Back to FontExplorer X Pro page
FontExplorer X Pro free download for Mac

FontExplorer X Pro Reviews

7.0.0
29 October 2019

Font management software.

Most helpful

Font Explorer works fine. But since version 4 they have bleached most of the color out of it. I find this distasteful, as in bad taste. Color is a navigation ail as well as aesthetic enhancement. All white and black is harder to use. The followed Apple in their abandonment of usability in the macOS. Bad move.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.7

Read 264 FontExplorer X Pro User Reviews

Rate this app:

Yoshita
10 February 2020
FEX is good, however it's 2020, and Linotype somehow thinks it's reasonable that I should manually mirror my library on my laptop whenever I made a change on my desktop - or vice versa. Oh right, they want to sell me their 1,500€ server software. Meanwhile, Suitcase Fusion supports cloud sync + backup, and the app costs even less than the FEX client.
Like
Version 7.0.0
Cyzor
05 December 2019
Excellent for categorizing and organizing fonts, but terrible at automatically activating them when needed. FontExplorer provides plugins to help applications load and unload fonts on demand, but they rarely work properly. Instead, you may find yourself repeatedly initiating that process manually.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.0
David-e-c
03 December 2019
Hi, please, which fonts are bundled free with FEX 7? as announced on main FEX webpage (Over $1,000 in fonts bundled in for free!) thanks.
Like
Version 7.0.0
Mbhayes
13 November 2019
Great app! But they always take too long in updating their plugins for the new Adobe CC suite.
Like (1)
Version 7.0.0
incrzr
05 September 2019
Slow, slower - FontExplorer!
Like
Version 6.0.9
Lesoth0
17 July 2019
v6.09 changes are: • Fixed black background display issues for MacOS versions previous to Mojave 10.14 • Fixed Dark Mode issue with Slideshow transparency
Like
Version 6.0.9
karenlowery5
24 June 2019
I am using Font Explorer Pro 4.2.4 build and a lot of my fonts say "Not Available".....I have read some on line that it is because of Adobe and CC. Is there a fix?? Does one have to upgrade to the newest FEP to make it work? Any help is appreciated. About ready to jump to a different font manager. Input welcome. Thanks
Like
Version 6.0.8
1 answer(s)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
17 July 2019
I have no problems using the latest version of Font Explorer 6 with any of my fonts. It would make more sense to upgrade to the latest version of FEP rather than jump ship since your version of FEP is several years old.
Like
Mbhayes
20 June 2019
Is this a legit upgrade? No mention of it on Monotype website and doesn't show up as an update in 6.0.7 update window. Plus no release notes which is unusual as well.
Like
Version 6.0.8
Font Explorer works fine. But since version 4 they have bleached most of the color out of it. I find this distasteful, as in bad taste. Color is a navigation ail as well as aesthetic enhancement. All white and black is harder to use. The followed Apple in their abandonment of usability in the macOS. Bad move.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.7
Stan7
29 April 2019
I have a problem with dark mode in FontExplorer X Pro v6.0.6 (macOS Mojave 10.14.4) - Texts in panels are displayed in white color, but the panels themselves are also displayed in white- light gray color. Therefore, the textsares "invisible"! It's very restrictive at work.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.6
2 answer(s)
Malacandra
Malacandra
01 May 2019
I'm having the same problem. Very frustrating. You have to wonder how this possibly got out of testing with a very visible bug like this.
Like
Ervins Strauhmanis
Ervins Strauhmanis
07 May 2019
Current version of the app is indeed of limited use in dark mode and there is no "off" switch in the options.
But this can be fixed via Terminal. To force the app into light mode execute the following command:

defaults write com.linotype.FontExplorerX NSRequiresAquaSystemAppearance -bool yes
Like (6)
M-Prewitt
27 February 2019
Easily the best and most powerful font manager for the Mac. The capabilities of its smart sets are unrivaled. I've looked at every significant Mac font manager, and would never consider another option for my needs. I have over 13,000 fonts, and still this app remains snappy. (I am currently experiencing some slow startup times on my home installation. Less of a problem on my work computer. But after startup it works great.)
Like (1)
Version 6.0.5
Version 6 flushes out all the color that made it easier to identify fonts, collections and menus. It's consistent with OS X's less than helpful design standards, but not with usability standards. Bad move. A total waste of money. I'll be asking for instruction on downgrading and for my money back. Bust.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.4
JamesHarrisPhoto
26 March 2018
As a long time font designer (since 1989), FontExplorer X Pro has no equal. Throughout the years, I've used a wide range of font managers including Suitcase, Font Reserve, Adobe Type Mangager (ATM), MasterJuggler, Font Book (Apple) and Font Agent Pro, and nothing has worked consistently better for managing a large collection of fonts. If you're serious about fonts, and not just a casual user, then THIS is the tool.
Like (4)
Version 6.0.4
Tony-Aguila
18 October 2017
I would like to caution users of Adobe CC apps using the FontExplorer X Pro auto-activation plug-ins. They do not work with the latest (2018) versions of CC so if automatic font activation is important to you, you may want to hold off updating your CC apps—at least the ones using those plug-ins (InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop). Once you update these, the installer will remove the older (2017) apps. I’m hoping Monotype will issue an update soon.
Like (3)
Version 6.0.3
4 answer(s)
grasshopper-1
grasshopper-1
18 January 2018
How do you get the font auto-activation to work? I can't find any info on this online. Do I need to get these 'plugins' from somewhere? I'm not a tech whiz, just an illustrator CS6 and CC user. thx.
Like
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
18 January 2018
@grasshopper-1: In FontExplorer, with the main window open, go to Tools -> Plug-in Manager… and the drop-down window will enable you to install or remove the auto-activation extensions for each of the apps.
Like (1)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
26 March 2018
Plugins have been updated.
Like
kristens-1
kristens-1
14 March 2019
Having this problem again with PS CC 2019. Does not seem to be working with PS CC 2019 plugin. Activated fonts are displaying pixelated in PS with "2019 plugin" installed. But when I look at plug-in info in PS, it says 2015. In FontEx plugin manager you can see that the version number is unchanged since 2015.
Like
Kobalt
02 January 2017
I don't mind if Linotype wants to milk their cow for all the cash they can get out of it and release a new version every year, but what I do mind is that they immediately halt all maintenance to the previous version.

Here I am (and many others like me from the comments below and elsewhere), happy to be using v5.x. when along comes bloody Adobe with their own version of the money-tree and an update to CC2017.

Now, I would've expected Linotype to just do a quick-ish plugin maintenance release for the users of v5.x, but oh no, no service to be had here for existing customers. Instead we're all expected to cough up yet again for an 'upgrade' most of us do not need, all so we can continue to use their code.

I was just going to make this a Comment, but am so pissed off with it all that it's now a Review with a Rating. Bloody corporates. }:-(
Like (7)
Version 6.0.1
2 answer(s)
Macmuser
Macmuser
03 October 2017
This seems to be the same across the board and I agree with your feelings on the matter. I'm also surprised that there is not open source font handler with low cost plug-ins. Is it difficult to get the upfront costs paid with profit and then small amounts for the plug-ins?
Like
Lesoth0
Lesoth0
04 October 2017
Quite simple to fix without costing a bean.

Stick to v5.5, but download the free v6.03 demo. Run it, install the new Adobe CC2017 / Quark 2017 plug-ins from FEX 6.03. Quit it, and you've got yourself running plug-ins that'll work in v5.5 (but you can't access them). Quark and Adobe will work though. :)
Like (1)
Macmuser
18 December 2016
I used to run the old free FontExplorer, shifted to FontReserve (The best IMHO) and then Suitcase when Extensis brought out Fusion. Suitcase has never caused problems with my fonts but Suitcase has become a regular update to keep compatibility with MacOSX. This year I thought I would try updating my old FontExplorer instead. Bad move!

FontExplorer has determined many of my fonts are corrupted, even though Font Doctor, Font Book and Suitcase disagrees with this and work with them without problems. This is because, I think, FontExplorer relies only on the internal name of the font. Suitcase has FontSense to get around this little problem.

I have been unable to get screen previews of the fonts that aren't 'corrupt' and working in FontExplorer brings a succession of Warnings that my fonts are in the wrong place. The very location FontExplorer moved them automatically when it build its library.

Auto activation is hit and miss, fonts that should open with a document are either not available at all or just don't open. Plug-ins for older applications are missing, especially Adobe CS5.

FontExplorer's interface is still very old fashioned. I'm not lover of Suitcase's which is cartoonish but it is clear, fast and easy to work with. In comparison FontExplorer looks like something from MacOS 8.

I contacted Linotype about my problems with FontExplorer and while I got an answer, I haven't had any solutions. I usually find Extensis reply same day with the solution if I ever have a glitch with Suitcase.

Consequently I have abandoned FontExplorer and gone back to an old version of Suitcase, writing to Linotype and asking for a refund. My conclusion is that Suitcase is by far the best font handler. Otherwise use FontBook.
Like (3)
Version 6.0.1
2 answer(s)
Macmuser
Macmuser
22 December 2016
Further to the above, I have received a full refund from Linotype after I sent them the gist of the review.
Like
Macmuser
Macmuser
03 October 2017
Suitcase Fusion 6 is working in High Sierra. The plug-ins are behind the times but if you use older apps they still work as well.
Like
Cookie08
17 December 2016
This app works well however the biggest problem with this app is the the main program has to be running all the time to work???? All the other main heavy duty font managers run with a small background app the main app never needs to be open. I have written to them asking about this and the reply was well thats the way it works ??????? If it app would run in the background I would be happy to continue to use it as it has some excellent features. All the features are working with Sierra beta 10.12 6b and adobe CC 2017.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.1
1 answer(s)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
28 April 2017
The difference between a foreground and background app in this case is negligible. While Font Explorer shows up in the Dock and Application Switcher, no window is open unless you choose to open one. If you check Activity Monitor you'll find it uses little memory and no CPU cycles. Indeed, many background processes use more. Your concern in this regard is misinformed and misplaced.
Like (3)
Panocha
17 December 2016
It's really sad, this used to be great software. Now they have lost quality and stability and instead of it being free, they are overcharging. They would have been a lot smarter to keep their software free and high quality, then offer in app purchases and subscriptions for fonts. A lot of businesses would have signed up in a minute. Now, with the direction they have taken, they are putting themselves out of business.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.1
Tony-Aguila
03 November 2016
Once again, they seem to be lagging behind the latest developments. A vital feature of any serious font management utility is font auto-activation. One important feature of FontExplorer is automatic font activation in Adobe Creative Cloud apps so it was to be expected that they would be up-to-date with the latest version. As of this writing, their auto-activation plugins for Illustrator, InDesign, and Photoshop are nowhere to be found.
Like (4)
Version 6.0
Tony-Aguila
27 September 2016
Version 6.0 works in Sierra, but not in 10.12.1 public beta. It will run for some time (minutes to hours, sometimes) and then suddenly the activated fonts are not available to the system, including Creative Cloud apps with auto-activation plug-ins. The problem is not with the plug-ins because other apps like Text Edit and Numbers, can suddenly report missing fonts even though the FEX window still shows them to be active and they render properly within FEX. If you’re running 10.12 and are using FontExplorer X Pro, just don’t install Sierra beta just yet. The issue has been reported to Apple.
Like (2)
Version 6.0
Polyfade
20 September 2016
A maintenance update for their own bug fixes doesn't warrant an upgrade fee. The gui remains awful and unconventional for the past 3 versions now. Ugly as sin.
Like (5)
Version 6.0
Edac2
15 September 2016
$49 a year to upgrade a utility that is essentially the same as it was three versions ago is not worth it to me. FEX 6 doesn't even look different.
Like (7)
Version 6.0
Septimus
15 September 2016
I must say the upgrade price does seem a little steep. But there are a lot more new features in FE6 than that are mentioned here on MU. Check them here: http://www.fontexplorerx.com/macfeatures/
Like (1)
Version 6.0
Tim27
15 September 2016
This used to be good software back when they had both a free version and a paid one. Now it's far too expensive for what it does and has some activation bugs. Additionally, I don't know who they have designing their website, but it is one of the worst I have ever seen. Literally just a list of text for features and that's it. No screenshots. No videos. Nothing. I'd like to know who thought that was a good idea? They have no marketing department there whatsoever. My 1 star rating does not include the website review. It's only for the poor support, features and upgrade fees for the app itself.
Like (9)
Version 6.0
JamesHarrisPhoto
15 September 2016
Way more than just a maintenance release. http://www.fontexplorerx.com/macfeatures/
Like (1)
Version 6.0
4 answer(s)
Seanc
Seanc
15 September 2016
If you're a current user of v5.x, the "what's new in v6" list is downright paltry, most of which add no value to even power users. Charging $50 bucks for it is reprehensible. The truth is they're charging $50 to change the version number by a single integer, and because a year has passed since they last charged $50 to change the 4 to a 5.
Like (5)
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
15 September 2016
I disagree. I've updated and like the new features. No one is making you upgrade, so you have the right to stay with 5.
Like
Seanc
Seanc
15 September 2016
Which specific new features do you find justify the upgrade from 5.5 to 6.0?
Like (1)
Lesoth0
Lesoth0
15 September 2016
Basically a plug-in update to ride the Upgrade Train of Quark 2016 and Adobe CC 2015.buggy.
Like (1)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
15 September 2016
The blurb here on MacUpdate is less than helpful. Check the Monotype website: http://www.fontexplorerx.com/macfeatures/. There'll you'll find a list of enhancements and improvements in version 6. This is more than a maintenance release. That said, I haven't felt the need to upgrade FontExplorer X since version 4. The changes in versions 5 and 6 are primarily for power users—which is not me. Not, at least, to the extent served in these versions. Still, I cannot blame the developer for endeavoring to add value to the application. There must be a market for these features somewhere. If that's not you, well, stick with whatever version you're currently using as long as you can. As far as I can tell there is no imperative to upgrade if you don't need the new features—or haven't upgraded OS X beyond compatibility with your current version of FEX. By the way, while looking at the features list it occurred to me that I hadn't backed up the app in a long time. In checking the (manual) backup options I found that they are quite thorough. I recommend it. In regard to compatibility issues, version 4 works with OS X through version 10.10 Yosemite. I won't have to worry about upgrading FEX until I upgrade to 10.11 or 10.12 (I'm currently using OS 10.9.5 Mavericks). You can find more information on the FontExplorer X download page at http://www.fontexplorerx.com/download/. Frankly I've found the website easy to use and most informative—quite unusual these days, where bells and whistles routinely impede usability. On the site I learned that FontExplorer X Pro version 4.x has the widest range of compatibility, from OS X 10.6 through OS X 10.10—though version 3 also runs through five iterations of OS X, from 10.4 through 10.9.5. Check the web site for more info if you need it. I've been using FontExplorer since the days when it was a free app from Linotype (since subsumed by Monotype). I've been happy with the app and paid for version one and every upgrade through version four. If FEX doesn't suit you for whatever reason there are other font management applications to choose from, many listed above.
Like (5)
Version 6.0
Mindplay
15 September 2016
Way too pricey for what actually is a "maintenance" release, especially for long time users. Also buggy on macOS Sierra.
Like (4)
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Mindplay
Mindplay
15 September 2016
So unhappy with it that I looked around and tried RightFont. It's such a good replacement so far. It organizes fonts and plays well with other apps. It's faster and for the price of the update I purchased a full license. So long guys...
Like (2)
distreszed
15 September 2016
works well. a little bit on the pricey side, but still ok compared to suitcase fusion.
Like
Version 6.0
Emmanuel-Martinat
14 September 2016
I'am so disappointed about this release. So few enhancement for such a price. FontExplorerX is a reliable font manager but I fear Monotype run the same way Insider's FontAgent software : a yearly fee for eye candy.
Like (3)
Version 6.0
Emmanuel-Martinat
14 September 2016
I'am so disappointed about this release. So few enhancement for such a price. FontExplorerX is a reliable font manager but I fear Monotype run the same way Insider's FontAgent software : a yearly fee for eye candy.
Like (2)
Version 6.0
Seanc
14 September 2016
So what's new in 6.0 are primarily bug fixes, and Monotype wants to charge existing customers $50 bucks? Oh, there's an enhanced feature to auto classify fonts you buy from Monotype (wow, what an enhancement -- auto-classifying the fonts you sell), otherwise you classify your fonts manually just as you did in 5.x. But wait, there's more.... the interface now supports Japanese, something so many of us customers have been clamoring for. What a time to be alive. Seriously, Monotype, how do you justify charging us $50? The truth is, you can't. You release a "new" version once a year, in effect creating a subscription model for a font manager for $50 per annum.
Like (7)
Version 6.0
Tony-Aguila
03 August 2016
Just a FYI: It does not work in macOS Sierra public beta.
Like
Version 5.5.1
9 answer(s)
Macmansc
Macmansc
15 August 2016
Are there any that are working to your knowledge?
Like
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
15 August 2016
The latest version of FontAgent (7.0.9) as well as FontAgent Pro 6.502 both work in Sierra (public beta). The former is useless to me even in El Capitan because of its inability to group by font families.
Like
Macmansc
Macmansc
16 August 2016
I'll test out the new public beta in the morning.
Like
Macmansc
Macmansc
16 August 2016
seems to work with the Sierra (public beta) as of 8/15.
Like
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
16 August 2016
I just installed the latest beta last night, no chance to test FEX Pro yet. If it works now, the fix must have been from Apple’s end. Maybe they do pay attention to Feedback reports.
Like
Macmansc
Macmansc
16 August 2016
Just to clarify. The issue I had with FEX was that when it was running, I couldn't launch Mail, Safari would hang, Firefox would hang, etc. Some apps would work others wouldn't. I assume i was something in the handling of fonts. In any event, my issue there seems to be resolved. I'm testing other aspects of it today now that it's running.
Like
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
16 August 2016
Exactly! The same thing was happening here. Now that I’ve done a bit of testing, it looks like the incompatibility has been resolved with the latest Sierra beta version. Another major step closer to installing Sierra on my primary drive, but not quite yet.
Like
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
14 September 2016
I used FEX all the way through the Sierra public beta testing and didn't have any issues. Wonder if there was a third component that might have been the problem here?
Like
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
14 September 2016
FEX Pro 6.0 doesn’t look or feel any different from the previous 5.x version. In fact, the same bug that I reported to them is still there. After importing forts, the report window flashes text for a fraction of a second and is then blank. Saving the report results in an unreadable .rtf file. My $49 upgrade didn’t go far.
Like
Tim27
15 July 2016
When this app first came out there was a free version and a pro version. This allowed people to use an app that was better than the Mac's Fontbook, but with the option to upgrade for pros and designers. This was a good way to market the app. Unfortunately, they did away with the free version. I purchased the pro version a while back, but stopped using it after a couple years because its Adobe plugins caused more problems than they solved. Additionally, it would randomly turn fonts off that I previously turned on, even though I checked the preferences to make sure it wouldn't do that.
So I uninstalled it and just use Fontbook. Hopefully they fixed all the bugs this had, but even if they didn't this app is not worth $100. In fact, there isn't a font management tool around today worth $100, and I've tried them all. I wish Adobe would bring back ATM Deluxe.
Like
Version 5.5.1
MacParc
14 July 2016
Wrong MU News There is no v5.5.1 at this time! :-(
Like (1)
Version 5.5.1
1 answer(s)
Dudirowski
Dudirowski
14 July 2016
It's not the first time that MacUpdate sends out an email about a new update and when I try to download it there's no new version available.

I don't know what is causing this. Maybe developers pull back updates at the last minute if they find something problematic.
Like (2)
Forn
27 February 2016
FontExplorer was always way too expenisve.
Like (1)
Version 5.5
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
27 February 2016
And that's why you give this app half a star? Nothing to do with quality, versatility and functionality, then?

If that's the case, I'll take your rating for what it's worth - half a star.
Like (8)
JamesHarrisPhoto
26 February 2016
As a professional font designer since 1990 (Harris Design), I have tried every font manager over the years, including Suitcase Fusion, Adobe Type Manager (the old ATM), FontAgent Pro, MasterJuggler, etc., and nothing has the breadth of features that FontExplorer X Pro has. If you have a lot of fonts, and you love typography, then this is the only font manager you'll need.
Like (8)
Version 5.5
1 answer(s)
Macmuser
Macmuser
18 December 2016
I disagree 100%. See my review below.

FontExplorer relies on only on seeing the correct font name. If this has changed or differs from the internal name, Linotype will mark it as corrupt or will not recognise the font.

Also FontExplorer has to remain open all the time while Suitcase (and others) have a little background app that automatically handles opening and closing fonts. It's only when you want to select new ones or use the facilities of Suitcase that you need to open the full application. An added bonus is you get a free copy of Font Doctor that keeps all the typefaces, System or otherwise, in full working order and trouble-free..
Like
Yoshita
16 August 2015
Because of Apple's inability to make a decent font manager, this has been my tool of choice since like forever. It has a great UI, performs flawlessly, and has a great integration with major foundries for easy shopping (although I miss T26 and some of the more edgy/smaller foundries). The fact that, after all these years, it's still not possible to make the app scan a folder for missing fonts, is nothing short of embarrassing, however.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.1
1 answer(s)
Whit-g
Whit-g
06 October 2015
Do you mean scan a folder of design files to search for fonts need for that project? If you're referring to the scanning of existing font library folders for fonts that aren't in the expected location, FEX does that automatically by displaying them in red in real time, which I find very helpful when moving or deleting fonts from the Finder.
Like (1)
sjhain
08 August 2015
the Upgrade-prize seams to me in german language: "Abzocke" for just minor improvements!
Like (2)
Version 5.0.1
Kobalt
31 July 2015
WHOA! A drastically different look between v5.0 and v5.0.1!
Like
Version 5.0.1
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
31 July 2015
Sorry about the gushing. I meant to say between v4 and v5. Just ignore me. <blush>
Like (1)
Reskator
26 July 2015
I have a problem with the licence file. FontExplorer does not memorize my license. In every launch (in every starting up) I have to select the .fcl file I wanted to send a message to the support but the form does not work:-/ While everything the required fields are filled, I always obtain the message " Error occured while sending your request, please try again " Grrrrrr
Like
Version 5.0
2 answer(s)
carpedsgn
carpedsgn
29 July 2015
I can't even open my license file without the "unauthorized bundle" message. FEX Support form doesn't work for me either. Same message "error occurred while sending your request". I've tried several times over the last couple of days. No phone number to call, no email contact.
I concur Grrrrrrr.
Like (1)
Reskator
Reskator
02 August 2015
To remedy the problem with the licence file :
Quit FontExplorer
Go to Home/ Library / Application Support / Linotype / FontExplorer X and delete ClientLicence.fcl
Launch FontExplorer and select the licence file (FEX pro 5.x xxxx.fcl).
The file ClientLicence.fcl will be created and the information preserved from a launch to the other one :-)
Like
macupdate-236
07 July 2015
We bought a v4upgrade end of 2014 and now they want to hit us again for another upgrade! We have CC 2015 and need the plugins but really unfair to charge $46 x 50 (50 user license) for a previous upgrade not even 8 months old! At the very least it should be half of upgrade price. Going to switch to something else...Now just a rip off.
Like (7)
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
Kong
Kong
10 August 2015
Absolutely agree with you: I just complained at Linotype/Font Explorer yesterday about the same thing. I see no big progress since version 3.xy, except I always had (and still have) font activation problems in Adobe apps.
To charge that much money just to not render the app totally obsolete if you are an Adobe CC user is an outrage, I'm sorry to say that so strongly!
Like
Forkme
30 June 2015
If I was a nicer person and FEX was a nicer program, I would leave 3 stars but I feel the need to offset the five star reviews. I have used FEX for years and I have had problems for years. I'll admit the competition like Suitcase isn't much better and OSX's Font Book seems lame (though on some of my computers, it seems to work better than FEX, as long as I m not using more than a few hundred fonts). So what's the problem you ask? Both Adobe and Microsoft continually fail to load "some" fonts whether I have Intercept Font Requests on or off. More than once I have inadvertenly started the Clean Organized Font Folders task (probably a key combo?) and that still crashes in 4.x though back in 3.x they said they fixed it. That's why I'm here at the moment - the lastest cleaning has run for several hours with no feedback so I will have to force quit it. The previous time I did a cleaning, it threw some the only versions of fonts on this computer into the trash. I assumed cleaning meant to remove damaged or duplicate fonts. The fonts in the trash worked perfectly fine when I reinstalled the trashed files back into FEX. I'm using both older and newer machines and Lion 10.7 (one machine) through Yosemite 10.10.3 (all others) and the same problems plague all. Trying to find answers via support channels I get the same "reinstall" crap over and over. I have not discovered any organized user to user forum. And when I have done a complete fresh install of OSX, MS and Adobe, I still run into FEX problems. Of course YMMV and maybe you've never had a problem with it, but I'm not confident another $$$ upgrade is going to fix this - previous ones haven't.
Like (5)
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
Kong
Kong
10 August 2015
Pretty much the same or similar experience here. And a very unresponsive support to boot. Very annoying to always have to write them several times, each time escalating the tone until finally someone bothers to answer… And not a word on their website about older versions of FE not working in CC2015, not on the regular site, not in the skimpy blog.

Baaaad behavior for a company charging customers so shamellessly.
Like
Reskator
30 June 2015
$49 it is a high price to pay for an esthetic update: Not of real novelties in the fonts management. (same versions of plugins). Concerning the online help and a tutoriel, that just underlines the fact that they were not relevant until now … 4 stars because that remains an excellent fonts manager, but only 1 star for this update.
Like (2)
Version 5.0
mark-bischoff
30 June 2015
Sorry Way to expensive for so little changes. There must be a better price for long time Users.
Problems with the plugins - better stay on the old one until they have fixed it
Like (8)
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
mark-bischoff
mark-bischoff
15 July 2016
After a long discussion with the developers.

No longer Support for Adobe CS Suite 5.5 and older!!
The old Plugins aren't working in 5.5, so for Example Indesign does not recondite the active Fonts…

Sorry Dev Team - this is absolute unacceptable
Problem there was no Information about this - so Users update to version 5 and there Software is now worthless
Like
They should fix all the bugs they list in an update to Font Explorer 4.x. To oblige us to pay $49 for bug fixes is outrageous. As for the Yosemite style interface changes, that's another turn off. Yosemite's UI is a huge downgrade in usability, which means FontExplorer 5 will be harder to use as well. After all, Yosemite is for all practical purposes still in beta and there's no knowing if Apple will ever fix it properly. They, too, are moving on to a new version. At least it will be a free upgrade. If El Capitan pans out I may skip Yosemite all together. In the meantime, I'm still using Mavericks. I've been a fan of FontExplorer since the free beta and have paid for every upgrade since. But not this time. The value simply isn't there for me. And a paid upgrade to fix bugs is gag inducing. It says to me that Monotype has moved over to the dark side, where providing a quality product is no longer a high priority. It's been replaced by short-sighted, short-term money making strategies. Can you spell "clueless"? This is the first time I've felt hostile to a FontExplorer upgrade. Sad days.
Like (4)
Version 5.0
Revco
29 June 2015
$65 AUD is way too much to pay for a feature little upgrade. All I want are the FEX extensions to work with CC 2015. I bet they won't update v4's extensions for CC 2105 compatibility. Sigh...every time something updates is breaks something else and you're out of pocket more than you expected. I wish Abobe would do an ATM again.
Like (2)
Version 5.0
5 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
29 June 2015
For just the new plugins, simply download the v5 demo, open the package, find the plugin folder and copy the new PlugIns.bundle (dated June 27) to the plugin folder of your existing installed version 4.x., overwriting the old bundle. Now you can 'install' the CC2015 version plugins. Works fine.
Like (2)
Thepfef
Thepfef
30 June 2015
@Kobalt: Didn't work with 3.5.4. Got a notice that FEX was modified and to reinstall. Once I put it back, it worked again.
Like
Kobalt
Kobalt
30 June 2015
Yeah, v3.x may be too old for the bundle swap to work.
Like
Revco
Revco
30 June 2015
@Kobalt: Thanks, man. Worked a treat. I guess a problem with outing this workaround is that a future update might kill the ability for v5 plug-ins to work with the v 4 app. Enjoying while it lasts.
Like (2)
nobbiist
nobbiist
16 September 2015
many thanks to Kobalt, very useful advice. FEX4 works fine for me, trouble started when i updated only one cc2015-app.
Like
Polyfade
14 June 2015
Do not buy for the Skyfonts (Google fonts) integration. It hasn't worked in years. Otherwise, it's much better than Extensis Suitcase.
Like (1)
Version 4.2.3
ChristopherAnderton
16 February 2015
The best one out there for Font Management. Have used about every font management app since ATM Deluxe (back in the pre OS X days), and i always go back to FontExplorer X Pro. However, i do find the general Extensis Community much better. Extensis is more active. Monotype is far behind in terms of presence in forums and other related sites/services. Also, i find the FontPanel for Photoshop CC 2014 .x that is a ”bonus feature” in Suitcase Fusion a real timesaver (as the Adobe Font panel has lot's of bugs). While not necessary (som may say it's gimmicky), i would love if there was a equivalent feature in FontExplorer X Pro. But, still. FontExplorer X Pro is the best out there when it comes to stability (in my opinion) and ease of use/features.
Like (2)
Version 4.2.3
1 answer(s)
ericsoup
ericsoup
19 February 2015
I think an in App Font Panel would be a great addition to the next version of FontExplorer X.
Like
Shane-Smith
11 February 2015
That's it, I'm done with this crap software. This used to be the best font manager when it came out now it's unusable. It's trying to load a font that's already loaded and failing.
Like (3)
Version 4.2.2
Ranjansen
01 December 2014
The best of all the Font management softwares ever. Easiest to use without slowing down the system or crashing or hanging the apps. Awesome with Yosemite and Indesign. Super fast. Both Extensis Suitcase and FAP are no match for FontExplorer.. I've never Ben happier to use any software than this, not kidding!
Like (1)
Version 4.2.2