Back to FontExplorer X Pro page
FontExplorer X Pro free download for Mac

FontExplorer X Pro Reviews

10 April 2021

Font management software.

How would you rate FontExplorer X Pro?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Apr 9 2021
7.2.6
5.0
Apr 9 2021
5.0
Version: 7.2.6
So tired of downloading what I think is a new update only to find out it's the exact same version I've had since January. Version 7.2.6 is not a new update.
brigitte-5
brigitte-5
Feb 24 2021
7.2.5
0.0
Feb 24 2021
0.0
Version: 7.2.5
This app is a complete rip off they now want a yearly subscription it seems. I will find an alternative. Disgusted!
josephwilsonmsc
josephwilsonmsc
Feb 19 2021
7.2.5
0.0
Feb 19 2021
0.0
Version: 7.2.5
I wish FontExplorer would have the decency to communicate humanly with their paying customers. I frequently encounter their server is down when about to purchase, despite repeated attempts. They should also show some loyalty to those who have purchased an earlier version. But like Adobe, they don't seem to value or even acknowledge their customers. I am hugely disappointed with them.
stoltenberg
stoltenberg
Jan 29 2021
7.2.5
2.0
Jan 29 2021
2.0
Version: 7.2.5
I remember sadly to the times when there were several good alternatives on the mac. Their support tries hard to keep it going, but the program is bloated, unreliable and more hurdle than help.
Tim27
Tim27
Sep 21 2020
7.1.3
1.0
Sep 21 2020
1.0
Version: 7.1.3
This app makes me sad. It used to be so good long ago. And they had a free "lite" version. It was my ATM Deluxe replacement for years (although still not as good). Now, it is slow and expensive. I would pay $100 is someone would come out with software that does everything that ATM Deluxe did the same way it did it.
Pascal-Sutter
Pascal-Sutter
Sep 10 2020
7.1.1
2.0
Sep 10 2020
2.0
Version: 7.1.1
I don't know what you think about it, but I experience the support of FEX as non-existent. I have had problems with it since the introduction of the "Discovery Engine" and have to end the process manually each time via the activity display. In the application you cannot stop the process. So this "feature" has a user experience error and I have written about it a few times and didn't get an answer. Pretty sad, as a paying user I find this an extremely poor performance.
Pascal-Sutter
Pascal-Sutter
Sep 10 2020
7.1.1
2.0
Sep 10 2020
2.0
Version: 7.1.1
I don't know what you think about it, but I experience the support of FEX as non-existent. I have had problems with it since the introduction of the "Discovery Engine" and have to end the process manually each time via the activity display. In the application you cannot stop the process. So this "feature" has a user experience error and I have written about it a few times and didn't get an answer. Pretty sad, as a paying user I find this an extremely poor performance. Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
Yoshita
Yoshita
Feb 10 2020
7.0.0
3.0
Feb 10 2020
3.0
Version: 7.0.0
FEX is good, however it's 2020, and Linotype somehow thinks it's reasonable that I should manually mirror my library on my laptop whenever I made a change on my desktop - or vice versa. Oh right, they want to sell me their 1,500€ server software. Meanwhile, Suitcase Fusion supports cloud sync + backup, and the app costs even less than the FEX client.
Cyzor
Cyzor
Dec 5 2019
7.0.0
2.0
Dec 5 2019
2.0
Version: 7.0.0
Excellent for categorizing and organizing fonts, but terrible at automatically activating them when needed. FontExplorer provides plugins to help applications load and unload fonts on demand, but they rarely work properly. Instead, you may find yourself repeatedly initiating that process manually.
David-e-c
David-e-c
Dec 3 2019
7.0.0
0.0
Dec 3 2019
0.0
Version: 7.0.0
Hi, please, which fonts are bundled free with FEX 7? as announced on main FEX webpage (Over $1,000 in fonts bundled in for free!) thanks.
Mbhayes
Mbhayes
Nov 13 2019
7.0.0
4.0
Nov 13 2019
4.0
Version: 7.0.0
Great app! But they always take too long in updating their plugins for the new Adobe CC suite.
incrzr
incrzr
Sep 5 2019
6.0.9
2.0
Sep 5 2019
2.0
Version: 6.0.9
Slow, slower - FontExplorer!
Lesoth0
Lesoth0
Jul 17 2019
6.0.9
5.0
Jul 17 2019
5.0
Version: 6.0.9
v6.09 changes are: • Fixed black background display issues for MacOS versions previous to Mojave 10.14 • Fixed Dark Mode issue with Slideshow transparency
karenlowery5
karenlowery5
Jun 24 2019
6.0.8
0.0
Jun 24 2019
0.0
Version: 6.0.8
I am using Font Explorer Pro 4.2.4 build and a lot of my fonts say "Not Available".....I have read some on line that it is because of Adobe and CC. Is there a fix?? Does one have to upgrade to the newest FEP to make it work? Any help is appreciated. About ready to jump to a different font manager. Input welcome. Thanks
Mbhayes
Mbhayes
Jun 20 2019
6.0.8
4.0
Jun 20 2019
4.0
Version: 6.0.8
Is this a legit upgrade? No mention of it on Monotype website and doesn't show up as an update in 6.0.7 update window. Plus no release notes which is unusual as well.
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
May 9 2019
6.0.7
2.0
May 9 2019
2.0
Version: 6.0.7
Font Explorer works fine. But since version 4 they have bleached most of the color out of it. I find this distasteful, as in bad taste. Color is a navigation ail as well as aesthetic enhancement. All white and black is harder to use. The followed Apple in their abandonment of usability in the macOS. Bad move.
Stan7
Stan7
Apr 29 2019
6.0.6
2.0
Apr 29 2019
2.0
Version: 6.0.6
I have a problem with dark mode in FontExplorer X Pro v6.0.6 (macOS Mojave 10.14.4) - Texts in panels are displayed in white color, but the panels themselves are also displayed in white- light gray color. Therefore, the textsares "invisible"! It's very restrictive at work.
M-Prewitt
M-Prewitt
Feb 27 2019
6.0.5
5.0
Feb 27 2019
5.0
Version: 6.0.5
Easily the best and most powerful font manager for the Mac. The capabilities of its smart sets are unrivaled. I've looked at every significant Mac font manager, and would never consider another option for my needs. I have over 13,000 fonts, and still this app remains snappy. (I am currently experiencing some slow startup times on my home installation. Less of a problem on my work computer. But after startup it works great.)
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Apr 2 2018
6.0.4
2.0
Apr 2 2018
2.0
Version: 6.0.4
Version 6 flushes out all the color that made it easier to identify fonts, collections and menus. It's consistent with OS X's less than helpful design standards, but not with usability standards. Bad move. A total waste of money. I'll be asking for instruction on downgrading and for my money back. Bust.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Mar 26 2018
6.0.4
5.0
Mar 26 2018
5.0
Version: 6.0.4
As a long time font designer (since 1989), FontExplorer X Pro has no equal. Throughout the years, I've used a wide range of font managers including Suitcase, Font Reserve, Adobe Type Mangager (ATM), MasterJuggler, Font Book (Apple) and Font Agent Pro, and nothing has worked consistently better for managing a large collection of fonts. If you're serious about fonts, and not just a casual user, then THIS is the tool.
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
Oct 18 2017
6.0.3
0.0
Oct 18 2017
0.0
Version: 6.0.3
I would like to caution users of Adobe CC apps using the FontExplorer X Pro auto-activation plug-ins. They do not work with the latest (2018) versions of CC so if automatic font activation is important to you, you may want to hold off updating your CC apps—at least the ones using those plug-ins (InDesign, Illustrator, Photoshop). Once you update these, the installer will remove the older (2017) apps. I’m hoping Monotype will issue an update soon.
Kobalt
Kobalt
Jan 2 2017
6.0.1
4.5
Jan 2 2017
4.5
Version: 6.0.1
I don't mind if Linotype wants to milk their cow for all the cash they can get out of it and release a new version every year, but what I do mind is that they immediately halt all maintenance to the previous version.

Here I am (and many others like me from the comments below and elsewhere), happy to be using v5.x. when along comes bloody Adobe with their own version of the money-tree and an update to CC2017.

Now, I would've expected Linotype to just do a quick-ish plugin maintenance release for the users of v5.x, but oh no, no service to be had here for existing customers. Instead we're all expected to cough up yet again for an 'upgrade' most of us do not need, all so we can continue to use their code.

I was just going to make this a Comment, but am so pissed off with it all that it's now a Review with a Rating. Bloody corporates. }:-(
Macmuser
Macmuser
Dec 18 2016
6.0.1
2.0
Dec 18 2016
2.0
Version: 6.0.1
I used to run the old free FontExplorer, shifted to FontReserve (The best IMHO) and then Suitcase when Extensis brought out Fusion. Suitcase has never caused problems with my fonts but Suitcase has become a regular update to keep compatibility with MacOSX. This year I thought I would try updating my old FontExplorer instead. Bad move!

FontExplorer has determined many of my fonts are corrupted, even though Font Doctor, Font Book and Suitcase disagrees with this and work with them without problems. This is because, I think, FontExplorer relies only on the internal name of the font. Suitcase has FontSense to get around this little problem.

I have been unable to get screen previews of the fonts that aren't 'corrupt' and working in FontExplorer brings a succession of Warnings that my fonts are in the wrong place. The very location FontExplorer moved them automatically when it build its library.

Auto activation is hit and miss, fonts that should open with a document are either not available at all or just don't open. Plug-ins for older applications are missing, especially Adobe CS5.

FontExplorer's interface is still very old fashioned. I'm not lover of Suitcase's which is cartoonish but it is clear, fast and easy to work with. In comparison FontExplorer looks like something from MacOS 8.

I contacted Linotype about my problems with FontExplorer and while I got an answer, I haven't had any solutions. I usually find Extensis reply same day with the solution if I ever have a glitch with Suitcase.

Consequently I have abandoned FontExplorer and gone back to an old version of Suitcase, writing to Linotype and asking for a refund. My conclusion is that Suitcase is by far the best font handler. Otherwise use FontBook.
Cookie08
Cookie08
Dec 17 2016
6.0.1
3.5
Dec 17 2016
3.5
Version: 6.0.1
This app works well however the biggest problem with this app is the the main program has to be running all the time to work???? All the other main heavy duty font managers run with a small background app the main app never needs to be open. I have written to them asking about this and the reply was well thats the way it works ??????? If it app would run in the background I would be happy to continue to use it as it has some excellent features. All the features are working with Sierra beta 10.12 6b and adobe CC 2017.
Panocha
Panocha
Dec 17 2016
6.0.1
0.5
Dec 17 2016
0.5
Version: 6.0.1
It's really sad, this used to be great software. Now they have lost quality and stability and instead of it being free, they are overcharging. They would have been a lot smarter to keep their software free and high quality, then offer in app purchases and subscriptions for fonts. A lot of businesses would have signed up in a minute. Now, with the direction they have taken, they are putting themselves out of business.
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
Nov 3 2016
6.0
0.0
Nov 3 2016
0.0
Version: 6.0
Once again, they seem to be lagging behind the latest developments. A vital feature of any serious font management utility is font auto-activation. One important feature of FontExplorer is automatic font activation in Adobe Creative Cloud apps so it was to be expected that they would be up-to-date with the latest version. As of this writing, their auto-activation plugins for Illustrator, InDesign, and Photoshop are nowhere to be found.
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
Sep 27 2016
6.0
0.0
Sep 27 2016
0.0
Version: 6.0
Version 6.0 works in Sierra, but not in 10.12.1 public beta. It will run for some time (minutes to hours, sometimes) and then suddenly the activated fonts are not available to the system, including Creative Cloud apps with auto-activation plug-ins. The problem is not with the plug-ins because other apps like Text Edit and Numbers, can suddenly report missing fonts even though the FEX window still shows them to be active and they render properly within FEX. If you’re running 10.12 and are using FontExplorer X Pro, just don’t install Sierra beta just yet. The issue has been reported to Apple.
Polyfade
Polyfade
Sep 20 2016
6.0
1.0
Sep 20 2016
1.0
Version: 6.0
A maintenance update for their own bug fixes doesn't warrant an upgrade fee. The gui remains awful and unconventional for the past 3 versions now. Ugly as sin.
Edac2
Edac2
Sep 15 2016
6.0
0.0
Sep 15 2016
0.0
Version: 6.0
$49 a year to upgrade a utility that is essentially the same as it was three versions ago is not worth it to me. FEX 6 doesn't even look different.
Septimus
Septimus
Sep 15 2016
6.0
3.5
Sep 15 2016
3.5
Version: 6.0
I must say the upgrade price does seem a little steep. But there are a lot more new features in FE6 than that are mentioned here on MU. Check them here: http://www.fontexplorerx.com/macfeatures/
Tim27
Tim27
Sep 15 2016
6.0
1.0
Sep 15 2016
1.0
Version: 6.0
This used to be good software back when they had both a free version and a paid one. Now it's far too expensive for what it does and has some activation bugs. Additionally, I don't know who they have designing their website, but it is one of the worst I have ever seen. Literally just a list of text for features and that's it. No screenshots. No videos. Nothing. I'd like to know who thought that was a good idea? They have no marketing department there whatsoever. My 1 star rating does not include the website review. It's only for the poor support, features and upgrade fees for the app itself.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Sep 15 2016
6.0
5.0
Sep 15 2016
5.0
Version: 6.0
Way more than just a maintenance release. http://www.fontexplorerx.com/macfeatures/
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
B-Jefferson-Le-Blanc
Sep 15 2016
6.0
2.0
Sep 15 2016
2.0
Version: 6.0
The blurb here on MacUpdate is less than helpful. Check the Monotype website: http://www.fontexplorerx.com/macfeatures/. There'll you'll find a list of enhancements and improvements in version 6. This is more than a maintenance release. That said, I haven't felt the need to upgrade FontExplorer X since version 4. The changes in versions 5 and 6 are primarily for power users—which is not me. Not, at least, to the extent served in these versions. Still, I cannot blame the developer for endeavoring to add value to the application. There must be a market for these features somewhere. If that's not you, well, stick with whatever version you're currently using as long as you can. As far as I can tell there is no imperative to upgrade if you don't need the new features—or haven't upgraded OS X beyond compatibility with your current version of FEX. By the way, while looking at the features list it occurred to me that I hadn't backed up the app in a long time. In checking the (manual) backup options I found that they are quite thorough. I recommend it. In regard to compatibility issues, version 4 works with OS X through version 10.10 Yosemite. I won't have to worry about upgrading FEX until I upgrade to 10.11 or 10.12 (I'm currently using OS 10.9.5 Mavericks). You can find more information on the FontExplorer X download page at http://www.fontexplorerx.com/download/. Frankly I've found the website easy to use and most informative—quite unusual these days, where bells and whistles routinely impede usability. On the site I learned that FontExplorer X Pro version 4.x has the widest range of compatibility, from OS X 10.6 through OS X 10.10—though version 3 also runs through five iterations of OS X, from 10.4 through 10.9.5. Check the web site for more info if you need it. I've been using FontExplorer since the days when it was a free app from Linotype (since subsumed by Monotype). I've been happy with the app and paid for version one and every upgrade through version four. If FEX doesn't suit you for whatever reason there are other font management applications to choose from, many listed above.
Mindplay
Mindplay
Sep 15 2016
6.0
0.5
Sep 15 2016
0.5
Version: 6.0
Way too pricey for what actually is a "maintenance" release, especially for long time users. Also buggy on macOS Sierra.
distreszed
distreszed
Sep 15 2016
6.0
3.0
Sep 15 2016
3.0
Version: 6.0
works well. a little bit on the pricey side, but still ok compared to suitcase fusion.
Emmanuel-Martinat
Emmanuel-Martinat
Sep 14 2016
6.0
1.0
Sep 14 2016
1.0
Version: 6.0
I'am so disappointed about this release. So few enhancement for such a price. FontExplorerX is a reliable font manager but I fear Monotype run the same way Insider's FontAgent software : a yearly fee for eye candy.
Emmanuel-Martinat
Emmanuel-Martinat
Sep 14 2016
6.0
1.0
Sep 14 2016
1.0
Version: 6.0
I'am so disappointed about this release. So few enhancement for such a price. FontExplorerX is a reliable font manager but I fear Monotype run the same way Insider's FontAgent software : a yearly fee for eye candy.
Seanc
Seanc
Sep 14 2016
6.0
0.0
Sep 14 2016
0.0
Version: 6.0
So what's new in 6.0 are primarily bug fixes, and Monotype wants to charge existing customers $50 bucks? Oh, there's an enhanced feature to auto classify fonts you buy from Monotype (wow, what an enhancement -- auto-classifying the fonts you sell), otherwise you classify your fonts manually just as you did in 5.x. But wait, there's more.... the interface now supports Japanese, something so many of us customers have been clamoring for. What a time to be alive. Seriously, Monotype, how do you justify charging us $50? The truth is, you can't. You release a "new" version once a year, in effect creating a subscription model for a font manager for $50 per annum.
Tony-Aguila
Tony-Aguila
Aug 3 2016
5.5.1
0.0
Aug 3 2016
0.0
Version: 5.5.1
Just a FYI: It does not work in macOS Sierra public beta.
Tim27
Tim27
Jul 15 2016
5.5.1
1.0
Jul 15 2016
1.0
Version: 5.5.1
When this app first came out there was a free version and a pro version. This allowed people to use an app that was better than the Mac's Fontbook, but with the option to upgrade for pros and designers. This was a good way to market the app. Unfortunately, they did away with the free version. I purchased the pro version a while back, but stopped using it after a couple years because its Adobe plugins caused more problems than they solved. Additionally, it would randomly turn fonts off that I previously turned on, even though I checked the preferences to make sure it wouldn't do that.
So I uninstalled it and just use Fontbook. Hopefully they fixed all the bugs this had, but even if they didn't this app is not worth $100. In fact, there isn't a font management tool around today worth $100, and I've tried them all. I wish Adobe would bring back ATM Deluxe.
MacParc
MacParc
Jul 14 2016
5.5.1
0.0
Jul 14 2016
0.0
Version: 5.5.1
Wrong MU News There is no v5.5.1 at this time! :-(
Forn
Forn
Feb 27 2016
5.5
0.5
Feb 27 2016
0.5
Version: 5.5
FontExplorer was always way too expenisve.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Feb 26 2016
5.5
5.0
Feb 26 2016
5.0
Version: 5.5
As a professional font designer since 1990 (Harris Design), I have tried every font manager over the years, including Suitcase Fusion, Adobe Type Manager (the old ATM), FontAgent Pro, MasterJuggler, etc., and nothing has the breadth of features that FontExplorer X Pro has. If you have a lot of fonts, and you love typography, then this is the only font manager you'll need.
Yoshita
Yoshita
Aug 16 2015
5.0.1
3.0
Aug 16 2015
3.0
Version: 5.0.1
Because of Apple's inability to make a decent font manager, this has been my tool of choice since like forever. It has a great UI, performs flawlessly, and has a great integration with major foundries for easy shopping (although I miss T26 and some of the more edgy/smaller foundries). The fact that, after all these years, it's still not possible to make the app scan a folder for missing fonts, is nothing short of embarrassing, however.
sjhain
sjhain
Aug 8 2015
5.0.1
0.0
Aug 8 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.1
the Upgrade-prize seams to me in german language: "Abzocke" for just minor improvements!
Kobalt
Kobalt
Jul 31 2015
5.0.1
4.5
Jul 31 2015
4.5
Version: 5.0.1
WHOA! A drastically different look between v5.0 and v5.0.1!
Reskator
Reskator
Jul 26 2015
5.0
4.0
Jul 26 2015
4.0
Version: 5.0
I have a problem with the licence file. FontExplorer does not memorize my license. In every launch (in every starting up) I have to select the .fcl file I wanted to send a message to the support but the form does not work:-/ While everything the required fields are filled, I always obtain the message " Error occured while sending your request, please try again " Grrrrrr
macupdate-236
macupdate-236
Jul 7 2015
5.0
0.5
Jul 7 2015
0.5
Version: 5.0
We bought a v4upgrade end of 2014 and now they want to hit us again for another upgrade! We have CC 2015 and need the plugins but really unfair to charge $46 x 50 (50 user license) for a previous upgrade not even 8 months old! At the very least it should be half of upgrade price. Going to switch to something else...Now just a rip off.
Forkme
Forkme
Jun 30 2015
5.0
1.0
Jun 30 2015
1.0
Version: 5.0
If I was a nicer person and FEX was a nicer program, I would leave 3 stars but I feel the need to offset the five star reviews. I have used FEX for years and I have had problems for years. I'll admit the competition like Suitcase isn't much better and OSX's Font Book seems lame (though on some of my computers, it seems to work better than FEX, as long as I m not using more than a few hundred fonts). So what's the problem you ask? Both Adobe and Microsoft continually fail to load "some" fonts whether I have Intercept Font Requests on or off. More than once I have inadvertenly started the Clean Organized Font Folders task (probably a key combo?) and that still crashes in 4.x though back in 3.x they said they fixed it. That's why I'm here at the moment - the lastest cleaning has run for several hours with no feedback so I will have to force quit it. The previous time I did a cleaning, it threw some the only versions of fonts on this computer into the trash. I assumed cleaning meant to remove damaged or duplicate fonts. The fonts in the trash worked perfectly fine when I reinstalled the trashed files back into FEX. I'm using both older and newer machines and Lion 10.7 (one machine) through Yosemite 10.10.3 (all others) and the same problems plague all. Trying to find answers via support channels I get the same "reinstall" crap over and over. I have not discovered any organized user to user forum. And when I have done a complete fresh install of OSX, MS and Adobe, I still run into FEX problems. Of course YMMV and maybe you've never had a problem with it, but I'm not confident another $$$ upgrade is going to fix this - previous ones haven't.
Reskator
Reskator
Jun 30 2015
5.0
4.0
Jun 30 2015
4.0
Version: 5.0
$49 it is a high price to pay for an esthetic update: Not of real novelties in the fonts management. (same versions of plugins). Concerning the online help and a tutoriel, that just underlines the fact that they were not relevant until now … 4 stars because that remains an excellent fonts manager, but only 1 star for this update.