Back to Neutrino page
Neutrino free download for Mac

Neutrino Reviews

1.95
26 July 2012

Audio player with many effects/features (was AudioCodex).

Daniel-Page
04 February 2009

Most helpful

I don't think that it supports the itunes sound check feature. I use iVolume to get all my albums playing at stable volumes (and boy, have modern alblums never sounded so bad)(Read about "Loudness Wars" if you don't know what I'm talking about), but audiocodex doesn't do anything for sound check, as far as I can tell,
Like (4)
Version 1.49

Read 28 Neutrino User Reviews

Rate this app:

Lvdoc
07 April 2016
No, the program is not dead! I went to their site and contacted the developer. He's been in touch with me several times. (Great customer service, by the way.) It's still under development, and he can link you to a PayPal site if you wish to purchase. The program is still being developed, and there are plans for an eventual version 2. (Probably a ways off.) I like several features about the program. It has nice sound quality, and in particular, it lets me use Audio Unit (AU) plugins. There are some features I'd like to see, such as genuine gapless playback and the ability to manually rearrange playlists. But on the whole, I've been pretty happy with it.
Like
Version 1.95
Maclover1-1
06 July 2014
They seem to have let it die.. Sad..
Like
Version 1.95
software-1
01 September 2011
looks and is (from the technical idea) so awesome but: the UI (cover-browsing) is really slow, artworks, included in the mp3-files itself, won't be recognized and the meta-data editing is not very handy ... hope there will be new versions and regular updates in future ... project looks not very "alive" atm ... (some more things I miss: net-radio-support, last.fm integration)
Like
Version 1.90
Dougster
04 April 2011
Top quality software. The best music player there has ever been for the Mac. Brilliant :-)
Like (2)
Version 1.90
Sharlassou
02 January 2011
not sure why just me is having troubles with this program cause lots of the other reviews are ok. but I am rating this version & maybe not future versions if they ever come out. my overall raiting is so low because I can not even get Neutrino to open on my mac. I clicked to open & sits there for handful of secs like 5 seconds. then nothing happens no windows show up or nothing all it does then is quit or crash. I dont know even cause the dock icon disappears for the program but it never shows a crash alert thing like when other programs crash they ask if i want to send details to Apple. I bet every one knows what alert I mean when a program crashed. so thats weird to me cause again I am not even real sure if the app is still like runnin in the back ground & taking memory up er some thing. ah well no hard feelings to the developers I hope but I am just putting on my real episode experience with their program. but the feature list sounds real good & I will surely check in back now & than to see if there is a update or some thing that might fix my problems. and if they do then I will for sure be back & give it at least a little higher score I"m sure cause if it runs and opens at all then thats something at least better then now for sure! I hope things get fixed & I will surely keep my eyes looking out for an update for this one!
Like (2)
Version 1.86
1 answer(s)
Codexmachina
Codexmachina
24 January 2011
Hi Sharlassou, We have not received any email from you as far as I can see. Can you please resend it, or better yet post on our forums at http://support.machinecodex.com and we will get beck to you as quickly as we can. Thanks for your feedback, I hope we can get this issue sorted out for you. Cheers, Alex
Like (1)
Djefis
11 December 2010
The developer is very responsible and the software is powerful, flexible and has an interface much appreciated.
Like (1)
Version 1.86
2 answer(s)
Sharlassou
Sharlassou
02 January 2011
I just put my review above yours & had so far way other experience. I dont wanna repeat my review above right here again but the program just crashes or will not work on my mac which has snow leopard & is up to date with apple updates. but I am replying to your comment cause you said the developer is very responsible. may be cause of the holidays & such the developer has been slow to reply to my emails but its been like at least 2 weeks but probably more like 3 since I sent my 1st email to them asking about why it crashes & if they could help. but like I said that was at least 2 too 3 weeks ago that I sent that & I also followed up with them again like a week & half ago. but still no answer or anything from them. and yes I checked my spam box :) but since u obviously have had some experience with them it seems like & it was good exp than like I said maybe they were busy or away for the christmas holidays. if or when I get a e-mail reply from them I will change or update this reply review er however it works :) but I will for sure post any update or contact I get from them.
Like (1)
Thyx
Thyx
30 January 2011
@Djefis: are you kidding? It's not updated since '09, and the last time I tried (which was '09) it needed some improvements. Basically, it's dead or the dev is responsibly hiding somewhere. I had high hopes (the speed options, e.g.) and was near ready to buy the next version which reduced the cpu load... which never came, unfortunately.
Like (3)
Twisted
23 May 2010
Any hope for a new version? I liked and bought Neutrino but since the lack of last.fm scrobbling I never used it so I trashed it :(
Like (1)
Version 1.86
Dougster
13 November 2009
This must rate as the best player for the Mac.Not a fault with it. Brilliant! (Oh,MacLover, and here's another 5 stars to go with yours!).
Like (1)
Version 1.86
Maclover1-1
13 November 2009
Forgot to give it stars :-) Here they are !
Like (1)
Version 1.86
Maclover1-1
13 November 2009
This latest release does not crash :-) Sexiest player ever is back in my good books lol
Like (1)
Version 1.86
Maclover1-1
11 November 2009
Gave the latest version a spin.. well no, not really as it crashes on launch on my system... trashed the preferences, tried again.. crash... oh well.. this app is like a gorgeous girl who's bad in bed...looks unfortunately are just that.. app looks great.. at least in images lol So my second first impression is.. forget it and stick to the solid and free stuff like iTunes.
Like
Version 1.80
1 answer(s)
Codexmachina
Codexmachina
13 November 2009
Hi Maclover, We are very concerned to hear that you had a problem with Neutrino, and we would love to work with you to find out the cause of the crash on your system. If you are interested in getting a resolution to your problem, please post a message at our forum at http://www.machinecodex.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=11 Thanks for your review. Alex MachineCodex Admin
Like (1)
Version 1.80
Mrchips
11 September 2009
I am in love with this app (don't tell my wife...:)! It isn't just the many ways Neutrino can manipulate the sound, or the iTunes integration, or video support, or the animations, or AU plug-in capability, or its ease of use. It is ALL that PLUS it is just gorgeous looking (PLEASE don't tell my wife!)... I've used lots of audio apps over the years, many with some of the same audio capabilities, but for pure joy of use Neutrino has them all beat! I am amazed by the attention to detail I see in the interface, and it makes it all so easy to use . Neutrino is the Scrivener of audio applications!
Like (2)
Version 1.70.56
Maclover1-1
03 August 2009
Looks great.. seems to be quite versatile.. yet it gets miserably sluggish when accessing anything in its iTunes Browser section... if I try and load a track form there it seems to analyze its wave dospaly forever (to the point I force quit it a few times). When I read movies or music NOT form the iTunes browser everythong is fast and responsive.. dunno.. that is weird.
Like (2)
Version 1.70.56
Djefis
02 August 2009
Neutrino is simply fantastic, I had AudioCodex before and, for free, I received Neutrino. Now I have two Player .... I can say that, for something I like it more than iTunes. Thanks to the Dev.
Like (2)
Version 1.70.56
Twisted
29 July 2009
Neutrino is the player! Every audiophile and music lover will like it. And the interface is just gorgeous. Finally we got the right replacement for iTunes.
Like (3)
Version 1.70
Daniel-Page
04 February 2009
I don't think that it supports the itunes sound check feature. I use iVolume to get all my albums playing at stable volumes (and boy, have modern alblums never sounded so bad)(Read about "Loudness Wars" if you don't know what I'm talking about), but audiocodex doesn't do anything for sound check, as far as I can tell,
Like (4)
Version 1.49
1 answer(s)
Alex-Clarke
Alex-Clarke
06 February 2009
We are working on an implementation of SoundCheck for AudioCodex, and currently plan for it to be included in the next few updates. Thanks, Alex Clarke
Like (4)
Version 1.49
Digital-Fury
31 January 2009
Not bad if you like gimmicky sound effects and eye candy, but for me it's all about the music, and it doesn't support FLAC. $30 really? No thanks, I'll stick with the *free* Vox, which does support FLAC.
Like (2)
Version 1.49
1 answer(s)
Alex-Clarke
Alex-Clarke
06 February 2009
Hi, AudioCodex 1.50, due out soon, will support FLAC playback in QuickTime mode through the XiphQT plug-in, an optional third party QuickTime addition. Regards, Alex Clarke
Like (3)
Version 1.49
Dougster
29 December 2008
This update is superb. With AudioCodex around there really is no need for any other music player. What AC can do, others can't. Amazing.
Like (1)
Version 1.48
Masterwow
07 December 2008
Is it possible to play songs reverse?
Like (1)
Version 1.47
1 answer(s)
Alex-Clarke
Alex-Clarke
29 December 2008
At present, it is not possible to use AudioCodex to play an entire track backwards. Please see the thread below for further details on playing portions of a track backwards: http://www.machinecodex.com/forum/showthread.php?tid=98
Like
Version 1.47
Dougster
27 July 2008
Version 1.30 (latest) is superb. I dumped iTunes ages ago in favour of AudioCodex. This software is amazing. To all reading this, do yourself a favour and try out this excellent audio player. It's the bee's knees! I like it so much I would marry it tomorrow! Absolutely brilliant.
Like (2)
Version 1.3
Dougster
10 May 2008
Superb software. The people behind AudioCodex are brilliant for replying to feature requests. My previous (and only) complaint about AudioCodex was its lack of a date added/modified column in its playlist(s). No sooner had I requested such a feature when, hey presto, it was incorporated into the new (current) release! I could not have asked for more. AC is a joy to use with its pitch shifts and,well,too much stuff to list. Highly recommended.
Like (1)
Version 1.0
Xypher
02 May 2008
Would buy this if it supported all my screensavers, why only .qtz?
Like
Version 1.0
1 answer(s)
Alex-Clarke
Alex-Clarke
08 May 2008
Please let us know which screensavers you'd like AudioCodex to support, via a feature request on our forums. http://www.machinecodex.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=5 Thanks for your feedback!
Like
Version 1.0
Djefis
30 December 2007
Simply fantastic. My favourite Player after iTunes. Every one has to have this player on your own Mac. It is free (beta), at the moment.
Like
Version 0.94b
papericons
15 September 2007
I used this when it was MachineHead and was very impressed. It worked fine. I was really looking forward to trying out the new version .92b but it crashes upon start-up. I get the message "The application AudoCodex quit unexpectedly". I am using a MacBook Pro with OS X 10.4.10. My iTunes library is stored on an external drive. Any help would be appreciated!!!
Like
Version 0.92b
1 answer(s)
Alex-Clarke
Alex-Clarke
16 September 2007
Hi Pennyhead, Can you please either send us your email address or contact us via our forums so we can look into you issue. Thanks, Alex Clarke
Like
Version 0.92b
Unicumum
26 July 2007
Increditble, given the point its at. Eh....all I can say so far is...WOW.
Like
Version 0.80b
Macsterdam
25 July 2007
Strangely enough there are no review here, which is weird, as this is an amazing piece of software. Great feature, easy to use, and (hey, I'm a Mac user) cool looking. Anyone even remotely interested in music/audio, give this a try. Wasting your time is hardly ever this much fun. Seriously recommended!
Like (1)
Version 0.80b
Macericg
27 August 2006
I don't get it. I lose my pitch setting if I click anywhere else to compare a sample vs. another sound file, resetting everything back to the start. Is this how MachineHead is meant to work?
Like
Version 0.48b
1 answer(s)
Xonkoman
Xonkoman
29 August 2006
Time/Pitch settings are only preserved for 'loops'; to create a loop, select the track in the Tunes or Tracks list, and click the 'Loop' button, or use the 'Control>NewLoop...' menu, or right/ctrl-click on the song and use the 'New Loop...' item in the contextual menu. Or use drag&drop into the 'Loops' tableview, either direct from iTunes, or from the Finder. HTH :)
Like
Version 0.48b
Jozseph
23 August 2006
'rSimple interface, fast, great functionality, integrated with iTunes, reasonable price. What's not to like?
Like (1)
Version 0.48b