Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to Flux page
Flux free download for Mac

Flux Reviews

30 October 2018

Advanced Web-design tool.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
cameron-21
cameron-21
Jul 8 2020
7.1.11
1.0
Jul 8 2020
1.0
Version: 7.1.11
I dunno. I bought the full licence but gave up pretty fast because the UI is just so confusing, so busy, I am not a programmer but I am not dumb. Still, there was no continuity or clarity.
Eviandem
Eviandem
Jul 27 2018
7.1.10
1.0
Jul 27 2018
1.0
Version: 7.1.10
Although I bought this software as a full version, I switched to Pinegrow.

The user interface is simply too confusing and not very intuitive. I never had the impression that I could ever use the software properly.
Teksestro
Teksestro
Apr 30 2017
7.0.5
0.0
Apr 30 2017
0.0
Version: 7.0.5
Flux Developer: please, update your software description here in MacUpdate - it looks bad for a company that does software for modern, mobile-first websites to be talking about 'XHTML' and 'Quicktime' and 'Flash'. Also: please update your website, so its layout doesn't break on mobile. Again, it makes you look bad.
ylluminate
ylluminate
Apr 26 2017
7.0.4
0.0
Apr 26 2017
0.0
Version: 7.0.4
Name conflict with F.lux app (https://justgetflux.com) when putting into /Applications. Might be worth addressing this because it is frustrating.
anonymous-monkey-2272
anonymous-monkey-2272
Apr 3 2017
6.1.13
5.0
Apr 3 2017
5.0
Version: 6.1.13
Flux 6 outputs fantastic html/css code, you'll almost think it was handwritten. Kudos to the team, they totally built an app that rivals others.
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Feb 8 2017
6.1.13
0.5
Feb 8 2017
0.5
Version: 6.1.13
Learning to code HTML/CSS/Bootstrap is far easier and faster than trying to figure out how to use this piece of software properly. I don’t see a point of spending $100 to make my workflow more confusing and convoluted. Enough said, and yes, it's that bad.
Scienceman
Scienceman
Jan 6 2017
6.1.13
3.0
Jan 6 2017
3.0
Version: 6.1.13
Really expensive upgrades!
Why-Not
Why-Not
Dec 22 2016
6.1.13
0.0
Dec 22 2016
0.0
Version: 6.1.13
One of the best software trailers, ever. Might bring me back to using Flux. Currently, Pinegrow has me with their WordPress kit.
jhawthor
jhawthor
Jul 2 2016
6.0.31
3.0
Jul 2 2016
3.0
Version: 6.0.31
How to I purchase an upgrade from V4 to V6?
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
Jun 19 2016
6.0.29
0.5
Jun 19 2016
0.5
Version: 6.0.29
I used Flux for a while to learn how it did what it did. I also wanted to compare the flow of Dreamweaver vs. Flux vs. Rapidweaver. Clients were asking for web sites and I had to figure out what was easiest to use. For modifying Wordpress, Dreamweaver. For building ready-made sites from templates, Rapidweaver. I never did figure out where Flux fit. So I stopped using it. Then, just recently, they started SPAMVERTIZING their products to the former customers. I explicitly said "Don't contact me" and up until recently, they didn't. I figured they hired some new marketing person who didn't understand "opt-out" or thought there was a statue of limitation on it. They sent me SPAM twice despite saying "We only send email" on their Twitter feed. I looked at their web site and that explains a lot. They also sell a tool to do bulk emailing. So I guess they were dogfooding. I'll steer clear of this company and their products from now on.
RogerKatz
RogerKatz
May 7 2016
6.0.24
0.0
May 7 2016
0.0
Version: 6.0.24
The current version, which MacUpdate installs, is 6.0.25 (not the version "6.0.24" stated above)
Rochade
Rochade
Apr 26 2016
6.0.19
3.0
Apr 26 2016
3.0
Version: 6.0.19
Well, I give flux a try with each new version but still it can't get into my daily process because of the UI. It really is counter-productive and I never spent the hours it needs to adopt it. Sure, the idea of flux to sit between easy website creation tools and a fully fledged editor is great but the ui is too complicated to really use it. I am much faster coding my sites by hand. To conclude: if you want to invest a lot of time learning to use flux, it can be a perfect tool but maybe you are faster learning html+css.
Albertkinng
Albertkinng
Apr 26 2016
6.0.19
0.0
Apr 26 2016
0.0
Version: 6.0.19
I remember paying the full price for Flux 4 and I really never understand how to use it. I want to jump from Rapidweaver, I've been using Espresso lately to work with some pages but I really think Flux will be for someone like me (graphic designer with intermediate knowledge of html5 and CSS3) do you think Flux 6 is good enough to understand and use this time?
Sandro-Bilbeisi
Sandro-Bilbeisi
Feb 10 2016
6.0.4
0.0
Feb 10 2016
0.0
Version: 6.0.4
I purchased a copy of Flux V in a bundle , and was looking forward to updating to version 6.
Unfortunately, v6 now requires Mac OS X 10.11 - whilst my main iMac is still running 10.10 - and I'm not going to update my flagship anytime soon. what a pity ...
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Jun 28 2015
5.6.12
0.0
Jun 28 2015
0.0
Version: 5.6.12
I still see no signs Flux have evolved to the stage where also hand-coders can use it. Can you code really fast in the current version or are there still a ton of dialogs to wade trough as in v.4? I found v.5 very convoluted, if quite attractive as a concept. Personally, lately I've owned Macaw 1.x, which I hated, and found refuge in Espresso, which let's me code SASS, the occasional CSS and HTML5 templates, yet gives me some assistance when I need it without getting in the way. For all other tasks there is Sublime Text, except for my development environment Eclipse of course. Staying away from Flux is still the best bet, right? For people like me that is. I'm sure there are people that can benefit from it.
chikega
chikega
Jan 11 2015
5.6.4
5.0
Jan 11 2015
5.0
Version: 5.6.4
A very powerful app in the right hands. It is not for the complete beginner wanting to throw a website together a la Rapidweaver. You have to be at least at an intermediate developer level to fully exploit Flux V.
Charles-Miller
Charles-Miller
Sep 22 2014
5.2.0
0.0
Sep 22 2014
0.0
Version: 5.2.0
If it exists, this might be a side channel for Flux. But I'm wondering if Flux makes any provision for working in WordPress or Bootstrap? If the app or the templates offer extra utility in these areas? Expanding that a bit, does Flux have special features for making responsive websites?
andreperian
andreperian
Sep 15 2014
5.1.5
5.0
Sep 15 2014
5.0
Version: 5.1.5
Steep learning curve, but once you 'get' it, it's the most powerful web design app. A lot cheaper than Dreamweaver and just as good!
Rondfranks
Rondfranks
Aug 8 2014
5.0.9
0.0
Aug 8 2014
0.0
Version: 5.0.9
On sale for 50% at MAS.
Christa_Moal
Christa_Moal
Jul 29 2014
5.0.6
3.5
Jul 29 2014
3.5
Version: 5.0.6
Seems very powerful but its very difficult to use. You need some HTML and CCS knowledge to make decent websites. So basically only for advanced users. If you need an easy comparable app I suggest looking at Rapidweaver. Can deliver very pro looking websites too without any coding.
Bdkennedy1
Bdkennedy1
Jul 29 2014
5.0.6
0.0
Jul 29 2014
0.0
Version: 5.0.6
Please update the picture above so I never have to see it again. :)
kalexan
kalexan
Jul 28 2014
5.0.5
3.0
Jul 28 2014
3.0
Version: 5.0.5
A program MacFlux fifth version coming soon?
Rondfranks
Rondfranks
Jul 27 2014
5.0.5
0.0
Jul 27 2014
0.0
Version: 5.0.5
Updating in app from 5.0 the latest version doesn't work. It downloads but freezes before updating.
mrcndc
mrcndc
Jul 26 2014
5.0.2
0.0
Jul 26 2014
0.0
Version: 5.0.2
As of 11:55 EDT (US) the purchasing site does not seem to work, at least for the upgrade discount. Everything works until the final step to purchase when the following error message is returned. 10501 Invalid Configuration This transaction cannot be processed due to an invalid merchant configuration. Error. I have sent a message to the developer with a request they they notify me when fixed. I'll post that here when I receive it and confirm that upgrade purchases are possible.
ylluminate
ylluminate
Jul 25 2014
5.0.0
0.0
Jul 25 2014
0.0
Version: 5.0.0
If this is essentially an EverWeb (iWeb) for professionals, I'm sold. I want something more robust and drag-n-drop than Stylizer and Macaw. Would welcome a solid in depth review here.
Rondfranks
Rondfranks
Jul 25 2014
4.1.31
0.0
Jul 25 2014
0.0
Version: 4.1.31
I'd be interested in hearing what people have to say about Flux 5.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Jan 30 2014
4.1.31
0.0
Jan 30 2014
0.0
Version: 4.1.31
StackSocial has a current bundle including Flux 4 with a name your own price tag and 100% going ot charity. http://goo.gl/SpuVQG If i hadn't already checked out Flux 4 I would have a go at it.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Nov 16 2013
4.1.31
0.0
Nov 16 2013
0.0
Version: 4.1.31
I predict the interest in Flux from actual web developers — as in people that design web sites every work day — will be replaced by Macaw when it is released in beta: http://macaw.co/. It may very well be that Macaw will become what Flux should have been and should be. As Macaw is yet unreleased — it just a few weeks ago finished off a kickstarter funding round —  it remains to be seen how well it will work in practice for the advanced designs which are an important part of modern web site requirements. If The Escapers don't change up very soon to really fulfill the promise of Flux, that app is going to be history. I certainly can't use it for anything as writing code by hand in apps like Sublime is way faster and easier too. As with Flux I'm going to follow Macaw very closely. Sign up for info right now at the site!
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Sep 9 2013
4.1.31
0.5
Sep 9 2013
0.5
Version: 4.1.31
I used to like this software and rated high, but things have changed since then. Flux stands in an interesting but rather awkward niche market. It doesn't serve the low-end market in which users just want to get something up and running fast and easy with minimum fuss, because Flux really isn't that easy and quick to master and it requires pretty extensive HTML/CSS knowledge. Online services such as Squarespace.com, Weebly.com, WordPress.com are far more suitable for that market and they still offer CMS and social capability right out of the box, which Flux doesn't. And then, for those who want more than that, open source CMS platform such as self-hosted WordPress and Concrete5 would give them the power to do all kinds of custom work while also keeping you from reinventing the wheel via plug-ins and premium themes, none of which Flux can match. The most advanced coders would just go straight to a more robust text editor such as Sublime Text and skip Flux all together, so it doesn't serve that market, either. You can certainly argue that Flux is really an IDE, not a platform, and comparing it with open-source CMS is like comparing apple and orange. It is indeed valid points in some ways. But you have to look at the overall objective and workflow as well and which one gets you an useful site faster with less effort. The objective is to create an useful site, not just to edit HTML/CSS/PHP and render fancy graphics. You can use Flux to work on WordPress theme if you treat it like a text editor. But then there is no real advantage of using Flux since WYSWYG editor wouldn't really work without some tedious workaround. In that case, why not just use a robust code editor and browser-based tools such as Firebug? There are reasons web developers work directly with code and avoid WYSWYG in a Dreamweaver sense. Overall, I believe that the era of Mac editor based on the idea of locally managed static site such as this one is pretty much over, and customizing one of the design patterns through CMS is most often more cost effective and faster than doing everything from scratch and reinventing the wheel using a tool such as Flux. There will always be a need for custom development, at least to some degree, and Flux can certainly handle that well, but overall it is still most often unnecessary. It’s no reflection on the quality of work fine folks at The Escapers. But for someone who follows the current trend in web site design at all levels, Flux just doesn’t make sense any more.
Psykopup
Psykopup
Nov 13 2012
4.1.18
4.5
Nov 13 2012
4.5
Version: 4.1.18
A wonderful alternative to the crazy expensive Adobe Dreamweaver. I love the WYSIWYG and code editing options. Its definitely an app for the more experienced web designers/developers. If you fall into that group, you'll find this very user-friendly.
Vinkri
Vinkri
Nov 4 2012
4.1.18
1.5
Nov 4 2012
1.5
Version: 4.1.18
Got this one in a bundle (yes I bought a lot of bundles). I'm a Rapidweaver user and frankly, never found better. Flux is certainly more powerful than any other website creation tool. But it requires extensive knowledge of website structure, html and CSS... Definitely not for everyone. From the editor's description, I thought it was a really easy website creation tool, WYSIWYG and all... It is not. I guess it's worth the 144 bucks, but not to me.
Jody
Jody
Oct 28 2012
4.1.18
0.0
Oct 28 2012
0.0
Version: 4.1.18
I have used Rapidweaver for several years now, and as a non-coder (well, just a bit), I have been able to produce full-fledged websites with e-commerce, etc. The RW community is incredibly helpful and active and that is a big plus when you've got a question. Also, all the devs have made great strides in documentation that is clear, and geared to newbies. At this point, I consider myself intermediate+ level. Yes, I know I could be brilliant if I coded, but so far have not needed to really get down and dirty with it. I'm curious to know what I might be missing? A couple of folks have said "it's more powerful than Rapidweaver." How so? If I don't code in the first place, what intuitive, basic abilities does Flux have that are available right off the bat to produce a great website? I'm not in the mood for a steep learning curve just to get Flux to do what Rapidweaver does for me already. So? Where's the beef?
MacFTW
MacFTW
Oct 27 2012
4.1.18
0.0
Oct 27 2012
0.0
Version: 4.1.18
What is the upgrade policy for this application? Would I get free upgrades for the duration of version 4.x?
Ocsurfreport
Ocsurfreport
Oct 27 2012
4.1.18
0.0
Oct 27 2012
0.0
Version: 4.1.18
Oct 27, 2012 I saw that there is a 59% off to bring it to 59.99 today for new license. But I wanted to know if it would be posible to get our hands an discounter rate upgrade edition? LIke a 59% off upgrade price. I like the program but I don't want to buy a whole new licence again especially since he people who have the option to upgrade have been a suporter from the start. It would go a long way in suport for long time users and not to mention customer loyalty. Thanks.
freevito
freevito
Oct 14 2012
4.1.14
0.0
Oct 14 2012
0.0
Version: 4.1.14
Does anyone know whether Flux generates code that validates to W3C standards? I didn't see anything about that on their website. If it doesn't generate standards-compliant code, I won't even waste my time trying it.
Mirko1978
Mirko1978
Sep 30 2012
4.1.12
4.5
Sep 30 2012
4.5
Version: 4.1.12
Excellent software, much more powerful than iWeb, SandVox or RapidWeaver. It should be more compared to Dreamweaver, but with a cleaner code. Allows to build websites very quickly through its WYSIWYG interface or to handdcode if you prefer. The only reason why i don't give it 5 stars is because the user guide is veeeery incomplete making the learning curve steep.
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
Sep 28 2012
4.1.12
0.0
Sep 28 2012
0.0
Version: 4.1.12
In reference to a couple of issues: 1. Flux and MacFlux are the exact same product. Flux is direct from the developer, who is based in the UK, while MacFlux is a rebranded version sold by U.S. reseller Macware. The licenses for both are interchangeable. 2. MacFlux is currently available very cheaply via the "Name Your Own Price" bundle from StackSocial (expires October 5th): https://stacksocial.com/sales/the-name-your-own-price-mac-bundle
carolusmagnus
carolusmagnus
Sep 3 2012
4.1.11
1.5
Sep 3 2012
1.5
Version: 4.1.11
looking as a promising dreamweaver competitor at first sight, i gave it a spin and bought it for a promotional price. after toying with it for an hour or two, i must say i regret even having paid the rebated amount (ya, i know, i should've tested the trial version). i must admit that i didn't want to dive into documentation for hours before starting to work with flux, but isn't this application intended for peeps like me after all? i tried importing and modifying a simple one-page text & tables document, to edit a few links and add some text. i didn't succeed: - while trying to import the document from my desktop, it came up with an error message, telling me that "folder structures would become to deep", so i had to move the file to my harddrive. - interface of flux is almost totally unintuitive. the application seems to provide lots of advanced concepts (i see "containers", "actions & widgets", "masters and tokens", etc.), but fails to provide simple html features (adding links, formatting text). - for any table in my document, flux was nagging about some "positional" information to be missing, forcing me to specify either "relative" or "absolute" for this detail. this "style" data is added to the table tag, messing up the layout completely! - like in dreamweaver, i can choose to have code and preview next to each other. however, if i select something in the preview, it isn't also highlighted in the code, so have to search for it again and again. - i didn't find any option to tidy up and format my code, so it looks nicely (like the "format" option in bbedit, for example). there is an option "tidy code", which seems to do absolutely nothing here. - there is something like an inspector which mainly seems to address paragraphs and shows different formatting options. however, the current settings are not displayed, and defining new values doesn't always result in a change in a paragraph. - last, but not least, flux frequently crashes, reverting to old settings of the last session. i recommend to thoroughly test flux before buying it, especially at the normal price tag!
Drtyrell969
Drtyrell969
Aug 28 2012
4.1.10
2.5
Aug 28 2012
2.5
Version: 4.1.10
I'm really torn by this product. I had such promise, but fails in so many fundamental ways. 1. It had drag and drop but doesn't. I have an HTML element on stage with NO css assignment, and yet dragging and dropping a css style to it never triggers a "Do you want to assign this style to your DIV?" prompt. Really? That never occurred to them? 2. It claims to support WordPress template creation, but fails to spawn all the basic template files in a new WP project. Even five minutes into the WP custom template tutorial gives a new user all the basic page templates. You'd think this would be a simple process of adding them to the core folder and then customizing their look and feel. There are many shortcomings that blow the mind, but these are the two primary ones. I contacted their support team about these features and never received a reply. F+!
Mezz
Mezz
Aug 3 2012
4.1.6
5.0
Aug 3 2012
5.0
Version: 4.1.6
One of the best Apps & Developer; which all helps make my life run smoother. Thank you!
Prince-Isaac
Prince-Isaac
Aug 3 2012
4.1.6
0.0
Aug 3 2012
0.0
Version: 4.1.6
Quick question: What's the difference between Flux from The Escapers (a great developer) and MacFlux from Macware?
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Aug 1 2012
4.1.3
0.0
Aug 1 2012
0.0
Version: 4.1.3
No obvious support for java-built sites, so worthless for me.
Dawda
Dawda
Jul 28 2012
4.1.2
5.0
Jul 28 2012
5.0
Version: 4.1.2
I know close to nothing about programming. with this app i can actually make advanced "for me" webpages. I dont even feel the need of usibg template. I also got Hype about half a year ago. When i'm combining theise i actually get really nice pages. Flux has crashed on me once but that was in the start when loading imported page. I contacted the developer about licence problem. They were extremely frendly and helpful. in short: i think this app is worth evey penny and even more if compared to other programs
wolfram-fuchs
wolfram-fuchs
Jul 19 2012
4.0.41
4.0
Jul 19 2012
4.0
Version: 4.0.41
Embedded inspectors the feature I was hoping to find in every next release since I start using version 2. Now with full screen mode it is really must have. So I am very pleased this version was released. On the other hand there are still problems with navigator. If node is collapsed and you select element it contains node will not expand and you will not see selected element there. I also prefere v3 color scheme to new one. But even with these little quirks it is still very good application.
seba-szwarc
seba-szwarc
Jun 24 2012
4.0.41
0.0
Jun 24 2012
0.0
Version: 4.0.41
Could anybody help? I purchased Flux 3 in MU Promo Bundle. Now , on my purchases page I dont see this software. I accidentaly deleted it from my machine and try to recover but on develeoper page there is only version 4...
macola2
macola2
May 30 2012
4.0.31
5.0
May 30 2012
5.0
Version: 4.0.31
Amazing app, like DreamWeaver but better and less expensive! These guys need better PR, I'd never heard of it until a few weeks ago, and now I wonder how I managed without it.
yalcinarsan
yalcinarsan
May 28 2012
4.0.31
5.0
May 28 2012
5.0
Version: 4.0.31
Terrific piece of software that makes life easy for the beginner, much easier for the pro web designer. The customer support is equally impressive.
Basementjack
Basementjack
May 27 2012
4.0.31
5.0
May 27 2012
5.0
Version: 4.0.31
In Short: Flux 4 is a one of a kind program that easily belongs on any web developers Mac. Flux 4 has the best interactive CSS editing system of any I've ever seen. As a web developer - I don't think there are any tools out there that do everything well enough that I only need one tool (Sorry Coda) So I'll explain how I work so you can read this in context. Like lots of web developers, I have multiple tools and use "the right tool for the job" For me, Flux fits into my tool set as the To be fair, flux also does a bunch of the usual stuff - it's got a built in FTP client, a decent code editor, etc, but the real value in Flux, the reason to have it in your toolkit, is its the best interactive CSS editor out there.
the-skippy
the-skippy
May 9 2012
4.0.27
5.0
May 9 2012
5.0
Version: 4.0.27
The developers say it's DreamWeaver competitor, and they aren't far off it, it's not perfect, like others have said, the learning curve is steep, no worse than DW, but don't expect to jump right in. When you get it though, it's awesome, the best web app for the Mac!
Mikebenda
Mikebenda
May 7 2012
4.0.27
1.0
May 7 2012
1.0
Version: 4.0.27
I was one of the early purchasers of Flux 3 which, while it showed potential, never felt like a finished product. It was missing a lot of basic features and others weren't that well implemented. It didn't get much use out of it, but I still sent the developers feedback hoping to help them improve this promising application. Now, instead of giving us updates leading to a fleshed-out product that's actually usable, they instead come out with a new version? I'll stick with Adobe.