Back to YummySoup! page
YummySoup! free download for Mac

YummySoup! Reviews

2.4
04 September 2011

Recipe organizer complete with Web imports and custom prints.

Albyrw
15 February 2011

Most helpful

Beware of buying YummySoup! unless you only need the functionality it currently has working in the version you buy today. The developer has a history of making grand promises about future feature releases and delivering years down the track, or in a paid upgrade. If you're waiting for the accompanying iPhone app, then believe it when you see it before parting with your money because YummySoup! has always been two-thirds real and one-third vapourware. Don't buy everything you want really exists (and a few other people have written reviews to say they're okay and have all the promised functionality). I've been using YS for two-and-a-half years, since I think version 1.3 or 1.4. There have been constant problems with stability, features in the release version that didn't work properly or at all (export, email), bugs not fixed, and by 1.9 - a version still plagued with stability problems and with many reported bugs unfixed, such as the title selection in the web importer causing selected text to disappear not import, or the tabbing through ingredients in a shopping list causing rows to revert to blank, keyword searches only search on titles... The dev had obviously long moved on to 2.0, to start the whole cycle again with a new group of licensees. Thank Ken, but your idea of a .9 release is not the same as mine - a place to leave a half-finished app while you work on the next paid upgrade. Although the dev was always responsive to emails (I've dealt with worse), actual development moved at a snail's pace - years - and I gave up asking about fixes, even to some of the advertised features that were the reason I bought YS in the first place. I expect that he will take this review rather personally, and so he should - the defensive posture and the replies saying that YS is a one man band really illuminate the problem - the dev's ambitions and publicly-stated promises for the product are wildly out of sync with his capacity to deliver. Screenshots of YS 2.0 look nice, but actual functionality has barely improved - only the weekly planner and export functionality is new; other changes are either cosmetic or promised in future updates. YS 1.x was supposed to have export functionality, but Ken decided to save that for 2.0. The reason this app does well is because its core functionality and idea are good -a streamlined recipe manager and import manager that copes well with importing from most websites. That really is its killer feature. But for groceries, planning, exporting, organising and sharing its features are basic at best, and the app really lacks the polish and professionalism you get from larger developers. If the price matched the reality and the app's ambitions were more modest, this could be a more reasonable purchase. But if you really want to use the YS to its limits, you may be disappointed. I suggest you check out all the recipe managers out there - there's plenty of good ones - and thoroughly test YS in your real-use situation. Don't buy because it looks nice, or because you're looking forward to iPhone integration. MacGourmet has all those features today, maybe give that a look. I still use YS 1.9 because it does everything I need, barely, but it's often exasperating. No more money will be spent on it until the fairy dust turns into something I can touch.
Like (12)
Version 2.2.2

Read 48 YummySoup! User Reviews

Rate this app:

chefsharon
20 November 2018
Does anyone know how I can get to my recipes? YS is not opening for me. Sharon
Like
Version 2.4
qb
07 July 2018
I've continued to use YS but after a move from 10.12 to 10.13.x (High Sierra as a CLEAN setup/install) I can no longer drag a recipe from Safari to YS and have YS then let me do the manual highlight and data entry. Does anyone have this working with High Sierra? I wonder if I need a legacy Java or such. thx
Like
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
qb
qb
21 July 2018
Update: I also use the very old Logitech Harmony Remote application. It required me to install Java 7 (and works on 10.13.6. However this did not get YS's drag a url and drop to work. Guess I may install VirtualBox to run an older OS X version.
Like
qb
17 September 2016
I guess YS is officially gone. As of the past 3 days Ken's www site has been unreachable.
http://hungryseacow.com cannot be found.

His Facebook page has been kinda locked down for a long time. No comments allowed from what I see.

Very sad - although the app continues to have bugs in 2.4 I still believe it to be the most versatile recipe manager for the Mac. After all the "sneak peaks" of the 3.x version and the promise functional iOS integration he has left users hanging.

RIP Yummysoup!
Like (1)
Version 2.4
4 answer(s)
qb
qb
11 October 2016
As Ken appears to have abandoned YS! development (web site still not accessible) I've been thinking of what to do next. I really like Paprika RM but 1) it does not work with the multi-images that YS allowed and 2) I like my recipe photo thumbnails to be bigger. Still overall a nice app.

I am currently using the free DB Browser for SQLLite and see the basic structure and places where my thousands of recipes are listed. Not being an SQL person all the "ZGROUPS: and "ZRECIPES" are Greek to me.

Is there a SQL person out there who might consider trying to recreate the basic YS! 2.4 interface as a way to make sure it can work for several more Mac OS revisions???

As I have 9000+ recipes many with several images I would even be willing to make a monetary gift for the effort.

BTW: I"ve tested YS! on Mac OS Sierra is it works albeit with the same problems we have lived with for 5 years.. And I don't care about the auto-recipe importer as I do most of mine imports manually.
Like
bfg360
bfg360
23 October 2016
Oh, man, am I disappointed to see your email. I recently began getting notifications that the domain "YummySoup!" is up for auction and then I could no longer get recipes through Web Import, which I use very often. I know that the app had some problems, but I've just learned to work around or ignore them.

I gather from Mousee low that YS! can be transferred to Paprika, but I don't understand the comment that the "formatting available in YummySoup!" isn't available in Paprika. Can someone explain? Thanks!

Like
qb
qb
23 October 2016
@bfg360 - interesting about the "Yummysoup!" domain as Ken always used "Hungryseacow.com" as far as I know.

Perhaps if HE is the one selling he will also provide the YS code and let someone else continue development. The existing version 2.4 only needs a few bug fixes to make it stable and I would be very happy with existing features. Nor do I use the very poor iOS version even thought I licensed it when it came out.

Anyway - its far as "formatting" perhaps Mousee refers to the the YS's use of "Themes" that can really change the view of the recipe layout arrangement. I have not seen this in PM.
Like
bfg360
bfg360
29 October 2016
Re our exchange of emails 10/22 and 10/23: the sale of the YummySoup! domain name, this was the site used to actually use the recipes, import through the web importer, email the recipes, etc.. For support/information/assistance, the domain was http://hungryseacow.com.

I'm still puzzled about Mousee's formatting issue, but he/she hasn't responded yet.
Like
Albyrw
24 October 2014
This app was abandoned by the developer years ago. Ignore it and buy Paprika instead, which costs a little more but is 10 times better, has great iPhone and iPad apps and is regularly maintained.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
Mousee
24 April 2014
There's a time in life when you know you have to decide to leave someone or something. This application hasn't been upgraded since 09/04/2011. The developer has been talking about v3 for more than a year now and has given sneak peaks at the new interface on his Facebook pages again and again, but we are in April 2014 and nothing is happening. So yesterday I moved on and bought Paprika. After exporting recipes from YummySoup (ysr format) I had no problems importing them in the new software. Paprika is very fast, very easy to interface with the iOS siblings (cloud) and it is updated on a regular basis. I miss the formatting that was available in YummySoup but that's a little issue and maybe will be added one day. Sorry Ken Humbard, you should have worked faster or do what Mikebenda suggested: sell the app.
Like (3)
Version 2.4
6 answer(s)
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
09 May 2014
Paprika is a great choice and I did the same ditching MacGourmet 6 months ago. Some devs should improve their communications and Ken Humbard is one of them.
Like (2)
qb
qb
13 May 2014
From Ken's FB Sep-28-2013 "Now that I can finally say that version 3 for OS X is close to release I wanted to start posting teasers!" 8 months later on 27-Apr-2014 "Yes it will be released. I wish I could put a date on the release but writing software doesn't work like that. It's impossible to predict when it's ready for release." From "close to release" to "impossible to predict." Did Ken bite off more than his programming knowledge allows or does his day job take all of his time? I used YS 2.4 today and had 5 crashed and the auto-fills no work several times. Sad...
Like (2)
qb
qb
05 October 2014
YS!'s Facebook page has numerous people asking for info on future releases of the Mac and iOS apps. Only the rare "working on it" posts from Ken. Has YS gone the way of Unsanities haxies?
Like (1)
Albyrw
Albyrw
24 October 2014
I can also endorse Paprika after 6 frustrating years using YummySoup and reading Ken's excuses. Stop waiting - Paprika does everything Ken promises YS will do. Do him a favour and leave him in peace, clearly developing and supporting apps places a terrible strain on our Ken.
Like (1)
bfg360
bfg360
23 October 2016
Mousee, can you explain the formatting problem that you refer to in your posting above? I am considering purchasing Paprika (on your recommendation). I just discovered from this website that YS! is no longer supported, and I'm anxious to move on since I use YS! all the time. Thanks!
Like
bfg360
bfg360
25 October 2016
Hello, Mousee -- I am in Mexico right now, but I'll be back in the States in a couple of weeks and plan to buy Paprika for recipe management. Can you tell me -- or is it self-evident -- how to move all of my recipes from YummySoup! to Paprika? Thanks! (I thought I'd already sent this to you, but it doesn't look like it got sent. If this is a reputation, just ignore it.)
Like
qb
06 November 2013
Current version 2.4 (latests since Sep-2011) has even more issues running on 10.9 Mavericks. Most notable is the scroll bar under the thumbnail images has VANISHED. It is now impossible to scroll thorough recipes. And don't try to use it on a dual screen: if you move it so part is on the 2nd screen that part disappears. For 20 months we have been promised a newer version (on Ken's Facebook) and now the recipe manager app seems dead and no support.
Like (5)
Version 2.4
2 answer(s)
qb
qb
06 November 2013
Ah - just discovered the dual screen problem can be fixed by UNCHECKING "Displays have separate Spaces" in the Mission Control System Prefs.
Like (1)
Mousee
Mousee
13 April 2014
It's a shame that this once great app is basically abandoned by the developer. I found sort of a solution for the missing scroll bar you mention in your post above: you can use the Up and Down arrow keys to move through the thumbnail images.
Like
Mikebenda
18 April 2013
Dear developer, Please sell your software to someone who will update and maintain it. Sincerely, The user community
Like (5)
Version 2.4
Mikebenda
07 October 2012
I really like this application but am disappointed that neither the promised new version nor an update to turn off idisk sharing are available after all this time.
Like
Version 2.4
orinoco-delta
16 September 2012
Dear Ken Humbard, so again now here as a review… it's over 5 months now and you always told that an update and new function will come to YummySoup! - but where are they? You write you're working on Version 3 - oh that's sounds great but remember if you plan to take money for this update i'll get very angry and i will take all the power of social networks to tell the world how you do your work my friend. It's not professional to: NOT respond, to PROMISE things that didn't come to answer an two-liner after many weeks AND to tell every customer NOT the truth… SO hurry up and do something for your customers and make us happy… if not i will tell you one thing: I don't give up till the day i get my money back!
Like (3)
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
qb
qb
09 August 2013
Now we are closing in on Sep-2013 so Ken will be 17 months promising version 3. Last update on his Facebook was in April-2013. He appears to be making the Mac versions look more like the iOS version. I'm shopping for a different recipe manager if this proves to be the way the Mac version looks.
Like (2)
Drdul
08 September 2012
YS is a good app that suffers from a slow pace of development. The dev has been promising new features for a long time, but it's been a year since the last update. There's still no proper capability in YS to sync between Macs. I made the mistake of buying the iOS version a year ago on the promise of new features coming soon, and the ability to sync between my Mac, iPad and iPhone, but just like the Mac version, there's been no updates to the iOS app since then. I've finally given up and am making the switch to Paprika, which offers full sync capabilities and frequent updates that add features and fix bugs.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
Mikebenda
03 August 2012
I like this app and use it often, and I've read below where the developer states he is working on a new version, however it would be nice if this version was updated to not check for my (discontinued) iDisk.
Like
Version 2.4
Mhoutman
09 July 2012
this is abandon ware which is a pity indeed
Like (3)
Version 2.4
2 answer(s)
Hungryseacow Software
Hungryseacow Software
16 July 2012
I haven't released any minor updates because I am working on version three of YummySoup!.
Like (2)
Mhoutman
Mhoutman
17 July 2012
There is a long silence on @hungryseacow, but I am glad you are working on a new Mac version... and I hope a iOS version too.
Like (1)
M-Mulrooney
14 May 2012
Downloaded the demo, but apparently waited too long before opening it for the first time, so my only choices were register or quit. So I quit, and bought My Recipes instead. With many other apps the trial begins when you first open the program, not when you first download it. You might want to consider doing that. Since I can't submit this comment without completing the star ratings, I'm giving low ratings, not because I think the program sucks, but because the fact that I can't demo it sucks.
Like
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
Hungryseacow Software
Hungryseacow Software
16 July 2012
The trial only starts after you first launch the app.
Like
qb
11 October 2011
2.4 has been more stable than 2.3.x and after many weeks of troubleshooting repeated crashing when editing/saving recipes I have a breakthrough. From my 35 years of programming I was say there is a recursion bug in YS. I can open a new database with only default recipes and in 2 changes in the preferences / Smart Measurements get the app to crash repeatedly. Finding this out lead to a solution to many of the crashes I've had. 2.4 still has problems with modified images not displaying, searches not yielding correct matches, images added to the Notes section coming out huge and the developer's temper.
Like
Version 2.4
qb
01 September 2011
Almost 1 year ago I gave YS! a 5 star rating. While I still think this is the best recipe manager out there I've run into several problems the developer has been unable to fix. The current version 2.3.5 has several bugs that I've discussed with HungrySeacow in over 160 emails that I have kept. I love YS' interface with the visual browser to show nice sized photos of numerous recipes in the top and overall I like the web importer. However: I have it crash on a far to frequent basis While using the Web Import it may crash as frequently as 5 times in 10 minutes while I attempt to bring in 10 new recipes. At times I import a new recipe, notice something to change but when I click EDIT it crashes - thus forcing me to live with the errors that are contained in the recipe (or delete it and hope the next import is stable). Some recipes I've had in my library for months will suddenly no longer be editable. I've shared a list of 20 such titles and my library with the developer - he can reproduce but not fix the problem. Even exporting and reimporting these recipes do not fix them. This implies to me there are software coding issues that do not inspect the imported data closely. On occasion the application crashes on launch. Since version 2.2 there have been problems with auto-fill fields not auto-filling. The Web Importer cannot handle multi-word measurements such as "rounded teaspoon", instead placing these in the Ingredient field. The app often crashes when I scroll the visual browser. Searching for a recipe by name does not ignore accented characters: "ragu" will not match "ragú". Minor but something programming would fix. Recently the developer has cut me off his Facebook site: I had previously started a discussion to collect the bug reports from other users and we had 30 or 40 submissions. I could see in their reports that I was not the only one with problems and had hoped this would spur the developer into working harder on fixing the issues. Instead I get blocked and all my discussions and submissions censored and removed. I have over 6250 recipes in YS so I depend on it to be stable. For a while the developer quit responding to my bug reports but last week he sent me the following and I quote directly for his email: "I suggest you delete your library and start with a new one and keep it under 500 recipes." That is not a solution - no where does he advertise this recipe manager as supporting only 500 recipes before it breaks. I would have looked elsewhere if that had been part of the product description. Bottom line - nice looking and functional application that has serious stability and database/library issues.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.5
2 answer(s)
Hungryseacow Software
Hungryseacow Software
04 September 2011
Qb has a sorted history with me. He has on many occasions resorted to rude, abusive and inappropriate behaviors when I haven't fixed things that he deemed important issues or even his feature suggestions. Often he believes he has the solution to a problem but is completely off base and doesn't understand the root cause. He once had an issue with a right-click contextual menu that wouldn't appear which turned out to have been a problem with a system extension that he had installed. I have many users with more then double the amount of recipes in their library then Qb without issues. If I am unable to replicate a problem that he is experiencing there is little help I can provide. Based on my history with Qb there is a high likeliness that most of his issues are user error in nature. Qb mentioned that the app would crash when using the importing feature. Occasionally a website's HTML layout changes which can break an importer and at times though very rare cause it to be crash prone for that website. A simple point release is required to adjust the importer for these changes. When I don't address his issues right away he ignores the general rules of my Facebook page. He wants to bring issues that he has to the public's attention but rather placing them in the discussions group where it won't get lost in the shuffle of the main page he posts it under completely unrelated comments on the main page. I have decided to ban him from the page. Banning him results in automatic removal of all his posts. Since Qb refuses to work with me in an appropriate manor my suggestion to him is to keep a smaller library or move to another application. There is only so much help I can provide to someone so unwilling. And yes, there are over 600 emails exchanged.
Like (5)
qb
qb
06 September 2011
I believe Ken is showing lack of professionalism with his distortion of our interactions and the direct attack on my professionalism. My review never attached him as he is doing to me. I've been an Apple developer for 25 years and have never seen such misrepresentations as his reply. Facebook: As you see in my above review HE took DOWN the discussion I stated on the YummySoup Facebook page. Now he accuses me of NOT keeping them in a discussion that he deleted before I ever got banned weeks later? Right-click: was not just my MacBook Pro computer (it worked on my desktops.) I temporarily installed YS on a friends MacBook Pro and the right click still failed and that. I emailed him that info and he soon replied he added some "double check" in the image browser that fixed it. Now he claims it was an extension I had installed - he never claimed that in the email he told me of the fix in. I have always gone out of my way to clearly document problems including relevant screen captures and submit bugs in a polite fashion. My email records would support that. Never have I been rude, abusive or inappropriate as Ken's reply to me is here. I could go further but I after Ken's out of c control reply, now can I reread Ken's rant at Albyrw in April-2011 in a new light.
Like (2)
Mousee
19 April 2011
The latest version (2.3.x) makes this software a favorite for recipe management. The previous version was lacking a every important feature: grocery list. This is now included and I do not need to look elsewhere for a recipe software. The Web importing function is very well implemented and saves a lot of copy/paste operations. Adding more pictures to each recipe (also in v2.3.x) will prove very useful for recipes with a set of pictures describing that recipe. The interface is very powerful and I love being able to add and organize folders as I choose. In the past I had several crashes but stability has improved a lot in the last few versions. Overall, a great product.
Like (2)
Version 2.3.1
Albyrw
15 February 2011
Beware of buying YummySoup! unless you only need the functionality it currently has working in the version you buy today. The developer has a history of making grand promises about future feature releases and delivering years down the track, or in a paid upgrade. If you're waiting for the accompanying iPhone app, then believe it when you see it before parting with your money because YummySoup! has always been two-thirds real and one-third vapourware. Don't buy everything you want really exists (and a few other people have written reviews to say they're okay and have all the promised functionality). I've been using YS for two-and-a-half years, since I think version 1.3 or 1.4. There have been constant problems with stability, features in the release version that didn't work properly or at all (export, email), bugs not fixed, and by 1.9 - a version still plagued with stability problems and with many reported bugs unfixed, such as the title selection in the web importer causing selected text to disappear not import, or the tabbing through ingredients in a shopping list causing rows to revert to blank, keyword searches only search on titles... The dev had obviously long moved on to 2.0, to start the whole cycle again with a new group of licensees. Thank Ken, but your idea of a .9 release is not the same as mine - a place to leave a half-finished app while you work on the next paid upgrade. Although the dev was always responsive to emails (I've dealt with worse), actual development moved at a snail's pace - years - and I gave up asking about fixes, even to some of the advertised features that were the reason I bought YS in the first place. I expect that he will take this review rather personally, and so he should - the defensive posture and the replies saying that YS is a one man band really illuminate the problem - the dev's ambitions and publicly-stated promises for the product are wildly out of sync with his capacity to deliver. Screenshots of YS 2.0 look nice, but actual functionality has barely improved - only the weekly planner and export functionality is new; other changes are either cosmetic or promised in future updates. YS 1.x was supposed to have export functionality, but Ken decided to save that for 2.0. The reason this app does well is because its core functionality and idea are good -a streamlined recipe manager and import manager that copes well with importing from most websites. That really is its killer feature. But for groceries, planning, exporting, organising and sharing its features are basic at best, and the app really lacks the polish and professionalism you get from larger developers. If the price matched the reality and the app's ambitions were more modest, this could be a more reasonable purchase. But if you really want to use the YS to its limits, you may be disappointed. I suggest you check out all the recipe managers out there - there's plenty of good ones - and thoroughly test YS in your real-use situation. Don't buy because it looks nice, or because you're looking forward to iPhone integration. MacGourmet has all those features today, maybe give that a look. I still use YS 1.9 because it does everything I need, barely, but it's often exasperating. No more money will be spent on it until the fairy dust turns into something I can touch.
Like (12)
Version 2.2.2
2 answer(s)
Hungryseacow Software
Hungryseacow Software
17 April 2011
Albyrw was very upset that I dropped support for Microsoft Entourage as an email option in version 1. Features are subject to change and without owning a copy of Entourage maintaining support for it was cumbersome. This is why in version two users have the option of using Plain Text for any default email application. Some of his assertions are false such as his comments on exports, searching using the search field, groceries, planning, organizing and sharing. The Mac App Store reviews speak for themselves. You can't please everyone and there will always be someone who lashes out when they don't get their way.
Like (4)
Albyrw
Albyrw
06 July 2012
How's that iPhone app coming along Ken? Everyone's still waiting for the replacement for the 'holdover' app from September 2011. That's the full iPhone app with bidirectional sync, the one that was announced about two years ago to the YS 1.9 users. Not the shell app where the user manually copies the YS database file into iTunes for read-only access. And now, according to @hungryseacow, there's apparently an all-new YS *3* coming that has iCloud syncing! Or at least, there was in February 2012. So that's it! Yet *another* (paid?) update and *more* time for users to wait. Why not just deliver the features you promise to the people who've already paid? No updates for desktop or iOS app since September 2011. Check the complaints out here folks: http://twitter.com/#!/hungryseacow/. I especially love Ken's response to a tweet from November 2011: "How's the work on iCloud-Sync/iOS-editor going? Thanks :)" Reply: "Working on it. Will be posting info on it soon." Then, on February 18, what we've all been waiting to hear: "Working on desktop and iOS apps. Version two won't work with iCloud due to support for 10.5. Version three fixes that with 10.7+" Ahh, so it's another version upgrade before you get syncing, right. But wait: the Yummysoup user guide from August 2011 says this: "I have big plans for the iOS version all which will be free upgrades from this initial release. I am currently working on version two which is a full editor featuring iCloud sync and will require iOS 5 when it’s released." So which is it for iCloud syncing? The next version of the iOS app (the one you're asked to pay for now)? Because iOS 5 has been out for months and months. Or the next version of the desktop app? Or both? Who knows? I stand by what I wrote at the beginning of 2011. YummySoup! is one long series of promised features that might be delivered at some point in the future, and quite possibly not under the license you've already paid for. Wait till it does everything you want and don't believe the hype. By the way, I'm still happily using YS 1.9 in Lion, with Dropbox syncing the library to multiple Macs. Use a symbolic link to reference your YS database in the Dropbox, then another symbolic link on each client machine to reference the library from Dropbox back into Application Support - works like a charm as long as you only have one copy of YS open at a time. Print your shopping list to PDF in Dropbox and you're shopping and cooking from Dropbox for iOS on iPhone or iPad. No money down.
Like (1)
Ryanholcomb
02 January 2011
Easy to use, great import from the featured websites, easy import from other websites. Simple uncluttered interface and usage. Hangs up sometimes but the program is under active development so I expect it will only get better. Best of all, my wife uses it easily without the need for an IT consult!
Like (1)
Version 2.1.6
qb
14 October 2010
Back in the summer of 2009 I downloaded 9 Mac recipe managers and spent 2 weeks making extensive test comparisons. Hands down YummySoup (then version 1.9) was my favorite. First I love the visual browser that shows several recipe images in a large format, not small thumbnails. Secondly the developer has made some of my favorite cooking sites so easy to import that they take 10 seconds to grab. Other cooking sites are imported in a more interactive fashion - something the current version 2.1.3 has made easier than 1.9 While there are some features held back from the version 2 release there is nothing missing for recipe management. I don't use weekly planners nor shopping lists so waiting for these to return is not of concern to me. Lastly I have found the developer extremely responsive and with a good sense of humor. They have replied to dozens of my emails - heck, might even be 100 by now. As a developer myself I understand how in fixing one thing something else can and often will break and they have had a few such setbacks. I truly believe that YummySoup! will continue to mature and be my recommendation to anyone who wants a recipe manager with a beautiful interface and simple operation.
Like (6)
Version 2.1.3
1 answer(s)
Ken-Humbard
Ken-Humbard
15 October 2010
The Weekly Planner is already enabled, grocery lists will be very shortly.:)
Like
Version 2.1.3
Weez74
10 October 2010
Yummy Soup is by far the best recipe software you can buy. Importing is so easy. The smart groups are great. The developer provides regular upgrades it to make it even better & provides outstanding customer service. It is far less expensive than other recipe software yet does so much. The view options are wonderful as are the printing options. The ability to use recipecasts as well as add notes are also great. I cant say enough good things about this software & its developer, Ken. I have used several other recipe programs over the years but none as as user friendly & full featured as Yummy Soup. Try it - you can't go wrong Louise M.
Like (4)
Version 2.1.3
Michelle-Zybura
09 October 2010
If you are into cooking, Yummy Soup is a must have. It will keep your recipes fabulously organized. Best money I have ever spent. Tech support is awesome as well.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.1
Sparkn
29 September 2010
Author listens to his customers and actively seeks the best way to meet customer customer wants and needs. Recipecasts are a great way to share your favorites with the community. Works flawlessly with a MobileMe account. Importing couldn't be simpler. The built-in browser will make you forget you're not using Safari!!! Comes complete with favorites bar to add new sites to.
Like (2)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Fritz-From-London
Fritz-From-London
10 October 2010
Author listens to customers only if they brown nose him, otherwise he tells to "move on and find another software"
Like (2)
Version 2.1.3
Firefoxnx
27 September 2010
(1) Nice Web Importer just works Themes keep the interface fresh (2) Needs Improvement Weekly Planner is bare bones Social features are not enabled? (3) iPhone/iPad application - MIA?
Like (3)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Ken-Humbard
Ken-Humbard
27 September 2010
1. Thanks! 2. Weekly planner manual write-ins will be added - Great suggestion from users! 3. iPhone and iPad versions are in the works.
Like (4)
Version 2.1
larrymcj
11 July 2010
Nice work, Ken...but PLEASE...give us the option of having the excessively HUGE folder tree icons or smaller ones. Nearly ever app in the Mac world has that option if it has a folder tree. Thanks!
Like (5)
Version 2.0.1
3 answer(s)
Ken-Humbard
Ken-Humbard
18 July 2010
We are planning on adding this as an option. :)
Like (3)
Version 2.0.4
Ken-Humbard
Ken-Humbard
28 September 2010
The options for small icons in the sidebar has been added to version 2.1 :)
Like
Version 2.1
larrymcj
larrymcj
28 September 2010
I saw that...along with MANY other great features in 2.1. Best update yet for an already superb app!
Like
Version 2.1
Drdul
11 July 2010
Congratulations on the new icon! I like the new themes, but all of them suffer from the same problem -- the font used for the list of ingredients is too large and/or the column width is too small, so that many of the ingredients wrap to the next line, lengthening the list of ingredients well beyond the bottom of the page. Some themes with more space for the ingredients would be welcome. (If I knew CSS and all that stuff well enough I could create my own theme, but I don't.) BTW, in case anyone is wondering, it's a $10 upgrade from version 1 to version 2.
Like
Version 2.0.1
1 answer(s)
Mtcobra
Mtcobra
11 July 2010
I tried clicking on the $10 upgrade fee, got to the PayPal screens, but then was shown a screen that said: “Order Failed. We could not find your incomplete order in our database. This can happen if you have cookies disabled or if your session has expired. Go Back to the Store.” I could not get past that screen. I am a registered YummySoup! 1.9.4 user. What do I do now?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Donebylee
01 April 2010
I love YummySoup and have been using it for years, but now I want more…I want to send my shopping lists to a YummySoup app on my iPhone and have the ability to check off the items as I purchase them. And yes I will pay for the app through the app store. Please, please, please….
Like (5)
Version 1.9.2
Dr-Girlfriend
28 January 2010
Dear Dev: You've punished us long enough. It's time to change that hideous icon. It looks like an insane manatee barfing onto a plate. Please have mercy. Love, Your devoted users.
Like (9)
Version 1.9
4 answer(s)
Ken-Humbard
Ken-Humbard
28 January 2010
People either love or hate the icon. What sort of idea would you have for an icon?
Like (1)
Version 1.9
Dr-Girlfriend
Dr-Girlfriend
28 January 2010
Anything would better than the current one. Off the top of my head, whenever I think of your app, I envision a delicious, steaming bowl of homemade alphabet soup spelling out the words "Yummy Soup" or just the letters "Y" and "S". -or- The letters "Y" and "S" written (or squirting out) from a cake decorator's tube with frosting. You have a lovely app. It deserves a more worthy logo.
Like (4)
Version 1.9
Drdul
Drdul
30 January 2010
I'm with the other commenters on this one. The current icon is just plain ugly. In my case, I can ignore it because I don't have YS running all the time, and if I really want, I can change the icon easily enough. But it's not about me. It's about everyone else who is turned off by the icon. The fact that so many people hate the icon (even if there are some people who "love it") should be setting off warning bells for the dev. Most people judge a book by its cover, and I have no doubt that a lot of Mac users have passed over YS for other recipe apps because of the icon. When I first tried YS it was in spite of the icon, and my reaction was surprise at how attractive and well organized the app is. The ugly icon had led me to assume it was an equally ugly app. I was willing to give YS a try, but how many others won't bother? As for what the icon should be, I agree that an attractive bowl of soup is the obvious choice. It's not necessary to spell out the name of the app in the icon (Apple doesn't do that, nor do most other devs).
Like (2)
Version 1.9
Saraswati
Saraswati
31 January 2010
I disagree with those who vehemently dislike the icon. I happen to think that the seacow slurping yummy soup is adorable. I say KEEP IT. Besides, the application is terrific, and that's what really matters!
Like (3)
Version 1.9.1
Dlwhite
28 January 2010
Dear Dev, PLEASE start work today on a version for the iPad. My kitchen counter is drooling for your software plus Apple's hardware. If anything could make YummySoup MORE perfect, that would be it!
Like (7)
Version 1.9
1 answer(s)
Memphisbird
Memphisbird
29 January 2010
+1 for that! How convenient that would be-Yummy Soup on the iPad, sitting on my kitchen counter.
Like (6)
Version 1.9
Kedos
01 November 2009
I really like this app, but would be a lot more inclined to use it if this icon didn't ugly up my dock. How about another icon? Really, almost anything would be better.
Like (7)
Version 1.8.3
felicitybramble
13 August 2009
this is a great piece of software. It makes it so much easier to keep track of all my recipes.
Like (1)
Version 1.8.2
Drdul
09 August 2009
In an earlier comment, I noted that the shared library feature was buggy, and could overwrite a newer shared version of the YS library with an older local version. I have since figured out how to reliably share my YS library between three Macs, and even though it's a workaround, I feel that I can now give YS the five stars it deserves. I can now retract my earlier recommendation to avoid YS if you want to share recipes between Macs, provided that you set it up the way I have. The shared library resides in a file called YummySoup! Shared Library.YSSL. I moved this file to my Dropbox, which syncs it between my Macs. That's the easy part. The challenge is to get YS to open the shared library each time, and not the local library. How I do that is by launching the YummySoup! Shared Library.YSSL file, instead of launching YS itself. I even went so far as to copy the icon from YS to the shared library file, and create an alias to it called YummySoup. The way it looks like the YS app, so that even if my brain stops working for a moment, there is almost no chance I could ever launch YS directly, which avoids the problem of YS overwriting the shared library with the local library. I've had it set up like this for a few months, with no problems. As an aside, the nice thing about using Dropbox for syncing is that it keeps older versions of files for 30 days, so if anything ever goes wrong, I can retrieve the correct version of the shared library.
Like (2)
Version 1.8.1
Eirethug
18 May 2009
Yummy Soup is truly a great MacOS program and probably the best Mac recipe manager out there. The program is so intuitive that my not so computer savvy wife picked up using and importing recipes in a matter of minutes and now uses YS about 80% of time (vs. cookbooks and binders) for all of cooking. Furthermore, the developer is constantly improving and updating the SW with tweaks and fixes. A great find and an awesome bargain.
Like (3)
Version 1.7.5
Matruff34
07 May 2009
YummySoup is hands down the best recipe app out there. This is a programmer that truly cares about his program, I've had to e-mail him twice with questions and he replies within just a few hours - unheard of with other pieces of software. IMO YummySoup is the easiest to use and i have tried them all. I think what stands out is how simple it appears to be, but it's actually packed full of features. Of these features I like the Any Site importer the best - it has a few sites that you can automatically import from and that works flawlessly, but for those recipe websites that are not yet supported automatically, the Any Site importer makes it so easy to just snip my recipe right into my collection. I love YummySoup!!!
Like (6)
Version 1.7.4
Danfamfive
05 March 2009
I have been using YummySoup for about 4 months and I love it. It's so easy to use, and when you have two working parents and 3 children having my recipes all in one place is so convenient for me. The importer is so easy to use, on Sunday nights before the week starts I'll go online and import some recipes, and then browse through them with the family and we pick what we're making for dinner during the week. The visual browser makes that a lot easier, then my husband and kids can actually see the food and then make some choices. One of the best features of this program is the full screen. I inherited a ton of recipe cards in a box from my mother, but I can't make those go full-screeen and talk to me while I am cooking!! Try it out, this is program is so handy and so so so easy to use.
Like (4)
Version 1.7.2
Drdul
03 January 2009
The "shared library" feature remains quite buggy in version 1.7. I originally tried using a local network volume to store the shared library, but wanted to have access to it when travelling. So I switched to using my iDisk, but connectivity and latency issues with iDisk proved to be too much for YummySoup! I then switched to using Dropbox, which has worked flawlessly. Or at least the Dropbox part has. YS fails to open the shared library half the time, opening the local library instead, which is always out of date and missing a bunch of recent changes. That wouldn't be so bad if YS didn't automatically save over the shared library when it quits. When that happens, I'm forced to spend 5 or 10 minutes restoring the current version of the shared library and launching and re-launching YS until it manages to open the shared library correctly. Fortunately I have a solid backup system for my data, so I haven't lost anything yet. The "shared library" feature comes with a warning within YS, so it would appear to still be a work in progress. The developer used to maintain forums where I could have tried to get this "shared library" issue addressed, but the forums disappeared a couple of weeks ago. I sent the developer an email over a week ago, but there's been no response. Bottom line: If you want to share your library of recipes between two or more Macs, hold off on YS until this feature works reliably, or look at another recipe app that can do it.
Like (2)
Version 1.7
Slb4010
06 December 2008
I've used this software for a number of years and it is great for importing a recipe from a web page. When I need a recipe I email it and view it on my laptop in the kitchen, or iphone when I travel. I also view it via my iphone to buy ingredients. Prior to buying this years ago the Mac did not have many recipe programs that work as well as this one does.
Like (3)
Version 1.6.9.5
Christoph3
26 October 2008
I must be on a different planet. I find this program extremely unstable. I have the latest version and I paid for it. I worry for my data when basic functions are unstable.
Like (5)
Version 1.6.9.5
Debannwin
10 October 2008
I've been using this for several months now and have been impressed with almost every aspect of it. The interface is excellent and the any site importer is particularly nice. I find myself saving more recipes and cooking more often because this software is such a pleasure to use. Beautiful, well designed, well worth the money. The only thing on my wish list so far would be the ability to customize the fields available during the import. A minor deficiency, though, compared to what it does well.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.9.5
Justies
03 August 2008
Very good recipes.
Like (6)
Version 1.6.9.4
Dlwhite
06 May 2008
If you click the reply to LARRYMCJ's worried post below, you'll see that he debunks his own theory. So have no fear -- YummySoup! isn't going anywhere and it's undoubtedly the best recipe software available on the Mac. Don't let anything stop you from trying the demo, as it's free and it's awesome. You will want to own a license! If you have questions or comments, the developer is amazingly open and communicative. This is the good stuff, people.
Like (1)
Version 1.6.8
1 answer(s)
larrymcj
larrymcj
09 December 2008
I still keep in touch occasionally with the YummySoup! developer and I believe in the end his product is going to be better than MacGourmet Deluxe, the only competition IMHO. When YS! finally gets a nutritional database (I'm guessing in v2.0) along with a few other missing features, I believe it will the leader in the cooking/recipe software genre. Without a doubt, the YS! import feature is much better than MacGourmet, and for me this is important. LarryMcJ
Like
Version 1.7
larrymcj
14 March 2008
As much as I love YummySoup! I think it's important to post what I just stumbled across in another forum from someone on MDA's "Cookbook" staff who says: "Well, I'll give you guys an update. The developer of YummySoup! will be joining the Cookbook dev team once the contract is hammered out." Unless Ken is going to work for his competition, I'd say YummySoup! might be headed toward extinction...which would be very sad :-( UNLESS...Cookbook will be a superset version of YummySoup! You can read this yourselves at: http://www.macheist.com/forums/viewtopic.php?id=7476 ...look at post #20 near the end of the thread. LarryMcJ
Like (1)
Version 1.6.4
1 answer(s)
larrymcj
larrymcj
15 March 2008
After posting my comment here about YummySoup! and Cookbook, YummySoup!'s developer contacted me and explained that YS! was not being purchased, and that he would continue to developer it. MDA's Cookbook project was in jeopardy and no where near completion as promised, so he is simply going to be the lead developer on the project. Yes, he will in fact be working for the competition, which rarely works out in any industry, but he feels he can juggle both projects and said that YS! will not suffer from it. He says if necessary, they will use a third party to support Cookbook to conserve his time. I think Ken has his heart in the right place...and I believe what he says he "wants" to do, but we (YS! fans) will have to see if he remains true to his first love, or gets overwhelmed by all the developmental efforts of trying to get a new app released. If you'd like much more detail about this I recommend joining the YummySoup! forum where Ken is currently addressing this issue in great detail to his followers there. I think YummySoup! is destined to be one of the great cooking apps of our time...but that can only happen if it remains on its development course and he continues to do listen to his customers...and has sufficient time and desire to complete his work. LarryMcJ
Like (1)
Version 1.6.4
Donebylee
10 January 2008
This is the best recipe database app I have found. Its best feature in my opinion is the ability to import recipes from a web page. The drag and drop simplicity of its import system is incredibly easy to use and intuitive. I regularly import recipes from the The New York Times and other web pages without worring about mistyping or getting amounts or instructions wrong. And the full screen cooking view is a godsend. It disables your screen saver and creates a full screen recipe view that makes it easy to read and follow the recipe while cooking. I take my MacBook into the kitchen all the time to use this feature when preparing meals. I love this app. Well done.
Like (3)
Version 1.6.2
Bravefacari
26 October 2007
I have tried all the versions (did I say ALL) of recipe software currently available for my Mac Book Pro. Well they are all nice looking and so on, Yummy Soup came along when I pretty much had given up on finding a recipe organizer/manager for capturing recipes online. I was very pleased with it's simplicity, clean look and ease of use. But like all the other programs, it was tied to a few online recipe websites and the rest were manual entry. Then a new day dawned and they released there newest version which has an outstanding and brilliant workaround for those recipe websites that are not part of their standard program. It is now far and above any of the other programs. For $40 it would be steal but a $20 its a donation to great work! Well Done! Warning: It has a wonderful little video tutorial but little else in the way of how to use it. So you will have to play around with it a bit, but once you get it (and it won't take long), you will be all set.
Like (1)
Version 1.6
NLMA
05 October 2007
It will be hard to keep up with the Cooking App that is in the making at MyDreamApp.com but nevertheless, this piece of software hits more than a couple of nails on the head. Clean simple interface, especially the Coverflowlike browsability through the pictures. The 'online' part is very interesting, especially since you can post your own creations to be included in there as well. Congrats to the developer!
Like
Version 1.5.2
Sterlingjbadon
04 August 2007
I have tried lots of COOK BOOK software. This one is so easy and straight forward. It sticks to the " keep it simple but very useful", concept. The drag and drop feature for recipes is great. It isn't a cheesy data file system. It has powerful features yet one doesn't need to be a tech geek to use it. It is obvious this developer listens to his customers. It is so great it should be included with the Mac core system.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Kimw
21 June 2007
Some nice features found in this one. Very easy to make shopping lists and lots of recipes to choose from. Truthfully I wasn't going to write a review, but someone mentioned it being the same thing as Yum. I tried Yum and they're not even close. There's a reason why it's free. I felt justified spending the $20 on this app.
Like
Version 1.3.1
Tim27
24 March 2007
This is a nice app, but Yum is free and does pretty much the same things. http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/10225/yum
Like (1)
Version 1.1
Anarchyx34
07 January 2007
I love this app. The interface is very much a seamless integration into the rest of MacOS. It looks, feels, and functions like a Mac app. Recipe entry is fast and easy with auto-complete and well thought out shortcut keys. Fullscreen mode is clear, legible, and looks great. And how could you not love that icon? I cracked up the first time I saw it.
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Dukemeiser-
Dukemeiser-
10 January 2007
sure looks like the developer's review since the exact same text was posted on versiontracker. It is a nice app though.
Like
Version 1.0.1