy up and format my code, so it looks nicely (like the "format" option in bbedit, for example). there is an option "tidy code", which seems to do absolutely nothing here. - there is something like an inspector which mainly seems to address paragraphs and shows different formatting options. however, the current settings are not displayed, and defining new values doesn't always result in a change in a paragraph. - last, but not least, flux frequently crashes, reverting to old settings of the last session. i recommend to thoroughly test flux before buying it, especially at the normal price tag!
Like (6)
Version 4.1.11
1 answer(s)
carolusmagnus
carolusmagnus
03 September 2012
sorry, forgot: all special characters of my existing website are replaced by other symbols during import.
Like (1)
Drtyrell969
28 August 2012
I'm really torn by this product. I had such promise, but fails in so many fundamental ways. 1. It had drag and drop but doesn't. I have an HTML element on stage with NO css assignment, and yet dragging and dropping a css style to it never triggers a "Do you want to assign this style to your DIV?" prompt. Really? That never occurred to them? 2. It claims to support WordPress template creation, but fails to spawn all the basic template files in a new WP project. Even five minutes into the WP custom template tutorial gives a new user all the basic page templates. You'd think this would be a simple process of adding them to the core folder and then customizing their look and feel. There are many shortcomings that blow the mind, but these are the two primary ones. I contacted their support team about these features and never received a reply. F+!
Like (2)
Version 4.1.10
1 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
28 August 2012
I agree it is mostly promising, but fails achieving reasonable usability standards. Especially so for people that do know HTML / CSS / Javascript. I, for one, certainly do not believe it would be hard at all to add an improved coding environment for instance with code completion in the relevant languages. As it is now, the GUI gets in the way far too often. I'm still following this one though. I am recommending it as one of the best tools though for when you don't know code that well. But that space is getting more crowded every day.
Like (1)
Mezz
03 August 2012
One of the best Apps & Developer; which all helps make my life run smoother. Thank you!
Like (1)
Version 4.1.6
Prince-Isaac
03 August 2012
Quick question: What's the difference between Flux from The Escapers (a great developer) and MacFlux from Macware?
Like (1)
Version 4.1.6
7 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
14 August 2012
The Macflux option looks like a pirate ripoff of Flux. The 404s and lack of an entry in Macupdate is enough to me. If you want Flux, get it from the source, The Escapers.
Like (1)
wintermute
wintermute
14 September 2012
I had the same question and asked the developers previously. From what I recall, the developers, The Escapers, are apparently a UK based company and MacFlux is the brand name used by their US sales affiliate, Macware (for legal reasons I presume.) They are the same product, but I believe the US version can sometimes be found at a discount, although it also lags behind in updates compared to Flux purchased directly from The Escapers. That being said, you can get either. Flux/MacFlux is a great program for creating some cutting edge HTML5 functions/designs... perfect for the former Adobe Flash developer trying to move to open standards.
Like
wintermute
wintermute
14 September 2012
Oops... that last part of my comment about Flux and HTML5 was incorrectly attributed... I bought this at the same time as Hype... it was Hype that does the cool HTML5 stuff. The other part of my comment regarding MacFlux vs Flux is correct, however.
Like
wintermute
wintermute
14 September 2012
... not that Flux doesn't do HTML5, too. It is more a Dreamweaver replacement, whereas Hype is more a Flash replacement. I use and like them both, although Flux does take some getting used to compared to Dreamweaver. The support for Flux, however, is outstanding... very helpful and congenial people at The Escapers.
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
15 September 2012
Rezstudios, that does not make any sense, considering it's "Flux" on the app store which is a world wide distribution channel. Care to quote the passage on the official escapers web site? Why would anyone get Macflux just because the are in the US? Get the original app from The Escapers!!
Like
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
15 September 2012
Actually, a search site:theescapers.com "macflux" doesn't turn up any mention of this. However, "Macflux" — no version state, but seem version 3 — is available in the Apple online store: http://store.apple.com/us/product/H2602LL/A#mfr-info for the US and Canade, so the notion seems to have merit. My analysis is that Flux still seem to be the original product available from the Apple app store and Macflux seems to be a repurposed version originating from some kind of deal between Macware and The Escapers. Given the lack of open offical support from the The Escapers I still question the idea to purchase MacFlux. At the very minimum ask The escapers in their open forum if they will acknowledge Macflux licenses before you purchase it. Given the state of the macware.com web site it's clear the people behind this company can't get their act together.
Like
wintermute
wintermute
15 September 2012
I'm just relaying what I recall being told to me when I wrote to The Escapers and asked since I had the same concerns as you. Macware apparently helps distribute / publish / sell software from various developers. Why the difference in the name of the app wasn't exactly clear, but the developer alluded to legal or licensing reasons at the time. If support and timely updates are a concern, then yes, I would agree with you that it may be best to purchase Flux directly from The Escapers vs MacFlux from Macware. If cost is a greater concern, then you might want to give MacFlux a chance since Macware tends to offer it in a discount bundle.
Like
Mikael-B
01 August 2012
No obvious support for java-built sites, so worthless for me.
Like (1)
Version 4.1.3
4 answer(s)
Rochade
Rochade
02 August 2012
java-built?!? What the hell. Are we back in the 90ies where it was hip to use java applets? The web is driven by HTML/CSS/Javascript today (ok, flash can be an option in some special cases). Can you tell me a modern product that lets you build java-based webpages?
Like (5)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
02 August 2012
Are you actually certain you want to answer that question? It could be quite embarrassing for you as it will. indirectly at least, let some light on your total lack of knowledge in the area.
Like (2)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
02 August 2012
that is "That you want *me* to answer that question?".
Like (2)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
02 August 2012
Actually, I will not write a full answer as I have better stuff to with my time. You know, like making money developing web sites. But here's some home work for you: Cloud computing Google, including gmail, documents and so on Amazon What *server side* technologies and development languages* could this type of small time web phenomena have in common, you think? That could possibly get you thinking at least. Or maybe not, come to think of it.
Like (1)
Dawda
28 July 2012
I know close to nothing about programming. with this app i can actually make advanced "for me" webpages. I dont even feel the need of usibg template. I also got Hype about half a year ago. When i'm combining theise i actually get really nice pages. Flux has crashed on me once but that was in the start when loading imported page. I contacted the developer about licence problem. They were extremely frendly and helpful. in short: i think this app is worth evey penny and even more if compared to other programs
Like (2)
Version 4.1.2
wolfram-fuchs
19 July 2012
Embedded inspectors the feature I was hoping to find in every next release since I start using version 2. Now with full screen mode it is really must have. So I am very pleased this version was released. On the other hand there are still problems with navigator. If node is collapsed and you select element it contains node will not expand and you will not see selected element there. I also prefere v3 color scheme to new one. But even with these little quirks it is still very good application.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.41
1 answer(s)
The Escapers
The Escapers
23 July 2012
Thanks for the heads up on the Navigator issue, I've logged it for attention. Best, Moray
Like (1)
seba-szwarc
24 June 2012
Could anybody help? I purchased Flux 3 in MU Promo Bundle. Now , on my purchases page I dont see this software. I accidentaly deleted it from my machine and try to recover but on develeoper page there is only version 4...
Like
Version 4.0.41
macola2
30 May 2012
Amazing app, like DreamWeaver but better and less expensive! These guys need better PR, I'd never heard of it until a few weeks ago, and now I wonder how I managed without it.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.31
yalcinarsan
28 May 2012
Terrific piece of software that makes life easy for the beginner, much easier for the pro web designer. The customer support is equally impressive.
Like (3)
Version 4.0.31
Basementjack
27 May 2012
In Short: Flux 4 is a one of a kind program that easily belongs on any web developers Mac. Flux 4 has the best interactive CSS editing system of any I've ever seen. As a web developer - I don't think there are any tools out there that do everything well enough that I only need one tool (Sorry Coda) So I'll explain how I work so you can read this in context. Like lots of web developers, I have multiple tools and use "the right tool for the job" For me, Flux fits into my tool set as the To be fair, flux also does a bunch of the usual stuff - it's got a built in FTP client, a decent code editor, etc, but the real value in Flux, the reason to have it in your toolkit, is its the best interactive CSS editor out there.
Like (4)
Version 4.0.31
the-skippy
09 May 2012
The developers say it's DreamWeaver competitor, and they aren't far off it, it's not perfect, like others have said, the learning curve is steep, no worse than DW, but don't expect to jump right in. When you get it though, it's awesome, the best web app for the Mac!
Like (4)
Version 4.0.27
1 answer(s)
Orion-Mk-V
Orion-Mk-V
09 May 2012
Yeah, I've owned v2 & 3, but still can't seem to get the hang of the app even after trying the v4 demo. I've used a ton of WYSIWYG and code-based web dev apps, but this one is just counterintuitive to me. I keep trying, but always end up returning to Dreamweaver & CSSedit. The window/panel arrangement seems clunky and I have to go through multiple steps for most things, and selecting just the right elements in the WYSIWYG can be tricky. Still, I'm glad we have alternatives to the overpriced Dreamweaver. ;)
Like (2)
Mikebenda
07 May 2012
I was one of the early purchasers of Flux 3 which, while it showed potential, never felt like a finished product. It was missing a lot of basic features and others weren't that well implemented. It didn't get much use out of it, but I still sent the developers feedback hoping to help them improve this promising application. Now, instead of giving us updates leading to a fleshed-out product that's actually usable, they instead come out with a new version? I'll stick with Adobe.
Like (6)
Version 4.0.27
wiganfan
01 May 2012
Customer support is amazing. Version 4 is a massive improvement, V3 was OK, but this is really next generation stuff.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.25