Back to PDF Studio Standard page
PDF Studio Standard free download for Mac

PDF Studio Standard Reviews

2019.2.0
13 November 2019

PDF creator with annotation features and more.

jberrios126
03 April 2017

Most helpful

PDF Studio Pro from Qoppa is an awesome alternative to the pricier Adobe Acrobat Pro program. I used Adobe Acrobat X Pro for many years in Windows, but now I am a Mac user and Acrobat is simply too expensive. I downloaded the trial version of PDF Studio Pro and was amazed at the capabilities it brings and It allows me to easily edit documents, annotate, format fields, etc. It allows easy reordering of pdf documents and digital signature. I would say the best part of this product is that is affordable while maintaining all the capabilities the more expensive products like Adobe Acrobat brings. You can downloaded the software here - https://www.qoppa.com/pdfstudio/
Like (1)
Version 11.0.5

Read 14 PDF Studio Standard User Reviews

Rate this app:

jberrios126
03 April 2017
PDF Studio Pro from Qoppa is an awesome alternative to the pricier Adobe Acrobat Pro program. I used Adobe Acrobat X Pro for many years in Windows, but now I am a Mac user and Acrobat is simply too expensive. I downloaded the trial version of PDF Studio Pro and was amazed at the capabilities it brings and It allows me to easily edit documents, annotate, format fields, etc. It allows easy reordering of pdf documents and digital signature. I would say the best part of this product is that is affordable while maintaining all the capabilities the more expensive products like Adobe Acrobat brings. You can downloaded the software here - https://www.qoppa.com/pdfstudio/
Like (1)
Version 11.0.5
mmix66
08 September 2015
PDF studio have an "import pdf in layer" future, wich permit me to build a pdf multi-layers (layers of a Affinity Designer project, but AD can't export in a pdf with layers, only all layers fusioned or 1 layer by pdf) With Preview or others, it's not possible to see layers or build layers by using others pdf.
Like
Version 10.1.0
dwp-1
09 December 2012
PDF Studio seems, overpriced considering the features of new Preview in Mountain Lion. You could also purchase PDFPenPro for an additional $10 compared to the standard version of PDF Studio and get a full featured pdf editor that performs most any task you would ask of an PDF editing program. Just my opinion!
Like (6)
Version 8.0.1
2 answer(s)
Chris-Habig
Chris-Habig
20 April 2013
But, but..."Open any pdf document and send it to the printer."!
Like (2)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
01 January 2016
Adobe Acrobat Pro DC costs $450. It is THE standard. It is worth the full price. So in comparison, PDF Studio is inexpensive.
Developers need to price their software what they believe it is worth, and not race to the bottom just because there are free alternatives or there are consumers who only want cheap. You don't make a living by selling your product for cheap.


Like
PDF-Susan
23 March 2012
PDF Studio 7 Pro is SO customizable now! I can rearrange the toolbars, set up the toolchest to make EACH type of processing I'm doing easiest. I can fill out forms online, whether they're interactive or not! And, I can revise earlier documents, like course work, or even redact sensitive information. I love being able to grab an entire directory of files (images, Word docs, PDFs, and texts) into PDF in one operation, then rearrange, markup, and save or send without having to change programs. Great job, Qoppa Software!
Like
Version 7.3.1
3 answer(s)
lemon-kun
lemon-kun
11 December 2012
So, your job at Qoppa Software is great… Good for you!
Like (7)
Neil-M
Neil-M
23 January 2013
In her profile, PDF_Susan has only reviewed and rate 2 products and it turns out they are both Qoppa products, seems a bit blatant.
Like (6)
Prlab
Prlab
24 November 2013
The language is so obvious. Deceptive conduct.
Like (3)
dutch025
05 July 2011
I've used Skim for taking notes for school and notating pdf files of articles I need to reference. pdf Studio is a much simpler program! It took 5 minutest to learn this program. I wish all programs were that simple to learn.
Like (1)
Version 6.60
Dr-Bob-B
12 September 2010
Just tried the pdf studio. I have been using Adobe pro on my pc for many years, and needed something to use for my macbook. I specifically needed to extract/delete pages, and/or insert pages, and scan. Occasionally highlight text. Rarely change text. This product is just a fraction of the cost, but does everything except change existing text. Wow... It is a bargain.
Like (2)
Version 6.40
4 answer(s)
Bolonga
Bolonga
15 March 2011
I cant't comment on PDF Studio, but are you aware that Preview - Apple's software that comes with OS X - since its Leopard version does everything you're asking for as well but the cost is 100 % less than even PDF Studio? In Preview you can as well add, remove, rearrange pages, scan, annotate and highlight text. Again, other than that PDF Studio might offer a lot more (forms, batch processing ...)
Like (4)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
15 March 2011
Preview can't edit text either. A big omission on Apple's part. For a start it makes filling out forms impossible.
Like (1)
Bolonga
Bolonga
15 March 2011
Correct. Although Preview got better and better with each incarnation of OS X, there remains room for improvement. Anyhow, I was merely relating to Dr Bob B's "List Of Specific Needs", where Preview fulfils all his requests but "Rarely change text". If $60 is a bargain for something one rarely needs depends on how important that feature is if only rarely needed. Regards
Like (2)
Qoppa Software
Qoppa Software
23 March 2012
Dr Bob B, your missing capability noted in the fall of 2010 has been addressed by PDF Studio 7! If you upgrade your older version to the current 7.3.1, you'll gain the ability to modify PDFs, too!
Like
Arteast
25 February 2010
This product is pretty good when it comes to the batch processing, which is something that I will use on a regular basis given the work that I do. I also think the Google Docs feature they added will help out alot with people like me who find it easier to be able to access my documents without having take additional steps to complete my work. Time is money to me.
Like (1)
Version 6.21
Baaden
31 October 2009
The app doesn't look great, but for me it has one feature that I didn't find elsewhere yet: I am a user of an Intuos tablet and want to do free-hand annotations (corrections) to a PDF file that I can then send other people involved. Preview doesn't do it ; Skim does the graphical annotation very poorly and you cannot export it as PDF. PDF Studio does it properly. Any other alternative apps known?
Like (2)
Version 6.01
5 answer(s)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
15 March 2011
Preview has a large number of annotation options. Must you use the tablet's? If it doesn't work maybe the most fruitful option is to make suggestions to Intuos.
Like
Baaden
Baaden
15 March 2011
Update: I found *my* best solution. It's called PDFpen, and works like a charm. And yes, I really want to use freehand annotations with the tablet (as if I were working on paper) and not the predefined highlights, boxes etc., which take more time to annotate if you have lots of them. That being said, GoodReader on iPad is another option I start using now.
Like (1)
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
15 March 2011
@Baaden Whatever happened to Ink? That was a Tiger technology from memory.
Like
Baaden
Baaden
16 March 2011
@Rubaiyat I haven't tried Ink for ages, but as far as I remember it's idea is a bit different. You can use the tablet as alternative to the keyboard, eg hand-write on screen, which is then analyzed and 'typed' in the active application. But I don't think there was an option to use ink for graphical annotations of documents - or I must have completely missed it.
Like
sgmason
sgmason
31 October 2011
Hi Baaden, you write in March that your best solution is PDFpen, but this doesn't appear to allow much free writing unless I'm missing something. When I write with my tablet, as soon as I lift my pen, the tool switches back to the pointer and my text is highlighted in a box so that I can move it. Am I missing something?
Like
Anon-Bud
30 September 2009
I think it's more than about time for these developers who port Windows apps to the Mac platform to either quit doing so or spend the time making an app that actually looks, acts, and feels like a native Mac app. Go with Preview and Skim. They're both free!
Like (4)
Version 6.01
1 answer(s)
Dr-Girlfriend
Dr-Girlfriend
30 September 2009
I agree. Formulate Pro is another good free one. http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/19911/formulatepro
Like (5)
Version 6.01
Rubaiyat
06 April 2009
I really can not see the point of these programs. Except for the ability to fill in pdf forms just about everything else can be done in Preview in OSX 10.5. What Mac users really need is a method for distilling postscript files or checking for adequate resolution and to convert rgb intrusions in cmyk .pdfs going to commercial printers. Neat and fast ways of splitting up multi-page pdfs for importing into Cocoa apps would be good as well. I agree with all the other posters that this is the laziest port of software I have seen in a long time and I would not dream of paying what they are asking. Maybe the message will hit home and they will do some work on this after realising that the Mac market is not as desperate as the PC market.
Like (3)
Version 5.51
6 answer(s)
Mkirkwag
Mkirkwag
07 October 2010
Unfortunately, Preview does NOT allow you to append pages from other PDF documents - a crucial feature for some of us.
Like
Version 6.50
Craig42a
Craig42a
15 March 2011
@Mkirkwag ::: Preview does allow you to do that. Just drag and drop using the sidebar in Preview. Easy. Simple.
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
15 March 2011
@Mkirkwag Actually Preview's method is the easiest way of appending any number of pages where you want them. Apple unfortunately does not document the fantastic set of features in this and other supplied software. There are however tutorial videos and tips if you are persistent enough to chase them down on Apple's website.
Like
Mkirkwag
Mkirkwag
16 March 2011
Rubaiyat and Craig42a, I wish one of you would show me how. I've tried drag and drop, searched for an import command, searched the net high and low to find a way to do do it and never found it. Move pages, yes. Append docs, no. I'm not sure what could be simpler than click, insert page, click, but I'd certainly be delighted to see it!
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
16 March 2011
@Mkirkwag Works best in Snow Leopard, there were some bugs previously. Menu > View > Sidebar > Show Sidebar > click on little cluster of squares bottom right Then click on & drag and drop thumbnails between open Preview pdfs and to & from Desktop.
Like
Mkirkwag
Mkirkwag
17 March 2011
Thanks, Rubaiyat! That worked. It's clunkier than the acrobat pro version, but it works and it's free. I guess I'd never tried clicking on that silly button, and all I did was change programs. Having to have everything all lined up and the right button chosen - I'd have never figured it out.
Like
Trrll
19 August 2008
Highlighting works nicely, but not enough to justify the price and the otherwise very poor Mac interface.
Like (3)
Version 5.0
Chris-Habig
22 December 2007
Considering the following: 1. Preview already does just about every single thing this app claims to do. 2. The app is an ugly Windows port. 3. They want $60 dollars for it!! I can't recommend this application.
Like (4)
Version 4.80
Andrew-Scott
22 August 2007
I tried this application only briefly and found the interface to be very dated. I was interested in the stamp feature. I imported a scan of my signature but it only seems to accept JPEG and GIF formats so devising a stamp with alpha channel transparency, so that it simulates writing your name, say on a dotted line, is rather ineffectual due to the bounding box of the image. It may be that this software has the power and flexibility you need but for my limited purposes it's too expensive and too unpleasant. Oh well.
Like
Version 4.5.2
Soundsgoodtome
02 May 2007
This is frankly the worst-looking application I've seen in many years. It looks like a bad OS9 app. No; it looks like a bad OS8 app. Perhaps it performs well; I don't really know. Due to its unseemly appearance, I simply wasn't the least bit interested in determining how well it performs. I gained quite a bit of insight when I checked the developer's web site to see if the app has particular features I need. Links to the online user manual for detailed information revealed that PDF Studio is a Windows application that has simply been "ported" to the Mac platform. I don't have a problem with that, in theory. Other developers have successfully ported applications from one platform to another. No problem! But in this case, no effort was made to make the application attractive or to make it look like a Mac app. (Or any effort that was made was 100% unsuccessful.) Although on the surface PDF Studio appears to have more features than Smile On My Mac's "PDF Pen," I'll live without the extra features in order to keep working with an app that's a pleasure to look at (while working).
Like (1)
Version 4.41