Back to Timeline 3D page
Timeline 3D free download for Mac

Timeline 3D Reviews

5.1.4
18 April 2017

Create eye-catching timelines.

gryphonent
27 July 2012

Most helpful

I've been checking out Timeline since version 1. Even registered version 2. The app is now at version 3.6 and, honestly, I cannot see much improvement over previous version. Granted, 3D was a big step forward… but in reality I'm not using it. Printouts just work in 2D. So, frustratingly, Timeline 3D still has the same shortcomings as version 1: + You cannot create a customised timeline. You're stuck with the date options the app gives you. In my case, I'd need for example a timeline just showing the months of the year. Now, in Timeline you cannot do that. It's either month and year or month and date. + The templates… still the same as under version 1. No additions here. Too few, not really nice looking. I'd wish for a better design. + No option to determine spacing between tick marks or compress empty areas on a timeline. Very annoying to work with. At $65 this is a heavily overpriced limited one-trick pony.
Like (13)
Version 3.6

Read 44 Timeline 3D User Reviews

Rate this app:

Macedward
11 November 2017
This application is a joke, a bad joke. Once it worked quite well, but for now (haven't used it for years until I tried to open some old timelines today) it's not working at all. No star, but since MU require at least half a star I'm forced to give it a half star.
Like
Version 5.1.4
Cerniuk (Hates Captcha)
14 December 2016
Ignore the price in MacUpdate. It is not $65 but rather $24.99 and there is an iPad version for $9.99 Love how this app works. Now available on the Mac App Store under a freemium license arrangement at much more reasonable pricing that should put this app into a "must have" position for anyone that tracks things over time... if not for presenting, for simply documenting the timeline of a project, a work history, a resume (career). It is frankly fun to use and you risk nothing with the freemium license. $4.99 gets you the PDF and Printing. Sort of a no-brainer. $8.99 to generate an interactive web site from your timeline. (http://bit.ly/2gJoxdY - NICE!) Full price for all features on Mac App Store is $24.99, not bad. See the developer web site for full description of how the software works: https://www.beedocs.com/timeline3D/mac/ Elegant solution BUT needs to be able to minimally exchange documents using iCloud between iPad, iPhone and Mac.... -⭐ If this could read an ".mpx" file from MS Project or the native OmniPlan project file and produce a timeline, it would get 5.5 stars out of 5!
Like
Version 5.1.2
Sleek
03 September 2016
It is listed as Free on MUmenu but when you see on macupdate, it has hafty price of $65.00.
Like
Version 5.1.2
Sanjinko
22 August 2015
Timeline 3D for Mac (v5) requires OS X Yosemite https://www.beedocs.com/timeline3D/mac/
Like
Version 3.9
Alenz
24 November 2014
Despite some limitations in the configuration, it's a great application I have been using for years. Unfortunately, it doesn't work anymore with Yosemite. There is a beta version that does work with Yosemite, but it has a very reduced set of feature (same as the IOS version). I would rate the current)(Maverick) version with ****, but the beta deserves only **, so I give *** as a compromise
Like
Version 3.9
Macbookpro
05 December 2013
Version 3.9 is out. Release Notes - 3.9 Adding a new PowerPoint (PPTX) export that generates a slideshow presentation that can be opened with Keynote or PowerPoint. This is now the preferred way to export slideshows. More information about this new feature can be found at blog.beedocs.com
Like
Version 3.7.3
gryphonent
27 July 2012
I've been checking out Timeline since version 1. Even registered version 2. The app is now at version 3.6 and, honestly, I cannot see much improvement over previous version. Granted, 3D was a big step forward… but in reality I'm not using it. Printouts just work in 2D. So, frustratingly, Timeline 3D still has the same shortcomings as version 1: + You cannot create a customised timeline. You're stuck with the date options the app gives you. In my case, I'd need for example a timeline just showing the months of the year. Now, in Timeline you cannot do that. It's either month and year or month and date. + The templates… still the same as under version 1. No additions here. Too few, not really nice looking. I'd wish for a better design. + No option to determine spacing between tick marks or compress empty areas on a timeline. Very annoying to work with. At $65 this is a heavily overpriced limited one-trick pony.
Like (13)
Version 3.6
3 answer(s)
Peterpan23
Peterpan23
24 September 2012
100% agree !!!
Like (2)
Sforf
Sforf
21 November 2012
very poor arrogant customer, predatory pricing without much improvement since version 1
Like
Paulley-d
Paulley-d
30 January 2013
I just noticed the same thing after shelling out 25 bucks for an upgrade. I am so annoyed that they cannot figure out how to zoom or view the entire timeline. What's the point of a timeline if I have to scroll, and scroll, and scroll....
Like (1)
Manuel-Fernandez-Vazquez
09 February 2012
Very nice but need fix some frustrating editing bugs: • lost of focus when editing an item • slow with large entries An update soon ?
Like (2)
Version 3.3.1
Vkubalkova
28 September 2011
This is a great program. You feed into it any chronology, it then proceeds to transform it and you can add pictures, events, movies on every turn. It is a very good program for any educational material.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.6
Pr0sthetic
02 September 2011
I needed a program that allowed me to quickly put together a nice looking timeline of events. This exceeded my expectations. Out of the box, the default colors and looks provided allow you to make a great looking timeline. The 3D functionality offered could make for a very easy to understand ride through the timeline and events - well executed. The program itself is incredibly easy to use. You start a project and simply hit "Add" and enter the details of the event you are documenting. I don't think it could get any easier. The program also offers a very nice interface, representative of a quality piece of true Mac software. Great Job to the developers in offering great functionality in such an easy to use package. I will definitely be purchasing this.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
Wonderworker
05 August 2011
It appears as if 3.2 doesn't exist. When I download, I get something that calls itself 3.1.1, but when I Get Info it appears that it is simply 3.1 again. I assume the is some sort of glitch here and that if 3.2 actually exists, the developer will make it available. If it doesn't exist, he should let us know that as well. I like this program and it has really improved over time, frequently in response to users' requests. It doesn't deserve this treatment.
Like (1)
Version 3.2
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
05 August 2011
Looks like they had some issues with 3.2 and temporarily reverted the download to 3.1. From the devs blog: "We have some customers reporting that 3.2 isn't opening their documents properly. I have pulled it from our website (you can get 3.1 using the download link). We are working to reproduce the issue on our computers and will issue a fix as soon as we can. If you are experiencing issues with freezing or corrupt document please send us an e-mail at support@beedocs.com. The more information we have, the quicker it will be for us to fix. Thanks!"
Like
BEEDOCS
BEEDOCS
05 August 2011
3.2.1 is coming this afternoon. We had a serious bug in 3.2 that was affecting Snow Leopard so we temporarily pulled it. We are doing some final testing on the fix before we post it.
Like (1)
Peterpan23
05 August 2011
Even from Developer's site you get only 3.1 and NOT 3.2 !??
Like
Version 3.2
1 answer(s)
BEEDOCS
BEEDOCS
05 August 2011
Sorry for the confusion. I added several Lion features to 3.2 and accidentally introduced a serious bug for Snow Leopard which I though was serious enough to remove 3.2 from the download server. All should be well with 3.2.1 which was just published.
Like
Dejmac
10 July 2011
It takes for ever to "render" for 3D presentation the existing timeline (bdt3 file). After I've been patient for about 7 min, the "famous" 3D appears! But - it stutters, no matter I was using buttons in the upper right corner, or arrows on my laptop. And, last but not least - it "eats" up my CPU! This problems I didn't have with entire version 2. Now, what? Go back from v.3 to v.2? Where to find it to download again?
Like (1)
Version 3.0.30
1 answer(s)
Adam-Behringer
Adam-Behringer
13 July 2011
Send us an e-mail at support@beedocs.com and we can try to help figure out what is going wrong. This is the first complaint that I have heard of 3D performance... perhaps it is a conflict with something else on your machine. If we can't solve it, we'll refund the upgrade fee and help you get running on v2 again.
Like (6)
Carlos-Elias-Jr
30 May 2011
Incredibly easy to use and beautiful results
Like (1)
Version 3.0.30
1 answer(s)
Adam-Behringer
Adam-Behringer
13 July 2011
Thanks Carlos. I'm glad you like Timeline 3D!
Like
Steve-R
17 March 2011
This app just keeps getting better and better. Many thanks to the developers.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.21
1 answer(s)
Adam-Behringer
Adam-Behringer
06 April 2011
Thanks Steve!!!
Like
Tokevmur
24 May 2010
Have you tried searching for 'Bee Docs' with a space in Spotlight? It at least brings up the folder for me. I agree with you that it's odd that the App itself doesn't appear.
Like (1)
Version 2.11.4
3 answer(s)
Frankof
Frankof
25 May 2010
this brings up "BEEDOC - About Us" but neither the folder nor the application. This is an annoying bug for everyone who starts programs via Spotlight. It's a shame that the developer does not reply to bug reports, let alone fix the program. Nice piece of software, but lousy support.
Like (3)
Version 2.11.4
Plistoff
Plistoff
30 June 2010
Developers do not have time to personally respond to every post on every forum. You have no legitimate basis for reporting this as "lousy support".
Like (4)
Version 2.11.5
Frankof
Frankof
01 July 2010
"Developers do not have time to personally respond to every post on every forum." I don't expect them to respond to posts in forums, but if I send them a personal email with a detailed bug report, I DO expect a reply. I expect this because of experience with many developers from all company sizes, from one-man companies up to the biggest ones. "You have no legitimate basis for reporting this as "lousy support"." I certainly DO have a legitimate basis for calling a lousy support a lousy support. I sent them emails, and know that others did as well, and first got no reply at all. Then after additional emails I finally got a reply that was "general blabla" and not related to the reported bug. But what can I say: in the latest version the bug is finally fixed.
Like (1)
Version 2.11.5
Frankof
24 May 2010
This is a nice program - and it is unique in that Spotlight will just not index or find it. I have contacted the developer, but got no reply. I posted in a big forum about this strange behavior, and it was confirmed by others, who also did not get a reply from the developer when they sent bug reports.
Like (1)
Version 2.11.4
Ferg
20 April 2010
I happen to LOVE this software app. I use it quite often when I teach and/or make presentations. The software does exactly what it says it does: it makes eye-catching, visually "fun" timelines. If you're looking for a 'cool' way to do timelines with your presentation, I can tell you that Timeline 3D does a great job of it. Whether it's worth it or not to pay the amount of money that it costs is a personal decision on your part; I'll say this, though: I bought this app and have never regretted it.
Like (3)
Version 2.11.2
online-3
19 March 2010
Software is rigid. Only support Gregorian calendar. Can not use any form of historical calendar, so it's absolutely useless for any kind of historical time lines. It has very very few features, and zero flexibility. You can not create arbitrary events and drag them around the time line. Considering the price, $65, this is probably the worst rip-off I have seen for any software on the Mac, ever. Well, Stuffit might give it some competition. It's worth $9.99 and not a penny more. Save your money, use a drawing app instead.
Like (7)
Version 2.11.0
2 answer(s)
dany-card84
dany-card84
17 September 2010
I agree. Too rigid. It' s impossible create timelines for events of Millions of Years ago, cause it support only from 1.000000 years BC to (absurd) 5.000000 AD. That's pretty useless if you want to do Timelines about for example, "Evolution of something". Next time BeeDocs please think first about flexibility of dates and more "time units", I think it's more important than 3D and graphics in a software that pretend to do TIMElines.
Like
Version 2.11.5
Cor-Stellae
Cor-Stellae
03 July 2011
I also agree. Even after the most recent upgrade, I see no substantial differences between the previous version features. I've been using TimeFlyer, which is far more simple and even ugly when it comes to 3D presentations, but it gives me so much control over my timeline: I can move events at will from the main timeline, I can display events in the bottom of the time line, I can even write alternate custom text in the date field, which is very handy when you want to indicate that an event started ten thousand years ago, but your timeline focuses on the events of the last century. After using Time Flyer, I now have a bunch of features request for BeeDocs Timeline, far beyond its media capabilities. Yes, videopresentations are gorgeous; but I need useful timelines and printed timelines. Therefore, I need full control of the graphic details; not some rigid, automated software that becomes a nightmare when trying to adjust the simplest thing.
Like
Steve-R
17 September 2009
I've been using the app extensively for the past week and give it high marks with certain caveats. Exporting to Quicktime takes a long long long time. I gave up several times using the timeline I'd created. Yesterday I created a smaller timeline with 42 entries and decided to let it run till it was finished. Started at 2:30pm and it finally finished at 9:30am this morning. The finished mov runs 2:37 mins. Intel iMac Dual Core, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM with nothing else running. MenuMeters never indicated that either processor was using more than 8% capacity. I believe a much quicker way to create a QT file will be to export jpgs to iMovie or use a screen capture application while running in 3D. Exporting to another app will also allow for re-ordering the slides which for some reason drop an occasional one mid-timeline only to stick it at the end. When creating a timeline with multiple rows, I'd like to see dropdown menus similar to iCal which allow for which row the event is added/modified. Barring that feature, I'd like to see a way to have each row be a distinct separate color so there is no need to repeatedly scroll to the end of the timeline to see which row an event is being added to. I'd like to also see a feature that will allow the entire timeline to be seen on one screen even if the font size is so small it can't be read. Having that visual can be helpful in understanding a timeline. I believe this is a well-done app, and I also believe it has great potential to be even better. I will recommend it to others but I will stress that the export to QT feature -- as is -- should not be the one of the reasons anyone purchases the application. I've emailed the developers on weekdays and have had rapid responses. I have no qualms about their customer service.
Like (10)
Version 2.9.1
1 answer(s)
Adam-Behringer
Adam-Behringer
23 October 2009
Thank you for the helpful review. I wanted to point out that the 9.2.2 and 9.2.3 updates addressed some of the concerns about export performance that you mentioned. For detailed discussion of the recent performance improvements please see the post I just published on our blog (http://www.beedocs.com/blog/2009/10/export-performance-update.html). Thanks again everyone. Cheers!
Like (6)
Version 2.9.3
Mistersquid
16 July 2009
I tried the 3D version several months back and decided that the 3D walkthroughs were too fiddly to create and that I preferred to showcase portions of my timeline using Keynote. Forcing the crossgrade is acceptable only if the price is modest and if the developer makes a serious effort in fixing the bugs the software has with editing data and attributes. I'm very close to providing a detailed review of this software that would rank this software at two stars: good concept, aesthetically pleasing, buggy implementation.
Like (6)
Version 2.7.1
gryphonent
29 June 2009
I'm disappointed with the forced move to upgrade to the Pro version of Timeline. Dropping support and future upgrades for the standard version, instead focusing on the overpriced pro version is not a strategy that will be appreciated by users.
Like (4)
Version 2.7.1
2 answer(s)
Adam-Behringer
Adam-Behringer
18 August 2009
Just to clarify, folks with the Standard License may still download the latest versions of the software and use the standard features. We are providing full support to all of our customers and we are -not- forcing an upgrade. However, it is true that there will only be one consolidated download instead of two separate downloads. This works similar to QuickTime / QuickTime Pro where there is only one application but the advanced features are only available to those who buy the appropriate license.
Like (8)
Version 2.7.1
gryphonent
gryphonent
18 August 2009
Thanks for the clarification!
Like (2)
Version 2.8
Mister-K
11 April 2009
Excellent piece of software. Simple, elegant and a perfect design. This program really has the little Mac touch we all appreciate. The export feature for Keynote is useful to impress your audience. But what distinguishes Bee Docs has a company, is their excellent customer service. I made a mistake and paid a full version software instead of the upgrade. The developer answers me quickly and made the proper refund. They are so kind and attentive to customer's needs. We sometimes read bad anecdotes in reviews. I think it's important to share good ones too.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.1
Macintosh-Sauce
06 March 2009
After playing around with the demo, I purchased the educational version of this program since I am studying to become a secondary Social Science teacher. This program is so wonderful for Social Science courses, especially History - it will make my lectures come alive. Along with Keynote, this program is going to be a great tool in making my classes the place to be.
Like (6)
Version 2.5
Sans-Dieu-Rien
12 December 2008
They have recently updated their website--very professional. I don't know if they had a previous link for educators, but now they do! There is an educators' discount, that makes it even more tempting for any educator to get this stunning program. As I thumbed through the various tutorials, I'm finally realizing that this program is chalked full of potential. My lesson plans and class notes will never be the same.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.1
Sans-Dieu-Rien
10 December 2008
As a teacher, it's too expensive for the couple of times I may use it. Perhaps adding a feature such as hyperlinks to each event would be cool: Quicktime, audio, etc. I would be hard pressed to spend $65 for shock and awe.
Like (2)
Version 2.2.1
Castle
23 October 2008
No problem projecting the timeline here (though I've only tried with mirrored displays). What I would like to see, though, are more advanced (or at least easier) printing options, so a long timeline can be scaled down, exporting to Flash would also be great, and the ability to prioritise certain events, so on really busy timelines some events don't get pushed off the page. The keys used to navigate through a 3D timeline are also strange - I'd like to be able to hit the space bar to move to the next event on a timeline in 3D mode. Perhaps allow the user to define the keys? A great app, but surprisingly few options.
Like (2)
Version 2.2
Red-state
05 July 2008
Not alot of functionality beyond just adding some dates and colors. I found that the 3d features weren't viewable on a projection screen. Printing features were good. Overall, I give it an average. Apple was reaching with giving them an award. It's affordable at the lower cost of $40 but not at the higher price.
Like (3)
Version 2.1.3
Groovydave
13 June 2008
A nice little app that creates wonderful motion for presentation. Would like to see: A way to import other themes and templates. Expandable windows on events. Would be a lot easier when adding tasks to events.
Like (1)
Version 2.1.2
Geopick
13 May 2008
I have and like the standard version of Timeline. The 3D version has some interesting possibilities, but the downloadable demo only shows you the one trick - foldout labels. For a $25 sidegrade, it's a little hard to justify the investment for minimal effects. What about pop-out and/or tilting events? Warping of the entire timeline field? Putting an event on a bulge in the timeline background?
Like
Version 2.1
Hervé-5
13 May 2008
- idea and realization both look great - when I tried to import my iCal (intense, 5-users-based and extending 3 years in the past) the previous version just crashed :-( Will try again with this one I'd say: OK for small timelines of a couple of dozen items... - lacks flexibility for defining time interval
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Hanleryo
12 May 2008
Finally! A solution for making interactive timelines without having to learn and wrestle with Flash. Messing around with it a bit and I must say that it looks to be a promising start.
Like (1)
Version 2.1
Hanleryo
12 May 2008
I've been using this for the past 4 months and have made great timelines and have bowled over my colleagues and left them in awe. Great product.
Like
Version 2.1
Mesomys
12 February 2008
It would be great if it has support for Geological time scale.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.4
1 answer(s)
Adam-Behringer
Adam-Behringer
04 April 2008
Bee Docs' Timeline handles dates back to about 1,000,000 BC. I understand that some people would like an even larger range for geological timelines.
Like
Version 2.0.9
Nerradv
04 February 2008
I just downloaded this app and found it very easy to use. I have been looking for something that would visually display the projects that we have in our office with meetings, deadlines, etc. I am not a left brained project manager geek and the project management apps like OmniPlan, Merlin, etc are just too complicated and unattractive for what I was looking for. Bee Docs makes it quick to set up a timeline that our designers and technicians can understand and is easy on the eyes. While it isn't as detailed as a PM app, it more quickly shows us what is overlapping and where the fires are. It does let you add pictures and notes to each event which is also very nice. It is missing a few features that would be nice such as the ability to manipulate fonts and manual layout. Automatic layout works though so not too much of a complaint. I don't know of anything that is perfect so I give it a 4. I tried a couple other "timeline" apps as well but I ended up buying Bee Docs Timeline.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Stephane-Carpentier
29 January 2008
If you're still under tiger, avoid this software. The most recent version for this OS is 1.6 and it lacks a lot of features ! Please Beedocs, extend Timeline compatibility to tiger ! Moreover version 1.6 suffers from bad interaction with foreign languages: I can't enter a few months (like february, for example).
Like
Version 2.0.3
Blockstbldg
14 August 2007
Very easy and enjoyable to use, stable and attractive. However, it seems like it is missing some features that would make it ideal. As it is now, it is minimal, which is not necessarily bad, as it is clean and uncluttered. The paging options are nice, as well. Some absent features are: added means to communicate lengths of events, or associated events (using tags, perhaps,) a greater range of style options, greater range of export options, and compatibility with .Mac and other services/programs. Overall, the $39.98 price-tag seems a little steep but I can also see myself using Timeline for a good long time.
Like
Version 1.6
Bng
08 March 2007
I tried out this product (the video tour was very helpful :)) and I have to say it's pretty good. Intuitive, easy to use, and a nice UI to boot, but there are some obvious enhancement possibilities in my opinion. I noticed some other reviewers had some of the same things in mind: multiple timelines, hyperlinks, notes, etc. The only other timeline software for Mac I could find is called Timeflyer(www.asinglepixel.com). I also tried it out and I was able to create multiple timelines and add hyperlinks and notes. You can also export your timelines to pdf, png, and even Quicktime. There is also a beta of 3d views. I am interested to see if Bee Docs has any of these features in store for a future release.
Like
Version 1.52
1 answer(s)
Adam-Behringer
Adam-Behringer
14 March 2007
BNG, indeed we are working hard on a new version of Bee Docs' Timeline that should be ready soon after Leopard ships. It will have many of the features that you have requested. For the latest info on the new version, including some screenshots of the design, check out my blog (www.beedocuments.com/blog)
Like
Version 1.52
Ca
28 June 2006
Good but not great… Stable, nice and Mac-y interface but too limited. No parallel timelines, no hyperlinks inside the timeline. And I couldn't find a way to apply a font to a specific entry. Am I missing something? I guess I'll have to wait until this piece of software is updated.
Like
Version 1.5
2 answer(s)
Adam-Behringer
Adam-Behringer
14 March 2007
Thanks for the comment CA. We are planning parallel timelines and event links for the next major release due soon after Leopard ships. Changing colors and date formats will be allowed on a per event basis, but font face and font size will continue to be a chart level setting. For the latest on "T2" please check out my blog (www.beedocuments.com/blog)
Like
Version 1.52
Ca
Ca
31 October 2007
Sorry, I didn't see your reply :/ Usually I'm not that slow, honest! V. 2 looks very very promising, I'm looking forward to it.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
15 September 2005
Wonderful! Exactly what I needed in terms of demonstrating chronological events for presentation and review purposes. This is not a project management app, it is for those historical presentations.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
11 May 2005
Here's a shop selling a kernal, albeit a pretty kernal, of corn for $50. Around the corner another shop is selling the whole ear for $51. If you can live without a "pretty" gnatt chart, elegantly designed Project Managers like Merlin provide you this kernal plus 200 additional tools that can help you better organize, prioritize, visualize and maximize your time. If you spend $49.95 on Timeline, I have some prime swampland in Zambizi we must discuss.
Like
Version 1.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 May 2005
I think maybe you have missed the point. I could write a book in Excel (someone did so). I could brainstorm in Omni Graffle. But sometimes the best tool for the job is the tool for the job. Nobody in my line -- university teaching -- is going to putz about with a project manager for engineers, construction types and executives when what we _want_ is a tool to show people what happened when. And the pretty results, which may not be important to you, are vital to me. Using a fully-fledged but complex & aesthetically unpleasing "project manager" (I bet they "project managed" Iraq btw, heh heh) would be like buying an electric drill to knock nails in with the handle.
Like
Version 1.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 June 2005
After trying a few workarounds to create a timeline for a report, I've got to agree with Anonymous. I tried working with my mac-native project mgment software (PMX) - difficult to get the right output. Worked with Excel - could get the right output, but it would take me a day. Tried an OS 9 timeline product for schools - terrible, crashingly terrible. Then I tried the B Docs demo... The app is easy to use, it's elegant, output is high-enough quality, and you can communicate with the developer as needed. It's somewhat over-priced IMHO. (PMX is the same price, and handles way more complex processes! Perhaps its underpriced?). But B Docs TL not a backbreaker. (Merlin btw is 145 Euros - I can buy PMX, Timeliner, and dinner somewhere nice for that.) Upshot: I tried to avoid buying it, I tried it, I bought it.
Like
Version 1.1
American Student
06 April 2005
This is a wonderful piece of software! It is just what I was looking for. I wish that it had the ability for multiple timelines in paralell. This would help with makeing visually accessible comparisons (imagine country histories). Also, since I use this software for school, it would be great if there were a section for notes on each event and to be able to footnote events (for references and comments). Great work!
Like
Version 0.77
1 answer(s)
mikisdad
mikisdad
15 April 2005
Fully support the suggestion for multiple time-lines and notes. I'm using this in a work setting to map staff against projects against problem events, etc... It would be really useful to be able to timeline these separately and then 'overlay' them, so to speak, to see how events may have effected each other when they coincide, or predict one another when they don't, etc.. Otherwise - a great product - more strength to your arm
Like
Version 0.80
Anonymous
18 March 2005
Timeline is stable and intuitive to use. I've been using it with students (teaching Tragedy in the English Literature paper) and the effect of seeing the history of the genre graphically displayed is enlightening. I'd say it's the only way to grok historical trajectories, and it's really useful to have such a simple tool to do it on OS X. A few things for the wish-list, of course; most importantly, a key-binding for entering a New Event, and some degree of manual control of the position of timelines (like having the span of e.g. a reign or a government below -- or above -- all the things that happened during that period). But I imagine they'll come. The developer seems to know what he's up to and I, for one, will pay the shareware fee happily when he ships the release version.
Like
Version 0.77
Anonymous
31 December 2004
As a (french) graphic designer, this app may help a lot. This idea is very smart. Still there is some major improvements to archieve. FIrst, let's try to do a maximum of work with the software itself and without the need of Excel (please give a nice aqualicious interface). I wish to be abble to change the font. I beg for more stability. I wish to be abble to have the timeline in two horizontal lines (slipt the A4 by 2). I wish to export in native Adobe Illustrator or EPS (converting PDF is boring). Is there a way to avoid text overlaps? May I choose between several kind of strokes? More ideas will come later. Hey ! Despite everything I said, it's a great start. Keep deeding !
Like
Version 0.3