Back to Currency Converter page
Currency Converter free download for Mac

Currency Converter Reviews

2.0.2
28 February 2014

Widget calculates currency conversions.

Kzx72
06 December 2008

Most helpful

How do I get rid of the "get for iPhone and iPod Touch" nag screen???
Like (3)
Version 1.0

Read 53 Currency Converter User Reviews

Rate this app:

zlazkow
17 October 2019
Unfortunately Apple has killed the Dashboard in Catalina. I liked this little widget very much and used almost daily. Can the developer make it as a regular application ?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.2
EnormousDave
31 August 2015
Great and stable app. Nothing else to add.
Like (3)
Version 2.0.2
Frank-O'Connor
28 February 2014
Works well, does what it says .... and the link should read: http://www.widgets.palple.net/currencyconverter/CurrencyConverter.zip The link as supplied omits the 'www' and hence fails.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Mextex
06 February 2014
I use it since 2007 and never had a problem on any version of Mac OSX. It simply does it's job very well.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.1
Mhoutman
12 January 2014
Great currency converter which I use for years. Developer also has a nice IOS app. Highly recommended !
Like
Version 2.0
Mousee
12 January 2014
I've been using this widget for years, very reliable and very easy to use.
Like (1)
Version 2.0
hwgray
03 January 2014
Currency Converter also comes as a handy Safari extension, called "Safari Currency Converter."
Like
Version 1.9.6
Archiethearchiver
29 July 2012
Version 1.9.2 crashes when attempting to open it. I am using Mac OS 10.6.8.
Like
Version 1.9.2
gbdoc
29 July 2012
Best of the lot! Good from the beginning, gets better with each update.
Like (2)
Version 1.9.2
josenetome
26 July 2012
I installed Mountain Lion and Currency Converter not worked for me. Any suggestions? Error image: http://i.imgur.com/pCaNP.png
Like
Version 1.9
1 answer(s)
josenetome
josenetome
30 July 2012
Bug Fixed! http://www.palple.net/widgets/currencyconverter/index.html
Like
Tweety-
22 July 2012
OK, now you have dropped the support for PPC, can you at least disable the check for updates in version 1.8 ?
Like
Version 1.9
1984x
05 April 2012
I have used this widget for about 6 years. It's great. Make sure you include gold ounces as one one your currencies, as a daily reminder of the speed our overlords are debasing our money. I also use the iPhone widget.
Like (1)
Version 1.9
nymphe
04 April 2012
Must have widget. It should be included with the OS X. The only thing I rarely see is that sometimes it "lags". What I mean is, I open dashboard, try to enter an amount, but the letters are entered very very slowly. It doesn't have any effect to the calculation however. Maybe it is fixed on 1.9, I couldn't test it until now.
Like
Version 1.9
Winco
04 April 2012
Excellent! The iPhone / iPad version is great too. Well worth the minor investment.
Like
Version 1.9
Amergin
30 November 2011
Use this whenever I need to convert from dollars to euro fast - stopped working last week so checked for a new version on macupdate - downloaded today and sorted! Many thanks to the developer for this great software.
Like
Version 1.8
Mhoutman
03 March 2011
simply the best widget for currency converting. Also available as iPhone app :)
Like (1)
Version 1.7
Boise-Ed
01 June 2010
I have enjoyed having Currency Converter for quite a while now. But I'm reluctant to install the latest version, called Convertitore Valute. If the developer failed to convert his Italian name into English, what else did he forget?
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
1 answer(s)
Revco
Revco
02 June 2010
I've not had any problem with v.1.5.2. You can just rename Convertitore Valute to Currency Converter if you like.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
Mayersj1
08 February 2010
When I download this and unzip it, the name of the widget has apparently changed to 'Convertitore Valute'. Is this correct?
Like (1)
Version 1.5.1
Hamiltonpaul
15 November 2009
Currency Converter works well; but, every time I use it, it requires a new "update". This gets very annoying after a while - as I now have a dozen of these previous versions of the widget on my hard-drive. . . Paul Hamilton
Like
Version 1.5
Timbo13
26 September 2009
Do you mean Chinese Yuan (CNY)?
Like
Version 1.4.1
marnold2000
18 September 2009
Am I missing something? I can't find the Chinese RMB anywhere on the list...
Like
Version 1.4
Boomshanka
09 June 2009
Seems to be an overflow somewhere: today £1 = -158.39 Zimbabwe Dollars - that's probably not right :)
Like
Version 1.3.1
Magosilvan
24 March 2009
Estremamente pratico, semplice all'uso, facilmente configurabile e frequentemente aggiornato. Insuperabile anche nel prezzo. Grazie Paolo!
Like
Version 1.2.1
Atomrocker
13 March 2009
OMG, I said it's cool but something went wrong with the new version. Or it's a temporary difficulty I don't know. It doesn't convert the Second Life Linden... :(
Like
Version 1.2.1
Nstanosheck
12 March 2009
Much needed after the included "Unit Converter" widget that did this stopped working in early March
Like (2)
Version 1.2
Bestlaw
12 March 2009
Sometimes cpu usage of dashboardclient in activity monitor rose to 92%! Where can i download the previous version?
Like
Version 1.2
1 answer(s)
Bestlaw
Bestlaw
12 March 2009
After I click the refresh icon at the bottom left hand side, cpu usage of dashboardclient rises up to 9x%. I open console and it shows: 12/03/09 6:42:17 PM DashboardClient[1439] JavaScript says: missing ecb currency on: ecb_INR 12/03/09 6:42:17 PM [0x0-0x8008].com.apple.dock[168] 2009-03-12 18:42:17.412 DashboardClient[1439:10b] JavaScript says: missing ecb currency on: ecb_INR
Like
Version 1.2
Atomrocker
11 March 2009
This widget is just great! I'm in Second Life and I used to count my L$ in HUF through google. I installed this widget and I thought it will be easier to get USD2HUF counting. Yeah that's just not enough. I said to my friend that would be awesome to have Linden in the converter. I searched the list and I nearly fell out of my chair when I saw there's a Linden field to add. OMG! It's awesome!
Like
Version 1.1
yy502
08 December 2008
didn't like the advert bar, so changed back to 0.9.9. you should update the screenshot above, since it is now misleading!
Like (2)
Version 1.0
Kzx72
06 December 2008
How do I get rid of the "get for iPhone and iPod Touch" nag screen???
Like (3)
Version 1.0
Jazzaddict
12 November 2008
i don't like widgets much. I think Apple has done a poor job with the Dashboard, but that said, this is one of the top widgets out there and one of the only reasons I keep the dashboard activated. Although now that I have an ipod touch I might not use the dashboard much anymore. I need to find a handy little stand to keep my ipod on my desk so I can use it like a calculator. But yeah... great widget. The author has done a great job with updates.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.9
Realiso
04 October 2008
Probably, no really, the best currency conversion tool available on the market - and for free. The developer also has an iPhone-version, which was what I was looking for for a while and hoped the developer would develop. Immediately bought it. I travel a lot and have to analyze many business plans in various currencies, and this is really a huge, huge help for me. The first widget I'd pay for.
Like (1)
Version 0.9.8
Syharris
30 July 2008
Very handy and easy to use. And, it can be converted into a little app via Amnesty Singles. I'd rather have an app than a widget, wouldn't you? Widgets make no sense, IMHO. Never have, never will.
Like
Version 0.9.2
1 answer(s)
Beff
Beff
20 September 2008
Hi SYHARRIS, I see the 'widget' in a different way than you. You state: "I'd rather have an app than a widget, wouldn't you? Widgets make no sense, IMHO. Never have, never will.". This in mind; I'm not familiar with: "- IMHO. Never have, never will.-". English is not my first language. I use Currency Converter (CC) as an example: I often find it useful to get a currency update. To access CC, l flip my wrist◔ up to my right in the screen and the UI is present. I then click the update-icon of CC, ☛ Info is updated. [◔-my hand using the mouse; this one is an 'old' USB-mouse from my 1999 iMac Blue, connected to my refurbished ❨2007❩ PowerBook 15" G4 Aluminium. My G4 Mac is acting up; menu-wise, info about maintenance, are welcomed], All of this actions are common knowledge, why is this a rat up yours? If the widget were a normal app, it take a few more actions beyond "flipping my wrist", getting the wanted output; given that the 'CC-normal-app', is not an easy-access menu-app. (key-command-script, CM, or a status-bar-app.). Widgets make sense to me. Widgets are normali easy to; install, access, and use. Show me your widget-rats. In my setting, your rodents will find the habitat less friendly. To my knowledge, hunting rodents is an all year season. 'One of this days': SYHARRIS, we'll gonna cure you! Just listen to "Blue-eyes". Didn't he juggle rats for a lifetime., him being one of the pack.
Like
Version 0.9.7
Dizieball
09 July 2008
Super helpful traveling and working with multiple currencies at once, Thanks for making my life a little bit easier:)
Like (2)
Version 0.9.1
Morjovy
14 October 2007
i dont like the last design update - those flags and currency labels are ugly for me. how to get back to previuos version? the widget works excellent though! super idea and nice design... except flags and labels...
Like
Version 0.7.1
Ry-ma
06 October 2007
Now works fine. Thx.
Like
Version 0.7.1
Hercules-Panayiotides
06 October 2007
Dear Developer, I have really appreciated the practicality of the converter and would happily give it a 5 star rating. I just downloaded the updated version. I am from Cyprus and I noticed that the flag that was posted with the Cyprus pound currency was the Union Jack (British flag!). I dont' know where one looks for flag icons, you guys can figure that one out . . . but when you find it it will be the shape of Cyprus in yellow in the middle, crossed olive branches in green below, on a white background. Thanks for making this service available! Hercules
Like
Version 0.7.1
Doc-Renaud
01 October 2007
Great, really ! I like the way it calculates simultaneously for many currencies.
Like (1)
Version 0.7.1
mac-34
25 September 2007
the problem has been fixed with the update. widget works perfectly now.
Like
Version 0.7
Palple
25 September 2007
Please contact me at my email address (pagri@tele2.it) so I can look into your problems with the widget.
Like
Version 0.7
User-Name
24 September 2007
It doesn't work.
Like
Version 0.7
Ry-ma
24 September 2007
With me this version does not function.
Like
Version 0.7
mac-34
19 September 2007
unfortunately, the widget stopped working for me. no idea what happened. please, help.
Like
Version 0.6.5
mrsidoric
30 June 2007
Support for VIRTUAL CURRENCY??? Oh pleeeze. Real world finance is confusing enough without the need to play make-believe too. Maybe 'Monopoly Money' is next? No need to cheapen a great concept.
Like
Version 0.6.5
2 answer(s)
Earleyedition
Earleyedition
03 July 2007
Real world finance? All money is virtual. And while I've never entered it, people are spending their 'real' money in that virtual world, so it's as valid as Nasdaq or any virtual 'shares' world. Congrats for adding it dev.
Like
Version 0.6.5
mrsidoric
mrsidoric
03 July 2007
Good point. Exchange your stocks and bonds and other 'virtual' value for SL bucks or Star bucks and see how far you get. : )
Like
Version 0.6.5
Craigd
01 February 2007
This is fantastic- thanks. Love the way you can enter an amount in one currency and all the conversions are displayed- great.
Like
Version 0.6.1
Sajdak70
11 January 2007
Excellent widget with a minor bug. Thanks for good work on it.
Like
Version 0.5
Roro01
22 December 2006
THERE IS A BUG IN IT! Safari quit unexpectedly & after re-launch got an alert - "Safari settings have been changed. Do you want to use new settings?" Also the same thing that COMPUTERNAUT describes below happened to me.
Like
Version 0.4.5
2 answer(s)
Palple
Palple
22 December 2006
I don't know about Safari crashing, but I can surely say that this isn't due to my widget, since you are only downloading a zip file. As regards the exclamation badge it's because due to a problem with my server and I noticed that yesterday you downloaded the old version of the widget (0.4.1) and not the new one.
Like
Version 0.4.5
Roro01
Roro01
22 December 2006
I downloaded it again today and it's working. Thank you very much. I don't know why Safari crashed.
Like
Version 0.4.5
hced
25 November 2006
The "New version available" exclamation icon in the lower-left part of the widget resists in disappearing, even if I'm actually using the newest version right now.
Like
Version 0.4
1 answer(s)
Sajdak70
Sajdak70
11 January 2007
The same problem. I hope in a correct future version without this confusing icon. In my opinion, that widget is excellent. To achieve 5 stars developers have to remove that annoying message. Thanks for good work - I see also Slovak koruna in a list of currencies. I didn't hope that is possible. :-)
Like
Version 0.5
Rosso
24 November 2006
In currency list the last is Ungarian Forint (HUF). In this form it is not correct. See HUF! This means: HUngarian Forint. I know, I know: it's a small country, but please correct it!
Like
Version 0.4
Nicolas-Goles
09 October 2006
I really like the software, but it keeps using A LOT of CPU power, at least 6% and max of 30 % for a widget that is TOO much (powermac G5 here)
Like
Version 0.3.5
Foyan
10 July 2006
Agree : 99,99 % perfect now ! According to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Congolese_franc, new zaïre does not exist any more since 1997.
Like
Version 0.3.5