Back to DrawIt page
DrawIt free download for Mac

DrawIt Reviews

3.10.8
02 February 2011

Vector drawing and image editing (discontinued).

Easer
03 December 2008

Most helpful

I want to add a comment about tech support. I do not own this program, but I asked the author for some technical assistance. I was given far more support than I would have imagined, and for free. I don't think it was just to make a sale; I honestly got a sense that the author is simply helpful. I think that speaks very highly of both the author and the program.
Like (7)
Version 3.7.3

Read 19 DrawIt User Reviews

Rate this app:

stacymarkel11
27 September 2018
DrawIt is a great software. It also works well with Mac. The image editing feature has improved a lot. As Mac book comes with Retina display so the image quality looks greater. More information visit https://www.applemacsupportnumbers.com/apple-customer-support/
Like
Version 3.10.8
anonymous-deer-2515
16 April 2014
Apparently, DrawIt has been completely phased out for Sketch3. All prior web pages referencing DrawIt on the developer's current web site now redirect to Skecth3.
Like
Version 3.10.8
Sachi
18 January 2012
DrawIt discontinued http://www.bohemiancoding.com/about/blog/
Like
Version 3.10.8
1 answer(s)
gatovadio
gatovadio
27 January 2012
that was bound to happen. even if the dev has always been honest about his inability to fix drawit's bugs (as seen on the forums) and his desire to migrate drawit's bitmap features into sketch, from the comments on macupdate, it seems that sketch is not much more bug-free than drawit, specially the undo feature. another thing that i don't fully get is why these *mac* vector drawing apps can't export to the *apple icon image* format, ".icns". strangely enough, drawit, which is not a specific vector app, is the only which exports to this format.
Like (2)
mmac79
08 December 2010
yep, this software actually made me write a review. unfortunatelly this isn`t a good one. first and allmost. i bought the software approx 2,5 years ago while looking for a more lightweight illustrator alternative. though i could quickly draw some icons or background images for web development. this software is messing with me for years. i allways come back to it once in a while because i hope that it will be stable at some point, have a proper undo function and get some reasonable documentation. unfortunatelly that`s not the case ... for most functions you actually have to work with trial and error. but mostly error. hard to get masking to work if at all. undos are messy, ... uaaahhh. besides a toy (for quite some bucks) stick to illustrator or inkscape, or other alternatives ... pros: - UI - efect layers - interaction design cons - stability - undos / redos are messed up - poorly documented - seems to be abandoned in favor of sketch (app from same company)
Like (3)
Version 3.10.7
Maclover1-1
15 January 2010
Seems like a possible Fireworks alternative for my needs.. I just need to mix bitmap and vector and export small-sized quality jpg's most of the time. Sad thing is that the preview does not seem to work.. Cannot see the effect of changing jpg settings in it at least... Preview remains unchanged. But the exported jpg size rivals that of Fireworks which is in itself a good thing...Most jpg's exported by other software for similar settings/results are much bigger... GraphicConverter included.
Like (1)
Version 3.10.1
Mlbkxbx
08 December 2009
Sorry, forgot the actual rating :/
Like
Version 3.10.1
Mlbkxbx
08 December 2009
This application is beatuful to look at. It looks stunning. It's lightweight, but i had a few performance problems when working with high resolutions. I love how intuitive it is to work with, and the stacked layers in the sidepane makes a lot of sense. The toolbar provides fast access to some useful features. expose and positioning is excellent addition to this application! I would love to buy it, but unfortunately it has got a few unfortunate problems/bugs, that render it unusable IMHO: *The undo buffer is almost useless. *Rotation is buggy. *Grouping is buggy. *Focus is buggy. I really, really hope this gets fixed in the near future. I tried his other pure vector editor called "sketch" wich is in beta now, and you can totally tell it shares much of the same code base since it shows signs of pretty much the same bugs as drawit has. That said, it has got a *lot* of potential, and i already like it better than any of the other vector drawing applications available for OS X. The developer is very responsive to requests and bug reports, and thus the rather high rating of 4 stars.
Like (1)
Version 3.10.1
Tofi
24 June 2009
I chose not to rate it. Maybe I mis-understood something. But I find it horrible. It allow me to use it for about two minutes. and I get this annoying message to register. Plain Useless.
Like
Version 3.8.3
Shotgunweddings
01 May 2009
Just test drove version 3.7.8 and loved it! This program has great support, the developer adds user suggested features every version and the price is very reasonable. And this is an excellent program for kids to get a feel for DTP too without being overwhelmed with a million and one options they have no clue how to use.
Like (1)
Version 3.7.3
Easer
03 December 2008
I want to add a comment about tech support. I do not own this program, but I asked the author for some technical assistance. I was given far more support than I would have imagined, and for free. I don't think it was just to make a sale; I honestly got a sense that the author is simply helpful. I think that speaks very highly of both the author and the program.
Like (7)
Version 3.7.3
anonymous-snipe-438
31 January 2008
As a software developer working with a limited budget I cannot afford to employ a dedicated graphics designer so I have been looking for an application which would allow me to create great looking graphics quickly and easily. DrawIt is the first one that I've 'clicked' with and I obviously timed it right since it seems that earlier versions were less than stellar. However it now appears that the developer is on the right track and not only is his application first rate but he responds to emails quickly and is very helpful indeed.
Like (4)
Version 3.2.1
Hurrikenux
29 December 2007
DrawIt 3.1 is a good step ahead of the pack of indie image editing applications. Pixelmator and Acorn have both presented way too many problems for me, and as a developer I am not too fond of their respective looks. However, DrawIt adds just enough image editing tools and just enough vector drawing tools that I have finally been able to delete Inkscape and Gimp. DrawIt isn't perfect, but the developer is quick to respond to comments and emails and seems to be graciously working to add new features and fix existing problems. See how far you get with Adobe's support system! I haven't had the slowdown problems others are reporting, and trust me, any slowdown and I often uninstall and wait for issues to be fixed. No problems here and looking forward to the future of DrawIt!
Like (3)
Version 3.1
Jjbee
06 December 2007
Hi all, Forget what you know/think about older versions (mainly those prior to v3). This v3.1 is a new application! - Blend modes support for masks and layers. - new added Core Image filters (Shading Material is definitely one of my favorite) - … It's not Photoshop, it's not Illustrator but a really nice and powerful "hybrid" application with bitmap tools (brushes, eraser, paint bucket, magic wand…) and vector tools. With blend modes and masks (and groups too), there's all I like and need. So, I'm happy with DrawIt v3.1 (and will be even more with v3.2 ;^).
Like (1)
Version 3.1
MAchintrucbidule459
04 October 2007
I tried an older version (5mn) then downloaded the new version (3.0.2). So now my 15 day trial is over... huh?
Like
Version 3.0.2
loukash
01 October 2007
Quote from the home page: "For those of you who are familiar with the iWork applications; you will feel right at home." Right. Similar to Numbers, you may want to go and cook yourself a meal while you're waiting for DrawIt to move a simple vector path a couple of cm to the left... What I mean: 15 years ago I was running vector applications (e.g. Freehand 3) on a PowerBook 140 with a 15 MHz (!) 68030 Motorola processor, 8 MB (!) RAM and a 40 MB (!) hard drive. I was able to draw and move vector paths INSTANTLY. Why is it such a problem on a PowerBook G4/1.67 GHz with 1.5 GB RAM??? To be fair, DrawIt isn't the only application suffering from this. But even any derivate from Apple's Sketch (which used to be available in Panther's Developer Examples) can simply draw a path and move it from A to B instantly... Another quote from the home page: "All the trivial options are of course supported" Er... how about Vector export?
Like (1)
Version 3.0
3 answer(s)
Jayhawkbabe
Jayhawkbabe
15 January 2008
You can export drawings as a PDF. Last I checked, that is a vector format. Given that my MacBook Pro can only support 4 GB of RAM, I am guessing that you DO NOT have 8 GB on your PowerBook. I would also add that the program runs very fast on my MacBook Pro. Please take the time to write a constructive and well-researched review. Shareware developers put a ton of work into their programs. Seeing incorrect and uneducated reviews potentially hurt their sales makes me ill.
Like
Version 3.2.1
loukash
loukash
15 January 2008
JayhawkBabe, speaking of "uneducated reviews", you might want to READ my review first before you actually comment on it. For instance, please note the subtle difference between a PowerBook 140 (from 1992) and a PowerBook G4 (from 2005) as well as 8 MB (that spells MEGAbytes) and 1.5 GB (that spells GIGAbytes). And please try to understand the CONTEXT of that comparision. Okay? Speaking of vector PDF export: I don't remember it exactly and since then I've deleted DrawIt from my hard drive, but it's quite likely that I've actually tried that in the FIRST place and that it didn't work the way I would expect. That's not necessarily the developer's fault though, that's the way Apple's PDF export works. Oh, and the last time I checked, PDF is actually a CONTAINER format that can contain text, bitmap and, of course, vector data. The chances that you get bitmap data instead of vector while exporting via Print dialog are quite high. Just for the record: In the end I've given up searching for a replacement for Illustrator 10 and upgraded to Illustrator CS3 recently. Unfortunatelly, for a professional graphic designer there's still no way around it, no matter how hard other software developers try. Sad but true.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.1
loukash
loukash
15 January 2008
P.S. I should also point out that I've been reviewing v3.0. If the developer has taken the issues seriously, it's likely that at v3.2.1 everything looks and works much better than with v.3.0. I don't know and personally I don't have a reason anymore to check that out.
Like
Version 3.2.1
gryphonent
01 October 2007
From version 2 to version 3 in just one month? Nahh... I’m saving for Pixelmator.
Like
Version 3.0
Plasterpyrus
30 August 2007
Sorry about that I was commenting on what MACD said since I've seen the practice he was discribing a lot lately and I got called away from my computer and did not finish the review. As far as DrawIt is concerned I tried useing this program a while back and I found it to be very limited about what it could do and tried useing it again and still found it very limiting and since it has no real editing tools or drawing tools that Im use too, does not make it intuitive at all, like the developer claims.
Like
Version 2.1
Plasterpyrus
30 August 2007
I agree with MACD, It's getting rediculous that there are so many shareware developers are feeling justify that they can charge for developing software that eventually they will make money on! Thats like some company in the "real" world offering a service or a product to customers and them saying that they are asking for pay but then turning around and saying that the product they are offering dose not really exist but that they're just practicing for when they are actually going to open their buisness. How long do you think they would be around for and do you think anyone would even ask for their service or product again! BETA testing is one thing but ALPHA developing is quite anothere. Its OK to ask for a donations but don't confuse that with actually selling a license for something in development.
Like
Version 2.1
Macd
03 December 2006
It's at verion 0.2.1 and they already sell it? Oh come on.. they must be kidding right? Things can't possibly be so bad for developers to put a price tag on (and actually sell) a version which is not even a quarter-close to the release, arrival of which is, in turn, is unknown. Regarding the features, they are currently basic, and regarding the implementation, it leaves alot to be desired (pencil update every 0.5 seconds? one can't actually draw a curve with it! only a series of straight lines!). Come on.. you should make it a time-limited beta, putting a price tag a limiting features is weird at the least.
Like
Version 0.2.1